KeoTV: Boks in Blacks’ dust
7 Sep 2012
MARK KEOHANE says there has to be drastic changes to the Springboks’ game plan if they hope to compete with and beat the All Blacks consistently.
23 May 2013
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. The others are Gio Aplon, Trevor Nyakane, JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Mapoe, Wiehahn Herbst and Demetri Catrakilis. The group of players will assemble in Durban for the second training camp of the year, before the final squad for the Incoming Tours is selected. Players not considered due to injury include: JP Pietersen, Jaco Taute, Frans Steyn, Johan Goosen, Duane Vermeulen, Pat Cilliers and Frans Malherbe. ... Read Article23 May 2013
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly KEOtv offering, is picking the Bulls in Durban and another Stormers shambles in Cape Town. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8m3yMKuy8yM Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article7 Sep 2012
MARK KEOHANE says there has to be drastic changes to the Springboks’ game plan if they hope to compete with and beat the All Blacks consistently.
DavidSwart has written 13 articles.
6 Sep 2012
17 Aug 2012
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly KEOtv offering, is picking the Bulls in Durban and another Stormers shambles in Cape Town. Read More
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. Read More

452 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All
7 Sep 2012, 11:09 am
so i was at the pub last night and they had a tv on.
generations was showing.
now i havent watched an sabc tv channel in years but whilst i waited for my hansa draught (******* is biting this morning) i watched generations.
in the 40 seconds it took for my beer to be poured (its durbs and we are like chilled here man) the scene revolved around a mother and son exchange around his diet and exercise regime for rugby.
the mom was concerned that the son was taking too much time out of his studies to make it as a rugby player (the youngster was defo a rugby gym boy) and the son was assuring her that he was doing fine on all fronts but was eager to do well at trials.
now it isnt groundbreaking but the mom and son were black and the conversation was in isiZulu.
its pretty cool to see that as it shows rugby is gaining a bigger foothold in black culture (i probably sound patronising and a bit of a relic here lol).
anyways, its simply an observation so i hope the yoof league dont boikott me
7 Sep 2012, 11:11 am
Tell the Sharks they have no skills…
tell them they cant offload and play total rugby
tell them Daniel is too small and Kanko too fragile….
Tell the they have to play skop en jag to be a factor…..
laughable man….we have the skills…in spades…
we have the players…in droves….
but we bang gat and conservative…..
Plumtree should be brought in to assist HM…..not Rassie skop en verdedig Erasmus….
we need to look closely at that Sharks blueprint……
7 Sep 2012, 11:12 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-45:
@mikeybrass-33: how was meyer responsible for the bulls in 2010?
Meyer only ever came back to the Bulls in 2011!
7 Sep 2012, 11:14 am
@Transformation-53: meyer is responsible for ALL the good things that happen at the bulls.
ludeke is responsible for the bad (and pine pienaar too).
didnt you get the memo?
7 Sep 2012, 11:16 am
@rangerman-51: Which pub? Livingstones?
7 Sep 2012, 11:17 am
@grant10-52: it’s not just about “offloading” grant! as a team the way the forwards ATTACK cannot be as predictable as what heyneke meyer has been coaching the boks to be, it is ridiculous…get this straight, we bamboozled the poms for only 30 mins and apart from that they either matched us or anticipated us…
same with the argies, we bulldozed them in cpt cos they were unaware of what was coming, in mendoza they’d figured us out and mugged us!
you can’t offload if you’re smothered plus who you’re going to offload to when the coach never told you to run on the ballcarriers shoulder?
7 Sep 2012, 11:18 am
keo “doesnt know” if the two offloads the boks made in mendoza were in the tackle??
what were they then?
passes?
seriously keo,
wake up.
7 Sep 2012, 11:19 am
@Skeppie-55: no man, another pub.
livingstones showing generations?
not likely.
7 Sep 2012, 11:19 am
@rangerman-54: the kool-aid ran out before i got a chance to sip.
7 Sep 2012, 11:20 am
@Transformation-56: The thing isn’t the off load that’s effective, it the player who is off loading first running into a bit of space so that he can get his hands free to make the off load……can’t offload when you are always running of 9 and into heavy traffic.
7 Sep 2012, 11:21 am
@Transformation-56: hmmmm..is nz’s gameplan a secret or is it simply the way they execute it that makes other teams powerless to nullify?
7 Sep 2012, 11:21 am
@rangerman-58: Ok Mac but where? One of sack’s dodgy pubs?
7 Sep 2012, 11:22 am
Grant the Sharks played total rugby in 3 or 4 games, they have a long way to go before they can play like that 90% of the time.
7 Sep 2012, 11:23 am
@Transformation-59: haha.
you are lucky.
7 Sep 2012, 11:24 am
Tell Paul Jordaan and Serfontein and Rhule the Kiwis are more skillful than them….
Tell Pollard he is inferior skill wise than the Kiwi…..
Tell that Bull 6 that played for wc winning u 20 s he has less fetching skills than a kiwi….
Tell P S D t HE HAS LESS SKILLS THAN A KIWI…..
tHAT THERE IS OUR PROBLEM……WE TALK our ways to negative mindsets…..we believe kiwis are superior then we expect it to be different….
How crazy negative is that Mikey….?
No man…we need to grow a pair…..and man up as Coaches and selectors…..unshackle the negative thinking….really man…
7 Sep 2012, 11:24 am
@Skeppie-62: sack’s?
7 Sep 2012, 11:28 am
@Transformation-56: we need an innovative attack coach my man…
someone who believes in saffas skills….
Mikey Brass must not apply for the job…[ sorry Mikey ]
7 Sep 2012, 11:29 am
durbs has been in the grip of a huge high pressure system for the last few days.
hectic rain and flooding.
jhb is the same i think?
teh sea is brown as all the rivers have come down so my diving is farked and time is running out for crayfish season. not happy.
but the weather guys predict an el nino year with prevailing westerlies instead of our usual summer easterlies so it might end up being a dry summer with drought in certain parts of the country.
good for the spearfishing as the viz will be great but not so good for the farmers although the usa has been hit even worse already.
@grant10-52: The entire Bok coaching team is about as inspiring as Steyn at 10 and Kirtchner at 15- no wonder they carry on selecting them. We’ll never have consistent joy from the Boks results wise and aesthetically as long as we continue to burden them with the dregs of the coaching world.
Regardless of Meyer’s previous success in building a long term Bulls dynasty and unearthing remarkable players he’s simply been out of his depth coaching the Boks so far. He’ll go on about how we dont have the players we used to, but his tactics and gameplan have been cripplingly bad, his selection and sentiments(no traditional openside needed) equally so, he’s contradicted himself and outright lied and no-doubt already has turned a fair few players against him and to top it off he’s surrounded himself with an equally mediocre, ordinary and insular coaching team.
There are no big names or big time rugby coaches in that team, no innovators or guys with their fingers on the pulse of the game. Just a bunch of stooges equally as bad as Pdv, Gold and Muir if not worse.
@rangerman-61: it’s not a secret but it is not telegraphed either…
their forwards also run plays and decoys and aren’t just expected to stand, bash, get up – repeat sequence.
mick byrne is the ABs skills coach, he works the lineout, skills, attacking lines and rucks…he has the responsibilty to keep things fresh to flumox the set opposition defences…
7 Sep 2012, 11:30 am
@NZINCHINA-63: Boks havent played it in years mate
7 Sep 2012, 11:31 am
@rangerman-51: i hardly ever watch generations but i know who u’re talking about..
the conversation was prolly in isiXhosa..
7 Sep 2012, 11:31 am
@grant10-52: the guppies were moered by the Chiefs with their boy wonder playing at 15 nuff said.
7 Sep 2012, 11:36 am
Grant play to your strengths, you’ll never beat Nz teams in backline play just not as much natural flair.
7 Sep 2012, 11:36 am
@Spiesisworthless1-69: At this point I understand your sentiments and frustrations….and to a degree share them….
The inclusion of F Louw did make me sit up and think that maybe HM is not as dof as some of his actions to date seem to indicate….
To be fair to him I am willing to wait and see what happens once he is back in SA and has players like Brussow and Goosen fuly fit and available….
I want HM to succeed ….I dont want to live through another 2010 and 2011 when the train smash was so abundantly easy to predict…..that WC 2011 WAS A NIGHTMARE FOR ME PERSONALLY….DONT WANT THAT AGAIN…
sO i AM STILL HOPING mEYER WILL COME THROUGH….
fARK…SORRY CAPS
7 Sep 2012, 11:40 am
@RL-73: The travl was a factor….in fact it was insane …lets be real here mate…
The rugby sharks played prior to that final was incredible….
Boks would do well to study the tapes….better still get Plum involved for the home leg …he must be all holidayed out by now…
7 Sep 2012, 11:42 am
@NZINCHINA-74: bull s hit….
go tell that to the players I mentioned in my previous post….
we lose trying to bliksem and moer …..and oordonder….
you okes will kak in your broekies the day we embrace a truly ball in hand approach…
natural flair se moer man…..
7 Sep 2012, 11:46 am
@Spiesisworthless1-69: i’d like to hear kiwi coach complain in a few years that “we don’t richie anymore or carter, or thorne or hayman or woodcock or mealamu”
i mentioned it before: since 2007 the kiwis have introduced 10 player or more who are regulars in their team – read, kaino, franks, dagg, jane, kahui, sbw, conrad smith, sam whitelock, messam, thomson, aaron smith – but at no point have we EVER heard them accept LOSING because they’re building!
NEVER!
7 Sep 2012, 11:49 am
according to the KEO punters like yourself SA has the most talent, the greatest player depth on the planet, the best forwards and now your backs are also as skilled as anybody else things are looking pretty good then, when do expect all of this will translate into trophies etc?
7 Sep 2012, 11:50 am
Wallabies by 11+. I had boks at 3+. But arrogance has annoyed me to wallabies by 11.
@grant10-67: Mikey’s an archeologist. His career is in ruins.
@Transformation-72: could have been bud, the sound was quite bad and i had one eye on the draught
@grant10-76: they played like that mostly because their pack was on fire and because they had a frog general – not because of Plum. They going to miss Michalak and they need a like for like replacement – in Elton.
7 Sep 2012, 11:53 am
I see most of the suurgette’s happy pills have not kicked in yet. FFS if you open a thread on this site it is three things Heyneke, Steyn, selections….. blah blah and the same old tired tits trying to prove their rugby genius. Nee fokkit man.
The team is selected finish and klaar. get the beers in the fridge and start cutting the biltong EN HOU OP ****** MOAN!!!!
7 Sep 2012, 11:54 am
@Transformation-78:
Good point well said
7 Sep 2012, 11:57 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-84: Ag jou gat man
7 Sep 2012, 11:59 am
@stavros-80: what arrogance stavros?
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-84: fokkof…this is a site that generates its income based on people posting opinions, if you’re bored gaan!
@trupisero-86: Jaaa jou gomgat!!!!!! Sit en kou aan n lekker rump steak hierso nou kom meng jy in. Hoe lyk dinge?
7 Sep 2012, 12:00 pm
@Transformation-88: Fokkof se jy? Jou moer man!!
7 Sep 2012, 12:00 pm
@mikeybrass-43:
‘you got sexy eyes’..?.
god i miss bakkies botha
where have all the good men gone…
@Transformation-44:
dont say that transie, please
dont say that
we are better than this, well rise again.
7 Sep 2012, 12:01 pm
are we headed for part duex of this?
Mediocrity triumphs
This entry was posted on Monday, December 4th, 2006
We are not a mediocre sporting nation that settles for second best. And what the Springboks have offered in the last 24 months has been second best, writes Keo in his Business Day column.
An opportunity was lost in not dismissing Jake White as Springbok coach. One victory, against an England side whose only success in their last nine internationals was against the Boks, has created an illusion of comfort.
The President’s Council determined that White was the right man to lead South Africa to the World Cup. They were comfortable in everything White was doing and expressed confidence in his so-called World Cup plan and in his team’s performances for 2006.
Apparently they also accepted White’s belief that Santa Claus lives.
Flying White to Cape Town from London to give him a pat on the back, at a cost of R40 000, was a farce and another example of the flaky fiscal discipline one associates with the South African Rugby Union.
The President’s Council, devoid of individuals with the rugby technical background, was ill-equipped to analyse White’s Boks. The structural weakness within the national organization was again exposed through the absence of a strong National Director of Rugby and a rugby technical committee. It is this Director of Rugby who should have led the inquisition into the national coach and Springbok rugby.
This person should have probed the details of White’s 59 percent success rate in 37 tests, which is less than the Boks historical test winning average of 62.24 percent. White’s success has dropped each year, from 69 percent to 66 percent to 41 percent in 2006. His selections have been poor; his choice of game plan equally poor and his refusal to change has stunted progress. These are all issues a rugby committee should have dissected.
Why could the Boks only score 18 tries in their last 11 tests? Why did they leak 33 tries in the same period? What was the explanation for crushing defeats at home against the French and All Blacks? How did the Springboks lose 49-0 to Australia in Brisbane and 32-15 to Ireland in Dublin? What technically was wrong with the Boks in Dublin that Ireland broke the Bok line on 18 occasions? Why were blokes picked and played out of position all year?
How difficult was White’s schedule when compared to the demands placed on Andre Markgraaff in 1996 when the Boks played the All Blacks five times, Australia twice and France twice in France? Or how different was it to Harry Viljoen’s 2001 when the Boks played the French three times, the All Blacks twice, Australia twice and a potent England at Twickenham? How different was it to every one of Nick Mallett’s years in charge or even Rudolf Straeuli’s? The fact is it wasn’t that much different and ever year the Boks have a difficult itinerary.
But it is expected that Springbok teams cope. Only New Zealand can compare with the production line of talent produced in South Africa. The expectation on the Boks is rightfully high and it is unacceptable when a Bok team gets thrashed twice in South Africa, as happened against France and New Zealand, and loses so easily against decent opposition away from home.
There should be a consequence to these results, which there was not otherwise White would not be the national coach this morning.
Asking everyone to be supportive of the national coach and to project an image of sunshine does not address the problems pointed out in this column. The Boks, in 2006, did not play good rugby and the national coach has not once given the public an explanation as to why this is the case.
The public should not be accepting of SARU press releases that state the coach explained to the President’s Council that his World Cup plan is on track. What plan? A plan that produced three wins in 10 against the major World Cup opposition? A plan based on picking 12 white players out of 15 on average every weekend?
Springbok teams cannot settle for second best and the paying public should never accommodate the kind of mediocrity the well paid White’s well paid professionals have produced.
In 2006 we’ve been forced to watch a clueless Bok team and then been subjected to the ramblings of a coach who has perfected the art of coming second and convinced the 14 provincial presidents that he has actually come first.
The New Year cannot come soon enough. Enjoy the man in the red suit with the white beard because he apparently also has a World Cup plan for White’s Boks.
This entry was posted on Monday, December 4th, 2006
7 Sep 2012, 12:01 pm
@NZINCHINA-79: jeez you are a whiner.
you started off pretty normal but every day without fail you are on here absolutely flabbergasted that bok fans rate their team?
no man you kiwis are simply too precious.
you are like the final part of the lord of the rings movie trilogy that went on 20 mins too long as was about as g a y as the topgun volleyball scene.
wake up.
7 Sep 2012, 12:02 pm
@Transformation-53:
oh transie (rolling eyes smiley)
you know he was responsible for the structures and players which ludeke inherited for his wins.
you know this
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-90: hahaha in jou moer!
@grant10-65:
its grant10 everybody..!…
7 Sep 2012, 12:04 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-94: inherited, inherited…so by this logic TWO of deans’ super rugby titles are actually wayne smith’s as deans inherited his structures at the crusaders?
i hear you
7 Sep 2012, 12:05 pm
@rangerman-57:
keo doesn’t know if the two ‘offloads’ he made in colombia were in the tackle..
7 Sep 2012, 12:05 pm
@grant10-52: The Sharks would not have made it through if it wasn’t for the new format. It took Plum a long time to get his players playing like that. There is no uniformity across SA rugby.
7 Sep 2012, 12:08 pm
@Transformation-53: No, he returned for 2010.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All