Duane’s day to remember
29 Aug 2012
Duane Vermeulen is finally a Springbok and one of two uncapped players for the Rugby Championship tour to Australia and New Zealand.
Johan Goosen is the other newbie, with recalls for Juan de Jongh and Bath-based Francois Louw.
‘Untimely injuries to Bismarck du Plessis, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Pierre Spies, JP Pietersen and Bjorn Basson have already hit us hard in the past few weeks. This again provides opportunities for other players to put up their hands,’ said Bok coach Heyneke Meyer.
‘We were very keen to give Siya Kolisi an opportunity on this tour, but he is also out injured, alongside a list of other injured or unavailable forwards that include Gurthrö Steenkamp, Heinrich Brüssow, Schalk Burger, Juan Smith and Ryan Kankowski.’
Meyer confirmed he would have selected Vermeulen and Goosen in his initial Test squad but for injury to both players.
‘I regard both of them as world-class rugby players. If it wasn’t for injuries, Duane would have been a Springbok long ago. I also believe Johan has a long career ahead of him at Test match level and we will expose him when and how we feel it will benefit the player and the team best.
‘Both Juan and Francois played at the Rugby World Cup last year and are experienced players. Juan covers both positions in the midfield and we opted for Francois because he is a specialist openside flanker, in the absence of Schalk, Heinrich and Siya, that can cover blindside and No 8 as well, while he is also a very useful option in the lineout.
‘I’m also very excited with the quality of young talent coming through – Eben, Marcell and Johan are all still U21 and that bodes well for the future of Springbok rugby.’
Springbok squad – Willem Alberts, Andries Bekker, Craig Burden, Pat Cilliers, Marcell Coetzee, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers (c), Jannie du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Johan Goosen, Dean Greyling, Bryan Habana, Francois Hougaard, Zane Kirchner, Juandré Kruger, Pat Lambie, Tiaan Liebenberg, Francois Louw, Tendai Mtawarira, Lwazi Mvovo, Ruan Pienaar, Jacques Potgieter, Frans Steyn, Morné Steyn, Adriaan Strauss, Flip van der Merwe, Jano Vermaak, Duane Vermeulen.

656 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 » Show All
29 Aug 2012, 22:17 pm
@JL1-593:
In any other country players like A. Coetsee and W. Le Roux would be spotted earlier and pushed through to higher level
here we wait for them to get crocked before we realize their value
How come Gio Aplon was 29 years old before he became Springbok, yet Frans Steyn was 19
I would play A. Coetsee at international level already.. he is far more creative and incisive and rugby wise than Kirchner will be after another 30 or 50 caps underserved..
how come it takes a broken thumb for Spies to get dropped when its been painfully obvious for 4 whole seasons how invisible he is on the rugby field.. ? 50 odd caps and counting .. and exactly how much positive influence have been produced in those 50 caps while Duanne Vermeulen been counting his CC appearances claim to fame..?
29 Aug 2012, 22:19 pm
@Te Rangatira-596:
> The way I look at it, Meyer is not going to move away from his gameplan of execution over innovation, so imo it wont matter an iota who Meyer picks he will still get outwitted on the field because of his outdated strategies of bash….bash….kick….and hope.
Might be, we’ve never managed to throw the ball around like you, no franchise does so why would the Boks?
The only one that does is the Cheetahs and they’re not exactly successful on the field
But we’ve still got an ace up our sleeve, Rassie
29 Aug 2012, 22:21 pm
gavin rich hitting all the right notes.
http://www.supersport.com//rugby/blogs/gavin-rich/The_thinking_is_what_must_change
29 Aug 2012, 22:22 pm
@victoriabok-597: Flip, a big liability
@victoriabok-598: Daai mond van jou moet gewas word, Stormers ekke
29 Aug 2012, 22:28 pm
@JL1-604:
O, jammer, die “L” het my gekonfoes, dink seker aan RL?
29 Aug 2012, 22:28 pm
Paul Willemse is stukkend goed slot.. die jong Kobus Wiese.. hy’s amper grote as Wiese al klaar en hy’s nog nie 21 jaar oud. Kan maklik springbok word in minder as n jaar van nou af.
HO de Villiers was the first running full back before JPR Williams and those that followed on from there. Jouba and Christian Cullen and Serge Blanco, Chris Latham, Matt Rogers, Jason Robinson, James Small and the rest
Now we got Kirchner.. how much further do we still need to regress?
29 Aug 2012, 22:30 pm
@victoriabok-602: LIES!
the cheetahs play a wide game…most kiwis & those on reunion name the cheetahs as their favourite franchise to watch…
at the moment they are like chiefs teams of yesteryears, all out out attack & no krag, no defence! this is something that that they could remedy if they had money to keep vermuelen, juan & brussow.
it’s a common fallacy from the lazy-minded to shout that we’ve never played like the kiwis. we can do everything they can do
29 Aug 2012, 22:30 pm
@victoriabok-602:
The 81 Bok backline was superior to their Ab counterparts when moving the ball and they had a speed advantage to. The Sharks team this year had confidence to offload and use the ball that brought then success. I don’t buy into this traditional strengths stuff.
29 Aug 2012, 22:33 pm
@Transformation-607: No way, we do not enjoy sheep as they do
29 Aug 2012, 22:33 pm
@victoriabok-595: ek adverteer op oomblik 8 poste in my departement in Calgary. Wat is jou beroep? Die poste is in die Finansiele departement.
29 Aug 2012, 22:34 pm
Yes Aussie injury crisis looks perhaps even worse than ours
so it means that either NZ breeds far tougher players man for man.. or else their game is designed to effect less injury, i’e’ they play far smarter and away from direct traditional attrition collision points than we do.
29 Aug 2012, 22:35 pm
@fitz1ella-606:
Die ou op die Bulls site het hom klein Bakkies genoem, toe gaan kyk ek na sy stats
Hy is 2cm korter as Bakkies (2.00m vs 2.02m) maar drie kg swaarder (124kg vs 127kg)
Dis 3kg swaarder
Op 20 jaar oud?
Hy sal seker bietjie gewig verloor as die Bulle hom kondisioneer, kyk wat het die Sharks met Alberts gedoen toe hy daar aankom, hy het gou sy ekstra gewig verloor en ‘n Bok geword
29 Aug 2012, 22:35 pm
nah, any side that wins the collisions wins, the force and the cheetahs and the chiefs are all v good rugby sides – but all the great sides dominate upfront. the key is to use mitchell’s or naka’s gameplan but to have players that dominate the collisions. I’m all for running rugby, in fact i’d love it, but previous sides have not bullied their opponents, only when they have been able to do so, have they won, and this is the same for the ABs as it for the great England side that dominated world rugby ten years ago and the same for Mallett and Christie’s boks and the reason why the Boks are the only side that regularly can beat the ABs.
29 Aug 2012, 22:36 pm
@kwas-610:
Procurement
29 Aug 2012, 22:37 pm
@Big Hit-590: bok coaches pulling players from unions? that is a pipe dream in SA unless SARU bend over to appease meyer as even white complained in 2006 “i need more control”
6 years later franchise coaches can still do as they please.
29 Aug 2012, 22:39 pm
@Te Rangatira-608:
> The 81 Bok backline was superior to their Ab counterparts when moving the ball and they had a speed advantage to
Thank you, from a Kiwi, nonetheless
You still hear Naas Botha could only kick and that he killed our running rugby
I think the isolation also hurt innovation in our rugby
I remember how hard it was after 92 with all the rucks and phases, used to swear at Kefu and Kronfeldt
29 Aug 2012, 22:40 pm
@JL1-609: we enjoy lamb chops don’t we?
29 Aug 2012, 22:41 pm
@fitz1ella-606: but who would you select ahead of Kirchner? I know Kirch is useless but difficult see other options with Taute out injured. I presume Louis Luddick could be a good replacement but still very average.
@Transformation-607:
True, even Sharkies showed against the Bulls and Reds that we have players that can offload if given the latitude to do so.
Lions have also tried manfully to give the ball some air, although dont really have the players to sustain that game plan nor the defence.
Was interesting reading Ackermann and how he said he wouldnt change the Lions style during the CC with Carlos and Mitchell gone and that he was keen for each player to be used on attack (all 15 men). Which is why you will often see Franco vd Merwe, Jacob thowing cut out passes and other forwards popping the ball to backs.
@fitz1ella-611:
I don’t think Nz breed tougher players….Big Hit got it right about player management, resting certain players throughout the season and building depth.
Perhaps they do play a smarter game by not getting into the physical mauling type of game, but I don’t know if that keeps down the causualty list. I do believe that greater fitness and conditioning has alot to do with avoiding injuries.
29 Aug 2012, 22:42 pm
@victoriabok-612:
Hy’s net soos Kobus Wiese gebou soos n tenk, sal nie soos Bakkies lyk.. meer soos Kobus Wiese se klemtoon op swaarde krag
Hy moet eintlik sommer saam met Etzebeth nou al laat speel by no.4 en Etzebeth op 5.. sal die oplossing vir ons sagte vyf wees onmiddelik.
29 Aug 2012, 22:42 pm
@fitz1ella-606:
> HO de Villiers was the first running full back before JPR Williams and those that followed on from there. Jouba and Christian Cullen and Serge Blanco, Chris Latham, Matt Rogers, Jason Robinson, James Small and the rest
My favourite centre was Jeremy Guscott, not the best* but man he could slip through the smallest gap and the smoothest pass I’ve ever seen
*-Bunce and Little and Horan and Little were probably better
29 Aug 2012, 22:46 pm
@fitz1ella-621:
Ons mag die game verloor maar nooit die fight nie ?
29 Aug 2012, 22:47 pm
@Te Rangatira-608: just last weekend i watched the 81 bokke vs maori game that ended up 12 – 12 the likes of germishuis weren’t slouches indeed…it was a nervy game & the kiwi commentators were among the most biased i’ve ever heard hahaha
29 Aug 2012, 22:47 pm
@kwas-618: Andries Coetsee or Willie le Roux or Riaan Smit
even Aplon or Viljoen or Ludick or Lambie are better yet they are prone to defensive lapses., but no more so than Kirchner while at least offering some reasonable attacking promise.
I’m still not 100% sold on Frans Steyn at 12.. he may ultimately suit our cause better at 15, though my first choice would be Andries Coetsee right now and the Bulls fly half Fouche could be a very handy No. 15 too.
29 Aug 2012, 22:48 pm
@victoriabok-616:
Yeah you are right, isolation did hurt your rugby, it would hurt any country. When Mark Ella and the great Aussie backline of the early eighties carved the Abs up, Nz knew they had to change the way they used the ball and engage the defensive line and the willingness was there from the players and coaches and we can see the end product today.
29 Aug 2012, 22:50 pm
@Transformation-607:
> the cheetahs play a wide game…most kiwis & those on reunion name the cheetahs as their favourite franchise to watch…
Of course they would, nice to watch but no threat to their teams
@Transformation-617: we do like those lamb chops, eish how I would like a Karoo chop now
Agree with Skop on A.Coetzee.
For me, he is an easy choice for Bok fullback.
@Te Rangatira-626:
I saw Ella play, I think it was against the French?
He ripped them a new one
29 Aug 2012, 22:54 pm
@Transformation-624:
That game was out of it.Did you see the drop kick go over at the end of the game that would have given the Maori the win?One of the most polarising times in Nz history, complete chaos.
29 Aug 2012, 22:57 pm
@willievz-629: If he was an Aussie or NZder he’d be a Wallaby or AB already..
how old was O’Connor when he became Wallaby..?
or that AB wing Guildford who’s not nearly as promising as young Coetsee.
but here our conservative mindset will never get the best out of him.. we’ll rather wait till he gets crocked in a meaningless CC game, like Goosen did before he could fulfill is best promise in national duty.
29 Aug 2012, 23:01 pm
@victoriabok-614: ek sal jou email. Ongelukkig is Procurement nie my area van expertise.
29 Aug 2012, 23:03 pm
@willievz-629: a.coetzee or whoever…he will be useless if we don’t play as a “back three” habana for all his pace & industry has ALWAYS had a poor skills set, can’t see him link up with any fullback & counter in tandem unless habana will get the ball & run straight!
there’s a reason the all blacks played dagg with jane & kahui either side of him.
29 Aug 2012, 23:03 pm
@fitz1ella-632:
They’ve played Horan and Little at 19 years old in the dirt tracker team on tour
It’s a shame we don’t have real tours anymore, we should do it with the EOYT, it’s the ideal way to blood youngsters
29 Aug 2012, 23:04 pm
@kwas-633:
Dankie man, ek waardeer dit
29 Aug 2012, 23:06 pm
@Transformation-634: You know my take on fullbacks in an SA context – I prefer a big booted, kicking 10.
But this kid is too special to be ignored. You find a way to accommodate him. Even if you need to pick new wingers.
29 Aug 2012, 23:07 pm
@willievz-637: kicking 15
29 Aug 2012, 23:08 pm
@fitz1ella-632:
Another youngster you should look out for is Volmink for the Lions who plays on the left wing – hasnt set the CC alight just yet but is very quick, good hands, and good footwork. Rhule looks to be very promising also. Just hope we get some more backline coaches like Hawies Fourie to alllow these guys to fulfil their potential.
@Transformation-634: How good has he been in a Lions team who has Deon Van Rensburg as a winger…
@fitz1ella-632:
> or that AB wing Guildford who’s not nearly as promising as young Coetsee.
Nah, nothing wrong with Zac,tons of talent and speed
Have you ever played a test with a hangover?:-)
29 Aug 2012, 23:10 pm
@pat1-639:
Rhule’s got the x-factor, he lives to score tries
29 Aug 2012, 23:22 pm
my new Bok backline looks like this
A. Coetsee
P. Jordaan
J. Serfontein
J. de Jongh
R. Rhule
J. Goosen
F. Hougaard
I bet they would smack the current Boks out the park for a six.
Or
A. Coetsee
S. Sithole
P. Jordaan
J. Serfontein
R. Rhule
J. Goosen
F. Hougaard
29 Aug 2012, 23:27 pm
yip that Volminck looks a promising player but Rhule look like he could step right up to the big time tomorrow. I reckon he’s almost already better than both Habana and Mvovo
29 Aug 2012, 23:29 pm
@fitz1ella-644:
He is, he’s still hungry for it, like a young boxer, a contender for the title.
Habana hasn’t been hungry for a while, if you don’t want it, you won’t get it
29 Aug 2012, 23:34 pm
@fitz1ella-643:
What about JJ Engelbrecht?
29 Aug 2012, 23:41 pm
Yes I wanted to place JJ at 11 but I reckon Rhule should go straight up to start so Engelbrecht either start at 13 or 14 ahead of Jordaan or go to bench.
Sadie might still make a come back when he goes to Cheetahs
Cheetahs back line going to look like this
Pretorius / Van Zyl, Goosen, Rhule, Strauss, Ebersohn, Sadie, Smit / Le Roux
Not too shabby.. could also smack the bok back line for six. Only one not top class is Strauss at 12.
29 Aug 2012, 23:44 pm
@fitz1ella-647:
He tackles hard though, he should teach Spies how to and charge money for it
29 Aug 2012, 23:47 pm
yip Strauss is a very hard tackler.. one of those no nonsense true grit type players.. would teach Spies plenty about tackling, maybe they should convert him to flank
anyway out now.. g.night
29 Aug 2012, 23:50 pm
Old news by now no doubt but just read that Andrew Strauss has resigned/retired from test cricket. Is this not the 3rd time an England captain has been battered into early retirement by Graemme Smith?
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 » Show All