Boks sweat on Strauss

Hooker Adriaan Strauss is the only injury concern as the Springboks prepare for their next Rugby Championship Test against the Wallabies this weekend.

The Springboks have settled in Perth after departing from O.R. Tambo International Airport on Saturday. They have also been boosted by the arrival of Bath-based flank Francois Louw, who joined the team on Monday after a flight from England.

As the Boks carry out their midweek preparations, there is one injury concern ahead of this Saturday’s clash. Strauss is struggling with a knee injury and will be monitored over the next couple of days.

‘The only injury concern is Adriaan, who’s got a mild knee ligament sprain,’ said Bok doctor Craig Roberts. ‘We will assess him later in the week and will make a call on his availability depending on how he goes through training in the next couple of days, but apart from that I’m happy to report we have a fit squad and are ready to go.’

This will be a worry for head coach Heyneke Meyer, considering hookers Bismarck du Plessis and Chiliboy Ralepelle have already withdrawn due to injury in recent weeks.

However, Meyer stressed that the Boks will have enough back-up options should Strauss fail his fitness test.

‘We have a few hookers on standby [in Tiaan Liebenberg and Craig Burden], but we have a very good medical team and I’m positive we’ll get Adriaan through. We have travelled with three hookers, so should be fine for the first game.’

219 Comments

• 1.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Another injured dragon…

• 2.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

this is a blessing
    hes NOT good enough to play test rugby

• 3.race of tan: Reply to this comment

These injuries are due to the exteneded S15 aka too much rugby competition.
    2nd season of the new extended S15 and the injuries are already piling up!!

• 4.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Jeez we are running out of hookers…

Who next in line if Liebenberg or Burden fall? Fourie???

• 5.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-4: Someone said that at a bachelor party I was at a couple of years ago as well…….

• 6.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

Wouldn’t mind having Burden in the run-on side vs. the Wallabies.

• 7.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-5: sharp!

• 8.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@logie_Jumpbuck-6: with the boks kicking aimlessly it might be good to have burden as he thinks he is a wing, to chase all the kicks.

• 9.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

bok cant catch a break

oh well

step up tiaan

• 10.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-4: Well with Deon Fourie, you are getting 5 for the price of one. Hooker, Fetcher, centre, wing, scrumhalf.
    Not the worst Bok call up ever :)
    Now if he could just throw in straight…..

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-9: Tiaan won’t let the team down. I’m not his hugest fan…but he scrums well, gets through acres of work etc. His throwing in….ummmmmmmmm, the jury is out until after the game…..

• 11.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10: tiaan, like jannie can also throw a few poesklaps…ask lambie :mrgreen:

• 12.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10:
    he does have his ‘dirty looks’ routine down pat.
    hope he employs it to full effect.

• 13.ali: Reply to this comment

Bandisa Maku will be next in line, I suspect. Already capped and Meyer knows him from time at Bulls.

But I doubt it’ll come to that.

• 14.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-5:

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10:

No for sure!

• 15.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-11: :) I think it was Sharks_lover who went on an anti Tiaan Liebenberg rampage after one of his little ‘dirtier’ moments.

• 16.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-15: Yep Sharky went bos, it was as if he felt the klap oh his own triple chinned neck :mrgreen:

• 17.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-16: :) Careful now….the shoal of ’48 hours in the summer sun-not so fresh’ fish will be along shortly to rap you on the knuckles.

(and they are a shoal….A shoal is any group of fishes that remains together for social reasons, whereas a school is a polarised, synchronised shoal (Pitcher and Parish 1993) )

• 18.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-17: hehehe :D

• 19.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

You can never run out of hookers !ts the oldest profess?on s!nce the beg!nn!ng of t!me..

• 20.grant10: Reply to this comment

Hougaard may move to wing permanently

——————————————————————————–

by Brenden Nel 03 September 2012, 14:08

Springbok halfback Francois Hougaard may have to accept that his future is on the wing for the national team in future after a string of mediocre performances behind the scrum.

Hougaard is set to start out wide this week with the stability of Ruan Pienaar set to be preferred at nine, as coach Heyneke Meyer looks to make tweaks to the side that drew 16-all against Argentina in Mendoza for this weekend’s match against Australia in Perth.

Hougaard’s biggest strength is his elusiveness and his grit in space, a player who can exploit the open field and find holes in defences on attack. But behind the scrum, even though it has been his preferred position, he has struggled this season behind an inexperienced Bok pack that haven’t always given him great ball.

Whenever Pienaar has appeared on the field, it has seen an improvement in the way the Bok backline functions, with Hougaard’s service to his flyhalf also being questioned at times.

It has become rather clear that both Hougaard and Morne Steyn are under increasing pressure to perform or be dropped. While it doesn’t seem like Meyer will throw young Johan Goosen into the deep end at flyhalf this weekend, a starting role for him cannot be too far away if the current trend continues.

Still, Hougaard is a player that – as Meyer likes to point out – has that X-factor. Last year when Bryan Habana was struggling for form at the World Cup, Hougaard’s appearances off the bench and on the wing were the breath of fresh air the team often needed and it is understandable he is highly-rated for his gamebreaking ability.

But at the moment, playing him at 9 comes at a cost, and slow ball against the Aussies is something the Boks can ill-afford at the moment. And judging from Meyer’s comments there is a real indication that Hougaard could move to wing permanently.

Meyer has warned that these two away games are the last chances for combinations across the field. Reiterating his desire for players of “character”, the Bok coach is set to make the hard decisions sooner rather than later if players fail to produce.

All that starts with this weekend’s match where Hougaard is likely to be moved back onto the wing. A decent performance for Pienaar behind the scrum may seal it, and Hougaard may well have to resign himself to the fact that if he wants to play in the starting line-up, he will have to start competing with the wingers to do so.

One thing is certain, the entire team has been put on notice to improve their play or face the consequences. As Meyer points out, the performance in Mendoza was unacceptable, and the Boks know this.

Now he wants to see character from players who can rise above the challenges that the opposition pose.

“You only learn when you play away. At home the 50-50 decisions tend to go your way because the crowd is behind you. You only learn when players are under pressure, you can’t see how they will react in training. They have to be placed under huge pressure for you to see what they are made of,” Meyer said of the lessons learnt in Mendoza.

“I’ve always said we would use this year to give players opportunities to prove themselves. A guy like Eben (Etzebeth) for instance, is a world class player – he is like Bakkies Botha at the same age and he has shown he deserves to be there, and he can play under pressure. I’m a big believer in players with character.

“But this is the last opportunity for combinations, I know I have been criticized for certain selections and certain positions. I know where I’m going to and I know what is the best position for certain players. I’ll take these two games, give guys a chance and then I’ll know which is the best positions for them.”

The last sentence seems to point directly to the 9/10 combination, which has received the majority of criticism thus far, but it can also point to Andries Bekker, who has not performed close to expectations, or the loose trio, which also needs to function more as a unit on the field.

Meyer has placed a load of emphasis on protecting the Boks ball – which was one of the massive problems in Mendoza with 12 turnovers. While he is right to point out that the classic opensider would not have made such a difference in Argentina, he also must admit that the balance of the loose trio wasn’t right, and the entire pack did little to protect the ball. Ruck Cleanouts were never at a premium in Mendoza, and they will have to be in Perth if the Boks are to have front-foot ball.

This is apparently the reason why Keegan Daniel was omitted from the squad, even though Meyer is on record as saying Australia would have suited his game. The Bok coach has chosen to go for a more balanced loose trio, where Duanne Vermeulen can be expected to be joined by Willem Alberts and Marcel Coetzee, while Francois Louw could find himself on the bench if the Bok coach’s comments are anything to go by.

“The Sharks and Stormers never played with a specialist openside fetcher the entire Super Rugby season. Even a guy like Richie McCaw isn’t a classical opensider. I’m a big fan of McCaw, because he can clean, defend and steal balls. Marcel can be the next McCaw, he just needs to become a little more clinical at the breakdown.

“As for Keegan, I know I said Australia would fit his gameplan more, but I feel we don’t have a classical No8 at the moment, and Pierre Spies and Ryan Kankowski are both out. Against Argentina, although we competed well at the front of the lineout, we gave them easy ball at the back. I wasn’t happy with the way we competed there. Duanne is a specialist 8 and has combined well with Andries and Eben for the Stormers. I had to question if the fifth guy on the bench should be another number 8 or a specialist opensider. I want the option if the ref allows a bit more at the breakdown to have such a guy on the bench, so it is unfortunate for Keegan.”

The one good aspect at the moment, and one which is hardly mentioned, is that when the injuries to JP Pietersen, Bismarck du Plessis, Heinrich Brussow, Pierre Spies, Schalk Burger, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Siya Kolisi and Bjorn Basson are over, and Kankowski returns from Japan, the amount of depth in the national ranks should be good.

Until then the Boks will need to find a way to put up a better performance than Mendoza. Or risk losing their

• 21.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

Th springboks are going to get a hiding of note against the All Blacks. They do the off-load in the tackle so well.

• 22.grant10: Reply to this comment

Seems HM hell bent on converting M Coetsee into an opensider….

Why bother bringing Louw across then/

Brussow may as well sign a lucrative overseas contract it seems….

• 23.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

Johan needs to be on the bench. Can’t wait to see that boy in green and gold.

• 24.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@grant10-22:
    H!s reason!ng w!th regard to opens!ders !s that because of the new laws, !f you clean rucks effect!vely you dont need an out an out “to the ball” flank.

Both the Stormers and Sharks played w!thout them so I guess Flo !s just an alternate opt!on.

• 25.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

@grant10-22: Brussouw is too small….apparently. small…..with those forearms!

• 26.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@race of tan-3: Yip something has to be done about it, seriously getting out of hand. Also too much rugby to watch

• 27.Mustard: Reply to this comment

@grant10-20: It’s pleasing to see that HM is open to change things around if something is not working. Some coached so hard headed in defending selections and game plans when they miss the bigger picture. I think HM will improve the boks if his open to change. Especially at 6. I think not picking a ‘fetcher’ 6 could have been overlooked to a certain extent when Bismark was at hooker because he is such a menace at the breakdown as slows down a lot of ball at the breakdown and even the odd steal or two. And it also reinforces the fact that your hooker, loosies and your no12 should all learn to ‘fetch’. This a skill that all these players should learn to be efficient at because it is impossible for your 6 to be at every ruck.

• 28.Mustard: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-24: the sharks and stormers tight 5 dominated majority of their opponents, which meant front foot ball. Its easier for your loosies when you dominating the collisions and you get away with not playing with a fetcher. When your tight 5 struggles…..well then you saw what happened against the argies.

• 29.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@grant10-22:
    Settle down Grant.

Flo is farking lucky to even be there to begin with. If you consider how well Daniel is playing.
    Still luckier is Potgieter.

One thing HM is very correct about is that neither the Sharks nor the Stormers had a specialist opensider for the S15. And neither did the Chiefs for that matter. latimer played openside most games and he is not a recognised fetcher.

The pure openside fetcher role has changed substantially which is why Pocock and McCaw play such a different type of game than they did 2 or 3 seasons ago.
    Is all about being clinical at the breakdown, not about how many steals you effect. That style has come and gone already.
    This is something I started noticing in Brussouw recently. How he also has started altering his game slightly from where it used to be.

A place on the bench is the best Flo can hope for right now.

• 30.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Mustard-28:
    HM’s ent!re ph!losophy ?s based on dom!nat!ng the phys!cal aspects of the game so “spec!al!st” fetchers are not part of h!s m!ndset. He probably bel!eves fetch!ng ?s a secondary role that can be “taught” along the way of perfect!ng the other d!sc!pl!nes.

• 31.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@grant10-22: Its great that he see’s Coetzee as an opensider in the future once he becomes clinical at the breakdown. In SA rugby mag he also mentioned Hougaard becoming a great scrumhalf once hes sorted out the technical side.
    Why the @#$% play them now though in the starting 15 if they not there yet and other players are (like Flo, Brussow and Pienaar)????

• 32.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@logie_Jumpbuck-25: smaller than who, mccaw, pocock, hooper, warburton, gill?

• 33.Mustard: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-30: Not really, he was the one who brought in deon stegman into the bulls fold when they were struggling at the breakdown.

• 34.RL: Reply to this comment

@grant10-22: he is an opensider, just like Kolisi.

• 35.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Bok fan-31: my point exaxtly

• 36.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10-20: Yip was just about to post that here. Read it on Super Sport.

Probably could sort out one problem. Though will Mvovo be dropped and Hougaard to start at wing? Also who will be vice cappie if Strauss is injured?

• 37.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Think it like HM ;)
    Against the ABs he probably will shift Albert to 5, Vermeulen to 8, Louw to the open side, will retain the immensely talented Coetzee at 7
    No room for Brussow, Stegmann or Daniel :(
    There will be a place for Kolisi though, he is sized at 101kg although I doubt he is any gram over 90kg :-D

• 38.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-29: Bu the side with 2 won the super rugby comp.

the AB’s and Wallabies won’t play a test without 1, so i suppose it’s a case of we’ll wait and see who was right and who was wrong. Consider this though. The Boks have been woeful under Meyer in the ruck-clearing technique and there’s no indication of it changing soon. Someone like flow will at least ensure that you have someone is competing for the ruck ball before any of the opposition does.

• 39.willievz: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-2: Nee man Jaco, Strauss is world class!

• 40.willievz: Reply to this comment

Maybe it is time to bring back John Smit :roll:

• 41.grant10: Reply to this comment

i would play Marcelle and flo agaist wallabies they gonna stretch us out wide….we gonna need pacey loosies pity kanko not there for 8

• 42.The Bok Identity: Reply to this comment

Strauss not a loss to be honest. Spends most of his time at flyhalf.

• 43.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

5-Kruger
    6-Louw
    7-Alberts
    8-Coetzee
    15-Lambie
    As for Hougaard.. thought he had a good game in Mendoza. Sheesh, I’m convinced that if allowed to play his natural game he will come good and become a great test scrumhalf. Unfortunately Meyer wants to mould him into what he isn’t and appears to be failing. I’d still have Hougaard on the wing over Mvovo anyday. Over anyone in SA really.

• 44.Puma: Reply to this comment

So from that article on SS. It seems that Flo will be on the bench. That means Vermeulen will start. So our loosies will be:

Vermeulen
    Coetzee.

Jeez our loosies then against Oz will be slow except for Coetzee who is very quick.

@Spiesisworthless1-43: Spot on. I would start with Coetzee at 8. Then we would have a faster 8 against Oz with Alberts and Flo. Then Vermeulen could cover 8 and 7.

• 45.grant10: Reply to this comment

with Strauss probably out of tour i would have Schalk Brits over there in a flash

• 46.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@grant10-45: Smittie awaits the call for his 112th cap, Boks would get a proper captain then too!

@grant10-20: the odd thing is Hougaard had his best game at 9 in Mendoza, still he has the makings of a world class wing

• 47.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10-20: “he Bok coach has chosen to go for a more balanced loose trio, where Duanne Vermeulen can be expected to be joined by Willem Alberts and Marcel Coetzee”….

Teichmann+Venter+Kruger IS Balanced

Spies (at best) + Smith + Brussouw IS Balanced

Kanko+Alberts+Coetzee IS Balanced

Vermeulen (100% Fit) + Coetzee + Flo IS Balanced

Coetzee (More Experienced at 8) + Alberts + Flo IS Balanced

Vermeulen + Alberts + Coetzee IS NOT Balanced…

Brenden Nel is being farken ridiculous for Chrissakes!!!

• 48.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Alberts is an incredible blindside flank… A matchwinner/gamechanger if allowed to specialise and do what he does best…

He is no International class 8. This we know for sure.

I doubt Vermeulen will be either… But he does deserve his chance, just worry that he is not ready to really show what he can possibly do.

I am happy Flo is back… He was probably Man of the Match in the RWC losing QF… I reckon starting Flo will add more value than Vermeulen…

• 49.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-48: @Heavens Game-47:
    i AGREE WITH ALL THOSE POINTS hg…@Big Hit-46: BH…yes….can use him as a 3 as well…great choice…and he wont be tired as he doesent make Sarries 22 anymore! Bonus

• 50.grant10: Reply to this comment

Sorry HG….with the exception of Spies at 8….he must go to Japan

• 51.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10-50: But provisor was Spies at his best… He goddamn hasn’t been for years though…

Therefore agree 100%… GI Joe can fark off to the Kawasaki Ninjas as far as I’m concerned…

Farken passenger

• 52.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

all the more reason for these twats to realize who is the best hooker in the country after Bismark and PICK him goddammit before he runs out playing for France

Now that teddy bear Strauss is kaput all the more reason to pick Fourie and draft him straight into the 22

Fourie to start, Liebenberg on bench.. that the way it should go.. none of this Burden of bewildered brainwashed braille business bamboozling the beeswax.

• 53.gunther: Reply to this comment

Hoagie move to 15 chap.

You will be the stuff of legends there.

• 54.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Kankawalski already farked off to the Kawasaki klan so no more lamenting for Miyagi to turn back

• 55.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

HM’s dream loos!e combo !s probably Schalk – Alberts – Vermuelen.

• 56.gunther: Reply to this comment

Liebenbergs throwing in at the line out is more suited to the Paralympics than the Rugby Championship.

• 57.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Great BALANCED loosie trios from 90′s to present.

1. Zinzan, Brewer, Kronfeld
    2. Dallaglio, Hill, Back
    3. Teichmann, Venter, Kruger
    4. Harinordoquy, Magne, Betsen

• 58.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@gunther-53:
    Only th!ng not !n h!s favour !s h!s he!ght. W!ll be a d!sadvantage go!ng for the h!gh ball.

• 59.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Hougaard should stay at 9.. these lame ducks wanna chuck Pienaar to 9 and Hougaard to wing

Aussie gonna think Xmas is on the 8th of September.

I wonder how HM gonna handle a loss this time.. not a draw but a loss… will he have enough caboodle to step up and face the next day?

• 60.gunther: Reply to this comment

He’s fearless Jerry and no shorter than Chistian Cullen.

For me the positives far purest that.

Great defender.

Massively strong.

Superb on attack.

The answer to our prayers in a problematic position.

• 61.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-55: that loose trio will be farked up 6 love

• 62.gunther: Reply to this comment

Fuckadilly I’m sure he will handle the fallout with the same aplomb as you use to handle the bank manager at month end.

• 63.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-59: Pienaar to 9 and Hougaard can stay the fck away from wing too…

There’s better wing talent that played in the Currie Cup this weekend…

Best wings for SA if all available are JPP, Rhule, Habana in that order.

I brook no argument here.

• 64.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@gunther-60:
    Cullen was a once !n a l!fet!me freak.

But fullback !s our ach!lles at the moment. Anyth!ng’s better than Zaney.

• 65.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

And I am sick and tired of JdV being accommodated all over the backline… Best two 13s in SA were in action this last weekend, facing eachother….

Ebersohn and Jordaan.

Ranking of 13′s… 1. Ebersohn 2. Jordaan 3. JPP

• 66.gunther: Reply to this comment

But the point is that it can be done Jerry.

We have the opportunity to turn a weakness into a strength.

• 67.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@grant10-61:
    True.

Too one d!mens!onal. We need an 8th man w!th bulk and fla!r that can offload !n the tackle whose pr!mary role !s to be a l!nkman.

• 68.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-67: schalk a 7…not a 6

• 69.cab: Reply to this comment

If Strauss out – by default they got a better chance
    - if cilliers, louw and vermeulen picked and Strauss is dropped they might even win.
    - If fourie and elstadt were there, they’d win.

• 70.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Pienaar will fck up BAD if he gets to start at 9 .. don’t come crying

Hougaard was the BEST Bok on display last weekend.. Pienaar was kak by comparison..

Hougaard, Etzebeth and a lucky packet charge down by Francis Steyn.. that about sums up Boks in Mendoza…

and all those blaming JdV.. he was the only back breaking the advantage line.. along with Hougaard.. with NOBODY running off them or with them.. where was Steyn or Habana or the other Moron Mvovo or Kirchner… AWOL that’s where.

Pienaar let the little Argy scrummy sommer shrug him off and charge into the distance. ALMOST scoring another Argy try.

Alberts at 8 – disaster
    Coetsee at 6 – nogga disaster
    Etzebeth should be at 5 and Elstadt at 4 – KLAAR
    JdP voetsek – Cilliers should start and one of the CC hardarse tight heads.. preferably from Vrystaat should jump the queue…
    Strauss voetsek – Deon Fourie is the only hooker worthy to step into Bismarks shoes.. not a ONE other.. and they keep blowing BLIND in the land of moegoeville.
    Beast is vrek.. get another tough guy loose head because Beast is on cruise control.. Aussie gonna pump him.

Vermeulen / Coetsee
    Louw

Thats how it should go

then 2nd row we got a fckup of NOTE because there are NO enforcers present.. not ONE so baby Etzebeth has to be the tough guy.. what a f’ng BALLS UP deluxe.

Front row they better sort out their sh’t because Beast, Strauss, JdP is simply softy soapy shoe shine shenanigans.. nobody wanna stand up and dance.

• 71.David: Reply to this comment

@gunther-53:
    He’d be a bit like Gysie Pienaar.

• 72.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-70: What did Hougaard do on Sat to improve the Bok cause… He was no more than adequate – because of this he played “well”?

Actually what the Fck has Hougaard done all five games this season in a Bok or even in a Bull jersey… Farkall thats what.

Pienaar is a better 9 than he is… Fact.

Actually Vermaak is a better 9 than him too.

• 73.gunther: Reply to this comment

But better David!

They’d think twice about kicking to him that’s for sure.

• 74.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-55:
    i like the cut of that jib

@fitz1ella-70:
    i’ve got a bad feeling in my bones about pienaar too skop.
    two or three lazy missed tackles and it over way before rover.

• 75.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@grant10-68:
    I dont rate Schalk as a 1st rece!v!ng attack?ng opt!on or even as a ball carr!er.

• 76.gunther: Reply to this comment

Bring back FDP at 9.

Ruan has all the bmt of a pregnant schoolgirl.

• 77.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-72: you got no clue

go check that game again and see Hougaard pumping with GAS and NOT a BOK pumping with him in sight….

When Pienaar came on that is where we started slipping like nobodies business… the little Argy scrummy just waltzed straight THROUGH Pienaar .. Hougaard woyuld have NAILED him..

Hargaard was whipping the ball out and Steyn the bamboozled little deary deer in the headlights was doing FckALL with all of it…

Hougaard must STAY at 9 .. Not play at wing unless under emergency but NEVER by design..

this is how the scrum half hierarchy SHOULD pan out for Boks
    Vermaak is nowhere

Hougaard
    Pretorius
    Van Zyl
    ………..
    ………..
    Pienaar
    ……….
    ………..
    Mcleod
    ………….
    …………
    Vermaak

and on last weekends showing perhaps Nic Groom should jump the queue to 3rd.

• 78.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-77: One game, chap… one game. (And its possible that you quite actually maybe have been watching another game altogether… with some of the fiction you writing)

Yet Pienaar has been the Hougaard recovery vehicle the last 4 Bok games before that…

• 79.David: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-77:
    My criticism of Hougard is not his speed of clearing but his decision making in who to select to pass to. Pienaar actually selects the recipient rather than just getting rid of the ball.

• 80.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Bring back FdP and this retrograde circus dissolves all the way back to the dark ages.. that will be the cherry on top of the icing that will melt McArthers cake in the rain…

Klaar – Kaput.. finish

that will be the day the white flag of surrender is hoisted high in the sky…

Fck me George..

If Hougaard, Alberts and Bismark would have STARTED at WC 2011

Bok would have CREAMED that quarter final..and nailed NZ next up…

But NO

FdP, Smit and the moron Spies with Burger at first receiver.. fck’d the Boks to HELL and back again…

You goddamn morons don’t have half a foggy clue about what and who wins rugby games… not a faint foggy fucked up clue..

and the real pity of the fall out is neither does the national coach by all accounts…

• 81.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@gunther-76:
    I’ll also f!nd a way to br!ng FDP back.

Always been my favour!te Bok.

Would never say h!s was Blou Bul.

• 82.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-80: You seem to keep forgetting the fckup that was JdV at centre for the RWC… (One pass in the open… potential matchwinner…. Farken forward… the twat)… and now JdV at 13… What is it with this guy… Some sort of broederbond connections? The guy can never be dropped… Stormers have set back the career of JdJ by 2 years because of their blonde bombshell blindness… Struth!

• 83.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Hougaard must stay at 9..

Play Pienaar and don’t come crying when Genia reads him the riot act and washes his goolongoolies all over him.

Pienaar should have stayed at 10.. that was the biggest stuff up going.. Morne Steyn to the rescue.. yeah wasn’t that a dainty dish to set before a king .. now 13 international losses later and 2 draws with Morne Steyn standing off at deep square leg not knowing which kick and chase to adopt.. a short square nondescript uppercut or a long drop into new Bournemouth.

• 84.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-83: Nope… Pienaar the best 9 going at the moment for the Boks…

Best thing for Pienaar would be to get the same allowances Meyer and everyone else have been making for Hougaard by trying to play him in for 5 games already…

Pienaar gets 5 games in a row in the Bok 9 then you could possibly see a permanent matchwinner by the end of it….

And with a proper scrummie like Pienaar on his inside, Steyn gets one more shot and then a DCM for farken damnsure….

• 85.cab: Reply to this comment

FDP?! He was past his best in 2011 – need the hunger.

1. Beast \ gurthro 2. Fourie 3. Cillier
    4. Elstadt 5. Etsebeth
    6. Brussow 7. Alberts 8. Vermeulen

for sat – he can pick about of those and vermeulen is 100 times better than potgieter and louw will be more effective than Coetzee prob even if not match sharp.

If they go with Strauss, jannie, potgieter, Coetzee, pienaar and morne – this time they’ll lose.

• 86.David: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-80:
    Skop, do you genuinely believe that Schalk makes an arbitary decision to push out the 10 and take the ball as first receiver? It’s part of the coaches game plan, not a personal decision, rather like Bekker lurking on the wing.

• 87.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-82:
    You got eyes up twist street .. JdV at LEAST BROKE the gain line.. which other Bok did THAT..!!

Not a ONE.. ALL game LONG

.. Burger charged into the Aussie defense for 80 minutes of mayhem and not ONCE broke the gain line.. JdV bust it wide apart… pity that Lambie didn’t run off him 2 mts behind instead of neck and neck.

The WC quarter final was lost by Smit at 2, Burger at 7, Spies at 8 and FdP at 9

That is where the Boks lost the WC in 2011

had Boks started Bismark at 2, Louw at 6 (Brussow was carrying injury) Alberts at 7, Burger at 8 and Hougaard at 9

Boks would have CREAMED Aussie in that game .. Bryce or no Bryce…

FdP had a Bismark charge down IN the Goal area and Cooper got there before him.. Hougaard with have NAILED that opportunity.. FdP was SAT like a SLAP pathetic useless fish….

Burger at first receiver, Smit at 2, Spies at 8 and FdP at 9.. that is what LOST the Boks the WC 2011..

NOT and NEVER JdV at 12 or 13.

Find another scapegoat because JdV ain’t the one.. and NEITHER is Hougaard at 9 .. NEVER..

• 88.David: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-82:
    If the pass wasn’t forward it would have been blocked by an Aussie who was in the way.

• 89.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@David-86:

That was a RASSIE engineered f’ng garbage strategy like NONE other…
    stupendous idiocy at its level best

Burger cannot break the advantage line he don’t have the power nor the strength in the modern game… Burger is not an Alberts.. Alberts has to get the ball running role NOT Burger .. and definitely NOT every goddamn single time..

Fly half and backs should at LEAST get it once in a goddamn WHILE…

ABSOLUTE stupidity personified.. that alone cost Boks at least 50% go forward ..

the rest of the loss was down to Smit at 2, Spies at 8 and FdP at 9….

useless super bench garbage strategy that COST PdV the WC and Smit the ignominy he absolutely deserves.. Smit should have Fckd OFF and half the game was won…

• 90.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-87: He was put through the gap bigger than a barn door by none other than Morne Steyn if memory serves me correct… He also fcked up another pass to Habana…

This little Jean darling is truly an emperor with no clothes.

• 91.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Time to blood Ebersohn, Jordaan, JPP or JdJ at 13… Or bring Mossie back.

• 92.cab: Reply to this comment

De Jong should be ahead of JdV who should shift to wing – both frans steyn and de Jong are a massive handful for any oppo team – it has been ages since we cam say that

meyers problem is that he is going with conservative selections when we actually have weapons – if u don’t pick weapons, ie worldclass players, against oz or nz you are going to pomped. He keeps going for these mediocrities who don’t ir can’t push their kop above thE pulpit – gdam why can’t we get a boerebaasmanskaplike who plays stampkar but picks some fire.

• 93.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@cab-92: “JdV who should shift to wing”… Farking Madness…

JdV against Ioane… Farken “Brilliant” thought…

NO…

Farken embarrassing actually…

• 94.cab: Reply to this comment

I dint think I can actually watch this **** on sat cos it’s going to just be a repeat if history, getting more conservative rather than risking it, retreating into tge laager, before getting drilled senseless and all that confidence of the team in his abilities goes up in smoke and he starts to panick.

• 95.cab: Reply to this comment

HG

he’s still got good top-end pace, and finishes v well, he’s a decent captain and jp’s out – he’s played very well there too – if the boks had to pick frans and de Jong at centre and encouraged them to have a go – u would never dream of what this bok team could do on attack I reckon.

• 96.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

JdV picked on the wing against Digby Ioane will be THE most conservative fckedup selection in the history of Bok Rugby outside picking Owen Nkumane

• 97.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@cab-95: Rubbish… I reckon even Doc DuP got more Top-end pace now…

Nope time for Jean to bow out…

• 98.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-93: JdV vs Ioane far better match up than Habana or Mvovo vs Ioane

you want embarrassing watch one of those two get manhandled.. JdV will handle Iaone .. the others won’t.

JdV is not the problem

and all these Frans Steyn hero worshipers the fat slob is SLOW..I wanna see him DO something they so expectant;y waiting for him to do.. not just slap down a poorly directed clearance kick .. he should rather take up prop at least he’ll stoot better than JdP at No.3

• 99.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

put them in a line and set them off on a 100 mts dash

this is how it will go .. after 100 mts.

1st Habana
    2nd JdV
    3rd Hougaard
    4th Mvovo
    5th Kirchner
    6th Pienaar
    7th Lambie
    8th Steyn Morne / Frans
    9th Steyn Frans / Morne

• 100.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-98: Now I know for sure you okes got no clue about back play or even the whole game itself… Rather JdV vs Ioane than Habana – best defensive wing on the planet….

Mvovo is normally on the left, and performs better there… His direct opponent will not be Ioane… But he didnt half do that bad against the Reds on the road, didnt he?

You poor fools… Seriously… JdV vs Ioane is better than other options? Farked I tell you…

• 101.cab: Reply to this comment

Steyn is prob one of the best 12s in world rugby at tge momentum quite simply cos he gets momentum – he’s like Roberts but he needs a foil on his shoulder to accelerate through the galfgaps – de jong

play those 2 together and u could have guy kebble at 9 and 10 and boks will look more dangerous than since fleck and muir or snyman

• 102.cab: Reply to this comment

1. Gurthro 2. Fourie 3. Cilliers 4. Elstadt 5. Etsebeth 6. Brussow 7. Albert 8. Vermeulen/Louw

9. Hougaard 10. Goosen 11. JdV/Rhule 12. Frans 13. JdJ/Serfontein 14. JP 15. Viljoen se skoen

that team will beat the ABs

• 103.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-99: Farked in the head… What has JdV done to you fools… Its like a mass Uri Geller hypnosis trick…. “Watch here, the spoon is bending”….

“Lookie here, I, Donkey De Villiers, have high Top end speed”

“Repeat after me… Do not drop me… Play me anywhere”

The way you fools are talking soon you might reckon JdV will be good at 15… or 10… or even 8… Anywhere, as long as he is in the team…

Pretty goddamn ironic considering your absolute posion treason to Barney…

Fuckwits deluxe.

• 104.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

I’m still waiting patiently for the frans Steyn miracle wonder worker.. I heard all about it.. I still waiting to see this miracle unfold before my eyes..

and who’s the best defensive wing on the Planet..- Habana.. ?? come come.. which dream boat you been sailing down the moonlit seine on?

• 105.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

put them in a line and set them off on a 100 mts dash I dare you..

you know who creams them all on top end speed .. its the old man donkey JdV

how much you wanna bet?

Hougaard / Habana maybe get to 60 mts first but JdV will top out faster than all of them at 80 – 100 mts.. and perhaps JPP next..

Aplon would probably cream the lot…and Hekkies vd Heever next.

• 106.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

This is the team to take Boks forward… All being available

1. Beast/Gurthro
    2. Bismarck
    3. JdP/ A Nother
    4. Etsebeth
    5. Kruger/A Nother
    6. Coetsee/Flo
    7. Alberts/Burger
    8. Kankowski/A Nother (maybe Vermeulen. Not convinced at all. Happy to be proven wrong)
    9. Pienaar/A Nother
    10. Jantjies/Lambie
    11. Habana/Rhule/Mvovo
    12. Steyn/Serfontein (Btw Cab – he is a 12, not 13 and they are very different positions… ask JdJ)
    13. Ebersohn/JPP/Jordaan
    14. JPP/Habana
    15. Find someone soon… A problem/Lambie stopgap

And there you have it… Arguments over before they even begun

• 107.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-105: You talking out of your tofushitting nought now…

JPP would cream JdV over 100m… I reckon possibly even with a 10m headstart for JdV too…

Habana and Mvovo would drill him too…

Rhule would leave him in his wake like a lost dolphin…

Madness!!!

• 108.cab: Reply to this comment

***** this mutton dressed like lamb goose is popping it out on xfactor – gdam they all meant to be such characters damn fools on this show with fkall talent -all just glitz

• 109.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

W. Le Roux / A . Coetsee
    JdV / JPP / Habana
    Serfontein / Jordaan / JPP / JdPlessis / Ebersohn
    Steyn / JdJ
    Rhule / Habana
    Goosen / Le Roux / Coetsee
    Hougaard / Pretorius / Van Zyl
    Vermeulen / Coetsee
    Alberts / Kolisi / Elstadt / PSdT
    Brussow / Louw / Kolisi
    Etzebeth / Kruger
    Elstadt / PSdT / Alberts / Deysel
    Cilliers / Adriaanse / Nel / Oosthuizen
    Bismark / Fourie
    Steenkamp / Beast / Oosthuizen

• 110.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-107: how much you wanna bet JdV drops JPP over 100 mts

Rhule would probably drop them both and so would Aplon

But neither Habana, JPP or Hougaard drop JdV over 100 mts.. 60 mts yes .. 100 mts no.

• 111.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-110: I can guarantee you 100% that JdV is not faster than JPP over 100m… Not any distance actually… Its like Oscar Pistorius vs Bolt this matchup… and Donkey is legless in this comparison….

Habana will drop JdV any day of the week too… Come now, you starting to look foolish… I reckon you may have just lost a couple of kenner ranks as a result.

Farken ridiculous I tell you…

• 112.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-109: You okes are mad if you think Coetsee or Le Roux can cut it at international level… For one, they both tackle worse than Percy in his heyday…

• 113.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Now this is a backline squad for the future if Rudi Straeuli does his deals properly…

9. McLeod/Reinach
    10 Lambie/Jantjies
    11. Mvovo/Sithole
    12. Steyn/Whitehead
    13. Jordaan/JPP
    14. JPP/Ludik/Ndungane
    15. Viljoen/Taute/Ludik

Coming to a Shark tank near you…. (Heard a few little gurgling underwater bubbles about Pienaar too)

Beats the sh.it out of the Bok backline at the moment… Thats for sure.

• 114.Hondo: Reply to this comment

The current odds are on the Boks (if they win ) are 5:2 approx.
    A chance for those Boks’ true supporters to nearly triple their money!
    Interesting to see how many here would dare a wager?

• 115.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Looks like I cleared the floor… outtahere

By telling of it,
    Made such a sinner of his memory,
    To credit his own lie, he did believe
    He was indeed the duke

• 116.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@cab-102:
    Sound a sure thing to me but don’t bet the family’s bonds on it ;)

• 117.cab: Reply to this comment

Hondo – 5/2 for the boks to win in Perth is mighty generous odds imo – maybe they recon the oz team is alot worse than they are.

• 118.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

Has anybody else been impressed with the Free state Winger in the Super 15? His playmaking skills are fantastic, he has an aye for attack, he has gas, and he doesn’t do too badly at flyhalf either (I believe that he used oto play there)!

Willie Le roux I think his name is? That is the kind of player that we need in the backline – one that can think on their feet, and has a nose for attack.

He has natural talent written all over him. I wonder how he would do at fullback for the Boks. He makes some mistakes, but none of them too bad, and he is always involved and making something – in the same mould as Super Sarel. I would like to see a backline of
    9) Super Sarel
    10) Johan Goosen
    11) Aplon
    12) JdV
    13) JP
    14) W Le Roux
    15) F Steyn

Each of them (maybe not Habana) capable of drawing their man, hitting the gap, and offloading. And all of them can run good lines. Frans at 15 and Goose at 10 for keeping them pinned in their own half with huge boots. Speed and playmaking on teh outside, so that the other side is never sure if the ball will be returned with interest, or spread wide.

• 119.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

Maybe replace JdV with someone that makes decent space for players outside him instead of running laterally? He plays too much like a 13 and not a 12. But Frans Steyn must be 15 for his boot and speed on the outside.

• 120.xtremebull: Reply to this comment

Our boks or overseas boks against the aussies and nzlanders

Our boks
    15-zane kirchner
    14-bryan habana
    13-jean de villiers
    12-frans steyn
    11-lwazi mvov
    10-morne steyn
    9-ruan pienaar
    8-duane vermeulen
    7-willem alberts
    6-marcell coetzee
    5-juandre kruger
    4-eben etzebeth
    3-jannie du plessis
    2-adrian strauss
    1-beats mtawarira

16-liebenberg 17-cilliers 18-bekker 19-louw
    20-hougaard 21-lambie 22ide jong

Overseas boks
    15- conrad jantes
    14-tonderai chavanga
    13-jaque fourie
    12-wynand olivier
    11-brent russel
    10-peter grant
    9-fourie du preez
    8-joe van niekerk
    7-danie rossouw
    6-jaque cronje
    5-johann muller
    4-bakkies botha
    3-brian mujati
    2-schalk brits
    1-guthro steenkamp

• 121.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@cab-117:
    I would have started with Lambie and Pienaar to prepare them for the ABs, Houggie to 11, Habanna to 14, HM should get the courage to dump Mvovo because ramification of losing to a nonsense Wallabies team will be sever

• 122.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@xtremebull-120:
    No BJ?
    No Wiam du Preez?
    No Gary Botha?
    No JP Nel?
    Those guys are paid fortune, a prime rate
    Watermayer is the form centre in the Celtic League, in case you’ve missed it

• 123.JohnPierre: Reply to this comment

It is interesting to read both the intelligent comments and outrageous rubbish coming out of the Republic…The AB’s are not invincible but jeez it will take a very very very good Team to beat them, hence the reason they are the “Winningiest Sports Team on the Planet” (and thats a fact). SA will always be there or there abouts but you have so much nonsense going on ‘off’ the field it’s a wonder you can put a Team together at all. The biggest fault I see is that SA play a One-Dimensional game and there is no Plan B if Plan A fails. And yet you have wonderfully gifted players – it is arguable if they are as wonderfully gifted as AB’s or Wallabies players, but you have up-and-comers but no pathway for them to improve, develop and to be integrated into the Boks culture. Look at the Rugby Competition for NZ 1st XV’s…that is reaching its final this weekend. You can see how they are picking up on the ‘off loads’ – the driving play – the defence and all they other things that charactize the AB’s playing style. When it comes to the Boks, it promises alot but delivers nothing and that is the shame of your game. And to make it an even sorrier state of affairs, to think the Boks had they won their QF against Aust in the RWC 2011, would have beaten the AB’s – NAH that would never have happened. They would have got exactly what the AB’s dished out to the Aussies in the SF, end of story. So please stop with the whingeing, the moaning, the blaming. SA should have won that final, sure Lawrence was a ***** ref that day, but SA had the possession and the territory but just couldnt convert it into points that would have won the game – and that folks is it!!! please no more – it was the ref!!!

• 124.whatever: Reply to this comment

Jeez, talk about giving oneself a ******* dude! How big is your head? Must be uncomfortable cause its stuck right up your ars e

How the hell do you know what would have happenned if the boks met the AB’s in the WC?? **** you nearly lost to the useless frogs and probably would have if it were not for the fact you were at your home WC!!

Oh and BTW, it was you f ucks who started with the ref business, remember 2007??

No of course you don’t you whinging doos!

Now f uk off with your irrelevant comments,……

• 125.whatever: Reply to this comment

I suppose ’95 is also a distant memory? No whinging there either hey??

One eyed to say the least!

• 126.Nils: Reply to this comment

@whatever-124: “Oh and BTW, it was you f ucks who started with the ref business, remember 2007??”

Hehe, the irony is the fact, that okes en masse here still think that Barnesey who blew exclusively in one direction was very much alright but Brycie who give freedom to all (right or wrong) was utterest ***** and cheat on motherfooking planet. 8)

That is a cause for a good laugh really.

• 127.Nils: Reply to this comment

@whatever-125: Ahem, and that’s basically it. 95 and 07. 2 big complaints (or whinges). Can you name more?

If I cared to count the local whinges however, I’d soon be into double digits, including even games no way involving Saffas. ;)

• 128.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@whatever-124:
    Gee settle down.
    Have you not heard the one about the Boks beat the Cavaliers in 1986 so they would have beaten the AB team in 1987 RWC?
    You all say it. If it wasnt for Bryce Boks would have won the RWC… and on what facts do these people come up with that, especially after the Boks once again getting wooden spoon in the 3 nations in 2007 and 2011.
    Everyone has an opinion, just because its not your opinion does not mean the name calling and anger that spews out of your posts has to happen. Be a nice boy and blog calmly and politely :-)

• 129.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-128: hahaha well spoken sir..

@whatever-125: 95, that of the gold watch irony? that same tourny where the hosts had to get the pitch sweeped of excess water so they could play their semi-final, as they would have been out of the tourny otherwise?

and 2011 is considered rigged? hahahaha mind you, for 80 odd years before isolation with the majority of matches in SA and with hometown refs is it any surprise they held a slender 3 game lead..

since the introduction of neutral refs the truth has come glaring back at them…

now they cry conspiracy, the very same people who lived that mantra..

classic :lol:

• 130.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

What does a 12 year old know about pre-isolation years…or even 1995 come to think of it?

• 131.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-130: what does a bonehead neanderthal know about anything? besides being racist?

• 132.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Would not have a clue pops, you tell me?

• 133.gunther: Reply to this comment

Poeps returning serve again.

The waka goes to war.

• 134.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

I think he missed his medication again this morning, looks like the canoe is taking water…

• 135.poppa69: Reply to this comment

lol hilarious guys, best you lock the gates to the compound tonight, make sure the alsations are hungry because it makes them angrier, and be sure to bolt your deadlocks and load the ak47s, just in case..

• 136.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-122: do the Griquas play in the “Celtic league”because that’s where stefan watermeyer is ;)

stadig?

• 137.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Up you game pops, you should know it is the crooks carrying the AK47s’, the other side of the gate are the ones with the 9mm and the shotguns. Alsations traded in a long time ago for rotweilers and mastiffs, no need to make them any angrier than what they already are. Come, give me your hand and I will show you…

• 138.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

alsations?
    ak’s?

you wouldn’t make it as a scriptwriter you knoblite.

• 139.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-138:

Google has its limitations you know…

• 140.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-122: Watermeyer playing for Griqua ignoramus

• 141.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-139:
    he’s off his game today (by game i mean meds of course). :lol:

• 142.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-141: youre the last one to talk mister paranoia, but boy you guys are easy to get a bite from..

I see youve joined in, did you feel cheated with my comment :lol:

• 143.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Only one biting was you pops…

• 144.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-137: how would I know slarti? I havent profited from the sins of my ancestors like yourself :wink:

• 145.grant10: Reply to this comment

Great to see HEINRICH bRUSSOW BACK FOR 40 MIN AGAINST wp THIS SATURDAY…

• 146.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-143:

headcase extraordinaire

• 147.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Just watching the mining situation in SA on TV, how close is that to residential areas as they are running around with speares and machetes?

• 148.papaown: Reply to this comment

Jusy heard on 5fm radio that Hougaard will start on wing this weekend. Can any1 verify this?

• 149.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-142:
    what are you talking about? aai….
    are you coming off shift or starting? and have you started drinking yet?

your answer will help us get a better understanding of you :grin:

• 150.papaown: Reply to this comment

@grant10-145: if only HM felt the same???

• 151.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-149: filthy cheating south african scum…

• 152.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Time to change your bait pops, current batch seems vrot!

• 153.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Right, I think it is clear…he did not take his medication this morning and to make matters worse he also started drinking earlier than normal.

• 154.poppa69: Reply to this comment

the only ones needing “medication” are the flaccid springbabies, perhaps chilli could lend them his nasal spray so that they culd be bjorn again?

but at the moment, and after being run over by Argentinian beef, they have less bite than a toothless capetonian

• 155.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Nobody seems to know, scary stuff though if you had a family you’d have to seriously think about leaving what a shambles.Hougaard on the wing would be a good call he’s not an international 9′s backside.

• 156.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Pops you could clearly see Sir Teds influence on the 2nd Argy game, working about Meyers game plan wouldn’t have been very difficult for the old master.

• 157.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-156: Meyer has a game plan?

Did you hear abouit Oscar Pistorious? continuing the fine SA tradition of inferring cheating when losing?

• 158.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

I didnt realise he was South African, well his tactics anyway Meyer could learn alot from Henry.

• 159.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-155:

NZ people leave and stay for various reason, SA had mining strikes/issues as far back as the 1960′s (and before) and it is nothing new. As some insensitive plonkers like to point out regularly in the guise of ‘returning serve’, violence in SA is also not something new.

Appreciate the concern though.

Hougaard should go back to CC so he can build up his confidence again, pushing him to play a gameplan he can’t has hurt him. Wing is ok but a step back for him.

• 160.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-151:
    you’re projecting pops.
    besides, that’s not even true.

who knows… we may be scum to you because we play you hard, have unlikeable accents, have no high regard for your rugby,… i could attempt a number of possible answers… but we’er certainly not filthy cheats.

that’s your territory.. but you know this..

@Slartibartfast-153:
    ok, so no meds and drinking since 6:30…?…

this’ll be fun.

just hope he doesn’t blow any gaskets again.

• 161.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-158: just when I thought PDV was the highlight of the circus, along comes heyneke with his walkie talkie routine..

Cirque de Soliel should really employ all of SA rugby, it is side splittingly funny :D

• 162.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-158:

How many years as an international coach does Ted have? The Meyer has 3 months, he will get better.

• 163.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-160:

Hehehe can you hear that clapping sound? That is a valve getting ready to POP!!!!

• 164.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-160: just borrowed the phrase from your mantra, obviously replacing NZ with SA..

now, I only have to repeat it a trillion times and I may just catch up..

so, what say you about Oscar and his poor sportsmanship because the Brazilian beat him in the final?

another case of an arrogant saffa believing that anything other than victory was a conspiracy?

• 165.poppa69: Reply to this comment

ah well, when the skop an jag falls woefully short against the Aussies this weekend, I will laugh and laugh and laugh and laugh

like this —-> :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

• 166.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Slart as you probably know we lose plenty of people to Australia etc mainly for economic reasons but watching those guys running around with spears in 2012 im not sure how anyone could get used to that, they must breed them tough in Africa huh, Hougaard was very good at the Wc when playing wing

• 167.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-166:

Hehehe NZ, some things you grow up with and ‘accept’ as ‘normal’, but like I say people stay/leave for plenty of reasons.

• 168.gunther: Reply to this comment

China’s not concerned he’s just having a dig.

• 169.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Actually funny guy I only dig with things that involve rugby, scary situation looks terrible, now before you attempt to insult me with your special brand of humour I havent spent the last 20.wu

• 170.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-164:
    ok, but in my case its the truth. i may be repeating it ad nauseum and it may make for uncomfortable hearin but its mostly true. anyway, i am moving on from this and you know it so what’s your point by returning to it?

i will let you know my thoughts when the boks play you because its the boks and has nothing to do with the ab’s.

i think he was a doos for complaining and has gone down in credibiity and in my estimation of him since. i’m just going on the media brouha of course and there is two sides to a story so am waiting to hear his.
    but it does look silly from this point so far.

he generally a nice likeable person from what i’ve gathered in the media interactions and interviews but this is the second time i’ve seen an emotionally angry type reactive outburst by him. the first was when he cut a bbc interview off live midway and hung up because he did not like the tone or questions the interviewer was asking him. i gave him the benefit of the doubt then because it may have been a lost in translation moment or perhaps he was not feeling to good, which can happen, we all have off days, as you should know.

but now i’m staring to think he’s a bit doosy maybe. very poor sports of him to take the other guys moment away and stupid considering he’s been allowed to run with able bodied athletes on the back of the very same type of comments and concerns made about his blades and any possible unfair advantages.

will wait for more on the story.

• 171.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-164: Like Suzie…….

• 172.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-164:
    you have cheated us out of victories in the past pops and no doubt you will continue to do so in the future.
    its in your nature.

• 173.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-165:
    well, at least we porvide you with laughter.
    there’s nothing likeable in what your team does.
    on the contrary its very unlikeable.
    you must have the shittiest brand in world rugby at moment.

• 174.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-171: I love it when people throw the Susie line at me, Ive never claimed the Susie theory and never will… we lost a game in extra overtime, no shame in that..

the gold watch concerns me more rather than Laurie Mains clutching at excuses..

• 175.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Bakkies its payback for all those games in Sa when the brown brothers couldn’t tour SA, was that cheating or was that something else and how can we forget Gerty he was a beaut ” ja boys but you can go home I have to live here after the series”

• 176.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-173: I know, to think that Wales, Canada, SA, Aust, Argentina, Japan (at one stage) and plenty of NH club sides all EMPLOY our coaches really highlights your point about our brand…

• 177.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-175:

since the advent of neutral refs, we’ve seen the redress in the ledger, and thats what people like Bakkies cant handle..

when the truth outs, it hurts…

• 178.poppa69: Reply to this comment

love the title to this thread

“boks sweat on strauss”

sounds like camp staldraad all over again :D

• 179.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-174: Cannot remember where I said you guys are cheats either yet I am painted with the same brush……But for the record I think think Sir **** McCaw gets away with alot more than the average Joe and he milks it and that my friend is considered cheating and I’ll leave it at that.

• 180.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

china,
    thanks for the head up. nice to see a bit of honesty from you guys every once in a while. i dont think its right what you do of course but it gives and idea of where its coming from perhaps?

why practise it across the board though, especially against teams you should be able to beat on skill and gameplan alone? like say for instance – ireland?

@poppa69-176:
    haha
    there’s saffa refs and players all over the globe you dimwit.

• 181.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Pops you are correct without the brown brothers for so long and refs like Gerty the deck was stacked.

• 182.gunther: Reply to this comment

Neutral refs?

Under the guidance of bent Paddy?

Do me a favour.

• 183.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-178: Sweating is one thing….wearing farking mascara whilst doing the Haka…..

• 184.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-176:
    you are not liked poppa, anywhere.
    pathetic sales worldwide for a team/side which dominated in the sport over the last 20 years.

• 185.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-177:
    neutral refs .?.. lmao :lol:

• 186.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-180: Im the dimwit? youre the one claiming our brand is suffering, yet as I just pointed out to you, all over the world NZ coaches teaching “the brand” are highly sought after and well compensated for their input..

I dont recall; too many SA coahces being sought after to teach skop an jag and the like..

for comparisons sake, the SA WC winning coach took four years to be employed after his team won, the NZ WC winning coach got a job practically straight away (assisting argentina)..

has the penny dropped yet?

• 187.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-181:
    why do you still pay them less than the white brothers, china?
    just curious.

• 188.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-147: Not close at all, a lot of this cr*p happens out on the mines or in the townships.

What worries me far more than the spears and machetes is the damage being done to the economy, foreign investment etc. We’re already a standing joke in the first world thanks to our corrupt polygamous Shower Prez & his pathetic government…..truly hope we get a stronger leader with at least a semblance of a moral compass in the elections next year!

• 189.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-183: wasnt it John Smit who said it was a privilege to be amongst the first to stand and watch Kapo O pango?

oh yes, wearing mascara is worse then getting 20 or 30 men to strip naked and roll around together.

LMFAO … but hey, if you guys enjoy that sort of thing who am I to say otherwise.. the sad thing is it didnt even improve their ball handling skills

• 190.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-186:
    dont be an idiot pops, there are saffas coaching and playing all over the world.

• 191.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-180: There are SA players doing well all over, but I wouldn’t mind more intelligent coaching for a change….

• 192.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-183: Wonder if he practices in high heels to better his balance…..

• 193.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-189: As I recall Staaldraad was pilloried by just about everybody in the country as stupid and backwards, with the exception of Straueli and his sidekicks….

• 194.willievz: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-174: And the disallowed Benazzi try…

• 195.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-189: You just luuuuuuuv the mascara bit….takes you back to the good old days hey…or last Friday night?

• 196.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-191:
    the point was about nz’s kak rugby brand/image worldwide.
    pops claims its good because there’s kiwis coaching around the world
    and my response was there’s saffa’s coaching around the world too.

merchandise sales looks kak to me. i may be wrong but i could swear i’ve seen more bok jerseys overseas than ab ones? for a national side lke nz who having built up a 20 year history comparable to manchester or real madrid or barcalona not to reflect this in merchandise is suggestive to me.

• 197.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-190: how many of them coaching national sides?

like Deans, gatland, Crowley etc..

please list them

• 198.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

whats up with selective conversation style, buddy.

just curious.

• 199.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-195: how did you see my mascara? your head was buried in the pillow and you had the ballcock firmly entrenched within your teeth..

i thought you didnt want anyone to know?

• 200.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-199: clutching straws my good man….

• 201.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-197:
    huh? shifting goalposts then?

how many national sides coached by kiwis have had any measure of success over sh competition?
    please man, how long has gatland (probably your most succesful export) been with wales now? its about 6 years isn’t it?
    hows their win/loss record?

• 202.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-201: like I said, why would NATIONAL unions want NZ coaches and not SA coaches? answer me that..

Wales got further than SA at the recent WC, so I dont quite understand what your point is? they are also 6 nations champs, so again, you are only ever building my argument..

• 203.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-201: How many SA’s are coaching INTERNATIONAL sides?

• 204.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-201: but if our brand is sooooooooo bad

why do so many SOUTH AFRICANS cheer the ABs on?

we know that SA has the biggest All Black supporters group..

strange, I would suggest that proves our “brand” is as strong as ever…

• 205.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-201:

“how many national sides coached by kiwis have had any measure of success over sh competition?”

too easy..

Robbie Deans has won 6 of the last 7 times against SA opposition, I think they count as SH… what say you? :lol:

• 206.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

still waiting chin chin

• 207.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-202:
    @poppa69-203:
    @poppa69-204:
    @poppa69-205:
    sorry pops, i will answer these later, i have to attend to some stuff asap.

• 208.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-207: all good, this thread has killed my last two hours of work..

been fun winding you guys up..

• 209.iamhungry: Reply to this comment

KEO NEEDS A NEW COMMENTS SECTION. THIS ONE CAN BE OVER RUN BY 2 PEOPLE BAITING EACH OTHER. CASE IN POINT THIS COLUMN…..

• 210.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-207:
    Pops just showed you the door and you closed it on your own v@gina.
    You actually left the blog cos you had nothing lol. Crack up. I too was waiting for all these international coaches from South Africa that are all over the world.

• 211.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-202:
    ridiculous much? how many times has gatland’s wales team beaten us or the ozzies?
    two six nations in six years isn’t crowable and a less than 50% win ration to boot.

@poppa69-203:
    huh? that was neve the point you dimwit.
    i stated there are saffa’s coaching overseas.
    mallet, smal and white come to mind.

@poppa69-204:
    i knew you would bring that up hahaha so predictable.
    you know the reasons for this historical abberation very well poppa and it has less to do with nz rugby and the ab’s than it has to do with south africa’s historical issues. a very small percentage (even when measured today) of the non white population chose to support the next best team after the boks out of frustration and despair at their racial mistreatment.

this wasn’t about you, this was about south africa. even though a lot of these supporters have chosen to remain ab fans and have passed on this support to their children i’m pretty certain the number of non white springbok supporters are far, far higher than the few ab supporters still hanging on to old issues.

where’s your worldwide fanbase mr man u of rugby? people have nothing but contempt for you the world over.

@poppa69-205:
    oh good lord, what’s his win ratio overall then? that’s right stfu donny :lol:
    besides, his success has less to do with him or oz than it has to do with sa politics and stuff.

@iamhungry-209:
    fokkof

@Hurricane-210:
    jee whiskers hurri,
    i didn’t figure you for a smack talker..?..

did popa make your day..?. :lol:

• 212.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-211:
    ” how many times has gatland’s wales team beaten us or the ozzies?
    two six nations in six years isn’t crowable and a less than 50% win ration to boot.”

What does 6 years have to do with Gatland? He has only coached Wales since 2008. In that time he was won the 6 nations two times.
    Well look at it this way, SA have only won a Tri nations once in 6 years. There is only two other teams in the tournament, Wales compete with 5 others. I get it, hes a Kiwi and you hate him, but dont knock Wales, especially when they finished higher than you in the RWC and have actually won their national championship.
    Gatland is about 54% win ratio,not great at all, but this is Wales we are talking about, they struggle against SH teams.

• 213.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Tarrycane-212: Wales finished higher. This is when you know there is nothing left to say on a Tuesday… Really.
    We beat Wales in the same WC. Albeit close. They went on to play, i think it was Ireland in qf’s. We, got shafted by NZ ref of the year. Case closed.

• 214.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@shooter-213:
    Why you change my name??
    You were also shafted as a fan by your own team.
    75% + ball and possesion wasn’t enough?
    IF Brycie was cheating you guys, why did he let you have so much ball?

• 215.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-212:
    dont be an idiot, hurri.
    that’s poppa’s turf.

gatland’s been there since 2007
    the tri nations is only a comp between the three top ranked teams in the world, you know this..?..
    5 others? italy and scotland counts for something? getdaffuckouttahere…
    i dont think its 54% hurri… huh? sneaking in a few extra digits even when someone’s looking… typical.. :lol:

• 216.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-215:
    He started 1 December 2007
    First gamre as coach 2008, i think you are the one veing an idiot here.
    54% is about right, i went through all his wins and losses. Be my guess have a go but at least dont count 2007 as you suggest, he wasnt coach then clown.

• 217.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-215:
    Scotland and Italy are international teams.
    You think beating Argentina, fiji Samoa, tonga and USA makes you the RWC holders 2007. Dont be an idiot and think Scotland and italy dont count, cos they do.

• 218.cane: Reply to this comment

@shooter-213:

“We, got shafted by NZ ref of the year. Case closed”.

No………………………………………you got what you deserved.
    8th=

• 219.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-212:
    you just dont give up do you.
    so he’s coached them for five years and won two crappy six nations titles against the 4,5,6,7, 9 and 11th best teams in world rugby? big deal.
    wales is still lower than england and france on the rankings table.. so much for their two titles.
    you know the 3nations is between the three best teams in world rugby for only like the last 100 years (exasperated smiley).

you know and i know why they finished higher than us at the last wc (rolling eyes smiley).

i think his ratio is 50% or just below.

by all means count those two bit countries if it gives credence to your argument. :lol:

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.