Flo’s fantastic opportunity

JON CARDINELLI writes the under-utilised and often unappreciated phenom that is Francois Louw will have a chance to prove a point in the coming weeks.

Two weeks ago, I sat face to face with South African rugby’s forgotten man. Francois Louw was in a typically laid back mood on a bright morning in Bath, and we chatted about everything from rare Nicaraguan coffee to David Pocock’s fetching technique.

The flanker talked at length about a rugby-mad town that would be demanding more of Bath in the 2012-13 season. He spoke about being a leader, about playing the best rugby of his life, and how he planned to change the collective mindset of the Springbok selectors.

‘If you play well enough, they can’t ignore you,’ he said at the time. ‘I want to play so well that they will have to say, “We can’t ignore this guy, we need him, we want him to come back”. If I ever got the call, I would pack that bag pretty quickly. That would be fantastic.’

They were hopeful words, but there was substance in Louw’s assertion that he was in the form of his life.

I subsequently bumped into Gary Gold, former Springbok forward coach and now Bath’s director of rugby, and he grew exceedingly animated in stating a case for Louw as a Bok starter. And as Gold said at the time, Louw wouldn’t be lacking for match sharpness if Heyneke Meyer revised his foreign policy and began a phone call with ‘+44′.

I decided to check things out for myself. Bath had enjoyed an unbeaten run in the pre-season, and their final warm-up fixture against the Cardiff Blues at The Rec promised to be entertaining. There was always going to be value in gauging Louw’s form in such a contest, as he would be competing against one of the premier openside flankers on the planet, namely Wales’ Sam Warburton.

It was a wet night in Bath and it didn’t surprise me to see the halfback pairing of Michael Claassens and Olly Barkley kicking for territory. What did surprise me was the brutal efficiency of Bath’s pack, and the manner in which Louw flourished as a result.

Warburton on the other hand, was a non-factor. Louw outplayed the Welsh openside for steals on the floor, and contributed powerfully around the park. When he eventually left the field the soaked but never silenced Bath faithful stomped on the wooden floorboards to show their appreciation.

It was meant to be a performance that would build confidence ahead of an important Premiership campaign. It was mission accomplished as far as the pre-season was concerned, although Louw would have felt that his mission to convince Meyer of his value was just about to begin.

At the start of his tenure, Meyer stated that he would not pick overseas-based players unless they were better than those based in South Africa. It was easy to ignore Louw at that stage, as Meyer was still hopeful of Schalk Burger and Duane Vermeulen recovering from their respective injuries. There were also youngsters like Marcell Coetzee and Siya Kolisi to consider, not to mention Heinrich Brüssow and Keegan Daniel.

Injuries have thwarted Meyers plans, and he has been forced to recall Louw. It would be false to say that the Bath openside has convinced Meyer of his value through a strong performance in the English pre-season. It would be more accurate to say that Meyer selected Louw for lack of another experienced openside option.

However, that doesn’t suggest that Louw cannot change Meyer’s mind with an influential showing in what remains of the Rugby Championship.

A year ago, he left for Bath knowing that he had jeopardised his position at the Springboks. Two weeks ago, he spoke as if Bath were his primary focus and as if he wasn’t expecting a Test recall.

But the 27 year old has always believed that he would wear the Bok jersey again. He was adamant that the Boks’ World Cup quarter-final loss to Australia would not be his final international act.

‘I do still think about that game, but to be honest with you, I’ve never watched it again,’ Louw said.

‘It felt like we were doing everything right but we weren’t getting paid dividends for it. We weren’t getting points on the board. It was very disappointing.

‘Having said that, it’s always going to go down as one of the greatest times in my life. To be involved with the Springboks at a World Cup, even with a disappointing exit like that, was amazing. Was that the last Test for me? I hope not. I’m 27 years old, and I don’t feel like I’ve reached a watershed. I believe that I’m playing the best rugby of my career.

‘I definitely don’t want to see that as my last go at it all. Like I’ve said to you, I want to keep improving, I want to reach a level where they can’t ignore me, where they want me to come back. No, I refuse to see that as my last act. I’m going to try and get back into the side. That’s not really in my hands, what is in my hands is playing the best rugby that I can.’

Nobody could have predicted the season-ending injury to Kolisi that would eventually force Meyer to contact Louw. That bag was packed very quickly, and as you read this, Louw should be preparing to play against Australia in Perth this Saturday.

Louw outplayed Warburton on that soggy night in Bath, and he should be expected to give the Boks an edge in what many will view as a World Cup rematch. The significant difference on this occasion is that Pocock, who is out for the rest of the Rugby Championship with an injury, won’t be playing.

Louw would have expected to watch this match on TV, but now he will be in the thick of it. It was interesting to get his take on the Pocock injury prior to his own Test recall.

‘Besides the breakdown, Pocock has a helluva work rate. It will be a substantial loss for Australia. I think that is something that New Zealand have already capitalised on a little bit.

‘He did very well against us in that World Cup quarter-final. His absence is something that South Africa should look to exploit [in Perth]. They have to be efficient in that area, but I’m sure whoever they put in there is going to be hungry to prove themselves.’

As fate would have it, Louw now has the chance to put these words into action.

Follow JC on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

202 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

• 151.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-135: you know most people glibly talk about a “helter skelter” game plan and it is conviniently attributed to “pdv”….yet they forget that the same NZ that is now “ahead of us” has always been playing this “helter skelter” game plan and the difference THEN and now is that their players have ALWAYS been coached to read situations better and back their skills!

everyday we marvel at dagg, carter, jane – multi-skilled players – yet we field kirchner, msteyn, habana (players of limited skills sets) against them…

meyer is lying if he says he is teaching the current team to play the situation to match the all blacks…morne’s de facto decisions are poor even if carter kicks more than him! it’s not about the number of kicks it WHY did the player kick and the results achieved from the action…

how many players in the bok camp have the necessary skills to read & comprehend meyer’s treatise? :D

• 152.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-151: Same was said when he took over a piss poor Bulls team way back and look how that worked out………

• 153.gunther: Reply to this comment

I see Oscar Pistorious has complained about someone else’s blades.

Organisers have told him he doesn’t have a leg to stand on.

• 154.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-150:
    jou idioot, smit soldiered on with the injury because he didnt want to let the team down. he was out for six or more months if i remember correctly.

always duplicitous and trouble with honesty hey…

http://www.rugbydump.com/2008/07/598/brad-thorn-gets-one-week-suspension-for-spear-on-smit

• 155.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-152: fark…it took him 7 years to win his 1st trophy! :shock:

why did the blue bulls sack him after finish last? ;)

• 156.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@gunther-153: :roll: snaaks

• 157.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@gunther-153: Verkeerd maar moer snaaks!!

• 158.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-148: For Bakkies to suddenly target the Blues, would entail him having to sacrifice his “I hate the Cheating anti-Chrst Crusaders” membership. Can’t see him doing that whilst Richie is still breathing……

Then again GH and the Blues might open up a whole new can of paranoia for old Bakkies. (Must be honest though, I think old Bakkies (bless his heart) finds conspiracy theories in his kitchen cupboards.

I for one hope the Blues are recruiting….I watched some ITM cup over the weekend, and there are a few sinfully talented fringe players working some magic…..Hope the Blues buyers are taking a GOOD look.
    Is the young Ardie Savea kid any relation to Julian?

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-149: Bakkies, do you watch the ITM cup games on Supersport? :)

• 159.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-155: Still it shows what he is capable of.
    The calibre players he is working with now are much better than what he took over way back then. Don’t think we’ll have to wait seven years this time round.

• 160.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-154: why would Smit play on for half an hour if that had injured him??? not really in the teams best interests is it? how could he run with a leg injury if it occured directly after the incide3nt?

how fcken dumb are you?

but do go, your paranoia is hilarious..

• 161.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-146:
    that’s because they’re always cheating, dawn.
    its chicken and egg stuff really.

• 162.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

He’s also hates the Chiefs, they cheat as well.

• 163.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-158: come on, he liked the chiefs up until the final… suddenly they were cheats then.. he flip flops more than HG visits France after a loss (and thats a lot)..

Auckland smashed manawatu over the weekend, was good to see.. Im not sure on Ardie, but I would think they are related.. anyways, time to go, cheers..

• 164.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-151:
    give it time, transie. yes the expectation is that we keep on winnning throughout this period but then expect the winning not to be pretty unitl such time as when the boks game plan under heyneke clicks.

the ab’s haven’t always played the kind of rugby they do.

bulls still hold the record for number of tries scored in a super rugby final for the entire history of super rugby finals.

if you build it, the tries will come…

• 165.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-155:
    oh what nonsense, transie!
    he won four currie cups after his 2nd or 1st year in charge.

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-158:
    i would sooner pull my onnerbroek down in a gaybar than watch that despicable stuff. :lol:

• 166.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-158: heard the Blues were agressively chasing israel dagg :lol:

• 167.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-165: currie cup, who gives a s>hit? :D

plumtree has won that too, is he a genius?

• 168.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-165: rassie has plenty currie cups, doesn’t make him an international coach’s arse!

• 169.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

going to be good around here if Australia wins this weekend

• 170.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-160:
    fark you are retarded..?

“South Africa’s delight at their last-gasp win at Wellington has been swiftly tempered by injury and suspension blows. Their captain, John Smit, has been ruled out of the rest of the Tri-Nations campaign, the Springboks said in a statement yesterday, while the hooker who replaced him on Saturday, Bismarck du Plessis, has been banned for three weeks.

Smit had surgery in Johannesburg last week on the groin injury he suffered in the defeat by New Zealand in Wellington on July ”

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2008/jul/14/newzealandrugbyunionteam.southafricarugbyteam

• 171.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Why was the Bismark suspended?

• 172.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-167:
    the man won four in a row, transie!

@Transformation-168:
    and he built the team that won 3 super titles

@NZINCHINA-162:
    thats right, i do.

@poppa69-163:
    no, not true.
    i never liked them and was very clear in regard to their dirty play under smith from the beggining of their campaign already.

• 173.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-166: @i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-165: You are missing some good rugby Bakkies :)

@Transformation-166: Oh yes, it is starting. :)

• 174.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-158:
    no, i am on record as stating that i now expect nothing but filth from the blues from next season. expect the usual cheap shot late hits, off the ball stuff, blocking, obstructing, blah balh balh the filth list goes on….

• 175.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

You have a very long hate list on any given super rugby weekend how do you keep tabs on all of them?

• 176.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-134: The claw! Yup he was good to watch!

• 177.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-171:
    the usual, he was framed for ‘hand making contact wif de face region’ bullshitt.

such a wonderful copout by the nz influenced irb refs/judicials hey. no clear evidence of an eye gouge having occured they concoct that little beaut.

• 178.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-137: If one blogger on this site posts a stupid mail blaming the ref is it fair to say that we are all whingeing saffas who always blame the ref?

• 179.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-172:4 in a row so what?

@NZINCHINA-175: :D

• 180.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

well, they are all kiwis to start with.

• 181.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

they play a certain unlikeable brand of rugby

• 182.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Perhaps its was Botha gouging and they got the wrong man?

• 183.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-174: :) I can actually imagine you watching a game of rugby…..Heyneke on his walkiewalkie type hysterics coming from the Bakkies family’s living room? You gonna be hating those Blues next year. That’s a good thing though, because it will mean they are winning games :)

• 184.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

have no respect for the laws of the game

• 185.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

He wont be watching.

• 186.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-178:
    no skeppie, whether alone or with others in support you are still a gatkruipertjie.
    others call it for what it is.

• 187.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Its easy to blame the ref.

• 188.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-183:
    no, i wont be watching.
    the rugby is unbearable.
    cc and bok rugby only for me.

• 189.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-188: Ai Bakkies. En as die Bokke teen die Kiwis speel? Do you patch your left eye up and only watch using your right one? :)

I must be honest, I didn’t realise you were this serious in your boycott of all things Kiwi rugby related.

• 190.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Do youself a favour and dont bother watching the Dunedin test.

• 191.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-183:
    no, i am not the type of person you would enjoy watching a game with.

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-189:
    it really is unfair. they have ruined this game for all decent rugby loving people the world over.

• 192.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

no china, i will watch that game because its the boks.

• 193.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

going to be abso ‘bloody’ lutely marvelous around here if the argies win this weekend.

• 194.Atlas: Reply to this comment

Hi

• 195.Atlas: Reply to this comment

Busy, busy, busy………

• 196.Atlas: Reply to this comment

It’s so busy…..

• 197.Atlas: Reply to this comment

In a rich man’s world.

• 198.Atlas: Reply to this comment

Cheers vir eers :)

• 199.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@gunther-153:
    bad taste dude

• 200.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-141: Kirchner has never been PDV’s preferred 15. PDV preferred Jantjies and Percy in 2008, and Frans from 2009 onwards. He even gave Frans a chance to prove himself against Wales in 2010 when he did not play a single minute of S15 rugby.

Morne and Spies played good rugby in 2009, and deserved their caps.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.