KeoTV: Missed opportunity

MARK KEOHANE says Heyneke Meyer’s conservatism in sticking with Morné Steyn will be costly.

236 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All

• 51.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-49:

That is such a bad strategy.

Go to a newcomer at 10 for the first 50, and then to another newcomer for the last 30.

Brilliant plan with which to win a crucial game. Not.

• 52.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@katman-46: ‘n blinde hoender pik ook nou en dan ‘n mielie raak.

• 53.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@katman-46:

13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Berrick Barnes..?..

i get the gist of you post though and do agree.

• 54.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-48:

I hope so too (Goosen), but I honestly think Lambie could fill the void at 10 NOW.

If Goosen is to be our 1st choice 10 (and that is still an if), we can’t have Morne as backup. Why not groom Lambie to be an international 10. Lambie is set to have a full Super Rugby season at flyhalf, so the gametime will be there for him.

Then at least we have quality cover for Goosen (again, assuming he reaches his potential).

• 55.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Tacitus #51 – I agree. You can’t start with a newbie and finish with a new newbie, disasterous.

Start with M Steyn and bring him off at 50 or 60 min to give Lambie or Goosen a shot. Right now i believe Lambie deserves a shot!

• 56.capebull: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-36: Although I rate Lambie , you have to ask why did he not play 10 at Sharkies ?

He had schocker’s against England at 15 as well as in S15 final.

• 57.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-44:
    nothing’s tragic, grant

get over yourself…

• 58.shooter: Reply to this comment

2 games ago Morne was the man. When he played like a machine. 1 game ago the whole pack got mangled. and now Morne is the villain.

@keo-7: we are not expected to win away from home… yet the supporters expect it. We expect them to win. We do.

• 59.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@capebull-56:

lambie should have never played in the Super 15 final. Period.

Plus, he isn’t a 15. He ONLY played at 15 for the Sharks because he got injured, came back, but Freddie was playing some brilliant rugby at 10, so he moved to 15.

He is a natural flyhalf.

• 60.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@shooter-58:

Morne was never ‘the man’ 2 weeks ago. He kicked his goals (like he should) but still had a very average all round game.

Some twits in the media got carried away (because he finally got his kicks over).

• 61.Open-Mind: Reply to this comment

@shooter-58: Morne was “the man” ones in how many starts.. Sound like one hit wonder type off stuff. If you get enough opportunities you can recreate “wonders” once in a while.. That is not a valid statement.

• 62.londonshark: Reply to this comment

If Goosen is to be our 10, Lambie must be back up. Goosen is potentially Lambie 2.0.

Faster, stronger, bigger boot etc. But he still (like Lambie) has an attacking mindset.

SO, unless Meyer plans to coach the flair out of Goosen, we cannot have Morne as our number 2 flyhalf. Which again begs the question, why isn’t Lambie starting at 10??????

• 63.capebull: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-59: So if he is so good at 10, why did Plum pick Freddie ?

0/20 WC Jantjies played 10 , Lambie at 15, to me it seems he is 15 playing 10, which should be easier than 10 playing 15.

• 64.shooter: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-60: Yes he was. anycase, let’s say he was not…
    Why then was nobody mentioning the disaster we have at 10.
    and more importantly, the second the part of my post was that the pack and Hougaard, and in fact every one on the field was poor on the day – we know Arg played well –
    why single out Morne as root of all problems.

Mvovo didn’t get much chance, Habana was silent, JDV was not really leading or playing like one would want, Kirchner had a pretty average game. The pack, well, yes the pack.

Any coach would be stupid to make wholesale changes into his 5th game, after such a loss.

• 65.katman: Reply to this comment

Of course we’d all like to put only exciting youngsters in the team. But we don’t have any consequences for selecting a team that might bomb out badly. When you’re the coach, and the buck stops with you, you need to be pragmatic to a degree. And I can understand Meyer playing Morne ahead of Lambie and Jantjes. Neither of these two youngsters has set the world alight, and I think it’s only our severe disappointment with the Boks that has made us elevate them so highly. Desperation can be a *****.

My team of “no consequences if they bomb” would look something like this:

1. Mtwarira
    2. Du Plessis
    3. Mujati
    4. Etsebeth
    5. Kruger
    6. Kolisi
    7. Alberts
    8. Kankowski
    9. Pienaar
    10. Goosen
    11. Mvovo
    12. F. Steyn
    13. De Jong
    14. Pietersen
    15. Taute

16. Brits
    17. Oosthuizen
    18. F v/d Merwe
    19. M. Coetzee
    20. Hougaard
    21. Jordaan
    22. A. Coetzee

• 66.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@capebull-63:

Freddie is an international flyhalf with a habit of beating the All Blacks, I think Plumtree felt he needed both Lambie and Freddie in the team. Freddie can only play 10 (or very badly at 9), while Lambie can do the job at 15.

Plus, Ludik only found his form later on in the season.

• 67.Open-Mind: Reply to this comment

@capebull-63: Lambie is another victim of versatility, being versatile in South African rugby means never settling in regular position. Lambie although a 10 had the ability to be a good 15 as well therefore Jantjies only able to play 10 was slotted in at 10. (Same happened to R Pienaar B Russel and G du Toit)

• 68.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

These Sharkies sure have a love affair with Lambiekins. While he is a good enough player (certainly better than Steyn) I really don’t get the hype coming from the Sharkies. He’s not that good and nowhere near the potential of Goosen.

• 69.gunther: Reply to this comment

Nice to have Grantie back posting the same thing 30 times a day.

good times.

• 70.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@shooter-64:

It’s not so much about Morne playing poorly, it’s more about how he’s not getting any better.

Kirchner, Hougie and JDV were also fried by the media but at least they’ve shown some form this season. Morne has been poor ALL year.

• 71.shooter: Reply to this comment

@shooter-64: Heyneke is under some pressure. Do you think he is going to make it easier on himself to go and drop his 40 odd capped flyhalve on the day.

Yes, why not throw the youngsters into the deepend on tour. Lose shape and form all over, maybe. With the unconsolidated scrum we have that is distinctly possible.

All this Lambie this Goosen that -is easy to say.. but if it doesn’t work out, where to from there.. then you sheepishly ask Morne to step in again? Apologize to Goosen? Say, no, another chance when you’re ready in 3/4/5 games from now..

bring them in by all means. when the time is right. Home games even better.

Goosen is the answer eventually. we all know that by now. he is 20, think he has some time on his side.

• 72.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby-68:

No one is saying he’s better than Goosen. Read the posts carefully.

But he is potentially Goosens backup, so why isn’t Lambie starting at 10 if Goosen is injured. Why play Morne at all?????

• 73.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-51: Lambie has enough international experience to cope. It’s a terrible idea to go with a no 10 whose tactical kicking cannot land on a barn, who cannot hit a Westminster pillar from 10 metres, whose distribution skills have gone to pot and under whose flyhalf guidance we have lost 6 out of the last 7 matches. It’ll be inspite of Steyn if we win, not because of him.

• 74.YoMama: Reply to this comment

Keo, use your brain.

Sticking with Morne is the last resort and probably the best plan, for this weekend.

Firstly, do you remember a certain phenom named Gaffie, whose career was destroyed by an over eager and unstrusting coach?

We all know that Goose is the bees knees. Two things to keep in mind with him, though.
    One he is still coming out of an injury. All rugby players are the walking wounded. The best teams are those who have the most amount of healthy players. The Mendoza test was a testimony to the sheer stupidity of the Super Rugby circus. The other issue is that for all his talent, he is still ‘n bietjie nat agter die ore. Let’s not do a Gaffie on him.

Lambie would have been a better choice for this weekend than Morne, but that again would be yanking a chain. With Goose and Elton Jantjes around, Lambie will never be a permanent Bok #10. He should resign himself to becoming a great Bok #15. It has been a while since we had one of those…

Which leaves us with Morne Steyn. If I were Heyneke Meyer, I would sit Morne down and explain to him that the next two years will be all about training Goose and Elton to become breat Boks. That might be his legacy.

For now, he is a stop-gap jersey filler, but is the best that we have at the moment. South African supporters should resign themselves to this and remember that this is a guy who has beaten both the British Lions and the All Blacks. Not a bad stop gap.

Go Morne, Go Bokke. Bliksem Hulle!

• 75.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-65:

Your team of no consequence is of no consequence.

• 76.shooter: Reply to this comment

@katman-65: exactly, something like that.
    team sheets are not read,,, so besides that, you’re making the point.

• 77.RL: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-54: look Lambie has played superrugby for 3 years now and less than 1 full season at flyhalf. If he can’t nail down the 10 jersey for his franchise then you are expecting a miracle for him to play 10 for the Boks – get it Keo. He is being messed around and the tag “utility” player is now pinned to him. Goosen will grab the flyhalf spot and either Taute, Le Roux or Coetzee will grab the fullback jersey. Lambie will sit on the bench doing exactly what utility players are meant to do – and that is wait. He and his fans needs to accept his fate.

• 78.gunther: Reply to this comment

Snorkel is bowling a pile of poo.

He is the Ruan Pienaar of fast bowling.

• 79.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-75: Hey, at least I numbered them from 1 to 22, so they’re kind of consequential.

• 80.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-69:

• 81.Jeez: Reply to this comment

HM says that Goosen is the future of bok rugby. So who will be his number two in the coming years? I doubt it will be MS…

Hopefully Jantjies will one day be a regular substitute for the number 10 jersey.

I bet HM will be more adventurous with the EOTYT. Why risk and gamble against the top 2 teams in world rugby?

• 82.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

brian mujati will never play for the boks again.
    if luke wanting to puke on the jersey or the geogate affair was anything to go by.

• 83.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@RL-77:

RL, you missing my point.

Lambie(RIGHT NOW)is best for the Boks. Not Morne. Goosen WILL BE OUR 10, but who’s his backup??

His backup should be Lambie.

• 84.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-78: On the upside, the English team is looking more English than it has in decades with KP fired, Strauss stepping down, Trott out with a busted hand… Now they just need to get rid of Kieswetter and they’ll be back to their old mediocre paleness.

• 85.londonshark: Reply to this comment

And guys, Lambie has shown his worth at Currie Cup and Super Rugby level (and even somewhat with the Boks at 15).

Elton is years away from the Bok jersey (unless he moves from the Lions).

• 86.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-69:

oh and by the way,

granty thinks the boks are missing a genuine specialist fetcher…

• 87.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Jeez-81:

Pollard’s probably earmarked for that backup role.

Sorry Lambie and co. Sometimes timing is just not on your side.

• 88.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

i rate fouche too.

• 89.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-32: Hahahaha that’s funny! If Meyer truly believes that, then he’s lost the plot, I just think he’s trying to justify his terible selecting.

• 90.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-87:
    any of those three could easily surpass lambie and elton in the not too distant future.

• 91.gunther: Reply to this comment

Indeed Katters and Dernbach.

Soon they are are going to have to stop stocking creme soda and biltong in the home dressing room.

• 92.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-87:

Pollard???? Oh good grief. he hasn’t even played senior rugby yet!!!??

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-88:

You are kidding me. Fouche had ONE GOOD GAME. He is kak kak kak. And look, I live in PTA and love the Bulls, but this guy is rubbish.

• 93.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-91: Word is they’ve already taken down the Minki posters.

• 94.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-88: Fouche is just another MSteyn clone, manufactured in the boiling vats of Snor city

• 95.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@katman-65:

1. Steenkamp/Beast
    2. Du Plessis
    3. Coenie
    4. Etsebeth
    5. Kruger
    6. Brussouw
    7. Burger
    8. Vermeulen

9. Pienaar
    10. Goosen
    11. Mvovo
    12. F. Steyn
    13. Fouie
    14. Pietersen
    15. Taute

16. Chilli
    17. Jannie
    18. Mostert
    19. Alberts
    20. Hougaard
    21. Jordaan
    22. Aplon

• 96.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-93:

Fuckpants.

Next thing you know they are going to wipe the Parlotones off the team iPod.

• 97.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-83: Sorry to say, but Lambie at flyhalf doesn’t install any confidence in me

• 98.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-96: That would just be a gigantic mistake. Gigantic.

• 99.RL: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-83: you missed the boat – right now Elton is the best 10 SA after the Goose – I see through the Lambie hype you spin.

• 100.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@capebull-63: Because Lambieghini was injured… Capishe?

And Freddy was playing like a man possessed at 10… no doubt bouyed by the return of Steyn at 12…

Remember that game that the Sharks played against the Bulls after the intenrnational break… Fark me, I hardly saw a more one sided game between these two teams ever… Remember who was MoM? Yup, Freddie the Frog.

Now to repeat, Lambie did not play in that game because he was injured… He actually shouldn’t have played in the tests against England either because he was playing with injury…

Lambies first full game back at S15 was against the Chiefs… S15 final.

Now, if you cast a little glimpse over stats for S15 2011, then you see what Lambie can do… And by golly goodness the Sharks backline of 2011 was nothing like 2012, and nothing like it will be in 2013.

Wouldn’t it be farken quite embarrassing if the Sharks, spearheaded by Lambie at 10, playing a superb all round total rugby style, manage to win S15 in 2013… While the Boks are only moderately successful with a win % of 60% by that time, playing a dour game with majority Bulls and Stormers darlings….

Watch this space, because at this rate it could very well happen…

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.