Province pound pathetic Bulls

RYAN VREDE watched Western Province comprehensively outplay the Bulls in their 42-6 win at Newlands.

The quality of the match was poor in parts, but this was understandable given the calibre of player on show – most of whom were Vodacom Cup standard. Certainly injuries and Springbok call ups were also mitigating factors.

But WP, vastly superior in every facet of play, won’t care. There were good signs on attack for a team that has struggled there, the bonus point secured before the final quarter. Their defence, however, remains the bedrock upon which they will build their success. Tonight they blunted the Bulls through an organised and brutal effort. They looked shaky under the high ball at times in the first half, but outside of that were rarely troubled.

The Bulls have big problems. Some of their players should have been playing club rugby this afternoon, not running out in front of a few thousand faithful in Cape Town. How coach Pine Pienaar fixes deeply rooted problems in the week ahead will be decisive.

WP started strongly, replacement scrumhalf Nic Groom (Dewaldt Duvenage was stretchered off with what looks a serious knee injury) sniping around the ruck fringe after a couple of phases. Flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis kicked the conversion to go with an earlier penalty, but Bulls pivot Louis Fouché responded with two three pointers to reduce the defict. That is as close as they would ever come.

The match laboured along until just before the break when a powerful rolling maul culminated in WP captain Deon Fourie crossing the whitewash. Catrakilis banked the extras to give his side a 17-6 half-time lead.

WP produced their best move of the game after the restart, depleting the Bulls’ defensive line through numerous phases before JP du Plessis offloaded brilliantly to set up Marcel Brache for the score. Catrakilis converted to give WP a lead that the Bulls never looked like overturning.

Damian de Allende ensured the five points, finishing a slick backline move and Du Plessis kept the scoreboard ticking for the hosts with a clinical score. WP settled for the mauling they had inflicted on their northern nemesis thereafter. They must build on this impressive performance as they go in search of a home semi-final.

401 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

• 151.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@RugbyStudent-139: Jy praat nou deur jou hol en weet dit. Sit neer daai Cape Hope en Sprite!!
    @Gumboots-128: Baie eina hierdie een. Niks lekker nie maar hey, ons vat hom die ken.
    @W.P-133: Never looked the part though this week. Well done bud. Snotklap indeed!!
    @Dawn-136: Kook water Dawn. Lekker warm in PTA so die lewe is n lied.

• 152.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

How about that Hondo: the man you said was pathetic is MOTM.

• 153.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

I guess a dirty ref was responsible for that decision too, hey Hondo?

• 154.Rage: Reply to this comment

@ 124

Look who’s MOTM…Congrats you have just exposed yourself as a doos.

• 155.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Wat nou charo

• 156.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-141:

a really bad day at the office. it happens.
    province were fortunate to capatilise on a diabolically lacklustre performane by the bulls. very lucky an off foem team showed up tonight.

• 157.Guns: Reply to this comment

lol love_Bakkies we can’t keep using the McCheat defence but we are missing so much talent due to injury and players abroad. Just want to see improvements against Auzzies they will come out fired up for this one Coming, we can all see them being pushed into a dark corner.

• 158.viewer: Reply to this comment

Something ain’t right over at the Bulls, to be so inconsistent from week to week with basically the same 22. From what I’ve seen they lack the hard edge of years gone by.

• 159.Rage: Reply to this comment

@ 140 bakkies

this is a wp/bulls thread.stick to the topic bru

• 160.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Hondo

You’ve exposed yourself totally.

You’re the runt of the litter.

and that’s runt with a c.

• 161.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Guns-157:
    it’ll be a humdinger against oz, that’s for sure.
    i think boks will take it home and away against oz.
    but dont think they are streetsmart enough yet to negate the ab’s cheating. probably will lose away but might pull of a gees win at home.

• 162.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Hondo is just a bang racist peos. I asked him to give his address so that the boys and I can visit him at his braai to ‘chat’ over his comments about non-white players. Should be an interesting ‘debate’. :) Common Hondo, don’t be a bang peos, meet us and say the same things you say on here. But you won’t cause you googled troll and that’s what you are.

• 163.grant10: Reply to this comment

Fouche the next Bok 10???????

Fark me …

• 164.Humphrey: Reply to this comment

do you all honestly think that Hondo gives two sh*ts what you say about him, he probably gets a big kick from the reaction.

• 165.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-161:

I don’t think so. The Aussies will beat the Boks at home. The All Blacks are just a class above right now. If the Aussies lose, Robbie Deans is out.

• 166.charo: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-155:

not much.

kak game.

from both sides.

was expecting the messiah fleckie to spark that pedigree weepee backline.

but fokkal happened.

• 167.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@grant10-163:

Howzit Grant. Glad you are back… I said the same earlier. Was also very disappointed in the Bulls centre pairing. They looked really amateurish. JJ’s defense remains a huge problem… JP made them look mediocre…

• 168.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Rage-159:
    dont box yourself in boet.

it’s only words, and words are all i have….

• 169.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

@Humphrey-164:

He does get a kick. He is a troll. Like all trolls they scour the Internet looking for opportunities to get an emotional response. The only way to deal with trolls is to call them out. If they don’t nobody takes them serious.

• 170.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

@charo-166:

I think one thing’s for sure, the less coaching that goes on with younger players, the better. I don’t think Allistair, Fleckie and the lot had enough time to coach the flair out of these players. They are all offloading in the tackle and running into space.

• 171.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-163:
    one bad game granty, one bad game….

besides, the whole team didn’t turn up tonight.

@RugbyStudent-165:
    agree to disagree so lets see how it plays out,
    ab’s are a class of nothing cheats
    i dont rate them

• 172.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-167: and to think JJ Engelbrecht was chosen above J D J …..what a sick joke….

• 173.grant10: Reply to this comment

anyway….

Plod gone

spies gone..

now just for the liability M Steyn and bobs your aunt

off to celebrate the bull slagting….

• 174.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@grant10-172:

…HM is being exposed… I think he is realising his mistakes and needs to correct them before he makes an absolute fool of himself…

• 175.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

you cant single out the guy who didn’t buckle up in a train smash, for being stupid.
    it does not matter how smart you are on the day, a train smash is a train smash.

you are lucky to survive it.

• 176.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-174: just glad f louw back…we need to fix breakdown

cheers gumboots

• 177.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-171:

Well, I guess you play to the ref. Cheats or not, this is a man’s game. Either get in the game or get out.

• 178.viewer: Reply to this comment

I’m missing something; this was a Bok trial match? No need to write off Fouche, Dewald, CJ Stander & JJE

• 179.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@grant10-176:

Cheer mate…Outta here too…

• 180.Slappes: Reply to this comment

That win must be some kind of cc record for wp vs bools ??? Love it.

• 181.charo: Reply to this comment

bulls = stupid stompkar rugby
    weepee = not much better
    cheetahs = speed but kak finishing
    lions = a bit of all the above
    sharks = brains and persistence

told you lot all along :lol:

• 182.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

5 tries to zero against the same team that thoroughly fck’d up the overrated Sharkievarkies shows some class

So now where all these morons who still cannot see class when its oozing out like maaskaas

Deon Fourie cappie oh cappie the very best hooker in the land, move over Bismark here is the fetching hooker to fetch all your flat beers from your fridge

Rynhardt Elstadt the only hard man left in SA rugby.. what the blind man bluff springbok coach still wanna bamboozle his pathetic blind eyesight with more Potgieter f’ng madness…

Nic Groom the little bundle of expresso rifle service to the backline

JP du Plessis showing the overrated Meyer mercenaries Sadie and Engelbrecht WIES BAAS van die PLAAS..

Oh ain’t it mos LEKKER to rub it in where it MATTERS

Where you been Fleckie .. how come it takes you 4 whole seasons to drop the bullshit defense wins games garbage and start playing some Rugby EVENTUALLY..!!!??

• 183.Debbin Poison: Reply to this comment

Hi. Newbie here. Been lurking too long and need to start adding my 2 chappies worth. I’m a Sharks boyjie living in London town. Howzit !!!

• 184.charo: Reply to this comment

@Debbin Poison-183:

careful boet.

this site is overrun by mental stormers/weepee fanboys.

and fangirls…. 8)

• 185.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@charo-181:

sharks = get out of jail free

• 186.Debbin Poison: Reply to this comment

To be fair everyone is fanatical but that’s normal although maybe a bit too much like football fans. Saffas should stick together. I support any SA team V anybody. I was born in the Cape and grew up lapa

• 187.UKSaffa: Reply to this comment

Always enjoy a good pounding.

• 188.Debbin Poison: Reply to this comment

Oops. iPhone typing not so sharp.

• 189.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@charo-184:

or just a case

one cuckoo flew over the rest :D

• 190.W.P: Reply to this comment

Fleckie might be a victim of AC’s influence. Have to do as the head coach says.

• 191.Debbin Poison: Reply to this comment

Whats up with the Dragons mission for the 1st post?

• 192.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Debbin Poison-188:

Stay humble and don’t get caught in the web of boom deceit and you will do just fine… :lol:

• 193.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Did I ever mention the fact that Province got a bonus point today?

• 194.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

for scoring 5 not 4 tries!!

• 195.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Against the Bulls!

• 196.charo: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-185:

funny man!!!!!!!!!!

two gifted tries before halftime nearly let the cheetahs in.

but the incredibly resilient sharks stuck to their guns and rose victorious.

again…..

playing the best rugby in the country….

brains over brawn

as they say.

• 197.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@charo-184: steady on boet. We were kind to the Bulletjies tonight, limiting ourselves to 5. Wont be so kind when we next visit your tryline with our clutch of new laaitjies. ;) and…good evening.

• 198.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Did I mention that that the Bulls didn’t score a try against the solid Province defence?

• 199.charo: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-193:

well done to the mighty weepee

first time in a very loooong time…

reckon the border bulldogs might have done similar.

bulls were dire.

all that “pedigree” on show today as well?

• 200.Debbin Poison: Reply to this comment

Always humble bru. Rugby is not life or death….

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.