WP field new loose trio

WP have made six changes to their starting line-up ahead of their clash against the Blue Bulls at Newlands on Saturday.

Three of those changes are in the back three of the scrum, as Duane Vermeulen (Springbok call-up), Siya Kolisi (broken thumb) and Tyrone Holmes (AC joint) are all unavailable for selection. Skipper Deon Fourie shifts from hooker to openside flank, while Jebb Sinclair and the recently recovered Rynhardt Elstadt also receive starting places.

Elsewhere in the pack, loosehead prop Deon Carstens gets the nod with Steven Kitshoff dropping to the bench.

In the backline, outside centre JP du Plessis takes the vacant spot left by Juan de Jongh, who joins the Boks. Scrumhalf Dewaldt Duvenage also starts in the No 9 jersey.

WP – 15 Gio Aplon, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 JP du Plessis, 12 Marcel Brache, 11 Ederies Arendse, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Jebb Sinclair, 7 Rynhardt Elstadt, 6 Deon Fourie (c), 5 De Kock Steenkamp, 4 Don Armand, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Siyabonga Ntubeni, 1 Deon Carstens.
Subs: 16 Steven Kitshoff, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 19 Helmut Lehmann, 20 Nic Groom, 21 Damian de Allende, 22 Kurt Coleman.