Boks sweat on Strauss
3 Sep 2012
Hooker Adriaan Strauss is the only injury concern as the Springboks prepare for their next Rugby Championship Test against the Wallabies this weekend.
The Springboks have settled in Perth after departing from O.R. Tambo International Airport on Saturday. They have also been boosted by the arrival of Bath-based flank Francois Louw, who joined the team on Monday after a flight from England.
As the Boks carry out their midweek preparations, there is one injury concern ahead of this Saturday’s clash. Strauss is struggling with a knee injury and will be monitored over the next couple of days.
‘The only injury concern is Adriaan, who’s got a mild knee ligament sprain,’ said Bok doctor Craig Roberts. ‘We will assess him later in the week and will make a call on his availability depending on how he goes through training in the next couple of days, but apart from that I’m happy to report we have a fit squad and are ready to go.’
This will be a worry for head coach Heyneke Meyer, considering hookers Bismarck du Plessis and Chiliboy Ralepelle have already withdrawn due to injury in recent weeks.
However, Meyer stressed that the Boks will have enough back-up options should Strauss fail his fitness test.
‘We have a few hookers on standby [in Tiaan Liebenberg and Craig Burden], but we have a very good medical team and I’m positive we’ll get Adriaan through. We have travelled with three hookers, so should be fine for the first game.’

219 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All
3 Sep 2012, 19:10 pm
@grant10-50: But provisor was Spies at his best… He goddamn hasn’t been for years though…
Therefore agree 100%… GI Joe can fark off to the Kawasaki Ninjas as far as I’m concerned…
Farken passenger
3 Sep 2012, 19:15 pm
all the more reason for these twats to realize who is the best hooker in the country after Bismark and PICK him goddammit before he runs out playing for France
Now that teddy bear Strauss is kaput all the more reason to pick Fourie and draft him straight into the 22
Fourie to start, Liebenberg on bench.. that the way it should go.. none of this Burden of bewildered brainwashed braille business bamboozling the beeswax.
3 Sep 2012, 19:15 pm
Hoagie move to 15 chap.
You will be the stuff of legends there.
3 Sep 2012, 19:18 pm
Kankawalski already farked off to the Kawasaki klan so no more lamenting for Miyagi to turn back
HM’s dream loos!e combo !s probably Schalk – Alberts – Vermuelen.
Liebenbergs throwing in at the line out is more suited to the Paralympics than the Rugby Championship.
3 Sep 2012, 19:23 pm
Great BALANCED loosie trios from 90′s to present.
1. Zinzan, Brewer, Kronfeld
2. Dallaglio, Hill, Back
3. Teichmann, Venter, Kruger
4. Harinordoquy, Magne, Betsen
3 Sep 2012, 19:24 pm
@gunther-53:
Only th!ng not !n h!s favour !s h!s he!ght. W!ll be a d!sadvantage go!ng for the h!gh ball.
3 Sep 2012, 19:29 pm
Hougaard should stay at 9.. these lame ducks wanna chuck Pienaar to 9 and Hougaard to wing
Aussie gonna think Xmas is on the 8th of September.
I wonder how HM gonna handle a loss this time.. not a draw but a loss… will he have enough caboodle to step up and face the next day?
3 Sep 2012, 19:29 pm
He’s fearless Jerry and no shorter than Chistian Cullen.
For me the positives far purest that.
Great defender.
Massively strong.
Superb on attack.
The answer to our prayers in a problematic position.
3 Sep 2012, 19:31 pm
@Jeraldjay-55: that loose trio will be farked up 6 love
3 Sep 2012, 19:33 pm
Fuckadilly I’m sure he will handle the fallout with the same aplomb as you use to handle the bank manager at month end.
3 Sep 2012, 19:34 pm
@fitz1ella-59: Pienaar to 9 and Hougaard can stay the fck away from wing too…
There’s better wing talent that played in the Currie Cup this weekend…
Best wings for SA if all available are JPP, Rhule, Habana in that order.
I brook no argument here.
3 Sep 2012, 19:36 pm
@gunther-60:
Cullen was a once !n a l!fet!me freak.
But fullback !s our ach!lles at the moment. Anyth!ng’s better than Zaney.
3 Sep 2012, 19:39 pm
And I am sick and tired of JdV being accommodated all over the backline… Best two 13s in SA were in action this last weekend, facing eachother….
Ebersohn and Jordaan.
Ranking of 13′s… 1. Ebersohn 2. Jordaan 3. JPP
3 Sep 2012, 19:40 pm
But the point is that it can be done Jerry.
We have the opportunity to turn a weakness into a strength.
3 Sep 2012, 19:43 pm
@grant10-61:
True.
Too one d!mens!onal. We need an 8th man w!th bulk and fla!r that can offload !n the tackle whose pr!mary role !s to be a l!nkman.
3 Sep 2012, 19:45 pm
@Jeraldjay-67: schalk a 7…not a 6
3 Sep 2012, 19:45 pm
If Strauss out – by default they got a better chance
- if cilliers, louw and vermeulen picked and Strauss is dropped they might even win.
- If fourie and elstadt were there, they’d win.
3 Sep 2012, 19:47 pm
Pienaar will fck up BAD if he gets to start at 9 .. don’t come crying
Hougaard was the BEST Bok on display last weekend.. Pienaar was kak by comparison..
Hougaard, Etzebeth and a lucky packet charge down by Francis Steyn.. that about sums up Boks in Mendoza…
and all those blaming JdV.. he was the only back breaking the advantage line.. along with Hougaard.. with NOBODY running off them or with them.. where was Steyn or Habana or the other Moron Mvovo or Kirchner… AWOL that’s where.
Pienaar let the little Argy scrummy sommer shrug him off and charge into the distance. ALMOST scoring another Argy try.
Alberts at 8 – disaster
Coetsee at 6 – nogga disaster
Etzebeth should be at 5 and Elstadt at 4 – KLAAR
JdP voetsek – Cilliers should start and one of the CC hardarse tight heads.. preferably from Vrystaat should jump the queue…
Strauss voetsek – Deon Fourie is the only hooker worthy to step into Bismarks shoes.. not a ONE other.. and they keep blowing BLIND in the land of moegoeville.
Beast is vrek.. get another tough guy loose head because Beast is on cruise control.. Aussie gonna pump him.
Vermeulen / Coetsee
Louw
Thats how it should go
then 2nd row we got a fckup of NOTE because there are NO enforcers present.. not ONE so baby Etzebeth has to be the tough guy.. what a f’ng BALLS UP deluxe.
Front row they better sort out their sh’t because Beast, Strauss, JdP is simply softy soapy shoe shine shenanigans.. nobody wanna stand up and dance.
3 Sep 2012, 19:50 pm
@gunther-53:
He’d be a bit like Gysie Pienaar.
3 Sep 2012, 19:51 pm
@fitz1ella-70: What did Hougaard do on Sat to improve the Bok cause… He was no more than adequate – because of this he played “well”?
Actually what the Fck has Hougaard done all five games this season in a Bok or even in a Bull jersey… Farkall thats what.
Pienaar is a better 9 than he is… Fact.
Actually Vermaak is a better 9 than him too.
3 Sep 2012, 19:54 pm
But better David!
They’d think twice about kicking to him that’s for sure.
3 Sep 2012, 19:55 pm
@Jeraldjay-55:
i like the cut of that jib
@fitz1ella-70:
i’ve got a bad feeling in my bones about pienaar too skop.
two or three lazy missed tackles and it over way before rover.
3 Sep 2012, 19:57 pm
@grant10-68:
I dont rate Schalk as a 1st rece!v!ng attack?ng opt!on or even as a ball carr!er.
Bring back FDP at 9.
Ruan has all the bmt of a pregnant schoolgirl.
@Heavens Game-72: you got no clue
go check that game again and see Hougaard pumping with GAS and NOT a BOK pumping with him in sight….
When Pienaar came on that is where we started slipping like nobodies business… the little Argy scrummy just waltzed straight THROUGH Pienaar .. Hougaard woyuld have NAILED him..
Hargaard was whipping the ball out and Steyn the bamboozled little deary deer in the headlights was doing FckALL with all of it…
Hougaard must STAY at 9 .. Not play at wing unless under emergency but NEVER by design..
this is how the scrum half hierarchy SHOULD pan out for Boks
Vermaak is nowhere
Hougaard
Pretorius
Van Zyl
………..
………..
Pienaar
……….
………..
Mcleod
………….
…………
Vermaak
and on last weekends showing perhaps Nic Groom should jump the queue to 3rd.
3 Sep 2012, 20:01 pm
@fitz1ella-77: One game, chap… one game. (And its possible that you quite actually maybe have been watching another game altogether… with some of the fiction you writing)
Yet Pienaar has been the Hougaard recovery vehicle the last 4 Bok games before that…
3 Sep 2012, 20:03 pm
@fitz1ella-77:
My criticism of Hougard is not his speed of clearing but his decision making in who to select to pass to. Pienaar actually selects the recipient rather than just getting rid of the ball.
3 Sep 2012, 20:06 pm
Bring back FdP and this retrograde circus dissolves all the way back to the dark ages.. that will be the cherry on top of the icing that will melt McArthers cake in the rain…
Klaar – Kaput.. finish
that will be the day the white flag of surrender is hoisted high in the sky…
Fck me George..
If Hougaard, Alberts and Bismark would have STARTED at WC 2011
Bok would have CREAMED that quarter final..and nailed NZ next up…
But NO
FdP, Smit and the moron Spies with Burger at first receiver.. fck’d the Boks to HELL and back again…
You goddamn morons don’t have half a foggy clue about what and who wins rugby games… not a faint foggy fucked up clue..
and the real pity of the fall out is neither does the national coach by all accounts…
3 Sep 2012, 20:09 pm
@gunther-76:
I’ll also f!nd a way to br!ng FDP back.
Always been my favour!te Bok.
Would never say h!s was Blou Bul.
3 Sep 2012, 20:10 pm
@fitz1ella-80: You seem to keep forgetting the fckup that was JdV at centre for the RWC… (One pass in the open… potential matchwinner…. Farken forward… the twat)… and now JdV at 13… What is it with this guy… Some sort of broederbond connections? The guy can never be dropped… Stormers have set back the career of JdJ by 2 years because of their blonde bombshell blindness… Struth!
3 Sep 2012, 20:12 pm
Hougaard must stay at 9..
Play Pienaar and don’t come crying when Genia reads him the riot act and washes his goolongoolies all over him.
Pienaar should have stayed at 10.. that was the biggest stuff up going.. Morne Steyn to the rescue.. yeah wasn’t that a dainty dish to set before a king .. now 13 international losses later and 2 draws with Morne Steyn standing off at deep square leg not knowing which kick and chase to adopt.. a short square nondescript uppercut or a long drop into new Bournemouth.
3 Sep 2012, 20:17 pm
@fitz1ella-83: Nope… Pienaar the best 9 going at the moment for the Boks…
Best thing for Pienaar would be to get the same allowances Meyer and everyone else have been making for Hougaard by trying to play him in for 5 games already…
Pienaar gets 5 games in a row in the Bok 9 then you could possibly see a permanent matchwinner by the end of it….
And with a proper scrummie like Pienaar on his inside, Steyn gets one more shot and then a DCM for farken damnsure….
3 Sep 2012, 20:18 pm
FDP?! He was past his best in 2011 – need the hunger.
1. Beast \ gurthro 2. Fourie 3. Cillier
4. Elstadt 5. Etsebeth
6. Brussow 7. Alberts 8. Vermeulen
for sat – he can pick about of those and vermeulen is 100 times better than potgieter and louw will be more effective than Coetzee prob even if not match sharp.
If they go with Strauss, jannie, potgieter, Coetzee, pienaar and morne – this time they’ll lose.
3 Sep 2012, 20:18 pm
@fitz1ella-80:
Skop, do you genuinely believe that Schalk makes an arbitary decision to push out the 10 and take the ball as first receiver? It’s part of the coaches game plan, not a personal decision, rather like Bekker lurking on the wing.
3 Sep 2012, 20:20 pm
@Heavens Game-82:
You got eyes up twist street .. JdV at LEAST BROKE the gain line.. which other Bok did THAT..!!
Not a ONE.. ALL game LONG
.. Burger charged into the Aussie defense for 80 minutes of mayhem and not ONCE broke the gain line.. JdV bust it wide apart… pity that Lambie didn’t run off him 2 mts behind instead of neck and neck.
The WC quarter final was lost by Smit at 2, Burger at 7, Spies at 8 and FdP at 9
That is where the Boks lost the WC in 2011
had Boks started Bismark at 2, Louw at 6 (Brussow was carrying injury) Alberts at 7, Burger at 8 and Hougaard at 9
Boks would have CREAMED Aussie in that game .. Bryce or no Bryce…
FdP had a Bismark charge down IN the Goal area and Cooper got there before him.. Hougaard with have NAILED that opportunity.. FdP was SAT like a SLAP pathetic useless fish….
Burger at first receiver, Smit at 2, Spies at 8 and FdP at 9.. that is what LOST the Boks the WC 2011..
NOT and NEVER JdV at 12 or 13.
Find another scapegoat because JdV ain’t the one.. and NEITHER is Hougaard at 9 .. NEVER..
3 Sep 2012, 20:24 pm
@Heavens Game-82:
If the pass wasn’t forward it would have been blocked by an Aussie who was in the way.
3 Sep 2012, 20:27 pm
@David-86:
That was a RASSIE engineered f’ng garbage strategy like NONE other…
stupendous idiocy at its level best
Burger cannot break the advantage line he don’t have the power nor the strength in the modern game… Burger is not an Alberts.. Alberts has to get the ball running role NOT Burger .. and definitely NOT every goddamn single time..
Fly half and backs should at LEAST get it once in a goddamn WHILE…
ABSOLUTE stupidity personified.. that alone cost Boks at least 50% go forward ..
the rest of the loss was down to Smit at 2, Spies at 8 and FdP at 9….
useless super bench garbage strategy that COST PdV the WC and Smit the ignominy he absolutely deserves.. Smit should have Fckd OFF and half the game was won…
3 Sep 2012, 20:28 pm
@fitz1ella-87: He was put through the gap bigger than a barn door by none other than Morne Steyn if memory serves me correct… He also fcked up another pass to Habana…
This little Jean darling is truly an emperor with no clothes.
3 Sep 2012, 20:30 pm
Time to blood Ebersohn, Jordaan, JPP or JdJ at 13… Or bring Mossie back.
3 Sep 2012, 20:31 pm
De Jong should be ahead of JdV who should shift to wing – both frans steyn and de Jong are a massive handful for any oppo team – it has been ages since we cam say that
meyers problem is that he is going with conservative selections when we actually have weapons – if u don’t pick weapons, ie worldclass players, against oz or nz you are going to pomped. He keeps going for these mediocrities who don’t ir can’t push their kop above thE pulpit – gdam why can’t we get a boerebaasmanskaplike who plays stampkar but picks some fire.
3 Sep 2012, 20:36 pm
@cab-92: “JdV who should shift to wing”… Farking Madness…
JdV against Ioane… Farken “Brilliant” thought…
NO…
Farken embarrassing actually…
3 Sep 2012, 20:36 pm
I dint think I can actually watch this **** on sat cos it’s going to just be a repeat if history, getting more conservative rather than risking it, retreating into tge laager, before getting drilled senseless and all that confidence of the team in his abilities goes up in smoke and he starts to panick.
3 Sep 2012, 20:41 pm
HG
he’s still got good top-end pace, and finishes v well, he’s a decent captain and jp’s out – he’s played very well there too – if the boks had to pick frans and de Jong at centre and encouraged them to have a go – u would never dream of what this bok team could do on attack I reckon.
3 Sep 2012, 20:42 pm
JdV picked on the wing against Digby Ioane will be THE most conservative fckedup selection in the history of Bok Rugby outside picking Owen Nkumane
3 Sep 2012, 20:43 pm
@cab-95: Rubbish… I reckon even Doc DuP got more Top-end pace now…
Nope time for Jean to bow out…
3 Sep 2012, 20:45 pm
@Heavens Game-93: JdV vs Ioane far better match up than Habana or Mvovo vs Ioane
you want embarrassing watch one of those two get manhandled.. JdV will handle Iaone .. the others won’t.
JdV is not the problem
and all these Frans Steyn hero worshipers the fat slob is SLOW..I wanna see him DO something they so expectant;y waiting for him to do.. not just slap down a poorly directed clearance kick .. he should rather take up prop at least he’ll stoot better than JdP at No.3
3 Sep 2012, 20:48 pm
put them in a line and set them off on a 100 mts dash
this is how it will go .. after 100 mts.
1st Habana
2nd JdV
3rd Hougaard
4th Mvovo
5th Kirchner
6th Pienaar
7th Lambie
8th Steyn Morne / Frans
9th Steyn Frans / Morne
3 Sep 2012, 20:52 pm
@fitz1ella-98: Now I know for sure you okes got no clue about back play or even the whole game itself… Rather JdV vs Ioane than Habana – best defensive wing on the planet….
Mvovo is normally on the left, and performs better there… His direct opponent will not be Ioane… But he didnt half do that bad against the Reds on the road, didnt he?
You poor fools… Seriously… JdV vs Ioane is better than other options? Farked I tell you…
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All