Jake hammers Heyneke
30 Aug 2012
Jake White says Heyneke Meyer’s game plan for the Springboks is not a winning one.
The Brumbies mentor was speaking at a fundraiser at Emperors Palace in Kempton Park, according to Die Burger.
‘Heyneke’s coaching style is not a style that will help the Boks to win,’ said White. ‘If you can’t score at least four tries against Argentina, then there is a big problem.’
White said Meyer’s long stint with the Bulls had inevitably influenced his approach at Test level.
‘Heyneke was always going to get criticism because of his background with the Bulls. He was chosen as [Bok] coach because of the success he achieved as Bulls coach and it will naturally play a role in the way he coaches the Boks.’
White said that the more pressure Meyer was put under, the more he would revert to what worked for him at the Bulls.
‘If, for example, he must choose between Gio Aplon and Zane Kirchner, he will choose Kirchner every time,’ he said.
Meanwhile, former Bok captain Bob Skinstad reportedly described Meyer as a ‘dictator’, adding that ‘you can see during the match how he has told the players exactly what to do. They must learn to adapt.’
However, Skinstad later tweeted that he had not used the word ‘dictator’.

832 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 … 17 » Show All
30 Aug 2012, 14:45 pm
@pompies2-489: Chrissakes… Years back I watched an SA Schools/Natal Schools flyhalf slot many 60m penalties… His name was Chris Beukes… Farken nippy too… But at the end of the day I think his ceiling eventually was Neath in Wales.
30 Aug 2012, 14:47 pm
@nama1-499:
check your keyboard.
your font went funny and is all capitals on the last bit of your post there.
30 Aug 2012, 14:47 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-494: Thanks ILUBB sorry your name is too long to right so from now on I’ll adress you as the ILUBB, if you don’t mind – and no disrespect towards Bakkies he is a sorely missed legend (that I hope Etsebeth will soon be able to replace in full and more).
30 Aug 2012, 14:49 pm
@willievz-463:
I must admit i’ve not seen much of him, but i feel he needs to experience slightly more challenging situations in super rugby and the cc. He’s not had tearaway flanks hound him. he’s not had to contend with adverse conditions. he’s not had to regain his form. All this things add to his mental composition. He’s talents and to a lesser degree, his performances have already been rewarded. Will he be a bok who sinks or swims? Who knows. I think it’s only fair to temper the optimism right now.
I’ve been punting Lambie all season. Won’t throw Jantjies away just yet. Just thought of another possible Goosen consideration. He seems to take the ball hard to the line. the downside to this is that he cuts down some of the time for his attackers on his outside. Part of his maturity will be to understand how to empoly differing attack strategy.
30 Aug 2012, 14:50 pm
@NZINCHINA-479: @NZINCHINA-482:
Isn’t he out for the whole RC? When will he be back?
Yeah, he’ll be at 13 if fit. One of my favourite AB players.
30 Aug 2012, 14:53 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-502:
It’s also in BOLD if you did not notice.
30 Aug 2012, 14:53 pm
@willievz-498: Hmmm… You do realise Pat Lambie scored 193 points including four tries in his first full season of Super Rugby in 2011 last year despite missing 3 matches due to a thumb injury…
That is nearly an identical scoring/strike rate to your Golden Boy… And Pat definitely got more ballas on D….
30 Aug 2012, 14:54 pm
@phil72-257: Oh my word, Hougard at 13, you be fooled!
@theOracle-469: you should’ve watched the currie cup game vs the sharks in Bloem last year, where johan’s full array of skills was in display, he cut the sharks to ribbon chap, attacking the line, stepping, offloads, scoring tries, tactical kicking, 50m drop goals, ALLES!
if that boy ever wanted to go anywhere overseas, that game should be no.1 on his CV dvd…
HG is attacking goosen over one u20 game and making a meal out of it, when the baby boks lost in argentina with jantjies at 10 against australia but no he won’t harp about that game because it doesn’t suit his agenda.
@lieflingblou-503:
no worries, ilubb is just fine.
no one misses bakkies more than eztebeth does, right now.
heyneke should call him up and let him help eben fine tune his game as THE number four lock.
and no teaching of this fancy pants new age athletic, running lock hippy kak… just a straight up old school education.
30 Aug 2012, 14:55 pm
Heyeneke is well on his way for an all white team.
30 Aug 2012, 14:56 pm
@nama1-506:
@Heavens Game-507: I do, yes.
And I rate Lambie as a 10.
Seriously does no one have a single comment on my team to face Aus on Sept. 8(post 465)???
30 Aug 2012, 14:57 pm
@adi-511:
do you mean ‘heyneke is well on his way to an alright team’ ?
your spelling is atrocious.
30 Aug 2012, 14:58 pm
I dont remeber Heyneke saying that JW is a tosser after they were destroyed by Australia the year befor the world cup. Lucky Eddie Jones came to the rescue.
Suppose it would have gone something like:
‘Jake Whites coaching style is not a style that will help the Boks to win,’ said Heyneke. ‘If you can’t score at least a single point against Australia , then there is a massive problem.’
Heynele said Jakes’s long stint at under 21 rugby had inevitably influenced his approach at Test level.
30 Aug 2012, 15:00 pm
@Gumboots-291: No, he is not playing for WP/ Stormers, hence the provincial coloured glasses don’t apply to him. SAffas only see colour boet, be it black and white, wehite and blue or baby blue. Province is all that matters, nevermind that the currie cup is as meaningless as what I ate for breakfest.
@pompies2-454: “Goosen still lacks in distribution skills and tactical awareness”.
Weird. That’s exactly what made him so great through his school-rugby career and the past season. His distant kicking is only a bonus.
Elton and Patrick are definite great players. It is just unfortunate that they’re playing at the same time as Goosen. Luckily for them he isn’t unbreakable. We need good backups. Luckily for us they’re great players.
@Heavens Game-493: Hmmm… I agree. But then, Goosen was the only player in the backline who didn’t put a foot wrong last weekend. It seemed like he had a calming influence when everything could have gone badly wrong in those terrible weather conditions.
But yes, HM is spoiling his come-back since we all know he won’t play 2 minutes in these tests.
@leeman-516: Payback sucks!
30 Aug 2012, 15:03 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-510: Yes most definitely, Kruger had the tutelage of Matfield for a nymber of years whilst playing under him. And even now that Matfield is not playing any more he still mentors Kruger apparently.
Eben needs that same tutelage and yes no one better than bakkies to do it even if its just in phone calls and talks.
I read the Sport Illustrated piece on Hougaard the other day and that was remarkable in how FDP kept on mentoring and mentally boosting Hougaard even though hougaard was gunning for his spot. Thats true sportsmanship, and love of the game, and in my opinion a true Springbok who can give that much motivation to a youngster that is hot at his heels. It made me gain a huge amount more respect for FDP.
I think we need more of that.
30 Aug 2012, 15:04 pm
@Dawn-347:
You guys are making me laugh. Shame I really didn’t think Meyer dropping Keegan would upset HG so much. “The Christian Cullen of loosies”. Hahahahahaha
30 Aug 2012, 15:05 pm
@lieflingblou-514: You would rather have JdV at 12 than Frans because you reckon JdJ plays better outside the former…? BUZZZZZZZZ…. BIG RED BUZZER…
Aikona… JdV and JdJ have hardly set the world alight as a centre combo and they certainly NOT going to win any games for the Boks against the Wobblies or ABs….
Frans Steyn is one of the first names on the team sheet… At 12… The moment King Heyneke moves him to 15 in order to accommodate JdV at 12 then I will tell you this will be the exact moment HM’s world falls apart as Bok coach.
@pompies2-348: HM lead a attempted coe in 2006 EOYT to take White’s job, just for him to win the WC the year after, who smiled then. No, I think HM is the bigger *** hole!
@Heavens Game-493: “Firstly, I dont buy that Goosen has been the awesome match winner he has been made out to be in Super Rugby”
forget what you “buy” or you don’t, start by watching the Highlanders match Goosen got injured in, he was in the act of scoring a try – just a reminder.
the boy had been controlling the game beautifully and lo and behold, when he came off and sias came on, the contest changed, the landers went from 20 – 6 to 20 all within minutes..
you want to cherry pick games but don’t want to acknowledge that before goosen was injure he led the WHOLE league in goals converted, metres gained and ANY yardstick you have for a 10…
30 Aug 2012, 15:06 pm
@Heavens Game-522: Last I checked we won quit a few game swith JDV at 12, also Steyn is a great 15, your obsolute judgement is not sound.
30 Aug 2012, 15:07 pm
Can anybody who watched Vermeulen and Goosen say with full confidence that it was the right thing that Meyer has done by taking them to Australasia?
Both AC and Naka did not seem to please by it in interviews. Naka sounded actually very pissed off in the radio interview I heard. AC, as always, was very diplomatic about the whole thing. Both were of the opinion that their respective player is not ready yet and needs more game time in the CC.
Is it a case where the medic/fitness trainer of the national squad overule the people at provincial level or what?
30 Aug 2012, 15:07 pm
@adi-511: Pls stop that racist talk and grow up, maybe even go have tea with Julius Malema! If that is even remotely true why did HM buy Habana from the Lions and turn him into a super star at the Bulls and for the boks?
Doesn’t seem like the work of a white supremacist coach to me. He has his faults as a coach but he is definitely not focused on colour.
30 Aug 2012, 15:10 pm
@lieflingblou-520:
your writing is top drawer nail on the head stuff, keep it up.
riveting
just riveting
30 Aug 2012, 15:10 pm
@Transformation-524: What kind of subjective bullshit you now trying to gooi into the Goosen pot, running around like a Transkei fishing gilly…
Transie, umfanawami, you actually starting to embarrass yourself now…
All because I caught you out with those fibs of yours, eh? Ag shame, lalela umtwana
30 Aug 2012, 15:11 pm
Goosen best 10 prospect I have ever seen…..if he comes through as I believe he will, Bok rugby will be blessed….
Rotation neccessary, Boks now have 3 10 s ….Goosen, Jantjes and Lambie…..best to send M Steyn to Japan ….or France…. or Outer Mongolia….
Because he is the problem numero uno in Bok set up.
Slowly my dreams coming true…..ridding Bok rugby of the 3 biggest wallys ever……Plod, Spies and M Steyn….
2 down….1 to go…
Keegan Daniels has been treaded poorly…..but even worse is Jantjes …..
Poor Lambie dont know what the fark is potting…is he a 10? A 15 ?
The utility tag is a killer….
But I am so farken happy F Louw is called up I will happily forgive HM….at least we have a proper opensider in the squad.
@lieflingblou-465: I would not be surprised to see Meyer move F.Steyn to 15, it would suit his gameplan to have a meteoric boot at the back.
The question however is why within the context of his gameplan does he persist with a scrum-half who can’t kick at 9?
@Heavens Game-522: Fair comment but read why I moved them there, it wasn’t by choice. I would keep Frans at 12 if we could but there is no other option given the current squad.
Would you rather keep Kirchner at 15 then, if not who else will you move to 15? keep the current squad in mind.
@lieflingblou-527: He did select JJ above JDJ, which was unexpected due to the fact that JDJ is a proven international and JJ is a complete noob that has not yet proved himself at SR level.
But no, I don’t think he is racist, just provincialist.
30 Aug 2012, 15:12 pm
@lieflingblou-520: Truth.
30 Aug 2012, 15:12 pm
@nama1-526:
watched Vermeulen and Goosen last Saturday
30 Aug 2012, 15:13 pm
@goodstuff-525: Aaah an educated man that knows his stuff.
30 Aug 2012, 15:14 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-528: Thanks again ILUBB
30 Aug 2012, 15:15 pm
@nama1-526: it feels like he selected them to placate the critics, can he really be thinking of starting them? I don’t think that’s wise, similarly Francois Louw has had no game time.
30 Aug 2012, 15:16 pm
@goodstuff-519: you relaise Heyneke did not say anything of that kind. JW has no class, he attacked PdV and now he is attacking Heyneke. Whats next, he is going to tell us that the players are coaching ?
30 Aug 2012, 15:17 pm
@Big Hit-531: I’m not sure i guess it’s because Hougaard is a true natural talent a wild lion at heart, and well Heynecke will learn the hard way you can’t cage a lion because it will loose it’s soul.
By this I mean that Heynecke is trying to mold a natural talent rather than letting it flourish. A kicking game in my opinion doesn’t necessarily have to be controlled by a 9.
30 Aug 2012, 15:18 pm
@lieflingblou-536: Thank you kind sir, you too show a knowledge rare amongst the kind of punters found on this blog.
I do believe HM has surrounded himself with dwarfs of the game instead of giants. Surely there are more experienced staff available especially at backline coach? Laubsher just makes me cringe, all I see is his face on the cover of the newspaper when the Staaldraad story broke!
@lieflingblou-520:
It is that annointment of Hougie at SH by FdP that sees him as no. 1 scrummy today.
How do you rate his scrum half play so far this year?
@Bouts-518: It remains to be seen how that tactical acumen translates into the highest level of rugby union.
30 Aug 2012, 15:19 pm
@goodstuff-525: Yeah… we have? When…? I seem to remember the last time JdV played 12 for the Boks was against Aus… WC QF… And dear Donkey Jean covered himself in absolute “glory” with one of the few times he actually passes the ball… by passing the ball forward to Pat Lambie in the open… Come now, your granny would probably do a better job of passing the ball…
And thats not to mention his dire contribution on D when the Ozzies managed to break through and score the only try of the match…
Come now… you cant be this blind not to realise that JdV passed his sell by date already after Munster sent him homeward ta think again….
30 Aug 2012, 15:19 pm
@leeman-539: HM did try and steal JW’s job in 2006, so yes HM is the bigger ***!
30 Aug 2012, 15:20 pm
@nama1-526: both should be at home playing CC imo Nama
30 Aug 2012, 15:21 pm
@lieflingblou-532: 15…? None other than Lambie… Simple.
30 Aug 2012, 15:22 pm
@goodstuff-541:
How does van Graan as “attack coach” make you feel?
@Big Hit-538:
no, not really about goosen as much as it is about morne. meyer wont play the injured player, he just wants to tell morne to wake up.
same for the flank, its his way of telling coetzee, potgieter and willem to catch a wake up.
@Heavens Game-529: this has nothing to do with you being a Rhodesian refugee “When-we” who ran to Natal with his tail between the legs when Mugabe’s Chimurenga came seething.
stick to the “facts” the Baby Boks didn’t lose to England BECAUSE goosen got outplayed by Ford!
i could come out and say we lost because Paul Jordaan was raped by Christian Wade and should not be considered for Bok honours based on the JWC game!
you’re talking kak as always, blaaadyshit “When-we”
Pages: « 1 … 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 … 17 » Show All