Province pound pathetic Bulls
1 Sep 2012
RYAN VREDE watched Western Province comprehensively outplay the Bulls in their 42-6 win at Newlands.
The quality of the match was poor in parts, but this was understandable given the calibre of player on show – most of whom were Vodacom Cup standard. Certainly injuries and Springbok call ups were also mitigating factors.
But WP, vastly superior in every facet of play, won’t care. There were good signs on attack for a team that has struggled there, the bonus point secured before the final quarter. Their defence, however, remains the bedrock upon which they will build their success. Tonight they blunted the Bulls through an organised and brutal effort. They looked shaky under the high ball at times in the first half, but outside of that were rarely troubled.
The Bulls have big problems. Some of their players should have been playing club rugby this afternoon, not running out in front of a few thousand faithful in Cape Town. How coach Pine Pienaar fixes deeply rooted problems in the week ahead will be decisive.
WP started strongly, replacement scrumhalf Nic Groom (Dewaldt Duvenage was stretchered off with what looks a serious knee injury) sniping around the ruck fringe after a couple of phases. Flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis kicked the conversion to go with an earlier penalty, but Bulls pivot Louis Fouché responded with two three pointers to reduce the defict. That is as close as they would ever come.
The match laboured along until just before the break when a powerful rolling maul culminated in WP captain Deon Fourie crossing the whitewash. Catrakilis banked the extras to give his side a 17-6 half-time lead.
WP produced their best move of the game after the restart, depleting the Bulls’ defensive line through numerous phases before JP du Plessis offloaded brilliantly to set up Marcel Brache for the score. Catrakilis converted to give WP a lead that the Bulls never looked like overturning.
Damian de Allende ensured the five points, finishing a slick backline move and Du Plessis kept the scoreboard ticking for the hosts with a clinical score. WP settled for the mauling they had inflicted on their northern nemesis thereafter. They must build on this impressive performance as they go in search of a home semi-final.

401 Comments
1 Sep 2012, 18:37 pm
I’ll take these dragons too
1 Sep 2012, 18:52 pm
idont think you’re particularly good, its because you’re oppostions particularly bad tonight
1 Sep 2012, 18:55 pm
Talking bout the dragons not the game!
1 Sep 2012, 19:02 pm
The battle between outside centres du Plessis and Sadie should be interesting to watch. That is if du Plessis gets any ball.
1 Sep 2012, 19:02 pm
Can’t see Province taking this.
The Bulls are simply too awesome!
1 Sep 2012, 19:05 pm
@Robzim-4:
JP du Plessis is someone I’m watching more closely. Certain guys just need a solid game. Same goes for Sadie. They must do the basic stuff first.
1 Sep 2012, 19:09 pm
Stay classy Problems fans – booing Potgieter and the Bulls as they come out.
@I am a stormer-6:
The first thing that WP must get right if they want to stand any chance is their lineouts. The throwing in by the hookers especially have been dismal so far this year and that includes Ntubeni who starts tonight.
@Dawn-3:
ja but i’m talking about you
1 Sep 2012, 19:10 pm
Deon Fourie is just bigger than the little girl who accompanied him onto the field.
1 Sep 2012, 19:10 pm
you got two lucky dragons tonight
1 Sep 2012, 19:13 pm
Ek weet nie almal in Slaapstad is so nie maar fok elke liewe donner op Nuweland wat die teenstanders BOOOOO. Julle is faktap man!!!
1 Sep 2012, 19:14 pm
@kaksioek-10:
The new hooker Ntubeni is even smaller than Fourie but he is also quite a livewire.
The little girl is Jacques Niehaber’s daughter.
1 Sep 2012, 19:15 pm
Classy Province fans booing Dewald Potgieter as he runs out alone to celebrate his 50th Currie Cup cap.
Nice one.
1 Sep 2012, 19:15 pm
@kaksioek-10:
And she got more spunk than the whole Bulls outfit. Being Nienaber’s daughter!
1 Sep 2012, 19:17 pm
@I am a stormer-15: Maybe she should be fast-tracked into the Problems side then.
1 Sep 2012, 19:17 pm
@Tacitus-14:
Inexcusable, but it is a national disease.
1 Sep 2012, 19:18 pm
@Tacitus-14: Tipies van die klomp moeg moere
1 Sep 2012, 19:19 pm
Boolands is rather empty. WP fans are always telling us how large the crowds are there…
@Tacitus-14:
I know it doesn’t happen at Loftus as that is a home game for the Stormers/WP. ;D
But not right. I agree.
Go Bulls! Anyone over WP!
1 Sep 2012, 19:20 pm
@Humphrey-19:
It is all relative. Did you watch the previous game in Durban. It looked like an empty sardine can.
1 Sep 2012, 19:21 pm
Go Bulls !
1 Sep 2012, 19:22 pm
Get up Duvenhag you papbroek
1 Sep 2012, 19:23 pm
Hmm. I dislike the law that if a guy gathers the ball cleanly from a high kick and then goes to ground, that the opposition players who are on their feet can then steal the ball from him.
There should be some reward for the lone chaser who jumps and catches the ball and then goes to ground. Should be scrum to the team that gathered the high kick, really, if I could suggest a change to the laws.
@Humphrey-19: Apparently Sharks bumper stickers sold out in Cape Town after the Sharks beat the Stormers/WP for the third time in a row, including consecutive wins at Mofflands.
Hellooo again dusky
Where’d you go
Booing their own kicker or is it blue bull fans behind the poles?
1 Sep 2012, 19:24 pm
@Tacitus-25: I agree
1 Sep 2012, 19:24 pm
@Dawn-27: For a stormer.
1 Sep 2012, 19:25 pm
Swing mood Fouche having one of his “down” moods again today.
Can’t hit the broad side of a barn, or keep a kick off in touch. Take him off now.
1 Sep 2012, 19:25 pm
@Robzim-28: If I were a WP/Stormers fan I would also boo my own team.
1 Sep 2012, 19:26 pm
1 Sep 2012, 19:27 pm
@Tacitus-31: What ? After last weekend I thought they were trying to find a new Ge Korsten or Bles Bridges song to serenade him with at Loftus. Some people on here were calling for him to be awarded Green and Gold ! You mean, he is no ‘liefling’ ?
1 Sep 2012, 19:27 pm
You gotta watch your diet
All the herring can’t be good
1 Sep 2012, 19:28 pm
@Tacitus-31: Hey Tac – I wanted to ask you. Aren’t you petrified that Vd. Heever is going to rip your boys to shreds with his incredible speed ?
1 Sep 2012, 19:29 pm
I don’t think Tac likes the way he looks.
He creepy.
1 Sep 2012, 19:30 pm
haha
fourie is a lot of things
but he’s not a winger
1 Sep 2012, 19:30 pm
@Dusky-34:
He’s got all the talent, but his state of mind is brilliant one week, atrocious the next.
1 Sep 2012, 19:31 pm
So if WP knock’s the ball over the tryline, then surely if you play advantage for the Bulls, then if they dot it down it is a 22 kick in for them? Much better than a scrum on their own line?
1 Sep 2012, 19:32 pm
@Dusky-36:
Nah, once he lost his speed, we packed him off to Cape Town.
1 Sep 2012, 19:37 pm
where’s agile?
1 Sep 2012, 19:39 pm
Deon Fourie is a better flank than GHD Pottie. No contest!
1 Sep 2012, 19:39 pm
province shooting their bolt too early
1 Sep 2012, 19:41 pm
@Tacitus-41: Thought that was the case
1 Sep 2012, 19:42 pm
PROOOOOOOOOVIIIIIIIIIIIIINCE!!!!!
1 Sep 2012, 19:48 pm
The referee seeing an imaginary offside line everytime the Bulls get into WP territory lol
1 Sep 2012, 19:55 pm
Deon Fourie!
1 Sep 2012, 19:55 pm
Nice try Province.
Wait a minute. Province don’t score tries!
1 Sep 2012, 19:57 pm
You on your own here WP
Don’t shoot your bolt too early
1 Sep 2012, 19:58 pm
Deon Fourie like a thief in the night! So much for all the naysayers on the forum. He’s all over the place!
1 Sep 2012, 20:00 pm
WP players give lots of hugs to each other hey?
1 Sep 2012, 20:00 pm
Seems more like the early posters retreating into their shells lol
1 Sep 2012, 20:02 pm
Sounds like you need a hug Humphrey
1 Sep 2012, 20:04 pm
The under 21 hooker Scarra Ntubeni has been very impressive so far.
Fourie on the flank has been outstanding. while Nic Groom is certainly more a threat on the attack than Duvenhage.
Early days still though, Province/Stormers are notorious for falling asleep during second half when they are ahead.
1 Sep 2012, 20:07 pm
Ja Humphrey
You want one too?
1 Sep 2012, 20:08 pm
Yes Province fall asleep in the 3rd quarter. Let’s see if the Bulle can’t take advantage.
1 Sep 2012, 20:09 pm
Fourie for the Bokke!
1 Sep 2012, 20:11 pm
@W.P-53:
listen to the nice lady, wp
you have a bolt, dont shoot it.
the show aint over.
1 Sep 2012, 20:11 pm
Is that an Argie I see or is he from Lavender Hill?
1 Sep 2012, 20:15 pm
Well deserved Brache!
1 Sep 2012, 20:15 pm
dammit
my bolt is loose
1 Sep 2012, 20:16 pm
3 tries to zip.
Nice.
Wow. Where was all this attack during Super Rugby? A little more of this mindset was required then.
Dawn I hear you are quite the hottie, I would take a hug from you.
1 Sep 2012, 20:17 pm
Wys hulle Blommetjies!
1 Sep 2012, 20:18 pm
Another try. Groom you beauty! I hope Duwenhage is out for the rest of the season! I have been saying for a while that Groom is one to watch! Oops sorry Dawn, am I shooting my load too early? Lol
1 Sep 2012, 20:19 pm
Not with a name like Humphrey.
1 Sep 2012, 20:20 pm
@kaksioek-64: The Stormers need more youngsters in the backline at flyhalf and centre.
1 Sep 2012, 20:21 pm
you can call me Humps babe.
1 Sep 2012, 20:22 pm
I think there are a coupla 12 year olds running around
1 Sep 2012, 20:26 pm
Kaplan just loves WP he he
1 Sep 2012, 20:28 pm
Should rather go for the lineout.
1 Sep 2012, 20:29 pm
Did wp buy an Argie!
1 Sep 2012, 20:30 pm
The BONUS point.
Against the nicest of opposition.
game…set…match
So the best scrumhalf in WP finally gets significant game time and we get 4 tries for the first time in ages…. No surprise
1 Sep 2012, 20:31 pm
Bonus Point! Oooooooooooooh nooooooooo! Not to WP! Can’t be lol
1 Sep 2012, 20:32 pm
Blou Bulle? …… nah …. Flou Tolletjies
What a hiding.
So, we keep hearing how the WP/Stormers team are a bunch of brokeback hairdressers. What do you call a team that gets nailed by brokeback hairdressers?
1 Sep 2012, 20:34 pm
Johann Sadie, JJ Engelbrecht and Lionel Cronje must be happy with the money they got seeing that they get to do nothing for it.
1 Sep 2012, 20:37 pm
Really looking forward to Tacitus’ in-depth post- mortem.
1 Sep 2012, 20:38 pm
Will Sadie ever come right? It looks doubtful.
I could not for the life of me understand how Schreuder was keeping Groom out of the WP setup. Stupid selectors. Watch how another union snaps up Groom.
@RugbyStudent-81: Brokeback hairdressers………. being kind I see….klomp dose fits the profile better…..
1 Sep 2012, 20:39 pm
Shocked at the score. I actually thought the Bulls had a good starting 15 and WP would struggle. When last has a Bulls team been given such a hiding?
1 Sep 2012, 20:39 pm
@renoog-77:
A number of people have been calling for Nic to start since last season but according to AC Duvenhage plays more to “the structures” – hopefully he will open his eyes now.
1 Sep 2012, 20:40 pm
Sadie’s rugby has gone downhill since leaving CT. JJ also not looking anything near Bok quality…
JP du Plessis and De Allende are some real talents.
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-86:
No need to get nasty now.
1 Sep 2012, 20:41 pm
Good grief another try – no defence…
5 tries to zip.
and keo goes quiet.
Just ran right through JJ
More misery for the Bulle.
1 Sep 2012, 20:42 pm
I don’t understand why is it so easy to change the gameplan now? Maybe the more experienced players are totally overcoached.
1 Sep 2012, 20:42 pm
more WP hugs all round.
1 Sep 2012, 20:43 pm
Either these Bulls are super kak or some of these Problems should have been playing Super Rugby. Or both.
1 Sep 2012, 20:44 pm
@Rage-83: You wont see him here for a couple of days now. That is a certainty!!!
JP du Plessis looks like a very good prospect.
AC is one big d00s! This game proves it! WP was always about running rugby!
1 Sep 2012, 20:45 pm
Tac must be slitting his wrists…
1 Sep 2012, 20:45 pm
@Gumboots-94:
No wonder he was drop. No technique, no heart. Makes you wonder why he was picked in the first place.
1 Sep 2012, 20:46 pm
Just a question. Seeing half of the Stormers fans on this site kakked their cotton shorts when Aplon did not crack the nod for the Boks. You guys are playing against a super kak Bulls team and he is nowhere to be seen…… makes you wonder…..
1 Sep 2012, 20:46 pm
@HongKongSlong-99:
He left after dewald got booed running onto the field!
1 Sep 2012, 20:47 pm
Nice to see the Bulls being at the receiving end of a super cheating referee
What goes around comes around
prachtag!
@W.P-101: AC was trying out the Bulls gameplan…..dating back to 2008
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-104:
You right. How on earth did JJ crack a spot in the Bok team. He is uber k a k
1 Sep 2012, 20:48 pm
J.J and Sadie coming back to haunt us
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-104:
They weren’t super kak before the game. So in your mind, a Springbok should be measured on one game?
Fouche is also just hype…
1 Sep 2012, 20:49 pm
@I am a stormer-105:
Dewald is actually my favourite Blue Bull player. Tacitus does not like him that much as he once mentioned he supported WP while still at school, lol.
1 Sep 2012, 20:50 pm
@Hondo-106:
The ref is from Pretoria.
Johann Sadie, JJ Engelbrecht, Jurgen Visser, Lionel Cronje, etc. The Bulls sure love the brokeback boys.
I wish him well on his recovery but I hope Duwenhage’s injury is season ending!
1 Sep 2012, 20:51 pm
The Bulls are so bad, they can’t even run through Aplon, even the pisspoor Lions managed it 4 times last week
It’s how bad they became
Before the game I mentioned the name JP du Plessis as a player to watch.
Thought I would mention his name again.
@Robzim-113:
waahaahahahahah!
1 Sep 2012, 20:52 pm
Bulls = Bokke currently a big pile of poo
1 Sep 2012, 20:52 pm
@I am a stormer-117:
He is super impressive… First time I’ve really seen him play…
1 Sep 2012, 20:53 pm
This Wp kiddies team is our future, not the real deal yet. Silly errors and inexperienced but they are p@esklapping the bulls! Life is good. Jp dup is a farkin legend in the making.
1 Sep 2012, 20:54 pm
@Gumboots-108: Never a choice I would have made either.
@RugbyStudent-110: Two words balsak.. Morne Steyn… The moment he had a kak game the folk had the pitchforks out….. In all fairness he gave them some serious ammo though with rest of the S15 campaign.
1 Sep 2012, 20:54 pm
Go Brache!
(Is he still on field?)
1 Sep 2012, 20:55 pm
The new WP jewel No 2 is pathetic, totally inadequate physically for a front rower
Compare his size when standing next to Deon Fourie who himself not the biggest of hookers, mind you
1 Sep 2012, 20:56 pm
Kwagga!
So onplesierig!
@Hondo-116: See rugbystudent? One game hey?
@Gumboots-120:
He was seen as “the next big thing” while still a school (SA schools) and then unexpectedly left for Aus. According to Robbie Fleck he has the best step of any player in SA.
The Bulls will now probably buy him:)
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-122:
I feel for you mate! This team looks clueless…
On paper not a bad side, but man they were pathetic this evening…
1 Sep 2012, 20:57 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-122:
Guess its time to get the cheque book out because the Bulls academy is just not cutting it.
@Dawn-125: Oorlat jy nie meer groet nie. Gaan dit goed in valley Dawn?
Ag Hondo it’s cos he’s black
Just say so already man
No-one is fooled by your size kuk
bulls were atrocious tonight
i cant say wp won this game
it was more a case of the bulls losing it
Kwagga this Bulls team is stronger than the one that beat the Sharks last weak. What was that again?
1 Sep 2012, 20:58 pm
@Hondo-124:
Yet he made Willie Bierpens Wepener his peos tonight.
1 Sep 2012, 20:58 pm
@Robzim-127:
1 Sep 2012, 20:59 pm
Baie goed Kwagga
Daar?
1 Sep 2012, 21:00 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-132: ****. It sure looked to me like WP won.
1 Sep 2012, 21:00 pm
Congrats Province! I really thought it was going to be a really tough game and not the one way traffic that it was…
Sorry Tac! Alarm bells are ringing…
1 Sep 2012, 21:01 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-122:
If that’s true, the whole Bulls team needs to be sacked. I would laugh my *** off if the Bulls next year have a playoff battle against the Kings. To me it seems the Bulls Super 15 and Currie Cup team is goin backwards. Didn’t reach the playoffs this year and losing to a varsity/junior rugby team with a hooker at scrumhalf hahahaha Maak die Bulle almal Bokke! (Sodat hulle kan verloor en Nick Mallet kan oorneem)
crusaders = AB’s a big pile of dirty filthy cheating poo.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-132:
Dit is nou blerrie snaaks… They were trashed mate…
@kaksioek-137:
Bwahahaha, you could swear they were scoring 42 own goals
1 Sep 2012, 21:02 pm
so these are the two “powerhouses” of sa rugby?
with all the “tradition”, “heritage” and “pegigree”?
well…..
farken heaven help us.
@Robzim-112:
That’s the Uitenhage brigade for you.
pedigree as well!
1 Sep 2012, 21:03 pm
@kaksioek-137:
ja, but they did not win it by winning it. they won it because the bulls lost it.
Bulls need to urgently get rid of this Pine Pienaar palooka who is coaching the side. Wonder why they bought him from Bloem. Must be somebody’s cousin. Bulls specialises in nepotism. Half of the people working their are relatives of the CEO.
Is Dewald Potgieter not the most overrated player in the world? And this guy is punted as the next Bok captain? He wouldn’t make the Stormers or Sharks team. Where was overhyped CJ Stander?
1 Sep 2012, 21:04 pm
@Hondo-124:
He is the man of the match peos!
1 Sep 2012, 21:05 pm
MOM Scarra. Well deserved.
1 Sep 2012, 21:06 pm
@RugbyStudent-139: Jy praat nou deur jou hol en weet dit. Sit neer daai Cape Hope en Sprite!!
@Gumboots-128: Baie eina hierdie een. Niks lekker nie maar hey, ons vat hom die ken.
@W.P-133: Never looked the part though this week. Well done bud. Snotklap indeed!!
@Dawn-136: Kook water Dawn. Lekker warm in PTA so die lewe is n lied.
1 Sep 2012, 21:06 pm
How about that Hondo: the man you said was pathetic is MOTM.
1 Sep 2012, 21:07 pm
I guess a dirty ref was responsible for that decision too, hey Hondo?
1 Sep 2012, 21:08 pm
@ 124
Look who’s MOTM…Congrats you have just exposed yourself as a doos.
Wat nou charo
@Gumboots-141:
a really bad day at the office. it happens.
province were fortunate to capatilise on a diabolically lacklustre performane by the bulls. very lucky an off foem team showed up tonight.
lol love_Bakkies we can’t keep using the McCheat defence but we are missing so much talent due to injury and players abroad. Just want to see improvements against Auzzies they will come out fired up for this one Coming, we can all see them being pushed into a dark corner.
1 Sep 2012, 21:10 pm
Something ain’t right over at the Bulls, to be so inconsistent from week to week with basically the same 22. From what I’ve seen they lack the hard edge of years gone by.
1 Sep 2012, 21:11 pm
@ 140 bakkies
this is a wp/bulls thread.stick to the topic bru
1 Sep 2012, 21:11 pm
Hondo
You’ve exposed yourself totally.
You’re the runt of the litter.
and that’s runt with a c.
1 Sep 2012, 21:14 pm
@Guns-157:
it’ll be a humdinger against oz, that’s for sure.
i think boks will take it home and away against oz.
but dont think they are streetsmart enough yet to negate the ab’s cheating. probably will lose away but might pull of a gees win at home.
1 Sep 2012, 21:15 pm
Hondo is just a bang racist peos. I asked him to give his address so that the boys and I can visit him at his braai to ‘chat’ over his comments about non-white players. Should be an interesting ‘debate’.
Common Hondo, don’t be a bang peos, meet us and say the same things you say on here. But you won’t cause you googled troll and that’s what you are.
Fouche the next Bok 10???????
Fark me …
do you all honestly think that Hondo gives two sh*ts what you say about him, he probably gets a big kick from the reaction.
1 Sep 2012, 21:16 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-161:
I don’t think so. The Aussies will beat the Boks at home. The All Blacks are just a class above right now. If the Aussies lose, Robbie Deans is out.
1 Sep 2012, 21:17 pm
@Dawn-155:
not much.
kak game.
from both sides.
was expecting the messiah fleckie to spark that pedigree weepee backline.
but fokkal happened.
@grant10-163:
Howzit Grant. Glad you are back… I said the same earlier. Was also very disappointed in the Bulls centre pairing. They looked really amateurish. JJ’s defense remains a huge problem… JP made them look mediocre…
@Rage-159:
dont box yourself in boet.
it’s only words, and words are all i have….
1 Sep 2012, 21:18 pm
@Humphrey-164:
He does get a kick. He is a troll. Like all trolls they scour the Internet looking for opportunities to get an emotional response. The only way to deal with trolls is to call them out. If they don’t nobody takes them serious.
1 Sep 2012, 21:20 pm
@charo-166:
I think one thing’s for sure, the less coaching that goes on with younger players, the better. I don’t think Allistair, Fleckie and the lot had enough time to coach the flair out of these players. They are all offloading in the tackle and running into space.
1 Sep 2012, 21:20 pm
@grant10-163:
one bad game granty, one bad game….
besides, the whole team didn’t turn up tonight.
@RugbyStudent-165:
agree to disagree so lets see how it plays out,
ab’s are a class of nothing cheats
i dont rate them
1 Sep 2012, 21:21 pm
@Gumboots-167: and to think JJ Engelbrecht was chosen above J D J …..what a sick joke….
1 Sep 2012, 21:23 pm
anyway….
Plod gone
spies gone..
now just for the liability M Steyn and bobs your aunt
off to celebrate the bull slagting….
1 Sep 2012, 21:23 pm
@grant10-172:
…HM is being exposed… I think he is realising his mistakes and needs to correct them before he makes an absolute fool of himself…
1 Sep 2012, 21:24 pm
you cant single out the guy who didn’t buckle up in a train smash, for being stupid.
it does not matter how smart you are on the day, a train smash is a train smash.
you are lucky to survive it.
1 Sep 2012, 21:25 pm
@Gumboots-174: just glad f louw back…we need to fix breakdown
cheers gumboots
1 Sep 2012, 21:25 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-171:
Well, I guess you play to the ref. Cheats or not, this is a man’s game. Either get in the game or get out.
1 Sep 2012, 21:28 pm
I’m missing something; this was a Bok trial match? No need to write off Fouche, Dewald, CJ Stander & JJE
1 Sep 2012, 21:28 pm
@grant10-176:
Cheer mate…Outta here too…
1 Sep 2012, 21:29 pm
That win must be some kind of cc record for wp vs bools ??? Love it.
1 Sep 2012, 21:29 pm
bulls = stupid stompkar rugby
weepee = not much better
cheetahs = speed but kak finishing
lions = a bit of all the above
sharks = brains and persistence
told you lot all along
1 Sep 2012, 21:30 pm
5 tries to zero against the same team that thoroughly fck’d up the overrated Sharkievarkies shows some class
So now where all these morons who still cannot see class when its oozing out like maaskaas
Deon Fourie cappie oh cappie the very best hooker in the land, move over Bismark here is the fetching hooker to fetch all your flat beers from your fridge
Rynhardt Elstadt the only hard man left in SA rugby.. what the blind man bluff springbok coach still wanna bamboozle his pathetic blind eyesight with more Potgieter f’ng madness…
Nic Groom the little bundle of expresso rifle service to the backline
JP du Plessis showing the overrated Meyer mercenaries Sadie and Engelbrecht WIES BAAS van die PLAAS..
Oh ain’t it mos LEKKER to rub it in where it MATTERS
Where you been Fleckie .. how come it takes you 4 whole seasons to drop the bullshit defense wins games garbage and start playing some Rugby EVENTUALLY..!!!??
1 Sep 2012, 21:30 pm
Hi. Newbie here. Been lurking too long and need to start adding my 2 chappies worth. I’m a Sharks boyjie living in London town. Howzit !!!
1 Sep 2012, 21:36 pm
@Debbin Poison-183:
careful boet.
this site is overrun by mental stormers/weepee fanboys.
and fangirls…. 8)
1 Sep 2012, 21:38 pm
@charo-181:
sharks = get out of jail free
1 Sep 2012, 21:40 pm
To be fair everyone is fanatical but that’s normal although maybe a bit too much like football fans. Saffas should stick together. I support any SA team V anybody. I was born in the Cape and grew up lapa
1 Sep 2012, 21:40 pm
Always enjoy a good pounding.
1 Sep 2012, 21:41 pm
Oops. iPhone typing not so sharp.
@charo-184:
or just a case
one cuckoo flew over the rest
Fleckie might be a victim of AC’s influence. Have to do as the head coach says.
1 Sep 2012, 21:43 pm
Whats up with the Dragons mission for the 1st post?
1 Sep 2012, 21:45 pm
@Debbin Poison-188:
Stay humble and don’t get caught in the web of boom deceit and you will do just fine…
1 Sep 2012, 21:45 pm
Did I ever mention the fact that Province got a bonus point today?
1 Sep 2012, 21:46 pm
for scoring 5 not 4 tries!!
1 Sep 2012, 21:46 pm
Against the Bulls!
1 Sep 2012, 21:50 pm
@I am a stormer-185:
funny man!!!!!!!!!!
two gifted tries before halftime nearly let the cheetahs in.
but the incredibly resilient sharks stuck to their guns and rose victorious.
again…..
playing the best rugby in the country….
brains over brawn
as they say.
1 Sep 2012, 21:50 pm
@charo-184: steady on boet. We were kind to the Bulletjies tonight, limiting ourselves to 5. Wont be so kind when we next visit your tryline with our clutch of new laaitjies.
and…good evening.
1 Sep 2012, 21:51 pm
Did I mention that that the Bulls didn’t score a try against the solid Province defence?
1 Sep 2012, 21:53 pm
@I am a stormer-193:
well done to the mighty weepee
first time in a very loooong time…
reckon the border bulldogs might have done similar.
bulls were dire.
all that “pedigree” on show today as well?
1 Sep 2012, 21:54 pm
Always humble bru. Rugby is not life or death….
1 Sep 2012, 21:54 pm
Fck me if this Bok coach had ANY f’ng Bullshit brains left in his bullbevok head this would be the Bok team he would have chosen
A. Coetsee / W. Le Roux
W. Le Roux / A. Coetsee
JdV / JdJ
F. Steyn / JdJ
R. Rhule / B. Habana
J. Goosen / W. Le Roux
F. Hougaard / S. Pretorius
D. Vermeulen / J. Strauss / M. Coetsee
W. Alberts / R. Elstadt / J. Strauss
H. Brussow / F. Louw / S. Kolisi
E. Etzebeth / A. Bekker / J. Kruger
R. Elstadt / E. Etzebeth
P. Cilliers / J. Adriaanse
B. Du Plessis / D. Fourie
G. Steenkamp / B Mwatarira
1 Sep 2012, 21:56 pm
@TASSIES-197:
hi tassies…
for old time’s sake…..
had a glass of your namesake this evening….
was careful to let it breathe for a few hours first
not too bad at all at all
1 Sep 2012, 21:57 pm
there were several excellent (and surprising) performances this evening. Seen most of these guys before but not in a Province (CC) jersey. Fourie, Elstadt and the little black No2 were outstanding as was the entire backline with the exception of Aplon, who was ordinary(for a change). Bulls were completely outplayed. Province played well.
1 Sep 2012, 21:57 pm
@Debbin Poison-200:
You’re right.
Rugby is not a matter or life or death.
It is much more important than that!
1 Sep 2012, 21:58 pm
Only thing gifted the Sharks another lucky packet win was the doos decision by Cheetahs first receiver to kick the goddamn ball into the heavens 3 times in quick succession gifting Sharks another get out of jail lucky packet win which the didn’t deserve.
1 Sep 2012, 22:02 pm
@191 Ask Dawn, she’s deceptively knowledgeable
1 Sep 2012, 22:02 pm
@fitz1ella-205:
come now skoppie…
cheetahs only went into a half time lead because sharks gifted two easy tries – to pretorius and rhule.
otherwise they dominated territory and possession.
kudos to them for fighting back and eventually ending victorious.
there is a rugby god after all
by the way – did you appreciate the skills of keegan?
1 Sep 2012, 22:03 pm
@charo-202: well done. The key is in the breathing. Gotta get all those nasty tannins outta there or babel jas pays a morning visit. When we were students the kop was made of sterner stuff. I enjoyed a nice little Malbec yesterday and it wasn’t weened in Argie either. Its source was closer to home where dem apples grow.
1 Sep 2012, 22:04 pm
That’s plagiarism, a football coach once said that… Have to admit though that I’ll take a day off work to watch Boks if it’s a morning game. That’s more expensive than going to watch it live!!
1 Sep 2012, 22:05 pm
oops. That didn’t look right did it. ‘Wean’ not wee poepol
1 Sep 2012, 22:07 pm
@Debbin Poison-209: you’re right. Can you remember who that coach was? Fergie perhaps?
1 Sep 2012, 22:12 pm
@fitz1ella-205: naand Skop. You well bud? Got your boxing gloves on for tonight’s session. This will be called a lucky win. No doubt you’ll have a different opinion. Where the hell is that man Tac when you need him?
1 Sep 2012, 22:13 pm
okay so you guys have gone to ground. Catch you later.
1 Sep 2012, 22:13 pm
@TASSIES-211:
nope, the liverpool geezer.
any way, time to put my feet up and drift off.
cheers boys
1 Sep 2012, 22:14 pm
@TASSIES-203:
How the so called NATIONAL selectors are so dumb struck BLINDER than BLIND remains an absolute mystery beyond mysteries..
The dumb bloody national coach sends Kolisi to CC to get crocked, then he continues to select that dumb delusional moron Potgieter at 7 when he’s got REAL tough as nails competitors such as Elstadt plying their trade at CC level..
Then he’s got pathetic hookers like Strauss as the incumbent behind Bismark when there are REAL hard as nails tough to the ball competitors such as Deon Fourie chomping at the bit now off to France to teach em how to dance.
JP du Plessis and Marcel Brache OUTPLAYED the Bok blue eyed pretensious prodigious up and coming talents Serfontein, Sadie and Engelbrecht
That new find at wing No. 21, de Allende watch him, he can go all the way to the top in very quick time, like a bolt from nowhere.
and little Ntubeni was EVERYWHERE and the Bulls couldn’t bring him down nor contain him, his low center of gravity undermining every big brash bullshit story right under the bokbevok noses .. including our resident racists here like Herr Hondo…
as for Nic Groom .. he was the difference between a WP team on fire and one that been fizzled out like damp gunpowder for the last 3 seasons
Carstens, Ntubeni, Armand, Fourie, Elstadt, Groom, Brache, Du Plessis, De Allende and even Aplon and vd Heever outplayed every Bulls counterpart which shows clearly who was baas tonight.. 5 tries to zip says it all.
1 Sep 2012, 22:15 pm
Bill Shankly, Liverpool manager. Read it in the Sun innit so must be true. How do you do the @ thingy to reply to a specific ou/Betty?
1 Sep 2012, 22:19 pm
@Debbin Poison-216: you press the little arrow thingy in the right top corner of their post .. like this
@Debbin Poison-216:
see that how you do it.. like this
@Debbin Poison-216:
1 Sep 2012, 22:26 pm
Eish, lutu arrow thingies on my iPhone display. I work in IT but shouldn’t.
1 Sep 2012, 22:28 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-146:
That sounds like sour grapes and thoroughly unsporting. WP won because they worked out that the Bulls were vulnerable to a running game. Bulls are a one dimensional outfit.
1 Sep 2012, 22:30 pm
Deon Fourie is class! Jack of all trades. Sharks fans are quick to talk up Keegan Daniels yet shoot down Fourie.
1 Sep 2012, 22:35 pm
UNFORTUNATELY i missed the game but will be watching the repeat tomorrow.
How good was this win??? Or were the bulls just K#K???
Was worried that Scarra might be to small to make the step up but he seems to have done well. His throw ins are normall good but wasnt sure how he would scrum, seems a tough buga.
Duvies is not the answer, great to have around with all his experience but Louis and Groom offer alot more. Which of the 2 is better?? Schreuder has been through all the age group sides and plays similar to a Ruan Pienaar.
JP is a good player and dominated when he was at Craven week, glad he’s come back from Aus. This guys got serious talent. JDJ at 12 and him at 13 will be a great combo for the future.
I watched that de Allende kid play for uct this year, he’s big and fast with some pace which is what we need, tired of tiny backline players.
We just need Gary or Tim Swiel to make the step up now. We need a 10 that can win us the Super 15 comp
1 Sep 2012, 22:37 pm
@W.P-220: Fourie fck’d up Stegman who is supposedly second only to Brussow in fetcher status
Fourie is the absolute BEST fetching fire eating hooker this country possibly ever seen behind Uli Schmidt and Bismark du Plessis but the arsehole national selectors wanna employ teddy bears like John the fatfunk Smit and Adriaan Strauss because they roly poly into town on Sundays for pastrami polony sarmies on bagels with Gorgonzola cheese for appetizers before tucking into the jelly waddle pudding.
1 Sep 2012, 22:39 pm
@fitz1ella-215:
Zie eich raden bubkes viter?
1 Sep 2012, 22:41 pm
@Fleckie-221: yip little Zorba Katrakillis possibly the only lesser than immortal of the Spartans on display tonight .. all the rest far outshone the S15 defense wins games play without the ball alternatives..
new lease of WP life arrived lets hope its here to stay this time.
1 Sep 2012, 22:43 pm
@fitz1ella-222:
“they roly poly into town on Sundays for pastrami polony sarmies on bagels with Gorgonzola cheese for appetizers before tucking into the jelly waddle pudding.”
Skop at his best once again.
1 Sep 2012, 22:46 pm
Don’t really give a toss if we win the CC or not. All I want is that they take this season to balance out their gameplan with some runningand try-scoring rugby.
1 Sep 2012, 22:48 pm
what in christs name is the gorgonzola knobhead going on about?
tjsesus this fkn cntry more racist than the republic
orwell wrote they cant be fasist, my frken arse.
1 Sep 2012, 22:50 pm
Deon Fourie should have just played flank, He’s just more suited to it. Pity he’s leaving tho. BIG loss
Who scrums beta Deon Carstens or Kitsie??
Stormers Squad for 2013 Super 15
1) Kitsoff / Carstens
2) Tiaan / Scarra Need one more ??
3) Malherbe / Brok / JC to cover 1 and 3, theres also young Kebble
4) Etsebeth / Roux wen he gets back/ Elstadt
5) Bekker / de Kock / new kid we just bought from Lions
6) Burger / Carr/ Armand can cover 6 and
7) Kolisi/ Elstadt Ryan Smid player for the u21 side is a beast of a player
8) Vermeulen / Koster / Carr
9) Schreuder / Groom / Duvies
10) Grant ???/ Van aswegan/ Tim Swiel/
11) Habana/ De allende
12) JDV) Brache
13) JDJ / du Plesis
14) Gio / Van den Heever
15) Joe/ Gio/ Craig Barry
39 players
1 Sep 2012, 22:55 pm
shoulda played fourie at hooker, meyer woulda won on sat,
pride comes fore a fall. fore…. fourie.
1 Sep 2012, 23:10 pm
always thought groom better than duvenage but nouja the kenner reckon they ken, they ken fkal.
As I told you before Skop, Fourie is a much better openside flank than he is a hooker.
I reckon the Blue Bells mystery tour has ground to a stuck wheel in the rut on the ossewa pad
how many more flat in the face lessons of enlightenment they gonna endure before they realize 2007 and 2009 and 2010 was YESTERYEAR…
Time Herr Meyer caught a wake up and smelled the stale coffee because his Bullbevok brainlessness is long time gone titties up in ou doos rugby heaven.
1 Sep 2012, 23:12 pm
“The Bulls have big problems. Some of their players should have been playing club rugby this afternoon, not running out in front of a few thousand faithful in Cape Town.”
Sometimes Ryan you’re able to click into gear.
1 Sep 2012, 23:15 pm
if meyer had played fouie at 2 and elstadt at 4 and vermeulen at 8 alhoewel he going to have a spare tyre for 6 weeks, he woulda fkd up aussies in perth and frightening the **** into kiwis, as it happens, there going to be big crying sat cos meyer too scared to put decent players outthere, mediocrities gonna get murdered. and yeah i was the only one to call argies noone else, im off to bed, load of ****, dumbo fkn idiots.
1 Sep 2012, 23:20 pm
Fourie is a hooker first and foremost for Meyer to close his eyes to reality when reality is staring him in his bullbvok face week after week is just plain outright dumber than dumb.!!
Fourie should be on Bok bench if Bismark is starting as No. 2 hooker in the country
no. 1 open side flank is Brussow, next is a toss up between F. Louw and Kolisi, Fourie can step in under crisis like he’s done at WP but hooker is his first port of call and that where Meyer should have selected him…
At blind side flank or No. 4 enforcer there is NO one better equipped in this country than Elstadt who showed again tonight what a hard as nails tough guy he is, next best would be Josh Strauss or Jean Deysel for No.4 / No. 7 blind side option.
With Vermeulen, Alberts, Elstadt, Strauss, Brussow, Louw, Kolisi, Coetsee
those would be all the loose forwards including No. 4 enforcers the coach would need.
Etzebeth should be starting No.5 with Bekker or Kruger off bench.
1 Sep 2012, 23:22 pm
let white pick the gdamn side. meyer can manage it and pdv can talk the talk ,,, the only man who can piss off a country before even touching down…oh the greatest get him back for chrissake, we need a PR man,
thats that … im all out of thickness surely.
1 Sep 2012, 23:24 pm
@cab-234: you weren’t the only one to call Argies.. you were one of a very few..
you said it may happen that Boks go down to Argies.. I said it would be the best thing to happen if it does… which it did.. and they called me traitor.. but Meyer deserved to go down to Argies .. only a fluke charge down try saved his blushing face from exploding bloed rooi.
1 Sep 2012, 23:27 pm
@fitz1ella-237:
nope i was the only one..you were too scared, and you were wrong on white.
i know more than you gorgonzola..when they going to award me kenner status
1 Sep 2012, 23:35 pm
@cab-238: should I go fetch the posts who said what
White is / was a doos.. he might have some kenner ability but it don’t make him less of a doos..
49-0 is almost the world record for doos status in the country by a country bumpkin mile..
the only thing that changed White from being a pathetic nobody from the so called kenner he reckons he is today was 2 things… 1. his arsecreep cry for help from one Eddy Jones.. and 2. the lucky packet fluke WC where Barnsey put his only competition out the equation.. AB’s would have fck’d White out the comp that year.. they caught a crooked ref and a mesmerizing Froggy fandango on the way to the fanfare.
and no I wasn’t wrong about White .. just because you so besotted with his 49-0 upside down arrogance don’t make him the hero you reckon he is.. he learned his rugby sense AFTER the 2007 WC .. because uncle Eddy showed him the ropes he actually knew squat about prior .
1 Sep 2012, 23:43 pm
you go fetch whatever you want, you know it and i know, i put it out there, and you all were too scared, you didnt think we could possibly lose, well we should have. you wanna know whose got rugby brains here, big hit, that engelsman is somehting senior in english rugby circles cos he sure as **** knows more than lancastrian bombers…
night night noone likes a know itall.
1 Sep 2012, 23:45 pm
ou doos i dunno whaty your problem with white is, hes forgotten more about rugby than you ever know ekse. uncle eddy showed him fkall, less you count 93-3 as showing him how to take a good beating, catch a fkn wake up.
1 Sep 2012, 23:48 pm
ah you suddenly the be all and know all of all kenners
yup no one likes a know all so you called an Argy ‘possible’ upset – same as I did.. not a squat of difference..
go check who said what Mr. know fuckall know-it-all
BH knows plenty about rugby, but you don’t know more than what you think you know
Who called for Elstadt and Vermeulen and Deon Fourie LONG before you opened your know nothing eyes.. huh.. who ???
1 Sep 2012, 23:53 pm
you called nothing of the sort, and you were wrong about white, and you are wrong about plenty, but not about elstadt, vermeulen and fourie, i dont use you as my yardstick thats for sure, othewise we’d have 4793 player picked for the boks, but yeah on those three and sevaeral other of your wp players you are right. BH got the right way to play, not you or Carel or fkn what not kak en forth .
1 Sep 2012, 23:54 pm
go have a look at Bok rugby under White prior to Eddy Jones.. chalk from cheese White before Jones and subsequent to it.
White even sidled up to Jones for that Baa Baas fckup where they both lost to a Deans second string outfit because they wanted to show up PdV as a doos and played Frans Steyn at 10 all game long and fckd up badly..
if White hadn’t sidled up to Jones and sucked on every whim and word that Eddy spoke he would have been history at the quarters.. either Tonga or Fiji would have put him out his misery.. now the king kong clown wanna tell the world what a fully fledged rugby thinking maestro he is because Eddy Jones turned his one track minded misfortunes around.
1 Sep 2012, 23:57 pm
nah White knew his stuff, you talk ****.
2 Sep 2012, 00:01 am
Carel was a genius that put the 17-0 Bok side together.. White lost 49-0 and got smacked by NZ France and Ireland more times than any SA coach would like to remember
Carel is a genius compared to White .. the same genius that discovered Honibal, Roussow, Fleck and others.
Carel should have teamed up with Mallet as forwards coach but Saru booted him before he could find his mojo.. which he did the very game after they sacked him.. and that very same team went on to win 17-0 with Carel’s blue print stamped all over it.. something White couldn’t dream to do in a thousand months of Sundays.
2 Sep 2012, 00:02 am
Cab are you dronk
2 Sep 2012, 00:04 am
they all wanna coach the boks and schnai one another, thats the way it is – PdV did fine, he could have actually gone all the way too, oh yeah i got that one right too, down to oz – we shoulda won that one hands fkn down … thats was a mutha of a debacle, ****** that pisses me off. nah thats it, bed.
2 Sep 2012, 00:05 am
@Dawn-247:
a little – putting the world to wrongs.
how you are this eveving?
2 Sep 2012, 00:06 am
Carel discovered Honiball? pull your finger out your arse, stop talking **** here.
2 Sep 2012, 00:07 am
any schmuck that gets nilled by 7 tries to zip don’t know squat about rugby – that’s your Jake White genius.. the 0-49 genius
and then goes on to lose 7 from 10 against NZ with record losses at home.. worst record against France home and away to any other SA coach and 2 fat smacks to Ireland after blowing his fat overrated trumpet about how mediocre Ireland were compared to his JW fuckup credentials..
if any toss box knows their stuff about rugby Jake White certainly wasn’t it who knew fckall till Eddy Jones turned his one track miserable idiocy around.
2 Sep 2012, 00:08 am
its like say whoever discovered Pele…***** ****** put some bagel on your gam gorgonxola. u speaking more **** than anything round about now.
2 Sep 2012, 00:10 am
ok then watta kinda schmukaroo tie my kangaroo sport down, gets 93 put past them, how many gdam tries is that, and this is the oke that saved whites backside?
hey catch a gdam wakeup.
2 Sep 2012, 00:12 am
@fitz1ella-242: Ah shame, grown men wanting gold stars for picking the next big thing in Bok rugby. Just a pity there is nothing big and special about Bok rugby anymore.
2 Sep 2012, 00:12 am
this fkn cretin got more poppy seeds than iq points on his spread.
2 Sep 2012, 00:13 am
Yip Carel was the first SA coach to play Honibal at 12 and 10 before any one else did.. Carel made Honibal a Bok.. not Mallet .. Carel did
and Carel Smacked Aussie for seven kinds of annihilation the very game after the big cheeses pulled the rug from under his feet .. so Mallet carried on where Carel left off… Carel set the compass and put the team together, Mallet and Solomons carried it on.
2 Sep 2012, 00:15 am
i thought his stats said he scored most home wins ever and series win against france or some such ****. White was perfect for the time, he aint no genius, but he sure as **** knows more than you, which is why you lay the bricks and he coaching the brumbies, as soon as that situation changes, lemme know.
2 Sep 2012, 00:18 am
@cab-253: that not international rugby.. thats rubble reds with quaky knees up on the highveld doing a hari kiri because bullbevok gone apeshit needing 72 clear points to make the play offs with a little scrummy called Heinie Adams reading them the riot act… not the messiah FdP doing the damage mind you.. little nobody Heinie Adams pulling the trigger on D day.
But that got nothing to do with Jones ability as international coach who took Woodward to extra time in a dour ***-for-tat arm wrestle final after downing Mitchell’s Ab’s
Its only Jones who saved White from being a nobody and White knows it deep down only too well.
2 Sep 2012, 00:21 am
@fitz1ella-258:
white knows nothing of the sort, you playing psychological games, and you know it deep down, white and the boks were favourites to take on the ABs at that RWC long before EJ arrive on the scene – speak the truth for godsake.
2 Sep 2012, 00:26 am
White got the inside track to coaching rugby because he was a Jeppe school boy rugby coach .. same as PdV and Meyer.. they all ex school teacher rugby coaches.. same as Uncle Teddy Pendergrass Henry .. they all got where they landed from coaching rugby at school..
I dropped out of school because it bored me to death.. because achy fakey idiots like JW thought the sun shone out their proverbial underpants when they called the cadets drill on Thursday morning roll call before marching to uit die blou van onse hemel… lich ja lich ja lich ja looit …
otherwise I also coulda maybe shoulda been a lucky packet WC fluking rugby coach .. just like doos de doo Jakey Fakey drum majorette White..
2 Sep 2012, 00:27 am
yeah you were right there, fkn school for retards, maybe you ahead of your time afterall.
2 Sep 2012, 00:36 am
well Boks were rated 4th going into WC 2007.. Boks had slipped to almost same level White found them after WC 2003 under Streauli.. all the way back to IRB rank 4th .. that why they got such a lucky packet draw.. only 7th rank England and 10th rank Samoa to beat in their pool and then supposed to meet AB’s in semi’s except France did them the greatest of favors cause Barnsey and Kaplan thought it pertinent to turn a blind eye to Michalak’s forward pass…
but before they met Argy in semi’s they had to take care of 14th rank Tonga in pools and 12th rank Fiji in quarters. and both those nobody teams almost put them right out the tournament… that’s how fundamentally dominant Whites Boks were in 2007 who beat 7th rank England in the final by playing kick chase bore fest rugby for 80 minutes scoring 5 lucky packet penalties to 2 from England.
2 Sep 2012, 00:38 am
Is Skop and Cab the same person?
2 Sep 2012, 00:38 am
100 years from now if we all still functioning as a species, school elitism capitalism and all that **** be viewed as archaric as racism. until then vokmaarvoort, waar is die brannewyn? funny thing is, insofar as pure logic and boring applicable skills are concerned the asian fellas are light years ahead – now the west going to start losing, going to be allsorts of wailing.
ou doos maybe i promote you to head shitstirrer supreme.
2 Sep 2012, 00:45 am
Wow amazing how I never spotted that before a few nights ago. Well hidden guy. You know your stuff.
2 Sep 2012, 00:45 am
you couldnt dream of a worse situation if you tried, fixing ppl into sitting down tied to a desk, reading a prescribed curriculum, workjing 9 to 6, getting fkd cos they didnt get the right parents or schools or grades when 12 years old – what a gdam nightmare, might as well close the entire fkn thing down, we left with technocrat poefdas in charge, and as sure as **** if anyone can fk-up they can, and they know it too, the brits are the epitome of it, its a gdam nightmare scenario waiting too happen, noone does any decent honest labour anymore.
2 Sep 2012, 00:58 am
well that’s civilization for you … its the epitome of brain dead zombie world sleepwalking from birth until death do us part… lig ja lig ja lig ja looit
gooie naand ouma eks out vir die count…
2 Sep 2012, 01:06 am
gaan kak oupa ou doos, vat n ****** ruskansie. whatever the fk that is.
so whats the alternative we swing with the orangutang’s?
yep but u not wrong there, ditching school early on probably the best thing anyone could do. takes balls tho, not being in the system, processed like a hoener, hiedie een is vir durban..
2 Sep 2012, 01:08 am
old lightzone reckons he just discovered a moonbeam dazzling down main street
I reckon he’s still in the twilight zone not quite sure if he’s a good morning starshine or a photon from the dark side of the galaxy furthest from Orion
We starve-look .. At one another .. Short of breath… Walking proudly in our winter coats… Wearing smells from laboratories… Facing a dying nation
Of moving paper fantasy… Listening for the new told lies… With supreme visions of lonely tunes
Somewhere… Inside something there is a rush of… Greatness…. Who knows what stands in front of…. Our lives…. I fashion my future on films in space
Silence…. Tells me secretly….Everything
Everything
Singing our space songs on a spider web sitar…. Life is around you and in you
Answer for Timothy Leary, dearie
Let the sunshine
Let the sunshine in
The sunshine in
Let the sunshine
Let the sunshine in
The sunshine in
Let the sunshine
Let the sunshine in
The sun shine in…
2 Sep 2012, 01:14 am
nag ou snert
too late for mistaken identities.. or fairy tale rhymes
night night said the gobsmacked hobgoblin its time for the tinsel town tide to turn retrograde and look deep inside.
g’night
2 Sep 2012, 01:15 am
goodnight ou doos.
2 Sep 2012, 02:01 am
What a difference Nic Groom made today.
ALLISTER!!! DID YOU SEE???
PPRRRROOOOOOOVVVIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNCCCCCCCCCCCCEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
Die Bulle is darem lekker gemoer gisteraand.
2 Sep 2012, 04:18 am
@fitz1ella-270: Jirre maar jy kan ‘n klomp tos praat jong ? Is jy ‘n f@kken dronklap of iets of is jy maar net van geaardheid ‘n kontkop ? Hoekom so suur ?
2 Sep 2012, 07:34 am
I agree with Skop. Jake White had a good first season with the Boks and then the rails came off badly afterward. White also employed a forward based kick and chase game with emphasis on defence. This is the same tactic as Meyer so for him to say that HM is a d00s is pot and kettle stuff. Eddie Jones was invaluable at RWC 2007. One could see the difference between his influence and then backline coach Alistair Coetzee, who I don’t rate at all.
Carel Dup was the coach who brought Honiball to prominence as well so I agree with Skop again. That team was playing fantastic running rugby and culminated in us thrashing Aus. Pity that SARU had decided before that game to sack Sarel. When Mallett took over he just adopted the same blueprint and has Carel Du Plessis to thank. For some reason Mallett reverted back to traditional bash em up Bok rugby and his goose was cooked. Bok forwards don’t dominate like they used to so its pointless bashing away. We need to adopt a more attacking approach and buy into Carel’s vision (like Plumtree at the Sharks).
2 Sep 2012, 07:39 am
WP have always been about running rugby. Its the bloody Newlands way! WP only needed 35-40% of the possession to beat most teams in their heyday. They would run teams off their feet from anywhere and everywhere on the park. I miss those days.
2 Sep 2012, 09:04 am
WP finally score a few tries, win a game, and all Stormers for Bokke and all is good with the world again! Our WP friends are a funny bunch.
So much hype surrounds their overrated union!
2 Sep 2012, 09:21 am
Nuus24.com Tuis Blogs Maak Rapport jou tuisblad OLX Geklassifiseerd Jobs Property Cars kalahari.com
Wêreldrekords vir Oscar en Arnu
Oscar Pistorius en Arnu Fourie het ’n wonderlike dag vir Suid-Afrika by die Paralimpiese Spele elk met ’n wêreldrekord gevier.
Saluta continua vir Dirty Harry
Sy kaalbaskaperjolle het prins Harry in ’n verleentheid gestel, maar duisende Britte tree nou kaal aan om hul prins te salueer.
Argiewe
Hidden tab for homepage Nuus
Sport
Sake
Opinie
MyRapport
Multimedia
Bylaes
Koerante
Rapport-projekte Suid-Afrika | Wêreld | WeekliksRugby | Krieket | AnderMarkte | Ekonomie | OpinieHoofartikels | Rubrieke | BlogsBriewe | StoriesMyTyd | Boeke | Motors | Reis | JipBeeld | Die Burger | Volksblad | Sondag | City Press | Meer VennoteRapportklub
Heyneke skommel
2012-09-01 23:52
Artikelopsies
Druk artikel e-pos artikel Deel
Yahoo Google Digg del.icio.us Facebook Twitter Kry Rapport op
Jou selfoon Rudolph Lake
Ruan Pienaar agter die skrum vir die Bokke met Francois Hougaard op vleuel – én ’n nuwe agtsteman in Duane Vermeulen om die span meer slaankrag te gee.
Dít is die waarskynlike skuiwe wat die Springbok-afrigter, Heyneke Meyer, vandeesweek aan sy begin-vyftiental gaan maak vir Saterdag se Rugby-kampioenskaptoets in Perth teen Australië.
Die Bokke het gisteraand na Australasië vertrek vir hul twee weg-toetse teen die Wallabies en die All Blacks, met die wete dat twee nederlae die einde van hul drome van sukses in die nuwe Rugby-kampioenskapreeks sal beteken.
Die Springbokke is die afgelope week kwaai gekritiseer, nadat hulle verlede Saterdag in Mendoza gelykop teen Argentinië gespeel het.
Veral die skakelpaar van Hougaard en Morné Steyn het kwaai onder die tonge van kenners deurgeloop, terwyl Meyer se spelpatroon ook hewig gekritiseer is.
Meyer het gister voor die Springbokke se vertrek oorsee aan Sport24 gesê hy en die span glo aan hul spelpatroon, maar het dit teen die Argentyne nie effektief en perfek uitgevoer nie. Die Bokke se afronding was ook nie goed nie.
“Ons het die afgelope week hard gewerk om dit reg te stel en vertrek met vertroue oorsee.
“Die toetse teen die Wallabies en All Blacks gaan egter ’n reuse karakter-toets vir almal in die span wees – en ek sal daarna ’n beter prentjie hê van watter spelers goed genoeg is om op toetsvlak te presteer. Dit is nou die tyd vir die spelers om te wys wie kán en wie kan nie,” het Meyer gesê.
Die Bok-breier wou nie gister enigiets oor moontlike veranderinge aan die span verklap nie, maar uit die Bokke se oefensessie was dit duidelik dat Pienaar geoormerk is om Saterdag in Hougaard se plek agter die skrum vir die Bokke diens te doen.
Hougaard sal dan op vleuel uitdraf.
Met Pienaar op nr.?9 tydens die oefensessie, was daar veel meer vloei in die agterlyn.
Dié veteraan van 56 toetse se taktiese skopwerk is ook veel beter as dié van Hougaard, wat ’n baie meer aanvallende speler is en straks vir die Bokke meer werd sal wees op die punt.
Die nuweling Johan Goosen het in die oefening ook heel tuis op losskakel gelyk – en dit sal geen verrassing wees indien hy Saterdag op die bank is nie.
Al wat hom van die plaasvervangerbank kan hou, is Meyer se oorweging om vyf reserwe-voorspelers pleks van die gebruiklike vier te kies. In daardie geval sal die Bokke net twee agterspelers kan kies, met die keuse wat dan tussen Pat Lambie en Goosen sal val.
Voorlangs lyk dit na ’n uitgemaakte saak dat die Stormers-agtsteman Duan Vermeulen sy langverwagte debuut vir die Springbokke sal maak.
Sy insluiting sal meebring dat Willem Alberts terug na sewe-flank sal skuif in Jacques Potgieter se plek.
Potgieter kan hom saam met Francois Louw op die plaasvervangerbank bevind, sou Meyer op vyf reserwe-voorspelers besluit.
Louw sluit hom môre vanuit Engeland by die Bokke in Perth aan en Meyer wil eers met hom gesels voor hy finaal oor die samestelling van die Bokke se begin-vyftiental en plaasvervangers besluit.
2 Sep 2012, 09:21 am
Ai tog Cab vs Skop.
Again.
2 Sep 2012, 09:25 am
damn…poor cut n paste job….
F Louw for openside Meyer!!
Asseblief..
2 Sep 2012, 10:04 am
@fitz1ella-269
you need a HAIR cut
2 Sep 2012, 10:18 am
As a bulls fan i eagerly await the wpv bulls game at newlands,hoping for a bulls win but what do i see from the bulls NOTHING no defence,no attack,no gameplan.no HEART no rugby,no anything NOTHING.To get beaten if you have played well is hard to accept,to get beaten when you play the way the bulls did is a shock to the system,and it is very hard for me to take it in.If you bulls players ever read this website YOU SHOULD ALL HANG YOUR HEADS IN SHAME after that truely shocking performance as you are SPINELESS in your play.To let a very average wp team demolish you like that is an absolute disgrace firstly to yourselves, the bulls fans,and the famous jersey you wear.If i were in charge of the bulls i would not pay them for that performance,as there was NOTHING good about it.If you get beaten it happens,but at least go down fighting and you could not even do that,all i saw was surrender.I had better not write any more or i am going to smash my pc up and they are not worth it.When the bulls play well i am the first to praise them,but when they play like that i am the first to bollock them,and they deserve it.
2 Sep 2012, 10:31 am
It wasn’t really the result of last week’s Test match in Mendoza that was so disturbing, for the Puma ability to push big teams at home should not be underestimated, but rather the reaction to the abjectly below-par performance from first the coach and then later the captain.
The captain, Jean de Villiers, said in the media this week that there was no problem with the gameplan of Heyneke Meyer, the failure to fire against Argentina was just down to poor execution.
Heard that one before?
It was what the Bok leadership said over and over again when they went into the 2010 Tri-Nations without Fourie du Preez and one or two key forwards and then continued to try and play as if they were there and ended up coming stone last.
The problem is that Du Preez is not there any more, the forwards aren’t as dominant as they used to be when they had a raft of legendary players making up the pack.
If we collected a 50 cent piece for every time Meyer speaks about the need for toughness and greater physicality, we would surely be quickly in the market for at the very least a small ostrich farm somewhere in the Klein Karoo.
When Meyer talks about these things it appears to confirm the biggest reservation I had about him taking up the job – the years he spent away from coaching at the highest level may have introduced a time-warp effect.
He still seems to be stuck in the era when his Bulls team had so many intimidating big men that they just bullied every opponent into submission. His game depends so much on forward domination and the Boks getting the better of their opponents physically and in a way the reaction of the media and the public to the performances of the halfbacks these past Saturdays sums up the problem.
In Cape Town the Bok pack had the ascendancy and everyone was writing and saying that Morné Steyn and Francois Hougaard had answered their critics.
But then when the forward advantage wasn’t so marked last week, and it was the opposition rather than the Bok forwards that were doing the bossing, all the old question marks resurfaced.
It was a case of lose the battle for complete physical domination and you effectively go up the proverbial creek without a paddle.
It was reminiscent of a stage of the Peter de Villiers era.
It will be recalled how completely dominant the Boks were with their strategy of strangle and suffocate in the 2009 Tri-Nations, but then when the Boks were fronted physically and played at their own game, such as in the Brisbane Test of that year and then later against France and Ireland, it was as if they just had nothing to give.
For me, that Steyn seems to be judged by some critics almost exclusively on his ability to kick goals is a problem in itself.
Just like a captain should be good enough to be part of the team, so a goalkicker needs to be able to contribute in his all-round game.
It’s been said over and over again, but was never more evident than last week – Steyn just lines up way too deep to be a factor on attack and one of the most marked differences between the Bok team under Meyer and the one that played in the World Cup last year relates to the influence of Steyn’s namesake, Frans.
Whereas the Boks had their problems on attack earlier in the De Villiers era, the arrival of Rassie Erasmus as technical adviser last season contributed to a much better rounded game from the Boks.
Morné Steyn improved his attacking game considerably and played a lot closer to the gainline.
This brought Frans Steyn into his own as a ball carrier and decision maker alongside him, and it proved key to the Boks for once being able to find the right balance between defence and attack.
But this year we haven’t seen Frans deployed in a similar role to last year, and when he gets the ball he is too far from the gainline and frequently is in a situation where he has little option but to kick it.
If Meyer wants to be successful in Australia and New Zealand over the next two weeks he is going to have to make the innovations needed for (Frans) Steyn to rediscover his attacking mojo.
Is he up to it?
Only time will tell, but so far there hasn’t been any indication that he has any inclination towards moving away from his rigid adherence to what he knows and trusts.
Unfortunately from day one he has been determined to surround himself with like minds rather than people who might challenge him, and with Erasmus no longer alongside him in the coaching box I have less faith than I had during the England series
2 Sep 2012, 10:51 am
The Bulls can consider themselves lucky they didn’t have their players that Heyneke Meyer selected against the Argies. If that was the case, the WP would have slaughtered them by 82 – 6. The WP must now sort out the drainfish to stop their arrogance, and all is back to normal again.
2 Sep 2012, 10:55 am
Honiball’s first test was against Argentina under Ian Mac, not under Carl. Honiball was subsequently injured and would not play a part under Kitch. Honiball and Stransky alternated at flyhalf under Markgraff during the Tri Nations in ’96.
2 Sep 2012, 11:13 am
@W.P-274: The reason was because Mallett could no longer call upon an inside center with distribution skills. There was Muller and no one else. Muir had retired as had le Roux. Nick started going down the route of converting Fleck into an inside center but was fired.
It all comes back to the skill levels and game plans of provincial and franchise coaches, and has done since re-admission.
2 Sep 2012, 11:15 am
@grant10-279: Not for the starting lineup next weekend. The Boks have been training all week and Flo is only joining them in Australia after playing for Bath this weekend. He will either remain in the extended squad or be on the bench, probably the latter imo.
2 Sep 2012, 11:24 am
Humphrey blow it out your @ss. I never claimed WP/Stormers to be superior to any other union. Get that chip off your shoulder dude. You sound like a Sharks supporter
2 Sep 2012, 11:24 am
Dream Bok coaching team: Heineke as head coach aka Stampkar King, Strauli as forwards coach and responsible for ‘spanbou and gees komitee’
At one of the many the manne naweeke Markgraaf will be appointed as head of transformation and development.
Backline, defense and kicking coach will be Naas but only if he gets Robbie Wessels to write a song about him and Loftus agree to play it each time the Bulls kick an up-n-under.
Os du Rand will be the conditioning coach and official skaap tjop supplier to the boks.
2 Sep 2012, 11:37 am
@mikeybrass-286: No Mikey!!
Gary Gold [ Bath Dir of rugby ] reckons F Louw has had a great 9 week preseason and they had 4 preseason games before yesterday match ….
He says Louw in best shape and form of his career….
Why wait? Vermeulen looks likely to play at 60 % of fitness? I would have F Louw at openside to compete on the deck a sap…..
The Aussies will try and speed the game up and take it wide…..Louw will be a very important counter….
For the Aussies I would actually start with Alberts at 8
Marcelle at 7 and
Louw at 6….
Would like to counter Aussie game with the pace of Marcelle and Louw….Vermeulen, at this stage of his comeback, may be blowing hard to keep up with a quick game the Aussies will bring….
Let Vermeulen get 30 min under the belt second half and see if he can maybe start against the Kiwis , where we may need more muscle…..
But as long as Brussow unavailable it is best to start with F Louw….and I would in both matches..
2 Sep 2012, 11:38 am
@mikeybrass-286: boks only got together Thursday….not training all week Mike
2 Sep 2012, 11:42 am
against Aussies
6 F Louw
7 M Coetsee
8 alberts
Vermeulen on bench
against Kiwis
6 F Louw
7 Alberts
8 Vermeulen….
Marcelle on bench
2 Sep 2012, 11:54 am
@grant10-290: It will take a day or two more for Flo to hook up. Then there are things like learning the calls etc. No way will he be in the starting lineup against the Aussies. It’s unrealistic.
2 Sep 2012, 12:02 pm
@grant10-279:
but the article says he’ll be considered for a bench spot, if he’s lucky?
2 Sep 2012, 12:06 pm
@mikeybrass-292: Well we will be up against it then Mike…..I am sure Heyneke could have mailed Louw the calls/ game plan thinking, etc?
This conversion process of M Coetsee is still born….Botes and Keegan are going to be there for the sharks, as is that Cloete and Kleinahns youngsters….so Maecelle will either be at 7 or 8 for sharks…..
I dont like this Hybrid thinking for such an important position…..Marcelle has all the attributes to be a brilliant 7 or 8…….dont mess the oke around by putinng him up against specialists at openside….not fair on him or the team…
2 Sep 2012, 12:07 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-293: I am staing my opinion Bakkies….I dont agree with him not starting….
2 Sep 2012, 12:46 pm
@grant10-295:
ok
2 Sep 2012, 13:09 pm
Keep it up guys!
HM is listening and takes notes, he may not agree with all the proposed game plans and selections but he’s surely to weigh some of it against his own ideas!
The lad is an open mind coach!
2 Sep 2012, 13:10 pm
Brokebacks into beastiality it seems……..
This margin is almost unbelievable.
2 Sep 2012, 13:23 pm
@cane-298:
a bad day at the office, cane
thats all
province didnt win this game so much as the bulls lost it.
2 Sep 2012, 13:25 pm
@papashanga-219:
i disagree, sorry.
2 Sep 2012, 13:34 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-299:
The frightening thing is Bakkies…………………………………..this current crop of Bullies might actually have enjoyed the shagging they received.
All KY Jellied up before kick off.
2 Sep 2012, 13:48 pm
@cane-301:
The Bulletjies got a right royal spanking. Brokeback style.
And don’t listen to Bakkies. There was only one team in it and they played with total freedom as can be seen from the scoreline. It just shows what can happen. There were youngsters galore on both sides. But ours were just better on the day. Now I would like to see them reproduce this sort of performance on a regular basis.
2 Sep 2012, 13:52 pm
@cane-301:
please, this is a rugby blog. can we not stray off topic and remain respectful at the same time.
2 Sep 2012, 13:55 pm
@cane-301:
@I am a stormer-302:
cane, meet i am a stormer….
2 Sep 2012, 14:32 pm
Proteas looking ho-ri-baaaal @ Lords !
2 Sep 2012, 14:56 pm
Bakkies – if the Bulls had lost after dominating WP then its appropriate to say that the Bulls lost it – this however was anal on a large scale. Very inappropriate!
2 Sep 2012, 14:58 pm
Where is gwar gesig skop this morning ?
2 Sep 2012, 14:59 pm
@W.P-306: So the Stormers didn’t lose against the Sharks ? They got reamed ?
2 Sep 2012, 15:01 pm
220 runs for the Proteas may be about 20/30 runs light. Still defendable on this wicket, I think.
“Uber kak” Robbie P helping SA over the 200 run mark with a good knock.
John Galt probably not impressed by that at all.
What are the odds that Robbie will take some wickets and win it for us???
2 Sep 2012, 15:24 pm
@grant10-294: Chopping and changing the loose trio is not what we need. Duane at 8, Alberts back at 7 where he serves the Boks best and Coetzee has done nothing to be dropped. Duane won’t last 80 minutes at which point Flo can be brought on at 7 with Alberts moving to 8. That’s the way I see it going.
Coetzee will be at 6 for the Drainfish in the future.
2 Sep 2012, 15:26 pm
“Heyneke skommel”
2012-09-01 23:52
Rudolph Lake
Opskrif in Rapport.
So, dis die rede vir die Bokke se kak spel. Die afrigter is besig om te skommel pleks daarvan om af te rig.
2 Sep 2012, 15:27 pm
@cane-301: LOL LOL
@mikeybrass-310: Also Grant, there is no way a new player flying in from the north to meet up with a Bok team that not only trained last week but has trained together for a couple of weeks will jump straight into the starting lineup. There is nothing like learning the calls on the field.
2 Sep 2012, 15:28 pm
@mikeybrass-310:
Alberts actually serves the Boks best coming on as an impact player in the last 25/30 minutes of the match.
Same with Hougaard.
2 Sep 2012, 15:39 pm
Wallabies training squad for next week
- Waratahs prop Paddy Ryan and Western Force wing Nick Cummins have been added to the Wallabies training group which will assemble in Perth on Sunday ahead of the resumption of the Rugby Championship. The pair have both previously been involved with the Wallabies this year, although Ryan missed some training time due to injury.According to the allblacks,com website, a squad of 31 has been named with Reds wing Dominic Shipperley and his state colleague, midfield back Ben Tapuai, both coming into the enlarged main group after previously having trained alongside the squad.The addition of Cummins and Shipperley bolsters the side’s wing resources after the loss this week of experienced wing Drew Mitchell most likely for the season due to a reoccurring ankle tendon injury.Uncapped Reds loose forward Jake Schatz has also been ruled out due to a shoulder problem and will undergo further scans before a course of rehabilitation is charted.Brumbies inside centre Pat McCabe makes a welcome return, after injury ruled him out of the two Bledisloe Cup Tests which opened The Rugby Championship. He is continuing rehabilitation from the stress fracture in his foot. While the injury is progressing well, he won’t be considered for selection until Australia’s match against Argentina at Skilled Park on the Gold Coast on September 15 at the earliest.The Wallabies will name their squad of 22 players for the Perth Test on Tuesday.The Wallabies face the Springboks at Patterson’s Stadium on Saturday, September 8 bidding to defend the Nelson Mandela Challenge Plate, which Australia has held since the epic 41-39 win over South Africa at Bloemfontein in 2010.Australia have won their last four Tests against South Africa and will set a new record for the most consecutive wins achieved against the Springboks should they triumph in Perth.Robbie Deans’s men currently stand tied with the class of 1999 and 2000 which also won four straight against the Boks.However, South Africa boast an excellent record in Tests in Perth, which houses a large expatriate South African community, with the Springboks having won Tests played against the Wallabies in Western Australia in 1998, 2005 and 2009, while the 2001 match was drawn.Australia won the matches played in 2004 and 2008.No more than seven points have separated the two sides across the six Tests played between the teams in Western Australia since SANZAR competition began via the kick-off of the Tri-Nations in 1996.Australia squad:Backline: Adam Ashley-Cooper, Kurtley Beale, Digby Ioane, Dominic Shipperley, Nick Cummins, Rob Horne, Ben Tapuai, Anthony Fainga’a, Mike Harris, Pat McCabe, Berrick Barnes, Quade Cooper, Nick Phipps, Will Genia (captain)Forwards: Scott Higginbotham, Radike Samo, Michael Hooper, Liam Gill, Dave Dennis, Rob Simmons, Nathan Sharpe, Kane Douglas, Caderyn Neville, Sitaleki Timani, Ben Alexander, Paddy Ryan, James Slipper, Benn Robinson, Saia Fainga’a, Stephen Moore, Tatafu Polota Nau
2 Sep 2012, 15:41 pm
@nama1-313: I’d start with Pienaar at scrummy and Alberts at 7. Many of our problems come from ball retention and counter-rucking as a unit amongst the forwards.
2 Sep 2012, 15:43 pm
F Louw or Brussow at 6….
Marcelle will be sadly misused at opensider…..
We really must stay away from the confusion starting players out of position between country and province…
Bok level is not the place to be learning a new position…
2 Sep 2012, 15:44 pm
Sorry no spaces
Cummings on his day is a good player, strong defender and ball carrier as well as playmaker.
Michael Hooper most likely to start.
Expect Meyer to have flow on the bench if even in the match day squad.
2 Sep 2012, 15:46 pm
@nama1-313: I tend to agree with you Nama…..
It may be risky to play Vermeulen and Alberts in the same trio as you do forsake a bit of pace….
Another reason to let M Coetsee develop at 7……he is quicker than Alberts and makes loads of tackles….
Together with Brussow , the Boks would have 2 tackling machines !!
2 Sep 2012, 15:48 pm
Hooper will be given a far easier ride if Flo on bench.
2 Sep 2012, 15:49 pm
Great win wp… Exceptional!!!
I’ve just heard that schalk burger is with the boks down under? Can any 1 confirm please
2 Sep 2012, 15:51 pm
@nama1-309:
It is going to be a huge ask to pull this one off. Particularly as AB would’ve bowled first as well if he’d won the toss.
And I’ve become a Robbie fan over the past few years after being sceptical at first.
@mikeybrass-310:
If Duane does start, it’ll be the Boks 3rd no.8 in 3 matches. But having said that, HM is slowly getting to the starting loose trio he wanted. With Duane at 8, and Alberts at 7, it is just the no.6 that he is undecided about. Flo might not start this weekend, but should the next.
2 Sep 2012, 15:52 pm
@xtremebull-320: Schalk has been given 1 of 25 bok contracts…
2 Sep 2012, 15:52 pm
Yep and judging on the word re Flows current fitness I would pay the following –
8 Marcel/Alberts (Vermulin off bench last 20/30)
7 Alberts / Marcell (Potsmacker off bech last 20 if needed)
6 Flow
2 Sep 2012, 15:54 pm
@mikeybrass-315:
I’ll leave Hougie at SH for now. He had a good game against the Pumas and was probably the best Bok back line player on the day. Give him another go there. Maybe he is starting to find his feet as an international SH.
However, if everybody is fit, I think Alberts will serve the team better coming on as a sub. Play Schalk at 7 then, He did well in the RWC at 7.
I also don’t agree with the plan to start Hougie on the wing.
2 Sep 2012, 15:58 pm
By: Rob Houwing, Sport24 chief writer2012-08-31 15:08Cape Town -
The Springboks find themselves in a highly unusual position just over a week out from their encounter with Australia in Perth: all three loose forward positions could be said to be “up for grabs”.And this in a department where the country, traditionally, has been so strongly served for many years, even if injuries are playing a major role in instability 2012 the 2012 international campaign.Give some credit to already embattled Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer … he seems to have acted reasonably decisively to address shortcomings in the loose trio that were all too evident in the 16-16 draw with Castle Rugby Championship rookies Argentina in Mendoza last weekend, even if there is also a case for saying he dug the hole in the first place by assembling a combination overloaded in brawn at the expense of skill and stealth.
All three men who started in jerseys six to eight and were outsmarted and even out-bludgeoned by the Pumas – Marcell Coetzee, Jacques Potgieter and Willem Alberts – do remain in the broad squad mix for the next assignment.But by adding the only recently fit-again Duane Vermeulen and British-based Francois Louw to his plans, Meyer has either consciously or subconsciously signalled that a shake-up will be both desired and necessary against the Wallabies.The next challenge for the coach is not only picking the right trio, but deciding who exactly to offer each number, because most of his latest resources at loose forward offer pretty high levels of versatility – something that is both admirable but also potentially complicating and confusing. The most obvious alteration, astute critics probably concur, will be the demotion from the starting XV of Potgieter.A strong and wholehearted player, it is true, the Bulls basher has nevertheless been rather exposed at Test level for subtlety.
Although perhaps not the person best equipped to make this judgement, SA-based Wallabies wing legend David Campese suggested on rugby talk show Boots & All this week that Potgieter “plays more like a prop” in the tight-loose, implying that the Boks are obsessed with traditional, yet also too predictable, beat-‘em-into-submission strengths.If he does get the chop, Alberts ought to shift back to the unglamorous but important blind-side flank role to which he seems greatly better suited than No 8, where his best footballing intentions are impeded by a lack of necessary pace out of the blocks.That begs the question of who, in turn, will assume eighthman duties against Australia if Alberts does make the positional switch.Vermeulen will be an attractive option here for Meyer, especially as he has apparently always wanted to gauge his credentials at Test level.The drawback is that the big unit from Nelspruit has only made two curtailed comeback appearances in the Currie Cup for Western Province after his long-term absenteeism.Yet Meyer may bank on getting, say, 50 suitably combative minutes out of Vermeulen in Perth, before accepting that his man may well run out of puff.An alternative might be to introduce him to the Test fray off the bench in the second half, but then either of Coetzee or Louw, who can play at No 8 but are more accustomed generally to side-of-scrum slots, would have to be stationed there.Speaking of those two, the selection plot only thickens, because who plays as the specialist open-sider in Perth is another mild poser.Coetzee has been a constant there under Meyer’s Bok tenure, and mostly done a sound, sometimes dynamic job, although last Saturday was perhaps his least effective in the role – he, too, has prior experience of No 8 and blind-sider and can come into the reckoning for both.Similarly Louw is just as comfortable at six and seven, and has also extended his own repertoire by doing some No 8 duty for Bath.Fielding both men against Australia could bring benefits, given that it would offer the Boks two fetchers, in certain senses.Lineout factors have to be brought into consideration as well, especially with such world-class practitioners in this department as Juan Smith and Pierre Spies not available, and here Vermeulen (by the way, he can also feasibly be considered at No 7!) could be of great benefit to the Boks.Just another snag to contemplate is that both Vermeulen and Louw (the latter only in English pre-season) are desperately low on game-time – can you risk having them in the same trio in a Test at this stage?By contrast, have people like Coetzee and Alberts, bearing in mind their much-travelled Super Rugby obligations with the Sharks right to the bitter end of that competition, almost had a touch too much rugby for the moment and might actually benefit from a spot of “impact” play for the Boks?These are all things Meyer has to weigh up.Who knows which of the array of combination options is tempting him most right now, but if he went for a starting brew of Coetzee at six, Alberts at No 7 and Vermeulen at No 8, with someone like Louw lurking on the bench, he should have his bases pretty covered …
2 Sep 2012, 16:00 pm
@grant10-318:
Yeah. There is just something NOT right about a loose trio consisting of Coetzee, Alberts and Vermeulen. All ball carriers/defensive type loosies.
Not that much different from Coetzee, Potgieter and Alberts. We saw how that worked out against the Pumas.
@I am a stormer-321:
It will be very difficult indeed.
Hope the boys can do it.
2 Sep 2012, 16:01 pm
Brussow and Scalk combo …..for me…was the only good thing to come out of WC 2011
2 Sep 2012, 16:03 pm
@nama1-326: Criminal to not start with a classic opensider….if you have 1 fit and available.
Flo fits the bill…..
the best is Brussow.
2 Sep 2012, 16:03 pm
2012-08-31 17:22Johannesburg –
Springbok newcomer Duane Vermeulen is proud and relieved to finally be a part of the Springbok camp ahead of the side’s Australasian leg of their Rugby Championship campaign, he said on Friday.
“It’s a great feeling for me. I’ve been working at this for quite a few years now and to be able to get here is a dream come true.”I’m pleased to finally have got the opportunity and I think coach Heyneke [Meyer] has shown a lot of trust in me.
“I feel great. I believe you have to believe in yourself and when the time comes, you must take it as an opportunity.”Vermeulen, fellow newcomer Johan Goosen, and the rest of the Springbok side depart for Perth, Australia on Saturday evening.
They had a training session on Friday and will wrap up their preparations on Saturday morning with a final morning session.The Stormers flank admitted that he and his team-mates still had issues to iron out before they take to the field next weekend, but he was confident the team had what it took to improve on their previous display, when they scraped a 16-16 draw against Argentina in Mendoza.
“After last weekend, there was probably a bad feeling that we drew, but I think there are a lot of positives to draw from the game and now it’s all about improving small issues that went wrong,” he said.”I think we now have to go to Perth and turn the result around. The tournament is still long, so hopefully we have time to improve on that.
“Vermeulen said Meyer phoned him on Tuesday evening to break the news of his inclusion in the touring party.”I got a personal call from Heyneke and he said he wanted to tell me personally, so that it comes from his side, and to tell me that I’m part of the Australasian tour,” he said.”
To finally be part of the squad and to be one of the guys is a great feeling.”The former Cheetahs forward said he relished the prospect of the physical encounters that lay ahead overseas, and had worked hard to return to full fitness in an attempt to demand a place in the starting line-up.
“One can always improve, so there is always something to work on. I’m in the gym every day, busy with rehabilitation and conditioning,” he said.”
The physical aspect of the game is definitely not something that scares me. I quite enjoy the physical battle.”I must say, I weighed myself on Monday in Cape Town and I weighed this morning again and I’ve lost three kilograms, so I think there has been some good work that we’ve been doing.”SAPA
2 Sep 2012, 16:04 pm
@grant10-327:
Stick Keegan in at 8 and you have the perfect loose trio imo.
Alternatively, convert Coetzee into an 8 and ditto.
2 Sep 2012, 16:13 pm
@nama1-330: Keegan has been hard done by…..that J Potgieter selection is perplexing…
2 Sep 2012, 16:17 pm
The other issue is though the collective work rate and management of the entire forward unit the locks and more so Bekker need to tackle low and that f Hougaard if he starts at 9 he needs to stop hesitating at ever ruck and get that farking ball out. All forwards need to up their game then the challenge is for Morne to TRY challenge the gane line and put 12/13 into space. If He I. Proved in this aspect for the Rugby WC with Erasmus helping or whT ever then don’t see why he cat do it again! Well other than Brussow ot being there.
2 Sep 2012, 16:18 pm
If he improved*
2 Sep 2012, 16:20 pm
M Steyn????
Attack the gain Line???
Wishful thinking
2 Sep 2012, 16:25 pm
@grant10-316: And yet you want to play Marcell at 7 whereas he plays 6 for the Sharks?
2 Sep 2012, 16:26 pm
@I am a stormer-321: Yes, the 3rd no 8. However, Duane is rumoured to be HM’s first choice 8.
2 Sep 2012, 16:28 pm
By Heyneke Meyer selecting Francois Louw indicates to me that there has been a monumental shift in his thinking. As HM regards the no.6′s playing to the ball as being penalty liabilities. But this was shown up in the last test against Argentina where you do require such a specialist.
And I reckon that if Brussow wasn’t currently injured, he would have got the call up ahead of Flo.
Because Heyneke has stated that he will only call up an overseas player if one playing in South Africa is unavailable.
2 Sep 2012, 16:28 pm
@nama1-324: Yes, Schalk at 7 when he is fit again with Alberts on the bench.
Still think Pienaar for 9 starter.
2 Sep 2012, 16:30 pm
@mikeybrass-336:
He is.
When questioned about his loose trio combo by Ian Mac, Duane’s name was the first one out of his mouth. And that was before Spies injured his pinkie.
2 Sep 2012, 16:34 pm
@I am a stormer-337:
Steggies is available and in SA, not so? He played the fetcher role before for the Boks.
Don’t be fooled by Flo’s selection. He got the nod because of his size.
Still not sure where HM stands wrt HB, to be honest.
2 Sep 2012, 16:42 pm
@nama1-340:
IMO Steggies is unavailable.
I mean what if he accidentally does an ankle during training?
Seems like he has fallen off the bus.
2 Sep 2012, 16:44 pm
i saw marcelle playing at 7 for sharks with daniels at6 and kanko at 8…
2 Sep 2012, 16:46 pm
in fact Marcelle was so good at 7 they moved alberts to 4 ?
2 Sep 2012, 16:47 pm
Not seen much of Nic Groom, but he sounds like the all round scrum half that Western Province and the Stormers need…is he the answer?
We had Neil De Kock and Bolla Conradie who were great but in 2008 so was Ricky Januarie..his form dropped since and Duvenhage is the most inconsistent scrum half going.
2 Sep 2012, 16:50 pm
@I am a stormer-341:
A good thing it is too. Steggies being thrown off the bus.
Titman won’t like it one bit.
England trotting (pun intended) to a comfortable win at the moment.
We urgently need 2/3 wickets asap to get back into the match.
Come on boys.
2 Sep 2012, 16:52 pm
@Rhys7-344:
I hope AC will give him a run. I’ve been asking for a while for him to be selected.
2 Sep 2012, 16:54 pm
@nama1-346:
a run of a good few matches
2 Sep 2012, 16:59 pm
Had a good laugh today. Did the usual Stellenbosch thing, and riding past Mooiberge, I noticed they have shifted their little scarecrow display somewhat
The Stormers/WP zebra/horse is now mounting the Blue Bull……and shagging the life out of it.
Passers by all seemed very amused…except those with GP number plates.
2 Sep 2012, 16:59 pm
@nama1-346:
One man’s misfortune is another man’s opportunity.
And Groom grabbed the opportunity with both hands. Hope he has an extended run and jumping Schroeder in the mix. And WP mustn’t change a winning combo.
2 Sep 2012, 17:00 pm
Saru take note what the quota system did to our 1day cricket tea… Parnell, peterson, and duminy….. Please, learn from the mistakes…. No more chilliboy, de jongh etc please
2 Sep 2012, 17:00 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-348:
Sounds like something for youtube.
2 Sep 2012, 17:02 pm
@grant100-350:
You are the weakest link.
Koebaai!
2 Sep 2012, 17:04 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-348: Yes and all the people in those GP cars are saying ‘Shame jirre – look how excited they are to win something’
2 Sep 2012, 17:07 pm
Looks to me like Heyneke Meyer has no flippin clue what he is doing. Did he win those super rugby titles by luck ?
2 Sep 2012, 17:09 pm
@Dusky-353: Don’t really care what they are saying mate.
As long as the fools spend their money on our overpriced wine (that can be bought for
half the price at a few estates round the draai).
For the moment, we’ll take their money, and their pride dankie.
And not to feel left out…yes, the Sharks also have a scarecrow. Looks like
a toddlers attempt at a paper mache tuna fish, but it says “Sharks” on it….
2 Sep 2012, 17:11 pm
@Dusky-354: No No No. The Natalians sang the mans praises, and wailed with happiness when he announced his 1st squad.
And now all we hear is whinging from you experts?
Tell us what has changed why don’t you?
2 Sep 2012, 17:16 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-356:
Be gentle with him. He at least saw the light.
2 Sep 2012, 17:17 pm
@W.P-306:
bullls did not front up.
they gave this game to wp.
2 Sep 2012, 17:27 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-358:
Too bloody right the Bulls didn’t front up.
They rolled over and had their tummies tickled. Brokeback style.
2 Sep 2012, 17:30 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-358: Bakkies. With a scoreline
like that…you did more than ‘give’ us the game.
You know what I think, I think the Bulls have just bought too many young assasins, all with massive potential of course, but none of them yet identify with or completely buy into,
the Bulls culture/identity/philosophy.
Add to that a coach with zero ‘Bulls’ identity – and you get what you saw last night, super talented players with zero ‘play for the jersey’ guts and glory.
I was there, and let me tell you, CJ Stander (a true Bull, and one who is leaving….was ripping skin off the backline players behind the posts…)
WP might be playing with a hodge podge of players – but they play for their jersey.
2 Sep 2012, 17:42 pm
@nama1-340:
Words of prudence
F Louw played yesterday in England for Bath, he will be ready to play on Saturday in Perth at 09:00 GMT!
2 Sep 2012, 17:42 pm
i hope vermeulen squares up, i think he will.
i do respect elstadt, he was good lastnight but he’s stil too much of a vuilgat for the bok selectors to consider him i think.
i feel the loose trio is still too light, coetzee should be benched. leftfield i would play elsadt at 6 and to hell with fetching.
elstadt 6
alberts 7
vermeulen 8
locks needs to be much more physical (i like eztebeth but he is about 5 years short on top physical abiltiy, streetsmarts and experience).
would play
bakkies 4
kruger/eztebeth 5
it is clear now that the props were just passengers riding along on the bismarck express.
would play
gurthro/ginger 1
strauss 2
cilliers 3
and there’s your bok pack for winning the rugby championship right there.
2 Sep 2012, 17:47 pm
@I am a stormer-359:
enjoy it, christmas comes once a year
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-360:
agreed on stander, he gave eveything and never showed the body language of surrender.
i honestly can say this was a bad day at the office considering how the team played last week compared to this. ther is no other logical explanation.
very erratic, very up and down.
believe me, they will take a lot out of this showing.
2 Sep 2012, 17:49 pm
@Hondo-361:
i doubt that.
it would be stupid.
he’ll be jetlagged for sure. worst case he should come off the bench.
2 Sep 2012, 17:54 pm
england spoiling the party?
2 Sep 2012, 17:58 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-365:
True. I’m watching the highlights of the match between WP and the Blue Bulls instead.
2 Sep 2012, 17:58 pm
The Bookies put their initial odds for the Boks at 10:1 in Perth
It means those in the know have their doubts about SARU and its backers to ‘influence’ Nigel Own, might be the ARU time?
Those odds makers have their reliable information gathering means and assessments by experts, I wouldn’t underestimate them
2 Sep 2012, 18:03 pm
@nama1-366:
you’re wasting your time.
theres only one team on the field
2 Sep 2012, 18:09 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-364:
It’s flying EAST 10 time zones, which has a sever effect for a forward who needs to recover from his 80 minutes on Saturday, the flight duration by itself is also a factor
And then, are there direct flights from London to Perth? best case scenario Louw will land Monday and should be ready Sat morning
Crazy
2 Sep 2012, 18:11 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-363:
You’ve got to live your life like it’s Christmas everyday. Don’t worry, the Bulls will bounce back.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-362:
Agreed with a lot of what you said here.
No secret that Heyneke has got it wrong in his selections a number of times. There have been bad choices but there have also been injuries, retirements, guys moving to greener pastures etc etc.
I have been one of those on here advocating for him to be given more time to get things right. And his latest squad bears testimony to that. Sure Sharks players and supporters feel hard done by. But you can’t please all of the people all of the time. The rooikop, Pat Cilliers and even Gurthro will want their places bad.
And the culture he is trying to instil in the players is that no-one owns his jersey. You have to play each test as if it’s your last. And if guys like Beast, Jannie dup and Morne are rested for a few tests, it will mean that have to go back and train harder.
That is how it has got to be. No other way.
2 Sep 2012, 18:22 pm
@Hondo-369:
so he’ll feature in the nz game instead?
@I am a stormer-370:
yip agreed on playing for you place.
whatever physicality is lost in strauss for bissy is made up in gurthro for beast.
at the moment anyone for jdp is a good thing.
put him in the reserves and make him hungry again.
2 Sep 2012, 18:25 pm
@grant10-343: Alberts filled in at 4 for injury
2 Sep 2012, 18:31 pm
@grant10-342: True. My bad.
However, I don’t think Alberts is an international standard 8. I think Coetzee can be but I’d rather he played there for the Sharks first to learn about the position properly at top levels.
2 Sep 2012, 19:06 pm
Time for gary kirsten to go….icking robin p, duminy who dont even make the cobras team .. And ontong in the squad… Wtf….
2 Sep 2012, 19:07 pm
Oh and parnell…. Shocking
2 Sep 2012, 19:08 pm
@grant100-374:
Don’t forget Amla.
What is he doing there?
2 Sep 2012, 19:10 pm
Amla deserves his place … The others are hond k@k
2 Sep 2012, 19:22 pm
saffa sinks england.
saffa sinks sa.
2 Sep 2012, 19:25 pm
a tale of two saffas
2 Sep 2012, 20:18 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-362:
‘ And to hell with fetching ‘ ????
Deans and Hansen will love you Bakkies….
More free lunches at the breakdown why you try and ‘Oordonder ‘ everyone with brawn…
Vok…sal jy ooit leer?
2 Sep 2012, 20:23 pm
this sa odi team is a farkup of note.
too many bits ‘n bobs so-called allrounders.
can’t bat very well or quickly.
and dibbly-dob bowlers.
we need 5 good batsmen,a 10-an-over batter, a wickie who can bat better than average, 3 wicket-taking quickies and a spinner/allrounder.
so;
smith
amla
duminy
ab
miller
albie
tsotsobe
peterson
philander
steyn
morne
ab shouldn’t keep wicket and bat – leave him at point and let him enjoy himself.
2 Sep 2012, 20:28 pm
actually, not that i’m over impressed with either of them,
would prefer botha over peterson – for odi’s especially.
2 Sep 2012, 20:39 pm
@charo-381:
Smith
Amla
Kallis
AB (wk)
Faf
Duminy
A. Morkel (when he shows form again)
Robin P
Parnell/M. Morkel
Steyn
Tsotsobe
2 Sep 2012, 20:46 pm
@nama1-383:
hmmmmmm…
i think that kallis is being saved for the big tournaments.
why have ab keeping wicket and then include tsotsobe?
faf – prefer david miller or that behardien (spelling?) guys from titans.
if johan botha available then him over peterson – mainly because he doesn’t stick his tongue in his cheek so much.
2 Sep 2012, 20:48 pm
oh, and parnell should stick to ipl.
philander would be perfect for death bowling.
2 Sep 2012, 20:50 pm
@nama1-383:
Tsotsobe is a bowler….
You’re probably thinking about Tsolekile,
Peterson performed better than Botha ever since the CWC.
Faf can spin an over or two if the need arises.
2 Sep 2012, 20:50 pm
@grant10-380:
its not such a stupid idea grant. elstadt would provide grunt and blunt the opposition on defense much like a fetcher should as well as provide an extra bashing option on attack. the danger of the anzacs is less to do with fetchers than it is to do with illegalities.
and these illegalities must be beaten out of them, if the refs dont oblige.
2 Sep 2012, 20:52 pm
@charo-385:
Probably the best death bowler in SA if he gets it right on the day.
2 Sep 2012, 21:00 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-387: Bakkies….
Thank fark you not a selector
or a coach
Keep your day job
ek vra mooi
2 Sep 2012, 21:10 pm
@nama1-386:
sorry, yes tsolekile as keeper.
tsotsobe has a lot of potential though – played well today.
parnell is a bit loose for odi – philander has much more discipline.
not a fan of botha or peterson – both come across as a bit arrogant – but botha is tighter and doesn’t give away many runs.
good for holding up an end.
and is a better outfielder
2 Sep 2012, 21:11 pm
@grant10-389:
the funny thing is i feel the same way about you. thats the beauty of armchair coaching, eveyone’s a kenner
but seriously, it’s pretty clear what meyer’s coaching philosophy entails, more or less. and i agree, we must learn to be brekers again. subtelty and finesse will come later.
2 Sep 2012, 21:19 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-371:
He surely will be ready the following week
But the Wallabies Test’s more important because the Boks always fancy their chances against them, the ABs test is an after thought, the NZRU is on the watch since 2008 and will not allow any attempt to sway the referees in their own house!
2 Sep 2012, 21:24 pm
Finesse will come later lol you dont really believe that you are dead in the water, outdated game
plan, substandard coaches, robot like players, big attitude which cant be justified on the paddock get real son neutral ref farked you up once Gerty left in 76 it was all down hill
2 Sep 2012, 21:42 pm
@Hondo-392:
i dont understand you most times.
why 2008?
@NZINCHINA-393:
always happy to entertain you china.
now if only neutral refs could sort you cheating lot, it would be a level playing field and maybe then the world could see just how good these ab’s really are.
2 Sep 2012, 21:43 pm
anyway, i’m off to bed.
big meeting in the morning.
try not to stick your head to far up your arse tonight, china
2 Sep 2012, 21:50 pm
@charo-390:
maybe smith should step down and we put in a pinch hitter to open.
amla can be the steady eddy rotating the strike?
where’s loots bosman these days?
2 Sep 2012, 21:58 pm
its pretty clear what neutral refs have done for your record, the days of Gerty are over the ultimate cheat
3 Sep 2012, 09:40 am
Vrede, what do you have against a spell checker?
3 Sep 2012, 10:45 am
Wow, JJ Engelbrecht was bossed in this game by a junior member (JP Du Plessis #13) of the WP team, lol. HM’s talent recognision is at an all time low.
3 Sep 2012, 10:48 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-362: Unbalanceed loose trio looks like a Pretoria desease. Lol, that is a rhino pack, big, strong and bloody dumb.
3 Sep 2012, 15:19 pm
FML!! I have not seen a more pathetic Bulls effort in a while. It made the loss to the Blues earlier this year look good. Ag nee man, sies!!