KeoTV: Boks in Blacks’ dust
7 Sep 2012
MARK KEOHANE says there has to be drastic changes to the Springboks’ game plan if they hope to compete with and beat the All Blacks consistently.
18 Jun 2013
MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day Newspaper, writes the Boks gained more the battle in Nelspruit. Rather a scrap than a sensational effort against a courageous but limited Scotland. The Springbok coaching staff gained more because of the struggle against Scotland and there certainly won’t be complacency against Samoa. South African rugby supporters tend to be reactionary and very different in their reactions every weekend. When New Zealand struggled to beat France in the first Test in Auckland and South Africa were brilliant in patches against Italy many on social networks expressed confidence ... Read Article1 Jun 2013
The Bulls are South Africa's best team and they proved it in Bloemfontein. The Cheetahs have been outstanding all season and they were as good on Saturday night as they have been at any stage. Still it wasn't good enough to beat the Bulls, who won 30-25 after leading 30-13 with 10 minutes to play. The Cheetahs finished brilliantly and deserved the bonus point, but the Bulls consolidated their top two league placing thanks to an imposing first hour. Pierre Spies was impressive as team and pack leader, Arno Botha was ever present and the No 9, 10, 12 Bulls axis of Francois Hougaard, Morne ... Read Article11 Jun 2013
Brendan Venter's appointment as Sharks Director of Rugby is a good one. But the decision to end John Plumtree's Sharks coaching tenure is not. Former Springbok and Italy coach Nick Mallett turned down an invitation for the role of Sharks Director of Rugby and Venter, formerly the head coach and Director of Rugby at Saracens, will start his job at the outset of the Currie Cup season. Plumtree remains the Super Rugby head coach until the end of this season's tournament but his contract has not been renewed. Plumtree is highly rated in Europe and will in all likelihood link up with a European ... Read Article8 Jun 2013
Rene Ranger was among the few highlights in New Zealand's 23-13 win against France in Auckland. The All Blacks led 17-10 at half time but France dominated field position for most of the match and enjoyed the greater quality in possession. However they couldn't translate the advantage in the set phase and at the breakdown into points. New Zealand defended well in a match of poor quality. France lead early through Wesley Fofana's try and it took Ben Smith's break to start up New Zealand's international season. Smith has been the form New Zealand back in Super Rugby and he looked a class ... Read Article27 May 2013
Kiwi Vern Cotter is Scotland's new head coach. Cotter will only take up the position in a year's time. He will see out his contact with French club Clermont. Cotter's appointment means that New Zealanders will coach Scotland, Ireland (Joe Schmidt) and Wales (Warren Gatland). New Zealander Robbie Deans has been at the helm of Australia for the last five years and current Blues coach John Kirwan coached Italy and Japan. Kiwi coaches have also been at the helm of Samoa and Fiji in recent years. Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article7 Sep 2012
MARK KEOHANE says there has to be drastic changes to the Springboks’ game plan if they hope to compete with and beat the All Blacks consistently.
DavidSwart has written 13 articles.
6 Sep 2012
17 Aug 2012
Wales scored a last-minute try to sneak in for an 18-17 win over the Baby Boks in their Junior World...Read More
The Boks will not become the No 1 team on the planet until they become the world's leading team at...Read More
SARugbymag.co.za asked HSM sports editorial director GARY LEMKE and junior sports writer GARETH DUNCAN: Have the Sharks made the right...Read More
The Brumbies held on for a 14-12 win over the British & Irish Lions, having led 8-3 at the break....Read More
Brian van Zyl did an excellent job as Sharks CEO during his 19 years in charge, writes MIKE GREENAWAY in...Read More
The Bulls are South Africa’s best team and they proved it in Bloemfontein. Read More
MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day Newspaper, writes the Boks gained more the battle in Nelspruit. Read More
Kiwi Vern Cotter is Scotland’s new head coach. Read More
Rene Ranger was among the few highlights in New Zealand’s 23-13 win against France in Auckland. Read More

452 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All
7 Sep 2012, 16:54 pm
@Transformation-198:
Actually not.
It’s very embraboer.
Soon though.
I can almost taste it.
I’ve got a fresh batch of mampoer on the go.
If it doesn’t make me blind I’ll FedEx some to my buddy Nama.
7 Sep 2012, 16:58 pm
@TooMuchRugby-199:
Abnormally distended.
Caner hasn’t had an abnormal distension in the trouser department since Kylie played Lower Hutt in 1993.
7 Sep 2012, 17:02 pm
Bye for now
7 Sep 2012, 17:20 pm
Skoppie’s going to add a skidmark to the many
White revs up Oz forwards
Perth – Springboks Rugby World Cup-winning coach Jake White has called on the Wallabies forwards to dramatically lift their standards against South Africa on Saturday, otherwise they will suffer their third straight humiliating Test loss.
The now Brumbies coach believes the Wallabies forwards’ inability to dominate the gain line battle has made it virtually impossible for the Australian attack to perform.
White is not hiding from these comments, instead giving the team a jarring rev-up for tomorrow night’s Perth Test, with revealing statistics that emphasise how impotent the Wallabies forwards were in the two Bledisloe Cup Tests.
White, who was involved in 11 internationals against the Wallabies while Springboks coach between 2004 and 2007, makes the telling point that Radike Samo made more metres in one international last year than the whole Wallabies pack combined in the Sydney and Auckland losses.
”Some of the statistics from the recent Bledisloe Cup clashes are mind blowing,” White wrote. ”In two Tests the Wallabies forwards carried the ball just 80 metres (50 in Sydney then 30 in Auckland), while the All Blacks forwards carried for 225 metres – almost three times as much.
”Much criticism has been aimed at the Wallabies attack for failing to score a try in Auckland, but it may not be the backs’ fault. The real issue is the Wallabies forwards are not gaining any ascendancy at the gain line so the backs have no platform to launch attacking raids.
”The backs can be creative as they like, and the Wallabies back line is full of creative players, but without the time and space to execute their attack they were easily closed down by the All Blacks.
”There could be two reasons for this. Either the Wallabies, in their desperation to attack, are getting the ball to the backs too often or the forwards are being given the ball but can’t gain any ascendancy. The latter isn’t surprising as they are missing some of their best ball carriers.” This includes Wycliff Palu and James Horwill, who are both injured, while Tatafu Polota-Nau and Samo hasn’t started every Test.
”In one run last year against the All Blacks in Brisbane, Radike Samo carried the ball more than the entire Wallabies pack in the first two clashes this season. Whatever the cause, the Wallabies must go forward.”
White said the Springboks had ”the opposite problem”. Their forwards were carrying the ball too much, and so their attack ”is one dimensional, and, as we saw in Mendoza against Argentina, easily contained”. This is because Heyneke Meyer ”is using the Bulls game plan, based around forward power and gaining a physical edge over opponents”.
7 Sep 2012, 18:01 pm
have already started the creaming process of your ‘onderbroekies’ in anticipation of September Championship Rugby- that is REAL RUGBY.
My week-end has started with a glass of aptly named Allesverloren Fine Old Vintage in anticipation of the dread that will reign over the next two Saturdays, at least. I trust you have enough dough to pay for the myriad bar brawls you will effect over the 2 week-ends.
With all your positivity expressed for weeks now, does the ‘Boks need any enemies in addition to the Wallabies? Your shouts for the ‘Boks can be termed “only in S.Africa” for all the unprecedentd support you give for rugby Nosforatu,(eine Symphonie des Grauens)translated as “A Symphony of Horror.
You have my sympathy, barely.
7 Sep 2012, 18:19 pm
What?
7 Sep 2012, 18:22 pm
Nosferatu wrote a symphony?
7 Sep 2012, 18:31 pm
@Mostofyou-205:
Where are you, in Sheepshagger Central?
Leave the Allesverloren for real connoiseurs, I’ll send you a case of a new cultivar that would suit the palate of an expat of the weaselly kind like you
It’s from a new estate call “Shut the f-uck up” and the cultivar is “Pain-in-the-***”
It’s got a fruity taste that would fit in nicely with your latent ho-mo se-xuality(all the AB posters in the cr-apper covered in your latest release were a dead giveaway) and earthy undertones reminding you of the taste of the Kiwi a-ss you’ve crept in up to your shoulders since you got there, and can’t get rid of
7 Sep 2012, 18:35 pm
Jake White “advice” will mean nothing tomorrow. The Comeback Boks are going to dazzle.
7 Sep 2012, 18:35 pm
Strange that my worst sport!ng memor!es have been aga!nst Austral!a.
The 1999 cr?cket world cup sem!-f!nal and the 2011 RWC quarter-f!nal.
In the past they seem to have the mental edge at p!votal moments.
W!ll the t!de turn….
7 Sep 2012, 18:39 pm
Sounds like Jakey the Fakey is slowly morphing into a full blown Wallaby wannabe arselick , won’t he be only too chuffed if his new found Arsetralian homies put one over Meyers bokkies?
The ultimate I told you so satisfaction if his Ozmob patsies put one over the bloubul Bok brigands, the very same Bulletjie led lynch party that wanted him axed in 2006 for playing like an ultimate doos deluxe when capitulating by 49 unanswered points to zero.
7 Sep 2012, 18:49 pm
are of the challenged mind type of person.
Everything has broader implications.
Sept. Rugby – Episode one: Can the Challenge of the Waltzing Matildas be withstood despite the absence of star quality players like Pocock,Horwill, O’Connor and more, or the fact that the game is in Perth instead of Brisbane? It really should be an easy victory for god’s own rugby players(if one believes the religious horrors).
Episode two: The Epic one, the Black(satanic) Demolition of god’s chosen ones in rugby(if you believe that c rap)occurs a week later.
Episode three: The Damp Tramp Rugby for the series will be dead, ‘morsdood’ and all the continued wailing of the constipated birds here will reach a screetching crescendo.
A Trilogy of Horrors.
While I am feeling very warm let me go out to entertain friends for tomorrow will be another balmy(for this season) rainless 20 degrees day.
Wake me up when September ends- sung by Green and Gold Day.
7 Sep 2012, 18:57 pm
@victoriaPoshspice-208:
have had your minds shagged by any number of “god’s chosen ones”.
Is jy die harderige drol in die vroulike hol of is jy maar net pure natkak vir jou manne van die Royal Hotel? Jou keuse stompie Trompie.
7 Sep 2012, 18:58 pm
Nothing worse than someone who thinks he can write, trying to write
S painful to read
Shame
7 Sep 2012, 19:02 pm
Khakibollocks!
7 Sep 2012, 19:02 pm
@Mostofyou-213:
Wat sê jy ou ekstra ballas, is herfs in die lug en begin hulle al krimp?
Die useful idot is terug
> While I am feeling very warm let me go out to entertain friends for tomorrow
Moan hulle nie as jy die lab rats huistoe vat nie?
7 Sep 2012, 19:09 pm
@Mostofyou-212:
@Mostofyou-213:
> I am feeling very warm let me go out (of the closet?) to entertain friends for tomorrow
> Is jy die harderige drol in die vroulike hol of is jy maar net pure natkak vir jou manne
So dis waar dat jy die voorsitter van die Philly tak van die RuPaul fan club is?
Cross dress jy vir die okkasie?
7 Sep 2012, 19:13 pm
@Mostofyou-212:
Ja ET, you are occasionally funny …. btw that song is apparently about the death of Billy Joe’s (not Joel’s) dad but i guess it’s open for intrepretation. First time i heard somebody relates it to bok rugby, lol.
7 Sep 2012, 19:21 pm
Is jy alreeds dronk Trompie? Waar kan dit nou “herfs” wees in Kaapland? My eerste glasie was net na 6pm. en dit na werk? Wat rook jy daar in Kanada? Waar ook kan ek n’ Nederburg Auction bywoon en boonop ‘n LE BONHEUR 1995 Prima(ek hoop jy weet dis’n ‘blend’ van Merlot en Cab.) plus die vorige genoem wyn koop buite Kaapland?
‘For you does Spring not herald in the new Summer?’ Jy is darem ‘n dom klongtjie jong!
7 Sep 2012, 19:32 pm
@Mostofyou-219:
Het hulle gatvol genoeg geraak vir jou en jou uitgegooi uit Amerika?
Ons het jou gewaarsku, daar’s nie ‘n manier om “ongemerk” ‘n bruine in die swembad te laat gaan nie
Nederburg nogal?
Die ekonomie moet wragtig swak wees as hulle nou ook in die Papsak mark inbeweeg?
Oom Tas Le Bonheur 1995?
Van wanneer af sit hulle die oesjaar op Oom Tas?
7 Sep 2012, 19:34 pm
@<a href="#comment-2218604218:
Were you not the guy that said identities cannot be proved some many weeks back? But you seem to know how to do so? Don’t blame innocent others when I, Jokerstothright(not a single nick else) exposed your insensitivity about “national service”
Ever heard of badminton and a WC played in the Far East? Your Bothas denied 5 of us and 10 others in similar fashion in 2 other codes. Now f o k k o f as I personally am not interested in your grossly inaccuratte cheap talk. And do not blame others for what I say to you directly.
7 Sep 2012, 19:44 pm
this poor pitiful fuckwit is seriously fucked in the head through and through.. his outright poor me fucked up syndrome of how grossly his poor brethren were out done by the very same fathers who’s offspring he is begat shows how painfully and pathetically it will take him another few lifetimes of sowing and reaping to overcome and ever rid his fucked up contagious consciousness of the pain of his pitiful pathetically fucked up past.
Now he revels in the hopes and prayers daily that the Wallabies and All Blacks can do his wishfully thought of dastardly deeds for him.
7 Sep 2012, 19:45 pm
@Mostofyou-221:
Some (the dumbest ones) makes it so obvious that one don’t need to be a Holmes or Botha to catch them out.
7 Sep 2012, 19:48 pm
@fitz1ella-211: it’s win-win for Jake, if SA win it increases the chances of a role for him with the Wallabies, whereas if SA lose it makes his record look better and he is free to criticise them from a position of strength.
I didn’t watch Keo’s video but if he is saying the Boks gameplan needs to change then the Boks coach needs to change as he only knows one gameplan.
7 Sep 2012, 19:53 pm
@Robzim-223:
Moenie jou tyd met hom mors nie Rob, hy’s so verbitterd hy sal nooit verander nie
Gewoonlik verbreed jy jou horisonne as jy vir ‘n ruk in die buiteland gaan bly en nuwe dinge ervaar en ander mense ontmoet en word meer open minded en kry ‘n leef en laat leef uitkyk op die lewe
Hy het net meer vol van homself geword
Eenmaal ‘n d-oos altyd ‘n d-oos
7 Sep 2012, 19:56 pm
@Robzim-223:
Its disturbing to realize that this is a Leeds United fan.
7 Sep 2012, 19:57 pm
Kaapland? Where’s that?
7 Sep 2012, 20:00 pm
Always slamming SA but syping our wines.
Wait till he start with the 25 year old Pinotage
7 Sep 2012, 20:01 pm
@Big Hit-224:
Jake is a two faced snake.. the very worst kind ever to be gifted the purpose and opportunity of a rugby renaissance who should have been booted to hell when he returned the absolute WORST Bok loss to the very Wallabies he’s now punting as their cheerleader of an outright shameful 7 tries to zip hammering of 49-0
Now he wanna grand stand on his overrated soap box as if he’s the absolute bees knees know it all about rugby realities…
He has learned PLENTY since Eddy Jones took him by his mournfully lost little out of ideas hand and led him to his one way ticket no contest promised land… Till that point he was a far worse coach than Heyneke Meyer could ever deign to emulate.
If it were not for a looming WC less than a year later Saru would have booted his overrated arse to hell which is what he absolutely deserved then… and ANY semi gifted available coach could have waltzed through a gimme non contested WC where the Boks highest ranked competition was 6th rank Argentina whom they have NEVER lost to prior or yet ..
He wanna put the boot into Meyer who was part of the BB contingent that wanted him axed in 2006 when he SHOULD have been .. and he’s still aiming for a far fetched chance of getting the Bok coaching job back.
7 Sep 2012, 20:03 pm
@victoriabok-225:
Ja, jy is reg. Lank tyd terug kon ‘n mens nog so ‘n bietjie met hom gepraat het, maar in plaas van meer open minded raak in die buiteland het hy stelselmatig al hoe meer agteruitgegaan tot waar hy nou is. Seker maar omdat hy nou besef die wereld skuld om vokkol en hy is nou net so ‘n mislukking in die buiteland as wat hy in die kaap was. Frustrasie doen dit seker aan ‘n mens.
7 Sep 2012, 20:06 pm
@Robzim-230:
Nie frustrasie nie, hy was maar nog altyd nie lekker nie
En die wyn help ook nie
7 Sep 2012, 20:07 pm
@Big Hit-224: Perhaps they already have lined him up as the Wallabies savior after Deans.. sounds a little suspicious that he’s talking them up as if to show the way ahead for Wallabies next phase strategies
7 Sep 2012, 20:08 pm
@Jinx2-226:
Lol, I wonder what happened to the blogger Soda Joe- another South African Leeds United fan who lives in the States. He is a good no-nonsense guy, knows a hellova lot about real music too.
7 Sep 2012, 20:09 pm
What lifetimes u talking about? U reckon he’s going to come back as a gdam cocker spaniel of iets ?
7 Sep 2012, 20:13 pm
223:
I don’t know you from a bar of cheap blue soap thus only you follow your “Holmes or Botha’ reference.
But in typical ‘boer’ manner your reference to Botha and what they were linked to in my post once again exposes your lack of sensitivity; you clearly appear to be supporting there world-wide despised line of action of banning and denying millions a fair chance in life. What did “Botha catch” out, that I was a good badminton player 1 of 5 invited to a WC, legally?
You may be happy I did not make it to that badminton championship but every dog gets its day and possibly for you and many more that day is in front of you still(returning serve).
It’s 8 and I am already late.
Now do as I asked.
7 Sep 2012, 20:16 pm
or worse .. he could come back as the cockroach he’s so enthusiastically trying to emulate .. or the venomous viper with fangs all bared and aflame seeking to find a boer butt to sink them into
you be surprised what the law of as ye sow so shall ye reap.. or in other lingo the natural law of evolutionary selection, or every action has an equal or opposite reaction can bring about.
7 Sep 2012, 20:19 pm
Badminton is a good sport.. its a very apt physical description of every action brings about an equal and obvious perfect reaction .. just like pinball .. you pull the trigger and watch the kinetic energy ricochet around the universe.
7 Sep 2012, 20:23 pm
@Jinx2-226:
Did one eminent scribe not say ” Do not believe what you hear and even less what you have read”?
I have not ever been a Leeds supporter but have forever been a Man C. one since the days of Ball, Bell and Frannie Lee. That so happens to be the time when Leeds too were very good, circa 1968 and now we are the EPL Champs and will be tops for a long time to come with all that Abu Dhabi oil money. What do you want to know about Edin Dzeko, Aguerro(injured),Kolarov, Balotelli, Tevez, Hart, Milner(ex-Leeds), Savic and many more?
I’m off.
7 Sep 2012, 20:23 pm
Lmao – what horseshit – so what u been doing tge last few lifetimes then?
7 Sep 2012, 20:29 pm
I guess it a clear case of anything to take your weak minds of the impending failure to land the very first Rugby Championship.
D(for Demolition)-Day is only next Saturday. Tomorrow is just the warm-up.
@fitz1ella-229:
White drives me into the hands of HM. WTH? I think the manne will be ready to dish out some “how’s your father?” and put that Jeppe HS coach in his place.
@Mostofyou-235:
Whether you made it or did not make it to a badminton competition leaves me cold.
7 Sep 2012, 20:31 pm
What has newtons 3rd law of motion gotta (reaction) do with the theory of evolution by natural selection or the first law of thermodynamics?
And hoe de fok does this tie in with the the reincarnation of puff-adders?
7 Sep 2012, 20:36 pm
Its Quantam according to Skop…
Schrodinger’s Poffader
7 Sep 2012, 20:40 pm
I see ET’s up to his nonsense… blaadyshit.
Why the multinic’s now… Or is this go with the flow…
Dawn = Stawm
Stormersboy = Brumbiesboy
UFO = Trupisero and others
Skopshit = Fitz
Now ET = Joker and Most…
Farkenhell
7 Sep 2012, 20:40 pm
The weather in the Cake Tin will be terrible tonight,with heavy rain and gail force winds.Running rugby with slick offloads will have to take a backseat to a grinding forwards orientated game.The Argies are in with one hell of a chance.
7 Sep 2012, 20:42 pm
@Heavens Game-245: Correction… UFO = Tassies and others…
7 Sep 2012, 20:46 pm
@LITELOCK-246: Will laugh my cottonsocks right off if the Argies run the All Powerful, All Conquering Haka exponents close, or Heaven forbid, sneak the game…
Cant happen though… Who’s the ref again…
7 Sep 2012, 20:48 pm
@Mostofyou-235: Jollyfuckingshuttlecocks. I don’t usually entertain those who are a special brand of whacked, but for once, I am fuckingcompelled to deliver an internet memo. From my fingers to your eyes.
You did about as much freedom fighting as what my rottweiler did. Your own personal scars of apartheid: “the fact that you couldn’t shuttle your **** over to the Far East for a WC”? That’s it?
Not the deaths, the cruelty, the inhumanity? Priceless.
This might surprise you, but you don’t quite have the monopoly on, “PW Botha fuckedupmylife”. This is neither the place or the platform to educate you as to what a few white families who showed the govt a middle finger endured (through the eyes of a child at the time), but fuckkit I wish it was.
Apartheid left many victims in her wake Mr Chips”on both shoulders”……..Not black, brown, yellow or white victims – South African victims.
Then again, I suppose I am wasting my time, as all you remember of apartheid, is how it prevented you from shuttling your **** in Bangkok.
Pity that.
7 Sep 2012, 20:49 pm
@Jinx2-241: yup ditto
that self righteous snake got the uncanny knack of driving all his wishfully dreamed about converts running hell for leather in exactly the opposite direction.
and then everybody wonders how the hell this moron wasn’t given a further 4 years of self righteous garbage to be impelled into oblivion with.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All