Duane’s day to remember

Duane Vermeulen is finally a Springbok and one of two uncapped players for the Rugby Championship tour to Australia and New Zealand.

Johan Goosen is the other newbie, with recalls for Juan de Jongh and Bath-based Francois Louw.

‘Untimely injuries to Bismarck du Plessis, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Pierre Spies, JP Pietersen and Bjorn Basson have already hit us hard in the past few weeks. This again provides opportunities for other players to put up their hands,’ said Bok coach Heyneke Meyer.

‘We were very keen to give Siya Kolisi an opportunity on this tour, but he is also out injured, alongside a list of other injured or unavailable forwards that include Gurthrö Steenkamp, Heinrich Brüssow, Schalk Burger, Juan Smith and Ryan Kankowski.’

Meyer confirmed he would have selected Vermeulen and Goosen in his initial Test squad but for injury to both players.

‘I regard both of them as world-class rugby players. If it wasn’t for injuries, Duane would have been a Springbok long ago. I also believe Johan has a long career ahead of him at Test match level and we will expose him when and how we feel it will benefit the player and the team best.

‘Both Juan and Francois played at the Rugby World Cup last year and are experienced players. Juan covers both positions in the midfield and we opted for Francois because he is a specialist openside flanker, in the absence of Schalk, Heinrich and Siya, that can cover blindside and No 8 as well, while he is also a very useful option in the lineout.

‘I’m also very excited with the quality of young talent coming through – Eben, Marcell and Johan are all still U21 and that bodes well for the future of Springbok rugby.’

Springbok squad – Willem Alberts, Andries Bekker, Craig Burden, Pat Cilliers, Marcell Coetzee, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers (c), Jannie du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Johan Goosen, Dean Greyling, Bryan Habana, Francois Hougaard, Zane Kirchner, Juandré Kruger, Pat Lambie, Tiaan Liebenberg, Francois Louw, Tendai Mtawarira, Lwazi Mvovo, Ruan Pienaar, Jacques Potgieter, Frans Steyn, Morné Steyn, Adriaan Strauss, Flip van der Merwe, Jano Vermaak, Duane Vermeulen.

656 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 1114 » Show All

• 251.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Guns-237: Exactly, Kanko for aa few years was better than SPies, never got a chance bar a few minutes ahere and there, He then decides to taale a break from bneing a abench sitter, and suddenly the Bok coaach says he would have selected him had he not gone to Japan lol.
    Trust me HM would not have selected Kanko, just as he wont drop Morne, someone will have to go break Morne’s legs for him not to be selected.

The Sharks coach that has been behind Lambies success for the past 4 years says Lambie is a 10, he helped out at 15 where needed, but he is a 10

HM and His sidekick Ricardo tries telling us Lambie is a 15 and not a 10, yet Lambie’s most successful time playing at the Sharks was at 10

Anyhows, enough rants i have always been of the opinion that a player does not select himself, so come the next test match whether i agree with selections or not i will support the Boks full steam.

• 252.willievz: Reply to this comment

On another note,

I would also have called up Schalk Britz to replace Burden.

• 253.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-246:

don’t hold your breath

• 254.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-241: 40 minutes to start or finish?

• 255.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-228: Damn fool. lol

• 256.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant10-248: Well hope ur right mate, trust me we need his skills with Bissy out

• 257.Guns: Reply to this comment

For all we know Meyer has no plans on playing any of them and is just using pressure tackticks and BS to get his beef to beef up.. ;)

• 258.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Puma-136: this is the funniest post you’ve ever jotted down on KEO :mrgreen:

“Yip sounds very much like I am.
    Disappointed for Keegan. He has hardly been given a chance Transie. Nor has Lambie he has splinters on his backside by now.”

• 259.grant10: Reply to this comment

Vermeulen and Goosen should have been held back for home leg imo as well….

I just want to see M Steyn and JDV dropped….

And that Chabal Lite is not really up to it….

Then we back on track…

add guthro…Brussow…stir game plan….coc ktail for success

work function to attend…outta here

cheers all

fark I am a happy camper…

• 260.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@willievz-252: Stem saam, Bok span kannie sulke kak Sharks in hul geledere he niw :lol:

• 261.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Why is there so much uncertaintly amongst SA fans and their coach as to who should be playing where, especially in the back row we have had 1000′s of permutations here over the last few days, is it that hard to pick a back row and stick with it.

• 262.Atlas: Reply to this comment

Please HM, just drop Morne
    I don’t want another 4 years of Grantie moaning (ala JS)

• 263.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-261: ther is only a couple a world class playerx in the back row. brussow, alberts and kolisi look the best but the rest fkin overhyped pansy faced losers. we got no 8s worth test rugby and a lot of just good players not many special players its going to take time tio find the right combo.

• 264.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

louw?????????? bwahhahahahahahahahaha wat a loooooooozzaa!!! fkin scrapping the barrel i say and how can he be better than brussow??????? fkin sick joke. good on goosen and de jongh and please duane, please for god sake dont be another flopper i believe in you man!! go bokke!!!

• 265.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

There is nothing in what HM has done or said that indicates he has a clear understanding of what he needs to do to beat the Ozzies or the AB’s. I don’t see any variation in the game plan on the field or ecnouragement in his selections that indicate he is willing to vary tactics to suit the players available or the opposition he is taking on. Every selection appears to be to plug what he perceives to be a gap/hole/weakness that has appeared during the last game.

For instanve he perceives that we were outmuscled at the breakdown so he brings in FLouw (by the way not a bad selection in itself). The fact that they were outsmarted rather than outmsucled escapes him. All the Argies were doing is ensuring that the ball carrier was brought to ground instantly to enable the assistant (holding) tackler to play the ball as an arriving player. His changes whilst in themselves potentially first choices simply indicate an inability to figure out a way to beat the opposition with the players he has chosen so instead it is time to change personnel, not exactly instilling confidence in his ability to outwit our opposition.

• 266.Captain Sam Vimes: Reply to this comment

welcome to the club of D@@S HM…………your predecessors in title………..NM: 17 test winning streak, tri-nations title and world cup semi-finalist by end of tenure was famously referred to as the mallet who broke the Boks……………..JW Tri Nations victory and world cup and No.1 ranking in the world now known as Jakey Snakey by some………….PDV Tri nations title series win over BIL and NO1 ranking………now thought of as a joke……….in fact every coach who ever coached the Boks …………….just remember you wanted this job, me woulda taken a fast car and some cash instead. In fact now I know why Francois Pienaar wanted a million US in an undisclosed account, maybe he was just taking the piss outa Riaan Oberholzer but I hope that you have a legal team that will milk SARU for as much as possible when the curtain comes down. Like Pissant said they wont let you succeed ;-)

• 267.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok-263:

the longer Brussow stays away the better, crazy not to select him

• 268.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

Better squad, but I’d take anyone instead of Flip van der Merwe.

Literally anyone.

I’d even consider Hargreaves.

• 269.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-251: kanko was better than spies in 2007 but that was it this cockhole has been totally p!ssed on by spies ever since and ever time kanko comes in his makes a complete aarse of himself. both are fkin no good now so why argue bout it? kanko and bissie are two biggest sharks fans wet dreams but are totally shytee

• 270.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@willievz-252:

yes. Schalk Britz has more x factor than all the backs in that squad put together!

Duane – longtime overdue. Should have being a Bok when he first emerged in OVS.

• 271.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Davon Raubenheimer ahead of Duane ..could never understand that

• 272.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy-265: you are defo a stupid **** bananaboy meyer has got to work through our talent like jake did coz peter did a straeuli and totally fked up continuity. now we in a vuccum as legends have retired on mass and now we gotta have some pain to regain some continuity and establish some spine to the fkin team. it takes time and it doesnt help that most of these fukkers are not as good as everyone says bekker, bissie, etzebeth, kruger, jean and loads more just arent as good as the players they replaced. so we are stuck with a weaker team than before no matter who meyer selects. you ******** wanted the old boys kicked out now you fkin get it and start complaining, you saffers are as fking thick as pig shiit

• 273.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-209: shite! NOT THIS SHARKS fan!!!!! **** I cried for daysbwhen they announced HM as coach :( and I was not upeased at all by his Sharks choices. But been proven right still doesn’t make HM a sweeter pill to swallow!!!!!

• 274.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok-264:

@NZINCHINA-267:

Brussouw’s still injured.

• 275.The Bok Identity: Reply to this comment

His Heynekeness can you please explain how Goosen leapfrogs Lambie and Jantjies as back up flyhalf…especially since the 2 mentioned players have previously been on the bench as well. I have long since given up trying to figure out how Strauss overtook Chilliboy and how Potmeister overtook Kolisi to the starting line up.

• 276.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

In 2008 PDivvy didnt get the job because he is black he got it because Heyneke is a poor coach.

• 277.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

Happy with the squad now but I hope Heyneke starts Lambie instead of Sideshow Bob- it’s getting ridiculous now the number of caps this imposter is racking up.

• 278.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@The Bok Identity-275: lamvie and cornwad hankys are bollockz you nubstick both are biggest fkin jokes ever. goosen was the form fkin flyhalf this year grow a brain or pluck one out of your azz please before talking again

• 279.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok-274:

when he recovers he should be picked, he was one guy that troubled the AB loosies every game

• 280.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@The Bok Identity-275: Chilli is injured mate, Kolisi should have been playing yes, in place of the flying Ninja with blou onderbroek :lol:

• 281.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

put your money on

Duane
    Coetzee

• 282.Captain Sam Vimes: Reply to this comment

One of the best stories doing the rounds at the moment is like HM Robbie Deans is a poor coach…………….well for everybody who thinks that erm how many times have we beaten Auss recently? ja must be pretty k@k………………………………………..these okes who win Super Rugby titles palooka’s the whole lot I tells ya…………….that’s why everyone’s got em………………….

• 283.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Jano Vermaak – the invisible man

very underrated player

• 284.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Captain Sam Vimes-282:

the Ab’s have farked his coaching stats, against the rest he’s done pretty well

• 285.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Captain Sam Vimes-282: Robbie Deans is not a poor coach, not b y any stretch of the imagination

• 286.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Captain Sam Vimes-282:

all went wrong for Deans when he dropped Matt Gitau

• 287.Atlas: Reply to this comment

HM will prove all you nay sayers wrong

• 288.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber-286:

no it went wrong for him when he came up against the black wall

• 289.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber-286: all went wrong wen he was hired!! hahaha i always said he was overrated the fukkker has been well exposed 51% ratio is fkin sad

• 290.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Daniels is very unlucky. Potgieter is a bit of a joke (as is HM for rating him).

• 291.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@Atlas-287: saffers are fkin stupid coz they dont have a education system and those who go school only need 30% to pass bwahahahaha ibig fat useless drunk fukz think they know everything useless fuki saffers.

• 292.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber-286:

Tend to agree. Matt G is one of the finest players of the past 30 years.

Little fellow, but never went backwards, or missed tackles.

• 293.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-290: potie is no better than the others but you must know that argies are the only other team that can really hit the boks hard up front so keep it in mind and argies couldnt get going either just one big smash fest

• 294.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok-291:

Are you typing on your phone?

• 295.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-292: yeah gits was a big fk up lost many games for aussies thats why he was dropped this fukkker thought he was the team all by himself bwahahaha

• 296.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-294: yes i am and proud of it so do one pal

• 297.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok-289:

lol bit harsh but lets not forget he was assistant to…..John Mitchell – AB coach.

@londonshark-292:

Totatlly agree. Matt Gitau one of most complete 10s, 12s I have seen play.

• 298.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok-293:

Mmm, not sure hey. NZL’s forwards won’t battle against the Argies. Our forwards simply can’t dominate at test level, and never have since 92. This a serious worry, seeing as HM’s gameplan depends on our forwards beating the ^%&^%&^% out of the opposition.

• 299.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok-296:

Lol. Fair enough. Then I forgive you for your ‘sms language’.

• 300.Captain Sam Vimes: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-284: yeppers you buggers have handed everyone one there jacks repeatedly with only 2009 being any blemish on your record. I think RD a fantastic coach who had had limited player reserves to work with, to be honest how he even put competitive forward packs on the filed is amazing. HM likewise working with limited players skills wise but suddenly expected to revolutionize Bok rugby and have them playing with the flair of the french in their glory days in five games.

I mean their is reality and then their is non reality which I am starting to believe that most of SA live in. The conservative game plan is so **** that the Stormers won the overall log with it………….and ran out of players at the death to go all the way. So ja pull the other one its got bells on………….

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 1114 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.