Province pound pathetic Bulls

RYAN VREDE watched Western Province comprehensively outplay the Bulls in their 42-6 win at Newlands.

The quality of the match was poor in parts, but this was understandable given the calibre of player on show – most of whom were Vodacom Cup standard. Certainly injuries and Springbok call ups were also mitigating factors.

But WP, vastly superior in every facet of play, won’t care. There were good signs on attack for a team that has struggled there, the bonus point secured before the final quarter. Their defence, however, remains the bedrock upon which they will build their success. Tonight they blunted the Bulls through an organised and brutal effort. They looked shaky under the high ball at times in the first half, but outside of that were rarely troubled.

The Bulls have big problems. Some of their players should have been playing club rugby this afternoon, not running out in front of a few thousand faithful in Cape Town. How coach Pine Pienaar fixes deeply rooted problems in the week ahead will be decisive.

WP started strongly, replacement scrumhalf Nic Groom (Dewaldt Duvenage was stretchered off with what looks a serious knee injury) sniping around the ruck fringe after a couple of phases. Flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis kicked the conversion to go with an earlier penalty, but Bulls pivot Louis Fouché responded with two three pointers to reduce the defict. That is as close as they would ever come.

The match laboured along until just before the break when a powerful rolling maul culminated in WP captain Deon Fourie crossing the whitewash. Catrakilis banked the extras to give his side a 17-6 half-time lead.

WP produced their best move of the game after the restart, depleting the Bulls’ defensive line through numerous phases before JP du Plessis offloaded brilliantly to set up Marcel Brache for the score. Catrakilis converted to give WP a lead that the Bulls never looked like overturning.

Damian de Allende ensured the five points, finishing a slick backline move and Du Plessis kept the scoreboard ticking for the hosts with a clinical score. WP settled for the mauling they had inflicted on their northern nemesis thereafter. They must build on this impressive performance as they go in search of a home semi-final.

401 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 » Show All

• 301.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-299:

The frightening thing is Bakkies…………………………………..this current crop of Bullies might actually have enjoyed the shagging they received.

All KY Jellied up before kick off.

• 302.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@cane-301:

The Bulletjies got a right royal spanking. Brokeback style. :D

And don’t listen to Bakkies. There was only one team in it and they played with total freedom as can be seen from the scoreline. It just shows what can happen. There were youngsters galore on both sides. But ours were just better on the day. Now I would like to see them reproduce this sort of performance on a regular basis.

• 303.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-301:
    please, this is a rugby blog. can we not stray off topic and remain respectful at the same time.

• 304.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-301:
    @I am a stormer-302:
    cane, meet i am a stormer….

• 305.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

Proteas looking ho-ri-baaaal @ Lords !

• 306.W.P: Reply to this comment

Bakkies – if the Bulls had lost after dominating WP then its appropriate to say that the Bulls lost it – this however was anal on a large scale. Very inappropriate! ;)

• 307.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Where is gwar gesig skop this morning ?

• 308.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@W.P-306: So the Stormers didn’t lose against the Sharks ? They got reamed ?

• 309.nama1: Reply to this comment

220 runs for the Proteas may be about 20/30 runs light. Still defendable on this wicket, I think.

“Uber kak” Robbie P helping SA over the 200 run mark with a good knock.

John Galt probably not impressed by that at all.

What are the odds that Robbie will take some wickets and win it for us??? :lol:

• 310.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@grant10-294: Chopping and changing the loose trio is not what we need. Duane at 8, Alberts back at 7 where he serves the Boks best and Coetzee has done nothing to be dropped. Duane won’t last 80 minutes at which point Flo can be brought on at 7 with Alberts moving to 8. That’s the way I see it going.

Coetzee will be at 6 for the Drainfish in the future.

• 311.nama1: Reply to this comment

“Heyneke skommel”
    2012-09-01 23:52
    Rudolph Lake

Opskrif in Rapport.

So, dis die rede vir die Bokke se kak spel. Die afrigter is besig om te skommel pleks daarvan om af te rig.

• 312.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@cane-301: LOL LOL :-)

@mikeybrass-310: Also Grant, there is no way a new player flying in from the north to meet up with a Bok team that not only trained last week but has trained together for a couple of weeks will jump straight into the starting lineup. There is nothing like learning the calls on the field.

• 313.nama1: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-310:
    Alberts actually serves the Boks best coming on as an impact player in the last 25/30 minutes of the match.

Same with Hougaard.

• 314.Guns: Reply to this comment

Wallabies training squad for next week

- Waratahs prop Paddy Ryan and Western Force wing Nick Cummins have been added to the Wallabies training group which will assemble in Perth on Sunday ahead of the resumption of the Rugby Championship. The pair have both previously been involved with the Wallabies this year, although Ryan missed some training time due to injury.According to the allblacks,com website, a squad of 31 has been named with Reds wing Dominic Shipperley and his state colleague, midfield back Ben Tapuai, both coming into the enlarged main group after previously having trained alongside the squad.The addition of Cummins and Shipperley bolsters the side’s wing resources after the loss this week of experienced wing Drew Mitchell most likely for the season due to a reoccurring ankle tendon injury.Uncapped Reds loose forward Jake Schatz has also been ruled out due to a shoulder problem and will undergo further scans before a course of rehabilitation is charted.Brumbies inside centre Pat McCabe makes a welcome return, after injury ruled him out of the two Bledisloe Cup Tests which opened The Rugby Championship. He is continuing rehabilitation from the stress fracture in his foot. While the injury is progressing well, he won’t be considered for selection until Australia’s match against Argentina at Skilled Park on the Gold Coast on September 15 at the earliest.The Wallabies will name their squad of 22 players for the Perth Test on Tuesday.The Wallabies face the Springboks at Patterson’s Stadium on Saturday, September 8 bidding to defend the Nelson Mandela Challenge Plate, which Australia has held since the epic 41-39 win over South Africa at Bloemfontein in 2010.Australia have won their last four Tests against South Africa and will set a new record for the most consecutive wins achieved against the Springboks should they triumph in Perth.Robbie Deans’s men currently stand tied with the class of 1999 and 2000 which also won four straight against the Boks.However, South Africa boast an excellent record in Tests in Perth, which houses a large expatriate South African community, with the Springboks having won Tests played against the Wallabies in Western Australia in 1998, 2005 and 2009, while the 2001 match was drawn.Australia won the matches played in 2004 and 2008.No more than seven points have separated the two sides across the six Tests played between the teams in Western Australia since SANZAR competition began via the kick-off of the Tri-Nations in 1996.Australia squad:Backline: Adam Ashley-Cooper, Kurtley Beale, Digby Ioane, Dominic Shipperley, Nick Cummins, Rob Horne, Ben Tapuai, Anthony Fainga’a, Mike Harris, Pat McCabe, Berrick Barnes, Quade Cooper, Nick Phipps, Will Genia (captain)Forwards: Scott Higginbotham, Radike Samo, Michael Hooper, Liam Gill, Dave Dennis, Rob Simmons, Nathan Sharpe, Kane Douglas, Caderyn Neville, Sitaleki Timani, Ben Alexander, Paddy Ryan, James Slipper, Benn Robinson, Saia Fainga’a, Stephen Moore, Tatafu Polota Nau

• 315.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@nama1-313: I’d start with Pienaar at scrummy and Alberts at 7. Many of our problems come from ball retention and counter-rucking as a unit amongst the forwards.

• 316.grant10: Reply to this comment

F Louw or Brussow at 6….

Marcelle will be sadly misused at opensider…..

We really must stay away from the confusion starting players out of position between country and province…

Bok level is not the place to be learning a new position…

• 317.Guns: Reply to this comment

Sorry no spaces :D

Cummings on his day is a good player, strong defender and ball carrier as well as playmaker.

Michael Hooper most likely to start.

Expect Meyer to have flow on the bench if even in the match day squad.

• 318.grant10: Reply to this comment

@nama1-313: I tend to agree with you Nama…..

It may be risky to play Vermeulen and Alberts in the same trio as you do forsake a bit of pace….

Another reason to let M Coetsee develop at 7……he is quicker than Alberts and makes loads of tackles….

Together with Brussow , the Boks would have 2 tackling machines !!

• 319.grant10: Reply to this comment

Hooper will be given a far easier ride if Flo on bench.

• 320.xtremebull: Reply to this comment

Great win wp… Exceptional!!!

I’ve just heard that schalk burger is with the boks down under? Can any 1 confirm please

• 321.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@nama1-309:

It is going to be a huge ask to pull this one off. Particularly as AB would’ve bowled first as well if he’d won the toss.

And I’ve become a Robbie fan over the past few years after being sceptical at first.

@mikeybrass-310:

If Duane does start, it’ll be the Boks 3rd no.8 in 3 matches. But having said that, HM is slowly getting to the starting loose trio he wanted. With Duane at 8, and Alberts at 7, it is just the no.6 that he is undecided about. Flo might not start this weekend, but should the next.

• 322.grant10: Reply to this comment

@xtremebull-320: Schalk has been given 1 of 25 bok contracts…

• 323.Guns: Reply to this comment

Yep and judging on the word re Flows current fitness I would pay the following –

8 Marcel/Alberts (Vermulin off bench last 20/30)
    7 Alberts / Marcell (Potsmacker off bech last 20 if needed)
    6 Flow

• 324.nama1: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-315:
    I’ll leave Hougie at SH for now. He had a good game against the Pumas and was probably the best Bok back line player on the day. Give him another go there. Maybe he is starting to find his feet as an international SH.

However, if everybody is fit, I think Alberts will serve the team better coming on as a sub. Play Schalk at 7 then, He did well in the RWC at 7.

I also don’t agree with the plan to start Hougie on the wing.

• 325.Guns: Reply to this comment

By: Rob Houwing, Sport24 chief writer2012-08-31 15:08Cape Town -

The Springboks find themselves in a highly unusual position just over a week out from their encounter with Australia in Perth: all three loose forward positions could be said to be “up for grabs”.And this in a department where the country, traditionally, has been so strongly served for many years, even if injuries are playing a major role in instability 2012 the 2012 international campaign.Give some credit to already embattled Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer … he seems to have acted reasonably decisively to address shortcomings in the loose trio that were all too evident in the 16-16 draw with Castle Rugby Championship rookies Argentina in Mendoza last weekend, even if there is also a case for saying he dug the hole in the first place by assembling a combination overloaded in brawn at the expense of skill and stealth.

All three men who started in jerseys six to eight and were outsmarted and even out-bludgeoned by the Pumas – Marcell Coetzee, Jacques Potgieter and Willem Alberts – do remain in the broad squad mix for the next assignment.But by adding the only recently fit-again Duane Vermeulen and British-based Francois Louw to his plans, Meyer has either consciously or subconsciously signalled that a shake-up will be both desired and necessary against the Wallabies.The next challenge for the coach is not only picking the right trio, but deciding who exactly to offer each number, because most of his latest resources at loose forward offer pretty high levels of versatility – something that is both admirable but also potentially complicating and confusing. The most obvious alteration, astute critics probably concur, will be the demotion from the starting XV of Potgieter.A strong and wholehearted player, it is true, the Bulls basher has nevertheless been rather exposed at Test level for subtlety.

Although perhaps not the person best equipped to make this judgement, SA-based Wallabies wing legend David Campese suggested on rugby talk show Boots & All this week that Potgieter “plays more like a prop” in the tight-loose, implying that the Boks are obsessed with traditional, yet also too predictable, beat-‘em-into-submission strengths.If he does get the chop, Alberts ought to shift back to the unglamorous but important blind-side flank role to which he seems greatly better suited than No 8, where his best footballing intentions are impeded by a lack of necessary pace out of the blocks.That begs the question of who, in turn, will assume eighthman duties against Australia if Alberts does make the positional switch.Vermeulen will be an attractive option here for Meyer, especially as he has apparently always wanted to gauge his credentials at Test level.The drawback is that the big unit from Nelspruit has only made two curtailed comeback appearances in the Currie Cup for Western Province after his long-term absenteeism.Yet Meyer may bank on getting, say, 50 suitably combative minutes out of Vermeulen in Perth, before accepting that his man may well run out of puff.An alternative might be to introduce him to the Test fray off the bench in the second half, but then either of Coetzee or Louw, who can play at No 8 but are more accustomed generally to side-of-scrum slots, would have to be stationed there.Speaking of those two, the selection plot only thickens, because who plays as the specialist open-sider in Perth is another mild poser.Coetzee has been a constant there under Meyer’s Bok tenure, and mostly done a sound, sometimes dynamic job, although last Saturday was perhaps his least effective in the role – he, too, has prior experience of No 8 and blind-sider and can come into the reckoning for both.Similarly Louw is just as comfortable at six and seven, and has also extended his own repertoire by doing some No 8 duty for Bath.Fielding both men against Australia could bring benefits, given that it would offer the Boks two fetchers, in certain senses.Lineout factors have to be brought into consideration as well, especially with such world-class practitioners in this department as Juan Smith and Pierre Spies not available, and here Vermeulen (by the way, he can also feasibly be considered at No 7!) could be of great benefit to the Boks.Just another snag to contemplate is that both Vermeulen and Louw (the latter only in English pre-season) are desperately low on game-time – can you risk having them in the same trio in a Test at this stage?By contrast, have people like Coetzee and Alberts, bearing in mind their much-travelled Super Rugby obligations with the Sharks right to the bitter end of that competition, almost had a touch too much rugby for the moment and might actually benefit from a spot of “impact” play for the Boks?These are all things Meyer has to weigh up.Who knows which of the array of combination options is tempting him most right now, but if he went for a starting brew of Coetzee at six, Alberts at No 7 and Vermeulen at No 8, with someone like Louw lurking on the bench, he should have his bases pretty covered …

• 326.nama1: Reply to this comment

@grant10-318:
    Yeah. There is just something NOT right about a loose trio consisting of Coetzee, Alberts and Vermeulen. All ball carriers/defensive type loosies.

Not that much different from Coetzee, Potgieter and Alberts. We saw how that worked out against the Pumas.

@I am a stormer-321:
    It will be very difficult indeed.

Hope the boys can do it.

• 327.grant10: Reply to this comment

Brussow and Scalk combo …..for me…was the only good thing to come out of WC 2011

• 328.grant10: Reply to this comment

@nama1-326: Criminal to not start with a classic opensider….if you have 1 fit and available.
    Flo fits the bill…..

the best is Brussow.

• 329.Guns: Reply to this comment

2012-08-31 17:22Johannesburg –

Springbok newcomer Duane Vermeulen is proud and relieved to finally be a part of the Springbok camp ahead of the side’s Australasian leg of their Rugby Championship campaign, he said on Friday.

“It’s a great feeling for me. I’ve been working at this for quite a few years now and to be able to get here is a dream come true.”I’m pleased to finally have got the opportunity and I think coach Heyneke [Meyer] has shown a lot of trust in me.

“I feel great. I believe you have to believe in yourself and when the time comes, you must take it as an opportunity.”Vermeulen, fellow newcomer Johan Goosen, and the rest of the Springbok side depart for Perth, Australia on Saturday evening.

They had a training session on Friday and will wrap up their preparations on Saturday morning with a final morning session.The Stormers flank admitted that he and his team-mates still had issues to iron out before they take to the field next weekend, but he was confident the team had what it took to improve on their previous display, when they scraped a 16-16 draw against Argentina in Mendoza.

“After last weekend, there was probably a bad feeling that we drew, but I think there are a lot of positives to draw from the game and now it’s all about improving small issues that went wrong,” he said.”I think we now have to go to Perth and turn the result around. The tournament is still long, so hopefully we have time to improve on that.

“Vermeulen said Meyer phoned him on Tuesday evening to break the news of his inclusion in the touring party.”I got a personal call from Heyneke and he said he wanted to tell me personally, so that it comes from his side, and to tell me that I’m part of the Australasian tour,” he said.”

To finally be part of the squad and to be one of the guys is a great feeling.”The former Cheetahs forward said he relished the prospect of the physical encounters that lay ahead overseas, and had worked hard to return to full fitness in an attempt to demand a place in the starting line-up.

“One can always improve, so there is always something to work on. I’m in the gym every day, busy with rehabilitation and conditioning,” he said.”

The physical aspect of the game is definitely not something that scares me. I quite enjoy the physical battle.”I must say, I weighed myself on Monday in Cape Town and I weighed this morning again and I’ve lost three kilograms, so I think there has been some good work that we’ve been doing.”SAPA

• 330.nama1: Reply to this comment

@grant10-327:
    Stick Keegan in at 8 and you have the perfect loose trio imo.

Alternatively, convert Coetzee into an 8 and ditto.

• 331.grant10: Reply to this comment

@nama1-330: Keegan has been hard done by…..that J Potgieter selection is perplexing…

• 332.Guns: Reply to this comment

The other issue is though the collective work rate and management of the entire forward unit the locks and more so Bekker need to tackle low and that f Hougaard if he starts at 9 he needs to stop hesitating at ever ruck and get that farking ball out. All forwards need to up their game then the challenge is for Morne to TRY challenge the gane line and put 12/13 into space. If He I. Proved in this aspect for the Rugby WC with Erasmus helping or whT ever then don’t see why he cat do it again! Well other than Brussow ot being there.

• 333.Guns: Reply to this comment

If he improved*

• 334.grant10: Reply to this comment

M Steyn????

Attack the gain Line???

Wishful thinking

• 335.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@grant10-316: And yet you want to play Marcell at 7 whereas he plays 6 for the Sharks?

• 336.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-321: Yes, the 3rd no 8. However, Duane is rumoured to be HM’s first choice 8.

• 337.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

By Heyneke Meyer selecting Francois Louw indicates to me that there has been a monumental shift in his thinking. As HM regards the no.6′s playing to the ball as being penalty liabilities. But this was shown up in the last test against Argentina where you do require such a specialist.

And I reckon that if Brussow wasn’t currently injured, he would have got the call up ahead of Flo.

Because Heyneke has stated that he will only call up an overseas player if one playing in South Africa is unavailable.

• 338.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@nama1-324: Yes, Schalk at 7 when he is fit again with Alberts on the bench.

Still think Pienaar for 9 starter.

• 339.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-336:

He is.

When questioned about his loose trio combo by Ian Mac, Duane’s name was the first one out of his mouth. And that was before Spies injured his pinkie.

• 340.nama1: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-337:
    Steggies is available and in SA, not so? He played the fetcher role before for the Boks.

Don’t be fooled by Flo’s selection. He got the nod because of his size. :lol:

Still not sure where HM stands wrt HB, to be honest.

• 341.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@nama1-340:

IMO Steggies is unavailable.

I mean what if he accidentally does an ankle during training? :D

Seems like he has fallen off the bus.

• 342.grant10: Reply to this comment

i saw marcelle playing at 7 for sharks with daniels at6 and kanko at 8…

• 343.grant10: Reply to this comment

in fact Marcelle was so good at 7 they moved alberts to 4 ?

• 344.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Not seen much of Nic Groom, but he sounds like the all round scrum half that Western Province and the Stormers need…is he the answer?

We had Neil De Kock and Bolla Conradie who were great but in 2008 so was Ricky Januarie..his form dropped since and Duvenhage is the most inconsistent scrum half going.

• 345.nama1: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-341:
    A good thing it is too. Steggies being thrown off the bus.

Titman won’t like it one bit. :lol:

England trotting (pun intended) to a comfortable win at the moment.

We urgently need 2/3 wickets asap to get back into the match.

Come on boys.

• 346.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-344:
    I hope AC will give him a run. I’ve been asking for a while for him to be selected.

• 347.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nama1-346:
    a run of a good few matches

• 348.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Had a good laugh today. Did the usual Stellenbosch thing, and riding past Mooiberge, I noticed they have shifted their little scarecrow display somewhat :) The Stormers/WP zebra/horse is now mounting the Blue Bull……and shagging the life out of it.
    Passers by all seemed very amused…except those with GP number plates.

• 349.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@nama1-346:

One man’s misfortune is another man’s opportunity.

And Groom grabbed the opportunity with both hands. Hope he has an extended run and jumping Schroeder in the mix. And WP mustn’t change a winning combo.

• 350.grant100: Reply to this comment

Saru take note what the quota system did to our 1day cricket tea… Parnell, peterson, and duminy….. Please, learn from the mistakes…. No more chilliboy, de jongh etc please

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.