Duane set for Perth debut

Duane Vermeulen will start at No 8 when the Springboks tackle the Wallabies this Saturday.

Bok coach Heyneke Meyer has brought two new loose forwards into the match 22 following last week’s poor showing against Argentina. Vermeulen will start at No 8 while Francois Louw will be utilised from the bench. Until recently, Vermeulen was playing for Western Province and Louw for English club Bath.

Vermeulen, who has been one of the most consistent performers in the past three seasons of Super Rugby, will finally get his chance at the highest level. The robust Stormer will add some grunt to a loose trio that suddenly looks very intimidating.

‘We’ve decided to put Duane straight into the starting team because he is a classic No 8, a position we’ve lacked in since Pierre Spies got injured and Ryan Kankowski moved to Japan,’ said Meyer.

‘I’ve always admired the way Duane plays rugby and he’s fitted in very well the past week. He would’ve been a Springbok years ago if it had not been for injuries and it’s great to finally see him selected.

‘And by including Francois on the bench, we have a specialist opensider, but also a versatile loose forward that brings a bit more balance to our back row mix.’

While Marcell Coetzee is not an out-and-out openside he will be expected to outplay Australia’s Michael Hooper at the breakdown. The Boks need to produce an improved collective showing in this area after last week’s shocker in Mendoza. Coetzee will need to step up in what should be a brutally physical first half, and Louw will be asked to play a different kind of game in the second when it is not as tight.

Other changes to the pack see Andries Bekker dropped completely and Juandre Kruger introduced as the starting No 5. Bekker played his worst game for the Boks last week, and Kruger should see this as an opportunity to make the position his own.

‘At lock we’ve decided to go for Juandré as he plays more to the ball. Juandré and Eben played well as a combination in the June Tests against England.’

As expected, Meyer has favoured Ruan Pienaar at No 9 and moved Francois Hougaard from scrumhalf to wing. The backline reshuffle sees Lwazi Mvovo moving to the bench.

It’s another change in selection that should become permanent if things go well in Perth. Meyer has said that it’s a ‘horse-for-courses’ pick, but if the Bok pack fires and Pienaar has a blinder, he must be considered as a long-term solution at No 9.

Of course, if Hougaard, playing on wing, gets the ball on the front foot and produces the rugby we know he can, it will serve as further evidence that he is better suited to a back-three role.

Johan Goosen is another new face in the 22, and will earn his first cap if he gets a run in the second half.

Goosen recently recovered from a serious shoulder injury, an injury that prevented him from making his debut in the Test series against England. He represents the future of South African rugby and through his Super Rugby offerings has shown that he’s ready to make the step up.

The pressure is on Morné Steyn, not only to improve on his inconsistent performances of 2012 and guide South Africa to victory, but also to keep Goosen at arm’s length.

Meyer has already admitted that Goosen is the kind of player he wants in that No 10 position. Apart from having all the necessary kicking skills to be a success under today’s modern laws, Goosen also boasts an impressive attacking game. It’s a complete skill set that could eventually allow the Boks to play a more balanced game.

‘In my mind he can become one of the great flyhalves in world rugby. I’ve been very impressed with his work ethic and attitude since he joined the squad on Thursday in Johannesburg and we will keep on managing him carefully over the next few weeks.’

Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Pat Cilliers, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Francois Louw, 20 Johan Goosen, 21 Pat Lambie, 22 Lwazi Mvovo.

694 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 1114 » Show All

• 151.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Mikey hopefully Pineaar can utilise that ball if you get it, a cut out pass or a wipers kick to the far corner, bread and butter stuff for DC throw the Goose on in Dunedin and lets see how good he really is.

• 152.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma-137: Imagine Brussow and Bissy in tandem……

now that is where the jackpot is……@touch.pause.engage-138: very valid point in deed….
    @The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-143: I thought that given the fact he trusted Steggmann we would have at least had a coach who emplyed specialists…..much to my dismay he has embarked on this hybrid jack of all trades bull s hit….

No man….he has me doubting big time…..

and the continued snubbing of Jantjes and Lambie is criminal….

I wont even get started on the omission of JDJ and Aplon ….for the JJE of the world…baffling …

and then of course there is the Chabal Lite story!!

• 153.Jeez: Reply to this comment

I have a feeling the boks are going to crush the down in the dumps wallabies.
    Boks 36 Aus 16

• 154.race of tan: Reply to this comment

grant10 – It is strange the HM didn’t see what we and the ABs saw, how well Brussouw played under PDV!
    The man was a revelation and a destroyer, we saw it, the ABs saw it and many other teams saw it, so it is worrying that HM didn’t see it!!
    AM sure Mallet would have selected him and many other coaches!

• 155.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Oh dear. Just as everyone was having a nice discussion, Gat walks in to be followed by the likes of Poppa later. Oh well, let’s enjoy it while we can :-)

• 156.coma: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-125: Thats a bit harsh, I guess you struggle to read between the lines, don’t worry lots of people have that problem.

Fact is, Morne Steyn at 10 will not win us the WC in 4 years, then we will be expecting Lambie, Jantjies and goosen to nail it for us with limited gametime leading up to the tournament. Habana and De Villiers will be long past their best, they have already started the decline – so what I am saying is that heyneke should not fear defeat, make the bold moves now.

Some youngsters will crack, others will excell, unless you play them, you will never know who will swim and who will sink. Fact is, none of the 10′s can play worst than what Morne has already dished up.

If you are happy drawing against an Argentinian team, even though they outclassed us in every facet of the game, as long as we don’t lose – maybe you are a bigger loser than me.

• 157.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-151: Agreed again. I’d give the Goose 20 minutes against the Aussies and the same against the ABs. Ease him into international rugby.

• 158.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Jeez – Good optimism, but alas i think the Ozzies will womp us good and proper! Our tactics are too too predictable and the wallabies always thrive against a pedestrian Bok team.

• 159.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-148: Ummmmmm, Heyneke Meyer said that Duane is a classic 8th man, you know HEYNEKE, your hero?

Take the fight to him saggynuts.

• 160.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10-141: grant relax, the all blacks nullified pocock in the semi-final last year, not by matching him @ the breakdown but by making him tackle and have to release and THEN blitz him with a clean out, same story in Sydney 3 weeks ago, Pocock was blown out of the park by Allain Rolland as TJ alludes here

“Chief culprit was Wallaby skipper David Pocock who must have thought he was back in Wellington in the World Cup under a ref who wasn’t prepared to penalise anything. His biggest crime might have been trying too hard, but he did his team no favours.”

we can’t ALWAYS pick a team to nullify one guy BUT we can play as team to make him ineffective.

out of the box…

• 161.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@grant10-152: On the plus side, Olivier can’t come anywhere near the squad for the time being :-)

I’d have dumped Steyn for Lambie and given Jantjies some game time. Frankly, Goosen needed more game time at the Cheetahs but lets see how he goes now that he is there.

@coma-156: Think Habana is playing his best rugby in many a year. JdV will be phased out in a year’s time, probably.

• 162.puff: Reply to this comment

@grant10-134:

The only true opensider there is Brussow.
    I’d want him in the team, but I’d be happy with any one of the more hybrid players like Louw, Burger or Kolisi starting at 6 – as long as the likes of Bismark and Vermeulen are also included to snaffle ball.

• 163.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

159 nice one

• 164.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-159: Don’t be sensible :-)

• 165.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Tranny that was a masterstroke from Ted in that semi, poor old Robbie didn’t know what had hit him.

• 166.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-159: Aaah… The Game Plan expert puts its tuppence…

Now Ms Expert, how about enlightening the Keo audience as to what a Game Plan is…

How about posting a copy and paste of a gameplan that a coach might use for a game… Ask Transie if you need help… He apparently is also an expert on “GamePlans”….

Yeah, give us a game plan Ms Doggy went to Market….

PS… A proper game plan…

Okay? :lol:

Another Farken Dunce

• 167.willievz: Reply to this comment

Last time a Bok nr8 made his debut in Australia, the score was 49-0.

• 168.grant10: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-146: I am also concerned at Brussows injuries….then we need to commit to F Louw as anopensider Mike…it is crucial…

@NZINCHINA-147: Yes…Sam Cane…what a class act….

@Jeraldjay-149: Fact is both Marcelle and Siya are far more suited to the 7 or 8 role….and both state it publically….

I respect and admire them both….but if you want to compete against the aussies and kiwis its best to employ specialsits at openside….and watching Brussow dominate both Kolisi and Coetsee in superrugby is a stark reminder of what we have…..and I am sure that F Louw would school thhem both as well….

No disrespect to MARCELLE OR SIYA…. i rate them tremendously….but dont go to a Butcher to buy seafood !

• 169.race of tan: Reply to this comment

coma #156 – I think we are all panicking too much about the draw in Mendoza. The Pumas have held many a good team in Argentina to a draw and have beaten some big ones too.
    The Pumas have a nack of frustrating the daylights out of their opposition with their smothering tactics. They beat the French not so long ago, held the ABs to a draw a few years ago, have beaten the ozzies too a few years back, so don’t worry!!!
    The acid test for HM is saturday!!

• 170.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-161: I see you also think you a bit of kenner all of a sardine….

Much like a Bauval of archaeology, Brass of Rugby :lol:

Nother farken Dunce

• 171.gunther: Reply to this comment

@willievz-167:

• 172.grant10: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-150: Mike….Mc Caw was first and foremost a fetcher extroadinairre….he has developed with experience and now does a lot of carrying….

but so does Brsussow….Brussow is not just a fetcher….

the only thing Mc Caw does better is lineouts….and I bet you Brussow would cause nervous palpitations down kiwis spines if announced in team….

The kiwis are not scared of a bit more Bok muscle….they scared of Brussow….as is Deans…

• 173.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-166: Diverting attention does your cause no good……(I revert back to your Bon Jovi ode to Meyer’s greatness)

Then again, always up for a challenge from an online paralympian like yourself.

Now because I so desperately want to impress you, I’m going to go with a gameplan that I know will meet with your approval. (I’m taking my lead from your obvious adoration of all things Meyer here….)

Kick…..
    Kick…..
    Kick…..

Chase….
    Chase….
    Chase….

Kick for corners, kick for territory, kick it back to the oppo so that they can run it back at us, kick when you have a 3 man overlap, kick when you are 8 metres out, kick when you are 20 metres out, kick when the oppo defence is in disarray, kick when they are organised…

I take it you approve?

• 174.grant10: Reply to this comment

@race of tan-154: Mallet in SA Sports Illustrated says it plain and clear….bring back Brussow!

• 175.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@coma-156:

Losing is losing. Yes we didn’t deserve to beat the Pumas and should have lost. I take it as a loss if you lose to Argies anyway. To say you don’t mind losing is a loser mentality. Sport is about scoring more points than the opposition. If anyone chooses a team with the intention to lose so we can win in future is really short-sighted. A coach chooses a team he believes will win every game. The problem is not with the players but the coach. It actually doesn’t matter who his chooses. His game plan is a loser anyway…

• 176.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@race of tan-158:

http://www.supersport.com/rugby/springboks/news/120901/Boks_are_on_right_track_Heyneke

Read this. I dont think the boks will keep on playing the same game over and over again. Its still early days. Some injured players will make a big difference and MStyen’s days are numbered.

For now, I think this team can beat the Aussies and do it convincingly. Its clear that they are a broken team. We just need to dominate up front and they will crumble. After last weeks draw Im sure HM rectified the problems at the break down and thats where you win the game.

The backs will be sharper with Pienaar and the lineouts will be a lot better with Kruger at the helm. He is the answer at 5. I expect all the set pieces to get the backs into the game much more this weekend. T

he Argies did us a favour in hitting us hard up front. The Aussies will try to do the same but will fail.

Hougie doesnt just have the x factor (seen at the worldcup) needed to win games, he has the same aggressive defensive style than JPP, which you need against an Aussie backline full of flare.

• 177.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

From fools spouting off about “Balanced” loose trios just the other day, to farken absolute bulldust about “Classic” No 8′s today…

Fark me Keo is becoming a fantastical fantasy world where posters are accomplished for one thing only…

Talking out of their noisy, wide open Dutpipes….

• 178.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Apparently Elton Janjies old man was on E-TV last night spitting mad about Elton’s future and handling in SA rugby, did anyone see the interview?

• 179.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@grant10-174:

I say bring back Mallet. Sooner rather than later…

• 180.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10-168: ““but if you want to compete against the aussies and kiwis its best to employ specialsits at openside” NO, this is not gospel grant…you need to be rational and not think in a tunnel…there’s more ways to skin a cat.

• 181.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@grant10-168: I don’t mind Flo coming off the bench provided he is used. Right now I am more concerned about the Bok pack not hunting as a pack.

@Heavens Game-170: Never argue with an idiot. He’ll drag you down to his level. Good morning Idiot :-)

• 182.grant10: Reply to this comment

@puff-162: only 2 opensiders for me….Brussow and F Louw….

Schalk at 6…..that has farked up stormers for years!!!

Even PDV saw through that and moved Schalk to 7….with Brussow…and it was the only good thing to come out of WC…

screw the Hybrid thinking…..

you either fish or fowl…..

jack of all trades come second in the big time….

• 183.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@grant10-172: Yup, McCraw developed as the rules changed. He is now a hybrid.

One way this could be solved is for Flo to be at 6, Coetzee at 7, Duane at 8 and Alberts to come off the bench. With a straight Flo – Brussouw swop when Brussouw has proven his fitness etc.

• 184.Puma: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-178: I never saw it. However, it does your son no good by doing that. Not good for a parent to be complaining on national tv that their son never made the team. If it was me I personally would be embarrassed of my dad doing just that.

Players just can’t have their parents fighting for them to get into the team. It did Luke Watson no good either.

• 185.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@grant10-182: Flo is a nice hybrid. The pack needs to operate as a pack for him to be effective.

• 186.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-178: Elton’s old man needs to bloody SHUT UP!

• 187.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-186:

…and Chad le Clos dad needs to speak up… :lol:

• 188.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-179: gets my vote mate

work calls

• 189.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-173: Yup… Thought so…

It seems, my darling, you are adept at pointing your no doubt well groomed fingers here, there and everywhere; you obsfucate with a little bit of psych 101 now and again about this poster or that; you even induce a good few laughs with a more developed sense of humour than most Keolings (not really saying much though)….

But, fark me, when you actually talk Rugger, the Game Played in Heaven, the Hooligans Game watched by Gentleman, you farken disappoint because it is quite clear you dont really know what the flyingfck is actually cutting….

Never mind… Keo’s got room for many flavours… and many dunces…

Hey “Missy” Thumbelina…? :lol:

• 190.katman: Reply to this comment

Horses for courses. In the land of the mullet, you play the Vermullet.

• 191.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-178: where is Keegan’s father, oom or tannie to complain for him? Where is Juan de Jongh’s Pa?

it is embraboer in the extreme!

i saw an article in the Times about it, now you’re saying it was on e-tv…Nobody is owed a Bok jersey!

• 192.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-180: I would always employ a secialsit opensider….as a rule…

I see no benefit in playing hybrids….ever…

makes no rational sense to me….

3 x ball carriers equals big kak…..

I want my boks to be the best of the best in all positions…..not the Smits at tighthead….the scrumhalves at 11….the blindsiders at openside…

no Sirree…..

Fark that….it seldom works….if ever…

gotta run

cheers boet

• 193.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-177: Well Prince Philip, at the moment, the only dutpipers looking silly round these parts, are those who have been sucking up all of Meyer’s hype from day 1. Those who have flip flopped from “he is a god” to “he is a doos” with Usain Bolt like speed….
    You mr Boom Boom, carried the Meyer flag from the minute he announced his 1st squad. You’ve been his drummer boy (albeit a rather wimpish and unfashionably dressed one) happly marching in front of the hype train.

Calling everyone else who happens to have been right about Meyer and his selections thus far EEJITS, is perfuckinglexing.

• 194.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-191:

Spies is the exception…

• 195.touch.pause.engage: Reply to this comment

By picking Ruan, Zane and Morne the game plan is clear and obvious as can be, I am just not sure that kicking it back to the Aussies after the hard work earned to get it is the cleverest thing to do.

But that is what will happen, the 3 of them will put up bombs, we will chase and hopefully tackle them into making errors hopefully gaining quick ball from those errors to hand to our big ball carriers to try and get over the advantage line ,in so doing either create try scoring opportunities or force penalties.

That is it, not pretty , not complex and until now not effective. Expect nothing different on Saturday. It will be like watching the Stormers.

• 196.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-189: You are the expert? Tell us how the blueprint you and Meyer find ‘dynamite’ is working out? Read my posts from the day Meyer announced his 1st squad, and then read yours, then check the results and post match comments to see who has been more accurate….

You predicted a BOOM against the Argies in Mendoza….I predicted a game that could go either way due to selections and a conservative and rigid gameplan.

How did that work out for you? :)

Yes my friend…..the dunce is on the other foot.

• 197.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-186: What did he say?, he should indeed shut the phark up!!!, and let the boy play rugby. Dewey Swartbooi got a much kakier deal than Elton.

• 198.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10-192: hehe :D

• 199.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-193:
    Who would you have coaching the Boks in this critical rebuilding phase we’re currently undergoing?

• 200.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-178: I reckon Jantjies senior may have a point… Good on him for speaking the truth.

Jantjies is actually the best 10 in SA at the moment…

Now I am very partial to Lambie at his best i.e. His 2011 season in Super Rugby, but lately the poor b.ugger has been languishing on the bench or recovering from injury… I reckon his confidence may be wobbly at best…

There are no such problems with Jantjies…

Actually, I reckon Morne Steyn should get one more game at 10 this weekend, outside a proper scrummy for a change in Pienaar…

If he doesnt produce then it should be DCM by all rights….

But, by goodness, I’ll be farked if Goosen steps in instead when Jantjies should be there…

So, Jantjies senior has a good point when he slates what is happening with his son…

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 1114 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.