KeoTV: Backing Bekker

MARK KEOHANE says there has to be a concerted investment in Andries Bekker.

469 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 » Show All

• 351.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Another productive day in SA

• 352.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-351:

Awesome.

In glad it went well for you.

• 353.grant10: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-348: emotions?

Bud…I have long ago expected the worst when it comes to WP / Stormers….long ,long ago….I go watch provincial,and Super rugby , for enjoyment and love of the game…..not for the love of a province / franchise….

• 354.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-307:

• 355.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

HM’s approach to managing Bekker is encouraging. No doubt he would be an amazing impact player when you apply do or die strategies. He is a ball winner and a shapeshifter. 20 minute bombshell. Kudos HM/Keo.

• 356.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@grant10-324:

Agreed. Schreuder has that Joost presence. Massively confident risk taker w/ a good boot.

• 357.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Both Lambie and Jantjies are middle of the road.. caught between the old generation and the new..

I rate Jantjies higher than Lambie at 10 because Jantjies can mix it in the heavy traffic and can put together a 90% goal kick stat.. which leaves Lambies best option as already decided on by Meyer as a bench option utility type full back..

However Lambie don’t have the pace for full back.. neither does Frans Steyn for that matter and he’s a far better full back than Lambie will ever become.

So where to for Lambiekins and Jantjies.?… nowhere to be precise..

the best candidates for Fly half and full back in this country for the next foreseeable future are the following

Johan Goosen 10
    Andries Coetsee 10 – 14 -15
    Willie Le Roux 10 – 11 – 15
    Handre Pollard 10 – 15
    Jaco Taut 13 – 15
    JPP 13 – 15

and then who knows what next comes drifting from the youth academies like Jean Luc du Plessis, Tim Swiel, Pieter Jordaan etc etc

even Riaan Smit of Cheetahs offers more from pivot as a game reading fast pace distributor than either of Lambie or Jantjies

So if it were up to me both Jantjies and Lambie would either be perrenial bench jockeys or else S15 jockeys at best.

• 358.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Jinx2-355:

Yes, play Kruger for fifty, he’s a bit more physical than Bekker and then bring Bekker up for the last 30

He used to manage Bakkies like that, he never played a full game

• 359.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-357: Not long ago you couldn’t stop telling us what a maestro flyhalf grand deluxe savior of our souls Jantjies was and how blind we were that we couldn’t see it. What has happened to change your mind so completely? A bit fickle, aren’t you Skop?

• 360.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-359: when was that kaksoeker..

about 12 – 18 months ago I said Jantjies was a far better fly half prospect to Lambie.. which I still reiterate… and which he is

Both these players are there or thereabouts.. but neither are world beaters and pure genius..

So I have seen their levels of expertise which is a step up from Morne Steyn but nowhere nearly as proficient and capable of sheer pivotal maestro class

Now if you want some real humdinger fly halves, then go for broke and play

Goosen – Le Roux – Coetsee – Pollard ahead of Jantjies or Lambie at either 10 or 15

That way you are bound to see some seriously gifted action.. otherwise console yourself with another so many years of humdrum mediocrity coming out of the Boks running back line game.

• 361.cab: Reply to this comment

We ain’t got pure genius – closest we came was fleckie and all he wanted to do was fight after a while.

• 362.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-359: Skop can’t remember from yesterday. He is already halfway through his second bottle of Richelieu tonight.

I thought I was an unpleasant person, and I have often wondered what made me that way but Skop is a real ou onbeskofde suiplap.

Probably has a big ol bright red nose, blood shot eyes and greasy old grey hair and a couple of years ago someone that supported the Sharks and Jake White did the famous ‘combo double’ on his wife and daughter.

So you’ve got an embittered stinky old man, suiping himself into a toestand every night, floeking the world for being alive. That’s the image I have of him.

• 363.cab: Reply to this comment

362 – quite the opposite.

The side that produces real footballing genius, in the true sense (not roundball), are the ozzies – we should too cos we are more naturally free but they got far better handling skills and anticipation

giteau cooper Beale are on another planet in terms of pure footballing playmaker genius

Some of kiwis not far behind but they rely more on physical attributes to boulster them
    tjo SBW is v special and they’ve got some great natural runners like jane.

• 364.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Skop is that oke that phones into Super rugby wiff fatness incarnate, Kobus Wiese and sounds like he has been a couple of rounds with the dop…..slurring and moaning like hell about everyone and everything.

Ask Skop what is ‘streaks ahead’

• 365.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Of I should have said ‘what are streaks ahead’ ?

• 366.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Goosen – Le Roux – Coetsee – Pollard
    is stepping in the right direction toward genius status..

Settling with Lambie and to lesser extent Jantjies is simply saying to yourself SA do not produce gifted rugby fly halves..

Goosen can easily become SA’s Dan Carter

Coetsee close enough to an Israel Dagg or even a Christian Cullen

Willie le Roux is far and away streets ahead of either as a gifted distributing eyes wide open play maker… and could slot in perfectly anywhere between fly half – wing – and full back.. as can Andries Coetsee

Handre Pollard got class and ability written all over him.. way more than the current crown princes chomping at the fly half berth bit

Serfontein can be the next Danie Gerber with the correct level of mentor ship and direction.

We got the players alright.. we just lack the coaching and mentoring and directorship skills.

• 367.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@cab-363: Quite the opposite ? Well that’s a shame because he certainly sounds that way. My wife has an uncle that’s like that. I tried being respectful in the beginning but the last few times I saw him and he starts talking rugby I tell him to go f$*k himself. Talks absolute kak.

He thinks because he’s an old toppie with a bright red face that he has the right to talk kak to everyone but at the same time now he knows I am just a few words from blikseming him – and he knows I will do it right in front of his whole family. So he and his drunk wobbly head stay away from me whenever we happen to be in the same vicinity.

• 368.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-366: Is Goosen ‘streaks ahead’ ?

• 369.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@cab-363:

Closet we had to that type of genius was Michael du Plesis (on a good day) with his brother Carel not too far behind.

• 370.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Hows this for some play making genius

Andries Coetsee / Jaco Taut
    JPP / W. Le Roux
    Paul Jordaan
    Jan Serfontein
    Raymond Rhule
    Johan Goosen / W. Le Roux
    Francoise Hougaard / Pietie Van Zyl

• 371.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-365:

Brown skidmarks in your Jockey’s?

• 372.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-367: The old brak will probably have a heart attack though so I have to maar watch myself. The last time I saw him and nobody was around I said to him ‘Jissus are you p!ssed like a tramp again ? Aren’t you ashamed of yourself ?’

He just made like he didn’t hear me and walked off like a dog with its tail between its legs. A big change from the big mouth he used to be. When I read Skop’s posts – that is the oke I picture.

• 373.cab: Reply to this comment

Taranaki express in a different class Ito sheet natural imstictive running ability but those welshy pivots of old that David goes on about had true creative genius

• 374.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-371: I dont know – ask Skop. He does support the stormers, so ‘streaks’ would go hand in hand with offloading a stormer. Especially if its a sticky one that’s difficult to wipe.

• 375.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-362:

Nope Skop doesn’t drink a drop….

Bet you’re really scared now?

• 376.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-375: Not at all – why would I be scared ? If he doesn’t drink, he has some other serious issues. Sounds like a real **** end.

• 377.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-366:

I reckon Goosen is more from the Hugo Porta school of flyhalves while Pollard is from the Naas Botha school. Goosen is a more cutting edge, off the cuff type of player while Pollard is as solid as can be .

• 378.cab: Reply to this comment

369 – RobbieZ 100% correct

• 379.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

We had plenty genius shooting through the woodwork and we still have.. what went balls for glory titties up were the bang broek chickenarsed coward self preserving conservative coaches who fck’d our rugby up six love… en f’ng masse

Streauli – White – the PdV / Smit / FdP / Matfield circus, and now Herr Meyer

all too f’ng chicken to play rugby so they reverted to this bullshit jargon ‘ playing to our strengths’ play without the ball and be a moron on steroids vokmavoort till D Day opens up.

• 380.cab: Reply to this comment

367 lol – I luv the kakpraaters – there was an oldboy I met at a BBQ the other day he do bevok about the rugby analyses all the games – sharks fan – zimbo – I liked him but tgen he turned out to be a massive racist – good friend toppie otherwise he also get a good klap oubaas or not.

• 381.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-379: As kak praat ‘n siekte was, was jy al lankal ‘streaks ahead’…..ag ek bedoel dood.

• 382.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@cab-380: So are you a bleeding heart ? Can you play the violin and sing like a dolphin at the same time ? I am actually in the middle. I have no time for racists, nor do I have time for bleeding heart liberals that stomp off or get aggressive in a debate. Lets just be real – take things as they are – and I am happy to chat and be nice.

• 383.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-369:

A lot of the Aussie youngsters play league as well, they learn to offload and to throw the ball around at a young age

We should use sevens to sharpen ball skills

I remember watching the Hong Kong sevens in the early nineties and we had Joost, Andre Venter, Juba and others playing

We should let our S15 franchise play an sevens tournament in December or January, it would be good for getting them fit as well

Each franchise enter two teams, a backs and a forward team consisting of your S15 players for the next year’s tournament, and in the end you have a final between the best fwd and backs team

• 384.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-374: you fancy yourself as some kind of breeker don’t you.. its breekers like you who usually are the ones need a quick regmaker to fix their overrated self indulgent self worth. .. just like that little pipsqueak katmankunt .. so brekerig yet still a baby in the kindergarten of life.

go pump some iron pipsqueak pretend you charles atlas that the way the brekers think they suddenly all grown up.

• 385.gunther: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-383:

Too true.

I wonder how many franchises bother to play a few games of touch a week just to sharpen up their ball skills .

Low impact good cardio encourage some creativity.

• 386.gunther: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-384:

Lol that’s rich.

You are always looking for someone to fight on the forecourt of the Vishoek Engen.

• 387.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-383:

I wonder how this team will perform aginst our current 7′s team:

Aplon
    W le Roux/Brent Russell.
    Goosen
    Hougaardt
    Spies
    Britz
    Kankofski

Probably beat them by about 30+

• 388.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-384: I dont fancy myself as anything. I like to give okes here kak just like you do, but you just talk a lot of **** that nobody can understand. You think you use clever alliteration and the like in your posts, but it all sounds like the rambling of a mad man.

Do you stand outside and laugh at the sky when it rains ? Just wondering ?

• 389.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@gunther-386: I dont stick around when a oke with a Billy Ray Cyrus mullet wants to rumble – I am scared of those okes…..so Skop would win without throwing a punch.

• 390.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@gunther-385:

Imagine the Bulls and Stormers fwds playing in the 7′s semi’s against the Cheetahs and Sharks backs

It would be more gate revenue and Supersport could show it

• 391.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

rich is my middle name .. I’m so rich I’m drowning in regmaker rectitude

• 392.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-389:

Skop sal jou moer, hy het vir Bruce Lee getrain

Hy’s Keo se Chuck Norris

• 393.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-391: Change your nic to ‘kak praater’.

• 394.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-387:

The 7′s team is more about attitude than performace on the pitch

The “real” rugby players would eat them up

A fit FS would also kill them in the more space 7′s gives you

• 395.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-392: Sounds like a dronk gat to me.

• 396.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

like cab says .. wtf would arsehole idiot dunces like you do without any kak praters to fix your forlorn self indulgent idiocy

its actually the kak praters who rule the planet otherwise all the serious see saw goons would drown in their own self importance before they got to the fountain of understanding

• 397.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-392:

Hoesit, Vik? Iets vir die bors?

• 398.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-396: Yes Skop…..sure….f$%ken lunatic.

• 399.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-398:
    Tsek!

• 400.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@KeurboomPark-399: What’s that ? Is that some cape scum language ?

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.