Lions players chasing exit

Prop Jacobie Adriaanse and lock Ruan Botha are the latest Lions players to confirm their departures at the end of the Currie Cup campaign.

Adriaanse will head to Europe, where he’ll join Welsh club Scarlets, while Botha will make a move to the Cape as he’s signed a deal with WP.

Adriaanse has been a big feature at tighthead prop for the Lions this season. Twenty-year-old Botha made his Super Rugby debut for the Lions and was part of the Baby Bok squad that won the Junior World Championship title in June.

Lock Paul Willemse (Blue Bulls) and prop Caylib Oosthuizen (Free State Cheetahs) have also announced their exits in recent weeks.

Most of the Lions’ key players have signed on until the end of 2013, which will keep them at the union until the South African Super Rugby promotion-relegation play-off against next year’s last-placed local franchise. However, Springbok hooker Bandies Maku, flyhalf Butch James and centre Waylon Murray do not feature in that group.

Of those contracted players, only flyhalf Elton Jantjies has a clause which allows him to feature for another Super Rugby team next season.

Lions players contracted until 2013 – JC Janse van Rensburg, CJ van der Linde, Callie Visagie, Pat Cilliers, Hendrik Roodt, Franco van der Merwe, Derick Minnie, Jaco Kriel, Michael Rhodes, Stephan Greeff, Josh Strauss, Warren Whiteley, Michael Bondesio, Ross Cronje, Whestley Moolman, Elton Jantjies (with contract clause), Guy Cronje, Jaco Taute, Alwyn Hollenbach, Lionel Mapoe, Dylan des Fountain, Bradley Moolman, Deon van Rensburg, Deon Helberg, Andries Coetzee, James Kamana.