Boks’ response must speak loudest
30 Aug 2012
Springbok captain Jean de Villiers said they had to be accountable for their poor showing in Mendoza and said that accountability must be exhibited through their forthcoming performances.
The Springboks produced their most woeful effort under coach Heyneke Meyer to date, stuttering to a 16-16 draw in the second Test of their Rugby Championship campaign last week.
They have subsequently taken lots of heat from the South African public and media and are under immense pressure to improve in the Tests that remain, their next assignment coming in Perth against Australia next Saturday.
De Villiers stressed the importance of identification and elimination of the errors they’ve made and called for a significant improvement.
‘We need to learn from our experiences, and we’re growing as a team, but you can’t keep making the same mistakes,’ De Villiers said at Orlando Stadium in Soweto on Thursday.
‘By Saturday next week we will know if we’ve stepped up or not. We’re building as a team. Our discipline needs to improve, our execution, and our set-phases have taken a step backward. We maybe need to improve 40 percent but the margins are very small in Test rugby.’
De Villiers added time had healed some of the wounds of that result and allowed them to gain a measure of perspective on it. He also refused to completely accept that their attacking play, which was a point of great criticism for its sterility, was fundamentally flawed.
‘We’ve put that game behind us. Looking at the game again I feel better about it,’ he said. ‘There were actually a lot of positives from the game. We believe we were a better team than how we played on Saturday. Even though there has been a lot of criticism of our attacking play, I thought that was actually quite good. The attack was quite good at times.’
Meyer’s game plan is widely perceived to be conservative and has been the central focus of his detractors’ vitriol. He needs it to come together against the Wallabies or face deepening and more scathing criticism thereof. While De Villiers accepted that they deserved to be questioned for their execution of that game plan, he, however, gave it the vote of confidence on behalf of the squad.
‘It’s a new coach trying to get a message and game plan across to the team,’ he said. ‘We will all stand up for what we believe in. We believe in the coach and what we’re doing is right.’

297 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 » Show All
31 Aug 2012, 09:46 am
@poppa69-40:

i was waiting for the reply, pops. thought i’d smoke you out with a nz rugby post
bakkies will right the ship but more importantly pass on his wisdom to eben. bakkies aims for the bruisers but if smith tries that naughty stuff then he puts himself in the firing line
there’ll be a lot of nz douche’s when the fouche carves you guys up in a year or two’s time.
31 Aug 2012, 09:47 am
@Stiff-arm-12:
Excellent commentary.
One missing point: the Argies played magnificently, as if their lives depended on it, at Mendoza where they have never lost. The crowd support (50,000) was incredible and they never stopped singing and screaming. Their forwards have long been credited with the best scrummaging technique in world rugby and nobody is giving credit to them where it is due; the forwards were brutal and immense. Only Estebeth competed (and he was immense).
I’ve seen the AB’s led by Jerry Collins, virtually a full strength side with Dan Carter, holding on for a 25-19 win in Argentina and the last 10 minutes were all Pumas forwards bashing away at the line. On its day they are a world-class rugby side and very, very physical: I was impressed.
31 Aug 2012, 09:48 am
@willievz-4: That’s why PDV was a breath of fresh air. Much better than the “we’ll learn from this” standard responses to poor performances
31 Aug 2012, 09:48 am
@gunther-50:
31 Aug 2012, 09:49 am
@Transformation-43:
who the flip is piet van zyl?
@Jeez-47:
i know
@sharks_lover-48:
alrighty then, just checking
31 Aug 2012, 09:50 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-55: Justsayin
31 Aug 2012, 09:50 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-51: hehehe Bakkies has wisdom? I call bullsh1t .. I know a few who share that name and I’ve yet to see their wisdom .. theyre all fouche-bags in my opinion..
31 Aug 2012, 09:51 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-51: bakkies is a lazy s,hit version of himself at toulon! i don’t even think his conditioning is up to international rugby standards…he was walking about blowing hard in those last games of the top14…los maar!
31 Aug 2012, 09:53 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-55: cheetahs young sharp scrummy!
31 Aug 2012, 09:54 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-35: Not a great loss , his brother is the monster tighthead ( incredibly strong) … Always like Wyatt so i am happy
31 Aug 2012, 09:55 am
@Transformation-59: has he hit a referee yet?
31 Aug 2012, 09:55 am
FDP.
Quickly.
The scrum half cupboard is sparser than Paris Hilton’s bikini line.
Get him back chop chop.
31 Aug 2012, 09:56 am
Future bok team:
Beast
Bis/ Chilli
Coenie
Esebeth
Kruger
Brussouw (its worrying- not a lot of up and coming fetchers)
Alberts / Burger (2 more years)
Vermeulen/ Stander
Pienaar/ Van Zyl
Goosen/Jantjeis
Rhule/Basson
Steyn/ Venter/ Serfontein
Jordaan/ JJ
JPP/Hougaard
Taute/ Lambie
31 Aug 2012, 09:57 am
Kirtchner OUT.
31 Aug 2012, 09:57 am
Two important announcements
Bakkies has wisdom and Naas is at flyhalf against the Wallabies
31 Aug 2012, 10:15 am
@poppa69-57:
boy, i sure am gonna love ity when that fouche-bag blows up in your face
@Transformation-58:
he’s lost a lot of weight transie, seriously
played a full 80 in his last game.
he looks so good he’s unrecognisable really, very handsome.
@Transformation-59:
ok, dnkt.
will look out for him. i thought you were joking about the other piet van zyl.
@stew-60:
problem is, with the franks without the franks… crusaders cant buy a trophy for all the gold in china. your union has bigger problems… and its name is blackadder.
31 Aug 2012, 10:17 am
SBW to play next to Jacques Fourie for the Wild Knights.
Fk me that is a good centre pairing.
@sharks_lover-56:
god help us if a kwazulian ever coaches the boks.
there’ll be some selections more dangerous than a zulu spear right there
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-66: Do you want to praise Bakkies or shag him?
It was the “really very handsome” bit that forced my hand here…..
31 Aug 2012, 10:18 am
@gunther-62:
fdp would play with charl’s naughty bits
and charl would thank him
31 Aug 2012, 10:20 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-69:
he’s just that good at the moment. a man reborn.
i really dont understand why he’s not in the squad.
31 Aug 2012, 10:21 am
@John Galt-67: I would pay good money to see that. I hope some Japanese fan uploads a few clips to Youtube….
31 Aug 2012, 10:24 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-71: Because at this stage (regardless of how ‘well’ and ‘slimmed down’ he is looking) the pace and intensity of international rugby – never mind international rugby against the Kiwis and Aussies, would probably kill him
I have no doubt that he has personally told Mr Meyer that he is not quite up to international standard at the moment….much like Fourie du Preez did.
If he has started slimming down – that means he might be working towards an international come back
In fact, I would not mind seeing a Bakkies at 4, Eben at 5 combo. IMHO – Eben is a 5 lock, and always will be.
31 Aug 2012, 10:28 am
@Jeez-14: He’s comparing it with the Stormers, in which case it is pretty good. Frieken Joke I tell you…
31 Aug 2012, 10:45 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-73:
agreed simply because bekker is injury prone as well not really stepping up to fill victor’s boots. i think eben could be a 4 or 5 but would play kruger instead and have bakkies play 40 to 60 min depending on the game situation and then bring eben off the bench.
31 Aug 2012, 10:49 am
Not sure If I am suprised about the results. And not sure about HM – if he thinks Spies/Potgieter/Flip VdM / kirshner/ M Steyn are good enough to make the BOKS then we are in for hiding to non. We have better players we need to use them, yes we have loads of injuries but we have players that he needs to take a gamble on. I wish lambie played for the Blue bulls, if he did he would be starting at 10 this weekend that I can guarantee you, will he give lambie a chance and time like he has given his blue eyed boy’s. When you are the Bok coach you should make decisions on merrit not on SIZE/ or if they wear a blue shirt.. thank g-d Olivier is not in contention or he must be injured…come on HM do us proud and show us you have the qualities to make the BOKS world champions again we definitely have the players, they just need the guidence to succeed now…
31 Aug 2012, 10:52 am
Estebeth and Alberts as locks
Back row brussouw Kolisi and Strauss.
Kruger and Kankowski off the bench.
31 Aug 2012, 10:56 am
@gunther-77:
Who will call the lineouts? A rookie lock or Alberts who normally plays flank? Come on.
31 Aug 2012, 10:59 am
A rookie lock.
Matfield called the line outs as a rookie lock.
Give him a month with Estebeth and the youngster won’t look back.
You numpty.
31 Aug 2012, 11:01 am
@rabooby-76: meisiekind is japan making moola…
31 Aug 2012, 11:02 am
@gunther-77: I could easily go with that!
We need to decide on Etzebeth’s future – a 4 or 5 lock?
31 Aug 2012, 11:03 am
@gunther-79: He doesnt even call it at Super rugby level, doubt that he will get the responsibility at the boks. And it seems Bekker and Kruger are HMs go to men in the lineouts. Perhaps PSteph du Toit one day…
Esebeth
Kruger
31 Aug 2012, 11:05 am
Wish Bambie could be released to play currie cup at flyhalf, then he can make an honest challenge for the bok flyhalf position. Right now, given match fitness and form, Goose, Jantjies and even Morne have to be preferred as options for that position. Not saying that he will probably be the right choice eventually, but at least there can be some fair comparisons made.
31 Aug 2012, 11:06 am
@Jeez-78: A similar pack worked for the Sharks, who keeps the ball in hand and tries to minimise the lineouts.
It will not work for the Bulls (and the current Bok gameplan), who prefer a territorial game.
31 Aug 2012, 11:10 am
@gunther-79: Agreed X50000. Eben is a 5…..(with no 4 tendencies…which is a huge bonus).
All I want is to be rid of the “underperforming/still injured and will never recover 100%” Bekker (Boks and Stormers)
The Bok 4 for the future (once more, just my probably very biased opinion) has buggered off the Ireland – Quinn. Fukkit I hope he comes back.
31 Aug 2012, 11:13 am
@willievz-81: He is a 5. Anyone who has seen him play at 5 will agree I reckon. He is a best of both worlds 5 – he has the massive workrate and physicality of a 4, and he is deceptively fast.
Playing at 5 might even prolong his career
But they must make the change….soon.
Next year for the Stormers, I would like Eben to start at 5, and Elastadt back at 4 (if he is still here…..)
31 Aug 2012, 11:14 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-85: shame i feel for bekker but sadly he will be a bit part player in the bok line up for the next few years and never fulfill his promise.
i hope i am wrong.
i would love to see JdJ running off frans steyn with lambie at 10 calling the plays.
fark that would be awesome.
and when jpp gets back, our backline may become a thing of beauty.
31 Aug 2012, 11:15 am
Willie I think he is a 5.
When our loosies ate all fit etc Lberts would struggle to start.
He would give us that hard edge at lock.
Kankowski and Kruger would offer loads of versatility and a real impact off the bench.
31 Aug 2012, 11:16 am
The problem with Meyer is that he picks players according his set game plan and in the absence of many first choice players the players he picked ate not necessary the best in their positions and in some cases actually not international level.
31 Aug 2012, 11:17 am
if kanko was around he would be a bok starter for the first time in his career.
stupid move by him.
i hope you regret it kanko ya bastaard lol.
31 Aug 2012, 11:18 am
Pity about Spies ,not being in the team as he pulls in so many people that leaves gaps for the wingers.Probably one of the reasons we could ever get the line to score tries.Hope he recovers quicky.Much to the disgust of many negative potato commentators.
31 Aug 2012, 11:19 am
@willievz-84:
If you analyze the first half of the first England game, it all looked great. The forwards dominated and the backs looked dangerous. So the game plan and tactics can work, but if the forwards struggle, there needs to be a plan b and the backs will have to adapt. A capable flyhalf is essencial if a team needs to adapt if the initial game plan is backfiring… But a team needs to be coached to adapt and not just hammer on like they did against the pumas.
After Saturdays poor performance its clear that there is no plan b. So I hope HM got the wakeup call needed for some new ideas…And hopefully adapt the play like the Sharks showed can be very effective.
If he doesnt things are not going to get any easier. Lets hope we have a coach who can learn from his mistakes.
Although, Jean’s comments arent very assuring… Seems like they are going to keep on hitting their heads against the wall.
31 Aug 2012, 11:19 am
eish that blitzbok fellow has a potty mouth eh?
he is quite an angry one.
kinda reminds me of gwantie at his emotional best though i see gwantie is getting back to his emo best of late
“frans louw is the SaVIOur of BoK RUGBY i am SOOOOOOOOOO eXCITED!”
31 Aug 2012, 11:20 am
@jacquesknotter-91: bs man.
show pony.
31 Aug 2012, 11:24 am
@rangerman-90:
Cant really call it a stupid move Ranger.
If you think about the period when he signed, he was in and out the Sharks side with injury.
The starting loosies for the Sharks were Coetzee, Alberts and Daniel so he wasnt even assured of starting for the Sharks on his return from injury.
Thats obviously why he signed for a 6 month cash injection during the CC. No one, not even himself I dont think, expected him to come back into the Sharks and play like he did.
Only when Alberts was forced to move to 4 did he start for the Sharks and clearly had a cracker up his arse because Ive never seen him play as well as he did in those final few S15 weeks. Ever.
Unfortunately by that time it was too late as he had already signed.
31 Aug 2012, 11:29 am
@rangerman-87: That would be a Xmas pressie worth opening
You know what is really freaking me out though about Meyer’s ‘man management’?……The damage to player’s confidence. De Jongh – not wanted, wanted, not wanted, wanted. Lambie – 10, 15, 10, 15 wanted, not wanted. Daniel – wanted, not wanted….even JJ Engelbrecht shame, wanted, not wanted, wanted, not wanted.
You dream of players running off anyone will probably NEVER come true – purely because said players will be too sh y te scared to try anything beyond what is scripted by the Head Honcho. (And even if they are given freedom…..their confidence will be so shot, they won’t try anything…) I wouldn’t….not after seeing Meyer blame his players 100% without taking 1% on himself.
Read the new SA rugby magazine…Meyer talks about scrumhalves… You want to know what he says about Hougie? He says: “Francois needs to play in more finals and semi-finals to develop the level of tactical astuteness he needs to become a scrumhalf who can control a test.”
31 Aug 2012, 11:30 am
@jacquesknotter-91: It’s not only people on here who whinge about Spies mate. Read the SA Sports Illustrated……
31 Aug 2012, 11:39 am
@gunther-77:
left field
sjoe
31 Aug 2012, 11:40 am
For it is written ‘ seek and you shall find …’
Now I have been looking for this particular for at least 20 years; I must have heard it in Cape Town back in the late 80s and it stayed with me…
But I thought it was a Spyrogyra song and hence set out to acquire all their cd’s
On an unrelated search I found a tribute to Robbie Jansen by Glenn Robertson and there they do the song:
Artist: Blue Mitchell – Asso cam – from the album Graffiti Blues (1973)
31 Aug 2012, 11:42 am
Indeed Ranger.
I wonder how long Gwantie will stay in remission.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 » Show All