Flo’s fantastic opportunity
3 Sep 2012
JON CARDINELLI writes the under-utilised and often unappreciated phenom that is Francois Louw will have a chance to prove a point in the coming weeks.
Two weeks ago, I sat face to face with South African rugby’s forgotten man. Francois Louw was in a typically laid back mood on a bright morning in Bath, and we chatted about everything from rare Nicaraguan coffee to David Pocock’s fetching technique.
The flanker talked at length about a rugby-mad town that would be demanding more of Bath in the 2012-13 season. He spoke about being a leader, about playing the best rugby of his life, and how he planned to change the collective mindset of the Springbok selectors.
‘If you play well enough, they can’t ignore you,’ he said at the time. ‘I want to play so well that they will have to say, “We can’t ignore this guy, we need him, we want him to come back”. If I ever got the call, I would pack that bag pretty quickly. That would be fantastic.’
They were hopeful words, but there was substance in Louw’s assertion that he was in the form of his life.
I subsequently bumped into Gary Gold, former Springbok forward coach and now Bath’s director of rugby, and he grew exceedingly animated in stating a case for Louw as a Bok starter. And as Gold said at the time, Louw wouldn’t be lacking for match sharpness if Heyneke Meyer revised his foreign policy and began a phone call with ‘+44′.
I decided to check things out for myself. Bath had enjoyed an unbeaten run in the pre-season, and their final warm-up fixture against the Cardiff Blues at The Rec promised to be entertaining. There was always going to be value in gauging Louw’s form in such a contest, as he would be competing against one of the premier openside flankers on the planet, namely Wales’ Sam Warburton.
It was a wet night in Bath and it didn’t surprise me to see the halfback pairing of Michael Claassens and Olly Barkley kicking for territory. What did surprise me was the brutal efficiency of Bath’s pack, and the manner in which Louw flourished as a result.
Warburton on the other hand, was a non-factor. Louw outplayed the Welsh openside for steals on the floor, and contributed powerfully around the park. When he eventually left the field the soaked but never silenced Bath faithful stomped on the wooden floorboards to show their appreciation.
It was meant to be a performance that would build confidence ahead of an important Premiership campaign. It was mission accomplished as far as the pre-season was concerned, although Louw would have felt that his mission to convince Meyer of his value was just about to begin.
At the start of his tenure, Meyer stated that he would not pick overseas-based players unless they were better than those based in South Africa. It was easy to ignore Louw at that stage, as Meyer was still hopeful of Schalk Burger and Duane Vermeulen recovering from their respective injuries. There were also youngsters like Marcell Coetzee and Siya Kolisi to consider, not to mention Heinrich Brüssow and Keegan Daniel.
Injuries have thwarted Meyers plans, and he has been forced to recall Louw. It would be false to say that the Bath openside has convinced Meyer of his value through a strong performance in the English pre-season. It would be more accurate to say that Meyer selected Louw for lack of another experienced openside option.
However, that doesn’t suggest that Louw cannot change Meyer’s mind with an influential showing in what remains of the Rugby Championship.
A year ago, he left for Bath knowing that he had jeopardised his position at the Springboks. Two weeks ago, he spoke as if Bath were his primary focus and as if he wasn’t expecting a Test recall.
But the 27 year old has always believed that he would wear the Bok jersey again. He was adamant that the Boks’ World Cup quarter-final loss to Australia would not be his final international act.
‘I do still think about that game, but to be honest with you, I’ve never watched it again,’ Louw said.
‘It felt like we were doing everything right but we weren’t getting paid dividends for it. We weren’t getting points on the board. It was very disappointing.
‘Having said that, it’s always going to go down as one of the greatest times in my life. To be involved with the Springboks at a World Cup, even with a disappointing exit like that, was amazing. Was that the last Test for me? I hope not. I’m 27 years old, and I don’t feel like I’ve reached a watershed. I believe that I’m playing the best rugby of my career.
‘I definitely don’t want to see that as my last go at it all. Like I’ve said to you, I want to keep improving, I want to reach a level where they can’t ignore me, where they want me to come back. No, I refuse to see that as my last act. I’m going to try and get back into the side. That’s not really in my hands, what is in my hands is playing the best rugby that I can.’
Nobody could have predicted the season-ending injury to Kolisi that would eventually force Meyer to contact Louw. That bag was packed very quickly, and as you read this, Louw should be preparing to play against Australia in Perth this Saturday.
Louw outplayed Warburton on that soggy night in Bath, and he should be expected to give the Boks an edge in what many will view as a World Cup rematch. The significant difference on this occasion is that Pocock, who is out for the rest of the Rugby Championship with an injury, won’t be playing.
Louw would have expected to watch this match on TV, but now he will be in the thick of it. It was interesting to get his take on the Pocock injury prior to his own Test recall.
‘Besides the breakdown, Pocock has a helluva work rate. It will be a substantial loss for Australia. I think that is something that New Zealand have already capitalised on a little bit.
‘He did very well against us in that World Cup quarter-final. His absence is something that South Africa should look to exploit [in Perth]. They have to be efficient in that area, but I’m sure whoever they put in there is going to be hungry to prove themselves.’
As fate would have it, Louw now has the chance to put these words into action.

202 Comments
3 Sep 2012, 05:51 am
Unfortunately I don’t see this dragon starting…
3 Sep 2012, 05:52 am
Great
3 Sep 2012, 06:13 am
@Olivergm-1:
Hopefully he’ll be in the match 22…If he is, he’ll probably come on in the second half… Or HM might surprise and give him a start!
3 Sep 2012, 06:47 am
Heynke must start with FLO, they need to negate the obvious breakdown threat wich guys like Hooper and Gill pose, Flo is best suited to do this, start him HM .
3 Sep 2012, 06:50 am
And recall Keegan Daniels to the squad, he provides you with something different.
3 Sep 2012, 07:01 am
@touch.pause.engage-4:
how would flo negate the obvious breakdown threat which guys like hooper and gill pose?
3 Sep 2012, 07:13 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-6:
By competing on the ground ?
Something Potgieter ,Alberts and Coetzee can’t do, after Brussow FLo best suited for this role . We have been outplayed at the breakdown in virtually each game since HM took over , FLO will assist to ensure we are competitve in this aspect.
3 Sep 2012, 07:20 am
@touch.pause.engage-7:
so you’re saying a fetcher directly competes with the opposition fetcher/s?
on their ball or ours or both?
3 Sep 2012, 07:33 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-8: I think what he is saying is that Flo wont be waiting for the ball looking to carry (he can be an effective ball carrier as well)….he will be trying to attend every ruck trying to clean out to defend our ball or try and steal/slow down the opposition ball. We had too much ball carriers against Arg, no one was cleaning out. Something that Kolisi is also very good at, cleaning out and tackling.
I would start Flo at 6. Coetzee is brilliant but he looks a bit jaded. He had a big S15 with the Sharks flying all over. and he has played every game for the Boks so far if I am not mistaken. I would have him on the bench for this game.
I would start
6. Flo
7. Alberts
8. as much as it pains me that he is there while not being match sharp i would have to go with Vermeulen at 8.
Coetzee on the bench. He can come on for Vermeulen or Flo or even Alberts. Depends where he is needed.
3 Sep 2012, 07:40 am
Pretty much, so are you saying we don’t need a fetcher type player who can compete with the opposition who employ one ?
3 Sep 2012, 07:41 am
@Sasuke-9:
stealing/slowing down opposition ball on defence makes sense to me. designating a small, lighter weight player to clean out and defend our carriers on attack does not, though?
3 Sep 2012, 07:43 am
Flo’s opportunity???
A nonsense of note, sounds as if the man was begging the Boks to be included
Not the other way around?
3 Sep 2012, 07:44 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-11:
at ruck situations?
3 Sep 2012, 07:48 am
@touch.pause.engage-10:
i dont think its quite like that for a fetcher on attack though .
3 Sep 2012, 07:49 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-11: Flo is not small or lightweight. Thing is a smaller, light weight player as you say has the potential to get to the breakdown quicker than a bigger player, therefore ensuring a ruck is formed and the opposition need to take their hands out. But you have a point though.
The balance of the back row is vital. You cant just have ball carriers in your back row.
3 Sep 2012, 07:49 am
Very average dragon…but would allow the loose trio to have a balance
3 Sep 2012, 07:59 am
@Sasuke-15:
opportunities for counter rucking the small guy for one and the small guy cannot drive through the ruck as effectively as a lock, heavier flank or a front rower can, for two.
the style and type of cleanout is important too.
3 Sep 2012, 08:03 am
“At the start of his tenure, Meyer stated that he would not pick overseas-based players unless they were better than those based in South Africa.”
Genius.
3 Sep 2012, 08:05 am
I think flo would adapt more at the breakdowns as he plays in the northen hem because of the refs coming from the northen hem aswell.. I believe in my mind he needs to start with coetzee or alberts coming off the bench…
Something like
8-vermeulen
7-louw
6-coetzee
Or
8-vermeulen
7-alberts
6-louw
And I hope heineke give my morne o morne the booth and start with
9-hougaard
10-goosen/lambie to oust the playmaking of genia/cooper… Then I know we will come good
3 Sep 2012, 08:05 am
A case can also be made to drop Bekker to the bench, Juandre to start and Flip to the grand stand.
3 Sep 2012, 08:09 am
@xtremebull-19:
I’d go with the latter option, Coetsee to the bench.
3 Sep 2012, 08:13 am
Juandre is poor.
3 Sep 2012, 08:16 am
Lets hope sanity prevails and Flo starts .. Pls can we pack off Potgeiter until he learns some smarts, Aus and NZ are a big step up from Eng and Arg !!
There are not enough cerebral players for me in Boks, you need a Brussow or at least Flo
3 Sep 2012, 08:32 am
@W.P-22:
Compared to the drivel Bekker has been serving these last few weeks? Hardly….
Slipping tackles, loafing in the backline, hardly imposing at line-out time. Take your pic sir
3 Sep 2012, 08:34 am
@W.P-22: No, Juandre has been awsome, best lineout player we have, Bekker is just tall and fast. And I am a stormers fan. Bekker has a poor quiter attitude, this stems from his lack of commitment. His character is not good enough for the toughest rugby games. Look at the games he is poor, he gets upset, looks like he wants to moan. Juandre looks focused and calm, what you need come important lineouts.
3 Sep 2012, 08:34 am
@Doughnut-23:
I agree, it’s been worrying me for a while. At the moment it’s all brawn and no brains.
3 Sep 2012, 08:38 am
The thing about fetchers (Brussow, Flow) is this, the can steal the ball, they can tackle and they can carry the ball.
Ball carriers (ALberts, Coetzee, Vermeulen) can only tackle, carry ball and are extra lineout options.
In the end you choose between an extra lineout option or the abillity to steal the ball at the ruck.
All you need is four lineout options. (Take into account that Richie takes at least 2-3 lineout balls per match for Saders/ ABs and he is only 1.85 meters tall.)
3 Sep 2012, 08:46 am
@goodstuff-27:
Correct , the added bonus you get with Flo is that he is also provides you with a lineout option.
3 Sep 2012, 08:56 am
Please start with this guy, please!!!!!
3 Sep 2012, 08:56 am
Stephen Nell
KAAPSTAD. – Maak Francois Louw sommer dadelik deel van jou lostrio.
Dís die raad van Gary Gold, hoofafrigter van Bath, aan die Springbok-breier, Heyneke Meyer, met die oog op Saterdag se stryd in die Rugby-kampioenskap teen Australië in Perth.
“Ek dink Marcell Coetzee, Francois Louw en Willem Alberts sal ’n goeie kombinasie wees,” het Gold, wat in 2011 nog die Bokke se voorspelers geslyp het, gesê.
“Al drie is sterk baldraers, maar jy sal nou gevaarliker op die grond wees. Marcell is self nie sleg by die afbreekpunte nie. Dié kombinasie sal Adriaan Strauss ook toelaat om in beter posisies op die verdediging te kom.”
Gold sal Duane Vermeulen eers op die Bokke se plaasvervangersbank kies, omdat twyfel ná sy onlangse terugkeer van ’n ernstige kniebesering oor sy wedstrydfiksheid bestaan. Alberts kan intussen as agtsteman speel, meen hy.
Die Bokke se besluit om Louw nader te trek, hou waarskynlik verband daarmee dat ’n trio van Coetzee, Alberts en Jacques Potgieter hulle sonder ’n speler laat wat die baljagter-rol vertolk.
“As jy teen die Wallabies en All Blacks se oopkantflanke van wêreldgehalte te staan kom, het jy ook iemand nodig wat met elke tweede of derde losskrum die teenstander se besit kan stadig maak of omkeer. Ek is uit ’n selfsugtige oogpunt teleurgesteld om Flo te verloor, maar terselfdertyd bly vir hom. Ek weet hoe passievol hy oor die Bokke is.”
Louw het al 10 toetse gespeel, maar dis sy Australasiese reiservaring wat hom waardevol kan maak.
“Dit sal vir hom geen probleem wees om dadelik in die Bokke se beginspan in te skakel nie. Hy het al telkemale daarheen gereis en weet presies hoe om vlugflouheid te oorkom,” het Gold gesê.
“Ons het by Bath ’n voorseisoen van nege weke agter die rug en het vier voorseisoense wedstryde gespeel. Flo is uitgerus en in die beste fisieke toestand ooit.”
Wat die Bokke se probleme betref, bepleit Gold perspektief.
“Ons het in die vorige era deurwinterde leiers van die streekspanne – John Smit (Sharks), Victor Matfield (Bulls), Schalk Burger en Jean de Villiers (Stormers) en Juan Smith (Cheetahs) – gehad. Heyneke het geen ander keuse nie as om ’n nuwe generasie te kweek. Dit gaan tyd neem om nuwe leiers te ontwikkel.”
En die wedstrydplan?
“Ons (vorige afrigtingspan) moes vir vier jaar **** dat ons wedstrydplan verkeerd was, maar het groot seges behaal. Ons weet mos die Bokke word goed afgerig en die ouens weet hoe om ’n wedstrydplan te formuleer. Die boustene vir die volgende Wêreldbeker-toernooi word nou gelê.”
3 Sep 2012, 09:02 am
Te veel Afrikaans te vroeg in die oggend>
3 Sep 2012, 09:04 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-11: Louw weighs 112kg, he is by no means a small player. To put that into context, Spies is 107kg, Cpetzee 108kg and Schalk Burger also 112kg. Only Alberts 119kg, Vermeulen and Potgieter, both 114kg is heavier than him.
That is what makes Louw such a great loose forward to have in the team, he is as effective as a fetcher and a cleaner at ruck time, and at 6ft 2 inches he is a good line out option as well.
3 Sep 2012, 09:08 am
Juandre does not get stuck in period. His walkabout against the Crusaders was embarrassing.
3 Sep 2012, 09:11 am
I do admit of late Bekker is no better. Elstadt and Etsebeth for locks!
3 Sep 2012, 09:14 am
@grant10-30:
honestly, does gold have any credibilty to give advice?
@Pypkan-32:
ok thanks.
he’s heavier than i imagined him to be, going by his physique/build.
i think jetlag might be a consideration with the coaches though.
3 Sep 2012, 09:21 am
@W.P-33: against England Juandre was industrious Bekker is decidedly behind work-rate wise.
3 Sep 2012, 09:23 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-35: yes he does…
3 Sep 2012, 09:24 am
Flo’s selection is proof that HM is learning from his mistakes. He knows now the boks need a fetcher.
Brussouw and Flo will probably feature in the starting lineup from now on.
Im more concerned about Vermeulen making the #8 jersey his own.
I hate to say it but the balance just wasnt there after Spies got injured and the back 3 havent clicked very well. Vermeulen needs to step up and take over from Spies as the first choice 8. And now that Kanko is playing abroad the picking order is probably as follows:
1.Vermeulen/Spies
2.Spies/Vermeulen
3. Kanko
Seems Daniel failed his test and Alberts is best suited at 7…
3 Sep 2012, 09:24 am
the boks and HM have been forced into a corner here
without brussouw, Flo is the only option
IMO i dont rate Flo as test match quality, hes always been a good s15 player but nothing more than that
Potgieter has been a good CC player but nothing more yet he seems first in line in the backrow??
regardless of who he picks, FLO or Brussouw or Potgieter, we are going to LOSE!
HEYNEKE OUT
3 Sep 2012, 09:27 am
id really like to see Paul Jordaan and Raymond Rhule get a chance in the bok squad
we cant keep carrying players like Habana and JDV- theyre over the hill
seriously we need change at 13 and 14 ASAP
the sooner these guys get a chance, the better for the country going forward for the next few years
3 Sep 2012, 09:28 am
I see now that HM has dropped a few Sharks players their supporters no longer like the guy.
At least us Stomers/Province supporters are being proved right…
Soon the Bull supporters will be singing – another one bites the dust with the choir…
3 Sep 2012, 09:30 am
@jacoshark-40:
… and how many more Stormers players. How about Etsebeth/Bekker then they are all out…
I say maak al die Sharks bokke and then Durban is happy…
3 Sep 2012, 09:32 am
@Gumboots-41:
you as a stormers/wp fan are accustomed to the disgusting style of rugby the boks are employing
im not at all surprised youre happy with HM and the style
3 Sep 2012, 09:33 am
IT is funny now that SPies is injured we seem to be a bit light in the no8 position.
I would like to see:-
6.Flo
7.Alberts
8.Spies
3 Sep 2012, 09:34 am
@Gumboots-42:
bekker out- hes a clown, wway too soft for test rugby
etsebeth is worldclass- the only player in the whole boks squad that has been consistently dominant in his position
id much prefer the etsebeth-kruger combination
i thought they were very strong in the england series
3 Sep 2012, 09:36 am
@Transformation-37:
on what grounds?
he was an average assistant coach of note.
lets see how he does at bath before singing praises.
3 Sep 2012, 09:36 am
jacoshark #45 – What do you mean Bekker out? Is he injured again?
3 Sep 2012, 09:38 am
@jacoshark-39: I would give HM some time, he needs to get Wayne Smith in real fast … support staff are as important as Head coach.
As you say Brussow injured as is Shalk and Biz who would probably have played as fetcher types. Coonie also fetchs so I wonder if HM fighting the system in capping a whole rank of players …
I sound defensive of HM I know and totally agree with you that Pots is absolute cr*p and will never make the Juan mould so what he is doing there beggers belief.
In addition you cannot only play kick chase .. we need a plan for backline .. see wayne smith.
3 Sep 2012, 09:38 am
Let’s hope that Louw improves on he’s previous bok performances.
3 Sep 2012, 09:39 am
@race of tan-47:
no, i just wouldnt choose him
he is not hard enough for test rugby
he is what most ppl would call a “ruck inspector”
doesnt get involved at all
same with adriaan strauss
btw, wouldnt be surprised if bekker were injured
3 Sep 2012, 09:41 am
@gunther-49:
i considered saying this but thought nah let the girlymen get their louw fascination out of their systems first.
very average to say the least.
a poor unions heinrich brussow.
3 Sep 2012, 09:52 am
@Jeez-38: I hope you right about the fetchers starting
3 Sep 2012, 10:02 am
According to Pieter Jordaan from Beeld, the hearing will start again next Monday and Mitchell’s agency has finally shed some light on the charges that he will face, while insisting that all charges will be fought and that the coach is determined to part ways with the Lions with his name cleared.
The charges appear to allege that Mitchell, inter alia:
- used derogatory language towards players
- placed undue pressure on injured players to train and to play
and
- breached the terms of his contract by making unauthorised public statements
3 Sep 2012, 10:05 am
South Africa
Perth clash a matter of pride
Mon, 03 Sep 2012 05:49
PrevNextIn the end, it could come down to who wants it more
Pride will supersede championship points when the Springboks and the Wallabies lock horns in Perth on Saturday.
How the mighty have fallen. Twelve short months ago, these two teams were on top of the world. The Springboks were world champions, the Wallabies, Tri-Nations champions.
Fast forward to today and you’ll find these sides a shell of their former selves. Although they remain the second and third-ranked teams in Rugby Union, the gab between them and the all-conquering All Blacks have widened significantly.
Their fall from grace has been as spectacular as it’s been sudden. 2012 was always going to be a difficult year for the Springboks. This was anticipated, with several legends calling time on their international careers and a new coach with a fresh philosophy taking over the reins.
It’s clear that the majority of the players, as well as Heyneke Meyer himself, are still finding their feet at international level. Excelling at provincial level is all well and good, but the step up to Test match rugby is a demanding one that has exposed many a top prospects – players and coaches alike.
Meyer has predictably stuck to the formula that won him four Currie Cup and a Super Rugby title. In theory, his forwards-based, low-risk approach plays to the strengths of big, muscular South African players.
Why it hasn’t brought similar success at this early stage of the Meyer era is two-fold. Firstly, the game and skill level of players has evolved considerably since Meyer’s glory days at the Bulls between 2002 and 2007, and secondly, his selection hasn’t been sound.
Where teams struggled to negotiate the pin-point kicking game of the Boks and Bulls in the past, they’ve largely negated the tactic by putting an emphasis on improving the high ball skills of their back three.
The loss of Fourie du Preez’s irreplaceable precision and Meyer’s insistence of asking Francois Hougaard to impersonate the great scrumhalf is self-defeating in that it merely results in kicking away possession.
Meyer has seemingly relaxed his stance on the need of a specialist openside flanker with his selection of Francois Louw, but anything other than a starting role for the Bath-based scavenger would expose his call-up as farcical.
Again, teething problems were expected for the Boks in what’s a rebuilding year for them. The Wallabies’ demise, however, has come as a bit of a shock. Theirs is not due to circumstances but rather affliction as the traditionally attack-minded players are not buying into Robbie Deans’ game plan. It’s a recipe for disaster and it’s going to get worse before it gets better.
These two rugby giants thus find themselves in a dark and desperate place, and both will view Saturday’s showdown at Paterson’s Stadium as an opportunity to regain some lost pride.
This, rather than the championship points on offer, will be their main objective as the All Blacks have already all but sewn up the Rugby Championship title.
What transpired in the opening rounds of the four-nation tournament has left both the Boks and Wallabies physically fragile and emotionally vulnerable, but the Australians will have some hope to cling on to.
Not only will they enjoy the benefit of home ground advantage, their confidence will be boosted by the knowledge that they’ve won the last four encounters and lost just one of the last seven Tests against the men in green and gold.
Revenge for their quarterfinal defeat in last year’s World Cup will serve as an added incentive for the Boks. The fact remains, however, that they’re a young, inexperienced side peppered with youngsters on their first Australasian tour with the Boks.
In that sense, it’s advantage Australia – but beware the wounded Springbok. In the end, it could come down to who wants it more.
By Quintin van Jaarsveld
3 Sep 2012, 10:06 am
@Transformation-53:
no mention of the elephant in the room, of course.
3 Sep 2012, 10:07 am
@Gumboots-42: Bekker was very poor in Mendoza bud. Have to try Kruger again.
3 Sep 2012, 10:15 am
@grant10-54:
honeslty grant, the writing style of some of these sports reporters/journalists is ridiculous at times. i was half expecting an alien mother ship to flatten new york three quarters of the way into that story.
very hollywood, and even a touch bollywood.
3 Sep 2012, 10:19 am
i_love_u_bakkiesbotha #57 – Not too sure if i don’t agree with the article.
Both teams are struggling at the moment. The Ozzies have the players to cut loose and run us ragged, if they are up for it, where as the Boks don’t have a clue of how to run the ball this year.
We are regressing rapidly under HM. The Boks are even playing the situation anymore they are sticking to his rediculous kicking game come hell or high water!!
3 Sep 2012, 10:21 am
@race of tan-58:
“These two rugby giants thus find themselves in a dark and desperate place, and both will view Saturday’s showdown at Paterson’s Stadium as an opportunity to regain some lost pride.
This, rather than the championship points on offer, will be their main objective as the All Blacks have already all but sewn up the Rugby Championship title.
What transpired in the opening rounds of the four-nation tournament has left both the Boks and Wallabies physically fragile and emotionally vulnerable, but the Australians will have some hope to cling on to.”
seriously… seriously..?..
3 Sep 2012, 10:22 am
@grant10-54:
Dont the Ozzies have the most injuries out all the teams?
3 Sep 2012, 10:24 am
@race of tan-58:
the springboks are anything but in a dark and desperate place in need of regaining some lost pride.
they’re five games into a new coaching regime with a raft of new recruits to boot. although i expect meyer and the players sincerely wish the boks to win every test i would hazzard thay are taking a long view on the boks development.
3 Sep 2012, 10:26 am
I said sometime last week or two weeks ago that I am surprised Heyneke did not have a look at Louw. The following players played in the nr 7 jersey for the Bulls from 2002 to 2007. Johan Wasserman, Piet Krause, Tim Dlulane and then Wikus van Heerden. They are all players who could fetch, but they were also good ball carriers and some even good lineout options (Wikus played lock for Lions this year). Francois Louw is the closest player we have with the same skill set than the Wikus van Heerden of 2007, who was the best fetcher of the 2007 World Cup and one of my players of the season that year.
3 Sep 2012, 10:26 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-61:
How many new players are in the bok team?
3 Sep 2012, 10:28 am
@Hurricane-63:
i think you mean how many new positions and combinations, rather than new players, right?
3 Sep 2012, 10:29 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-61: face it bakkies, if it wasnt for a white rhino sized frans getting his massive bulky biltong munching, boerwors belching frame in front of the Argie kicker, you would have come away with the correct result from Mendoza..
SA rugby is K.. you know the rest
3 Sep 2012, 10:30 am
new front row combo
new lock partnership
completely new loose trio combo
new midfield combo
new right winger selction
new fullback selection
completely new bench selections
3 Sep 2012, 10:31 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-61: vier jaar plan
3 Sep 2012, 10:32 am
@Hurricane-63:
how many caps does the current bok squad have compared to oz and nz?
how many caps will the bok team to play oz on saturday have compared to oz?
3 Sep 2012, 10:34 am
@Hurricane-63: I think if we play the All Blacks with the same team than against Argentina, the number of starting tests against the All Blacks for the entire starting lineup may be less than the number of tests Victor Matfield started against the All Blacks. I do not know where to get the specific stats, but I will not be surprised.
3 Sep 2012, 10:37 am
While it’s great that Meyer realizes we need a specialist fetcher, Francois Louw has never played in a Bok team that has beaten either the Aussies or the Kiwis. In fact, after a promising start against lesser opposition, he was dropped on the basis of his performances against the top two. He has played the Aussies once and lost, and lost three times against the Kiwis. That doesn’t bode well.
3 Sep 2012, 10:39 am
@poppa69-65:
oh please, if the ref had blown the game correctly the argies would have gone home empty.
kool..?
kif…?
3 Sep 2012, 10:41 am
@kaksioek-70: I think the fact that he was dropped was pathetic. Correct me if I am wrong, but he was replaced by Kankowski as an opensider for an Aussie test in Australia. Shows you the caliber of our coach at that stage.
3 Sep 2012, 10:41 am
@Transformation-67:
no excuses transie, a win is expected for every game in the rebuilding phase
but some perspective is needed too.
3 Sep 2012, 10:43 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-71: Ja the less we say about the NZ born Australian alcoholic the better. If Homer Simpson portrays the average American then surely Steve Walsh portrays the average Australasian. Drunk, incompetent and arrogant.
3 Sep 2012, 10:44 am
@Horings-72: That sounds about right, yes. But I do remember that Louw was nowhere against the Aussies and Kiwis and probably deserved to be dropped. Of course he should have been replaced by another fetcher, but that’s a different story.
3 Sep 2012, 10:46 am
@kaksioek-75: He was not good enough against the All Blacks in NZ. If I am not mistaken he did not play against Aus, only the two tests in NZ and they absolutely ran over us, but I do think he took the blame for many poor performances.
3 Sep 2012, 10:51 am
@Horings-76: He played in the team that lost to the Aussies during the RWC last year – but, to be fair, I think that had more to do with Bryce than it had to do with him.
3 Sep 2012, 10:52 am
@Horings-74:
exactly, funny how the breakdown is always a shambles when these dimwits are in control (meaning no control). the only question is whether its stupidity or willfully intentional.
3 Sep 2012, 10:52 am
The boks are going to crush the Aussies! 4 Tries at least!
3 Sep 2012, 10:54 am
@kaksioek-70:
As opposed to?
3 Sep 2012, 10:55 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-66:
ABs have 9 players that didnt play in the final of the RWC, that played against OZ the other week.
Thing is that the Boks always seems to hide behind the new player/ new year excuse.
But they seem to forget all teams go through this most of the time, especially after a RWC.
3 Sep 2012, 10:55 am
@David-80: I know we have few other options … just trying to temper expectations.
3 Sep 2012, 10:56 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-71:
Hang on so the ref was to blame for the draw against the Pumas?
3 Sep 2012, 10:57 am
@Transformation-53: This is all they have against Mitchell? What a fuckingjoke.
Dear WPRFU,
Do not buy one of these Lions lollipops. They are obviously petulant littlefuckers with uberkak attitudes. Let them suck on the teet of the Vodacom Cup.
Couldn’t happen to a nicer bunch.
Don’t want ‘em – not even at bargain prices.
Dankie.
3 Sep 2012, 10:57 am
@Hurricane-83: If that’s his view it isn’t shared by most of us. The Pumas deserved to win.
3 Sep 2012, 10:58 am
The following has surely been copied on keo over the weekend, but it is so good I am doing it again. The only critism I have for Meyer is if the core of the gameplan is based on decision making then Fourie du Preez is being replaced by the wrong man.
Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has come out in defence of the criticism of the way the national team are playing at the moment, reiterating that he believes the team are on the right track.
Meyer said it was necessary to explain as there was a perception he was playing a “Bulls game plan” but that was nonsense.
Instead the Bok mentor explained that currently players were struggling with “reading the situation” but that he “knows we are on the right track”.
Meyer said shortly before his side’s departure to Perth ahead of next Saturday’s Castle Rugby Championship showdown with Australia that there was misunderstanding of the game plan that the Boks are currently employing.
“There is a total and philosophical misunderstanding about game plans. I’ve studied every single game plan from every single team in the world, and 80 per cent of the gameplans are the same. If you look at most game plans, the most tries come from broken field or turnovers. You need to create that,” Meyer explained.
“Secondly, it’s not about the game plan, it’s about reading the situation. Obviously if the defence is up tight, you have to play wider and if the defence is wide, you have to take it up the middle. That’s not the game plan, that’s reading the situation. You need to teach the players how to read these situations. That’s why I always say Australia and New Zealand are a long way ahead of us because they teach these things from day one. They can create space.
Meyer also turned his attention to the criticism about South Africa’s kicking game, even though stats showed that in the 16-all draw in Mendoza, Argentina kicked more than the Boks and the main target for all the criticism — flyhalf Morne Steyn — kicked only nine times — or 27 per cent of the ball he received.
“Then about the kicking game. The Stormers were top of the log and they kicked the most in the Super Rugby competition. The All Blacks kicked a lot on their way to win the World Cup. Its not about kicking or not kicking. If you get quick ball and are on the front foot, obviously you never kick that, you attack the space out wide,” Meyer said.
“People always ask if there is a plan B. It is not about a plan B,C, D or E, most teams use the same game plan, they just read the situations better. The difference is that New Zealand have a Sonny Bill who breaks the line, and players who do little offloads among the forwards. But that takes time, we’re still trying to get the lineouts right.
RIGHT GAME PLAN
“The same game plan scored three tries against Argentina and should have scored probably another three in Cape Town. It was the same game plan. In Mendoza, the players felt the pressure of playing away, suddenly they were behind and didn’t get quick ball up front. In those situations the only question is — can you handle the pressure?
“It’s always the team that handles the pressure the best. We’re not good at the moment at reading the situation. We aren’t good at finishing our chances at the moment and our defence will be tested this coming week.”
With this in mind, the Bok coach said there was nothing wrong with the current Bok game plan and it would return results if the Boks could implement it properly.
“I believe we have the right game plan, that’s the game plan that won World Cups and Super Rugby. That’s the game plan that New Zealand won the World Cup with as well. Some teams are more forward orientated, and some — like Australia — are more backs orientated. A team like New Zealand have both forwards and backs that they can mix it up.
“Obviously we change from week to week and you target your attack accordingly, but these are small tweaks. You attack the weak shoulders, and attack the weak defenders. If they have a weak point out wide, or under the high ball, you attack that. That is where we need to improve in reading these situations.
“Argentina kicked 10-15 times more than us, but everybody praised them. I know there are a lot of perceptions out there, but I know we’re on the right track. I’ve been criticised like this before at Currie Cup and Super Rugby level and we’ve won titles. This is not the Bulls game plan, we’re on the right track.”
Meyer has been fighting his critics since his appointment, but the draw in Mendoza has turned up the volume of criticism, with former Bok coaches Nick Mallett and Jake White publicly criticising the way the Boks are playing.
Still, unless the Boks show a good improvement in Perth, the Bok coach may find himself under severe pressure just six games into his tenure with an expectant public that are impatient for results.
3 Sep 2012, 10:58 am
@Hurricane-83: In any case, I think they will beat the Aussies in Argentina – too much beef.
3 Sep 2012, 10:59 am
@Horings-74:
And Pieter van Zyl portrays all South Africans??
You sure you know what you are saying here
3 Sep 2012, 11:01 am
@kaksioek-77: Ja I forgot about that one. I try to forget certain games. That QF is one of them and I am also trying to get this past weekend’s WP Bulls game out of my memory.
3 Sep 2012, 11:01 am
@kaksioek-87:
Yeah, those forwards are a handful.
Argentina gave us another scare here last year. Lucky Piri had his kicking boots on that day, would have been alot closer.
These guys are a good team. If not this year, the next couple of years the Pumas will beat the ABs and the Boks.
3 Sep 2012, 11:04 am
@Hurricane-88: I will rather be portrayed by Piet van Zyl, but he is not corrupt enough if you want to take the average South African. I think Jacob Zuma is closer. Corrupt and uneducated.
3 Sep 2012, 11:07 am
@Horings-72: wrong, Flo played blindside that year and kanko replaced him at blindside, schalk played 6.
3 Sep 2012, 11:11 am
@Horings-86:
Thanks,I havent read it. After reading this, I do believe everybody should chill out a bit, perhaps HM deserves some time. Its sounds like he knows what he is doing. And after a few injured players come back everybody will probably be happy with most of the the players in the team and the selections…
3 Sep 2012, 11:12 am
@Transformation-92: Firstly, to play Burger openside and Louw blindside was the wrong move then. Secondly to replace Louw with Kankowski and have both Spies and Kankowski in the same lineup was ridiculous. Spies, Kankowski and Burger is probably the worst combination ever picked by a Sprinbok coach. Alberts, Potgieter and Coetzee comes close, but they have a better workrate that the first one mentioned.
3 Sep 2012, 11:15 am
@Jeez-93: I think the Keo “journalists” ignored an article that actually made sense. You would see the number of opinions from the journalist vs the number you would see in a keo article.
3 Sep 2012, 11:16 am
@Horings-91:
3 Sep 2012, 11:16 am
In short, Louw is a good hybrid player – but not really an out-and-out fetcher. Then again, you could say the same thing about McCaw – but he is in a class above Louw.
3 Sep 2012, 11:23 am
@kaksioek-97: McCaw is in a league of his own, but I do think Louw is in the same league as a Phil Waugh and he manned up a few times against the likes of McCaw. I believe the Boks have a better blindside in Alberts at this stage. That is probably the only position where the Boks is marginally better. And obviously fullback. Kirchner gaan een van hierdie dae verby ‘n ou step.
3 Sep 2012, 11:25 am
@Hurricane-81:
that nz team still has about 160 more caps that the bok teams got.
3 Sep 2012, 11:32 am
@Horings-98: “And obviously fullback. Kirchner gaan een van hierdie dae verby ‘n ou step.”
3 Sep 2012, 11:34 am
3 Sep 2012, 11:39 am
@Hurricane-81: Try to pick a NZ pack out of recently retired and injured that can beat this one:
8. Smith/ Spies
7. Burger
6. Brussow
5. Matfield
4. Bakkies/Rossouw
3. I know you will pick Carl Haymann or someone better than we’ve got.
2. Bismark du Plessis/ John Smit
1. Guthro Steenkamp
3 Sep 2012, 11:46 am
Not a particularly huge fan of Flouw albeit he definately would fit my current player pro-file withregards to our current selection needs. Basically, a wikus vanheerden fetcher sort but still very physically intimidating and a lineout option.
so go Flo, a really good opportunity for you here.
I’d go
Flo
Potgieter
alberts
Marcel from the bench.
3 Sep 2012, 11:47 am
@ horings…
I will always have a
8-spies
7-alberts
6-burger
Loose forward combo to take on any team with
19-brussow/vermeulen/coetzee coming off the bench as impact player
3 Sep 2012, 11:52 am
@Horings-94: in fact louw didn’t have a kak game, he was made the scapegoat imo…richie mccaw got away with all sort of s.hit in those games..remember him being given a “warning” then a “team warning” then a “final warning” after conceding 5 penalties!
in both games against new zealand that year the Bok pack was demolished, not just Flo…
remember Spies, Burger & Kirchner being made to look stupid by Israel Dagg?
it’s easy to be selective with our memories
3 Sep 2012, 12:00 pm
@Transformation-105:
the reffing in nz by those irish plonkers in 2010 was nothing short of biased.
3 Sep 2012, 12:00 pm
@Horings-94: “Firstly, to play Burger openside and Louw blindside was the wrong move then.”
this was the flank duo that took the stormers to the final in orlando…what is the basis of saying it was the wrong move considering brussow was injured, juan was injured and you had stegmann, dewalt, deysel, botes, raubenheimer, johnson, PLouw to choose from as alternatives?…
3 Sep 2012, 12:13 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-99:
NcCaw and Carter between them have 200+.
Not too much difference then is it.
3 Sep 2012, 12:14 pm
@Horings-86: “There is a total and philosophical misunderstanding about game plans. I’ve studied every single game plan from every single team in the world, and 80 per cent of the gameplans are the same. If you look at most game plans”
“The difference is that New Zealand have a Sonny Bill who breaks the line, and players who do little offloads among the forwards. But that takes time, we’re still trying to get the lineouts right.”
isn’t this just GREAT! so Meyer is apparently the only man that can teach south african Springbok players to “play the situation”?
the same “situational awareness” other coaches were criticised for DEMANDING from Bok stalwarts like Matfield, Spies, Burger Heyneke wants time for his players to get right. Playing the situation does not EQUAL “Execution over Innovation”
Less talk Meyer and more action!
3 Sep 2012, 12:15 pm
@Transformation-105:
What??? We were penalised?
I thought we got away with everything….. just goes to show that we dont. Thanks for pointing that out Trans
3 Sep 2012, 12:22 pm
@Hurricane-110: copping 5 penalties for the same infringement – 2 times in your 22 – and NOT being sent off is getting away with s.hit. Bakkies (i know wrong choice of player to make this point) slowed the ball ONCE in our 22 and he was shown the sin bin…
http://www.verusco.com/verusco_stats_portal_g.php?compid=4&yearid=6&weekid=0&gameid=2&team=1
new zealand were pinged 10 times and 5 of those times it was richie and he stayed on the field, give me a break
3 Sep 2012, 12:24 pm
I see the refs are the reason SA lost again..
ho hum
will be the same when the Aussies win in Perth this weekend..
3 Sep 2012, 12:28 pm
@poppa69-112: if you are talking to me, be courteous enough to click on the reply post…
ho hum indeed
3 Sep 2012, 12:29 pm
@Horings-86: I heard this philosophy before. I think it was termed “playing the situation” or “heads-up” rugby. Can’t recall who spoke about this……
3 Sep 2012, 12:30 pm
@Transformation-113: it was for post 106 Trans, but he fails to mention the reffing in 2009
)
(easy to play this blame game
3 Sep 2012, 12:34 pm
@Transformation-111:
Using Bakkies did make me laugh, sorry couldnt take your post seriously after that. Your point went down the tubes then.
3 Sep 2012, 12:39 pm
@Hurricane-116: well, suit yourself…
same type of attitude – infringe first apologise later – from both players mentioned in the post, one copped a bad rep, the other praised for “managing refs”
3 Sep 2012, 12:58 pm
@Transformation-117:
lol, you are not trying to put McCaw and headbutter gouger Bakkies in the same class??
Bakkies own fault for his rep, not the refs.
Refs fault for letting McCaw get away with what he has…not McCaw.
Play the ball not the man.
3 Sep 2012, 13:03 pm
@Hurricane-108:
no, its still 160+ more than we have and besides, our two most capped players are a wing and outside centre probably with about 150 caps between them so minus those from the team and we’re back to square.
cannot compare.@Transformation-111:
thank you transie, i do appreciate it
but you are wasting your time with the knuckleheads of course.
its on their nature to be deceitful.
3 Sep 2012, 13:05 pm
@Hurricane-118:
you mean kneecap reechee?
3 Sep 2012, 13:12 pm
@pompies2-114:
the difference is that meyer (by sacrificing his last 16 sunday church services) will actually have written a 50 page treatise titled ‘on playing the situation’ and personally handed out a copy of each to the wider bok squad members for them to familiarise with its concepts.
this is a far cry from saying to the guys in the change rooms in the month before your first test that you want them to just ‘go out and play whats in front of you’ manne…
3 Sep 2012, 13:14 pm
if a month at that…
3 Sep 2012, 13:22 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-121: That’s the problem right there. Treatises and hypothesis. Your rugby ability, more than anything else is a feeling. If you don’t have the feel for international rugby, no amount of reading and studying will help. That’s what separates players.
3 Sep 2012, 13:24 pm
@Transformation-117: Thing is Transie, Bakkies put himself in the spotlight by being the enforcer ie) pushing players, playing the overtly agressive role, headbutting Jimmy Cowan etc. Now while this was his job and I have no issue with how he was, the fact is Macaw might infringe in terms of the laws but he is seen by and large as a clean player and hence will get away with more than someone branded a dirty player. It’s not always fair but it’s the way it is. Ron Cribb or Troy Flavell were in the same boat
3 Sep 2012, 13:26 pm
@poppa69-112: Seriously….are you still banging on about this? Geez, give it a rest
3 Sep 2012, 13:28 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-121: You’d be foolish to suggest that a coach would just walk into a change room and tell players to play the situation, without due consideration being given to the fundamental principles of the game. No amount of flair will overcome a serious deficiency in your basics.
HM has rationalized lots of IP from different coaches into something he understands as a playing philosophy. The danger is that he now limits himself to that, because his execution over innovation mantra will see his sides do what other sides do, only better.
3 Sep 2012, 13:30 pm
@Transformation-105: Some people, especially those up North, will do anything to discredit PDV, and point to his so-called incompetence
3 Sep 2012, 13:32 pm
@Skeppie-124: Troy Flavell – one of my Kiwi faves. Then they made him captain of the Blues to try and ‘calm him down’ and focus on the discipline thing. Hard as fuckingnails. Wish the Blues still had his sort around…..
3 Sep 2012, 13:35 pm
@willievz-127: Yeah, but only when it suits them. Just look how enthusiastically they have taken P Divvy’s “the refs cheat on NZ’s behalf” war cry to heart. Hell, Bakkies is still using it when he goes into battle on here daily.
3 Sep 2012, 13:35 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-119:
We have 9 players under 15 caps that played last game.
Now do you understand that we too have new players. Thats all i was getting at.
3 Sep 2012, 13:38 pm
@Skeppie-124:
lol Troy Flavell….oh boy, he didnt care how you were, if you played in the other team, thats fair game, anything goes.
3 Sep 2012, 13:42 pm
@Hurricane-131: Yup Bakkies reminds me a lot of him……players like that have a job to do and good for them….you just have to accept that they are going to get pinged more than the Ritchie Maccaws of the game even when they are “innocent”
3 Sep 2012, 13:44 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-128: Yup having him and Ron Cribb in the same team was awesome to watch
3 Sep 2012, 13:54 pm
@Skeppie-133: Another one of my filthy faves, was the Irishman, Peter Clohessy……way dirty back in his day
3 Sep 2012, 14:07 pm
@Hurricane-130:
no hurricane, its not the same.
its not the same by a long shot.
we had 8 players under 15 caps against arg and another 3 with under 20 caps
only 4 players with over 50 caps including both jean and bryan with 154 between them.
but its our combinations and positions that is far more inexperienced than yours.
@pompies2-126:
do you honestly believe pdivvy was a pen and paper man?
come now boet, i take nothing away from peter, a thoroughly likeable guy who was a great, charismatic, motivational man manager and someone who stood by his players loyally. i love the guy and will always have a soft spot for him.
but a pen and paper man he was not.
3 Sep 2012, 14:09 pm
@Hurricane-130:
again:
new midifeld combo
new lock partnership
new front row
new loose trio
new right winger
new fullback
the only more or less regular combo is morne and francois and the only regular position is bryan at wing.
3 Sep 2012, 14:20 pm
@Skeppie-125: its you guys who keep banging on about refs mate, not us…
3 Sep 2012, 14:21 pm
@Hurricane-118: see, exactly that…richie KNOWS what he is doing, you cop 5 penalties in a game for doing the same thing, that is deliberate, …call it gamesmanship, or whatever you want but basically it boils down to somethings are not in the “spirit of the game”.
this is last one from me on this issue…
my point was Flo wasn’t useless as some earlier tried to paint him, the Boks were outplayed!
3 Sep 2012, 14:24 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-128: he is actually my cousin, spent many a few days in my youth at his place…
3 Sep 2012, 14:26 pm
Always knew Pops was famous
3 Sep 2012, 14:31 pm
@willievz-127:
No difference in selection between PdV and HM, except those who retired or are permanently injured?
Both picked Kirchner, Morne Styen and Spies if available
@Hurricane-131:
He was quiet against the SA teams usually, hard men such Juan Smith, SB, Bakie made sure of that, the Aussies were a fair game, true except Vickerman who isn’t a truly Australian?
3 Sep 2012, 14:33 pm
@Dawn-140: only “famous” on keo dawn
3 Sep 2012, 14:36 pm
@poppa69-139: Damn!!! You come from fine rugby stock then my friend. Troy will go down as one of my all timers
Wish there were more of his sort around for the Blues now. Take no prisoners alive:…they will all be dragged in seriously injured or dead….
He used to get that ‘look’ and his eyes would go blacker than the ace of spades, and then twas over for whoever the poorfucker was in his vision.
I’m guessing he was rather feisty in his childhood years as well…
3 Sep 2012, 14:37 pm
Houston has already written his defeat speech.
3 Sep 2012, 14:43 pm
@Skeppie-124: hi Skeppie.
i’m not arguing the merits of “dirty players” vs “clean players”. i am saying, to my mind, richie mccaw has earned the “tag” of serial offender! clearly bakkies’ tag carried more attention from refs as they wanted to keep a lid of “dirty” stuff and rather seem to be tolerant to “clean offences” ie transgressing the rules.
you see this in the enforcement of tip-tackle offences, i can slow the opposition ball willy nilly for 80 min and be warned numerously but if i tip tackle, even unintentionally, i’m off!
it is rugby as we know it…just highlighting it
3 Sep 2012, 14:44 pm
@NZINCHINA-144:
Whitney is always prepared
3 Sep 2012, 14:46 pm
@Transformation-138:
you might as well be talking into a cold wind while the other guys farting, transie.
waste of time.
(i roll to troll
)
3 Sep 2012, 14:48 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-143: he grew up in massey, you had to be able to look after yourself…and yes, we need some of his type of mongrel in the Blues again..
with GH behind the scenes, I can already imagine I love bakkies has targeted them for his paranoia, but thankfully he wont be watching super rugby anymore..
3 Sep 2012, 14:50 pm
@Transformation-145:
clean offense like thorns ‘pick a player off his feet and clean tip/dump tackle him on his back’ type clean offense? injured the player and knocked him out for the season because of it.
3 Sep 2012, 14:59 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-149:
“injured the player and knocked him out for the season because of it.”
fabrication again huh Bakkies? Smit played on for a good 20-30 mins in that game then come off with a leg injury..
but it does add weight to your “claim”..
3 Sep 2012, 15:00 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-135: you know most people glibly talk about a “helter skelter” game plan and it is conviniently attributed to “pdv”….yet they forget that the same NZ that is now “ahead of us” has always been playing this “helter skelter” game plan and the difference THEN and now is that their players have ALWAYS been coached to read situations better and back their skills!
everyday we marvel at dagg, carter, jane – multi-skilled players – yet we field kirchner, msteyn, habana (players of limited skills sets) against them…
meyer is lying if he says he is teaching the current team to play the situation to match the all blacks…morne’s de facto decisions are poor even if carter kicks more than him! it’s not about the number of kicks it WHY did the player kick and the results achieved from the action…
how many players in the bok camp have the necessary skills to read & comprehend meyer’s treatise?
3 Sep 2012, 15:02 pm
@Transformation-151: Same was said when he took over a piss poor Bulls team way back and look how that worked out………
3 Sep 2012, 15:06 pm
I see Oscar Pistorious has complained about someone else’s blades.
Organisers have told him he doesn’t have a leg to stand on.
@poppa69-150:
jou idioot, smit soldiered on with the injury because he didnt want to let the team down. he was out for six or more months if i remember correctly.
always duplicitous and trouble with honesty hey…
http://www.rugbydump.com/2008/07/598/brad-thorn-gets-one-week-suspension-for-spear-on-smit
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-152: fark…it took him 7 years to win his 1st trophy!
why did the blue bulls sack him after finish last?
3 Sep 2012, 15:07 pm
@gunther-153:
snaaks
3 Sep 2012, 15:07 pm
@gunther-153: Verkeerd maar moer snaaks!!
3 Sep 2012, 15:09 pm
@poppa69-148: For Bakkies to suddenly target the Blues, would entail him having to sacrifice his “I hate the Cheating anti-Chrst Crusaders” membership. Can’t see him doing that whilst Richie is still breathing……
Then again GH and the Blues might open up a whole new can of paranoia for old Bakkies. (Must be honest though, I think old Bakkies (bless his heart) finds conspiracy theories in his kitchen cupboards.
I for one hope the Blues are recruiting….I watched some ITM cup over the weekend, and there are a few sinfully talented fringe players working some magic…..Hope the Blues buyers are taking a GOOD look.
Is the young Ardie Savea kid any relation to Julian?
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-149: Bakkies, do you watch the ITM cup games on Supersport?
3 Sep 2012, 15:09 pm
@Transformation-155: Still it shows what he is capable of.
The calibre players he is working with now are much better than what he took over way back then. Don’t think we’ll have to wait seven years this time round.
3 Sep 2012, 15:10 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-154: why would Smit play on for half an hour if that had injured him??? not really in the teams best interests is it? how could he run with a leg injury if it occured directly after the incide3nt?
how fcken dumb are you?
but do go, your paranoia is hilarious..
3 Sep 2012, 15:11 pm
@Dawn-146:
that’s because they’re always cheating, dawn.
its chicken and egg stuff really.
3 Sep 2012, 15:12 pm
He’s also hates the Chiefs, they cheat as well.
3 Sep 2012, 15:13 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-158: come on, he liked the chiefs up until the final… suddenly they were cheats then.. he flip flops more than HG visits France after a loss (and thats a lot)..
Auckland smashed manawatu over the weekend, was good to see.. Im not sure on Ardie, but I would think they are related.. anyways, time to go, cheers..
3 Sep 2012, 15:15 pm
@Transformation-151:
give it time, transie. yes the expectation is that we keep on winnning throughout this period but then expect the winning not to be pretty unitl such time as when the boks game plan under heyneke clicks.
the ab’s haven’t always played the kind of rugby they do.
bulls still hold the record for number of tries scored in a super rugby final for the entire history of super rugby finals.
if you build it, the tries will come…
3 Sep 2012, 15:23 pm
@Transformation-155:
oh what nonsense, transie!
he won four currie cups after his 2nd or 1st year in charge.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-158:
i would sooner pull my onnerbroek down in a gaybar than watch that despicable stuff.
3 Sep 2012, 15:24 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-158: heard the Blues were agressively chasing israel dagg
3 Sep 2012, 15:25 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-165: currie cup, who gives a s>hit?
plumtree has won that too, is he a genius?
3 Sep 2012, 15:26 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-165: rassie has plenty currie cups, doesn’t make him an international coach’s arse!
3 Sep 2012, 15:27 pm
going to be good around here if Australia wins this weekend
3 Sep 2012, 15:27 pm
@poppa69-160:
fark you are retarded..?
“South Africa’s delight at their last-gasp win at Wellington has been swiftly tempered by injury and suspension blows. Their captain, John Smit, has been ruled out of the rest of the Tri-Nations campaign, the Springboks said in a statement yesterday, while the hooker who replaced him on Saturday, Bismarck du Plessis, has been banned for three weeks.
Smit had surgery in Johannesburg last week on the groin injury he suffered in the defeat by New Zealand in Wellington on July ”
http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2008/jul/14/newzealandrugbyunionteam.southafricarugbyteam
3 Sep 2012, 15:31 pm
Why was the Bismark suspended?
3 Sep 2012, 15:32 pm
@Transformation-167:
the man won four in a row, transie!
@Transformation-168:
and he built the team that won 3 super titles
@NZINCHINA-162:
thats right, i do.
@poppa69-163:
no, not true.
i never liked them and was very clear in regard to their dirty play under smith from the beggining of their campaign already.
3 Sep 2012, 15:34 pm
@Transformation-166: @i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-165: You are missing some good rugby Bakkies
@Transformation-166: Oh yes, it is starting.
3 Sep 2012, 15:34 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-158:
no, i am on record as stating that i now expect nothing but filth from the blues from next season. expect the usual cheap shot late hits, off the ball stuff, blocking, obstructing, blah balh balh the filth list goes on….
3 Sep 2012, 15:35 pm
You have a very long hate list on any given super rugby weekend how do you keep tabs on all of them?
3 Sep 2012, 15:37 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-134: The claw! Yup he was good to watch!
3 Sep 2012, 15:38 pm
@NZINCHINA-171:
the usual, he was framed for ‘hand making contact wif de face region’ bullshitt.
such a wonderful copout by the nz influenced irb refs/judicials hey. no clear evidence of an eye gouge having occured they concoct that little beaut.
3 Sep 2012, 15:39 pm
@poppa69-137: If one blogger on this site posts a stupid mail blaming the ref is it fair to say that we are all whingeing saffas who always blame the ref?
3 Sep 2012, 15:39 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-172:4 in a row so what?
@NZINCHINA-175:
3 Sep 2012, 15:40 pm
well, they are all kiwis to start with.
3 Sep 2012, 15:41 pm
they play a certain unlikeable brand of rugby
3 Sep 2012, 15:41 pm
Perhaps its was Botha gouging and they got the wrong man?
3 Sep 2012, 15:42 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-174:
I can actually imagine you watching a game of rugby…..Heyneke on his walkiewalkie type hysterics coming from the Bakkies family’s living room? You gonna be hating those Blues next year. That’s a good thing though, because it will mean they are winning games
3 Sep 2012, 15:42 pm
have no respect for the laws of the game
3 Sep 2012, 15:44 pm
He wont be watching.
3 Sep 2012, 15:51 pm
@Skeppie-178:
no skeppie, whether alone or with others in support you are still a gatkruipertjie.
others call it for what it is.
3 Sep 2012, 15:53 pm
Its easy to blame the ref.
3 Sep 2012, 15:55 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-183:
no, i wont be watching.
the rugby is unbearable.
cc and bok rugby only for me.
3 Sep 2012, 16:00 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-188: Ai Bakkies. En as die Bokke teen die Kiwis speel? Do you patch your left eye up and only watch using your right one?
I must be honest, I didn’t realise you were this serious in your boycott of all things Kiwi rugby related.
3 Sep 2012, 16:02 pm
Do youself a favour and dont bother watching the Dunedin test.
3 Sep 2012, 16:26 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-183:
no, i am not the type of person you would enjoy watching a game with.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-189:
it really is unfair. they have ruined this game for all decent rugby loving people the world over.
3 Sep 2012, 16:27 pm
no china, i will watch that game because its the boks.
3 Sep 2012, 16:29 pm
going to be abso ‘bloody’ lutely marvelous around here if the argies win this weekend.
3 Sep 2012, 16:32 pm
Hi
3 Sep 2012, 16:33 pm
Busy, busy, busy………
3 Sep 2012, 16:34 pm
It’s so busy…..
3 Sep 2012, 16:35 pm
In a rich man’s world.
3 Sep 2012, 16:36 pm
Cheers vir eers
3 Sep 2012, 16:54 pm
@gunther-153:
bad taste dude
3 Sep 2012, 17:48 pm
@Hondo-141: Kirchner has never been PDV’s preferred 15. PDV preferred Jantjies and Percy in 2008, and Frans from 2009 onwards. He even gave Frans a chance to prove himself against Wales in 2010 when he did not play a single minute of S15 rugby.
Morne and Spies played good rugby in 2009, and deserved their caps.
3 Sep 2012, 20:00 pm
I think for test 1 it will look like this:
8 Vermeulen
7 Alberts
6 Coetzee
19 Louw
Then against New Zealand it will look like
8 Vermeulen
7 Alberts
6 Louw
19 Coetzee
3 Sep 2012, 23:24 pm
And how is Big Joe going – isn’t he still available to play? – you cannot ignore that kind of experience!