Boks’ response must speak loudest
30 Aug 2012
Springbok captain Jean de Villiers said they had to be accountable for their poor showing in Mendoza and said that accountability must be exhibited through their forthcoming performances.
The Springboks produced their most woeful effort under coach Heyneke Meyer to date, stuttering to a 16-16 draw in the second Test of their Rugby Championship campaign last week.
They have subsequently taken lots of heat from the South African public and media and are under immense pressure to improve in the Tests that remain, their next assignment coming in Perth against Australia next Saturday.
De Villiers stressed the importance of identification and elimination of the errors they’ve made and called for a significant improvement.
‘We need to learn from our experiences, and we’re growing as a team, but you can’t keep making the same mistakes,’ De Villiers said at Orlando Stadium in Soweto on Thursday.
‘By Saturday next week we will know if we’ve stepped up or not. We’re building as a team. Our discipline needs to improve, our execution, and our set-phases have taken a step backward. We maybe need to improve 40 percent but the margins are very small in Test rugby.’
De Villiers added time had healed some of the wounds of that result and allowed them to gain a measure of perspective on it. He also refused to completely accept that their attacking play, which was a point of great criticism for its sterility, was fundamentally flawed.
‘We’ve put that game behind us. Looking at the game again I feel better about it,’ he said. ‘There were actually a lot of positives from the game. We believe we were a better team than how we played on Saturday. Even though there has been a lot of criticism of our attacking play, I thought that was actually quite good. The attack was quite good at times.’
Meyer’s game plan is widely perceived to be conservative and has been the central focus of his detractors’ vitriol. He needs it to come together against the Wallabies or face deepening and more scathing criticism thereof. While De Villiers accepted that they deserved to be questioned for their execution of that game plan, he, however, gave it the vote of confidence on behalf of the squad.
‘It’s a new coach trying to get a message and game plan across to the team,’ he said. ‘We will all stand up for what we believe in. We believe in the coach and what we’re doing is right.’

297 Comments
30 Aug 2012, 18:51 pm
Go restore some faith Jean. This team is capable.
30 Aug 2012, 18:57 pm
Boks and Wobs coming off poor results, should be quite a firefight.
30 Aug 2012, 19:03 pm
Never commented here but just felt the need…. A lot of the boks problems stem from the fact they want to go ground when tackled… there are many tackles where the ball carrier just seems to collapse on first contact… we need to try and stay on our feet a bit longer and either offload or go to ground when support players are arriving !
30 Aug 2012, 19:08 pm
The spin before fixtures is so predictable.
It is almost as if there is a standard template for addressing the media if the team is doing well, and one for when the team is doing poorly.
Seriously, did anyone learn anything new from this article? And can’t our journalists do more technical analysis?
30 Aug 2012, 19:10 pm
Numbers say the Boks are our bunnies
BY: WAYNE SMITH From: The Australian August 31, 2012 12:00AM
Increase Text Size
Decrease Text Size
Print
HEAD-TO-HEAD, the statistics are ugly in the extreme for Robbie Deans and the Wallabies, but there is one battle in which they are beating the All Blacks: in their showdowns with South Africa.
In contrast to their sad record of just three wins from 17 Bledisloe Tests against New Zealand during the Deans era, the Wallabies have played the Springboks 12 times since 2008 for eight wins. During the same period, the All Blacks have won only six of 11 Tests against the South Africans.
It’s a marginal advantage at best that the Australians enjoy but in the current climate, with Deans battling to save his job and the Wallabies battling to maintain faith with the Australian rugby public, any advantage is to be welcomed and savoured.
Indeed, if the Wallabies were to win their next Rugby Championship Test, against the Boks in Perth tomorrow week, they will stretch their winning sequence against South Africa to five matches, bettering by one the record they currently share with the 1999-2000 Australian side.
Aside from injured winger Drew Mitchell, whose season ended at Eden Park last Saturday when he re-injured the ankle that he spent most of last year rehabilitating, the Wallabies will field much the same injury-depleted team they did at Eden Park. There will be at least one other absentee, however, with hard-working Queensland backrower Jake Schatz being sent off for scans on a shoulder injury.
If a like-for-like replacement is made for Mitchell, Reds winger Dom Shipperley or Western Force flyer Nick Cummins could be brought into the extended training squad or Deans could decide to rotate Adam Ashley-Cooper back to the flank for Kurtley Beale to start at fullback.
The Wallabies have calculated that more than 20 players who have worn the gold jersey over the past 18 months currently are injured or otherwise not available, but Deans won’t elicit any sympathy from Springboks counterpart Heyneke Meyer.
In recent weeks, the Springboks have lost Bismarck du Plessis, the world’s best hooker, to injury, along with Chiliboy Ralepelle, Pierre Spies, JP Pietersen and speedster Bjorn Basson. On top of that, they have some of the most recognisable names in South African rugby — Schalk Burger, Juan Smith, Gurthro Steenkamp, Heinrich Brussow and Ryan Kankowski — on the long-term unavailable list.
It’s not quite the Wallabies’ casualty list but it comes close.
Certainly, the heavy toll the Australians have taken does give rise to thoughts that it might have to follow New Zealand’s lead in resting key players during the Super Rugby season. Acting captain Will Genia, for one, is looking like a player in need of down time.
Thankfully, the Australian Rugby Union doesn’t have the power to order the Super Rugby franchises to stand down players, and if it does want to pursue this line, it might need to give serious thought to freeing up current restrictions on how many foreign players the teams can recruit.
That would trigger old fears of foreign players blocking the career paths of young Australians but until the ARU establishes a third-tier competition to replace the Australian Rugby Championship it scrapped in 2008, it is difficult to see how the Australian franchises could cope with Test stars being rested without bringing in players from overseas.
Meanwhile, the Rugby Union Players’ Association will be hoping for a positive response from today’s ARU board meeting to its call earlier this week for an independent review of the ARU’s high-performance program.
30 Aug 2012, 19:38 pm
‘Even though there has been a lot of criticism of our attacking play, I thought that was actually quite good. The attack was quite good at times.’
EH?????
30 Aug 2012, 20:03 pm
Yoh Ryan.
I prefer quality than quantity when it comes to articles published on this site.
30 Aug 2012, 20:03 pm
@PissAnt-1: Unfortunately I don’t think it is and that’s the biggest problem here. Not the coach, not the game plan, not that Lambie or Elton or Goosen aren’t at fly-half. It’s just simply that the players we have at the moment are, in general, not that good. I think we’re all expecting too much from a bunch of guys who just aren’t at the level to be wearing a Bok jersey. Finish and klaar.
30 Aug 2012, 20:22 pm
All the women is Aus are “grak puddings”. Our boys were just distract by the gorgeus Latinas is Argie. Too much fun the night before
Go Bokke!!! Meide bly buite.
30 Aug 2012, 20:47 pm
Skop en jaag. Kyknoord skopvoort. Wallabies licking their lips for plenty ball possesion. Eish
30 Aug 2012, 21:00 pm
JDV what have been smoking, there was not one piece of attacking play that was impressive!
At least admit it, otherwise your credibility is going to go down the pipes along with Meyers!
30 Aug 2012, 21:08 pm
I’ve just watched the game again on youtube, and often, devoid of emotion and numerous beers, you see quite a different game the second time round, than you did “live”. Just a few things:
Positives:
1: Argentina was the better team, but apart from their try, they hardly entered our 22, let alone threatened our line.
2: Etsebeth was immense, Only the second time do you appreciate how much donkeywork he does.
3: Fransie is the only SA back with a bit of AB like swagger, he’s indispensible
4: Bekker took a lot of flak, and he missed two bad tackles, but otherwise was pretty good, certainly better than his replacement Flip.
Negatives:
1: I know Potgieter’s stats aren’t to bad, but they don’t tell the story of the efficacy, or lack thereof, of “tackles made” or “meteres gained”. Lord, he was awfull, it’s a miracle if he carries the ball into contact and it happens to be retained, and his tackles put zero pressure on oppostion ball. He wont get close to another squad in this comp, and his retention in the bok squad is nothing less than baffling
2: Strauss isn’t bad, but of all the injured players, Bissie is the biggest loss
3: M steyn is predictable beyond expression. He has a massive “backlift”, an exaggerated swingof the arms when passing, a baby can tell what he’s going to do from the moment he gets the ball. It has nothing to do with the speed of his pass, just the telegraphed nature thereof. And he allways take one sideways step before passing, aka R Januarie. If he kicks less than 85percent, there can no longer be case for his inclusion.
4: No sa forward has the abillity to off-load, ever. Take contact, go to ground, thats the mantra.
5: Ruan Pienaar is not the answer at 9, embarassingly bumped of a tackle, slow service. The game plan needs to change, not the scrummie
6: M Coetzee was dreadfull, it can happen with a young player, but he’s part of a woefully unbalanced backrow, and not a fetcher. Yes, we need a fetcher.
7: We can’t create play, our game depends on others making mistakes, and we feeding of it. Faced with an opponent doing the same, we’re stuffed, beaten at our own game.
8. Jannie and Beast cruising on auto-pilot
30 Aug 2012, 21:19 pm
Jean must think we are blind and stupid.
30 Aug 2012, 21:34 pm
“Even though there has been a lot of criticism of our attacking play, I thought that was actually quite good.”
WTF!!!!!
Shouldnt we compare our attacking play with the best attacking team in the world? Isnt that how you determine if your attacking play is any good ?! The AB’s are miles ahead !
Wake up Jean.
30 Aug 2012, 21:36 pm
@Stiff-arm-12:
The first PROPER full scale expose on EXACTLY what went wrong
and all these twats want Pienaar to start at 9
when Hougaard is head and shoulders a thousand light years ahead of him in every aspect of every part of his game…
get shot of these players
1. Strauss out or to bench – Fourie in
2. Cilliers to start – JdP off bench
3. Etzebeth should go to 5 get a proper hard man in at 4 like Elstadt or perhaps Mostert for eg. even Deysel or Alberts with Vermeulen now in the loosie mix, failing which get Bekker up to scratch as the ‘athletic’ lock partner.
4. Balance the back row – Coetsee either to 8 though preferably to bench – Vermeulen to start at 8 and Potgieter out the 22 though at best off bench, Louw to start at 6, Alberts 7
5. Hougaard to play 80 minutes at 9 .. never to switch to wing unless under emergency.
6. New 10 altogether – drop Morne Steyn – Jantjies or Goosen to start – second best option Lambie
7. Centers fine as you were. JdJ off bench
Unless play JdJ at 13 and play captain JdV at 14
8. Habana – Mvovo much of a muchness both wings are not up to 100% scratch
9. Fullback HAS to change. – Kirchner got to go – new FB required – A. Coetsee ideal but worst case scenario Lambie or Frans Steyn to 15.
30 Aug 2012, 21:39 pm
@tornado 3
That is so spot on really man!!! Why must the boks ballcarier always just fall to the ground. Stay on ur feet till support arrive, if u go to ground opposition can win the turn over. I don’t know if they not strong enough or what but they just flop to the ground like a tranquliza dart just hit them!!!
30 Aug 2012, 21:44 pm
@Stiff-arm-12: I agree with pretty much all of this… I have to say, in addition to Frans Steyn being undroppable, I do think Francois Hougaard has X factor. He is developing as a scrumhalf and in a year or 2, he could be world class in that position. If we play him at wing, his career will be short-lived.
A few more points:
Ricardo Laubscher is an absolutely useless backline coach. We have no creativity or penetration. Its awful to watch.
Our forwards are still young and need to develop more grizzle and toughen up. Hopefully when our injury crisis is over, we’ll get some much needed experience back in our pack.
Completely agree about Ruan Pienaar. He delivers slow ball from the breakdown and has often been a liability for the Boks. Good kicking game, but his service is far too slow and that can be lethal.
30 Aug 2012, 21:48 pm
@fitz1ella-15: Glad there are more people out there who recognise that Francois Hougaard is way better than Ruan Pienaar. I was starting to think I was the only one… Francois Hougaard is potentially world class. Ruan Pienaar is a liability.
30 Aug 2012, 21:58 pm
@Kaizan-18: Pienaar should have stuck to 10 .. he’s a hybrid half a fly – half half a scrum half – master of neither.. He would have been a pretty good fly half except the idiots tried to make a 100% place kicker out of him.. that what screwed his head in .. they should have kept on with Pienaar at 10 in 2009 instead they went kick chase apeshit after the Bils and 3N of 2009 with M. Steyn pulling the trigger and we been going in a steady downhill trajectory spiral ever since.
30 Aug 2012, 23:08 pm
I think heineke did himself no good to pick payers he think would fit his gameplan and not know that they would… Thinking and knowing is very different in my opinion ofcourse ….
If you look at the backline- the kick and chase game fit the likes of jp pietersen,bjorn basson,akona ndugane and bryan habana.
The scrumhalf play fit fourie du preez alone( you may argue if you like) and we all know that du preez will make morne look much better than what he is now.
Forwards- pierre spies,schalk burger and heinrich brussow is the loos trio with alberts being a supersub… Come on guys you how destructive and balancing they can be..
And the tight5… Guthro,bissy,jannie,eben and juandre is our best bet at the moment… They will scrum hit the rucks and get plenty go forward ball… So to be honest heineke the players to fit your gameplan is
15- fsteyn
14-jp pietersen
13-b habana
12-j de villiers
11-b bassson
10-m steyn
09-f du preez
08-p spies
07-s burger (c)
06-h brussow
05-j kruger
04-e etzebeth
03-j du plessis
02-b du plessis
01-g steenkamp
Supersubs
16-c ralepelle
17-b mtawarira
18-w alberts
19-m coetzee
20-f hougaard
21-p lambie
22-g aplon
31 Aug 2012, 01:09 am
@fitz1ella-15: with respect skoppie, you’re picking players for your gameplan, Meyer’s gameplan is likely very different to yours, his all about field position and kicking for territory.
31 Aug 2012, 01:41 am
@xtremebull-20:
I see your train of thought. It makes sense. But Bjorn Basson is hondk@k. You have to be on drugs to believe he is internasennal class.
31 Aug 2012, 02:11 am
How k@k can he be if he never got a chance mate? And isn’t he at most the best chaser under the high ball presently? All in all he wouldve starter against the argies if injuries didn’t take its toll in him in the absence of jp? I’m just saying that with the game the coach want to play he need to pick the right players for it and I do believe he and jp is the best suited with that gameplan and habana would be a bigger tread in midfield as he could counter the kick off aswell from midfield chase
31 Aug 2012, 02:56 am
Soda not far from the truth.
Although the backline are “experienced” I feel this is like a B -Team. So we are developing depth and thats it. I have no expectations this year, just hope we dont loose to the weaker teams up north.
I once bowed to JDV and Habanana but they dont really have the oomf they once had. Habanana should be dropped and shipped off to 7s for a yr. Jean cant seem to find any gaps, runs too straight. He could learn from 7′s too. I feel Frans should bugger of North for a year again and wait for the team to develop and the injured return. He does not appear happy either…
What we lack is a good coaching staff. The backline coach appears brutal, JDV may mention their attack was great but …hey… really, what about all those watching it, who is he trying to fool, himself?
What is really happening , that is, what we are seeing now that the “once in a life time” players have left, the void is soo great we all expect what we got used to, to be delivered now. But it aint going to happen. Its going to take loads to fill those guys shoes
31 Aug 2012, 03:42 am
@fitz1ella-15: You seem obsessed with Deon Fourie, but he is awful in the scrums and lineouts and only just makes up for his lack of ruck cleaning by getting over the opposition ball quite a bit. Yes, he’s a good fetcher, but that’s about it.
31 Aug 2012, 05:04 am
@xtremebull-23:
Didn’t mean to offend. I appresiate your bigger picture. But B Basson is one dimensional in test rugby. High ball chase – that is all. Lightweight defender, kicker, out of hand offloads etc. Super Rugby max. Put Piieer Spies on the wing, then there is nag for the AB’s. Butt the tiewe at the top still can’t handle how they talked him out of a legassy. Blue Bull pofkoppe suiping too much mampoer.
31 Aug 2012, 05:06 am
@ArtVandelay-25:
Deon Fourie is a complete footballer. Hi is no Bissy, but he is equal in instinct, The rest ar lumps of led. “Lalapype” as we say in the Cape Flats. If you aren’t creative – you have no place in the Bokke. Weg is jy!
31 Aug 2012, 06:59 am
i hate to say i told you so about pienaar
but
i did…
31 Aug 2012, 07:02 am
@ArtVandelay-25:
dont forget about his brain farts.
31 Aug 2012, 07:41 am
It has been a while since I posted, when I read about HM appointment I relaxed … only to find myself agreeing with other posters now that he is stuck in the past and almost afraid to fail.
First up there are some difficult injuries to deal with, Biz, Shalk and Brussow are difficult people to replace especially when you want to play the kick chase and punching the ball up. These players will come back ..although FdP and JFourie who are out and and will probably never return to the previous standards.
There are some great prospects coming up for the Boks – Goosen, Taute in the backline and Eben Oosteheizen and Vermulen in the forwards. They will need a year of Bok duty to hit their straps ..
Will we have the patience meanwhile ?
The game plan though is a total mess, I dont think you can ONLY play kick chase in todays game. We need clean ball from the forwards which is not happening due to protection …and then some play makers at 9 and 10. .. Hougaard is a special talent and like FdP maybe the game plan needs to be worked around him for parts of the game. Pienaar frankly should go back to 10 and replace Morne while we wait on Goosen. There are better 9s in SA and younger ..
31 Aug 2012, 07:45 am
With the current players available I would select the following squad assuming the game plan changes oh so slightly:
Beast
Straus
Jannie
Etsebeth
Kruger
Flouw
Coetzee
Hougard
Lambie
Habana
F Steyn
JDV (there is no other option for captain)
Mvovo
Kirchner (no other choice/ Super Rugby options have no test experience, maybe if Taute was fit)
Cilliers
Tiaan
Bekker
Vermeulen
Pienaar (the old Pienaar was back this past Saturday with that poor tackle effort, wake up!)
Goosen
JDJ
I would have dropped Potgieter and brought in Stander/ Deysel.
31 Aug 2012, 07:53 am
I think the biggest issue for the boks is the limited practical understanding and teamwork around the ruck area. The ABs are kings in this regard, this stems from the Crusaders playing style. The first guy at the ruck tries to steal the ball, if he is too late then he waits for the second player to arrive, the second player quickly sees if the counter ruck is on, if it is then he taps the first player and they rock and roll. Turnover ball, and give it to their talented backs.
We almost never counter ruck, if wwe do it is disjointed and body positions are too high or we come from the side, or we fail to secure the ball once we are over it.
Key players for the blacks in this regard are Whitlock, Read and of course McCaw.
Our sepport runners need to clear the ruck hard and low, make the opposition feel it when they try and steal our ball, don’t ask, kill the ********. Bakkies was great at this, he would dislocate your bloody shoulder if you tried to steal our ball.
I truly believe there would have been a different result in the 2011 QF if Bakkies was there.
31 Aug 2012, 08:24 am
@goodstuff-32: Definately the importance of a good cleaner is essential – Bakkies was king
31 Aug 2012, 08:44 am
@goodstuff-31:
gurthro, bakkies, fouche.
drop one of the looseheads, drop bekker and rather fouche than goosen.
@goodstuff-32:
@stew-33:
i dont care for the crusaders or what they do, but we certainly could do with an old school 4 lock.
31 Aug 2012, 08:47 am
i see the crusaders are no longer ‘the’ ream to play for if you harbour dreams of winning titles. or is he just not that good.
‘All Blacks prop Ben Franks has asked for a release from the Crusaders and coach Todd Blackadder says he understands why the player feels he has to leave.’
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/sport/news/article.cfm?c_id=4&objectid=10830577
31 Aug 2012, 08:55 am
The team that should be playing right now…
1. Beast
2. Strauss
3. Jannie
4. Bakkies
5. Danie Rossouw
6. Marcel
7. Willem Alberts
8. Duane Vermeulen
9. Charl (Sharks)
10. Johan Goosen
11. JP Pietersen
12. Jean
13. Habana
14. Bjorn Basson
15. Francois Steyn
31 Aug 2012, 09:06 am
@goodstuff-32: this is an area where pdv was bitterly criticised for in 2008 until he got Plumtree to work with the forwards as Gary Gold seemed to be clueless. it seems with Meyer we have regressed and i don’t know if van Graan knows what is cooking.
Meyer himself is a forwards coach, he should be correcting the ruck technique!
this pining for Bakkies won’t take us anywhere, the ABs for instance are whining for Thorne, they’ve got Mick Byrne drilling Romano and Retallick and getting them up to snuff instead…different mindsets i guess
31 Aug 2012, 09:09 am
With Bakkies, Danie, Duane and Willem breakdown problems solved. One of the reasons the Sharks have scored such great tries in the super15 is because of Charl’s quick ball to the fly half, he is the best quick ball distributor atm and Morne’s time is over, let Johan take the place he deserves. You never too young or old when you in form. And Brian has lost his spark at wing, he will never be the Habana that he once was, he is often out of position in defense on the wing and has caused many a try because of it. Yet his defense is great when his there. So to make use of his great defense he needs to be playing 13, next to Jean. And even though Francois is great he is best suited at full back.
31 Aug 2012, 09:10 am
@MADaboutrugby-36: charl mcleod?
31 Aug 2012, 09:14 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-35: he wants to be starting games and feels he has better chances of this elsewhere..
and yes please, bring back bakkies, he can pick on A.Smith and spend more time in the bin..
imagine your team being a man down AND not competing at the breakdown…
you fouche you
31 Aug 2012, 09:16 am
@Transformation-39:
i know
9. Charl (Sharks)
should read
9. Charl (Snaaks)
31 Aug 2012, 09:21 am
Some better selections but elstadt and fourie and gurthro would have given thus pack a good chance. I think they going to get exposed for mediocrities at 2, 3, 4, and openside. Best best is too shuffle the team around with alberts to 4 and hope vermeulen can play half a game.
1. Beast 2. ? 3. Cilliers 4. Alberts 5. Etsebeth 6. Louw 7. Vermeulen 8. Coetzee
too little game time for louw and vermeulen but who knows some players can do it – besides they quantum leap above potgieter – dunno why Daniel was sent back – I’d have him over potgieter and coetsee.
31 Aug 2012, 09:23 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-41: behind pienaar i think meyer is looking at piet van zyl.
31 Aug 2012, 09:27 am
Where is Cardinelli? He has the lowest error to article ratio here….
31 Aug 2012, 09:33 am
Team selections will be very important for the next game. Hougaard needs to go, Pienaar in. Flo needs to play. So back three will hopefully be Flo, Alberts, Vermeulen.
And if Steyn plays k#k he needs to be subbed for a change!I doubt that Goosen will play, so it will have to be Lambie. Unfair really because he hasnt had much game time, nor has Goosen for that matter. Jantjies would have been a better backup…
Same thing for Bekker, but Flip should fall out of the 22 and make way for Kruger.
Better balance should make a difference. Hopefully the game plan will be adapted too…
Imo
31 Aug 2012, 09:33 am
I’m bored.
31 Aug 2012, 09:34 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-41:
31 Aug 2012, 09:36 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-41: Just as snaaks is your call for fouche, 1 good game and he must replace Mornr , Lambie, Jantes, Goosen???,
So his call is funny and yours is not??
yeah right
And no i also dont think Mcleod should be there, not that he is not good enough, he sure is, but he blows hot and cold
31 Aug 2012, 09:41 am
@sharks_lover-48:
Yeah and he’s pretty old too, he’s 29… Not exactly a option for the future…
31 Aug 2012, 09:43 am
Charl Mcplod?
Fuckkme but no.
Even the sharks fans think he is kak.
31 Aug 2012, 09:46 am
@poppa69-40:

i was waiting for the reply, pops. thought i’d smoke you out with a nz rugby post
bakkies will right the ship but more importantly pass on his wisdom to eben. bakkies aims for the bruisers but if smith tries that naughty stuff then he puts himself in the firing line
there’ll be a lot of nz douche’s when the fouche carves you guys up in a year or two’s time.
31 Aug 2012, 09:47 am
@Stiff-arm-12:
Excellent commentary.
One missing point: the Argies played magnificently, as if their lives depended on it, at Mendoza where they have never lost. The crowd support (50,000) was incredible and they never stopped singing and screaming. Their forwards have long been credited with the best scrummaging technique in world rugby and nobody is giving credit to them where it is due; the forwards were brutal and immense. Only Estebeth competed (and he was immense).
I’ve seen the AB’s led by Jerry Collins, virtually a full strength side with Dan Carter, holding on for a 25-19 win in Argentina and the last 10 minutes were all Pumas forwards bashing away at the line. On its day they are a world-class rugby side and very, very physical: I was impressed.
31 Aug 2012, 09:48 am
@willievz-4: That’s why PDV was a breath of fresh air. Much better than the “we’ll learn from this” standard responses to poor performances
31 Aug 2012, 09:48 am
@gunther-50:
31 Aug 2012, 09:49 am
@Transformation-43:
who the flip is piet van zyl?
@Jeez-47:
i know
@sharks_lover-48:
alrighty then, just checking
31 Aug 2012, 09:50 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-55: Justsayin
31 Aug 2012, 09:50 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-51: hehehe Bakkies has wisdom? I call bullsh1t .. I know a few who share that name and I’ve yet to see their wisdom .. theyre all fouche-bags in my opinion..
31 Aug 2012, 09:51 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-51: bakkies is a lazy s,hit version of himself at toulon! i don’t even think his conditioning is up to international rugby standards…he was walking about blowing hard in those last games of the top14…los maar!
31 Aug 2012, 09:53 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-55: cheetahs young sharp scrummy!
31 Aug 2012, 09:54 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-35: Not a great loss , his brother is the monster tighthead ( incredibly strong) … Always like Wyatt so i am happy
31 Aug 2012, 09:55 am
@Transformation-59: has he hit a referee yet?
31 Aug 2012, 09:55 am
FDP.
Quickly.
The scrum half cupboard is sparser than Paris Hilton’s bikini line.
Get him back chop chop.
31 Aug 2012, 09:56 am
Future bok team:
Beast
Bis/ Chilli
Coenie
Esebeth
Kruger
Brussouw (its worrying- not a lot of up and coming fetchers)
Alberts / Burger (2 more years)
Vermeulen/ Stander
Pienaar/ Van Zyl
Goosen/Jantjeis
Rhule/Basson
Steyn/ Venter/ Serfontein
Jordaan/ JJ
JPP/Hougaard
Taute/ Lambie
31 Aug 2012, 09:57 am
Kirtchner OUT.
31 Aug 2012, 09:57 am
Two important announcements
Bakkies has wisdom and Naas is at flyhalf against the Wallabies
31 Aug 2012, 10:15 am
@poppa69-57:
boy, i sure am gonna love ity when that fouche-bag blows up in your face
@Transformation-58:
he’s lost a lot of weight transie, seriously
played a full 80 in his last game.
he looks so good he’s unrecognisable really, very handsome.
@Transformation-59:
ok, dnkt.
will look out for him. i thought you were joking about the other piet van zyl.
@stew-60:
problem is, with the franks without the franks… crusaders cant buy a trophy for all the gold in china. your union has bigger problems… and its name is blackadder.
31 Aug 2012, 10:17 am
SBW to play next to Jacques Fourie for the Wild Knights.
Fk me that is a good centre pairing.
@sharks_lover-56:
god help us if a kwazulian ever coaches the boks.
there’ll be some selections more dangerous than a zulu spear right there
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-66: Do you want to praise Bakkies or shag him?
It was the “really very handsome” bit that forced my hand here…..
31 Aug 2012, 10:18 am
@gunther-62:
fdp would play with charl’s naughty bits
and charl would thank him
31 Aug 2012, 10:20 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-69:
he’s just that good at the moment. a man reborn.
i really dont understand why he’s not in the squad.
31 Aug 2012, 10:21 am
@John Galt-67: I would pay good money to see that. I hope some Japanese fan uploads a few clips to Youtube….
31 Aug 2012, 10:24 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-71: Because at this stage (regardless of how ‘well’ and ‘slimmed down’ he is looking) the pace and intensity of international rugby – never mind international rugby against the Kiwis and Aussies, would probably kill him
I have no doubt that he has personally told Mr Meyer that he is not quite up to international standard at the moment….much like Fourie du Preez did.
If he has started slimming down – that means he might be working towards an international come back
In fact, I would not mind seeing a Bakkies at 4, Eben at 5 combo. IMHO – Eben is a 5 lock, and always will be.
31 Aug 2012, 10:28 am
@Jeez-14: He’s comparing it with the Stormers, in which case it is pretty good. Frieken Joke I tell you…
31 Aug 2012, 10:45 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-73:
agreed simply because bekker is injury prone as well not really stepping up to fill victor’s boots. i think eben could be a 4 or 5 but would play kruger instead and have bakkies play 40 to 60 min depending on the game situation and then bring eben off the bench.
31 Aug 2012, 10:49 am
Not sure If I am suprised about the results. And not sure about HM – if he thinks Spies/Potgieter/Flip VdM / kirshner/ M Steyn are good enough to make the BOKS then we are in for hiding to non. We have better players we need to use them, yes we have loads of injuries but we have players that he needs to take a gamble on. I wish lambie played for the Blue bulls, if he did he would be starting at 10 this weekend that I can guarantee you, will he give lambie a chance and time like he has given his blue eyed boy’s. When you are the Bok coach you should make decisions on merrit not on SIZE/ or if they wear a blue shirt.. thank g-d Olivier is not in contention or he must be injured…come on HM do us proud and show us you have the qualities to make the BOKS world champions again we definitely have the players, they just need the guidence to succeed now…
31 Aug 2012, 10:52 am
Estebeth and Alberts as locks
Back row brussouw Kolisi and Strauss.
Kruger and Kankowski off the bench.
31 Aug 2012, 10:56 am
@gunther-77:
Who will call the lineouts? A rookie lock or Alberts who normally plays flank? Come on.
31 Aug 2012, 10:59 am
A rookie lock.
Matfield called the line outs as a rookie lock.
Give him a month with Estebeth and the youngster won’t look back.
You numpty.
31 Aug 2012, 11:01 am
@rabooby-76: meisiekind is japan making moola…
31 Aug 2012, 11:02 am
@gunther-77: I could easily go with that!
We need to decide on Etzebeth’s future – a 4 or 5 lock?
31 Aug 2012, 11:03 am
@gunther-79: He doesnt even call it at Super rugby level, doubt that he will get the responsibility at the boks. And it seems Bekker and Kruger are HMs go to men in the lineouts. Perhaps PSteph du Toit one day…
Esebeth
Kruger
31 Aug 2012, 11:05 am
Wish Bambie could be released to play currie cup at flyhalf, then he can make an honest challenge for the bok flyhalf position. Right now, given match fitness and form, Goose, Jantjies and even Morne have to be preferred as options for that position. Not saying that he will probably be the right choice eventually, but at least there can be some fair comparisons made.
31 Aug 2012, 11:06 am
@Jeez-78: A similar pack worked for the Sharks, who keeps the ball in hand and tries to minimise the lineouts.
It will not work for the Bulls (and the current Bok gameplan), who prefer a territorial game.
31 Aug 2012, 11:10 am
@gunther-79: Agreed X50000. Eben is a 5…..(with no 4 tendencies…which is a huge bonus).
All I want is to be rid of the “underperforming/still injured and will never recover 100%” Bekker (Boks and Stormers)
The Bok 4 for the future (once more, just my probably very biased opinion) has buggered off the Ireland – Quinn. Fukkit I hope he comes back.
31 Aug 2012, 11:13 am
@willievz-81: He is a 5. Anyone who has seen him play at 5 will agree I reckon. He is a best of both worlds 5 – he has the massive workrate and physicality of a 4, and he is deceptively fast.
Playing at 5 might even prolong his career
But they must make the change….soon.
Next year for the Stormers, I would like Eben to start at 5, and Elastadt back at 4 (if he is still here…..)
31 Aug 2012, 11:14 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-85: shame i feel for bekker but sadly he will be a bit part player in the bok line up for the next few years and never fulfill his promise.
i hope i am wrong.
i would love to see JdJ running off frans steyn with lambie at 10 calling the plays.
fark that would be awesome.
and when jpp gets back, our backline may become a thing of beauty.
31 Aug 2012, 11:15 am
Willie I think he is a 5.
When our loosies ate all fit etc Lberts would struggle to start.
He would give us that hard edge at lock.
Kankowski and Kruger would offer loads of versatility and a real impact off the bench.
31 Aug 2012, 11:16 am
The problem with Meyer is that he picks players according his set game plan and in the absence of many first choice players the players he picked ate not necessary the best in their positions and in some cases actually not international level.
31 Aug 2012, 11:17 am
if kanko was around he would be a bok starter for the first time in his career.
stupid move by him.
i hope you regret it kanko ya bastaard lol.
31 Aug 2012, 11:18 am
Pity about Spies ,not being in the team as he pulls in so many people that leaves gaps for the wingers.Probably one of the reasons we could ever get the line to score tries.Hope he recovers quicky.Much to the disgust of many negative potato commentators.
31 Aug 2012, 11:19 am
@willievz-84:
If you analyze the first half of the first England game, it all looked great. The forwards dominated and the backs looked dangerous. So the game plan and tactics can work, but if the forwards struggle, there needs to be a plan b and the backs will have to adapt. A capable flyhalf is essencial if a team needs to adapt if the initial game plan is backfiring… But a team needs to be coached to adapt and not just hammer on like they did against the pumas.
After Saturdays poor performance its clear that there is no plan b. So I hope HM got the wakeup call needed for some new ideas…And hopefully adapt the play like the Sharks showed can be very effective.
If he doesnt things are not going to get any easier. Lets hope we have a coach who can learn from his mistakes.
Although, Jean’s comments arent very assuring… Seems like they are going to keep on hitting their heads against the wall.
31 Aug 2012, 11:19 am
eish that blitzbok fellow has a potty mouth eh?
he is quite an angry one.
kinda reminds me of gwantie at his emotional best though i see gwantie is getting back to his emo best of late
“frans louw is the SaVIOur of BoK RUGBY i am SOOOOOOOOOO eXCITED!”
31 Aug 2012, 11:20 am
@jacquesknotter-91: bs man.
show pony.
31 Aug 2012, 11:24 am
@rangerman-90:
Cant really call it a stupid move Ranger.
If you think about the period when he signed, he was in and out the Sharks side with injury.
The starting loosies for the Sharks were Coetzee, Alberts and Daniel so he wasnt even assured of starting for the Sharks on his return from injury.
Thats obviously why he signed for a 6 month cash injection during the CC. No one, not even himself I dont think, expected him to come back into the Sharks and play like he did.
Only when Alberts was forced to move to 4 did he start for the Sharks and clearly had a cracker up his arse because Ive never seen him play as well as he did in those final few S15 weeks. Ever.
Unfortunately by that time it was too late as he had already signed.
31 Aug 2012, 11:29 am
@rangerman-87: That would be a Xmas pressie worth opening
You know what is really freaking me out though about Meyer’s ‘man management’?……The damage to player’s confidence. De Jongh – not wanted, wanted, not wanted, wanted. Lambie – 10, 15, 10, 15 wanted, not wanted. Daniel – wanted, not wanted….even JJ Engelbrecht shame, wanted, not wanted, wanted, not wanted.
You dream of players running off anyone will probably NEVER come true – purely because said players will be too sh y te scared to try anything beyond what is scripted by the Head Honcho. (And even if they are given freedom…..their confidence will be so shot, they won’t try anything…) I wouldn’t….not after seeing Meyer blame his players 100% without taking 1% on himself.
Read the new SA rugby magazine…Meyer talks about scrumhalves… You want to know what he says about Hougie? He says: “Francois needs to play in more finals and semi-finals to develop the level of tactical astuteness he needs to become a scrumhalf who can control a test.”
31 Aug 2012, 11:30 am
@jacquesknotter-91: It’s not only people on here who whinge about Spies mate. Read the SA Sports Illustrated……
31 Aug 2012, 11:39 am
@gunther-77:
left field
sjoe
31 Aug 2012, 11:40 am
For it is written ‘ seek and you shall find …’
Now I have been looking for this particular for at least 20 years; I must have heard it in Cape Town back in the late 80s and it stayed with me…
But I thought it was a Spyrogyra song and hence set out to acquire all their cd’s
On an unrelated search I found a tribute to Robbie Jansen by Glenn Robertson and there they do the song:
Artist: Blue Mitchell – Asso cam – from the album Graffiti Blues (1973)
31 Aug 2012, 11:42 am
Indeed Ranger.
I wonder how long Gwantie will stay in remission.
31 Aug 2012, 11:42 am
@John Galt-95: true bud, i am simply frustrated as he is in the form of his life and would be an awesome option for the boks.
31 Aug 2012, 11:46 am
@gunther-88:
well
we do need a hard edge
in fact we need a hard on of a hard edge in the engine
we need to really teach these naughty anzacs and cheeky argies that breakdown / ruck artistic license interpretations are just not on.
31 Aug 2012, 11:48 am
Indeed Bakkies.
A Ron Jeremy style fisting is called for,
But with less warmth.
31 Aug 2012, 11:48 am
@Jeez-92: the issue is not even a plan B but the application of even the credible plan A is naive and predictable….it took stuart lancaster and his greenhorns 2 games to figure us out and they bested us and it took argentina (and graham henry) 1 game and the found us out and bested us.
everything we do is telegraphed which brings me back to something mallett said in MAY before the English series:
“That is the only thing I’m slightly worried about with the Heyneke regime – his mantra is execution above innovation,” Mallett told reporters in Johannesburg on Wednesday.
“So he is not looking for innovative players, he’s looking for people who execute well.
“If we are going to do a move that will take the centre into the midfield, we are going to do it so well, at such pace, that it doesn’t matter if the opposition know about it – we will get across the advantage line and we will dominate that impact zone.”
the last bit of this statement is what we’ve seen over the past 5 games and most analysts around the world are lamenting that we’re predictable and actually arrogant or naive in that we think we can still “force out gameplan” on EVERY international side when the prudent thing is to be smarter in applying our physicality
we’re like sumo wrestlers who reckon we can crush every kung-fu fighter
31 Aug 2012, 11:49 am
@rangerman-101:
Yep, that much is very true.
31 Aug 2012, 11:56 am
@gunther-100: @rangerman-93: i must say he has calmed down, i don’t know if i can attribute it to the package i gave to JR meant for Gunther that never arrived…
31 Aug 2012, 11:57 am
@John Galt-105: cheers.
@gunther-100: not long i fear.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-96: ja look i dont mind a coach who punishes poor performance but keegs has been badly treated imo and lambie should have had a run by now though he may still be off the pace and therefore meyer is holding him back a bit?
as for jj, i dont even know why he was there really, same goes for mulletgieter.
31 Aug 2012, 11:58 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-72: Register with the ”across the tasman” site… they have torrents of ALL the international and club rugby… you have to maintain a certain ratio, or donate, but it’s completely worth it… amazing rugby resource.
I realise the Saffa internet is still stuck in the 90′s, but if you can download, do it.
G
31 Aug 2012, 11:58 am
@Transformation-106: haha, its too early to call but if indeed it was the package, please send another one sharpish
31 Aug 2012, 11:59 am
@gunther-100: Why do you fellows all pick out this Grant10 chap for possible meltdowns?
Just asking, because he seems helluva objective about all things rugby, and a pretty cool dude. I haven’t seem him do any melting. (He actually seems to be one of the more balanced round here….)
31 Aug 2012, 12:00 pm
@Gtown-108: the internet access is not bad in sa, its simply too expensive.
thats why crackberry will survive in developing countries like sa for far longer than the rest of the world.
31 Aug 2012, 12:01 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-96: This is exactly the problem i have, you might think i have now become this huge anto HM, I have not i still think he is a very good coach and his track record proves that,
BUt i Agree 100% with you when it comes to his man management. He is a good coach though as long as he has certain players available to him, and thats what i have realised.
He knew he was setting Daniel up to fail, He knew full well Daniel is not a skop and jad bash it type of loosie, so why call him up?? to prove the public wrong and say i told you so????
LAmbie is a 10 and it was the Boks that mostly played him at 15, Yes this year PLum chose Lambie at 15 too because at that time Freddy was on fire and Ludik and Viljoen had not been playing well, so Lambie to 15 so had both Freddy and LAmbie on the field of play.
After that Ludik specially found great form and as you have seen lately Viljoen at 10 have a good CC so far.
Again my dissapointment in HM is not given LAmbie a chance to get some game time at 10 or even 15 in both tests where one can look at 2 situations.
1st test against the Puma’s we were far ahead, why not then give Lambie some game time, rest the MIghty MOrne???? in the last 15??
2nd situation is the 2nd test against the Puma’s,MOrne playing very poorly as was the whole bok team, we clearly saw the Puma’s had done their homework as we played only 1 way, easy to read and defend against.
Again he could have pulled Lambie onto the field to change the game plan and maybe keep more ball in hand and drive up through the middle and try striking out wide etc, instead again Lambie had to sit and glare and a situation he probably knew he could help change.
My problem here again is where i agree with you re the man management, why not let Lambie and a few others play for their provinces this weekend to get game time??
So yeah this is where i see HM does not play the game plans available with the talent he has, he rather dictates his style and thats how its gonna stay, problem here is a lot of players are gonna be trashed by supporters when in fact they are great players, they just have a coach with poor vision, thats to scared to take a risk.
31 Aug 2012, 12:02 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-110: haha, you cant stay away for four years and then ask us why we make comments like we do ruckles.
believe me, sh i t got real round these here parts for quite a long time.
in fact gwantie is the reason for your nick though you dont even know it. such are the wonders of the keoverse.
31 Aug 2012, 12:02 pm
@Gtown-108: Thanks! Sounds incredible! I will check it out soonest. Must say, our internet service isn’t as fuckedup as what many think
It should be able to handle this – bloody hope so at least.
31 Aug 2012, 12:03 pm
Maybe we are panicking a bit too much about the last game. The argies have a very good home record against all the bigs teams, beat france, beat oz, drew to abs and now drew to the Boks.
Maybe the Boks need to get over it and forget it and rather concentrate on our strengths, coz there alot of strengths in this Bok team.
31 Aug 2012, 12:05 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-110: hahahahhahahahahahahaha they’re hoping grant loses it, they get no joy out a serene grantie
31 Aug 2012, 12:06 pm
@John Galt-105: @rangerman-107: Just a slight dissagreement i have re KAnko.
If you see a player in poor form always being chosen ahead of you surely with time you will think whats the point??? and as the situation arose he got an offer for big money, what was his option??
Lets take a break and earn big bucks?? or do i continue to get frustrated by being a splinter @ss???
Thus his choice was simple, go make the money as it’s only a 6 months contract anyhows, he will be back at the Sharks for SR.
Oh i know HM now in hind sight says he would have selected Kanko??? you guys truelly believe that???
I for one do not, Yes maybe now that Spies got injured, if not trust me spies would have been playing in the starting 15 poor form or not
31 Aug 2012, 12:07 pm
@rangerman-113: But he seems stable? Just saying….He hasn’t gone Papal from what I can see. Find it hard to imagine a seemingly balanced fellow like him (well his posts that I have read at least…) losing it.
Now, there is a chap called, “blitzbok” who is absolutelyfuckingderanged and melts down in every post he makes…Spectacularly.
31 Aug 2012, 12:07 pm
@Transformation-104: In that case, a plan b is needed and the plan a should be scrapped all together!
How many games will it take for HM to realize this?? Hopefully not too many.
He can be innovative if he wants to be… He showed some innovation when he appointed Todd Louden and it resulted in the bulls ending up being a good attacking team.
Lets hope he can adapt the game plan and evolve with the playing styles that CAN make the boks effective on attack.
‘Playing to our strengths’ is an old excuse, what are our strengths exactly? It should be that we have more than enough talent to adapt any modern game plan to be a successful and dominating team like the ABs…
31 Aug 2012, 12:08 pm
@Gtown-108: wanna share the link mate????
31 Aug 2012, 12:08 pm
Imo the boks dont have any traditional strengths anymore. Not in the modern game…
31 Aug 2012, 12:09 pm
@Jeez-121: exactly, they have to move out of Jan Van Reebecks times
31 Aug 2012, 12:10 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-118: Bring back smitty and see Grant change to the unknown
31 Aug 2012, 12:11 pm
‘It’s a new coach trying to get a message and game plan across to the team,’ he said. ‘We will all stand up for what we believe in. We believe in the coach and what we’re doing is right.’
Well now…………………………….. Sweet Jean de Villiers would say that wouldn’t he. What else can he say.
31 Aug 2012, 12:11 pm
Ok lunch time, time for some Sushi … Take care all, catch up laters
31 Aug 2012, 12:13 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-114:
Hi Doc.
31 Aug 2012, 12:13 pm
@cane-124: Cane remember at the moment to most Stormers dismay the Stormers play a simular style, thus JDV will fit in, problem is Sharks, Lions and Cheetahs players do not play that way.
31 Aug 2012, 12:16 pm
@sharks_lover-120: Here it is. I’ve just registered.
https://acrossthetasman.com/forum.php
@cane-126:
31 Aug 2012, 12:16 pm
@Jeez-119: no, i disagree slightly, i don’t think meyer should abandon this “direct gameplan”, we just need to be smart about it…
we know we have a killer right hook but winding it up and showing the opponent that the right hook is coming is not smart rugby and in as much as meyer can blame the players for the breakdown application, the problem is borne out of the fact that teams KNOW a one-off runner is coming eg marcell, alberts and they set up their defence accordingly to smash, pickpocket and stymie our ruck ball.
did you see the argie forwards running decoy lines? did you see them offload off the tackle…it is PHYSICAL rugby but it is coupled with guile!
31 Aug 2012, 12:19 pm
It’s useless pointing to the One & Only time the Boks managed to impose their game plan (vs England) on the opposition when it took teams just a handful of games to figure out what we’re all about.
31 Aug 2012, 12:21 pm
@rangerman-111: That, my friend, is exactly the point!! 10 meg linbe with unlimited download isa R6000 a month! i get the same in London for R350… It’s a an abomination and one of the stipulations I have for moving back is they gotta sort that **** out!
31 Aug 2012, 12:21 pm
@Transformation-106:
I take it you’re talking about G10.
No wonder he appears so relaxed since his comeback
Good to have his opinion on here again though.
31 Aug 2012, 12:23 pm
@Transformation-129: I’d say the advisory and review process conducted by Graham Henry has been successful.
31 Aug 2012, 12:23 pm
@sharks_lover-120:
https://acrossthetasman.com/forum.php
31 Aug 2012, 12:24 pm
@Gtown-131: its complete and utter bs mate i agree.
i blame iguvverment.
useless ifuckers.
Whether or not it’s JRs package that’s calming Gwantie down is another story.
Once a volcano erupts once it’s liable to do so again.
Just ask Poep.
@cane-124:
The same thing he said during the Stormers’ Super campaign.
Can’t fool me twice.
31 Aug 2012, 12:25 pm
@sharks_lover-127:
The problem against Arg, was simply the Boks tried to attack them (arg) at their strongest point. The Forwards……………………………. with pick and go’s.
It was like head butting a brick wall.
You go around brick walls…………………………..not through them.
31 Aug 2012, 12:26 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-128: there it is already
and k0staz is also worth supporting if you want v good quality live feeds.
31 Aug 2012, 12:27 pm
@Transformation-116: thats also utter bs transie and you know it.
gwantie simply gets painful when he repeats himself endlessly.
watch, the next 200 posts of his will be about flouw this, flouw that, fetcher blah blah blah.
the repetition is indicative of a one track mind.
anyways, bygones.
hope everyone has a cracker weekend.
tjorts.
31 Aug 2012, 12:31 pm
@jacquesknotter-91: You joking right ?
31 Aug 2012, 12:32 pm
@wpstormerbok-132: yes, G10 calmer than a west indian fisherman..
@willievz-133: yup…ted’s fingerprints all over their game…will he oversee the undoing of his beloved blacks?
31 Aug 2012, 12:35 pm
@wpstormerbok-137:
We don’t get fooled again
Don’t get fooled again
No, no!
YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!
Meet the new boss
Same as the old boss
(pete t.)
31 Aug 2012, 12:35 pm
fArKIN cAPS
31 Aug 2012, 12:36 pm
@cane-138: LMAO, Heineken reminds me of BrickTop from Snatch “Thinking can get you into a lot trouble Errol, i shouldn’t do to much of it.”. Its as plain as day that the players are being coached to act in a matter that is counter-instinctive.
31 Aug 2012, 12:36 pm
@cane-143:
Rather chop off a septic hand now then wait til it worsens to the point that you have to remove the whole arm.
31 Aug 2012, 12:38 pm
@Transformation-142:
Next weekend in Wellington we will smack the Argy Bargies by 25 points. (They never seem to travel well).
However…………………………the return match in Argentina, could be a different story all together.
31 Aug 2012, 12:40 pm
@Gtown-139: Cheers.
I hope a few more South African citizens sign up. I’m probably the only soul on the site with the word ‘Stormer’ in my username. Looks like a really cool setup! Thanks again for the info.
@BokkeYouBeauties-145:
Classic….
31 Aug 2012, 12:40 pm
hello everyone, i was just checking what apps people use here to get live updates on rugby games? if it has push notifications that would be perfect…
31 Aug 2012, 12:42 pm
@Transformation-104: You are unkind to all sumo wrestlers comparing them to the Boks – even sumo does not just rely on pure brute strength, but also a lot of technique
31 Aug 2012, 12:43 pm
I note NZ has pulled ahead of SA on the paralympics table…………..
@Transformation-142: I doubt it.
Apparently he has signed an agreement with the NZRU that only allows him to disclose certain information.
That doesn’t prevent him from planning the demise of the Boks and the Wallabies though
@BokkeYouBeauties-145:
It’s the same the World over BYB.
Few ( if any) players ever say what they really think to the media.
31 Aug 2012, 12:44 pm
@cane-147: Well I can tell you right now that you won’t draw with them
Anyone watching the paralympics? Talk about humbling and making one feel like an absolute tosspot for whinging about irrelevant sh y te like the Boks kak gameplan. These athletes are something else. And the sportsmanship shown, special.
Good on the Poms as well, they are filling the stadiums once again, absolutely brilliant.
31 Aug 2012, 12:45 pm
@cane-153:
RIDER TO THE ABOVE:
Except Luke………………………………………..and look where that got him.
31 Aug 2012, 12:46 pm
@Transformation-37: Brad Thorn is 37, Botha is 32, if Thorn was 32 NZ would try to get another 5 years out of him.
31 Aug 2012, 12:46 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-148: what is the place for, blogging?
31 Aug 2012, 12:48 pm
@Big Hit-156: how old was carl hayman when he left? did they not struggle with tialata and fastrack the franks?
different mindset!
@willievz-152:
farking keewees!
@Delki-151: I don’t care if Finland end up
on top of the medal table. All of these athletes are inspirational beyond belief.
I’m in awe actually.
31 Aug 2012, 12:50 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-154:
Just a week or 2 after the Olympic’s……………………………you would think they (The Poms) would have been ” all sported out” by now.
But no.
They just can’t get enough.
Best Olympic’s in living memory for me. A credit to GB.
31 Aug 2012, 12:50 pm
@Bokhoring-150: it was a far-fetched example to illustrate how ludicrous our situation is.
31 Aug 2012, 12:52 pm
@Transformation-157: Yes, but it seems they do a helluva lot of reporting on games in the various leagues as well. Seems to be very jacked up, with valuable info all round. Looks like a feckinggoodresource, just as Gtown said. Will definitely be logging in there regularly.
31 Aug 2012, 12:53 pm
@Transformation-159: Indeed.
Farkin kewees.
Bilateral relations with Argentina, trying to beat the enemy.
31 Aug 2012, 12:53 pm
@160 Agree.
Needed to get in my dig though. Saffers almost unanimously THINK they have more talented sportsmen than UK and NZ but whenever there is a major competition such as Olympics or paralympics, both these countries finish ahead of SA on medals table. SA only really shapes at rugby (well sort of), cricket and golf. Not much else.
31 Aug 2012, 12:54 pm
@Delki-165: And boxing.
31 Aug 2012, 12:54 pm
@cane-161: It has been unreal. I’ve watched some swimming, wheelchair basketball, athletics etc – and the crowds are rocking it bigtime. Athletics stadium looks full.
I doubt there is going to be an Olympics that will even run GB close on the ‘infuckingcredible’ scale.
The finest we will see in our lifetime.
31 Aug 2012, 12:57 pm
@Delki-165: Not true of all of us mate. Believe me. Some of us are very aware of just where we fit in sports wise in the grander scheme of things.
Sadly, a few of my fellow citizens seem to fabricate a lot of hype about SA sport in general.
In fact, we are perennial underachievers.
31 Aug 2012, 12:58 pm
@willievz-166: And swimming
31 Aug 2012, 13:03 pm
Any paraplegic rugby teams around that we can ship Kirtchner off to?
31 Aug 2012, 13:04 pm
@willievz-164: yesses! and how did we agree to this?
31 Aug 2012, 13:06 pm
@willievz-166: @The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-169:
Your Cricketers ………………………………………………..wow.
The Pietersen plant in the English Team was a master stroke.
patience, patience, patience………………………..GLORY.
31 Aug 2012, 13:06 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-96:
players who ‘have their confidence damaged’ easily are not mentally tough
that’s the point
31 Aug 2012, 13:07 pm
@Delki-165: in your mind our swimmers are kak?
31 Aug 2012, 13:07 pm
Who’s hot and who’s not in the world of rugby, bo surpise seeing Bekker on the list
http://www.planet-rugby.co.za/story/0,25883,16016_8034337,00.html
31 Aug 2012, 13:08 pm
@gunther-103:
well, i do like ron jeremy’s work
31 Aug 2012, 13:14 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-168:
I would disagree Doggie.
I think SA is a rampant over achiever in sport generally.
Cricket and Golf in particular.
Rugby………………………………………….You should be doing better.
31 Aug 2012, 13:14 pm
@cane-172:
you think us too similar to you kiwi’s, cane
we’re nothing like you
31 Aug 2012, 13:17 pm
@cane-172: Our cricketers have always had the potential (and we have always been blessed with a few special players over the years), but finally we seem to have struck gold with our coaching setup.
Gary just gets it.
Gary is very different to our previous coaches……(compared to those who launched the “Brave cricket” campaign and the like
Now if we could just find a ‘Gary’ for the Boks.
31 Aug 2012, 13:17 pm
Sorry guys Etzebeth is a great athlete and amazing physical specimen but he has more braun than brains – to run the 5 lock position you need a cool head that doesn’t get affected by the opposition. Also look at the size he already is at the age of 22 he can only get bigger and stronger which would steer him even more into the enforcer role. Therefore i’ll keep him at 4 without a doubt.
Kruger on the other hand shoes a clamer more collected presence which he has proven at the bulls this season his my 5 lock man for the next 4 to lets hope 8years for the boks. Etzebeth and Kruger also slotted in very well as a combo against the English especially if you consider they both only played 11 games of S15 rugby and were hen handed the reigns for the bok engine room. Big up to both the rookies. And I hope to see the both of them team up again against those out back red necks in Perth on the 8th.
31 Aug 2012, 13:21 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-176: so you love bakkies and admire hedgehogs?
oh dear
@lieflingblou-180:
well then play kruger at 5 and bakkies at 4 with eztebeth on the bench as backup for 4 and 5.
@cane-177: Nope. If you look at what we do at Junior level, in all codes: soccer, athletics etc etc etc, we underachieve when it comes to making the step up.
Cricket and rugby – we are expected to do well, and yet for what we have had available over the years, have underachieved. (For a variety of reasons)
Golf – no complaints there.
BUT: in the broader sense of sporting achievements – we can, and SHOULD be doing a lot better. We have the numbers, the resources (sometimes misdirected and mismanaged of course…)and the natural talent to do a lot better on the global stage. I really believe this.
31 Aug 2012, 13:22 pm
@poppa69-181:

i bet you’ve seen all the ‘hog’s’ early work
31 Aug 2012, 13:25 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-183: you need more kiwi coaches…
we are great at sitting on our @rse sports, we just have to upskill your sitting at home watching finals mentality
31 Aug 2012, 13:25 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-178:
The Pieterson plant in the English Team was absolute brilliance.
I tip my hat to you cheating thieves.
Planning, planning, planning…………………………………followed by patience, patience, patience………………………………………..then BINGO.
This is the type of thing we expected from East Germany back in 70′s.
31 Aug 2012, 13:27 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-184: The “hogs” early work?
he was quite handy with bat in hand I hear, but then I always thought Rodney Hogg was a good cricketer..
oh wait, you meant someone else right?
31 Aug 2012, 13:29 pm
Josh Strauss (File)
Related Links
Earlier start to Super Rugby? Jake: Meyer’s style not ideal Bok fans welcome fresh faces Cape Town – Lions loose forward Josh Strauss will join the seven-time Super Rugby champion Crusaders for next year’s tournament.
The Lions were excluded for the 2013 edition, making way for the Southern Kings following a SARU decision earlier this month.
Strauss will return to the Lions for their promotion/relegation match against the lowest
31 Aug 2012, 13:31 pm
Reading on the Twitter machine that Josh Strauss signed to play for the Crusaders in the S15 next year but will be back for the Lions in the relegation match. Not valid sources though… but if there is smoke….
31 Aug 2012, 13:31 pm
@cane-186: as I said “kiwi coaching” on the bleddy agents angle
what with Gatland, Deans, Plumtree, Mitchell, GH with the Argies, they again are playing catch up..
31 Aug 2012, 13:33 pm
@poppa69-185:
I would take a Kiwi coach or 2, or 3, or 4, or 5 in our rugby setup. The Kings have been very clever with their coaching appointments. Kiwis all round, including a skills coach.
They must be the only Saffa Super rugby team with a skills coach. And while many may laugh at the Kings and taunt them, I say THEY are the ones on the right track.
31 Aug 2012, 13:33 pm
@grant10-188: Lions CEO says it’s a kuk story but let’s wait and see.
31 Aug 2012, 13:34 pm
@grant10-188: good move for him if true, have always liked his approach and think he should have been given an opportunity for higher honours..
will be behind Reid though so may not get a lot of gametime..still, should come back to SA afterwards a much better player
31 Aug 2012, 13:37 pm
Josh Strauss joins Crusaders
View 12 comments
| Comment on this story
17 minutes ago
Cape Town – Lions loose forward Josh Strauss will join the seven-time Super Rugby champion Crusaders for next year’s tournament.
The Lions were excluded for the 2013 edition, making way for the Southern Kings following a SARU decision earlier this month.
Strauss will return to the Lions for their promotion/relegation match against the lowest finishing SA side next year.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-191: any coincidence the Boks in 07 WC had Sheryl Calder and the improvement showed? Bokkkes imo have not had the same “ball skills” (hence Bakkies love of the hog) as the Australasians, and this lets them down imo
@grant10-188: @Hop Hop Spinnekop-189: Damn. Was hoping he would sign with the Blues. The Blues could have done with him, but then again, I have no doubt the Blues Crew are wide awake and are hopefully signing a few forwards and a 10 as I type.
31 Aug 2012, 13:41 pm
@cane-186:

such a chop
i’m just patiently waiting for the day a disgruntled ex nzru employee publishes his/her damning expose on all your dirty little shenanigans in the world of rugby.
my money’s on the employee being the son of an expat saffa who emigrated to hobbiton in the 90′s
31 Aug 2012, 13:43 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-196: As Poppa says he will come back a better player ….so good for him and SA Rygby.
Pity M Steyn cant go to Blues and work with coaches to remedy the skop en jag tendencies….
I saw some earlier comments….I am also a
31 Aug 2012, 13:43 pm
@grant10-188:
i dont believe this
wow
wow
wow
farking lions executive and board trough feeding scum
wow
31 Aug 2012, 13:45 pm
@grant10-198: sorry…also a Quin Roux fan…hope he is not lost to WP / Stormers rugby.
31 Aug 2012, 13:46 pm
i think i hate the lions executive as much as i hate the crusaders, right now.
31 Aug 2012, 13:48 pm
@Transformation-158: they actually tried to get Hayman back, offered him a farm etc.
31 Aug 2012, 13:48 pm
@poppa69-195: She played a huge role in the Poms WC win in 2003 and ours in 2007. I know for a fact Bryan Habana stopped working with her, and shortly afterwards his form went south…. He started working with her again, and his form picked up.
He admits this quite frankly.
She and her ‘eyegym’ program, are wayyyyyyyyyy underrated. You want some interesting reading, visit her website, fascinating stuff.
What I reckon we need in SA rugby, is a ‘skills’and ‘creativity’ consultant. Someone who can initiate some sort of ‘thinking out of the box’ programs from our junior levels up. Someone who is NOT South African
Someone with experience in rugby league possibly. We are at a disadvantage in SA, because we don’t do the league thing here. To me, your kids are fortunate to have that influence from a young age.
If I were in charge of SA rugby I would contract a panel of experts to work on skill, creativity and ‘playing the situation’: League coaches from Aus and Kiwi, WAYNE SMITH – special consulatant,Cheryl – hell anyone who could add value.
31 Aug 2012, 13:52 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-203: agree on habs, I noticed it too…
touch rugby is the answer… in NZ and Aus kids as young as 5-6 are playing in organised comps… teaches them how to run into space etc…
31 Aug 2012, 13:52 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-203:
i would support namibia before i would have anything to do with a wayne smith involved springbok team.
31 Aug 2012, 13:54 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-203:
have a look at this
http://www.touchnz.co.nz/index.php?id=5
31 Aug 2012, 14:00 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-197:
Here is a little surprise for you Bakkies,
I’ve seen the NZRFU file on “Suzie”.
Official File Name…………………………………..I cannot give you it’s number. But it’s code is “The Whoore of Babylon”
Still “classified” as “Under wraps”.
But the conspiracy is there for all to see. Motive. Planning. Execution.
31 Aug 2012, 14:01 pm
@Transformation-171:
I only found out about it here on Keo, when it was public knowledge.
I would never have allowed it
31 Aug 2012, 14:01 pm
@cane-207: off topic, but youtube “Konflikt – come home.”
Kia kaha
31 Aug 2012, 14:03 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-203: “What I reckon we need in SA rugby, is a ‘skills’and ‘creativity’ consultant.”
I agree, but I think we need to implement this approach bottom-up rather than top-down.
We should take a leaf out of the Silver Fern, and transform our junior systems so that it is size against size rather than age against age.
31 Aug 2012, 14:04 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-205: Come now Bakkies. I would happily welcome the ghost of Saddam Hussein to the Bok coaching team if that ghost could add something of extreme value.
@poppa69-206: Unreal. Looks incredible. (Nice to see the girls also taking part!) And therein lies the difference between Kiwi kids and ours.
Our juniors (and their parents and coaches) focus on a few things: getting big, being the strongest, and kicking the furthest.
The little kids are usually ignored and many don’t bother even pitching up for rugby in primary schools.
In fact, most primary school coaches in SA (IMHO) find the biggest 15 kids out of the group of hopefuls, and that is team selection sorted.
This utter bull sh y te about “playing rugby the Bok way” knocks out half the young kids who want to play before they have even touched a ball.
31 Aug 2012, 14:06 pm
@willievz-210: 100% Correct. I don’t know why South African’s are so scared of change, thinking out of the box and challenging the norms.
As I have said before, our National Psyche is fuckedbeyondbelief.
31 Aug 2012, 14:07 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-205: HAHAHAHAHAHA
wayne smith would bring a MASSIVE amount of skills & analyses
@Big Hit-202:
NO………….They showed Carl a farm he COULD buy.
…………………………………………………….With his earnings.
End of.
We don’t need Carl……………………………………………………and it seems Carl, don’t need us.
The end of a perfect story.
@cane-207:
where’s your evidence? the 95 wc was a once in a lifetime miraculous event boet.
you cant script or plan that sort of thing, struth.
the people of the world wanted that victory more than the people of south africa or the boks wanted it…. and… against all odds… they (the boks) delivered it.
dont make me open the file on 2011.
31 Aug 2012, 14:10 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-215: it looked pretty scripted in Invictus. I still remember the scene whereby Madiba states quite emphatically that “we have to win this”
the way one of his top aides quickly sped out of the room looked extremely suspicious
ever heard of an “executive decision” ?
31 Aug 2012, 14:11 pm
@Transformation-213: And that pensioner, Sir Henry.
Another guy we should bring in an analyst capacity at the very least is the former French utility back Thomas Castaignede.
31 Aug 2012, 14:11 pm
@Transformation-213:
i bet you’d even call for a change of the springbok kit if he were involved.
bring him to the kings
go on
you have the money
31 Aug 2012, 14:13 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-212: Sorry, I am ranting now.
In SA, young kids grow up idolising and wanting to be like Morne Steyn….
In NZ, young kids grow up idolising and wanting to be like Dan Carter…..
In SA, school coaches want their teams to physically fuckup the opposition….
In NZ, school coaches want their teams to actually WIN the games…..and score tries in the process…..
This is why Meyer’s appointment p # ssed me off from the getgo. Another generation of kids wanting to play like their Bok heroes….(I wish our kids would start idolising a few Kiwi and Aussie playmakers, mindset shift of note that would be)
That’s me finished ranting. Maybe. Hopefully.
31 Aug 2012, 14:16 pm
@poppa69-216:
31 Aug 2012, 14:16 pm
I’m not holding my breath.
31 Aug 2012, 14:17 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-219: You are not only ranting, but ranting to yourself by replying on your own post
But seriously, I agree. We are scared to cross the Rubicon, and accept mediocrity too easily. Just look at our coaching staff as a case in point. Meyer is world-class, but the rest?
I mean, we are the SPRINGBOKS for goodness sake.
31 Aug 2012, 14:19 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-219: Rant on mate!
You have good reason to. I too am totally fed-up with this daft approach.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-215:
Exactly Bakkies……………………………………………………the whole caboodle was orchestrated so that SA would win……………………………………………………..Whatever it took.
I agree with you 100%.
The 95 RWC was organised, orchestrated…………………………………fixed.
Amla making it look too farken easy
31 Aug 2012, 14:20 pm
STORIE IS VERDAG
EK DINK Heyneke Meyer lieg as hy sê hy sou Siya Kolisi gekies het vir die Springbok-groep wat môre op die toer van Australasië vertrek.
Noudat Kolisi beseer is, is dit maklik vir hom om te sê hy sou hom saamgevat het.
Wat hy egter die laaste ruk gedoen het, sê vir my hy sou beslis nié ’n ou soos Siya gekies het nie.
Vir my maak dit net nie sin nie. Toe Siya op peil was en goed gespeel het, het hy hom nie kans gegee nie.
Noudat die man egter beseer is, sê hy maar net so omdat hy soos ’n gentleman wil klink.
Meyer het in ’n paar games gewys daar is nie plek in wêreldrugby vir die soort rugby wat hý wil hê sy span moet speel nie.
Hy het ’n paar jaar gelede sukses by die Bulls behaal met dié manier waarop hulle gespeel het.
Hulle was baie gelukkig om laas week teen Argentinië gelykop te speel en moes eintlik die toets verloor het.
Dis ’n sad dag as Argentinië beter vertoon as ons.
En ek sê weer, Suid-Afrika kan homself baie gelukkig ag om teen Argentinië te draw.
Heyneke moet die volle verantwoordelikheid vat, want hy was aan die stuur van daai skip.
Daar was in die laaste paar maande groot kritiek oor Morné Steyn, maar Meyer het steeds met hom volhard.
Steyn is té wisselvallig in sy vertonings. Tans speel hy een goeie game uit vyf. Hy het ons tot ’n sekere mate die game teen Argentinië gekos.
Die sad reality is dat Elton Jantjies in die reeks teen Engeland die nr.?2-losskakel in die groep was. Steyn het toe pateties gespeel.
Jantjies was op die bank, maar Meyer het geweier om Jantjies op te stuur. Nou kom Johan Goosen terug, wat meer as drie maande laas gespeel het. En Elton is skielik heeltemal uit die groep.
Watter boodskap word daar nou aan Jantjies gestuur, wat in my opinie die top-losskakel in die land is?
Dié mannetjie speel goed. Hy is vol selfvertroue. Meyer moes hom lankal ’n kans gegee het.
Pierre Spies was vir ’n lang tyd nie op peil nie, maar hy het met hom ook volhard.
Keegan Daniel en selfs Willem Alberts het laas week nie die mas op agtsteman opgekom nie.
Dit lyk dus vir my asof sekere spelers net meer geleenthede as andere kry.
As Meyer in vanjaar se Kampioenskapsreeks wil vorder, móét hy Steyn nóú drop. Hy moet Goosen nóú laat speel.
Ek weet ook nie waar Patrick Lambie inpas nie, want dit is ook duidelik Lambie is nie next in line op flyhalf nie. Hy moet besluit waar hy Lambie gaan aanwend.
Is hy ’n flyhalf, ’n senter of ’n heelagter? Is Francois Hougaard ’n skrumskakel of ’n vleuel? Geen wonder die spelers is confused en sukkel om Meyer se verouderde game plan uit te voer nie.
Rugbygroete, Ashwin
Volg my op Twitter by @Ashwinwillemse.
@poppa69-216: I have a few issues with Invictus, but my biggest one is the fact that they left out the fight against the Canucks
If it wasn’t for that fight, there would have been no Chester.
@cane-224: i think the term is “rigged”
courtesy of our very own JJ Walker, Mr. Dy No mite, HG
31 Aug 2012, 14:21 pm
Indeed Pops.
He is a legend. No wonder Sonny Bill idolises him.
31 Aug 2012, 14:23 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-218:
SA needed a coach with a novel approach, not another ignorant vaaljapie!
Unfortunately I do not believe there is anyone in SA who fit the bill. Therefore it had to be an overseas coach.
Now we are stuck with another arrogant fool.
@adi-226:
S true
@adi-226:
Sorry adi,
i didn’t understand a word of that.
(do you understand a word of this).
31 Aug 2012, 14:24 pm
@willievz-227: I too was disappointed with the movie..they could have used real footage from the tourny for example..
31 Aug 2012, 14:25 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-218: you are just scared that he’s actually apply things like this:
“Every move in the game should involve hiding and holding players. Holding players run strong decoy lines to commit defenders and stop them sliding off. Hiding players look like they are not interested, run as if they aren’t getting the ball then strike like cheetahs (or, like springboks escaping cheetahs!)
In contrast, the Pumas were smart, had a clear tactic to get gain line through driving line outs or through forward runners shifting the point of attack using linking passes. You could tell that Graham Henry is already advancing their coaching”
and your homogeneous mind can’t deal with the thought
@cane-232:
Filthy Nikita lover
@fantasticbarnsmell-149: rugby nut is my go too…
31 Aug 2012, 14:27 pm
@gunther-229: definitely the form batsman in the world at the moment..
31 Aug 2012, 14:27 pm
@adi-226: the GLOVES seem off for Heyneke there at SUPERSPORT! hahahaha
31 Aug 2012, 14:29 pm
@willievz-222: So I’ve lost the plot as well in the process
Oh dear. Meltdown.
I just get p # ssed off, we deserve better. (Or…maybe we are getting exactly what we deserve – arghhhhhhhhh)
@gunther-229: What did SBW say about Amla?
@Transformation-238:
Eshwin is right though
31 Aug 2012, 14:31 pm
@Transformation-234: Sounds to me like some obstruction….
Similar to “smart loitering” around the ruck
31 Aug 2012, 14:32 pm
@willievz-240:
Sonny Bill spent a lot of time around him when we were touring NZ earlier this year.
Finds Hash very inspirational as a Muslim and a sportsman.
He’s a massive fan.
31 Aug 2012, 14:35 pm
@willievz-242:
And blocking would be tacklers hollowing up kicks.
In fact I’m sure it’s a typo and that he menu holding players and not hiding them.
@gunther-221: Just for you. Another rant has been scheduled for 14:45….. Computicket are responsible for ticket sales.
Nah, onto something positive. Amla
@willievz-240: he went to the Proteas dressing room in kiwiland to ask for snap with Hash…
31 Aug 2012, 14:37 pm
@willievz-242: well he was lamenting that the current bok way of playing is detectable from Mars hence it is easy to snuff…
31 Aug 2012, 14:39 pm
@Transformation-238: I see in Die Burger this morning (front page I’ll have you know0…..that Supersport’s presenters were told that they can criticise Meyer, but that the criticism should be delivered to Meyer ‘personally’.
@Transformation-246:
“snap with hash”
Is that a new drug?
I proffer this as evidence of what Smith means..
notice no defender is impeded, but highlights exactly what he is referring to
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PlJsV5j_aXo
use it, dont use it
actually dont use it, we enjoy beating you guys
31 Aug 2012, 14:41 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-248: Fark me!!! What?
is that a directive from Happy Ntshingila? :shocked:
31 Aug 2012, 14:42 pm
@adi-226: Which paper run Willemse’s column?
31 Aug 2012, 14:45 pm
@cane-214: regardless of the precise details, the point is the NZRU tried to entice him back.
31 Aug 2012, 14:46 pm
@poppa69-250: eish Popps, you see what we have to deal with?
31 Aug 2012, 14:48 pm
@Big Hit-253: the point is they moved on after the deal fell through and he hasn’t played for new zealand AGAIN!
if bakkies can show in the top14 that he is fit and up for international duty, then maybe BUT the way he was a 60 min player already is not encouraging!
brad thorn is a different animal altogether!
31 Aug 2012, 14:51 pm
@Transformation-254: yeah Trans. creating indecision/confusion in the defense is a strange, strange concept
31 Aug 2012, 15:02 pm
@poppa69-256: we “MUST FORCE OUR GAME PLAN” on the opposition, we can’t bamboozle them
31 Aug 2012, 15:02 pm
So Cosy in Keo today…
31 Aug 2012, 15:04 pm
@adi-226:
@Dawn-231:
fake twitter account.
@TooMuchRugby-230:
will you call yourself an arroganr fool when meyer brings glory to the boks?
@Transformation-234:
sacrilege!
@willievz-242:
@gunther-244:
my point exactly
31 Aug 2012, 15:09 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-259:
Sure, I will if it pleases you… but I’m not nervous about it.
What will you call yourself if he fails?
31 Aug 2012, 15:11 pm
Amla out, darn it!
31 Aug 2012, 15:15 pm
@cane-232:
It’s a Ashwin Willemse rugby column
He says Heyneke’s lying when he says he would’ve picked Siya for the away games as he didn’t play him when on form and healthy and he’s only saying he would’ve picked him to come off as generous or something of that sort.
He also says Jantjies was second in line for a chance during England Tour yet Goosen comes back from a long lay-off and jumps ahead, this while Jantjies is playing with confidence and has more experience as well.
Ashwin also laments the fact that some get more cracks at it than others and makes it clear that if we persist with Steyn we won’t go anywhere as Morne’s become too inconsistent with good displays occuring 1 in every 5 games.
Lastly he adds they must decide if Hougie is a wing or scrumhalf as this is a sign of the confusion in the Boks under Heyneke’s watch.
31 Aug 2012, 15:17 pm
Michael du Plessis for WP against the former N Tvl on boots and all last was a marvel to watch. As a flyhalf he was way ahead of many in South Africa in the eighties. If only our donkie flyhalf can play at half Michael’s capability, the boks would be pleasant in the eye.
Damn apartheid. What a wasted talent never seen internationaly.
31 Aug 2012, 15:20 pm
@Transformation-261:
AB is finally getting a bat at the Oval!
31 Aug 2012, 15:24 pm
@Peter Mkata-263: i think that insert was PLANTED on purpose to show up both AC and Heyneke
31 Aug 2012, 15:26 pm
@TooMuchRugby-260:
meyer could faill?
that’s plan B territory, never done one before i must admit. i hear they’re way overated.
31 Aug 2012, 15:27 pm
@Peter Mkata-263: did you see the knee on the face of the NTvl player?
31 Aug 2012, 15:44 pm
Dean Elgar not a one day player in my mind.
Perhaps he’s just a bit rusty.
31 Aug 2012, 15:47 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-266:
Meyer failed many a time before getting lucky in one Super season
31 Aug 2012, 15:50 pm
@John Galt-268:
What’s his 1st class record like?
Was thinking the same thing that he seems a bit slow but I think they’ve given him some rope to take his time and play an anchor role while he finds his feet.
That’s what I’m hoping at least otherwise he’ll go the way of Bacher & Dippenaar.
31 Aug 2012, 16:00 pm
Gieppie Nel, saw it.
Any news on new players that side of the devide? We must make it work even though EP Kings are set up to fail!!
31 Aug 2012, 16:05 pm
@John Galt-268: Well he’s going to have to play an innings and a half here.
31 Aug 2012, 16:06 pm
@Peter Mkata-271: nothing earth shaking this side…ears on the ground though…
31 Aug 2012, 16:20 pm
@wpstormerbok-270:
1st Class record is good. Although 1st Class cricket is classified as any form of cricket over 3 days I think so irrelevant here.
He averages 45 with a strike rate of 49.
His list A record, which is limited overs provincial cricket is not too great.
Averaging 38 with a SR of only 74.
Got to ask yourself why he’s in the one day side.
Says he bowls left arm slow.
Should say he bats left arm slow as well.
31 Aug 2012, 16:22 pm
Duminy en Robbie P sal die kastaaings (sp) uit die vuur moet krap.
They just have to bat out the innings, even if it’s at 3.5 an over.
31 Aug 2012, 16:23 pm
Jade hurting his fellow Saffas.
31 Aug 2012, 16:27 pm
@John Galt-274:
Maybe there’s a long term plan to develop him into a proper ODI player, I see he’s 25 so maybe he’ll be a bit more confident by the time Kallis calls it a day.
31 Aug 2012, 16:35 pm
@Peter Mkata-263:
I don’t think Michael duP ever played 10 for the Boks. He’d already been moved to 12 at WP when he got his Bok call up. WP needed a goal kicker, which Michael wasn’t.
31 Aug 2012, 16:51 pm
@wpstormerbok-275: John Galt thinks Robbie P is uber kak!
31 Aug 2012, 16:57 pm
@Transformation-279:
Not for the last 2 years he hasn’t
Duminy taking them on too soon and there goes a possible 250 if they just kept going as they were!
31 Aug 2012, 17:00 pm
@Transformation-279:
He is uber kak.
We really are missing a big hitter lower down the order here.
Albie or Dave Miller etc.
31 Aug 2012, 18:15 pm
On yer bike Bell
31 Aug 2012, 22:33 pm
@John Galt-281:
You also thought that Amla was kak…that Philander was kak…when they were selected for the 1st time …and the 2nd time.
You still believe that Prince was kak despite him having an average in the mid 40′s in test matches.
I don’t think we can take you seriously.
31 Aug 2012, 22:42 pm
@John Galt-281:
Not a bad return in a losing match for somebody who is “uber kak.”
@Transformation-267:
After Giepie Nel fell on his back with both knees…after Michael scored the try. You did see that, I presume?
Still a pet hate of UFO after that incident.
@gunther-276:
Gunther letting everybody know that he knows Kenny’s little brother personally.
1 Sep 2012, 09:34 am
anyone seen the “earl rose and the quest for snoek” clip on youtube?
1 Sep 2012, 10:37 am
where can i read some new rugby news?
1 Sep 2012, 10:38 am
If there is any…
1 Sep 2012, 12:25 pm
@nama1-284:
Since when is Jade Dernbach Kenny’s younger brother?
Lay off the booze pal.
2 Sep 2012, 01:59 am
@gunther-288:
OK, you got me there.
Thought you were talking about Trott. Did not know Dernbach was born in Joburg and schooled at St John.
How old was he when he left SA?
Did he also go over to England because of quotas?
So, how many South Africans are actually in the English squad nowadays?
2 Sep 2012, 04:24 am
Pack
1. Beast
2. Biz (Fourie if he is injured)
3. Coenie (Cilliers if he is injured)
4. Eldstadt
5. Etsebeth
6. Brussouw (Flo if he is injured)
7. Burger (C) (Kolisi if injured)
8. Vermuelen
You need a backline that can run a ball, otherwise they are useless.
9. Sarel
10. Goosen
11. Rhule
12. Frans
13. Serfontein
14. Hougaard
15. Le Roux
2 Sep 2012, 05:47 am
@cane-224: Still cant take that you lot were beaten by the better team on the day.What arrogant little people you are from that little island that if they get beaten it is for some other reason than they were second best.You lot will always be the little brother that cheats,moans,crys foul every time big brother spanks him.Grow up.
2 Sep 2012, 07:30 am
@nama1-289:
Kieswetter – left SA 18yrs old
Strauss – (retired, left SA 6yrs old)
Dernbach – left SA 14yrs old
Prior – left SA 11yrs old
Trott – left SA 18yrs old
KP (don’t think his in the squad anymore) – left SA 18yrs old
2 Sep 2012, 13:06 pm
@snivelling little kiwi pricks-291:
Hey Sniveler,
The truth hurts, don’t take it out on me.
And at least have the gonads to post under your regular Nik.
2 Sep 2012, 15:06 pm
@Jeraldjay-292:
That’s more than half of a cricket team.
3 Sep 2012, 03:41 am
@snivelling little kiwi pricks-291:
Snivelling prick….meet Bakkies.
If you dont like people crying foul everytime their team loses then you and Bakkies will get on like a house on fire.
Such a lil b.itch hiding behind a crappy nik. Man up loser
3 Sep 2012, 11:34 am
@cane-293: No truth there to hurt me.You lot are trying to get away from that biased cheating kiwi snivelling little ref fom 2011 wc.The whole world saw that and not that imagination running away with you about someone called suzie.And its not a crappy nik,it says exactly what you kiwis are.Tell us we winge,you still going on about 1995.Get over it.Maybe when it gets proven that brycie was paid to cheat by the nzru you will get the wc taken away from you scumbags.Then armstrong wont feel alone.
3 Sep 2012, 11:38 am
Well this sounds like fun.Has anyone figured out that we have a lot of backs that are not even being looked at as the style is defence for the BOKS and the flyhalf is a kicker not and attacker and this will remain until we pick backs who WANT to run and choose the option of kicking as a last resort instead of the first.Morne Steyn has lost the guts to attack the gainline and opts for the safer option of kicking even when he knows the opposition will attack with their backs and retain possession.I think he wants to impress his boss and keep his spot even if it is not good for the Boks.Thoughts?