KeoTV: Boks in Blacks’ dust
7 Sep 2012
MARK KEOHANE says there has to be drastic changes to the Springboks’ game plan if they hope to compete with and beat the All Blacks consistently.
13 May 2013
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Stormers strong man Duane Vermeulen returned home from the Stormers Super Rugby tour because of injury and conservatively won't play again until July. It could be that he is out for the remainder of the Super Rugby season as well because of knee ligament damage. Stormers loose-forward Rynhardt Elstadt is also out for at least six weeks as the Cape-based franchise's season went from bad to worse in Sydney. Vermeulen, Meyer's first choice No 8, will be nursed back to action for the Rugby Championship in August. His injury means a likely Bok start ... Read Article20 May 2013
GREGOR PAUL, in the Herald on Sunday, writes world rugby will get its integrated season after the 2015 World Cup and Super Rugby won't break to accommodate an international window. Super Rugby will shift to a March start and won't break for test matches, the June window will be shifted to July and all players will have a 14 to 16-week off-season. Other innovative plans are being discussed, such as building a world series of tests in years that fall between the World Cup and British Lions tours. The revolution that All Black coach Steve Hansen called for last week is coming. The players ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article7 Sep 2012
MARK KEOHANE says there has to be drastic changes to the Springboks’ game plan if they hope to compete with and beat the All Blacks consistently.
DavidSwart has written 13 articles.
6 Sep 2012
17 Aug 2012
GREGOR PAUL, in the Herald on Sunday, writes world rugby will get its integrated season after the 2015 World Cup and Super Rugby won’t break to accommodate an international window. Read More
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Read More

452 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All
7 Sep 2012, 12:09 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-84:
pour yourself a bells
7 Sep 2012, 12:10 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-98: keo doesnt seem to understand what an “offload” refers to because if the ball moves from one player to another in the abscence of a tackle then surely it is referred to as a pass?
7 Sep 2012, 12:11 pm
@grant10-65: You’re missing the point: a basic uniform skill set across the board, the coaching to use those skills, the right game plan and the ability to implement those skills 90% of the time. We do not have all this YET. The All Blacks do. It’s not darn negative, it is a challenge to get all our players (and not just the standouts) to that level.
@rangerman-66: Bradley Hancock…
@mikeybrass-100: where can i verify this?
7 Sep 2012, 12:13 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-101: Thats what I thought as well and I got told to fokkoff….
7 Sep 2012, 12:15 pm
@Skeppie-104: oh ok, nah he doesnt really drink too much.
7 Sep 2012, 12:17 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-106:
in that case pour yourself a double instead and tell those okes to fokkoff
7 Sep 2012, 12:18 pm
@NZINCHINA-79: When we have good forward thinking coaches who get rid of this kick an up and under and the rest of the team sits and prays that someting happens different to the previous 10 times that they did that
I am strongly of the opinion that SA has a wealth of playing talent but are handicapped by mediocre, provincialist coaches!
7 Sep 2012, 12:18 pm
@rangerman-102: Don’t come here and be sensible man
7 Sep 2012, 12:19 pm
@Transformation-105:
i will vouch for him.
he’s being totally honest, transie.
7 Sep 2012, 12:20 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-91: Yup, the “sexy eyes” nd the wink
@trupisero-81: Those who don’t learn from the past are doomed to repeat it
7 Sep 2012, 12:20 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-108: Hehehe. Een of twee te veel dan vloek ek dalk iemand se ma se tjops….. Anyways ek moet laat wiel na n meeting toe. Geniet die ruggas die naweek.
7 Sep 2012, 12:21 pm
@mikeybrass-110: apologies
7 Sep 2012, 12:22 pm
@rangerman-102:
no, passing is what every other player does.
offloading, instead, is what SB dubya does.
7 Sep 2012, 12:23 pm
@mikeybrass-110:

snaaks
7 Sep 2012, 12:27 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-115: haha, oh ja i forgot he has the patent
7 Sep 2012, 12:36 pm
@grant10-65:
Numnuts… it was the poor skill-sets that almost had the U20′s not making the play-offs… it was the combination of the lineout drive, the scrum, heavy collisions and a superior kicking game that took them all the way against NZ…
7 Sep 2012, 12:38 pm
@Skeppie-104: log you still around?
7 Sep 2012, 12:38 pm
Ranger it was a pretty fair question, if you have all this talent and depth why then on an annual basis when you play the two best other teams in the world do you win the trophy 18% of the time?
7 Sep 2012, 12:39 pm
rumbled you you bugger
we must go for a pint at saders some time, we can rope hanks in.
better than a midnight police-fest at the cube i think.
7 Sep 2012, 12:41 pm
@NZINCHINA-120: its not the question china, its the continuous whining that has become your trademark bud.
consider this as an intervention and find your way back to discussing rugby because like poops, you have become the online equivalent of a gnat.
you are better than this buddy, sniping at the comments of a few and ignoring the actual converstaion surely gets boring?
7 Sep 2012, 12:42 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-111: mnxim, hulle praat klomp nonsense…meyer only got back to being DoR at the bulls in 2011, that’s it….Ludeke has 3 super rugby titles
by your logic then Wayne Smith has about 4 Super Rugby titles because Deans used his structures at the Crusaders to win more!
7 Sep 2012, 12:43 pm
@rangerman-119: Log…..you think I am Bretty? While I am complimented I am certainly not the one they call Harold, Bertold, Bertus….
7 Sep 2012, 12:44 pm
@bryce_in_oz-118: can you confirm jake’s allegation that the wallabies pack “only carried the ball THIRTY METRES” in the whole match in Auckland?
7 Sep 2012, 12:45 pm
@Skeppie-124: well then i recuse myself from the drinks offer.
havent heard hanks being called sacks for years though lol.
you fit the bill though considering he is semi retired with time to blog
7 Sep 2012, 12:48 pm
Its not moaning Ranger Im asking a question in response to the repeated claims that you have the most talent etc clearly you don’t otherwise you’d win more but we can agree to disagree on that one, good luck tomorrow an Aus win will seal the RC for us, a 3 all draw would be perfect catch you next time work calls.
7 Sep 2012, 12:48 pm
@rangerman-126: it must suck that yo don’t know who skeppie is and he pegged you from the get
7 Sep 2012, 12:50 pm
@NZINCHINA-127: repetitive sniping bud.
its boring.
hope the argies beat nz tomorrow.
have a good weekend.
7 Sep 2012, 12:51 pm
@Transformation-128:
not really bud.
does it mean i am infamous?
7 Sep 2012, 12:51 pm
@rangerman-126: He is one of my best mates but i am not him. Do you still play tennis? Your Ballies old house by Northwood was home to some killers championships!
7 Sep 2012, 12:52 pm
@NZINCHINA-127: you’re just being sour chap…use your own brains…
you’re like nothing but fot saffas to come here and defer “almighty” status on the ABs but since you don’t get it, you persist with churlish rhetorical questions foolishly disguised as inquisitiveness…
it’s tired
7 Sep 2012, 12:52 pm
@Transformation-128: Transie, that’s cos I am basically Jedi.
7 Sep 2012, 12:53 pm
@Skeppie-131: haha, we are getting somewhere.
ag i havent picked up a tennis racket in anger in years.
still love the game.
ja, that tennis court was epic.
7 Sep 2012, 12:53 pm
@Transformation-132: ^ you’d like nothing
7 Sep 2012, 12:54 pm
@Transformation-132:
its sooooo tired.
china expects bok fans to bow down to the all blacks.
never gonna happen.
@Skeppie-133:
7 Sep 2012, 12:56 pm
@Transformation-123: Ludeke has two titles. Meyer has 1.
Meyer also rejoined the Bulls company in 2010. He got the title of Director of Rugby in 2011.
Meyer returns and the Bulls start winning again. Meyer leaves and the Bulls… Ludeke is not **** like his stint at the Lions made him out to be but neither is he in Meyer’s class.
7 Sep 2012, 12:56 pm
@Transformation-123: Deans didn’t have Smith as his boss
7 Sep 2012, 13:00 pm
@mikeybrass-137: he “joined” them in what capacity?
7 Sep 2012, 13:02 pm
@mikeybrass-138: he used the “structures” remember?
7 Sep 2012, 13:03 pm
@mikeybrass-137: where was meyer in ’09 when the bulls raped the chiefs, coaching behind the scenes?
7 Sep 2012, 13:07 pm
Just read that John Mitchell will be in the Supersport studios tommorrow for the AB game, good on him. Any chance he is sticking round here for reasons other than those trumped up and weak charges that are the subject of a hearing? Watch the Lions fools cockthehearingup and end up having to pay Mitchell more than what they owe their poor franchise partners……
7 Sep 2012, 13:08 pm
@Transformation-141: When Meyer came back from the UK, he worked for USN if I remember correctly.
7 Sep 2012, 13:12 pm
Not that I watched this – but weren’t we asked 3 weeks ago by Keo to be patient with Meyer?
7 Sep 2012, 13:14 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-113:

dankie ou kwagga, en dieselfde vir u. geniet maar die biltong en die bier. ek hou vanaand vir bafana dop en more die bokke. die all blacks kan maar gaan skuit
7 Sep 2012, 13:15 pm
I don’t know who is going to win this one, battle for second place, I want to see the Boks Take on the blacks, I think Keo is a right in saying to take number 1 you have to beat the ABs regularly, The Boks have to play their own game but, if you make the mistake of trying to play their game, guess what, you will lose every time
7 Sep 2012, 13:16 pm
@Transformation-123:
you are tjatjarag, transie
7 Sep 2012, 13:17 pm
@Skeppie-124:
bernoldus..?..
is jy niemand..?..
7 Sep 2012, 13:18 pm
@Transformation-125:
I doubt it… Moore alone had a 35m run… suppose it depends on what he’s defining the ‘carries’ as?
7 Sep 2012, 13:21 pm
@PissAnt-144: I’m sure there’s a disclaimer up here somewhere that says that any opinion expressed on this website by any of the official writers expires after 48 hours. I’ll look for it.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All