Double boost for WP

WP are set to have flank Rhynardt Elstadt and prop Deon Carstens available for selection ahead of their clash against the Blue Bulls in Cape Town this weekend.

Elstadt has been sidelined with a groin injury since the Super Rugby semi-final loss to the Sharks, while Carstens suffered a broken nose during the Currie Cup opener against the Durban union.

Elstadt is a major return for Province, who have just lost Siya Kolisi to a broken thumb.

However, WP are still missing loose forward Nick Koster (knee) and fullback Joe Pietersen (wrist).

548 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All

• 201.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-199:

i’ve got a good feeling that all my wishes are going to come true this year, the Crusader AB’s are all hitting form at the right time

• 202.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-201:
    ‘hitting form’

is that a euphemism for ‘have gotten filthier’..?..

• 203.grant10: Reply to this comment

so when does HM make the latest squad announcement ?

• 204.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-202:

it means a current world 15 would be full of Crusaders

@grant10-203:

yes I can’t wait for his next press release his last one was a beauty

• 205.blik: Reply to this comment

The biggest problem with the Boks is they don’t run into space, rather they look to make contact, and try and set up the next phase as per HM game plan with most the runners standing back looking to do the same to the next phase and so on. This allows the defence to easily read what is coming next.

Even the backline players are guilty of rather making contact, rather than looking for space. JDV being one of the main culprits. In itself it is not too bad when one or two players play this way, but when no one in the team looks to exploit space, there is a problem.

Players who should look to exploit space and try put runners into gaps are primarily your 9 and 10. I’m afraid FH and MS do not have the vision or skill to do so.

I would have seelected the followig with what is available through injury.

9 Pienaar
    10 Janjies
    15 Lambie

At least they have more vision and skill than the current incumbants.

Look to use your 10 to create play, instead of your 7/8. Why has SA rugby got this obsession of not using your 10 for other players to run off? They prefer to pass directly to the ball carriers, which is so easy to defend. Think of Carter/Larkam/Honiball, the defences are not sure what they are going to do next, which creates space for the ball carries.

It is much easier to create fast 2nd pahse ball if you are un predictable and it is harder for the defence to tackle you backwards, or know your next move and put defenders there to slow the ball down.

The ABs to don’t play an overy complicated game, but they do allow their playmakers to make decisions and put their ball carriers into space.

MS is not a playmaker. Why is he there?

• 206.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-204:
    so thats a yes,
    it does mean ‘have gotten filthier’…?..

• 207.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-201:

Mate New Zealand rugby is not up to standard. That is a fact.

Let’s start with your referees. Bryce Lawrence.

• 208.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant10-203: I am hoping Burden, Daniels and Lambie stay home to play for the Sharks,

• 209.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-206:

so many world class Crusader players Carter/McCaw/Dagg/Franks/Read/Whitelock that is why this AB team currently dominates world rugby, Romano not far off either

• 210.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-207:

deputy there is no point engaging you with your smoke and mirrors rubbish, the trophy cabinet is where its at and you have none, when we add the RC in a few weeks we’ll have them all end of story

• 211.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@blik-205: The tendentious Cape media wanted Peter Grant, from Durban there was a deafening outcry for Patrick Lambie to be the flyhalf, in Bloemfontein they believed only injury prevent Johann Goosen from replacing Steyn and there have also been suggestions from Johannesburg that the Lions’ Elton Jantjies should start in the Bok No.10 jersey.

However, Meyer stood his ground and at the weekend defended his selection of the 37-Test match-winner.

“What I have seen, and what we saw again this [Saturday] morning, is that you need a No.9 and No.10 that can kick tactically… that can control the game,” Meyer said in reference to the Sharks’ 6-37 loss to the Chiefs in the Super Rugby Final.

Meyer also revealed that he saw Lambie more as a fullback, and not a regular flyhalf.

“Patrick’s best position is fullback,” the Bok mentor said. “He has been injured for a while, so it was great to see him back playing.

“He can also be a great No.10, but Patrick knows that he needs to improve his tactical kicking… and that’s the thing with Morné as well at this stage.

so you see, meyer saw in the chiefs/sharks game that one needs a 10 with great tactical kicking, that’s why he will coach steyn himself because lambie is poor like morne but morne is mentally TOUGHER as he showed when he came on in the 2nd b&i lions game and won the bokke the match!

• 212.blik: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-207: Agree, NZ rugby is not at it’s best, but they are still no 1. The general standard is not not very high, which makes sense being at the beginning of this 4 year cycle nonsense.

• 213.grant10: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-208: Yes….must be very frustrating to be a Lambie / Jantjes in particular…..no matter how bloody pathetic M Steyn plays you still got no chance …

• 214.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-209:
    sorry china but i’m not too familiar with middle earth hobbit speak, so is that a yes, they have gotten filthier then?

• 215.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@blik-212:

really what more would you like from us? 70 nil against the Irish, Australia scoring -6 stop kidding yourself mate your rugby is currently a big bag of poo not ours

• 216.blik: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-211:
    1. HM: “Patrick’s best position is fullback,” the Bok mentor said. “He has been injured for a while, so it was great to see him back playing.
    ~ But then why does he just leave him on the bench? Let him play CC or give him a run off the bench.

2. HM: “What I have seen, and what we saw again this [Saturday] morning, is that you need a No.9 and No.10 that can kick tactically… that can control the game,”
    ~ Is Hougard/Steyn really that much better at tactical kicking than Pienaar/Lambie? I think not (RP id much better kicker than FH). Plus Pienaar/Lambie can offer more than just kicking.

• 217.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-211:
    truth be told transie, i would play fouche over goosen if we were to pick going on form right now.

but morne will come right, i think.

• 218.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-214:

god you are desperate aren’t you buddy, how sad start winning and you’ll start grinning again trust me

• 219.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-217:

and you’ll also probably win the lottery

• 220.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-210:

You guys are on a downward spiral

Things are falling apart over there

• 221.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-218:
    sjoe, you might as well be speaking mandarin.
    so that’s a yes then?..

• 222.grant10: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-217: M Steyn will come right?

So he will kick higher? Further?

Because he sure as hell cant fo f all else Bakkies…..

• 223.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-220:

its a beautiful upward spiral deputy RC shorty then to break the needles 17 test win streak later in the year and we’ll have it all

• 224.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@blik-205:

For your benefit – I wrote these yesterday:

Why are you defending Meyer?

Meyer has come into the role and articulated his philosophy namely ‘direct rugby’; that to my understanding is: do not seek out the space between the players but rather run directly onto the opponent with the view to dominate him physically.

This view or approach is flawed to the core. The reality is that just because a player is 122 kg and the opponent is say 112 kg; it does not follow that the heavier one will dominate. If the latter’s technique is superior then you get directly the opposite result.

Meyer’s clear bias is towards bigger players which is not different from Jake White’s.

A smarter way would be to say: I want players that can front up physically but most importantly have the skills that can help us create try scoring opportunities.

I think I need to remind you how Meyer became a Super 12 winning coach; Bryan Habana scored a try in the 83rd minute, in other words, it could have gone either way. Frans Ludeke’s win over the Chiefs was a lot more convincing and emphatic

It is naive to think that in 2012 you come out as coach and state that your strategy is to dominate with the forwards.

That is par for the course; you have to compete and be secure of your scrums and line-outs and obviously at the breakdown. But it will not let you win games; the differentiator will be to surprise your opponent or keeping him guessing which create opportunities in itself.

Heyneke has had close contact with the Boks ( Victor and Fourie du Preez) for more than 4 years /probably closer to 8 and should have been better prepared in terms of how he wants to play.

Without a dangerous backline at international level your chances of winning are severely limited. Because it’s a game of constant movement, the aspect of pace or speed becomes important. For that reason, you want to get the ball to your backline so they can create the gap or advance over the adv line. By passing to forwards you are slowing things down considerably in at least 2 ways:

1. The passing is not as crisp i.e the ball takes longer to reach the recipient
    2. The recipient if a forward is that extra yards slower

This enables the defence to re-organise and defend with multiple layers. Also because things are happening slower a defender can defend several times in one wave of attack.

Surely these are the basics.

• 225.grant10: Reply to this comment

pity Keegan was not given time to ‘ come right ‘….

• 226.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-219:
    ‘win the lottery’..?..

come now china, that’s like saying nz will never cheat in a rugby match.

probable for sure

but what are the odds…

• 227.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-222:
    in that case i say fouche or goosen and morne to the bench?

• 228.blik: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-215: As I said, the standard of world rugby is not that high at the moment. The ABs are not really being challenged, so by beating everyone does not mean that they are a very good team. This is just my opinion, I stand to be corrected.

Recent teams I think are better than the current ABs are:
    NZ 95/96/03/05/08/11
    SA 98/04/07/09
    Aus 00/01
    Eng 03

But the current ABs are the best team of 2012.

• 229.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-225:
    his is a weight issue, grant
    and you cant turn that around in one week.

• 230.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-223:

You heard it here first son

Prepare for trauma.

• 231.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-221:

bu shi xin xi lan ren bu shi de

• 232.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@blik-228:

13 teams better than the current AB side, you must be right then this team is shite

• 233.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-211: Yet Patricks regular coach does not agree transie, Plum has said repeatedly Patick is a 10 and thats where he will be playing, I am of the opinion that HM is saying what he wants as he does not really want competition for Morne, as he knows there will be an outcry , but what he aint realising is that MOrne is not plaing well and it’s is more that just Patrick on his heels.

Goosen, Lambie, Jantjes, Grant, and dare i say it Viljoen so far have all shown batter form that MOrne, and add to that Fouche too.

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-227: Yes they should drop all Sharks players from HM’s team , it’s under him they will become useless… and thats a fact

• 234.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-231:
    errr

huh uh

no

see…

it still does not compute

say it in eengrish for me boet

have they gotten filthier..?..

• 235.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-230:

I’ve heard 1000′s of things here first fortunately the vast majority of them are hot air

• 236.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

NA d at first it was not HM saying Lambie is a 15 but Ricardo Loubscher said so??? Like he knows what?? hell man he was not even a great player.

• 237.blik: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-224: I agree 100%.

I do however agre with JW & HM that a good big player is better than a good small player. But things are not as simple as that. You can’t thow away skill and creativity for size.

SAs traditional strength is size and strength, and I agree, use your strengths, but to me it seems like HM has the balance wrong.

Before this season I was not against HM selection as coach, but I did have the worry that he would persist with Morne Steyn. But I am having my reservations now. And I really cannot understand Steyn at international level. I think if he was in NZ or Aus, he would not even play S15.

• 238.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-234:

broaden your horizons use google and translate it

• 239.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-233:
    go on then, sharks can have their players back

they need them :grin:

• 240.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-238: :lol:

• 241.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-224: “By passing to forwards you are slowing things down considerably in at least 2 ways:
    1. The passing is not as crisp i.e the ball takes longer to reach the recipient
    2. The recipient if a forward is that extra yards slower”

Not if your forwards have the requisite skill set to inter-play with backline players at pace! this is why GH & WS called in Gordon Tjietjins last year before the world cup so that he can drill the whole team in SKILLS!

perfect example is current All Blacks SKILLS coach mick byrne ganging up as a FORWARDS coach with John Kirwan and Graham Henry…

completely different mindset!

keiran read, jerome kaino, messam, vito, cane, luke braid can mix it up

• 242.blik: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-232: Don’t be so sensitive big guy. I am not saying they are ****, I am saying they are not as good as some teams before them. I just don’t think the standard of rugby is very high at the moment. Sport works in cycles like most things in nature, keep your underpants clean and don’t talk to strangers and all will be okay.

• 243.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Sekunjalo ke nako!!!

Now is the time to unleash Elton Jantjies and let him re-ignite the creativity that was once in Frans Steyn.

Jantjies has shown on several occasions that he is deadly with the boot and do not shy away from the physical stuff

Just like Habana’s try in the 83rd minute enabled Meyer to put on his CV – S12 coached the S12 champion – in the same way Jantjies can extend Meyer’s bok career

Meyer ‘s future is in Jantjies’ hands

• 244.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-238:
    huh?
    how will i translate euphemisms for ‘hitting form’ on google?

they do that?

ok

will give it a go

• 245.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-239: :lol: if only

They should make it a rule that only BUlls and Stormers players should become Boks, I mean HM will make all players from other teams play that one dimentional Cr@p :wink:

• 246.grant10: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-229: seems he was heavy enough with Kanko to sort out most of the ‘ heavies” in the super 15 ?

we are so stupid Bakkies….seriously mate….

• 247.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-235:

I’m gonna laugh the ABs right outta my life

• 248.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-211:

Grant and Morne are, IMO, cut from the same cloth.

Grant passes from a standing position, with detrimental effects on his overall distribution.

• 249.willievz: Reply to this comment

@blik-237: Sure, but part of what sometimes makes a good “small” player is his size…

• 250.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-241:

Correct, but the ball has to go to the backline pref 1st -5 most of the time

Have to dash now but yes whatever will give you continuity

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.