Jake hammers Heyneke

Jake White says Heyneke Meyer’s game plan for the Springboks is not a winning one.

The Brumbies mentor was speaking at a fundraiser at Emperors Palace in Kempton Park, according to Die Burger.

‘Heyneke’s coaching style is not a style that will help the Boks to win,’ said White. ‘If you can’t score at least four tries against Argentina, then there is a big problem.’

White said Meyer’s long stint with the Bulls had inevitably influenced his approach at Test level.

‘Heyneke was always going to get criticism because of his background with the Bulls. He was chosen as [Bok] coach because of the success he achieved as Bulls coach and it will naturally play a role in the way he coaches the Boks.’

White said that the more pressure Meyer was put under, the more he would revert to what worked for him at the Bulls.

‘If, for example, he must choose between Gio Aplon and Zane Kirchner, he will choose Kirchner every time,’ he said.

Meanwhile, former Bok captain Bob Skinstad reportedly described Meyer as a ‘dictator’, adding that ‘you can see during the match how he has told the players exactly what to do. They must learn to adapt.’

However, Skinstad later tweeted that he had not used the word ‘dictator’.

832 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1117 » Show All

• 1.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Talk is cheap o’l dragon…

• 2.Shadow: Reply to this comment

Sour grapes perhaps Jake?

• 3.west indies cricket board: Reply to this comment

Sour grapes my arse. More like stating the obvious. White is wc winner. Meyer is a ******

• 4.Shadow: Reply to this comment

Never said that he is wrong, but believe he wanted the job!

• 5.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

blow it out your arse bud.

• 6.west indies cricket board: Reply to this comment

M*ron

• 7.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

mormon? who, jake?
    well that explains it.

• 8.Shadow: Reply to this comment

Thanks hey! Not gonna stoop to your level and start name calling.

• 9.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Say it like it is JAke chune this bakkies and co :mrgreen: :lol:

• 10.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Shadow-8: dont be chicken, give him KAK :lol:

• 11.Shadow: Reply to this comment

Haha too early for that sharks lover, only opened the office now, maybe after a coffee :-D

• 12.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-9:

dont stress boet, poppa will be along shortly :grin:

• 13.Shadow: Reply to this comment

Well IMO Jake is correct in saying HM’s gameplan is the wrong one for the Boks

• 14.viewer: Reply to this comment

Jake makes a valid point BUT he is compromised because he always takes tge credit for other people’s (his assistants) work. In 2004 it was the man (can’t recall the name) who helped the boks to implement the umbrella defence. It worked for 1 and a half seasons. Jake was clueless between end of 2005 3N until just before WC 2007, when he roped in eddie jones to sort out the playing style, skills & execution. Now at the brumbies he’s walked into a team that adheres strongly to an established playing style (he’s brought nothing original on the technical side) & he’s got good assistant coaches once again.
    He’d have been better off keeping quiet

• 15.Rage: Reply to this comment

spot on jake

• 16.Shadow: Reply to this comment

@ viewer, cricket bloke will tune you kak as well if you knock his beloved Jake White :-D

• 17.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Shadow-13:
    its just to little information to go on, they’re mentioning a few one-liner throw away comments jake made. which knowing the keo crew is probably wholly out of context anyway.

anyway, jake shouldn’t be one to talk.

• 18.Fern: Reply to this comment

Goog morning all.
    I want Hurricane to check out this music vid because he is bigtime into his music.
    Please be so kind as to point him to this post if you find him on other threads.
    I thank you all in advance
    Yours sincerely
    Chunt du Fernly.
    http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=57Sb14dyaUc

• 19.Shadow: Reply to this comment

@ Bakkies, aggreed

• 20.grant10: Reply to this comment

JOHANNESBURG. – Daar is groot fout met Heyneke Meyer se styl van afrigting.

Só het die oud-Springbok­afrigter Jake White gister by ’n geldinsamelingsgeleentheid by Emperors Palace in Kemptonpark oor die Bok-breier gesê.

“Heyneke se afrigtingstyl is nie ’n styl wat die Bokke gaan help om te wen nie,” het White gesê.

Die Springbokke se onlangse vertoning in Argentinië is die perfekte voorbeeld hiervan, het White bygevoeg.

Hulle het gelykop teen die Suid-Amerikaanse land gespeel.

“As jy nie minstens vier drieë teen Argentinië kan druk nie, is daar groot fout.”

White het gesê hy weet daar is sommige mense wat reken hy is te uitgesproke, maar hy vind dit lagwekkend.

“Jy doen mos iets reg, of jy los dit,” het hy gesê.

Hy het luidrugtig teen Meyer en die Springbokke se bestuurspan uitgevaar en geen doekies omgedraai nie.

“Heyneke sou altyd kritiek gekry het weens sy agtergrond by die Bulle.

“Hy is gekies as afrigter vanweë die sukses wat hy as Blou Bul-afrigter behaal het en natuurlik gaan dit ’n bepalende rol speel in die manier waarop hy die Bokke afrig.”

Volgens White, wat nou die Brumbies in Australië afrig, gaan Meyer al meer terugkeer na dit wat hy as Blou Bul-afrigter gedoen het namate hy onder meer druk geplaas word.

“As hy byvoorbeeld moet kies tussen Gio Aplon en Zane Kirchner, gaan hy elke keer vir Kirchner kies,” het White gesê.

Meyer het homself met ’n klomp jabroers omring, meen White.

“Die Bokke se bestuurspan is die mees onervare bestuurspan in wêreldrugby. Daar is nie ’n manier wat daardie ouens teen Heyneke sal opstaan of hom uitdaag nie.”

Dié probleem is volgens ­White ook onder die Springbok-spelers teenwoordig.

“In hierdie stadium is hulle maar net te bly om daar te wees en probeer hulle net om nie te veel foute te maak nie. Ek dink nie daar is iemand wat teen Heyneke sal opstaan en sy mening bevraagteken nie,” het White gesê.

Die oud-Springbok en rugbykommentator Bob Skinstad was ook by die geleentheid en het selfs die woord “diktator” gebruik om na Meyer te verwys.

“ ’n Mens kan tydens die wedstryd sien hoe hy vir die spelers presies beduie wat om te doen. Hulle moet leer om te kan aanpas,” het Skinstad gesê.

Meyer se plan is volgens White baie duidelik. “Hy wil hê die Bokke moet groot, sterk, oorbodige rugby speel. Hy dink duidelik dit sal sukses oplewer, maar net die tyd sal leer.”

Die Springbok-afrigter se werk is die moeilikste werk op aarde, het White egter bygevoeg.

“Jy kry twee soorte Springbok-afrigters: een wat al afgedank is en een wat nog afgedank moet word.”

• 21.Craven: Reply to this comment

@viewer-14:

Talk about talking ****. Jake has always taken credit for what others have done? So an U21 championship, Tri-Nations title, World Cup and his work at the Brumbies are all due to other people?

Jake must be very good at bullsh*tting a lot of people because they keep falling for it and employing him. And even more extraordinary is that he can still find “other people” to do work that he can take the credit for. Remarkable!

• 22.grant10: Reply to this comment

Skinstad calling HM a ‘ Dictator ‘ as well……

Heat most definitley on for HM…..so early in his job as well…..

I reckon if Boks get nailed in Perth and Dunedin the home leg may well be do or die for HM….

Not because of SARU, but because of the person HM appears to be….He seems to ‘ feel ‘ the pressure more than most….if the Coach box antics are anything to measure him by…..not sure how much he will be able to handle …

• 23.Fern: Reply to this comment

@22
    hey gwantie i see members of the ancyl are gonna be your new neighbours,that is if they do not take your property.
    bwhahaha

• 24.iamthebear: Reply to this comment

A certain Mr William Webb Ellis thinks Jake White is ok, he is allowed to have an opinion without being abused for it. As for Heyneke, it is far too early for the vitriol being hurled at him. Remember how he took a while to get the Bulls from a near the bottom of the log team to Super Rugby champions? Took years, not a couple of months. Have some patience folks!

• 25.grant10: Reply to this comment

and for the record I am actually happy with HM at the moment…..the selections were spot on yesterday, especially F Louw 1…..

If he adds Brussow, Coenie, and rids the team of M Steyn he may well just be on the right track….

Of course the skop en jag will need to stop, but I believe J Goosen will be the catalyst once he takes over the 10 role…..Problem with M Steyn is he cannot do any more than what he does……which is offer a limited type game ….

• 26.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@grant10-22: This does not surprise me in the least. The ONLY thing that surprises me, is why it has taken this long for all the so-called ‘experts’ to suss out the situation.
    Many bloggers, armchair fans and those who don’t support the Bulls had all this sh y te worked out before the man was even appointed.
    Baffling….

• 27.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@iamthebear-24: The Boks don’t have the luxury of years mate…

• 28.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

oh god, here we go again.

pull out the camomile tea, rose scented candles and incense.

its gonna be a bawler….

• 29.JL1: Reply to this comment

HM does not select alone…

Rod MacQueen had a very prescriptive style of play, 7 phases left, 6 phases right, 1 left then points….the dictator has RWC and Super Rugby badges

HMs coaches are finding their feet, forward coach is struggling, scrum coach is doing very fine job, backline coach is struggling, defense coach is OK

• 30.iamthebear: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-27: Yes they do. A long term view is exactly what is needed. Not a four year world cup cycle but giving time to someone to have better processes installed that will last beyond the current coach. The Bulls are still benefiting from HM’s systems.

• 31.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

waaaaahaaaaa

he did this mommy

huuuuuhuuuuwaaaaa

and then he did that mommy

waaaaahaaahuhhh

he’s such a nuaghty boy mommy

waaa waaa waaaaa

• 32.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-28: someone seems over his problems from yesterday ? and humbled that you were missing me :wink:

@grant10-25: Doesnt Goosen have a bigger boot then Morne? could it be he wants him in the side so as to kick deep into the enemy territory then rely on defense for turnovers? so a variation of skop an jag? here, first!

• 33.touch.pause.engage: Reply to this comment

It appears that my post the other day regarding HM not being challenged by his coaching staff was spot on.

• 34.JL1: Reply to this comment

@touch.pause.engage-33: ….don’t bite the hand that feeds…or maybe they all do support the/a play philosophy

• 35.pakslae: Reply to this comment

Totally agree with everything Jake White is saying. And the problem is that Heyneke is naive enough to think it will work.

• 36.touch.pause.engage: Reply to this comment

@JL1-34:

I think it is a combination of both.

• 37.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@touch.pause.engage-36: Every coaching team needs a devils advocate.

• 38.grant10: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-32: The games I have watched J Goosen shows he is the opposite of M Steyn…..

Steyns 1 st priority , deeply ingrained in his DNA , is to put boot to ball….you can see it, sense it, feel it….

Goosen is the opposite….perhaps it is the Cheetahs DNA , he looks to open things up….

I cant tell you how frustrating it is to watch M Steyn from a grandstand where you look down, see the overlaps and the 3 on 2 s…….and then watch M Steyn stick the ball on the boot…..soul destroying !!

Hust hope Goosen is given time to get 100 % match fit….same goes for F Louw and Vermeulen, all class players imo….

• 39.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-32:
    ja, my head is a circus most days :wink:

but seriously, this whole lions thing grates me ugly, touches me on my studio and strips my moer all in one. i am angry with the two bit emergency crisis management operation they are running right now. its clear they dont have a clue about what to really do to fix this.

its laughable head in the sand stuff.

i feel guilty for being alive in this time.

• 40.Jeez: Reply to this comment

Jake might have a point when criticizing the support staff HM surrounded him with? BUT they have to follow orders too and it seems like the game plan is the root of all things wrong with the team at the moment.

If HM has it in him to change this, things could turn around, but I have to agree with Jake. It cant keep on going like this.

Perhaps appointing all of the Bulls support staff was not the right move either. They arent the best of the best thats for sure.

Especially Loubscher, why not get a guy with a few decade’s worth of backline coaching experience??? Its the boks ffs, the highest level of coaching should be coached by the proven best!

I honestly hope HM wont be stubborn and hard headed when he fails. Adapt and survive!

Does he have a performance clause in his contract I wonder….?????

• 41.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-37:
    rassie erasmus.

do your homework.

• 42.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Agree with Jake, Heyneke said he needed to stick to what he knows for the England tests but we are seeing that he is continuing on this trend. I’m beginning to wonder what exactly did he do for 4 years while sulking over his ‘lost’ opportunity with the Boks.

On the other hand, Jake was lucky that he didn’t have to lose all this experience and so many injuries. When Jake took over, most of the guys in the team had 20-30 games behind their names. Also, Heyneke has not lost a game yet, so until then, we are almost willing the team to lose.

• 43.Melchizedek: Reply to this comment

So Jake’s saying Meyer will always choose an average Bulls player over a better player from elsewhere. And that it’ll get worse when the pressure starts racheting up. Hmmm…

• 44.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

It doesn’t take a helicopter pilot to figure out that the style being implemented with the Boks is outdated and amateurish to say the least.

Different game plans for different oposition is needed. Skop and jaag is only the wet of transvaal. Change the style immediately…

• 45.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@iamthebear-24: I believe the “while” you are talking about was about 4-7 years of loser rugby upon which the Lotto gave the Bulls a million rand to buy players and then they started playing better. Sure Heineken has gained great success at Super rugby level, but he’s just making the wrong calls now. We can’t wait 5 years before the boks turn around.

The boks were poor as poor could be when Jake took over, his first year he turned them around and won silver and beat the AB’s for the first time in 7 encounters.

• 46.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@grant10-38: too early for Goosen mate, hasnt even completed a season of super rugby yet… he is the future for sure, but rushing him into the side, whether fit or not, can do more harm then good… Look at the way Cruden was managed, bit parts here and there until the WC where we had no choice whatsoever but to play him, by then he had confidence in his ability at the highest level… you can see that confidence in his season this year.. Goosen I fear if played at all in Australasia may never be the player he could be… just imo though..

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-39: :lol: there are people who can help you with your coulrophobia mate…

• 47.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Should we not have the following team?::

15.) Frans Steyn (or was PDivvie correct in saying he was overweight and too slow)
    14.) Gio Aplon
    13.) Jean De Villiers
    12.) Juan de Jongh
    11.) Bryan Habana
    10.) Pat Lambie
    9.) Ruan Pienaar
    8.) Duane Vermeulen (too soon IMO)
    7.) Marcell Coetzee
    6.) Francois Louw
    5.) Andries Bekker
    4.) Eben Etzebeth
    3.) Pat Cilliers
    2.) Andries Strauss
    1.) Beast Mtwaria

16.) Tiaan Liebenberg
    17.) Jannie du Plessis
    18.) Juandre Kruger
    19.) Willem Alberts
    20.) Francois Hougaard
    21.) Johan Goosen
    22.) Zane Kirchner

• 48.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-45: just to correct you, it was the first time in 9 encounters :D

• 49.xtremebull: Reply to this comment

Its rather sad to see outsiders giving input on what is going on in the bokcamp… Jake you are and will always be a great coach and I do respect you for that… But in your time as coach of boks it wasn’t all peaches and cream too… I’m not gonna talk meyer clean but why have the knives in for him when he haven’t lost a game yet?
    I believe the coaching is good but I think the execution of the team is the concern… You can take a horse to a pit but you can’t force him to drink… Heineke can tell the boks the gameplan but he can’t run on the field to tell them when they must execute it? That’s for them to know it already… We will come good, not this year maybe but next year we will be better,wiser and more structured… Believe you me.

• 50.touch.pause.engage: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-37:

For sure, a respected one at that !

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1117 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.