Duane’s day to remember
29 Aug 2012
Duane Vermeulen is finally a Springbok and one of two uncapped players for the Rugby Championship tour to Australia and New Zealand.
Johan Goosen is the other newbie, with recalls for Juan de Jongh and Bath-based Francois Louw.
‘Untimely injuries to Bismarck du Plessis, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Pierre Spies, JP Pietersen and Bjorn Basson have already hit us hard in the past few weeks. This again provides opportunities for other players to put up their hands,’ said Bok coach Heyneke Meyer.
‘We were very keen to give Siya Kolisi an opportunity on this tour, but he is also out injured, alongside a list of other injured or unavailable forwards that include Gurthrö Steenkamp, Heinrich Brüssow, Schalk Burger, Juan Smith and Ryan Kankowski.’
Meyer confirmed he would have selected Vermeulen and Goosen in his initial Test squad but for injury to both players.
‘I regard both of them as world-class rugby players. If it wasn’t for injuries, Duane would have been a Springbok long ago. I also believe Johan has a long career ahead of him at Test match level and we will expose him when and how we feel it will benefit the player and the team best.
‘Both Juan and Francois played at the Rugby World Cup last year and are experienced players. Juan covers both positions in the midfield and we opted for Francois because he is a specialist openside flanker, in the absence of Schalk, Heinrich and Siya, that can cover blindside and No 8 as well, while he is also a very useful option in the lineout.
‘I’m also very excited with the quality of young talent coming through – Eben, Marcell and Johan are all still U21 and that bodes well for the future of Springbok rugby.’
Springbok squad – Willem Alberts, Andries Bekker, Craig Burden, Pat Cilliers, Marcell Coetzee, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers (c), Jannie du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Johan Goosen, Dean Greyling, Bryan Habana, Francois Hougaard, Zane Kirchner, Juandré Kruger, Pat Lambie, Tiaan Liebenberg, Francois Louw, Tendai Mtawarira, Lwazi Mvovo, Ruan Pienaar, Jacques Potgieter, Frans Steyn, Morné Steyn, Adriaan Strauss, Flip van der Merwe, Jano Vermaak, Duane Vermeulen.

656 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 … 14 » Show All
29 Aug 2012, 15:11 pm
@londonshark-298:
agree with that. We havent dominated since Uli Schmidt retired..took a tighthead against Fitzpatrick in 92.
Jannie needs go. Heinkie vd Merwe is still the most destructive loosehood IMO
@The Bok Identity-275: They do not fit the profile of the rugby culture/gameplan that Meyer is busy developing…
BJ Botha
29 Aug 2012, 15:13 pm
@mpundulu-220: the incredabrain is going to make bok supporter hate heyneke
the unfortunate thing about being an active coach is that it is highly not advisable to come out and be honest about tactical faux pas…i don’t recall even wayne or GH ever saying “we got the gameplan wrong and they exposed us”
@Blitzbok-291:
My uncle also told me not to get into a “debate” with a drunk poepol
So go ahead and spew
@Captain Sam Vimes-300: you are right saffers are stupid they dont know fk all about their players or rugby in general. just expect to roll over everyone. just read that stupid fkin article by the other big fat bald ******* keo on here saying the boks have been kak but fk we played a stern test series against england and then two really hard slug fests against the argies who nearly always make life hard for us. a litle reality is a good thing maybe saffer land is not centre of the universe and maybe our opponents can fkin play a bit of fkin rugby, no way we woulda beat argie in that game under peter not a fkin chance in hell!! stupid ***** saffer dogs
29 Aug 2012, 15:14 pm
@Captain Sam Vimes-300:
Your Stormers comment holds no water. The Stormers ruled with their defense. The Bok defense is nowhere near as good as the Stormers. Plus they had players to compete at the breakdown.
And don’t say HM doesn’t have the talent to do well. Jake White took the Boks from 6th to 1st in the world with a pretty average team (even Victor and co were youngsters back then).
Hell, Jake had ‘the wet Barry’, Marius Joubert, ’90m droppie Jaco’, slow coach Paulse etc etc. And he won the 3N with smart coaching.
HM is not coaching smart at the moment.
29 Aug 2012, 15:14 pm
@Transformation-304: yeah he did graham did in 2004 and in 2009 hahahaha short fkin memory pal
29 Aug 2012, 15:16 pm
@greatest13gerber-286:
agreed he is/was really good.
giteau dropped himself though with his poor run of form during the time the ab’s were building up the big unbeaten winning margin against them.
really gave deans no choice cos he was under fire too.
29 Aug 2012, 15:16 pm
@Blitzbok-272: So where did you say you bought your matric certificate ( if you have one) you might want to think about returning it. In a country with way more playing resources than our opposition , you want to tell me that HM cannot select a squad that he can work with from teh outset and turn into a winning squad. Well either he got his initial squad selection wrong (based on the playing style he wanted to play) or he cannot coach players into playing a style (irrespective of where they play their rugby) that he wants that is aimed at outwitting our opponents.
It has nothing to do with players retiring , we all understand that and will be willing to give him the grace to develop the squad however he has indicated by his recent outbursts and selection changes that he does not know what game plan he wants to use and will use the spate of injuries he curently has as an excuse to play around with the combo’s until it clicks.
Tell me how many of the AB’s current squad were in the WC winninfg squad %age wise?- have they not also had personnel changes
29 Aug 2012, 15:17 pm
@Blitzbok-308:
Yep.the All Black side of 2004 was tactically aweful.
I remember them trying to run the ball from everywhere, and the Boks just waiting for them, and turning them over.
2009, they were even worse. The basically commited suicide in the Durban test.
29 Aug 2012, 15:18 pm
@londonshark-307: barry was fkin awesome and so was jaco in 2004 and we had a great fullback and du preez was a genius. iot was a lot more solid in 2004 player wise legends in that squad fk bakkies, matfield, os, smit, du preez, monty, joubert, barry, schalk, big joe thats a fkin awesome player list. jakey put together the plan meyer has less to work with and peter left a bigger hole than straeuli. bok defence has improve massively under meyer so much better than snor days. meyer just needs brussow thats the ONLY fkin mistake he is really maing the rest are just not as good a player as the old boys. si9mple as fkin that.
29 Aug 2012, 15:19 pm
@londonshark-298:
we’ll get parity and then run them off their feet with superior fitness levels
@Captain Sam Vimes-300:
Robbie and the Wallabies have waved the white flag and surrendered to the Ab’s horrible to listen to actually post match. Yip HM has his work cut out its been a while since the Bokke won anything and thats not going to change overnight
29 Aug 2012, 15:19 pm
@bananaboy-310: you are so fkin stupid dont fkin ever talk to me again little twatt
29 Aug 2012, 15:21 pm
@londonshark-311: graham got it wrong last year as well he went run crazy in the tri nations decider he always tried that from time to time and it always bombed him out of the water but thats what the bok fans want to play like hahaha peter tried it and it fked us up and dont forget that fagggot viljoen! now they want meyer to do it as well,. stupid useless fukz
29 Aug 2012, 15:23 pm
@Blitzbok-312:
Mmm, Barry was great on defense, nothing more. Jaco, while he showed some flair, had more brainfarts than NZL come WC time.
Du Preez was a rookie, who only really matured in 2006/7. In fact, many people felt Ruan had his number back then.
Big Joe, phaaaa, average average average. Only ever exceled up north.
Some names on your list sound good because you remembering them at their peak (2007,8,9). With Jake (in 2004), they were raw.
29 Aug 2012, 15:26 pm
@Blitzbok-315:
Lol, no one want’s the Viljoen Boks back. But every gameplan must be balanced.
It’s like what people were saying to the Stormers. No one expected them to play 7′s, but a little flair every now and again might have got them to the title.
Same with the Boks. Keep it tight, but use your backs when the time is right.
29 Aug 2012, 15:26 pm
There was no peaking in 08′.
29 Aug 2012, 15:28 pm
@londonshark-316: um no you stupid wankpuppet barry was massive ball in hand in 2004 thats why we had the best attack you dummy. jaco went off the boil in 2006 actually
2004 du preez was massive dumb dumb he made two bok tries out of nothing against new zealand
stupid fked up dog ballz you have in your head big joe was our last test 8 fukwad man we miss this guy
i remember 2004 you arseholee dont make fukfaced assumptions cocklicker
29 Aug 2012, 15:29 pm
What is wrong with Elton Jantjies? I guess Meyer is only comfortable with working with players of a certain culture. And this will ultimately be his downfall.
In addition is Meyer turning into the new Straueli?
29 Aug 2012, 15:29 pm
@Blitzbok-315:
It’s funny how Henry is remembered as this saint of a coach, when in reality, he came within a whisker of blowing the 2011 WC as well. But, he won it, and that’s all that history will remember.
Same with Jake to a degree was well. 49-0 losses to the dingos. Massive loses to NZL. Losing to Ireland a couple times etc.
But, he won the WC.
29 Aug 2012, 15:30 pm
@bananaboy-310:
Leave him. Anybody who curse to get his point across is not worthy
29 Aug 2012, 15:30 pm
@Blitzbok-308: 2009? GH blamed his players and their inconsistent execution… think before laughing Alucard
29 Aug 2012, 15:32 pm
@Transformation-323:
09′ was a very weak AB side, we had no locks and didnt win anyball
29 Aug 2012, 15:32 pm
@Blitzbok-319:
Lol, you actually quite amusing.
Nah, big Joe is one of those guys who magically plays well in the NH, because the standard is so much lower.
Only Percy came back a better player. Everyone else takes 3-6 months to come right again.
FDP was good, but not the best in the world yet. That came later.
Barry had his moments, but JDV and JF should have replaced the Wet Barry and Joubert sooner (instead they had to wait until 2005).
29 Aug 2012, 15:33 pm
So with the squad at our disposal I thinl we hat to start with
15-lambie
14-habana
13de villiers
12-fsteyn
11-mvovo
10-msteyn
9-pienaar
8-vermeulen
7-alberts
6-coetzee
5-kruger
4-etzebeth
3-cilliers
2-strauss
1-mtawarira
16-liebenberg
17-greyling
18-potgieter/bekker
19-louw
20-hougaard
21-goosen
22-de jong
If kirchner is to play I’d swop morne with lambie… But I think our subs would be devestating in last 20
29 Aug 2012, 15:33 pm
@NZINCHINA-324:
Didn’t help Matfield was a Jedi back then either
29 Aug 2012, 15:34 pm
@Blitzbok-314:
29 Aug 2012, 15:35 pm
@londonshark-327:
that is true, oh how he is going to be missed by the Bokke going forward once in a generation player
Please heineke don’t waste lambie on being bench-based… He is to good a flucking player
English Capt Strauss has retired from all forms of cricket
@xtremebull-326:
I would seriously consider Hougie on the wing (starting in place of Mvovo). Lambie to 10 as well.
29 Aug 2012, 15:36 pm
@sharks_lover-331:
he obviously couldn’t be bothered with all the shite that goes with it, hes made plenty good on him
29 Aug 2012, 15:36 pm
@xtremebull-326: Tend to agree with you for the most, but i dont think that is how they will play.
29 Aug 2012, 15:37 pm
@NZINCHINA-329:
Yep, we honestly got used to stealing 40% plus of all ball in the lineout. Was freaky actually.
I honestly think that he’s the best 5 of all time. Yes, better than John E (even if he could place kick).
29 Aug 2012, 15:38 pm
@xtremebull-326:
F Steyn should be your 15, wasted at 12
29 Aug 2012, 15:38 pm
@NZINCHINA-333: Yeah , He said it has nothing to do with the KP thing, but im sure it does
29 Aug 2012, 15:39 pm
@NZINCHINA-336:
Starting to think so too. Frans is a great 12, but offers so much at 15. His boot is better utilized too.
@londonshark-335:
was big Vic as good around the track as Eales? I still have nightmares of him putting the penalty over with 1/2 second to go in a Bledisloe a decade ago
@londonshark-321: Henry had a 86% win ratio over 8 years, show me a coach in rugby remotely close to that…in the world of sport i reckon vincent de bosque is close to that or above…
29 Aug 2012, 15:42 pm
@sharks_lover-337:
hows that KP what a w anker
@londonshark-338:
Dagg has a massive clearing kick from 15 like Steyn, when we get in the shite his clearances are gold
29 Aug 2012, 15:45 pm
@londonshark-325: “Nah, big Joe is one of those guys who magically plays well in the NH, because the standard is so much lower.”
i find this very confusing, you’re saying big joe does well overseas cos the “standard is that much lower” – and this is a view you share with even tacitus – BUT heyneke in his justification of the draw in mendoza told us that people in SA underestimated the argies whose player “play in europe – Aviva and Top14 – and thus have experience”
which is it? are european leagues weak meaning their players are below par compared to NZ, SA and AUS?
29 Aug 2012, 15:47 pm
@sharks_lover-337: Think it does too.
@NZINCHINA-341: agreed, prodigious boot and follows it up with SOLID chases!
izzy dagg, super class!
@sharks_lover-331: so Smith has ended the career of a 3rd Pom captain – nice
29 Aug 2012, 15:48 pm
@Puma-343:
feeling confident for the Perth game, a must win!!
29 Aug 2012, 15:50 pm
@Transformation-344:
he’s going to score plenty of tries that boy, not sure if he’ll overtake the one and only C Cullen for outright attack time will tell
29 Aug 2012, 15:54 pm
Transie
Izzy has a superior skillset to Cullen,awesome player
But
Cullen is the greatest attacking player/runner in modern era
He scored 10 tries vs Boks
He was to SA what Lomu was to England.Owned us and dialed up Bok number regularly
@NZINCHINA-347: he doesn’t have the top-end pace of cullen but he makes up for it with ingenuity…
@NZINCHINA-339:
Ha ha, I remember that game. I even woke up for it at 4:00am here in SA.
Matfield was good around the park (not as good as JE), but the value he added in the lineouts was just so massive.
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 … 14 » Show All