Sharks sink Cheetahs

GARETH DUNCAN watched the Sharks fight back from a 21-6 half-time deficit to beat the Cheetahs 34-32 in Durban.

It was an unbelievable comeback from the Durban side.

After conceding two late tries in the first half, they trailed 21-6 at the break. The Cheetahs continued to keep the scoreboard ticking as they held a 29-13 advantage on the hour mark.

But a strong finish to the match saw hosts edge ahead thanks to a late converted try from inside centre Meyer Bosman, which proved to be the game clincher.

Bosman was named Man of the Match as he finished with a personal haul of 19 points (one try, four conversions and two penalties) and failed to miss a kick at goal.

The Cheetahs will be very disappointed, especially after holding the lead for most parts of the clash.

It was a kicking contest early on in the opening 40, with Bosman trading penalties with wing Nico Scheepers and flyhalf Sias Ebersohn adding a drop goal. But two Shark errors allowed the visitors to cross the chalk in quick succession before half-time.

First, scrumhalf Sarel Pretorius pounced on to a loose ball in the Sharks’ red zone to score, after flank Jacques Botes dropped an easy pass in front of his own tryline. Then wing Raymond Rhule was put into space down the left touchline for a clear run to the whitewash.

The Sharks enjoyed a perfect start to the second half as Riaan Viljoen bashed over for the first points of the second stanza.

The Cheetahs continued to build their lead via Scheepers (a try and a penalty) and a second Ebersohn drop goal, before a brace from wing Odwa Ndungane saw the Sharks trail within touching distance.

Momentum clearly switched hands at the death as the Sharks held the ascendancy. And they capitalised against a scrambling Cheetahs defence as Bosman dotted down to seal a vital bonus-point win.

45 Comments

• 1.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I’ll take the dragons

• 2.brendon: Reply to this comment

Does anyone have a link for this match?

• 3.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Hondo better not see this ref

He’ll have a stroke

• 4.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-3: Howzit suipie. I see you want to pull my fin ? I am not really into old tannies hey – Sorry :-)

• 5.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@brendon-2: Brendon – They were supposed to show it on sky 4, but for some reason they still have golf on.

• 6.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Old tannie?

How dare you.

I will moer you to the arctic and have you crying for your mother

• 7.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Anyhoo the sea is big and wide with many fins to tug

• 8.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Looks like a bullshit game where the referee is once again seeking the number 1 slot on the field…..glad I cant find a stream.

• 9.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Two botched tries from Sharks.

Come on finboys.

Get it together

• 10.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-6: Ou tannie’s that smell like moth ball perfume (not sure who used phenolpthalein as the basis for their perfume – but someone did) and bladder incontinence mixed with a touch of booze breath. Not really into that. Not even for lots of money.

• 11.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Old Naka is probably moving around like he has a sloppy kaka in the coaches box again……is he getting very excited ? I must say a win over the Sharks would make the Cheetahs year much better. Even if its a very weak Sharks team.

• 12.Dawn: Reply to this comment

You got me all wrong!!!!!!

Where you get that from

• 13.Dawn: Reply to this comment

No sight of Naka, but this ref will never see a whistle again!

• 14.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Jinne

Who is that Shark that drops the ball on his own tryline! Oh ok. Botes.

• 15.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-12: Just joking Dawny…you should know by now…

• 16.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Nother try Raymond Rhule

Outsprinted everyone

• 17.grant10: Reply to this comment

Rhule class…

• 18.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Rhule is a star in the making. He hardly broke a sweat when sprinting over beating the Sharks non-existent cover defence.

• 19.Dawn: Reply to this comment

The next best black thing

• 20.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Let’s hope he doesn’t go down the Siya path

• 21.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Labushagne (sp) eats all his oats in the morning

• 22.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Riaan Viljoen, Willie Le Roux, Andries Coetsee all far superior pivot or full back players to Morne Steyn, Patrick Lambie and Zane Kirchner, so wtf is wrong with these numbskull idiots selecting Bok teams?

Sarel Pretorius also miles ahead of Pienaar at 9 and Rhule ready to mix it in the big league ahead of Habana or Mvovo

• 23.Rage: Reply to this comment

Daniel’s got some serious skill.He might not be your typical bruiser/fetcher loosie but damn that boy can play.

• 24.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Well if you’ve never seen a forward pass in your life then that was it. Ndugane collected the pass while well over try line.

And the Sharks go on about WP/Stormers forward passes.

What comes around goes around. LMFAO.

• 25.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

defense cheetahs defense

• 26.Rage: Reply to this comment

Yeah Rasta should’ve referred previous try that.Heaven knows why he did not…another try…game on!

• 27.Rage: Reply to this comment

^that previous try^

• 28.papaown: Reply to this comment

Guys plz!! There’s such a drop in quality in Currie Cup that not every good performance does it demand now that players like Sarel, Willie etc should just walk into Bok setup!
    I’d rather trust those who’ve proven themselves consistenly in S15 , Currie Cup amd not let Boks down
    That doesn’t mean we should keep MS
    Just adding some sanity to the blogging

• 29.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

stupid danniler

• 30.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

why give the ball back so easily

• 31.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

This is so much easier on the eye than the **** dished up by the Boks in Argentina.

• 32.Rage: Reply to this comment

just when I begged the Cheetahs to stop this up-and-under kak Daniller pumps another one into the sky…gifting possesion to the Sharks…end result…Sharks try! Maar ja Cheetahs,as jy dom is moet jy kak.

• 33.Dawn: Reply to this comment

All sharks can exhale now

• 34.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

how to throw away a game in last two minutes 101

• 35.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

A lucky win for the Sharks thanks to a dubious forward pass not referred.

The Cheetahs were the better side on the day. No question.

• 36.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Sias Ebersohn gifted this game to Sharks all on his own on a f’ng plate. What kind of moron idiot kicks the ball up in the air three times in succession and watches the opposition come storming back with interest and to culminate in a gifted gdamn try?

Fck off and go soak you dumb irresponsible head at Force because such fckup dumb rugby don’t belong at Cheetahs who didn’t deserve to lose this. Sias Ebersohn just cost his team a certain win which he’s already done a few times before. Stupidity personified hoisting the up and under 3 times in quick succession every time turning over position and possession to the opposition without g’dam fail. Stupid moron lost this game all on his lonesome own.

• 37.wpallday: Reply to this comment

Great win for the sharkiesfarkies ,against all the odds ! Beaten by the cruel bounce of the ball that ,lets be honest ,gifted the cheetahs an undeserved and considerable lead and was a contributor more than once.

I think Stats will show the Sharks dominated this game ! But hell there are some classy Cheetahs players ,Rhule the standout.

Daniel was again brilliant. Nice watching both these sides ,well done costal brothers ;)

• 38.wpallday: Reply to this comment

Cheetahs looked exhausted and out of ideas in the last 10-15 minutes.

• 39.Rage: Reply to this comment

@ 36 skop

To be fair….It was Sias the previous two times but Daniller kicked that fateful last garryowen.I could’nt understand why they persisted with that tactic at that stage of the game.

• 40.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-36:

Aaaaand The Sharks come from behind again to take the game at the death.

Province still haven’t quite mastered the art of win at all costs rugby. They win by kicks rugby.

• 41.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Predawn-40: But they sure can come from behind if rumours are to believed……………

• 42.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-41:

You are so corny your mom named you mielie.

• 43.Dwarslat: Reply to this comment

Well, today we saw why Sias is NOT the best flyhalf in the Cheetahs. He is a fvcking idiot.

• 44.charo: Reply to this comment

sharks should have taken this by 20 clear points.

gifting two tries at the end of the first half nearly let the cheetahs in.

but the better team won in the end.

great fightback boys!

• 45.Dusky: Reply to this comment

The Sharks spuit poep’d on the Cheetahs battery. I can imagine Naka Domske didn’t want to wake up this morning.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.