Duane set for Perth debut
5 Sep 2012
Duane Vermeulen will start at No 8 when the Springboks tackle the Wallabies this Saturday.
Bok coach Heyneke Meyer has brought two new loose forwards into the match 22 following last week’s poor showing against Argentina. Vermeulen will start at No 8 while Francois Louw will be utilised from the bench. Until recently, Vermeulen was playing for Western Province and Louw for English club Bath.
Vermeulen, who has been one of the most consistent performers in the past three seasons of Super Rugby, will finally get his chance at the highest level. The robust Stormer will add some grunt to a loose trio that suddenly looks very intimidating.
‘We’ve decided to put Duane straight into the starting team because he is a classic No 8, a position we’ve lacked in since Pierre Spies got injured and Ryan Kankowski moved to Japan,’ said Meyer.
‘I’ve always admired the way Duane plays rugby and he’s fitted in very well the past week. He would’ve been a Springbok years ago if it had not been for injuries and it’s great to finally see him selected.
‘And by including Francois on the bench, we have a specialist opensider, but also a versatile loose forward that brings a bit more balance to our back row mix.’
While Marcell Coetzee is not an out-and-out openside he will be expected to outplay Australia’s Michael Hooper at the breakdown. The Boks need to produce an improved collective showing in this area after last week’s shocker in Mendoza. Coetzee will need to step up in what should be a brutally physical first half, and Louw will be asked to play a different kind of game in the second when it is not as tight.
Other changes to the pack see Andries Bekker dropped completely and Juandre Kruger introduced as the starting No 5. Bekker played his worst game for the Boks last week, and Kruger should see this as an opportunity to make the position his own.
‘At lock we’ve decided to go for Juandré as he plays more to the ball. Juandré and Eben played well as a combination in the June Tests against England.’
As expected, Meyer has favoured Ruan Pienaar at No 9 and moved Francois Hougaard from scrumhalf to wing. The backline reshuffle sees Lwazi Mvovo moving to the bench.
It’s another change in selection that should become permanent if things go well in Perth. Meyer has said that it’s a ‘horse-for-courses’ pick, but if the Bok pack fires and Pienaar has a blinder, he must be considered as a long-term solution at No 9.
Of course, if Hougaard, playing on wing, gets the ball on the front foot and produces the rugby we know he can, it will serve as further evidence that he is better suited to a back-three role.
Johan Goosen is another new face in the 22, and will earn his first cap if he gets a run in the second half.
Goosen recently recovered from a serious shoulder injury, an injury that prevented him from making his debut in the Test series against England. He represents the future of South African rugby and through his Super Rugby offerings has shown that he’s ready to make the step up.
The pressure is on Morné Steyn, not only to improve on his inconsistent performances of 2012 and guide South Africa to victory, but also to keep Goosen at arm’s length.
Meyer has already admitted that Goosen is the kind of player he wants in that No 10 position. Apart from having all the necessary kicking skills to be a success under today’s modern laws, Goosen also boasts an impressive attacking game. It’s a complete skill set that could eventually allow the Boks to play a more balanced game.
‘In my mind he can become one of the great flyhalves in world rugby. I’ve been very impressed with his work ethic and attitude since he joined the squad on Thursday in Johannesburg and we will keep on managing him carefully over the next few weeks.’
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Pat Cilliers, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Francois Louw, 20 Johan Goosen, 21 Pat Lambie, 22 Lwazi Mvovo.

694 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] Show All
5 Sep 2012, 21:32 pm
Skop
Fourie is in the form of his life but to rank him up there with proven international performers like Hore and du Plessis..no ways man
5 Sep 2012, 21:38 pm
Fourie is top caliber international class HOOKER .. ready to be chucked straight into the deep end..
but the ‘kenners’ around the fireplace reckon he is not…
You got to be able to recognize class or at least CHARACTER when you are estimating a player’s potential.
Deon Fourie will EAT up an international level portfolio where others like Strauss and Liebenberg and Burden and Gary Botha are never going to amount to anywhere near the level of fire and brimstone this little pack of mongrel dynamite would..
Deon Fourie is in same class as Bismark perhaps better in the loose.. and able to hold his own in the tight…
Like Schalk Britz his position is HOOKER… NOT flank or 8th man or wing or center or chief cook bottle washer like some other overrated ball carriers who play first receiver when all they do there is stuff up the works.
5 Sep 2012, 21:40 pm
@grant10-643:
Cheers, enjoy!
@victoriabok-645:
I also believe he has a real future as a number 6 and have no idea why he is reluctant to consider a permant switch to that position. Besides the bad lineout throwing he appears to be a bit “light” as a scummaging hooker as well- even the young and relatively small Scarra Ntubeni seems better in the scrums
@Rage-649:
Very cool place- specially the point breaks – i spent many very happy days there.
5 Sep 2012, 21:46 pm
Schalk Britz not a patch on Deon Fourie.. and I reckon one on one face off.. Fourie shows Bismark a couple moves he could learn in the ring…
Fourie, Brussow, Bismark, Etzebeth, Elstadt, Vermeulen, Alberts, Hougaard, Kolisi, De Jongh, Aplon, Ebersohn, PSdT, Serfontein, Arno Botha and hopefully Goosen
these the type players you build a team around.. players with HEART and fearlessness and mongrel who put their hearts FIRST and their bodies a distant 3rd…
Instead the coach wanna surround himself with Spies and Potgieter and Kirchner and Steyn and Pienaar and Jannie Dup and Strauss all the mediocrities singing in unison in the coaches chorus.
5 Sep 2012, 21:47 pm
@katman-647:
I think he is right, Katman. Fourie is great.
5 Sep 2012, 21:52 pm
@KeurboomPark-655: He’s okay, but nowhere near Schalk Brits.
But out of sight, out of mind, I guess. Brits is a once-in-a-generation type of player.
Don’t listen to Skoppie though. What he knows about heart and mongrel and tricks of the ring couldn’t fill a post-it note. He’s a phoney and he knows it. Groot bek oppie innernet and not much more.
5 Sep 2012, 21:56 pm
@katman-656:
I am staying out of the personal stuff. Skop has original ideas, and I respek him.
You are right about Schalk Brits. A rugby geniuz.
5 Sep 2012, 21:59 pm
Fourie is way ahead of Britz in every facet of tough mentality and fire fighter in the trenches … way ahead..
Britz was good and Jake was a moron overlooking him for far less gifted players.. But Fourie is better than Britz because Fourie will mix it right in the fire of the belly of the beast where Britz wanna dance around the fringes in the back line and look good…
This little ponce face fuckwit katman is just one little pompous fucknosed dickiehead who thinks the sun oozes out his non evolved boertjie broertjie arsehole because he’s tweetalig and supposedly ‘bright’
little dunce dunno the first thing about what comprises brightness from dull.. he’s just a little pompous fuckwit that needs to get sat on his over aggrandized pompous arse and read the riot act about who’s who and whats what.
5 Sep 2012, 22:02 pm
@KeurboomPark-657: katman’s a ****… who thinks he’s clever.. fact is he’s a little piece of over aggrandized trash who knows absolutely fckall.. yet thinks he knows a whole lot more than he actually does…..
Fourie will eat Britz for after dinner mints.. something I know that Katman don’t…
5 Sep 2012, 22:06 pm
@fitz1ella-658: Not gonna happen. Not by you, anyway. Not by some fake old moegoe with anger issues and delusions of grandeur.
If you’re so rugby smart, Skoppie, someone would have roped your infinite wisdom in long ago. You would have been a tradable commodity on the rugby market. You wouldn’t be a sad old opinionated geezer on an online rugby forum.
Sure have an opinion, like anyone else here. But this storming into a thread every night with these ridiculously overstated “truths” that everyone else in the world, including just about every coach an analyst, is too thick to see… well, that’s just plain stupid. And even fake, arrogant old you should be able to recognise this.
5 Sep 2012, 22:11 pm
@fitz1ella-658:
Skoppy, as long as Fourie keeps on missing his jumpers in the lineouts he will NOT even be considered as a test player. Do you realise how many try scoring opportunities from 5 meter lineouts the Stormers/WP have lost because of his wayward throwing. I think he suffers from stage fright when throwing into vital lineouts.
He even once threw the ball straight into the hands of the Highlanders flyhalf during a lineout from 5 meters out. It was the most shocking throw in I have ever seen in my life- and it even scared the **** out of the flyjalf who was not expecting it and just managed to get his hands up in time to protect his face.
Otherwise he is brilliant- one of my favourite players- gutsty as you said and punches far above his weight. but fark man, his lineout throws are attrocious.
5 Sep 2012, 22:11 pm
@katman-660: yeah they should have roped my rugby genius in long ago.. way more insight than dumbfck klutzes such as grandiose fuckwits the likes of you little pompous piece of fuckwit trash.. and your arme mesmerized coach who going round the rosemary bush the long way round…
You the kind of little over aggrandizedcunt that needs to get sat down smartly and your pompous little fucked up head fixed for you one time.. just say the word little pompous piece of garbage trash .. I fix your fucked up little over aggrandized boertjie head so smart you be thanking me profusely till your dying day…
5 Sep 2012, 22:16 pm
@Robzim-661: Throwing in the line out is a trick you learn.. simple little trick that can be taught.. 1.. 2.. 3.. and bob’s your aunty
mongrel and tenacity and heart and courage and attitude and CHARACTER you CANNOT learn..
Fourie is 10000 times the player that Strauss or Liebenberg or Burden will ever be.. and he’s ten times the potential player that Schalk Britz was or is.
2nd only to Bismark in SA with regards to what is required at the coal face of the inferno.. Britz don’t come near Fourie for sheer tenacity and grizzly guts in the trenches.. Britz is a loose playing hooker out in the fancy pansy open field.. Fourie is right in the thick of the action all 80 minutes long and reveling in it.
5 Sep 2012, 22:18 pm
@fitz1ella-662: All I hear is blah blah blah. Do you ever to to some kind of point, old poepol? Or is it always the same old same old? Perhaps you could spend the weekend researching some new adjectives, because you’ve well and truly worn yours out.
The irony is that you probably sit in the lower 20% when it comes to real, practical rugby insight here on keo. But you reckon you’re untouchable at the very top. Would have been comical if it weren’ so fcken sad.
5 Sep 2012, 22:19 pm
@fitz1ella-663: If it’s so simple, you silly twat, then why hasn’t he learnt it in the god knows how many years that he’s played top-flight rugby at hooker?
Dink voor jy tik, jou onnosele aap. Dink.
5 Sep 2012, 22:33 pm
@katman-664: listen punkface.. You the little sniveling runtcunt come looking for a smack to your over zealous pompousness… keep at it.. you doing just fine…
I put very simple clear as day realities out on the blogosphere for eg.. Deon Fourie is Bok material second to none and is overlooked by morons the likes of you and quite a few others.. including the national coach … then you little pompous prick come out with your pompous little cleverdick fantasies that Schalk Britz is all the beeswax and Fourie ain’t a patch on your fancy footwork little razzmatazz darling …well I’m telling you it is QUITE the other way around
Fourie is the be all business they should be keeping not discarding.. and Britz is OLD hat show pony that should have been a Bok 6 years ago.. not now….
5 Sep 2012, 22:37 pm
@Fitz1ella fourie is good and naturally talanted but, he’s got to master the basics first. Don’t get me wrong fourie is a real star in the Making… A classical hard man with guts like all hookers should be.
5 Sep 2012, 22:38 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-456:
” kiwi coaches havn’t exactly turned international rugby on its head though have they?
kirwan poor
gatland poor to mediocre
henry poor
mitchell poor to pathetic
deans mediocre ‘to almost out of a job’ ”
Bakkies, if all those coaches are poor, why is it that so many Kiwi coaches get approached to coach overseas teams?
We know you hate NZ, stop- saying you don’t, it is a huge lie.
Whats the bet if Henry ( Poor Coach ) approached South African rugby, he would be taken to coach South African teams. You hatred has so clouded your judgment. Get over it .
5 Sep 2012, 22:53 pm
@Gazelle-667: The FIRST thing you look at if you a decent coach is the CORE of what makes the player who he is and where his potential can develop and evolve to.. and that is the stuff you CANNOT teach or coach..it is that unseen unbridled stuff that makes a player or a person more than the average and that is called Courage, Heart and Character…
those are the cornerstone bricks you build your team around..
Not all the fancy footwork talents and techniques but the hard as nails in depth character and guts that makes a player stand out above his peers..
And Deon Fourie has got that quality in spades.. and if the coaches here are THAT dumb that they cannot recognize it then let them LOSE such caliber of quality while they surround themselves in absolute mediocrity by comparison..
There are players with that quality that the coaches stuff around and select poorly.. imagine a Christian Cullen in SA.. he might never have been discovered here.. because we look for the WRONG aspects when assessing players instead of what is the fundamental core of what makes a player more than what the average is.
First look at the inherent character and potential of the player if you recognize that fire and drive like Fourie has in bucket loads.. then you harness it and USE it.. don’t LOSE it, for chrissake. !!
5 Sep 2012, 22:54 pm
Not going to look back through all the posts but can someone tell me if the Poop Volcano eventually erupted today? It’s been coming for our little kiwi friend……..I’m sure another enforced absence at the insane asylum (no internet there) is in the offing……
5 Sep 2012, 22:55 pm
@Hurricane-668:
Bakkies must have been taking the piss with that post.
I sincerly hope.
5 Sep 2012, 22:56 pm
is this i love Bakkies mofo trying to be the SA equivalent of Pooper? He’s getting a bit boring now.
5 Sep 2012, 23:06 pm
@fitz1ella-669: The only reason Fourie is so prominent at the moment is because he is being played in the loosies. As an outright hooker, where he has to be play a tight game, he is definitely not better than Bismarck, neither Burden. Fourie and Burden are better than the two hookers in the test 22.
5 Sep 2012, 23:07 pm
@Robzim-671:
No he actually believes that Kiwi coaches have not done much in the international scene.
I dont think Henry was ever a poor coach. actually any of those coaches are good coaches. No doubt they would probably struggle in the South African setup as most do but does not take away that they are good coaches.
5 Sep 2012, 23:11 pm
@Hurricane-674: did pooper volcano eventually blow today? where is he, he normally lives on here?
5 Sep 2012, 23:38 pm
@Humphrey-675:
Poppa comes on, makes sure all you guys are ok and if any misbehave he is here to help. Wont find anyone on here that cares for you guys as much as Poppa
6 Sep 2012, 00:41 am
Have to agree with some of the posters here.Meyer is setting up DV for a massive fall here.When that happens ,all the attention will be on DV instead of another expected kak performance from MS.
6 Sep 2012, 04:07 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-61:
“race based income inequality is a fact of life in nz society as a whole, you would be a fool to think the brown brothers you tout so much in the ab’s are payed as much overall as their white brothers in the team.”
Where do you come up with this stuff Houston? Jonah in his time earned more than his team mates from his Nzru contract and I would expect Dan Carter to be the highest paid in the Abs now, obviously there is more to it than the colour of your skin when the Ab player/ agent and the Nzru try to negotiate a contract.
6 Sep 2012, 04:16 am
Geez. I just take a break for a boskak and I come back to befukte rumble..?
6 Sep 2012, 05:46 am
@Te Rangatira-678:
Te, Houston says a lot without facts, and hopes no one actually hits him up about his comments.
I know for a fact that Tana was paid very well.
Skin colour in NZ has nothing to do with what you get paid. Bakkies is just showing his up bringing, not his fault. But needs to wind his head in especially when talking about another country.
6 Sep 2012, 08:00 am
@Te Rangatira-678:
tr, i hate to say it but its probably true. jonah would have been the statistical anomaly which when averaged out would still show an income disparity between white and brown ab players historically.
dan carter again being an exceptional player in a public relations type position would eran a good salary, but again when averaged out i would hazard it is still less than white players have received. besides, carter hardly qualifies as brown.
my point was that considering the facts of race based income inequality in nz, which persists to the present, i would expect this to be reflected within nz rugby and quite probably all the way up to the ab’s.
and this point was only made in response to china taking digs at sa and its refusing to allow ‘brown brothers’ (as he says) to play in sa. he uses this and biased refs as the blame for the boks dominance of the ab’s.
it was a road he went down and i too do like go a ride every so often (we’re both chops).
@Hurricane-680:
you think whatever you like about it hurri,
its still true. not looking for a fight about it, but it is.
race based income inequality is a fact of life in nz as much as it is in many other parts of the world.
6 Sep 2012, 08:02 am
and i too do like go a ride every so often = and i too do like to go a ride every so often
6 Sep 2012, 08:14 am
and i too do like to go for a ride every so often
6 Sep 2012, 08:31 am
@Hurricane-668: What a load of tripe….Henry, Gatland, Deans, Smith, possibly Mitchell…..NZ must have the best coaches in the world. I wish it weren’t so but it’s the truth.
6 Sep 2012, 08:35 am
@Finfan-673: I am not so sure, in Super rugby/currie cup the smaller mobile hookers really stand out but throw Burden/Fourie into test rugby where everything is tighter and collisions are everything as opposed to looser play I would be happpier with Strauss/Liebenberg in my test team. Both really good players but not Bok quality.
6 Sep 2012, 09:19 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-681:
Hi Houston…..how you been doing? I think you are confused. You go on about the “facts of raced based income inequality in Nz” when I think you mean the difference in average median income between say Maori and European Nzer and Maori avg income would be lower for sure because more are unemployed and work in lower paying occupations, fact.It certainly doesn’t mean a Maori GP will earn less than a Pakeha GP because of his/her ethnicity, or a Maori who may become an Ab will earn less than a Pakeha who also becomes an Ab in the same position because of skin colour or historical stereotypes.
Oh in my post #678 Carter was my white example and Jonah my brown Thankyou my friend.
6 Sep 2012, 09:27 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-456: This is hilarious as back in January and after last years currie cup final everyone wanted a kiwi coach ? How cruel are the rugby gods !
6 Sep 2012, 09:28 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-681:
See the first line says it all when you said ” its probably true ”
You dont know so why say that sort of thing. Its fuckn rude to sit in another country and start talking a load of Bollocks about another country.Especially about race issue.
I am a Maori so you can stick your no based facts up your a$$
6 Sep 2012, 09:30 am
@stew-687:
Stew, Bakkies is a couple sandwiches short of a picnic. Dont bother what he says.
6 Sep 2012, 13:51 pm
@Skeppie-684: I don’t mind them having top coaches especially when they end up coaching foreign teams. I don’t even mind them having some of the top players, what bothers me is them having the referees on-side too – that’s just taking the proverbial.
6 Sep 2012, 14:23 pm
@Te Rangatira-686:
hi tr hope you’re well too,
no i mean not only is there a difference in income due to unemployment and maoris holding lower paying occupations. i would venture there is a difference in the salaries paid to whites and browns (is there a better term? i’m using nzchina’s term) in the private/corporate sector and if averaged out would reflect along racial lines. the world is cruel in many ways and this is a phenomenon the world over.
i’m sure it would be difficult for a maori gp in a public institution hospital not to be paid the same as a white gp and the same probably holds true for most if not all public/government instituitons i would hope. is government your biggest employer though?
i am pretty certain than historically it would have been the case that brown ab’s received less compensation than white ab’s (in whatever form that compensation may have been given) in the present i have to agree that it probably does not happen but i am not entirely certain and neither you or i have this data at hand to show otherwise.
do the ab’s receive a set contrat length payment type dealt and on top of that match fees for winning or losing?
i thought carter was white but didn’t realise jonah was brown haha just kidding
@stew-687:
well stew, hand on my heart i can tell you that i certainly was not one of the people supposedly calling for a kiwi to coach the boks.
@Hurricane-688:
i am sorry if i offended you hurri and do apologise for doing so. no malice intended at all. it is a touchy subject and will stop.
if it makes any difference i’ll say this is a phenomena the world over and not anything particular to nz alone. also, in my defense i will say that the point was in response to nzchina baiting/goading me about sa historically denying ‘brown brother’ ab’s form playing in sa as the reason for the boks dominating nz.
6 Sep 2012, 22:05 pm
@Big Hit-690:
lol yeah right.
You have to be kidding me now that you think all coaches from NZ no matter who they coach are looked after by the refs.
Didnt realise France had a kiwi coach in RWC 2007?
Strange even the english refs are corrupt, like the english team swapping balls and fielding 16 men in RWCs.
6 Sep 2012, 22:37 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-691:
OK understand, all good.
But what NZchina said is what actually happened.
SA didnt want the Maoris on there soil. But what should also be said is that the NZRU and public are just as much to blame. They still toured and let it happen,bloody cowards.
Bad times for both countries i think and both to blame.
7 Sep 2012, 07:15 am
@Hurricane-693:
i know but why bring it up? to prove a ‘we’re better than you’ point? and was it in relation to the point at hand or topic of discussion?
hence my response to him that even though this may have been true it was also true that those self same ‘brown brother’ ab’s were being compensated for their services to nz along racial lines too.
he threw a rock and i threw one back.
anyway, its done and dusted. agreed, bad times and the world is certainly a better place in many ways.
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] Show All