Jake hammers Heyneke
30 Aug 2012
Jake White says Heyneke Meyer’s game plan for the Springboks is not a winning one.
The Brumbies mentor was speaking at a fundraiser at Emperors Palace in Kempton Park, according to Die Burger.
‘Heyneke’s coaching style is not a style that will help the Boks to win,’ said White. ‘If you can’t score at least four tries against Argentina, then there is a big problem.’
White said Meyer’s long stint with the Bulls had inevitably influenced his approach at Test level.
‘Heyneke was always going to get criticism because of his background with the Bulls. He was chosen as [Bok] coach because of the success he achieved as Bulls coach and it will naturally play a role in the way he coaches the Boks.’
White said that the more pressure Meyer was put under, the more he would revert to what worked for him at the Bulls.
‘If, for example, he must choose between Gio Aplon and Zane Kirchner, he will choose Kirchner every time,’ he said.
Meanwhile, former Bok captain Bob Skinstad reportedly described Meyer as a ‘dictator’, adding that ‘you can see during the match how he has told the players exactly what to do. They must learn to adapt.’
However, Skinstad later tweeted that he had not used the word ‘dictator’.

832 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 » Show All
30 Aug 2012, 17:08 pm
@Transformation-647: No actually we wanted Lambie at flyhalf but remember Morne was again played there. Lambie was shifted to fb. AND give credit he did play really well there during the wc. But Lambie is a fh and a damn superb one too. He can play very well at fb and inside centre too. But better at fh.
Zane is not great Transie. He is solid but also don’t offer that much.
30 Aug 2012, 17:09 pm
@willievz-636: @Puma-638:
I agree.
Lambie is a better FH than FB.
But now HM has made it clear that he sees Lambie NOT as a FH but as a FB, according to some.
What is he to do? Play where the national coach wants him to play or play where he feels is his best position?
30 Aug 2012, 17:10 pm
@CharlesM-640: hi Charles…i also recall the Bok backline coach saying Lambie is more of a Flyhalf than a Fullback when responding to a question about why Zane was preferred BUT seemingly Heyneke thinks differently as evidenced in his comments 3 weeks ago:
“It is no secret that I think that Johann Goosen could be a huge match-winner,” he said of the player most feel is the Bok No.10 of the future.
Meyer also revealed that he saw Lambie more as a fullback, and not a regular flyhalf.
“Patrick’s best position is fullback,” the Bok mentor said. “He has been injured for a while, so it was great to see him back playing.
“He can also be a great No.10, but Patrick knows that he needs to improve his tactical kicking… and that’s the thing with Morné as well at this stage.
“Luckily a guy like Johann Goosen is going to play in the next three to four weeks, so that will give us more options.”
so clearly there’s no consensus in the Bok set up as to where Lambie should play!
30 Aug 2012, 17:11 pm
@nama1-646: You are forgetting the 7 players currently in Grade 4, who really could make the step-up to the Bok group.(They play the Sharks offload game apparently….you know that gameplan they started using in the last 5 games of the S15?)
Honestly, I have yet to encounter any Bulls, Stormers, Cheetahs or Lions fans AS committed to hypeing and PR-ing their players into a national team as these Sharks fellows.
Tis not only the Bok team though….. Can’t remember who, but one of the Sharkies went loco in Acupulco when Zelinga was dropped from the Baby Boks squad to make place for Pollard…..
One has to give them credit for consistency though
30 Aug 2012, 17:12 pm
@nama1-646: I would say that that team looks stronger than the bok team.
The Sharks future does look rosy:
15. Ludik
14. JPP
13. Jordaan
12. Frans
11. Mvovo
10. Lambie
9. McLeod
8. Kankowski / Daniel
7. Alberts / Dysel
6. Coetzee
5. Bresler
4. PSDT
3. Jannie
2. Bismarks
1. Beast
I think this team is better than the current bok team, for 2 reasons:
1. Bismark
2. No Morne Steyn
30 Aug 2012, 17:12 pm
@phil72-643: Then you have no idea. Plum stated at the start of this season that Lambie was our first choice fh. He was until he got injured and Fred played there. He will be again he has said so okay.
Who the heck will make him 2nd choice next year? Go and count how many S15 games he started at fh this year and you will see.
30 Aug 2012, 17:14 pm
@blik-655:
30 Aug 2012, 17:15 pm
@nama1-652: It is clear as daylight that Lambie does not feature in Meyer’s plans at 10. Neither does Elton (which is sad, as he should be next in the pecking order….sorry Sharks)
Lambie needs to spend a full S15 season playing 10, and hopefully impressing those who select.
It might not be fair, but it’s the way it is.
Meyer stated that he saw Lambie as a 15. Loubscher said a 10.
Plumtree sees him as both, either and neither…..
The kid has always played wherever he has been asked to, and I do feel he has been treated rather harshly all round: starting with his own union.
30 Aug 2012, 17:16 pm
@blik-655:
Beyootiful….
30 Aug 2012, 17:18 pm
@Transformation-653: Maybe HM and his coaching staff should try and speak the same language ! Does this mean that Goosen will be on the bench and not Lambie ?
30 Aug 2012, 17:18 pm
@nama1-652: Meyer sees him as a utility back it seems. Well he did say fb but think he will only use him off the bench if either the fh or fb picks up a injury. Seems that way to me.
30 Aug 2012, 17:21 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-654:
So, so true.
Then they feign surprise if they get called on it.
30 Aug 2012, 17:24 pm
@CharlesM-660: my guess is as good as yours, meyer has ignored Naka and Medical Staff to get Goosen to be in the bok mix, maybe he wants him to get familiar with his “gameplan”, who knows.
30 Aug 2012, 17:24 pm
@CharlesM-660: Very well could be.
Goosen, JdJ and Ruan on the bench. Only none covers fb. Unless Goosen does. Otherwise it will be Lambie on the bench and not JDJ as Lambie covers fh, fb and inside centre. However, much like Goosen Lambie has had hardly any game time in the past 2 months. Then nor has Vermeulen or Flo. So that probably does not bother Meyer. It seems the training with the squad is enough for him.
30 Aug 2012, 17:25 pm
@Transformation-663: Yes, I still can’t believe that HM did not wait for the home leg to give him game time
30 Aug 2012, 17:27 pm
Cheers everyone. Out of here now.
30 Aug 2012, 17:27 pm
@Puma-664: It will be very unfair if Lambie is not even in the 22 ! Who knows what HM will do ?
30 Aug 2012, 17:28 pm
I am out as well
30 Aug 2012, 17:28 pm
I was at Newlands for the first RC game and Bekker should feel lucky that Supersport had no footage showing the laziness he was endorsing on the field that day. And its a pity that the media, Cape media, that is once again made him look like a super star where he was actually just hanging around the wing and centre postions and walking to all the fixed plays.
But I’m sorry he has had enough opportunities at hand earned but mostly granted to him in his career, and if he hasn’t done it by now he should be thrown away and the money wasted on him should go to investing in the future. HM nor the boks have 2 World Cups in Bekker, hell given his current form and attitude I dont even think he will reach the next World Cup. HM and who ever becomes the next coach should rather invest in Kruger (26years of age – possibly 2 World Cups in him), Etzebeth (22years of age – possibly 3 World Cups in him) , Steph-Du Toit (20years of age – possibly 3 World Cups in him) and Botha (20years of age – possibly 3 World Cups in him).
Thats an investment at lock these 4 guys. And boy do we need to recreate a Bakkies Matfield partnership very very soon
30 Aug 2012, 17:29 pm
@Transformation-647: Actually, PDV agreed…
He played Morne at 15 against the ABs in the away leg in 2011. And Pat at 10.
He always preferred a flat 10 and wanted Butch to start in the WC, but he missed that kick in Durban against the Aussies and reinstated Morne at 10, as the safe option.
Lambie was never really in the picture at 15 – Frans started at 15 against the Welsh, but moved to 12 against Fiji in the absence of JDV.
30 Aug 2012, 17:30 pm
@blik-655:
How can I forget about the captain?
Where will you play him though with Kanko controlling the line outs and Coetzee the new superman on the block on the side of the scrum?
Can’t really play Alberts at lock ahead of Bresler and Etzebeth for the Boks.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-658:
What I’ve said as well. They should decide where they want to use him and play him there, be it FH or FB. Let him compete with the others in that position and see who comes out on top.
@CharlesM-660:
Goosen probably only there to learn ala Kolisi during the England tour.
30 Aug 2012, 17:30 pm
@CharlesM-667: It will be unfair. But who knows what Meyer wants. If he never wanted to have Lambie on the bench he should have left him at home. We at the Sharks would have loved to have had him against the Cheetahs as fh this week.
Just have no idea what Meyer wants really.
Cheers bud. Need to dash.
30 Aug 2012, 17:33 pm
@willievz-670: Agree. Think PdV wanted to use Butch then he got injured. Then think he wanted to use Pat at fh but think it could very well have been not what Matfield wanted. Have a feeling the senior players there had a big say who played where. Pat only started at fb when Fransie went to inside centre.
Poor youngster just playes where he has too. Talent wasted really.
Okay our of here. Cheers Willie.
30 Aug 2012, 17:34 pm
@Puma-673: Cheers Puma, have a great evening.
30 Aug 2012, 17:38 pm
@Gumboots-448:
I doubt WP Rugby can absorb them all, the band wagon is loaded already
@willievz-441:
Wait and see, some see him as an upgrade over Grant, as for me Peter Grant is the best Super rugby FH despite his limitations
30 Aug 2012, 17:43 pm
@nama1-606:
He might break his thumb too?
30 Aug 2012, 17:47 pm
Meyer has estranged himself from the Cape and the Cheetahs with his first squad selection because of some glaring ommissions.
Lions were on the fence because their team was kak.
Sharks and Bulls supporters were all up his arse because of the BullSharkBoks squad for the English series.
Now he has made some “enemies” in shark country because he did not use Lambie on Saturday and then low and behold, dropped Keegan from his squad altogether.
All he needs to do now, is to drop Morne and Potgieter totally… and play Hougie from the bench and he can become the first coach who can claim that he was loathed by supporters from around the country, exept the Lions supporters, equally.
A very good position for a national coach to be in, I think.
30 Aug 2012, 17:52 pm
I see HM has called on his non-white (ander-kleurige) backline coach to position himself in the camera shot of the coach’s box. It seemingly helps in demonstrating SARU’s commitment to transformation amid the exclusion of black talent on the field.
I also see that AB De Villiers holding up the final frontier of twatism in cricket by refusing to allow Thami to take the gloves.
Where is the uproar of Elton Jantjies exclusion
All you Wit-ou’s: Guilty until proven innocent
30 Aug 2012, 17:53 pm
@Hondo-676:
Like Pierre “I-can-stop-trucks-and-run-through-brickwalls” Spies, you mean?
30 Aug 2012, 17:55 pm
@lieflingblou-669:
Interesting take on on Bekker, some valid points, in fact you could also be describing Spies.
30 Aug 2012, 18:07 pm
The Bakkies/Matfield combo took a while to get to that high level.
I can’t really remember them being dominant in the 1st two years of JW tenure as coach like they’ve been from 2006 and onwards.
We can’t expect from a new lock pairing to be at that level immediately.
I still wonder whether the Bakkies/Matfield combo were not made to look better than it actually was because the rest of the world did not really have world class locks, exept maybe O’Connel, during their time.
Mark Andrews played against people who will go down as amongst the greatest their respective countries have ever produced.
Eales (Aus), Johnson (Eng), Roumat (France).
Who are the Hall of Fame’rs that Matfield/Bakkies faced?
30 Aug 2012, 18:09 pm
@nama1-677:
There is always a controversy involved but last few years the Boks’ selections became a charade
In 1995, the Late Christie – a coach whom I admired – left out T. Strauss, Teichman and Andre’ Venter while Robbie Brink and Adriaan Richter were considered good enough?!
Go figure
But when one Jacques Potgieter is selected while Brussow, Dyesel, Elstadt, Stander aren’t getting even a mention while F Louw is a late call up, even a Bulls supporter might get confused?
30 Aug 2012, 18:10 pm
@nama1-681:
Nathan Sharpe and Dan Vickermann gave Matfield and Botha a good match.
But a fair assessment about Andrews and his tougher competition in general.
Andrews also squared up against Ian Jones (NZ).
30 Aug 2012, 18:10 pm
Kaapstad – Die voormalige Springbok-losvoorspeler Bob Skinstad het koerantberigte wat beweer dat hy Heyneke Meyer as ‘n diktator beskryf het, as ‘patetiese joernalistiek’ beskryf.
Volgens ‘n berig Donderdag in Beeld is Skinstad en die voormalige Springbok-breier Jake White glo erg krities teenoor Meyer se afrigtingstyl.
Skinstad en White het Woensdagaand by ‘n funksie by Emperors Palace in Johannesburg gepraat.
Volgens die berig het Skinstad Meyer glo as ‘n ‘diktator’ beskryf.
‘n Woedende Skinstad het die berig as “absolute snert, buite konteks en lasterlik beskryf.
“Ek was seremoniemeester (MC) by dié funksie,” het Skinstad Donderdag aan iafrica.com gesê en bygevoeg: “Ek was besig om vrae te vra, nie om antwoorde te gee nie.”
Skinstad het onthul dat hy reeds deur Meyer gekontak is oor die voorval. “Ek het ‘n SMS-boodskap van Heyneke ontvang. Hy verstaan die konteks van wat daar gesê is en ons het dit uitsorteer.”
Hy sê die joernalis wat die artikel geskryf het, het intussen verdwyn en haar telefoon van die mikkie gehaal.
Beeld.
30 Aug 2012, 18:19 pm
@Puma-651: lambie is the fkin worst flyhalf i have ever seen fkin worse than earl rose. lambie was the biggest reason the boks got smattered by new zealand by a record score. this fktard cant tackle, cant pass, cant run and cant fkin kick this fkin frilly haired fagggot cant even make a fkin decision and thats the heart of fly half play you ****-hole
30 Aug 2012, 18:20 pm
@nama1-681: yes they fkin were you liar. bakkies gave martin johnson a hammering as early as 2003. shut your mouth you tool
30 Aug 2012, 18:25 pm
@willievz-683:
Will Jones and Vickerman be inducted into the Hall of Fame in their respective countries and regarded as “all time greats” around the world?
Sharpe, I think yes.
30 Aug 2012, 18:35 pm
@Blitzbok-686:
Really?
How did that help us as the Poms won that match in 2003, 25-6.
Who actually did the “hammering” that day?.
30 Aug 2012, 18:37 pm
@willievz-683: @nama1-687: Actually, you guys make a great point about Andrews…
Would love to see a match up between Andrews and Matfield at lineout time.
30 Aug 2012, 18:42 pm
@Blitzbok-685: You ******* ,even a one eyed biased wp supporter such as myself knows you talked the biggest load of **** ,Lambie is the countries best all round flyhalf . Are you drunk ?Or are you a bigot that doesn’t like souties? Either way your incoherent widdle waddle just makes me laugh .
30 Aug 2012, 18:44 pm
@Blitzbok-685: Especially when you say Lambie cannot tackle bwahaha
30 Aug 2012, 18:48 pm
@nama1-688: never saw anyone give MJ a hammering (besides the RFU and national media) although he was apparently KO’d by some ear-chowing prop on an SA tour as a youngster. Bakkies wasn’t about to step to Johnno in those halcyon early 2000s.
30 Aug 2012, 18:49 pm
Wonder which RWC winning pack is who’s who in the Bok Rugby zoo…?
Os
Rossouw
Swart
Andrews/Strydom
Wiese
Pienaar
Kruger
Straeuli/Andrews
vs
Os
Barney
CJ
Matfield
Schalk
Smith
Rossouw
Dunno, but its men against boys for me…
30 Aug 2012, 18:51 pm
@nama1-688:
So Bakkies played only ONE game against Johnson, during the 2003 RWC where they hammered us 25-6 and this Blitzbok poepol wants us to believe that “bakkies gave martin johnson a hammering” that day.
Fecking liar.
30 Aug 2012, 18:54 pm
@Heavens Game-693: Even contrast both packs to the Boks of today and you got mere piepiejollahs by comparison….
1995 = Heart and Courage… Ballas personified.
2007 = Organised… Well led.
2012… Eish in comparison.
30 Aug 2012, 19:02 pm
@Heavens Game-695:
Wiese vs Bakkies and Wiese and Andrews would have been a good fight
My favourite was Steve Atherton, hytie kak gevattie
30 Aug 2012, 19:05 pm
@Big Hit-692:
He was a true warrior, Johnso was.
@Heavens Game-693:
The boys being the 1995 pack of forwards of course.
30 Aug 2012, 19:07 pm
Blitzbok jou maltrap!
30 Aug 2012, 19:09 pm
Vloek hulle moere!
30 Aug 2012, 19:10 pm
@nama1-697: Yep, I’d go for the 2007 pack too.
Pages: « 1 … 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 » Show All