Preview: Wallabies vs Springboks
6 Sep 2012
JON CARDINELLI analyses the key match-ups and picks the winner in Saturday’s Test.
Will it matter? Will it matter how the Springboks win this Saturday in Perth?
The Boks desperately need a start; they need a win, however ugly, against top-flight opposition.
They’re playing in a city that has been kind to visiting South African teams in the past, and that will inspire them to believe another win is possible.
However, they haven’t beaten Australia or New Zealand Down Under since September 2009, and haven’t beaten Australia since September 2010. Those are facts and statistics that would shake the confidence of any team, especially one that is short on synergy and experience.
Coach Heyneke Meyer has made some prudent changes, but this new side cannot be expected to gel immediately. It is for this reason that the Boks may stick to their simple game plan, despite the calls to vary their play.
Execution has been a problem as has consistency over the past five Tests. The Boks can be brutally effective when they get it right, and this was evident, albeit in short bursts, during the series against England. They will need to be clinical at the breakdown against Australia, and will need to show more grunt at the collisions than they did against Argentina.
The Boks aren’t anywhere near their fearsome best, but then neither are the Wallabies. It’s for this reason that a trend-breaking win is not impossible for South Africa, especially when one looks at the make-up of both forward packs.
Duane Vermeulen should have been a Springbok three years ago, and deserves his place at No 8. He’s played several matches for Western Province since returning from a serious knee injury, and some feel that he should be gradually introduced to Test rugby. Wrong.
Vermeulen is the kind of player that needs to start, he is not a man to play from the bench. He is best utilised when the game is tight, he is a powerful player that will get you over the gainline in a tight scrap. His momentum-halting defence is just as valuable in such a physical clash. On top of all of that, he’s a great option at the tail of the lineout.
David Pocock isn’t playing in this match. I repeat, David Pocock, the best openside on the planet, the bane of the Boks’ existence over the past three seasons, is not playing in this match. Stow the infantile Bryce Lawrence rhetoric and embrace the fact that Pocock cost the Boks a place in the World Cup semi-finals.
That special player isn’t available to the Wallabies this Saturday, and that is a massive plus for South Africa.
I’m not convinced that Michael Hooper will translate his Super Rugby form to the Test stage. For this reason, the Wallabies should be worried, because Hooper cannot play more than one role.
Hooper is an out-and-out fetcher, and you won’t seem him defending or carrying the ball like Pocock or the Boks’ Francois Louw. It will be a problem for the Wallabies, especially if their pack as a collective does not dominate the collisions.
Radike Samo was fantastic in the 2011 Super Rugby tournament, but his age has started to show in 2012. Like Hooper, Dave Dennis has yet to prove that he belongs at this level.
Willem Alberts will be back at his favourite position of blindside flank, and determined to replicate his performances against England. Marcell Coetzee will also be looking for a better showing, and with Vermeulen now in the mix, it looks to be the most balanced back row the Boks have fielded this year.
Meyer has decided to back Coetzee as a starter, but Louw should be introduced at some stage. It could be that Coetzee shifts to blindside and Alberts to No 8 in such event. The pressure will be on Meyer to make the right calls in terms of new combinations in the second half. There are some talented players on the Bok bench, and how Meyer deploys them (ie in which combination or role) will play a big part in the final result.
While the Wallabies are lacking a few big name players, they will always be favourites at home and it’s going to be another tight scoreline. It won’t be enough that the Bok forwards dominate, the halfbacks will need to take the right options, and Morné Steyn will have to kick his goals.
How will Meyer react if Steyn has another off night with the boot? It will be interesting to see if he brings the uncapped Goosen right into the mix, or trusts in Frans Steyn, Ruan Pienaar or another reserve in Pat Lambie to shoot for goal. This is another big call that will need to be made if Steyn suffers another mental lapse.
It’s going to be desperate, its going to be ugly, but it’s going to be a start. This Saturday, winning is all that matters, and the Boks should do enough to achieve that objective.
JC’S CALL: Boks by 3
Wallabies – 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Dominic Shipperley, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Berrick Barnes, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Radike Samo, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Dave Dennis, 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Sitaleki Timani, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson
Subs: 16 Saia Faingaa, 17 James Slipper, 18 Scott Higginbotham, 19 Liam Gill, 20 Nick Phipps, 21 Mike Harris
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Pat Cilliers, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Francois Louw, 20 Johan Goosen, 21 Pat Lambie, 22 Lwazi Mvovo.

190 Comments
6 Sep 2012, 05:06 am
swap:
morne with gooosen, vermeaulen with coetzee, kirtchner with lambie, coetzee with flo
subs:
vermeulen for alberts to keep up the beating but goes to 8, coetzee moves to 6 with mvovo coming on for habana if he’s struggling
6 Sep 2012, 05:40 am
Oz by 15+
6 Sep 2012, 05:44 am
@youwha, you seriously need to practise your spelling. However, I’d personally only swap zane with lambie, Duane deserves his place in the starting line up, and let’s see what Morne has left, if he plays like ****, sub him after 40 min, its a bit too much for Goosen to start from word go, especially against Aus.
6 Sep 2012, 05:49 am
” I repeat, David Pocock, the best openside on the planet” – give me richie any day of the week!
6 Sep 2012, 05:52 am
guess that make Tim Noakes and I pretty infantile together, we often like to label cheaters as cheaters …………….and when someone cheats well I guess it is pretty infantile
6 Sep 2012, 05:56 am
brace yourself John cause its coming around again ahem in the words of Kevin Bloody Wilson “you can stick that fucken Lawrence up your ******* arse”
6 Sep 2012, 06:04 am
You are wrong on Hooper. He is a much better ball carrier than Pocock.
6 Sep 2012, 06:08 am
Boks by 5. Vermeulen and Flo to make the difference.
6 Sep 2012, 06:11 am
“JC’S CALL: Boks by 3″ – This assumes the Wallabies do not improve their play from their previous two matches; are they not battle hardened by defeats to the world’s No 1 team? it also assumes that Heyneke can extricate himself from the following mess:
his Blue Bulls bias;
his contradictory public statements & deflections;
preferential treatment of M Steyn, J Potgieter, F Hougaard;
poor treatment of mvovo, lambie, elton, keegan, bekker (the list will continue to grow);
mortgaging the future of the team just to keep M Steyn playing;
Double standards in selection in favour of blue bulls players
6 Sep 2012, 06:16 am
Here’s my prediction:
I agree. The boks will take this one and I wouldnt be surprised if its achieved by MS having a good day with the boot, thanks to a dominating forwards pack.
With Pienaar’s boot from the base and quick ball the boks will win the territorial battle. The lineouts with Kruger back will be our best attacking platform. I predict a try via maul in the first 10 min. Expect a lot of mauls. On defense the boks are going to suffocate the Aussie’s backs and force mistakes, this is where Hougaard’s mongrel instinct will be most valuable.
The Aussies are hurting and seem very desperate. The boks are desperate too, but it looks like this Aus team is at the point where they will self destruct if the boks play good rugga and deny them any points in the first 30 min. You can sense the panic and pressure on the players with a coach who doesnt have any more life lines… Cooper to have a shocker.
The subs will keep the pressure tight in the second half. Flo to show is worth in the last 30 min. Goosen will probably get 5 min.
Boks by 18. IMO
6 Sep 2012, 06:18 am
@viewer I call bull shite. The only Bulls players in the mix are the stand-out players such as morne, hougie, etc. The other jackals from the Bulls side that were in the team against Argentina like jj engelbrecht have gone back to the Bulls camp. The Bulls players that are there, deserve to be there, it is nonsence to assume the only reason they are there is because an ex-bulls coach is now the Springbok coach.
6 Sep 2012, 06:20 am
frikin heck pocock is not the best frikin opensider in the world you dumb dumb dodo bird. and the aussies are looking pretty frikin weak. boks pounded these losers last year and a reputation of pocock was blown up. boks should blerry take it if its a fair fight but you never know in convict or mudd-island territory hardly anyone gets a fair game there. facts, facts and more facts to add to that
6 Sep 2012, 06:20 am
preview on post match heading: “HUILIGE HEYNEKE SE HIDING”
Aus by +10 this weekend
to be followed by: “HUILIGE HEYNEKE KRY NOG N HIDING”
NZ by +25 next weekend
6 Sep 2012, 06:22 am
@Jeez-10: aussies need space and they will get it from that kak jean there but we see what the boks cook up and i hope duane steps up we need a 8 badly, likely really, really badly. havent had one since big joe
6 Sep 2012, 06:23 am
@RAI8-3: ha ha yes that was a fat-finger response so excuse the spelling. I only had Duane as a sub to ease him back in to test rugby otherwise for me he has to start at 8 (until the penny drops and Marcell is selected as an 8!). Disagree about Morne as he’s had enough chances now, Goosen is the future and so is Roast and Elton so if Goosen has been earmarked as next in line for a go on this tour then I think he must start now using Morne as cover should he struggle.
6 Sep 2012, 06:23 am
Jeez are you on the sauce Bokke by 18 lol
6 Sep 2012, 06:25 am
I add S Kolisi, J de Jongh to the “collateral damage list” & hope Big Duane, F Louw, J Goosen survive Meyer’s scorched earth policy. There’s a truckload of karma headed Heyneke’s way
6 Sep 2012, 06:26 am
@capetown-13: only way mudd-island can win is by cheating and the ref turning his head the other way as usual. the only frikin way! but hey thats the rugby of today a cheap frikin joke run by cheap frikin loserz.
6 Sep 2012, 06:26 am
@viewer-17: karma? you are frikin stooooooooooooopid
6 Sep 2012, 06:28 am
@viewer-9:
Give it some time. The squad is slowly evolving…
HM knows Goosen is the future at 10, so why give false hope to Lambie or Jantjies. Goosen would have been there from the start if he wasnt injured. Steyn was given an opportunity due to his experience and now that Goosen is in the mix that door is closing fast. The rookie should always take over from a guy with the most experience. This is starting to happen.
Vermeulen in for Spies, Potgieter’s spot will be forfeited when Burger is fit again. Bekker’s form is not what is should be so he should be dropped. Kruger was far better against ENgland and shouldnt have been dropped.
Hougaard is a quality player (is obviously there on merit and not because he’s a blue bull) and needed a chance, HM gave it to him and he didnt use it.
Kirchner didnt do much wrong and Lambies has had limited game time and had a shocker in the super rugby final.
Flo’s selection is reassuring proof that HM believes in having a fetcher in the team. Brussouw will probably play at the EOTYT.
6 Sep 2012, 06:29 am
Blitzbok I think you might be a loser as well buddy
6 Sep 2012, 06:32 am
If he believed in a fetcher why didnt he pick one from the beginning, hes selecting and hoping by the looks of it.
6 Sep 2012, 06:33 am
@viewer, siya kholisi is injured, HM said he would have included him, had he not broken his finger. J de jong will not take the captains place in the team, and will never take frans steyn out. Ever.
6 Sep 2012, 06:35 am
@RAI8 – morne is a “stand-out” player in your estimation? Did you see him fall apart against the ‘saders in the play-off? He had a meltdown. Ditto the EP Test vs Eng. Coach said he’ll get him playing right again because he’s worked with him before at the Bulls. Is that fair?
By the way I rate JJ Engelbrecht. Disagree with his axing.
6 Sep 2012, 06:40 am
RA18 so even if Steyns form drops away he’ll never get dropped, why does this guy have idol status in SA he’s done nothing since O7. He’s a 15 not a 12.
6 Sep 2012, 06:47 am
@viewer, im not arguing, morne has played rubbish lately, but its a mental thing, HM will sort him out, he has improved since super rugby so I’d keep him there until goosen is comfortable with the pressures of test rugby, which in my opinion wont take very long.
@nzinchina, did you see frans in the world cup last year? Have you watched ANY of his games for racing metro? He is a perfect 12 and is such a good distributor of the ball in that position, and runs well on crash ball. He is, however, as you say, a great 15 too though, but IMO he’s a better 12.
6 Sep 2012, 06:50 am
“Give the coach time” ? 2004 ABs had a new coaching team & poor 3N campaign. In response, there was a literal clear out of the team. The likes of xavier rush, carlos spencer, andrew merhtens, sam tuitupo & others were permanently axed.
I’d say Heyneke’s had enough time already
6 Sep 2012, 06:56 am
@25 NZ
Willem Alberts & F Steyn are indispensable in the current team. Provide a lot of go forward
6 Sep 2012, 07:01 am
@viewer-27:
If it was up to you the boks will probably have a different coach every weekend..
6 Sep 2012, 07:06 am
@Captain Sam Vimes-5: Oh yeah? Looks like you & Noakes both read Oscar Pistorius’s new best seller: “How to lose gracefully”…
6 Sep 2012, 07:07 am
The Australians will be extremely desperate and I think some of you South Africans are underestimating this. They have been flogged non-stop in the media over here and their coach has copped the most. The Aussies will be running those big Saffa forwards all over the place and I can see Vermulean and co looking to the sidelines after 20 minutes for a breather. I cant see them losing against this promising, but very raw Bok team. I reckon OZ by 8
6 Sep 2012, 07:11 am
Who’s the boks kicking coach? Louis Koen?
6 Sep 2012, 07:19 am
@Jeez – :> Yeah New innovation! let’s have reserve coaches. Put Heyneke on the bench Lambie-style. We’ll call him up against Romania or Georgia
6 Sep 2012, 07:19 am
poor wittle china
what’s happened to bp?
are you bp?
6 Sep 2012, 07:33 am
Bakkies you never gave me your rating as per your scale on Mallet last night, was it poor or very poor?
6 Sep 2012, 07:40 am
Wallabies by 7. They will be more desperate.
6 Sep 2012, 07:41 am
i did china, go check the posts.
whats your point?
honestly, between the two of us… you’re the bigger doos…
6 Sep 2012, 07:43 am
so what was it then?
6 Sep 2012, 08:02 am
china’s made you lazy boet.
go look it up.
6 Sep 2012, 08:04 am
The messiah is going to take a lot of flak if the team fails against the Ozzies and AB’s. He rewards poor form when the player is a Bull and drops those who are not. Very consistent indeed.
Good luck Boks! You gonna need it…
6 Sep 2012, 08:06 am
Creative back-play the South African way
Box kick or bomb
Intercept try
Charge down
Drop goal
Australia to stuff yous with a 4 try bonus point win
6 Sep 2012, 08:09 am
I’ll speculate, poor?
6 Sep 2012, 08:09 am
heard NZ will perform a special haka for all the boers killed in SA – boer genocide! respect NZ!!!!!!!!!!!!
6 Sep 2012, 08:10 am
@Gumboots-40:
boks will win in perth but i dont see them winning in nz. i would like them to but it’ll be an against the oods surprise.
6 Sep 2012, 08:11 am
yes
6 Sep 2012, 08:11 am
but still better than kirwan
6 Sep 2012, 08:23 am
cool, I have a busy day/night ahead so I am signing off have a good one mate
6 Sep 2012, 08:29 am
you too, china
just to be clear, because we’re being civil enough to greet one another does not mean we have to like each other, cheers.
6 Sep 2012, 08:37 am
Delusional Bok fans
Vermeulen is not superman,he will probably last about 50-60mins and even then he will struggle.
Bok loose trio is STILL imbalanced
Bok tight 5 has hardly been effective and will dominate no one at present,ruck ball will be dominated by Hooper
Frans Louw also hasn’t played Ina while,saw him in John Smit testimonial.
Pienaar has never excelled at international level and along with Morne at present you have the 2 most mentally fragile players running the Bok ship….
Midfield hasn’t produced a linebreak in 5 tests and back 3 will get no ball as usual
Oz bench much stronger than Bok one as well and why is Goosen and Lambie on the same bench…????
Add the fact that Boks will kick away 70% percent of their possession and will got panic stations later when oz go up more than 10 points and put on Goosen/Lambie and play hester skelter
Aus by 12-15
6 Sep 2012, 08:43 am
@spartan-41: “stuff yous” sounds like you have been frequenting the “Tool Box” a little too much.
6 Sep 2012, 08:56 am
I will watch the game first before I give my opinion.
6 Sep 2012, 08:57 am
@mshiniwami-49:
Arent you just a tad pessimistic ?
6 Sep 2012, 09:00 am
Pretty brave calling a Bok win given their form. As for Hooper, he’ll be at the breakdowns like a jack russel. Samo will carry the ball forward for Aus. I’d like the Boks to win but my pick is Aus x 6
6 Sep 2012, 09:05 am
@greegs-53: My money is still on the boks, we will have a slight edge in the first phase (Timani is very green at lock) and if we arrive int he right frame of mind should dominate the collisions, if we dominate the collisions then Hooper is negated.
6 Sep 2012, 09:11 am
“However, they haven’t beaten Australia or New Zealand Down Under since September 2009, and haven’t beaten Australia since September 2010″
I also believe that was the last time the Boks scored a try against the Wallabies.
6 Sep 2012, 09:16 am
This will be a blood and guts test match , down to the wire , both teams need this more than anybody thinks , Aus by 2
6 Sep 2012, 09:17 am
Game could go either way,home advantage to Aus but Boks have good record in Perth,gonna be desperation from both teams for a win,BMT will win this one,so whoever handles the pressure better.
6 Sep 2012, 09:18 am
@Gumboots-40:
Bill, I see you’ve become very negative of late (after the Mendoza game) towards HM his selections and gameplan.
Lets see what happens over the next few weeks then make your judgement.
I’ll always back our national coach whether his pink, grey or yellow, whether he comes from Riviersonderend or Poffadder.
I’ll make my call after the Soccercity game.
6 Sep 2012, 09:25 am
@Jeez-20: it’s got nothing to do with giving false hope to Lambie or Jantjies and everything to do with giving guys a chance that deserve it and being prepared for all eventualities!
Look@the All Blacks, Dan Carter gets injured and they’re not stressed as Cruden has already amassed 13 caps and Barret is on bench, and Barret had more than a full half against the Irish!
6 Sep 2012, 09:30 am
I must admit to being confused about this game…..a desperate Bok side is a dangerous team….no doubt…..but the Aussies may be even more desperate…
Then we have the handbrake M Steyn and the lack of balance amongst the loosies….
Strauss is still doubtful as well…..
Bissy is such a huge loss …
Seriously would not risk a 10 c bet on this game…..havent a farken clue …
6 Sep 2012, 09:31 am
the 1 good thing is game in Perth….if in Brisbane or Sydney I would be swayed to the Aussie side…
6 Sep 2012, 09:31 am
I really feel for Goosen – he has already been anointed as the chosen one by all the fans, based on some Currie Cup games and half a super rugby season. I shudder for the day he does something foolish in a green jersey.
Anybody remember Frans Steyn? Hope the guy is made from real stern stuff mentally – he is going to need it when the very fans turn on him.
I do think the guy is really talented, and if managed correctly will do well for SA.
6 Sep 2012, 09:32 am
@RAI8-23: lol@saying he would’ve played Kolisi…HM says a lot of things but his track record shows he can’t be trusted,unfortunately
6 Sep 2012, 09:35 am
The Aussies have one of the most limiting back rows in the world, yes they have a great fetcher in Pocock, and young up and coming fetchers in Hooper and Gill. But, they lack a decient ball carriers. Higgenbothem is a dud, Samo is old and their best #4 lock is injured.
Their backline is a poor shadow of an Aussie backline, Ash-Cooper is playing poor, Beale is a disaster and no O’Connel/ Cooper makes this a very limited backline. Only danger is the two wings.
If the boks execute well, don’t kick ball away and play with determination and purpose then we should win, even with this poor gameplan. What am I saying, kicking the ball away is the freaking gameplan!!!!
6 Sep 2012, 09:37 am
@goodstuff-64: Beale has a pretty good record against the Boks – he always seem to shine against us
6 Sep 2012, 09:42 am
More TeamsNew ZealandSouth Africa….Former Springbok prop Cobus Visagie shares his thoughts on the Rugby Championship in the third instalment of a series of exclusive columns for Planet Rugby.
I never thought I would say this, but an exhilarating opening weekend of the Aviva Premiership and the triumph of running rugby over structured monotony in the Currie Cup demolition of the Blue Bulls by Western Province were a much needed reminder that it is still possible to play the game with ball in hand and win by considerable margins. You can’t compare Test rugby with club rugby, but the principle and certainly the intention remains.
There has only been one team in the Rugby Championship so far that has shown any real enterprise and confidence to back their skills and attack space when it is on. Even though they have beaten the Wallabies 27-19 and 22-0 to open their Rugby Championship campaign, I am sure All Blacks coach Steve Hansen will not be content with their accuracy thus far, even though they have looked extremely dangerous at times.
The game at Eden Park was a strange affair with both sides underperforming in areas where they have normally dominated in recent years. The Kiwi scrum was untidy and under pressure at times until Wyatt Crockett left the field and the Franks brothers joined forces in the second-half. On the other hand the Wallaby line-out that normally functions like clockwork under the leadership of Nathan Sharpe was a complete shambles on attack and the All Blacks competed brilliantly to take advantage. It was one of the main reasons the Wallabies could not build any momentum or secure field position in the match.
The All Blacks also uncharacteristically botched several try-scoring chances, but they have another full-strength side available for the clash against the Pumas in Wellington on Saturday and I am sure they will have a massive focus on finishing their hard earned opportunities with clinical precision. Although they will be missing Sonny Bill Williams, who probably played the best Test match of his career in my opinion (and he would have received even more praise in post-match reports if his team-mates were able to score from all the try-scoring opportunities) his replacement, Conrad Smith, is one of the toughest centres in world rugby and the type of character that will take the game to the Argentinians.
The Pumas have shown that they learn fast and even though the Springboks were hopeless in Mendoza, they gave themselves the best possible chance to achieve a memorable victory on home soil by disrupting the Springboks’ speed of attack through targeting the breakdowns. That being said, I just cannot see the Pumas playing with the same confidence they showed in the quarter-finals of the World Cup last year against the eventual world champions where they started with a real bang and put the All Blacks under pressure for a considerable part of the game.
The return of Juan Martin Hernández from his groin strain may even prove to be a curse rather than a blessing, because the monotonous high ball tactic of the Pumas will most certainly be counterproductive against Israel Dagg and his compatriots in the All Black back-three. Holding on to possession will be worth a whole lot more to them than to hope for an odd mistake from the home back-three.
Although I expect the Pumas to improve over the course of the Championship, they will face an All Black side this weekend that is confident and with lots of competition across most positions, but far from satisfied with their performance so far. I cannot see them misfiring three weeks in a row in the accuracy department and a four-try bonus-point victory is surely on the cards and hopefully a more spectator friendly encounter.
The battle between the two teams in Perth this week is a completely different ball game with both players and management under considerable pressure, even though they are still in the enviable position of being number two and three in the world.
I see a disturbing trend developing in the communication from the Springbok management where they are talking up the strengths of the opposition to such a level that expectations are rock bottom and I think it may even start to impact the players’ expectations. Statements from Heyneke Meyer that the Wallabies “have a very good pack” is a good example of ridiculous praise to lower the expectations of the media and public of South African dominance in the set-piece.
It is true that the current Wallabies can make history against the Springboks in Perth with a fifth successive triumph against South Africa and that the Boks have won only one out of their last seven encounters, but it is also the same Wallaby side that has not been able to score a single point in their last game against the All Blacks in 50 years. It is clear the Springbok management and SA media has more respect for the Aussie outfit at the moment than their own supporters.
Expectations were sky high when two SA sides made it through to the Super Rugby semi-finals and the abundance of especially young forwards showing immense promise in the competition. But now we are stuck with a young, inexperienced side peppered with youngsters on their first Australasian tour and expectations are well and truly low. True scholars of the game cannot see in their minds eye the Springboks performing much better than the Bulls performed against the Crusaders in Christchurch. We are stuck with Bulls players at 10 and 15 that are so one dimensional that the opposition coaches can go back to their opposition analysis pre-2007 to remind their new players what to expect.
But today is a better day for SA Rugby, there is a little bit of hope. Possibly Rassie Erasmus broke through the Bulls grip on proceedings and for the first time the selectors has shown some nous by the inclusion of Duane Vermeulen at eight and Francois Louw and Johan Goosen on the bench. Every single change was much needed and gives hope to supporters who have long been hoping for Hougaard to move with his X-factor to the wing and Ruan Pienaar to control the game from the base. The most important change I still want to see is the Boks most talented back, Frans Steyn, at full-back where he can have a bigger impact on the game and make sides reconsider if they want to play a kicking game against South Africa.
The inclusion of Louw is a much-needed addition to the squad and the management deserves credit for a move that must have taken some determination to push through the political issue surrounding the inclusion of a foreign-based player. The bottom line is that apart from passing, catching and tackling, the breakdown is the event with the highest occurrence in the game of rugby. If you cannot control this area, you can’t control the game and it is the area where the All Blacks are leading the way in international rugby. Both Vermeulen, although he still on the comeback from injury and Louw who is at the start of his season, are players that will play to the ball and will give the Boks the best possible chance to control the frantic pace with which the Wallabies would like to play the game.
As mentioned earlier about the Wallabies’ lack of control in the Bledisloe Cup game, dominance of the line-out will be the other imperative area to dominate in Perth to secure victory – for the Springboks it is more about field position and for the Aussies it is more about continuity and attack. Andries Bekker played as badly in Mendoza as he was good in the first game at Newlands and the inclusion of Juandre Kruger is another good move and he will be the main cog in the machine that will need to function and dominate for the Springbok game plan to work. It is going to be an epic battle and will have a significant bearing on second place in the tournament, but on paper the more experienced Aussies must be favourites.
Until next week, cheers!
Cobus
6 Sep 2012, 09:45 am
@mshiniwami-49: Love the comment about why Lambie and Goosen are on the same bench…makes no sense@All
6 Sep 2012, 09:46 am
I see Moore is out for the Wallabies.
Polotu Nau to start at hooker.
Polotu Nau is hugely underated I think.
Superb with ball in hand and a properly devastating tackler, goes flying in and usuall comes off second best with a concussion or some sort of injury.
Pure hooking skills need work though, throwing in and scrummaging etc.
Mmm things just got more interesting.
6 Sep 2012, 09:49 am
@grant10-66: Brilliant article
6 Sep 2012, 09:52 am
@John Galt-68: I reckon this is a bit of a gap for us, with Timani at lock and Polotu0nau’s suspect throwing this could help us get first phase dominance……Kruger needs to have a big game here!
6 Sep 2012, 09:54 am
Great article. He’s so spot on about 10 and 15 being so one-dimensional and uninspiring you just want to shoot yourself in the head. Well, thats my take.
6 Sep 2012, 09:58 am
@Skeppie-70: @Spiesisworthless1-71:
Yes…..10 is a massive issue
and Mallet and Versagie agree about the absolute neccessity for the deck players….
as do Deans and Hansen…..
Hopefully HM sees the light a sap….
geat to see Brussow back this weekend..
6 Sep 2012, 10:01 am
@grant10-72: Yup for me those are the only two glaring selections (and possibly 15). I would like to see Flo starting this weekend with Lambie at 10.
6 Sep 2012, 10:08 am
its a good article but i disagree about frans being moved to fullback.
rather get pat in at 15 and remove morne as quick as possible.
then frans will fire.
6 Sep 2012, 10:10 am
It has been a while since the Boks had such a great opportuinity to beat the Wallabies in Aus. With the Australian team in such utter dissary the Boks should have been perfectly poised to take advantage and score a memorable win on Ausie soil.
Just a pity the Boks are not in a good place as well. I really hope things start coming together this weekend for the Boks and Heyneke, because of it does not I’d rather not watch next weekend’s game against the ABs.
6 Sep 2012, 10:11 am
@Skeppie-73: yes…those would have been my selections as well…..
Perhaps Alberts at 8 ….Vermeulen last 30
Marcelle at 7
Flo 6…..
Once Vermeulen 100% then Marcelle to bench as cover for all 3 loosie spots…Alberts back to 7…
6 Sep 2012, 10:31 am
#68 John Galt – This Polotu Nau chap is a 113kg, very big for a hooker, must be same size as Bissie. Me thinks the Ozzies will be well up for this game, they still have more experience in their team than we do!
6 Sep 2012, 10:34 am
rangerman – I agree. We have no decent 12 and Frans Steyn has been playing at 12 in France for a while. Besides at last years RWC Frans Steyn was our best player. PDV said the only correct thing in his 4 years when he said loosing F Steyn was more detrimental to the Boks than it was for ABs to lose DC!!
6 Sep 2012, 10:42 am
@papaown-59:
I dont think it wouldve been fair if Lambie or Jantjies took over from Steyn and eventually be replaced by Goosen, who is HMs long term first choice. I wont be surprised if MS doesnt make the EOTYT squad. Goosen #1 Jantjies #2.
6 Sep 2012, 10:52 am
@race of tan-78:
if you want to be taken seriously
quoting the ramblings of madman is not the way to do it
6 Sep 2012, 11:06 am
@Jeez-79: Unfair to whom?
It makes no sense to reserve a spot for a promising youngster – the player needs to earn it. So far Goosen is a promising talent but he still needs to be tried at a higher level and earn the 10 jersey.
Personally I would like to see Goosen, Jantjies and Lambie fight it out for the 10 spot.
6 Sep 2012, 11:46 am
Thank god they’re playing in Puth. It’s not uncommon for residents there to start penning letters of complaint relating to noise disturbances, dog poop and handicapped parking bay offenders to Madam Zille, and get as far as the eighth paragraph, before they remember they no longer live in Tokai.
6 Sep 2012, 11:48 am
@Bokhoring-81:
Agree 100%.
I am a huge fan of Goossen’s play, but he needs to get a shot to see if he can take the step up. None of this anointing of the lad as the answer to Bok fan’s dreams before he has played a minute in the green and gold.
He should fight for a place with Jantjies, Lambie and Steyn and may the best man win.
6 Sep 2012, 11:53 am
**** off Kirtchner.
6 Sep 2012, 11:55 am
@Skeppie-69:
Here is another great article.
http://www.sharksworld.co.za/2012/09/06/bok-chances-some-get-plenty-others-get-none/#comment-414399
6 Sep 2012, 12:11 pm
@Bokhoring-81: To expect Lambie or Jantjies to play 10 behind a very inexperienced pack would be unfair and then replace them when Goosen takes over even more so.
6 Sep 2012, 14:01 pm
@rangerman-74: I think HM is waiting on Taute to come back for 15 … it seems he has his players in mind and reluctant to drop the incumbants until they are ready –
Spies to Vermullet
Morne to Goosen
Zane to Taute
Becker to JKruger – back to JK as Bekker obvious not well.
Fetcher one area of concern as he was waiting on Shalk who we know is a hybrid deck player that HM wants. I disagree and still think Brussow/Flo have a role.
Biz and Coonie massive loss !!
6 Sep 2012, 14:05 pm
@Craven-75: Realistically we will be looking at home games to turn over Aus and hopefully NZ ..
6 Sep 2012, 14:34 pm
Honestly, it is a hard judgement to make about HM as the coach. I will give him time before I make a call. I agree with doughnut in that HM has a long term plan. Give him time, we’ll see what happens.
6 Sep 2012, 14:46 pm
A lot of criticism of the wallabies but you have to give credit to their defence – the AB team put 15 tries on Ireland over three games yet the aussies held us to 3 in two games.
I wouldn’t expect blistering attack but eventually a back line with Genia, Kurtley, Digby, and Quade is going to find form and it will sting someone. A pity there’s no O’Bieber or Mitchell. And a pity they have no platform up front to work off.
6 Sep 2012, 15:06 pm
Where is Bakkies??? Just for you
http://www.rugby365.com/article/49459-gatland-o-neill-influenced-ref
6 Sep 2012, 15:27 pm
The Boks might actually win it against the mercenaries dominated Wallabies team (Digby, Cooper, Genia, Samo, Paulu Malu and the No 4, all of whom had moved to Australia as rugby players to ply their trade there), the down side is it may entrench Morne Styen, Kirchner and Habana in their positions.
Which would not be good enough against the ABs
6 Sep 2012, 15:36 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-91:
ex(farking)actly!
only every last fool on the planet knows that game was fixed and double fixed by the kiwis. it suited them fine to do right by the ozzies after setting them up to face and tire the boks out that they should also eliminate their one and only real threat to winning the wc.
these kiwi chops can say what they like but its the truth and the world knows it.
and it puts their pathetic 95 conspiracy claiims in perspective too, at least we had the guts to face them in order to win a wc. they on the other hand chickened.
6 Sep 2012, 15:49 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-93:
har har har har
farken hilarious..
my therapist would like to talk to you bakkies… but hey, now you know how kiwis felt after 07, when Barnes, who had a vested interest because the winner of the match went on to face England in the semi, penalised France twice in 80 minutes, not once in the last 50 minutes (unheard of in rugby still to this day) with France having a massive 30% possession..
yet all and sundry on this blog told us we should have won without the refs influence, and that Barnes was indeed a fair ref that day..
so using your guys logic, Lawrence was much fairer than barnes, suck it up loser!!
you guys should also have won regardless, backs dropping the ball with the tryline open.. why didnt you guys go for the drop goal? (was another one we heard ad nauseum)..
nice to be able to “get the Japies” thoroughly deserved with supporters like yourself..
6 Sep 2012, 15:58 pm
I knew this would set you off on a totally new paper trail of conspiracy.
But if you read the article, Gatland is accusing John o Neill of indirectly inlfuencing Brycie, with mind games……
So Bryce is a victim in the Gatland version…
John o Neill and the sneaky littleaussiefuckers are your TRUE enemies Bakkies……..
6 Sep 2012, 17:09 pm
@katman-82: Hey you cant blame them they probably sick and tired of being bled to death by paying taxes so Bongani can have 5 kids
6 Sep 2012, 18:08 pm
“Stow the infantile Bryce Lawrence rhetoric ” – ????
Jon – I usually enjoy your writing the most, and you dont normally resort to this holier-than-thou, elitist attitude that blights Ryan on-te-Vrede.
Dont belittle the Bok and SA supporters that read your writing. Very few fans would say it was 100% Bryce’s fault (well I hope anyway!).
But it was as much as Bryce as it was PoKok! For eg. the ball that was played ion the ground in front of the Aus poles when Schalk took it in was by Horwill, not PoHaan
6 Sep 2012, 18:08 pm
@katman-82: HAHAHAHAHAHA vlymskerp!
6 Sep 2012, 18:13 pm
Brussow and taute back for their provinces…
Boks need you to dragons!!!
Heineke need 2 pick them for home games
6 Sep 2012, 18:42 pm
Agreed. Both are vital. Alberts to 4, Estebeth to 5 and Brussouw to 6. Done deal.
6 Sep 2012, 19:55 pm
@poppa69-94:
rumbled
who’s baiting now
6 Sep 2012, 20:02 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-95:
not at all so.
think it through. it was a kiwi who sunk the ozzzies against ireland and the same kiwi who sunk the boks in turn. perfect.
the kiwis were out to play their dirty game all along and even if they did join the party late they still knew exactly what theywanted out of any little deal with o’neil.
he just desperately pressed them to do them a good turn but the kiwis had a bigger picture cowardice act going. galtand is careful not to burn his kiwi chums as much as he would an ozzie. it helps that the lions face oz as well the fact they’ll do their best to tar the oz after the unceremonious dismisal of paddy and lawrence.
thet’re are a craftily dirty lot these kiwis, but i would have respected the outcome more if they at least had the guts to face us, which thet didn’t.
6 Sep 2012, 21:34 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-102:
That’s rich considering South Africa is the country that invented cheating refs
I see your still ranting on about NZ “rigging the 2011 cup ”
That quarter final exit sure did cut you REAL DEEP
Heres a hint
Try and show some dignity
6 Sep 2012, 22:13 pm
Fixed by us??
Ozzie won the 3 nations, they were a better team than the Boks, why the hell would we fix it so we play a better team?
You have a real problem with us Kiwis but you keep saying you dont. Now look at what just happened. Not once did Gatland saying fixed by the kiwis, he said O’Neil MAY have had an influence.
6 Sep 2012, 22:30 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-102:
You have to be kidding.
You actually got all that from reading what Gatland said about O’Neil?
You have serious issues man.
Boks lost, get over it. They were wooden spooners in the 3 nations and 8th in the RWC, and you still think the Boks were the only team to be able to beat the ABs, shows how much respect you have for other teams.
Plain and simple….NOT GOOD ENOUGH, so give it a rest.
6 Sep 2012, 22:32 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-95:
Bakkies went all pitbull on that original post.
Thing is you put the bait out there and called the fish to the hook, wow.
6 Sep 2012, 22:43 pm
Anyway, i have feeling about this game.
The Ozzies are going to get beat.
Boks are going to click this game, its a matter of having to.
If Boks do not win, it really could mean the ABs will win the first tournament , of course thats if we beat Argentina, which could be harder than said.
If both teams find there top game, i still think the Boks forwards will win them the game. The few times i have seen the Boks play this year….in patches when they have clicked, i have not seen one team that hits the rucks and clear with speed like that. Boks backs will not win games, forwards will.
6 Sep 2012, 22:45 pm
Bakkies ur rediculous. Get a hold of you’re membranes…seriously.
6 Sep 2012, 22:49 pm
I think the boks will step up when it comes down like it is now. As for nzl, they should win comfortably…they will have to just stay composed, im sure there pumas will be all fired up.
7 Sep 2012, 00:18 am
Bakkies needs a job or hobby. Too much time to think up rubbish
7 Sep 2012, 00:50 am
I guess Boks will win. They simply have to, otherwise they are hopeless.
Firstly, Perth is the most home-alike venue in Aus/NZ for South Africa and their record there is very nice. Secondly, despite Boks being Wallabies bunnies in recent times and despite unimpressive playing under HM (apart from powerful 20 or so minutes in J-burg vs England) and coming unstuck big time at the Andes, Aussie woes look more serious – without their prime weapon Pocock, with currently out-of-sorts Cooper, not that very much shiny Genia and their constant source of “pride” – The Scrum. Add to it a certain Nigel Owens who, IMHO, will lash those so called scrummies all day long.
This is the golden opportunity for the Boks and as long as Morne Steyn kicks expected three-pointers, job should be done.
7 Sep 2012, 00:59 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-102: I guess you will keep whingeing all the same even 50 years later.
7 Sep 2012, 00:59 am
The most predicable elements in world sport today:
1. Boks #10
2. Boks #15
7 Sep 2012, 03:09 am
OK so Manly Bok said something to me the other day that stuck with me, the Wallabies are playing like a team wanting to get rid of their coach!
So last night some Oz commentators was saying Deans need to win 4 out of his next 5 games to keep his job, one, Kafer said no matter what, he is a goner. This is in stark contrast to the support they have been giving him over the last few years…I think the fat lady is warming up.
Based on this alone I think the Boks will win by a few, say 5.
7 Sep 2012, 03:31 am
@Slartibartfast-114:
The dance of the desparado’s
Koos, how is old Manley Bok? Long time since I heard that name!
7 Sep 2012, 03:34 am
I see the AB’s and commentators in NZ are whinging about Ted being with the Arrgies………..
and some of the tossers here love to call Saffers whingers., faaark me there is always something over here to whinge about!!
7 Sep 2012, 04:02 am
@whatever-116:
Well leave NZ. Simple.
Not everyone is complaining about it. I listen to talk back sports radio during the day.
Just imagine Jake White left and joined another international team straight after the RWC win. I am sure a few would be complaining.
And for the record, we were not complaining first about GH in with the Pumas. In fact you guys were complaning, and saying the Pumas were cheating cos of GH, reasons why the game ended up to be a draw.
So yes, we do call some of you guys whingers and going on that we have every right.
Seems like you need to leave NZ and get back to your roots, whenever you come on here its a whinge and name calling session, even Keo pulled you on that a few weeks back lol now that was funny.
7 Sep 2012, 04:28 am
@whatever-115: @whatever-115:
He said jail time was much better this time around…;-)
@Hurricane-117:
The complaining would have been about saru and their stupidity to kick him out to be replaced by a clown. The pain of that decision is till around…
PS I have not read a lot of posts over the last few days but did anyone pick up on the fact we only have 4 players from the 1/4 final exist in the run-on team on Saturday? Yet another indication of how much work the Meyer has to do…
7 Sep 2012, 04:39 am
@poppa69-94:
I don’t usually reply to trolls but…..
Penalty count: NZ vs France RWC 2007 – Fr: 7; NZ: 2 (Total 9)
Penalty count: Aus vs RSA RWC 2011 – Aus: 5 RSA:4 (Total 9)
I suppose, by Kiwi logic, Boks got 100% more penalties…
For the record: I reckon 2007 was suspicious, and 2011 even more so!
7 Sep 2012, 04:57 am
@Hurricane-117:
Hey you put out a line, I put out a line! Grow some balls you whinging git! Tell me what the faak my comment has to do with where and how I choose to live?
You becoming a doos just like poppadoos!
7 Sep 2012, 04:58 am
@Slartibartfast-118:
7 Sep 2012, 05:30 am
Tomorrow…
Forecast for Saturday
Sunny. Moderate northeasterly winds.
Precis: Sunny.
City: Min 7 Max 25
7 Sep 2012, 06:39 am
@Hurricane-117:
Hey I missed Keo “pulling me up”, must have been funny if he did. Almost like a “user” kaking his kids out for smoking dope
7 Sep 2012, 07:46 am
@whatever-120:
“faaark me there is always something over here to whinge about!!”
So you bought up the country, understand now.
@whatever-123:
Yeah it was a bit like that.
7 Sep 2012, 07:47 am
@spartan-103:
@Hurricane-104:
@Hurricane-105:
it is an ugly part of who you are as a people, deal with it.
very similarly reflected in how you play the game, which is dirty and dishonest.
i am sorry to say it, but it is true.
nz could have been a great rugby nation with respect across the world but you threw the oppotunity away. its lost now.
this is not my fault for pointing it out. naked emperor thing.
7 Sep 2012, 07:48 am
@Nils-112:
just telling it like it is boet.
7 Sep 2012, 07:50 am
Get a life, Bakkies.
And look on the bright side of things, at least SA & Aus can lay claim to “winning” World Cups AWAY FROM HOME!!!
7 Sep 2012, 07:52 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-125:
So you are calling me dirty and dishonest?
You havent got a clue who i am.
Even a few South Africans on here are starting to get sick of your rubbish.
I really cant help you if you think that little of me.
Pathetic really.
7 Sep 2012, 07:53 am
@BrumbiesBoy-127:
And that will change in 2015 sorry to say.
7 Sep 2012, 08:02 am
@Hurricane-129: Maybe, but you never know!
It’s “OUR TURN” next…
7 Sep 2012, 08:12 am
@BrumbiesBoy-130:
haha
Yep you just never know
7 Sep 2012, 08:33 am
@BrumbiesBoy-127:
why cant people just be honest?
@Hurricane-128:
no hurri, not on a personal level but your rugby is dirty and dishonest. i’m sure the same goes for all of nz outside of rugby.
7 Sep 2012, 08:35 am
Perth – Springboks Rugby World Cup-winning coach Jake White has called on the Wallabies forwards to dramatically lift their standards against South Africa on Saturday, otherwise they will suffer their third straight humiliating Test loss.
The now Brumbies coach believes the Wallabies forwards’ inability to dominate the gain line battle has made it virtually impossible for the Australian attack to perform.
White is not hiding from these comments, instead giving the team a jarring rev-up for tomorrow night’s Perth Test, with revealing statistics that emphasise how impotent the Wallabies forwards were in the two Bledisloe Cup Tests.
White, who was involved in 11 internationals against the Wallabies while Springboks coach between 2004 and 2007, makes the telling point that Radike Samo made more metres in one international last year than the whole Wallabies pack combined in the Sydney and Auckland losses.
”Some of the statistics from the recent Bledisloe Cup clashes are mind blowing,” White wrote. ”In two Tests the Wallabies forwards carried the ball just 80 metres (50 in Sydney then 30 in Auckland), while the All Blacks forwards carried for 225 metres – almost three times as much.
”Much criticism has been aimed at the Wallabies attack for failing to score a try in Auckland, but it may not be the backs’ fault. The real issue is the Wallabies forwards are not gaining any ascendancy at the gain line so the backs have no platform to launch attacking raids.
”The backs can be creative as they like, and the Wallabies back line is full of creative players, but without the time and space to execute their attack they were easily closed down by the All Blacks.
”There could be two reasons for this. Either the Wallabies, in their desperation to attack, are getting the ball to the backs too often or the forwards are being given the ball but can’t gain any ascendancy. The latter isn’t surprising as they are missing some of their best ball carriers.” This includes Wycliff Palu and James Horwill, who are both injured, while Tatafu Polota-Nau and Samo hasn’t started every Test.
”In one run last year against the All Blacks in Brisbane, Radike Samo carried the ball more than the entire Wallabies pack in the first two clashes this season. Whatever the cause, the Wallabies must go forward.”
White said the Springboks had ”the opposite problem”. Their forwards were carrying the ball too much, and so their attack ”is one dimensional, and, as we saw in Mendoza against Argentina, easily contained”. This is because Heyneke Meyer ”is using the Bulls game plan, based around forward power and gaining a physical edge over opponents”.
The Wallabies forward woes do not end there. Hooker Stephen Moore was yesterday ruled out due to a hamstring injury. As a result of the strain, Polota-Nau will return to the starting line-up, with Saia Faingaa moving onto the reserves bench.
At least tight-head prop Ben Alexander is prepared, explaining he was not distracted by all the speculation over the future of beleaguered coach Robbie Deans, whose position will be placed under greater scrutiny if they lose to the Springboks.
”We feel a responsibility for the side not performing, and our concern is that we play well for our country,” Alexander said. ”The criticism of Robbie hurts us too because its a reflection of us and how we didn’t do a great job representing our country [against the All Blacks].”
Meanwhile, Dan Carter’s Wellington jinx has continued after being ruled out of the All Blacks team to face Argentina on Saturday. Carter strained his left calf muscle at an indoor training session on Thursday morning and will be replaced in the starting No 10 jersey by Aaron Cruden.
Beauden Barrett, who has trained with the squad this week, will come onto the reserve bench.
Teams:
7 Sep 2012, 08:47 am
white dances to whoever pays the tune.
there is some obvious points made though.
7 Sep 2012, 08:50 am
@Hurricane-128:
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-132:
just to be clear, by the following:
“no hurri, not on a personal level but your rugby is dirty and dishonest. i’m sure the same goes for all of nz outside of rugby”
i actually meant all of nz is NOT dirty and dishonest outside of rugby.
7 Sep 2012, 08:59 am
white looks funny with these specs:
http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/RugbyChampionship/White-revs-up-Oz-forwards-20120907
7 Sep 2012, 09:00 am
@Hurricane-128: not worth the effort Hurri..
losers will always blame anything other then their own teams shortcomings..
remember, bakkies is SA’s new breed, if his sense of entitlement isnt satisfied its because he’s been cheated..
best to let him have his conspiracy, the poor dear has been permanently scarred, what type of true rugby fan will not watch rugby anymore? says it all..
7 Sep 2012, 09:04 am
good morning to you too, poppa
7 Sep 2012, 09:09 am
always at the ready to defend nz’s honour
i really do not understand why telling the truth about a teams clear and obvious characteristics make for such blank disbelief and resentment.
7 Sep 2012, 09:11 am
I must admit to an extra buzz about tomorrows test…..A real Dance of the Desperates….
Deans on a knife edge, Meyer must be feeling the Publics dismay and angst, especially outside of Pretoria, The Wallabies smarting after being nilled, The Boks chastened after the dismal draw in Mendoza, M Steyn staring anxiously at the young Goosen on the bench, F Louw straining at the leash to show what Boks missing at the breakdown….
Some magic ingredients for a Test which, either way, will probably have defining outcomes on a few careers dependent on the outcome….
Fascinating stuff…..
After much soul searching, bone throwing and crystal ball gazing, Boks by 5….
7 Sep 2012, 09:12 am
@grant10-133: geez hey, where do you think jake gets his stats, THIRTY METRES?
http://www.verusco.com/verusco_stats_portal_g.php?compid=4&yearid=16&weekid=2&gameid=1&team=2
7 Sep 2012, 09:14 am
its not like it isn’t a done thing? even the kiwis are quick to the cliches. we all are.
french are unpredictable
welsh like to run
argies have a good scrum
sa are physical
england play 10 man rugby
ozzies are crafty and smart
7 Sep 2012, 09:16 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-136: HAVE YOU READ THIS?
these kiwis are blowing the lid
British & Irish Lions coach Warren Gatland is expecting a full scale assault both on and off the field when his side tackle the Wallabies next year – but his claims have been laughed off by Australian Rugby Union (ARU) boss John O’Neill.
Gatland, whose side will face the Wallabies in a three-Test series in the climax of their 10-game tour, is ready for a war of words and has launched pre-emptive strike by suggesting O’Neill, the ARU’s managing director and chief executive, influenced New Zealand referee Bryce Lawrence during last year’s Rugby World Cup.
In the wake of Australia’s shock loss to Ireland in the pool stages, Gatland has suggested that O’Neill’s criticism of Lawrence’s performance contributed to the Wallabies’ subsequent quarter-final victory over South Africa.
Lawrence, who admitted to mistakes during the game with Ireland, was widely criticised for his handling of the latter clash due to a perceived bias towards Australia at the breakdown with Gatland believing that O’Neill’s complaints were pivotal in proceedings.
“They are masters at it and possibly the best one was John O’Neill, as a master of influence in certain things,” Gatland said. “I don’t see any better example than how the (World Cup) quarter-final between South Africa and Australia was influenced. It was a master stroke.
“I’m not 100% sure, but I think that after Ireland beat Australia in that pool game, certain complaints were made about the referee (Lawrence), subtly and tactfully, and I think that had an impact on the quarter-final.
“We’ve got to be aware about what sort of things are going to be done on and off the field. I’m not decrying it – what he (O’Neill) did was absolutely outstanding for his nation.”
“I’ve got a huge amount of respect for what John O’Neill has done in terms of leading Australian sport – he’s a master at what he does,” added Gatland. “We’ve just got to be aware of what sort of things might be happening behind the scenes to put us off.”
7 Sep 2012, 09:17 am
@Transformation-141:
Yeah was thinking the same thing.
Its an interesting stat and does make a lot of sense but Im farked if I think that the entire Wallabies pack made only 30 metres the whole night.
7 Sep 2012, 09:18 am
@Transformation-141:
there’s your stats and there’s my stats
and then there’s the stats of those stats
everybodies got stats
although it is pretty obvious oz lost on a lot of fronts
7 Sep 2012, 09:25 am
I have a sneaking suspicion all is not well in Aussie camp…..if that is the case and the coach has lost part of the dressingroom then the Boks may be in …..
Meyer would surely have been doing all he can to ensure Boks will be fully mentally up for this 1…….and if we manage to get a forward foothold we may just see an entertaining Test…..
Really , really hoping we use ball more than is normal…..vary the game plan….
Interesting on Boots and All klast night to hear Naas Botha singing the praises of Lambie as a 10 as well…..
@Slartibartfast-114: I put my picks in on Tuesday. Also have Boks by 5. Then again I never go against my teams. Boks or Sharks I always pick them to win. So have to see how we go.
Anything can happen really. Wallabies could klap us and we could sneak a win or even could win big. Hard to tell, but think we should win it by a few. Even with our kick and chase game we have the players to win this. Against the ABs we will never win that one.
77% of all stats are made up anyway.
7 Sep 2012, 09:26 am
@Transformation-143:
yip, read it already yesterday and commented on it.
gatland’s sneaky to frame from a purely ozzie perspective though.
7 Sep 2012, 09:27 am
frans louw straining at the leash..?…
7 Sep 2012, 09:28 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-145: you can look on any stats website, i can’t see where is says all 8 chaps that made up the aussie pack carried the ball only 30 metres.
white is know to succumb to a bit of hyperbole
remember the time the boks got belted on the eoyt and he said the “springboks are under-developed and look like school boys compared to the english” this was with bakkies botha in the team
7 Sep 2012, 09:30 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-150: classic grant!
7 Sep 2012, 09:31 am
@grant10-146: Naas has always rated Lambie at fb and fh he rates him. Has praised Lambie many times after the games he has played. Especially when we played England. Said he was outstanding at fb.
7 Sep 2012, 09:34 am
So if Wallabies lose tomorrow will that be Deans gone? Could be.
See Jake giving some advice to Wallabies on News24.
7 Sep 2012, 09:35 am
@Transformation-151:
he does love playing to the audience, old jakey.
@Transformation-152:
gotta love this country. eveyone’s got ‘the’ angle on how it should go down. just never put all these angles together and its beeyootiful
7 Sep 2012, 09:36 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-138: Shame came you hear the violins from poopa? shame brings a tear to my eyes! scum!
7 Sep 2012, 09:37 am
@Puma-154:
to be honest, i would rather meyer faced deans over the next two years instead of mckenzie. i hope they keep him even if they lose.
7 Sep 2012, 09:39 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-157:
Robbie has a wonderful record against South Africa.
7 Sep 2012, 09:42 am
@Sharksgirl-156:
and he says he never gets baited..?..
poppa’s the kinda guy who it’s in your best interest to continue kicking… even when he’s down
and yes agreed, in his case i do make the exception to refer to a nz’der OUTSIDE OF RUGBY as scum
oh for the love of some medication…
7 Sep 2012, 09:43 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-125:
Hey man I notice you never let the truth get in the way of your twisted imagination
7 Sep 2012, 09:44 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-157: Not sure what they will do. We want to beat the best so if it means McKenzie is there so be it. Shouldn’t hope only to beat teams when they down. We should always be backing ourselves. We a rugby country for pets sake. We should be beating just about everyone. Just like the Abs are doing. I want us to reach those levels just like we were many years back when I grew up.
7 Sep 2012, 09:45 am
@Puma-161: pets = petes
7 Sep 2012, 09:49 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-157: Also don’t just count on McKenzie being the next Wallabie coach. Jake is living there and it could be him. Would then really hate to lose to Aus if he was coaching them. Now that would be even worse than losing to them if McKenzie were their coach.
7 Sep 2012, 09:50 am
@Robzim-158:
yes, against pdivvy he does but considering the weight of unrealised expectations and the pressure its putting oz rugby under there’ll be strains there which should at least even it out a bit for meyer.
the fact he plays a cleaner game, relatively speaking, than mckenzie does is also something worth considering. mckenzie coming into the oz squad will bring new impetus and energy as well a playing style akin to the reds i suppose (which has been well dirty in addition to enterprising).
no, i think we are better off if deans stays at the helm at least until the end of next years 4nations.
7 Sep 2012, 09:53 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-157:
His winning record with the Aussies is nothing to write home about but still marginally better than the record of Loudmouth Lucky Eddie J:
Rod McQueen- 79%
John Connely-64%
Robbie Deans- 58%
Eddie Jones – 57%
McQueen was in a class of his own but he had al time superstars like Eales, Campese, Horan, Little and quite a few other world class players to work with. Deans has lately been very unlucky with injuries to many of his best players and he does not have much depth to work with.
7 Sep 2012, 09:55 am
@spartan-160:
all right then, we have have different opinions regarding some facts.
surprised…?..
@Puma-161:
fair enough, good point.
it is a baptism of fire for meyer though – to rebuild a whole new team and playing style.
its gonna be hard but them’s the breaks as you say.
7 Sep 2012, 09:55 am
@Puma-163:
i would lay big money at the bookies on mckenzie coaching next.
7 Sep 2012, 09:57 am
Aus, NZ SA – All have a dishonest/dirty facet to how the game is played.
Aus – Players and captains continuously whinging to the ref : “..Pleez me ref, don’t you think it’s time for a yellow card..” C’mon, get some honour and see if you can actually win a game with all the opposition players on the field.
NZ –Offside line and breakdown rules that clearly only apply to players in Black. A rap on the knuckles and penalty for players from any other team attempting to play to these unique rules, except in the case of the “offender’ being in green-and-gold, in which case yellow+penalty is the common punishment.
SA – Moer hulle. ‘Cause we don’t a damn believe… No, we know we can’t outsmart them..
7 Sep 2012, 09:59 am
@Robzim-165:
58% really says it all though. even pdivvy has a better ratio.
i think the only thing he can claim in his time was getting the wood over sa enough times to catapult them to 2nd even on the back of such a poor win record. and the one 3nations.
7 Sep 2012, 10:05 am
@rocco-168:
no rocco, you’ve hardly scratched the surface wrt nz’s typical cheating charateristics. there’s daylight between nz and the rest.
7 Sep 2012, 10:06 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-166: Yip we should not worry who is coach and which team we play. We should be beating most.
Agree it will probably be McKenzie, but I will not be surprised if it is Jake.
Do you ever read that Aussie site Roar? Very good site they have all their sports there but plenty on rugby as well. Similar to our Sports24. Campo writes there. Only that Spiro can be a bit of jerk sometimes, never take him too serious. I don’t blog there but read there quite a bit.
7 Sep 2012, 10:07 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-170:
Do you ever give it a rest?
7 Sep 2012, 10:09 am
@Robzim-165:
Correct Deans has been unlucky with unfit and injured players.
Its a cruel game to be a coach sometimes.
7 Sep 2012, 10:10 am
@Puma-171:
thanks, i’ll give it a look.
@Hurricane-172:

alright hurri, thats the last you’ll hear from me on the subject of cheating for today.
7 Sep 2012, 10:20 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-174: I bet you 2 gold watches, a wine farm in Marlborough NZ and a signed AC/DC album that within the next 2 hours, you will have stumbled across some damning evidence of Kiwi cheating; and you will be forced to share it with us.
Deal?
7 Sep 2012, 10:22 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-174: Yes, definitely give it a look. Have to say ‘The Roar’ is one of the best sites around. Only there are mostly Aussies that post there. Have noticed quite a few saffas posting there too. Just great to read what they are saying on the otherside of the world, as to only what we hear here.
7 Sep 2012, 10:23 am
Ja Bakkies give it a rest already
7 Sep 2012, 10:24 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-175:
Umm kiwi cheating to Bakkies is jersey pulling, even though all teams do it, the Kiwis did it first.
7 Sep 2012, 10:26 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-169: in deans’ tenure aus have lost to england twice, lost to ireland, lost to scotland and samoa… 3 out 17 to the all blacks…grim! bok win-ratio only shining light.
7 Sep 2012, 10:36 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-175:
deal
7 Sep 2012, 10:38 am
@Puma-176:
yes, always good for perspective to add two sides of a story.
@Dawn-177:
it’s done, dawn
7 Sep 2012, 10:41 am
@Transformation-179:
my point exaclty.
considering the road heyneke has to travel he would better off with deans there.
but in the interests of rugby as a spectacle i would agee with puma… to be the best you should play the best.
7 Sep 2012, 10:43 am
@Hurricane-178:
huh..?..
i thought we made nice..?..
tricky fella…?..
7 Sep 2012, 10:58 am
Houston you’ve rubbished Deans as a coach, what happens if you lose to a very depleted Aus tomorrow, where will that leave Meyer as a coach?
7 Sep 2012, 11:27 am
@whatever-116: Just browse comments on this topic alone and count number of whinges.
Nah, mate, even Poms come distant second best.
7 Sep 2012, 13:25 pm
win or lose meyer’s rebuilding china.
7 Sep 2012, 14:59 pm
Cheeting schmeeting……funny how if your team wins then they were “smart”, “played to the whistle” or “managed the ref well”. If they lose, then the opposition were cheating, ref was paid (presumably more by the other side !!)or they were poisoned by Suzie Matwetwe…
All relative ain’t it ?
7 Sep 2012, 15:05 pm
@Tiptackle-187: suzie who?
7 Sep 2012, 17:45 pm
We simply have to lose Steyn at 10 and that bog brush at 15 . Bring Lambie in at 10 to dictate or 15 to attach with extra option . That bog brush even though he scored the othervday , is a one trick pony and as the afrikaner says “nie gebou om te hou.”
8 Sep 2012, 14:00 pm
“I’m not convinced that Michael Hooper will translate his Super Rugby form to the Test stage.”
Hooper is a weapon. Was a standout in an otherwise kak pack Australia against the All Blacks. Underestimate him at your peril