Boks sweat on Strauss
3 Sep 2012
Hooker Adriaan Strauss is the only injury concern as the Springboks prepare for their next Rugby Championship Test against the Wallabies this weekend.
The Springboks have settled in Perth after departing from O.R. Tambo International Airport on Saturday. They have also been boosted by the arrival of Bath-based flank Francois Louw, who joined the team on Monday after a flight from England.
As the Boks carry out their midweek preparations, there is one injury concern ahead of this Saturday’s clash. Strauss is struggling with a knee injury and will be monitored over the next couple of days.
‘The only injury concern is Adriaan, who’s got a mild knee ligament sprain,’ said Bok doctor Craig Roberts. ‘We will assess him later in the week and will make a call on his availability depending on how he goes through training in the next couple of days, but apart from that I’m happy to report we have a fit squad and are ready to go.’
This will be a worry for head coach Heyneke Meyer, considering hookers Bismarck du Plessis and Chiliboy Ralepelle have already withdrawn due to injury in recent weeks.
However, Meyer stressed that the Boks will have enough back-up options should Strauss fail his fitness test.
‘We have a few hookers on standby [in Tiaan Liebenberg and Craig Burden], but we have a very good medical team and I’m positive we’ll get Adriaan through. We have travelled with three hookers, so should be fine for the first game.’

219 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All
4 Sep 2012, 08:32 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-149: filthy cheating south african scum…
4 Sep 2012, 08:33 am
Time to change your bait pops, current batch seems vrot!
4 Sep 2012, 08:35 am
Right, I think it is clear…he did not take his medication this morning and to make matters worse he also started drinking earlier than normal.
4 Sep 2012, 08:39 am
the only ones needing “medication” are the flaccid springbabies, perhaps chilli could lend them his nasal spray so that they culd be bjorn again?
but at the moment, and after being run over by Argentinian beef, they have less bite than a toothless capetonian
4 Sep 2012, 08:41 am
Nobody seems to know, scary stuff though if you had a family you’d have to seriously think about leaving what a shambles.Hougaard on the wing would be a good call he’s not an international 9′s backside.
4 Sep 2012, 08:44 am
Pops you could clearly see Sir Teds influence on the 2nd Argy game, working about Meyers game plan wouldn’t have been very difficult for the old master.
4 Sep 2012, 08:46 am
@NZINCHINA-156: Meyer has a game plan?
Did you hear abouit Oscar Pistorious? continuing the fine SA tradition of inferring cheating when losing?
4 Sep 2012, 08:49 am
I didnt realise he was South African, well his tactics anyway Meyer could learn alot from Henry.
4 Sep 2012, 08:51 am
@NZINCHINA-155:
NZ people leave and stay for various reason, SA had mining strikes/issues as far back as the 1960′s (and before) and it is nothing new. As some insensitive plonkers like to point out regularly in the guise of ‘returning serve’, violence in SA is also not something new.
Appreciate the concern though.
Hougaard should go back to CC so he can build up his confidence again, pushing him to play a gameplan he can’t has hurt him. Wing is ok but a step back for him.
4 Sep 2012, 08:54 am
@poppa69-151:
you’re projecting pops.
besides, that’s not even true.
who knows… we may be scum to you because we play you hard, have unlikeable accents, have no high regard for your rugby,… i could attempt a number of possible answers… but we’er certainly not filthy cheats.
that’s your territory.. but you know this..
@Slartibartfast-153:
ok, so no meds and drinking since 6:30…?…
this’ll be fun.
just hope he doesn’t blow any gaskets again.
@NZINCHINA-158: just when I thought PDV was the highlight of the circus, along comes heyneke with his walkie talkie routine..
Cirque de Soliel should really employ all of SA rugby, it is side splittingly funny
@NZINCHINA-158:
How many years as an international coach does Ted have? The Meyer has 3 months, he will get better.
4 Sep 2012, 08:57 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-160:
Hehehe can you hear that clapping sound? That is a valve getting ready to POP!!!!
4 Sep 2012, 08:57 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-160: just borrowed the phrase from your mantra, obviously replacing NZ with SA..
now, I only have to repeat it a trillion times and I may just catch up..
so, what say you about Oscar and his poor sportsmanship because the Brazilian beat him in the final?
another case of an arrogant saffa believing that anything other than victory was a conspiracy?
4 Sep 2012, 09:00 am
ah well, when the skop an jag falls woefully short against the Aussies this weekend, I will laugh and laugh and laugh and laugh
like this —->
4 Sep 2012, 09:00 am
Slart as you probably know we lose plenty of people to Australia etc mainly for economic reasons but watching those guys running around with spears in 2012 im not sure how anyone could get used to that, they must breed them tough in Africa huh, Hougaard was very good at the Wc when playing wing
4 Sep 2012, 09:04 am
@NZINCHINA-166:
Hehehe NZ, some things you grow up with and ‘accept’ as ‘normal’, but like I say people stay/leave for plenty of reasons.
4 Sep 2012, 09:07 am
China’s not concerned he’s just having a dig.
4 Sep 2012, 09:11 am
Actually funny guy I only dig with things that involve rugby, scary situation looks terrible, now before you attempt to insult me with your special brand of humour I havent spent the last 20.wu
4 Sep 2012, 09:12 am
@poppa69-164:
ok, but in my case its the truth. i may be repeating it ad nauseum and it may make for uncomfortable hearin but its mostly true. anyway, i am moving on from this and you know it so what’s your point by returning to it?
i will let you know my thoughts when the boks play you because its the boks and has nothing to do with the ab’s.
i think he was a doos for complaining and has gone down in credibiity and in my estimation of him since. i’m just going on the media brouha of course and there is two sides to a story so am waiting to hear his.
but it does look silly from this point so far.
he generally a nice likeable person from what i’ve gathered in the media interactions and interviews but this is the second time i’ve seen an emotionally angry type reactive outburst by him. the first was when he cut a bbc interview off live midway and hung up because he did not like the tone or questions the interviewer was asking him. i gave him the benefit of the doubt then because it may have been a lost in translation moment or perhaps he was not feeling to good, which can happen, we all have off days, as you should know.
but now i’m staring to think he’s a bit doosy maybe. very poor sports of him to take the other guys moment away and stupid considering he’s been allowed to run with able bodied athletes on the back of the very same type of comments and concerns made about his blades and any possible unfair advantages.
will wait for more on the story.
4 Sep 2012, 09:16 am
@poppa69-164: Like Suzie…….
4 Sep 2012, 09:16 am
@poppa69-164:
you have cheated us out of victories in the past pops and no doubt you will continue to do so in the future.
its in your nature.
4 Sep 2012, 09:18 am
@poppa69-165:
well, at least we porvide you with laughter.
there’s nothing likeable in what your team does.
on the contrary its very unlikeable.
you must have the shittiest brand in world rugby at moment.
4 Sep 2012, 09:20 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-171: I love it when people throw the Susie line at me, Ive never claimed the Susie theory and never will… we lost a game in extra overtime, no shame in that..
the gold watch concerns me more rather than Laurie Mains clutching at excuses..
4 Sep 2012, 09:21 am
Bakkies its payback for all those games in Sa when the brown brothers couldn’t tour SA, was that cheating or was that something else and how can we forget Gerty he was a beaut ” ja boys but you can go home I have to live here after the series”
4 Sep 2012, 09:21 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-173: I know, to think that Wales, Canada, SA, Aust, Argentina, Japan (at one stage) and plenty of NH club sides all EMPLOY our coaches really highlights your point about our brand…
4 Sep 2012, 09:24 am
@NZINCHINA-175:
since the advent of neutral refs, we’ve seen the redress in the ledger, and thats what people like Bakkies cant handle..
when the truth outs, it hurts…
4 Sep 2012, 09:26 am
love the title to this thread
“boks sweat on strauss”
sounds like camp staldraad all over again
@poppa69-174: Cannot remember where I said you guys are cheats either yet I am painted with the same brush……But for the record I think think Sir **** McCaw gets away with alot more than the average Joe and he milks it and that my friend is considered cheating and I’ll leave it at that.
china,
thanks for the head up. nice to see a bit of honesty from you guys every once in a while. i dont think its right what you do of course but it gives and idea of where its coming from perhaps?
why practise it across the board though, especially against teams you should be able to beat on skill and gameplan alone? like say for instance – ireland?
@poppa69-176:
haha
there’s saffa refs and players all over the globe you dimwit.
4 Sep 2012, 09:27 am
Pops you are correct without the brown brothers for so long and refs like Gerty the deck was stacked.
4 Sep 2012, 09:28 am
Neutral refs?
Under the guidance of bent Paddy?
Do me a favour.
4 Sep 2012, 09:29 am
@poppa69-178: Sweating is one thing….wearing farking mascara whilst doing the Haka…..
4 Sep 2012, 09:31 am
@poppa69-176:
you are not liked poppa, anywhere.
pathetic sales worldwide for a team/side which dominated in the sport over the last 20 years.
4 Sep 2012, 09:32 am
@poppa69-177:
neutral refs .?.. lmao
4 Sep 2012, 09:33 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-180: Im the dimwit? youre the one claiming our brand is suffering, yet as I just pointed out to you, all over the world NZ coaches teaching “the brand” are highly sought after and well compensated for their input..
I dont recall; too many SA coahces being sought after to teach skop an jag and the like..
for comparisons sake, the SA WC winning coach took four years to be employed after his team won, the NZ WC winning coach got a job practically straight away (assisting argentina)..
has the penny dropped yet?
4 Sep 2012, 09:33 am
@NZINCHINA-181:
why do you still pay them less than the white brothers, china?
just curious.
4 Sep 2012, 09:34 am
@NZINCHINA-147: Not close at all, a lot of this cr*p happens out on the mines or in the townships.
What worries me far more than the spears and machetes is the damage being done to the economy, foreign investment etc. We’re already a standing joke in the first world thanks to our corrupt polygamous Shower Prez & his pathetic government…..truly hope we get a stronger leader with at least a semblance of a moral compass in the elections next year!
4 Sep 2012, 09:36 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-183: wasnt it John Smit who said it was a privilege to be amongst the first to stand and watch Kapo O pango?
oh yes, wearing mascara is worse then getting 20 or 30 men to strip naked and roll around together.
LMFAO … but hey, if you guys enjoy that sort of thing who am I to say otherwise.. the sad thing is it didnt even improve their ball handling skills
@poppa69-186:
dont be an idiot pops, there are saffas coaching and playing all over the world.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-180: There are SA players doing well all over, but I wouldn’t mind more intelligent coaching for a change….
4 Sep 2012, 09:38 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-183: Wonder if he practices in high heels to better his balance…..
4 Sep 2012, 09:38 am
@poppa69-189: As I recall Staaldraad was pilloried by just about everybody in the country as stupid and backwards, with the exception of Straueli and his sidekicks….
4 Sep 2012, 09:39 am
@poppa69-174: And the disallowed Benazzi try…
4 Sep 2012, 09:40 am
@poppa69-189: You just luuuuuuuv the mascara bit….takes you back to the good old days hey…or last Friday night?
4 Sep 2012, 09:42 am
@Atreides-191:
the point was about nz’s kak rugby brand/image worldwide.
pops claims its good because there’s kiwis coaching around the world
and my response was there’s saffa’s coaching around the world too.
merchandise sales looks kak to me. i may be wrong but i could swear i’ve seen more bok jerseys overseas than ab ones? for a national side lke nz who having built up a 20 year history comparable to manchester or real madrid or barcalona not to reflect this in merchandise is suggestive to me.
4 Sep 2012, 09:42 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-190: how many of them coaching national sides?
like Deans, gatland, Crowley etc..
please list them
4 Sep 2012, 09:44 am
whats up with selective conversation style, buddy.
just curious.
4 Sep 2012, 09:44 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-195: how did you see my mascara? your head was buried in the pillow and you had the ballcock firmly entrenched within your teeth..
i thought you didnt want anyone to know?
4 Sep 2012, 09:46 am
@poppa69-199: clutching straws my good man….
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All