Hougaard to wing it for Boks

Heyneke Meyer is set to pick Ruan Pienaar at scrumhalf and shift Francois Hougaard to the wing for Saturday’s clash against the Wallabies.

Hougaard has failed to improve as both a distributor and a tactical kicker, and it would appear that Meyer has finally decided to move the talented player into a position where his other skills would be better utilised.

Starting Pienaar at No 9 will also give the Boks a stronger kicking option, and alleviate the pressure on struggling flyhalf Morné Steyn.

‘I’ve always said that we will have a horses-for-courses attitude,’ Meyer told the media in Perth. ‘Hougaard gives you something different on the wing while Ruan is a little bit more experienced and he has a brilliant kicking game so he can take some of the pressure off of Morne Steyn. It is not a definite thing but we are looking at that option.’

That being said, a strong showing by Pienaar could force Meyer to consider a permanent change in personnel. The same could be said of Francois Louw, who joined the side on Monday after playing for Bath over the weekend. Louw is likely to feature at openside flank and will be looking to change the mindset of Meyer who initially felt Louw surplus to requirements.

‘I want the option of a specialist openside, maybe on the bench,’ said the Bok coach. ‘Northern hemisphere refs are normally a bit more lenient at the breakdown and I want us to be covered there. But I’ve said before that the whole team needs to be able to compete on the ground and at the breakdown.

‘Our problem against Argentina was not just taking the opposition’s ball at the breakdown, it was protecting our own ball at the breakdown and that is not just the openside’s role that is the whole team’s responsibility. We need to be more effective at the breakdown, our body height should be lower and we should clean out more effectively.’

128 Comments

• 1.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

Hougaard and his Dragon wings

• 2.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

Think this is a win-win situation.

Better for the team and execution of the current gameplan and better for Hougaard.

He’s a far more devastating player when given a bit of space.

• 3.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Good move. Hougie is devastating on the wing, epitomy of mongrel. He also does a bit of a back bend when he runs similar to the great Frankie Fredericks(200m Namibian champ), but still ightening quick!

The next good move would be to give Lambie a chance with Ruan Pienaar!!

• 4.pokkel: Reply to this comment

@Kietzphat-2:

That is IF the backline can give him the ball in space!

• 5.papaown: Reply to this comment

I heard abt this on 5fm as well this morning

• 6.lukie: Reply to this comment

I personally feel that you get better wings than Hougie. Allthough he is an extremely talented player and te problem with naturally gifted rugby players are that because teire so talented they get moved a lot because they can cover everything. They don’t develop to their full potential when the are constantly moved arround. (Brent Russel, Pat Lambie, Ruan Pienaar)

The old saying: “Jack of all traits and master of none.” comes to mind.

I’d rather you bench Hougie, put on a specialist wing and bring him from the bench at 55 either at scrummy or the wing depending on the problem.

He will make a much bigger IMPACT than when he starts out of his posistion. Just my humble thoughts.

• 7.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

@pokkel-4:

That is a big ‘if’.

• 8.Puma: Reply to this comment

@race of tan-3: That brought back memories. Frankie Fredericks from Namibia. Was a great runner.

Hope Meyer surprises us even more. Play Lambie this week against Oz. Would have liked JDJ on at 13 too. Then we would have no captain, so not such a great idea. Unless Strauss can play.

• 9.Puma: Reply to this comment

@papaown-5: Most of us read it on SS yesterday already. So no news really.

• 10.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Hougaard’s “problems” at scrumhalf are due solely to the coach’s insistence that he attempt to impersonate FdP, when even FdP himself wouldn’t cut it in 2012 if he played like the FdP of old (which he couldn’t in any case, because he is too old). But if Meyer is too stubborn to change the game plan (and he most certainly is), then Hougaard is better off at wing.

• 11.Transformation: Reply to this comment

“‘Our problem against Argentina was not just taking the opposition’s ball at the breakdown, it was protecting our own ball at the breakdown and that is not just the openside’s role that is the whole team’s responsibility. We need to be more effective at the breakdown, our body height should be lower and we should clean out more effectively.

this was a problem in the english series heyneke, whose responsiblity is it to sort out? if you & “attack coach” van graan can’t get it right, get a consultant!

• 12.XV: Reply to this comment

@lukie-6: I totally agree with you…..

• 13.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-11:
    If the Boks had issues at the breakdown against the Poms and the Argies then the Wallabies will add a whole new dimension to their shortcomings.

He employed Van Graan’s as a safety net just incase the Bok gig doesn’t go according to plan.

• 14.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-10: Frankie Hougaard is in die kak, how does one emulate a GENIUS?

Pure genius
    10 Dec 2009

Fourie du Preez has established himself as the finest player on the planet.

Rugby genius. The concept is not easily defined, and should you arrive at a suitable definition, finding players who meet all the criteria is rare. It’s a relative concept, certainly, but there are attributes which are absolute. Fourie du Preez lists some of those when I ask him what he would define as genius.

‘It’s a player who reads the game and makes the right tactical decision 99% of the time after assessing the situation,’ he begins. ‘That said, you get some sharp decision-makers who don’t have the skills to execute what they see in their mind. Geniuses are able to do both, and their ability is amplified by the fact that they’ve studied their opponents.

‘Then there’s the issue of consistency. To be considered a genius you have to be able to deliver high-quality performances week in and week out against high-quality opposition.’

• 15.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Seun: Pa, ek dink my meisie is te oud vir my.
    Pa: Hoe so?
    Seun: Sy sê sy het al gesien hoe die WP die currie beker wen.

• 16.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Meyers team:

15 Zane Kirchner
    14 Francois Hougaard
    13 Jean De Villiers
    12 Frans Steyn
    11 Bryan Habana
    10 Morne Stwyn
    9 Ruan Pienaar
    8 Willem Alberts
    7 Jaques Potgieter
    6 Marcell Coetzee
    5 Juandre Kruger
    4 Eben Etsebeth
    3 Jannie Dup
    2 Liebenberg
    1 Beast

16 Burden
    17 Cilliers
    18 Flip
    19 Flouw
    20 Lambie
    21 De Jongh
    22 Mvovo

• 17.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-10: how can anyone mimic Neo?

“Du Preez has, at times, looked like he was reading the game in a Matrix-type code, not dissimilar to the manner in which Keanu Reeves’s character in the sci-fi blockbuster did, and he seemed to have the ability to supernaturally elevate his spirit and make tactical decisions based on information attained via an aerial view of the action.

no way jose! :D

• 18.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@Puma-9: And it was in RAPPORT newspaper on Sunday as well!!

• 19.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-16: I somehow doubt it will be Potgieter at 7. Will be Alberts. Think Vermeulen will start at 8 with Alberts 7 and Coetzee 6. Flo will be on the bench.

Should have been to start:

Coetzee
    Flo

Though Flo only flew in on Monday night and that flight for the UK takes forever. He might feel the jet lag a bit.

• 20.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

My team:

15 Pat Lambie
    14 Gio Aplon
    13 Jean De Villiers
    12 Frans Steyn
    11 Bryan Habana
    10 Elton Jantjes
    9 Francois Hougaard
    8 Duane Vermeulen
    7 Marcell Coetzee
    6 Francois Louw
    5 Andries Bekker
    4 Eben Etsebeth
    3 Pat Cilliers
    2 Tiaan Liebenberg
    1 Tendai Mtawarira

16 Craig Burden
    17 Jannie Du Plessis
    18 Juandre Kruger
    19 Willem Alberts
    20 Ruan Pienaar
    21 Juan De Jongh
    22 Lwazi Mvovo

• 21.Puma: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-18: hahahaha. I know we get old news here.

• 22.nikoli: Reply to this comment

This is a red herring – can’t remember the last time boks sent the ball down the line to the wing. Maybe it’s because the forwards standing in the backline can’t pass well enough or because their ‘move’ is to run back into the opposition forwards every time….just saying….

• 23.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@Puma-21: I suppose these “journos” think we don’t read other sites as well

• 24.Puma: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-23: Probably… :)

• 25.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@nikoli-22: this is no red herring, hougaard is good at chasing kicks!

• 26.xtremebull: Reply to this comment

So it is official we will play starplayers out of position to fit the game plan but we would not change the game plan to fit the starplayers in their preferred positions? This is k@k for saffa fans and for the players themselves… I’m ashames..

Backline-15-lambie 14-habana 13de villiers 12-steyn 11-mvovo 10-goosen 9-hougaard( this is a attacking backline with a stern defensive technique-wouldnt hawies fourie done wonders with them!)

Forwards-8-vermeulen 7-alberts -6louw 5-kruger 4-etzebeth 3-cilliers 2-strauss 1-beast(this is a devestating forward pack with attacking flair and breakdown execution- wouldn’t gert small/gary gold loved to work with them?)

Subs- 16liebenberg 17-greyling 18-potgieter 19-coetzee 20-pienaar 21-de jong 22-kirchner(meyer you could have kept momentum with them)

• 27.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Stegmann broke his arm in the 42-6 defeat at Newlands on the weekend – the same arm that he broke in Vodacom Super Rugby action back in May and will now spend the next few months frustratingly on the sidelines

Whats new?

When are the bulls going to terminate this guys contract or atleast not offer him a new one.

• 28.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-27: agilt-t*t will be here to rebuke you!

• 29.Puma: Reply to this comment

@xtremebull-26: Yes I am with the person here that said if Hougie was left to play his natural game at scrummie he would be great. I feel that too. Just forget the name of the poster here.

Now if we had that backline with a different game plan we could do some damage. Though with that 9 and 10 think we would need a faster 8. Just change your 8 there to Coetzee and put Vermeulen n the bench. Then sorted.

And that is just with the players we have there on tour already??? MInd boggles that some are just left out the team that could change our style of play.

Anyhow that is wishful thinking bud. Just can’t see Meyer starting with that backline with his game plan.

• 30.Jeez: Reply to this comment

About time. Hougaard had more than enough time to make the jersey his own and he failed unfortunately.
    Hopefully Pienaar has a good game. The backs should look better this weekend. Bekker needs to step up too.

Hopefully that headless chicken aka Jacques Potgieter doest feature in the match 22.

• 31.nama1: Reply to this comment

Is Hougaard a better wing than either Habana or Mvovo to be selected ahead of them?

No doubt he is a good player in that position especially from broken play and with ball in hand. Imo he is much better suited there coming of the bench when he is fresh and the opposition players have 55/60 minutes of game time behind them already.

• 32.Stiff-arm: Reply to this comment

This is only creating two problems instead of one. One: A bok wing firstand foremost, has to chace highballs, now we pick a midget to do it
    Secondly: Pienaar’s first instinct is allways to slow the game down. He’s not as bad as he used to be, but that’s not saying much. Pay attention to the way oppsition forwards read him. There’s allways two of them, watching and waiting. On the odd chance that he clears quickly, they don’t commit to the ruck.
    More often, when he starts having a conversation with the ref, standing upright and looking left, right and left again, starts a sign language conversation with the flyhalf, then and only then do the opposition forwards hit the counter ruck and turn it over. It’s like taking candy from a baby.
    Pay carefull attention next Saturday, we concede 2-4 turnovers in this way each game with Pienaar at 9

• 33.The Bok Identity: Reply to this comment

Meyer may be a lot of good things but a great manager he is not. His handling of Daniels has been nothing short of appaling but I am afraid he has reached new lows with this latest stunt. What a way of telling your country’s wingers that they are no better than a bloke who has been playing scrumhalf for the whole season. I wonder what this will do to Hougie’s already low confidence.

• 34.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-14: @Transformation-17: – this is the most cringeworthly thing, who wrote this??

• 35.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@Stiff-arm-32:
    I havent seen much of this you are describing in the recent games when he came on… Much quicker ball from the rucks when he came on. He reads the situation much better imo

• 36.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-10: ya, this pretty much sums up my feelings on the matter too

• 37.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell-34: Ryan Vrede! :lol:

• 38.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-37: haha, his article on pierre spies was even worse.

the one where spies says he will be the worlds best 8.

never happened.

• 39.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-37: hahaha, good grief

• 40.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-38: The Cognitive Evolution of Spies”

i s.hit you not! :D

• 41.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-40: is this the famous article where he rattled off all his physical stats? like that he can sprint 800m without slowing, lmao

• 42.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-40: that was fkt up

• 43.grant10: Reply to this comment

Bok backline will remain sterile and impotent as long as they hand the 10 jersey to M Steyn….

That is the problem….far more so than Hougaard , who gets the bullet because he couldnt protect M Steyn….M Steyn should be able to look after himself.

start Lambie on Sat Meyer…

• 44.grant10: Reply to this comment

So now Mvovo will get the axe?

Bloody unfair seeing he got farkall ball !!

• 45.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@grant10-44: everyone must accomodate Morne it seems

• 46.Tiptackle: Reply to this comment

Pienaar only looked better because Hougie was so dreadful……He’s not the answer imho, he always takes one step too many before passing and always runs across the field. I also don’t buy the idea that he has such a brilliant kicking game either……..Hope to be proven wrong but history has a nasty habit of repeating itself. I honestly don’t think RP has it in him……where is Sarel ?? I would even play Jano before RP…… As for Morne, if we think he’s been struggling with Hougie, just wait ’til RP is at 9 !!

Meyer has painted himself into a corner by bringing RP back from Ulster (must have promised something !!) when we have better options here….

• 47.lepel: Reply to this comment

Hougaard hasn’t done a single thing to warrant selection in this team. He’s picked ahead of Mvovo based on?

He was picked as the SA scrummie based on?

Meyer and FdP hyped Hougaard for a long time and now he, as many before and after, simply isn’t living up to the hype.

We urgently need a decent scrummie in SA and we simply don’t have one at the moment. Sarel Pretorius should’ve never had his stupid stint with the Waratahs otherwise he could very well have been the recipient of the SOS call and I reckon he would’ve stepped up to the plate… unlike the two that are trying now.

• 48.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Sound as if HM started getting worried about his job if he dropped an icon of uselessness such as Mvovo
    Should bring Lambie at 10 too, the Boks might then walk over the Aussies as if it was a transparent media ;)

• 49.grant10: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell-45:
    it is poor man management….
    no excuses for HM on that score….

Without any shadow of a doubt M Steyn is killing our backline…..

first we have Jantjes being dropped without touching a ball….and even having to sit and watch the rubbish boks played at PE…..AND NOT EVEN COMING ON….

now we have Hougaard being sacrificed at the altar of M Steyn as he didnt protect him….

WTF man !

Then we have Mvovo sitting out on the wing getting very few opportunities….now he gets shafted….

I wont even get started with Meyers treatment of Brussow….

I certainly am not impressed….he needs to be more open and honest….

Both Jantjes or Lambie should be at 10 this weekend….

Steyn should be back in Pretoria…

• 50.grant10: Reply to this comment

similarily he has treated Daniel with total disdain….

Lambie must be wondering what the hell is going on….

Come on HM…up your game dammit…

• 51.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@grant10-49: man, i completely agree. there was no better time for HM to bring Jantjies on than in PE but he just did nothing… and then Jantjies gets dropped, unbelievable really. and agreed about the rest too.

• 52.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

chopping and changing

I would give Jano Vermark a go – straight of leftfeild

Ruand Pienaar and Morne Steyn very similar players.

• 53.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@Stiff-arm-32: Completely agree about Pienaar. His instincts are to slow the game down. Not as bad as he used to be but slow service from the rucks kills your momentum and takes the wind out of your sails on attack.

Have also seen the opposition hit the counter ruck as soon as he starts talking to the ref. On more than one occassion, I’ve seen the ball pop out of the ruck without him even seeing it.

Ruan is not the answer at 9.

• 54.groen: Reply to this comment

Am I the only one worried that even though we have had a straight forward game plan the coach and the players tend to tell everybody plan or a part of the plan to early . If it was me I would do a tactical switch on the day so if the ozzies decided like england to put pressure on hougie they will get a big suprise. Or am I over thinking things . I mean by Wednesday Ricardo lobster will probably tell everybody that they plan to no go wide as soon anymore or something like that.

• 55.groen: Reply to this comment

@groen-54: sorry Loubsher ?? too lazy to google

• 56.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

Until Meyer changes his gameplan, wing is Hougards best option. Hes the second best wing in the country to JPP I would say

Same height as Habana for those saying hes a midget

• 57.Captain Sam Vimes: Reply to this comment

At bloody last………………..said it for two years this kid is a wing!!!!! now hopefully Ruan can hold it together………….please dont go off reservation buddy, you can do it!!!!

• 58.groen: Reply to this comment

@Bok fan-56: Pocket battleship http://youtu.be/6I51jBTua5w

• 59.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-53: Not sure about that, everytime Pienaar came on in the England series momentum seemed to pick up and we cleared from the base of breakdowns a lot quicker.

• 60.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@groen-58: Thanks Groen, hes pure class with ball in hand and excellent on defense

• 61.Stormtrooper: Reply to this comment

Anything except drop Hougaard. He has not played wing all season so I’m trying to understand why he’s an automatic starting option. If he does not cut it on the wing is Meyer going to shift him to FB???

• 62.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-59: Also Pienaar has never been given a fair run in the number 9 Bok jersey. Was the obvious choice when Fourie got injured but instead they tried playing January with a kicking gameplan just like they’ve been doing with Hougaard lately

Opening a can of worms but I still believe Pienaar would be wearing the Bok no. 10 jersey had he never been given the kicking duties. Was his only downfall when he played 10

• 63.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@Stormtrooper-61: Watch on Saturday and tell me afterwards if theres a better available wing in SA

• 64.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Bok fan-62: And even then his kicking wasn’t bad. I agree he could have done a top job for us at 10 but at least now we have 10 options and he can concentrate one scrumhalf. For me his distribution is good, he has a good boot and is a running threat himself. The big worry for me regarding his game is his defence….we is a pretty weak defender.

• 65.Dusky: Reply to this comment

So deurmekaar soos kots in a tuimeldroer…..how did this oke win a single super rugby title ? Is he going to overhaul the team each time a performance doesn’t meet his standards ? So expect no continuity at all.

Heyneke – jy gaan ‘n paar wedstryde verloor ****…..

I think Meyer will end up being a worse coach than Harry Viljoen.

• 66.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-65: Yep. He’s playing an outdated style of rugby and if the players can’t regress 15 years then they’re not good enough. Pretty convenient, cos he’ll never have to take the blame for anything, it’ll always be the players who couldn’t execute his master plan

• 67.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-66: If he is going to change his team every game, he will end up with an almighty mess. Also, how cheap will the Bok jersey become again ? How many Springboks had he already made ?

I tell you this guy has made such clueless moves, I think he won Super rugby titles because he was hell lucky to have Fourie Du Preez, Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, Danie Rossouw etc. all reach maturity at the same time.

Fluke….absolute fluke.

But notice, he swaps around players from other unions at will but his blue eyed boys like Morne Steyn stay put. The biggest problem on the team keeps his jersey but guys that have done essentially nothing wrong have to move.

Good luck Heyneke. Early prediction – you wont be around for the next world cup. South Africa will take it up the naught from Australia and New Zealand home and away big time.

• 68.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Stormtrooper-61: the interesting bit is that of all the top try scorers in super rugby shipperley will be the only one starting this week if mvovo gets dropped for hougaard.

the all blacks starting wings are also nowhere to be found :roll: hhmm

Most Tries
    1. Andre Taylor (Hurricanes) 10
    1. Bjorn Basson (Bulls) 10
    3. Julian Savea (Hurricanes) 9
    3. Sona Taumalolo (Chiefs) 9
    5. Dom Shipperley (Reds) 8
    5. Gio Aplon (Stormers) 8
    5. Henry Speight (Brumbies) 8
    5. Lwazi Mvovo (Sharks) 8
    5. Zac Guildford (Crusaders) 8
    10. Aseli Tikoirotuma (Chiefs) 7
    10. Conrad Smith (Hurricanes) 7
    10. Cooper Vuna (Rebels) 7
    10. TJ Perenara (Hurricanes) 7
    10. Willie Le Roux (Cheetahs) 7
    15. Adam Thomson (Highlanders) 6
    15. JP Pietersen (Sharks) 6
    15. Keegan Daniel (Sharks) 6
    15. Lelia Masaga (Chiefs) 6

• 69.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-68: I would like to see a back three of Hougaard, Habana and JP Pietersen when they are all fit. With Pietersen at 15.

• 70.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-68: Meyer is clearly clueless. Unfortunately because I was a strong punter for him to be Bok coach. But his early moves have shown signs of absolute idiocy. Usually it takes a bit of time for the coach to go mad, but Meyer has lost it just a few games in.

But rugby is very fickle. Louis Fouche gets player of the month. He played a good game against the Sharks, but did you see how shocking he was at Newlands this weekend ? Next thing you know he will be on a plane down under.

Grasping at straws these guys.

• 71.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-64: Ja def not his strength. Think he deserves a decent run and will have to wait and see. Looked good against Eng, should have started in the 3rd test or come on a lot earlier

• 72.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-69: funny how it was said that bryan is back to his best yet he features nowhere in the try-scoring stakes…back to his best what exactly? :???:

his best was scoring the same number of tries as lomu in a world cup, his best was scoring plenty of tries for the blue bulls, so back to what really?

• 73.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-69:Agreed JPP is the answer at 15

• 74.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-72: Also going to be interesting to see if he still shoots off his line against Aus and ABs as they will have a try fest there again as per the last 2or 3 tri-nations

• 75.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-70: but Fouche knows what Meyer is looking for! Lambie & Jantjies stand flat and run at the gain line – who told then that? that’s why both of then have spent COMPLETE games collecting splinters on the bench!

• 76.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-72: For me it is not only about try scoring, it’s his defence, not coming out of the line at the wrong time, lookign for work, making himself avaiable as a runner coming off his wing at the right time Etc. He may not be the force he once was but he is still our best option in terms of what we have available.

• 77.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-59: The best rugby we played during the England series was in the first half of the second test. Hougaard was central to this because he got extremely quick ball from the breakdown. The heavies were allowed to run at an unsettled defense and as a result made meters every time. Watch the game again. As soon as Pienaar came on, our momentum slowed. Not only this, but Hougaard has been fantastic in both games against the Argies (especially the 2nd test where he delivered quick service even with his pack struggling at the breakdown). Pienaar when he came had a poor game and most notably got shrugged off easily by his opposite number.

@Bok fan-62: Completely agree with you. He is a great flyhalf as long as he is not tasked with kicking for posts. I just don’t think he is a great scrumhalf. His distribution is not as quick as other scrumhalves.

• 78.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-76: ok, i wish we were like the kiwis who jettison their has-beens rokocoko, sivivatu and bite the bullet.

• 79.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-77: We must have been watching different games, in my eyes when Pienaar came on against England we started to gain momentum, although in most cases he only came on for 10 mins or so. Against Argentina Hougaard has been terrible at 9….not terrible as a player but terrible at 9. I understand he got kak ball from the forwards but his kicking was very poor and when we did get any kind of decent ball his service was a little slow with that step of his. His best moments against Argentina were during broken play and he got pill with some space as if he was on the wing but in the confines of 9 he wasn’t flash at all. For me he is a kak 9 but a very, very good wing.

• 80.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-78: Problem is transie their has beens are better than our current’s….

• 81.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

So the workday being done some time to spend a few moments to laugh at these moronic dalmations of rugby(very fragile white dog with a few black spots) again.

Do the conservative experts ever take the historical performances of a player into consideration?
    Does ‘maljan’ Meyer not know how the fragile Pienaar under-performs in Australia? I will just remind him of a few short weeks where fraggie Pienie truly collapsed in just 2 games(1 in the sun and the other in the rain) in about 3/4 weeks against the Waratahs(and you all know that Genius Genia is not their scrum-half) one game being a Super14 semi-final?
    The Wallabies must be thinking what they have done to be so well rewarded with the match-up of Genius Genia against Fraggie Pienaar.

• 82.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-81: What is your expert opinion then? Who should play nine this weekend?

• 83.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

One itchybitchy black spot on a dalmation whispering All Black skills(seemingly) again while shouting Boks like a demented dalmation chasing its tail again?

• 84.nama1: Reply to this comment

@groen-54:
    Well, that’s not much of a problem if the opposition know what we are going to do. As long as we execute it accurately and with speed, they won’t be able to stop us.

So says Heyneke Meyer apparently.

@Stormtrooper-61:
    Gunther would like that. Hougaard at FB that is. :lol:

True. What did he do to deserve starting at wing?

• 85.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-82:

Should I care when I do not get the bucks to solve that problem?

To indicate my concern how about Sid Going, the one who was denied and thus had his humanity insulted by those with names like Meyer?

• 86.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-85: Eerrr isn’t it the point of a rugby blog to have an opinion? If you do not have one why slate others who do?

• 87.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-83:
    So, what do you make of the Proteas beating the Poms so comprehensively in the tests.

Just like I said they would…. while the Poms were still playing the WI.

• 88.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-86:

Are you mentally deficient(now that is a slate)? I expressed a few opinions there and Sid Going is just one of them.

• 89.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-88: No poopy pants (now that is a slate…or I could go with “I know you are but what am I”), you made a point about Ruan Pienaar not being the right choice and when asked what you preference was as opposed to Pienaar used an irrelevant example involving a player from a bye gone era. mentally deficient…pfffft.

• 90.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-75: I tell you I didn’t expect Meyer to make a complete hash of things so soon in his tenure. Really.

I dont like the fact that he shouts over the radio like a raving, panic stricken lunatic when things aren’t going his way. That is not the way a coach of a two time world champion team is meant to behave.

Secondly, it is unfortunately already abundantly clear that he will chop and change his team every time something happens that he does not like. If that means bringing in 5 new Springboks – he will do it. Anyone playing 10 good minutes in a Currie Cup match against whichever opposition is good enough to be a Bok and replace someone who had a bad game against the All Blacks……

Even Rudolph Straueli was more concerned about continuity than it seems Meyer is.

Its ok – he wont last until the next world cup. Once South Africa hits Nr 7 in the world rankings, he will be gone.

• 91.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@nama1-87:

You sound much like Riaan Cruywagens news picks.

Did you not read my derisory post about 48 hrs. ODI #1 rank?
    Rankings are hard to achieve and worse to hold on to when sons of black Africa are not picked(Raven’s Philander) or do not achieve 100% of the time(Amla)?

Must you wait 2 months, 2 years or dare I say it 20 years for the next #1 ranking in ODIs again?

• 92.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-91: To learn to speak like Yoda, did you to Star Wars school go ?

• 93.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-89:

Why are you so mucky and what are you doing in/with your very limited “poopy pants”(how else would you know that)?

Does the reference to GENIUS Genia not say anything to you? Run off now before your legs are taken off you.

• 94.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-79: Opinions are opinions, but here are the facts. During the first half of the 2nd England test, Hougaard played scrumhalf. During this time, we racked up over 20 points. When Ruan Pienaar came on, England made a come back and the SPringboks failed to score any further tries. Heyneke Meyer and many of the players have described the first half of that 2nd test as the best rugby they have played all year.

During both Argies games Hougaard’s stats have been better than Ruan Pienaar’s in terms of speed to breakdown (significantly so in this aspect) and in terms of missed tackles. (please check rucking good stats). Hougaard’s contribution’s in the 2nd Argentian test included, among other things, a kick from our within own try line which took play to half way. Bob Skinstad who was commentating at the time described this kick as “absolutely fantastic”. He made no kicks out on the full and no kicks which were gathered by opposition before the bounce. These are the facts. Please go and watch the game again to verfiy these facts. The full game is on Youtube. Type “Rugby Championship round 2″

I know that Ryan Vrede writes many articles slating Hougaard, but we must also realise that Ryan Vrede knows close to nothing about rugby, so it is always best practice to take his articles with a pinch of salt.

• 95.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-92:

Are you trying to speak kitchen zulu as that makes no sense(school go)?

• 96.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-95: Who makes no sense – is you Yoda….

• 97.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-91:
    I did.

I guess the primary objective was to come back home as the no. 1 ranked test team in the world. It was just the other day (before the Eng tour) that we lost an ODI tournament in Zim when the host nation beat us in the final. The heavens did not fall down then and I’m sure it won’t fall down now.

Now tell me about the tests. What do you make of the Proteas beating the Poms so easily and comprehensively in the series?

• 98.gunther: Reply to this comment

Khakibollocks!

• 99.numba4lock: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell-51: that was the ideal moment yes.

its not that i dont rate goosen (he is the golden boy of SA rugby now, but i wont believe the hype just yet) but jantjies has abit more all round ability at this point and his less likely to go down injured in contact

even lambie at flyhalf would get my approval

now jantjies isnt even in the side at the moment, not cool

• 100.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Life is too short to have to tolerate extratesticular. **** off, Neilanate. Be gone.

• 101.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@nama1-97:

The main reason why the proteas did not win the last 2 odi’s was because the best cricketer in the history of SA’s cricket (not batsman but player) did not play. That is Mr Kallis of course.

ps.. I have to admit that the best batsman in the history of RBHS also contributed quite a bit towards England’s victories – I know Gary also attended that school :) The fact that he is not available for the last game due to the hand injury will give the Proteas a better chance.

• 102.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-101:
    True. Kallis was sorely missed.

Trott is indispensable in the English setup at the moment.

But, whatever the outcome in the last match, England will stay at no. 1 in ODI’s till January, I think. Gary seems to be working towards a combination that could win the CWC in 2015 so I’m not bothered too much about us not being no.1 for now. To tell you the truth, I did not even know that the no. 1 spot was up for grabs in this series.

Natalie busy winning gold for SA at the moment.

You go girl.

• 103.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-14: @Transformation-17: Hilarious, thanks for that. Even poor Ryan probably cringes when he reads those articles now :lol:

• 104.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

This is the biggest chickenshit cop out capitulation arsewipe cringing move I ever seen.. I hope Aussie wipe this f’ng hopeless coach and his chicken arsed coward capitulation right off the richter scale lie another 49-0 or worse.. and maybe this moron hangs his head in shame and does himself and the Boks a favor and chucks the job up before he fck’s up any further than he has already..

Never seen such a chicken with no idea about rugby tenacity or rugby strategic ability and now he starting to second guess his own doubts.. starting to make decisions based on panic knee jerk reactions..

BIG fckup this and its only going to bring more tears…

F’ng cowards NEVER win they ALWAYS lose

• 105.gunther: Reply to this comment

A four year plan until the WC?

Where have I heard that before?

• 106.gunther: Reply to this comment

Play him at 15 Oom Heyneke.

• 107.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Waar’s ou extraball nou

• 108.nama1: Reply to this comment

Remember Gary saying after the loss to Zim: If I wanted to win the tournament, I would’ve gone there with different players.

An indication that he is working towards a specific goal. The CWC in 2015 is my own interpretation of his goal. Maybe his is something totally different.

• 109.nama1: Reply to this comment

Play Hougie off the bench if you don’t want him as your starter 9. He went into the squad as 1st choice SH.

That’s where he should play or from the bench. Finnish and klaar.

• 110.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

where are all these Heyneke Meyer sing song singers disappeared to..

This schmuck is becoming an incredible embarrassment and they all thought PdV was bad.. this moron is downright bewildered beyond any semblance of rationality .. he going down I fear and all his singalong cheerleaders are absent without leave while the Bismark is busy sinking.

• 111.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Hougaard must play at NINE up front .. nowhere else

Play Pienaar and you going DOWN Mnr.. this straw gonna break your already very fragile back.. klaar kaput VREK.!!!

• 112.cab: Reply to this comment

Janee u could see this team unfolding from a million miles away – the worst thing is they should have been brave in Perth, which is their best chance of an away win and tgen could have built on that – u can see what team is – it’s going to be wrong by about 7 selections – beast strauss jannie etsbeth kruger Coetzee potgieter vermeulen piennar morne frans jdv hougaard kichner – dunno what Ozzie team is like but that bok team could get smacked – totally wrong we should beat this oz team they r not strong – even with the badly selected squad on tour he’s still get bok xv wrong

• 113.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Take it easy, Skop. Hougaard is potentially a great scrumhalf, but he’s also a great wing. Meyer thinks scrumhalves have to play like FdP, so for him Hougaard is better off on the wing – that’s not a train smash. The only other change mentioned is that Francois Louw might come into the side – that should please you. So what’s the problem?

• 114.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

The other thing to bear in mind is that the Bok team hasn’t been announced yet. Remember that the genius bloggers on this website assured us that Butch James would be PDV’s flyhalf at the RWC – and that didn’t happen. For all we know, Hougaard may remain at 9.

• 115.shooter: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-110: Who picks the people that picks the coaches…. it seems not you.
    Let the guy be. This is not such a wrong move. I mean playing RP at 9. The guy has serious class. Maybe Meyer sees this and thinks he can bring out the best in him – consistently.

Hougaard could be a devastating wing. Better than Mvovo or Habana currently yes. Maybe not fully proven… Picking a gameplan for players is risky, because when the player becomes injured or unavailable the thing doesn’t work out. if they’re so good enough, they’ll be able to do what he wants, with some flair added.

And one is not neccesarily a singsonger if you do not slag off the Bok coach, any Bok coach all the time, for that matter.

The going is tough. What can you do.

• 116.shooter: Reply to this comment

@nama1-109: why finish and klaar. who is eng now?

• 117.shooter: Reply to this comment

@gunther-106: why not.

• 118.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-111: Apparently Andries Bekker is next up to get the boot. Although I dont say it as colorfully as you, I agree with your sentiment in general.

I am finding it hard to believe that this is the man that brought the Bulls back from their mid to late 90s obscurity. The Bulls rebuilt through perseverance and continuity and what is happening in the Boks at the moment is an antithesis of that.

To me it seems Meyer is simply playing ‘Hungry Hippos’ – replacing players after each game if they dont live up to his fantasy. Soon the entire country will have Springbok jerseys. Say what you will about Jake White – at least around his time, we actually brought some semblance of pride back to the Springbok brand and he stuck with players despite them having a few ups and downs. The jersey actually became worth something again.

Did you know, Meyer has already created 11 new Springboks since he started as coach ? ELEVEN ! I know some of these guys are yet to be capped, and some were good choices but wow…..talk about cheapening up the jersey.

Craig Burden (ludicrous), Pat Cilliers (ludicrous), Marcell Coetzee (little soon, but ok), Eben Etzebeth (good call), Johan Goosen (little soon in my opinion – hope he doesnt make another Gaffie Du Toir here), Dean Greyling (ok’ish), Juandre Kruger (good call), Tiaan Liebenberg (no other options), Jacques Potgieter (average player), Jano Vermaak (ludicrous), Duanne Vermeulen (ok, but Duanne looked very rusty in his first game back for WP)

ELEVEN new Springboks……

Nee wat ou Heyneke…..your days are numbered buddy. You drove a go-kart very well but when you were put behind the wheel of a F1 car….you have no clue….not the foggiest idea. Sorry because I actually really liked you and thought you would make a brilliant coach.

• 119.Greenies: Reply to this comment

Hougard is OK, Pinaar has never been given the oppotunity thanks to our last coach giving him God status one week, then chopping off his apendeges the next week and ******** his international career up. Typical Dumb Bok coaches.
    Thats something a coach should never do or say about their players.
    So now he has a chance, has he gotten over how the last coach treatment, and my Sharks team treated him poorly too?So one wonders why he doesnt pull the middle finger to SA rugby and say screw you wankers. If I was in his shoes I might just do that. Depends on what happens over the next yr. Pinaar’s downfall is mostly his passing. He has made some really poor passes missing players completely and finding the dirt, but then again, his rugby brain is brillant in comparision to Hougie and perhaps these poor passes is to let the backline know where they should be intercepting it…! lol
    Hougie’s tactical kicking is surely the reason for the change and its time for experimentation in suck a weak Bok team, hell why not I say. This is much like a B- team anyway with regards to the amaising player retirement and all other injuries at the moment. Pinaar is game aware, tackles a bit high too often- a problem with nearly all our Boks at the moment so ,not out of key.
    If he sharpens up his passing he could be world class. But then again, at this stage he should have done so already.
    At the end of the day, not much of a loss when replacing Hougie, if non at all.
    I’d rather have Hougie on the wing than Habanana, who should have been dropped 2yrs ago.
    Jeez, give me the bok coaching job, I’d have Margret Thatches “Iron Balls”…
    and do things how they should be done…lol
    Pinaar hopefully you grab this oppo with two hands boy! Gd Luck

• 120.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@shooter-116: Playing Hougaard at 11 brings another kicking dimension to our backline so that is all I can imagine Heyneke must be thinking.

Ruan Pienaar ? Confidence ******. When he loses it – he loses it big time. If he is on song – he is excellent. My feeling is that rugby as competitive as test matches vs. Australia and New Zealand are always going to freak Pienaar out.

I know there aren’t a lot of options and of all the options, probably Pienaar and Hougaard are the best.

• 121.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Greenies-119: The coach that r@ped Pienaar and destroyed his spirit was Pieter De Villiers.

Ruan Pienaar wasn’t even the Sharks 3rd choice goal kicker at the time yet De Villiers insisted on Pienaar performing those duties in a test vs. the British Lions at Loftus where the entire crowd were just looking for a reason to get him off and Morne’tjie on.

And before anyone starts about how Pienaar wore about every number on his back for the Sharks – that is entirely inaccurate. It was Jake White who first played Pienaar at flyhalf, fullback and even wing. After that, yes – the Sharks used him when there were no other options to fill in at 10.

• 122.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-120: What we not allowed to say

m o n k e y ? Serious ? How feeble.

• 123.hanneslom: Reply to this comment

I am guessing what has caused HM to delay this switch as well is that he does not have 100% confidence in Pienaar as a starter. Each time when given the 9 jersey he has an average game, as if the pressure to constantly deliver is too much. If Pienaar was consistent enough in HM’s mind this switch would have been made ages ago.

• 124.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

I have to say that HM’s selection and game plan does not show an appreciation for the philosophy of rugby. It requires ALL types – not just big heavy ball carriers. Some players need to be big and difficult to stop (8th man, blindsiders, locks). Some need to have speed. Some need certain other skills like kicking. But some need speed AND size/strength – this speed and size combo is a critical feature of an opensider. He needs to attend rucks FIRST. Not a half second later. e also needs to be big enough to rip opposing players hands off the ball, or smash the oppsoiong player off.

It truly is a game for all size and speeds, and HM’s gameplan just doesn’t seem to get this…

• 125.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@SjamBok-124:

When in doubt go big? Don’t agree but JW did it, PDivvie did it and now the Meyer is doing it. Difference is that the Meyer is new, had little time and may welll improve on this simple formula given time. It is not all doom and gloom…

• 126.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Within the context of Meyer’s gameplan this selection would make sense.

If it happens you’d have to think it’s the last opportunity for Pienaar to take the shirt on a more permanent basis.

• 127.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Not just the context of the gameplan BH, Hougaard lost all confidence at #9 and had to make room for the next person. You are right about Pienaar though, he has not shined that much in a Bok jumper with teh opportunities he had to date.

• 128.jacquesknotter: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-104: Wow now I see a man that has zilch for Rugby brains.and I am sure never really represented any decent level of Rugby in his life as your comments are as low down as probably your life is as well .Meyer is doing the best with what he has available.And make your comments after the game .And if you think that you are that good ,start coaching and refereeing and you may have a chance of improve South African Rugby .But take a lesson from the other commentators like Dusky,Shambok and shooter.They make plausible comments.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.