Blacks battle past Pumas

SIMON BORCHARDT saw the All Blacks score two tries in the final quarter to beat Argentina 21-5 in Wellington.

Wet weather is a great leveller and that proved to be the case here as the Pumas went into half-time just one point behind the world champions. But the rain stopped, the wind died down, and the visitors’ resistance predictably crumbled at the 60-minute mark after flanker Julio Farias Cabello was yellow carded for a deliberate knock down.

Soon after, Conrad Smith committed three Pumas’ defenders before sending Julian Savea away for a try that made it 14-5. And with five minutes to go, and the Pumas back to 15 men, a long pass from Aaron Cruden saw Cory Jane dive over in the right-hand corner.

The match had begun in driving rain and swirling wind, with the latter pushing Cruden’s first penalty attempt wide. The All Blacks flyhalf, who was a late replacement for the injured Dan Carter, then knocked on (a sign of things to come for his side) before succeeding with his second attempt at goal.

The Pumas had effectively slowed the Boks’ ball down at the breakdown in Mendoza but French referee Romain Poite was not so charitable in Wellington and they were pinned a couple times early on. However, that didn’t deter the visitors from flooding the breakdown.

The committed Pumas’ defence forced the All Blacks into making mistakes that could not be blamed on the weather. In the 13th minute, Ma’a Nonu lost possession in the tackle and Argentina sent the ball wide. Their forwards then bashed away at the line, with loosehead prop Rodrigo Roncero finding a gap around the fringes to score the first try of the game.

Cruden’s boot edged the All Blacks back in front 6-5 soon after, but the handling errors continued with Kieran Read knocking on with the tryline in sight and Richie McCaw spilling the ball just before the break.

All Blacks coach Steve Hansen must have given his side a helluva tongue-lashing at half-time and a city-wide power failure gave him an extra 10 minutes to do so.

His side produced a better performance in the second half, with better conditions allowing them to sent the ball wide on two occassions that resulted in two tries.

But Hansen will be the first to admit that there is massive room for improvement, and Heyneke Meyer will be hoping the world champions don’t hit their straps in Dunedin next weekend.

488 Comments

• 1.poppa69: Reply to this comment

The All Blacks and Argentina will have to contend with gale force winds for tonight’s clash in Wellington.

The severe weather has also disrupted several flights in and out of the capital.

Weatherwatch’s Philip Duncan said it is part of a spring system making its way over Wellington.

The strong winds will not make things easy for the kickers when the All Blacks take on Argentina at the Cake Tin at 7.30pm tonight.

“At the moment we’ve got winds gusting to about 100km an hour right in the city centre,” said Duncan.

“It’s certainly blustery, and we can imagine there will be gusts up in the more exposed areas of maybe 130 to 140km an hour.”

• 2.Transformation: Reply to this comment

owen & naas are out of their depth ito analyses with mallett & mitchell in the studio…

• 3.lepel: Reply to this comment

Holly ****! That’s some crazy wind!!!!

• 4.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Great commentary on Supersport, Owen Nkumane and Naas Botha out of their depths, and Arnold Geerdts is just a SABC3 continuity presenter, bless his heart.

• 5.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Black by 10 should do it.

• 6.Puma: Reply to this comment

Go Pumas! Wishful thinking.

Great panel in the studio this morning. Mitch, Mallett, Owen and Naas. Campo to join them later for the Bok game.

• 7.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-2: It’s shameful. Totally outclassed.

• 8.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-2: For sure. Naas and Owen out of their depth with Mallett and Mitch.

Read yesterday on SS that they were going to be in the panel today. Campo to join them later for the Bok/Aus game.

• 9.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

At the game, the wind has dropped a lot. Still blustery which will encourage arg. To put the ball in the air at every opportunity. Conditions otherwise good… Field looks pretty dry, and no rain with 30 mins to go to start

• 10.Puma: Reply to this comment

Bad weather in Wellington as usual. Could help the Argies a bit. Afraid Abs will still be too good for them. If Abs don’t pick up the bonus point that would help. Then of course if Boks can pull their backsides into gear and play some decent rugby and get the 4 tries we could be in the hunt again.

• 11.Puma: Reply to this comment

@corporal punishment-9: Okay, well that is even more in favour of the Blacks.

• 12.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

I was a bit worried earlier in the day, as my mid-day flight home to welly was cancelled due to the winds. But wind dropped enough to get me late afternoon.

• 13.poppa69: Reply to this comment

best thing about this game is that bakkies wont be watching it, seeing as he only watches CC and the Boks these days :lol:

• 14.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Puma-10: You are such an optimist Puma!

• 15.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

Puma – don’t get me wrong – it is still farkin windy! Just not gale force anymore. Not too cold, so won’t be much dew. Ok conditions all considered.

Penalty kicking will be difficult, as the wind swirls around the stadium. This is probably bad for the argies.

• 16.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

I hope the AB’s don’t put up with the time wasting nonsense that they pulled on the boks at Mendoza. The boks had them gaspin and on the ropes after 25!mins, but the boks weren’t able to speed the game up further to take advantage – due to Argie time wasting.

• 17.Dawn: Reply to this comment

In South America, time wasting is a way of life.

Lekker.

• 18.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

I actually think the Pumas are going to give the ABs a huge fright here, aided by the wind.

• 19.grant10: Reply to this comment

the DSTV subscription worth it just to have the priviliege of listening to Mallet and Mitchell…2 great Coaches …..no physcho babble, just real rugby men calling it loud and clear…..

Mallet…please dont turn your back on us if the Meyer train derails…please !!

• 20.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Could the ABs suffer the same fate as the Wallabies against Scotland in Newcastle?

• 21.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

This is going to be exciting.

• 22.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Trust pops to leave out the dragons.

• 23.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

The Argies passion: players and fans is something to behold. Really adds something special to this tournament.

• 24.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@grant10-19: It won’t be long before SARU are begging him mate. He is doing a wonderful job with his PR campaign. The longer he stays on the SS panel…….the more questions are going to be asked.

• 25.poppa69: Reply to this comment

good haka, ABs here to play..

• 26.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

It’s time

• 27.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-25: Argies as well….when you see tears in their eyes during the anthem, you know they are psyched. Won’t help them in the long run, but it makes for a fabulous first 20 minutes :)

• 28.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Ritchie got smashed.

• 29.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

It will be interesting to see if the Pumas get carded against the ABs.

• 30.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-27:would never question their commitment..

• 31.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Wind is going to make it very tough for the kickers.

• 32.poppa69: Reply to this comment

how come the score in the heading says 3-0?

• 33.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-30: These weather conditions are going to test even the most committed today….

• 34.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-33: yep should help the Argies

• 35.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Lineout malfunctioning for Arg, costly.

• 36.poppa69: Reply to this comment

now its 3-0..ABs

• 37.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Fuckenhell, the posts are literally shifting….. What a pity Morne wasn’t afforded this privilege.

• 38.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-13: Bakkies now attends cake-baking classes on a Saturday morning!

• 39.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

try time :)

well done old man

• 40.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

You bloody Argie beauties.

• 41.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

GAME ON!

• 42.poppa69: Reply to this comment

good try Argies,,

• 43.Guns: Reply to this comment

@grant10-19: :D Grant but surely they are in two different positions.. Surely its always easier to call it like it is or make obvious analysis of games when you are just opposing a current coach and not in the hot seat yourself? It is true though with Meyer we were always going to be stuck with Morne in early stages as he said its what he and the current crop of seniors know best until cavalry arrives. I think in Cotzee and his goofed hybrid talk he is trying to mould Cotzee into a possible McCaw type player.. Dare I say it.. We all know now he’s a hard ball carrier with an offload and good tackle rate.. Hmm then again who does Cotzee in aspects actually reminds me of in his very early day.. McCaw!! Yes still different but similar attributes in their early years. Guess one would either be a genius or complete idiot to say it.. Before Ball pilfering became the next big hit.. Just saying think about it. Another player who actually does remind me of a current McCaw type player – Josh Struuas. Huge desire to lead from front big ball carrier, solid tackles and ball slowing/pilpher abilities. Just stuck in that mess with the lions, look at Alberts and JF for examples when in a higher quality or more confident team outfit.

• 44.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

NZ should have just kicked, not sure what Nonu was up to

• 45.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-38: He will be watching…..In fact, if the Argies manage to make a game of this, I expect him to appear on here shortly :)

• 46.blik: Reply to this comment

Are Argies better than people think?

• 47.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

TRY…..Pumas taking their opportunities

• 48.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

The crowd is stunned!

• 49.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

And this is against a howling wind. In the second half that wind will be behind the Pumas.

• 50.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Guns you talkng too much

• 51.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Mealamu threw better to the Argie jumper than Guinazu

• 52.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Ref actually blowing indiscretions at ruck time from the Argies.

• 53.Transformation: Reply to this comment

argies are spoiling :-)

• 54.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Corey from the Hutts look good in slomo

• 55.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

The ABs are getting bullied!

• 56.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

NZ trying to maul against the Argies, not sure that’s the best course of action.

• 57.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Watse spoiling.

They out-muscling everyone in black

• 58.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-57: that’s how it looks, more power at the contact point

• 59.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Got argiemauled back from their own tryline

Classic

• 60.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Argies have come to play, good stuff

• 61.Pencil: Reply to this comment

When did the AB’s skills get so bad? Third game in a row I’ve been shocked at how inaccurate they are at the basics.

• 62.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Samba tango whatever

• 63.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Ref blowing AB indiscretions at ruck time properly too.

Argies love this type of game.

• 64.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-57: side entry, falling on the wrong side, not rolling away.

• 65.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Roncero broke Savea :)

• 66.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Trans

Thanks for that.

Whatever.
    It’s working.

• 67.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

good kick Cruden, Argentina need to get their lineout sorted, I think they’ve lost 5 already

• 68.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Breaking News: Bakkies caught cheating & kicked out of class…he was caught copying his classmate’s recipe!

He’s on his way home now…

• 69.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-65:i f that was a kiwi you would have called it a head high tackle BH, we know your “impatiality”

• 70.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Shame

Conrad Smith was good looking before he started playing rugby

• 71.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Good game, either turn up and compete or get embarrassed, So far argies doing all the playing

• 72.Transformation: Reply to this comment

all black handling the pits…

• 73.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

beautiful kick hernandez

• 74.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

If the Pumas can keep the scoreline close at halftime they will have a very good chance of winning this with the wind behind them in the second half.

• 75.Pencil: Reply to this comment

Once again AB’s dropping the ball as soon as they move it. They need some glue.

• 76.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Roncero is far king breaking everyone!

• 77.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

A pin point kick.

Morne take note.

• 78.Horings: Reply to this comment

So, do some guys agree that Argentina is not an easy game. If the argies are in this game with 30 minutes to go NZ will be in trouble. They are playing the 2009 Boks gameplan to perfection (Except for Botha, Matfield and Smith’s lineout dominance).

• 79.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

The Wallabies are going to lose to the Pumas home and away. Bye bye Robbie Deans.

• 80.W.P: Reply to this comment

Where are all these NZ supporting mofo’s who blew their loads when the Argies did the same to the Boks two weeks ago. They’ve all gone silent lol

• 81.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Everyone hatching their eggs before they laid again?

• 82.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

Doh, it’s raining!

• 83.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@W.P-80: Im still here, watching an enthralling game..

• 84.Horings: Reply to this comment

Argentina is putting back the passion in this comp. Best decision Sanzar made in the last ten years (although they were forced into it).

• 85.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Graham Henry will get lynched after this game.

• 86.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Nonu shaves his eyebrows.

Epic fashion fail.

• 87.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Argentina have always had a great pack, when you play the best, you have to bring your best or get found out and embarrassed.

• 88.Guns: Reply to this comment

Aaah Dawnie ur the only kind soul I managed to provoke reaction..

Ok ok… Back to the real game at hand.

Argies doing well questions is can they keep it up for 80 knowing the Kiwis have been the most spoilt I am terms of the least travel yet again..

• 89.John Galt: Reply to this comment

If Argies get to the break trailing slightly it will be goo for them.
    They’ll be with the wind in the second half.

• 90.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

THAT was forward to Savea

• 91.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

glad that was an Arg pen as it was forward to Savea

• 92.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

miles forward(from the replay). Are officials blind

• 93.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-90: indeed it was…

• 94.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Guns, during game you are restricted to two sentences!

• 95.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Suddenly the Boks are looking pretty good, ne?

• 96.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

It would seem the AB’s are more affected by the conditions than the Argies. AND they have that old Wellington blowfest at their backs. I’m wondering about the second half now.

• 97.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

AB players offside at the maul pulling Puma players off the maul in front of the referee.

• 98.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-95: wouldn’t go that far :)

• 99.onerb: Reply to this comment

Great refereeing. Not taking the all black cheating. Very refreshing.

• 100.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-93: howzit Pops. You well mate? Observing things from the relative safety of Oz?

• 101.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

AB forward pass missed by ref again.

• 102.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@WP

Not just AB supporters.
    You’ll find a few of your brethren down south were bleating properly as well.

Jeez as roncero breaks Smith.

• 103.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Love this Argie gees

Skrik vir niks!

• 104.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@onerb-99: Poite is a good ref, called Munster out on their cheating after years of them getting away with it

• 105.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Conrad Smith got folded like J.Potgieter by Roncero

An ArgyBargy goin down in Cane’s Town

• 106.poppa69: Reply to this comment

argies competing real well, can they go the full 80?

• 107.Pencil: Reply to this comment

All blacks failing to hold on to the ball again. Shocking precision, killing all fot heir momentum.

• 108.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Ab’s looking a bit clueless at the moment.

• 109.Horings: Reply to this comment

This is why Henry did not play the offload game to the extent NZ is doing it tonight. Great if it works for you, but tonight and 2nd test against against Ireland are examples of the opposite effect.

• 110.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Bear in mind that the Boks beat the Pumas by 21 points in the game in SA.

• 111.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-93: Wellington is one beautiful little city but can put on an ugly weather when riled I experienced first hand to my detriment. Forced me into some unscheduled liquid refreshments in Cuba Street. :)

• 112.onerb: Reply to this comment

Argies trying to stay on their feet, we should try that too as it gives support players time to assist.

• 113.Horings: Reply to this comment

What a tackle!!!

• 114.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I’m bored of the ABs

Want Argie to win

• 115.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-110: bear in mind the conditions are a little different

@TASSIES-111: It is always dodgy flying into Welly, thats for sure..

well done on the first half the Argies, good to see

• 116.Transformation: Reply to this comment

all black handling was atrocious even at Eden Park…they made 30 handling errors that night, they’re looking to matching that tonight.

• 117.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Oh this second half will be interesting.

Wind at Hernandez back.

• 118.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Argie nearly coughed up a try, that would have been needless. Good half from them, NZ need to up the aggression at the contact point.

• 119.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

What nonsense that the ref called advantage over there. Pumas are going to win this!

• 120.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-95: No mate…..what the Boks dished up in Mendoza was still utter kak, regardless of how good the Argies were/are.
    I think we should wait and see what the AB’s do after the break before excusing the Boks 80 minutes of sh y te….
    You also need to remember that we would have been smashed even more at the breakdown if Leguizamo had played….ditto that we didn’t face Juan Martin Hernandez and his boot either.

Imagine that.

• 121.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Poppa106

I think that is the real question here. Played their hearts out this 1st 40.

• 122.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

second half the kings of steak have the Welly Worst at their backs. Wonder if they’ll use this to best effect.

• 123.onerb: Reply to this comment

120 – and the boks were at full strength right?

• 124.rangerman: Reply to this comment

magnificent argies!

Ole!

you are defo my new 2nd team.

that fernandez lobbe is a magnificent player, would make any bok team imo.

• 125.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-121: great to see though from them, really showing their inclusion is deserved and that they are probably a lot better then their 8 ranking..

• 126.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-115: luckily I drove into town. When I saw that airport(on my tour of the burbs) I said to myself “this is not one for me”. Ferry ride to Picton was interesting too.

• 127.grant10: Reply to this comment

Some match this! Loving the Argies take no prisioners approach…..
    we choose the right team we can take Kiwis…..

• 128.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-120: Regardless of what happens after the break, it is already quite obvious that the Pumas are no joke. You have an agenda to support, I know, but that is looking very shaky now.

• 129.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

well after that first half im starting to think the boks didnt do to badly to get that draw. The pumas are definitely here to play rugby .

Hopefully they can continue like this throughout the comp . AUS NZ and SA were getting complacent being the top 3 this extra challenge will give them a good wake up call.

Hate to be the team that finishes below the pumas this year

• 130.Puma: Reply to this comment

Well who would have thought this would have been the score at the break…. :shock:

Pumas holding their own right now.

@TASSIES-122: hahahaha. “Kings of the steak”….. :) So far going to plan for our Boks.

• 131.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Great game, really enjoying this ugly affair. 6-5 is an enormous effort by the visitors. Please do not compare games as this weather is nothing of the like that previous games were played in. Give Argentina the credit they deserve

• 132.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-120: what are you on about

we are watching the game that is on NOW.

ab’s can get phucked.

• 133.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Ah Pedigree. Making excuses already.
    You telling me that, regardless of the outcome of this match, the first 40 by the ABs is better than what we saw from the Boks in Mandoza.
    Your argument is failing properly boet.

These Argies are forking tough and instead of congratulating them you went off on an anti HM crusade.

• 134.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

tT IS HARD TO pass legally when playing with that wind. Given the amount of ball the abs will be better against the wind. Ask the dingoes about the first ever 3N match.

• 135.poppa69: Reply to this comment

very similar to the 1/4 final, ABs only led by 5 at half time then..

• 136.Horings: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-120: I do not think anyone disagrees that the Boks were poor. What is unexpected for me is that the Argentina game is not one where you will win easily when you have a bad game. The fact that they can beat you on their night makes the competition very good and better than when Italy were brought into the Five Nations. Within 5 years Argentina will be in the top five of World rugby. The Kings should look to bring in some Argies for super rugby. Not their backs, but guys like Roncero, Leguizamon and Albacete

• 137.W.P: Reply to this comment

We could only gain perspective once all the teams have played each other. Argies an unknown quantity as yet.

• 138.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ha Ranger!

Tell me how we got here?

• 139.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@G10
    What like picking a fetcher. As good as mcaw for example?

Hes been very quiet so far in this rough tough type of game.

• 140.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10-127: “Flo is straining at the leash” :-)

• 141.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-125: I second that. They add a new dimension certainly. I recall their game against France in the 07 WC. How good were they then? No, I never underestimate the Argies. Good value.

• 142.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@onerb-123: No we weren’t. But you are blind if you can’t see the effect Leguizamo and Hernandez are having.
    The fact is: the Bok team on the day were woeful, and the AB’s have been woeful this 1st half trying to be flat track bullies in a hurricane.

We are celebrating a false dawn if we think the AB’s performance today in any way cancels out the obvious Bok weaknesses; WHICH will hopefully be less evident today against Australia…..

• 143.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Pedigree taking a pasting.

Farking fool. Love it.

• 144.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

@boktillzero
    Teams dingoes and bokke

• 145.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Still can’t give the Argies credit can you Pedigree?

• 146.Horings: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-135: Do you remember the weather conditions that night? Not trying to be sarcastic, just asking. I think this weather can make life very difficult for the All Blacks in this 2nd half and this game can therefore not be compared.

• 147.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-120: revisiting this comment its the biggest load of poo ruckles.

seriously.

the argies have a try, the abs not.

same same.

this argie team is no joke and just shows how arrogant bok supporters have been (yes, you are being made to look arrogant by the magnificent argies).

• 148.spartan: Reply to this comment

NZs lack of accuracy is disappointing
    they need to get back to basic mistake free rugby and the points will come
    The lineouts are fine and they are all over the Argies at scrumtime
    just need to stop going for 50-50 big glory plays
    and stick to simple and efficient rugby

• 149.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Someone forgot to pay the light bill!

• 150.onerb: Reply to this comment

Haha, all blacks trying to sabotage this game.

• 151.Puma: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-120: Yes but what you have to remember that Walsh too let them get away with a lot at the breakdowns. Here is a French ref who is reffing a lot better.

Let us see how the Blacks go after the break like you say to judge our bad we were last wee. And I thought we were terrible. Now Abs are looking much the same on their HOME turf….hehe. Loving it though. Just think ABs could pull away in the 2nd half. If they don’t score the 4 tries we win today we still could be in it. That is if we beat Oz.

• 152.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Puma-130: Howzit Pumes. Durbs treating you well mate? This game – I’m enthralled.

• 153.onerb: Reply to this comment

Wouldnt put it past them.

• 154.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Horings-136: The Pumas will be ranked fourth in no time at all. They could very well win this game, and they will beat the Wallabies twice – unless the Aussies can somehow find a way to play the whole game with their backs. The Wallabies forwards are far too soft to beat the Pumas.

• 155.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Lights out in windy Wellington

• 156.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma-151: our = how

• 157.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Kiwis giving themselves more time to regroup!

• 158.John Galt: Reply to this comment

I luv u bakeries is going to have a field day with this.

Conspiracy theorist that he is.

• 159.Nils: Reply to this comment

Oh, I see last Argies game was no fluke, they aren’t tournament whipping boys at all. Very glad to see that.

• 160.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-138: where?

howdy btw!

• 161.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-135: yep i kept reminding everyone that the score was 18 -10 in the 65th min all the pts from weepu’s boot…ABs only scored after argies were down to 10 men…

• 162.onerb: Reply to this comment

Just kidding fellow nz bloggers. This might suit argies as they can rest longer.

• 163.Horings: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-142: Do you think Kruger for Bekker, Pienaar for Hougaard, Vermeulen for Potgieter and Louw for Daniel will improve our execution today?

• 164.Puma: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-152: Yeah always great here. Had plenty rain here this week. Today awesome, what can I say? Life is great here..lol.

How you doing Tassies? Hope well.

• 165.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-143: You think the Boks are without problems. Glad to hear it farking fool.

• 166.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Horings-146: full credit to the Argies, have come to play and are not taking a backward step.

• 167.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Fk can’t watch the second half.

The Argis are playing a cracker here and have proven the likes of pedigree and his ilk as impostors.
    I suspect the ABs will be too strong in the end though.

Good luck all.

• 168.grant10: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-139: Brussow…Flo

Bobs your aunt

• 169.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Fitzpatrick reckons they’ve turned off the lights to hide Graham Henry :)

• 170.rangerman: Reply to this comment

haha, ab’s out of puff so they kept the lights off.we all know that

they are having 7 kinds of k u k smashed out of them by the argies and HATING it.

it seems that the argies play a very similar confrontational physical game as s africa and we all now that the ab’s have historically been troubled most by the boks.

go argies!

• 171.cab: Reply to this comment

Cracking stuff – come Argies to really set the bird amongst the pigeons.

World champs?

• 172.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Wonder if we can sub commentators

• 173.Horings: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-154: The weather is a big factor and I think in dry conditions the Wallabies will be favourites against Argentina in Aus. Whether the argies pitch up for the game will also be a big factor. They are the France of Southern Hemisphere rugby.

• 174.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

So the light is back?

• 175.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-161: guess we’ll see how good a coach Shag is now… Fosters influence on the AB backs already showing, look how poor he was with that chiefs backline… :D

• 176.grant10: Reply to this comment

Go Argies….go boys!!!!

• 177.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Wow, good to see Argies giving the ABs a bit of a problem. ABs have ruined a few opportunities again which needs to be fixed. They cant keep playing like that.

• 178.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ranger that debate last night!

Oh btw filthy kiwis turning the lights out? Pfft!

• 179.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Puma-151: I can’t see NZ scoring 4 tries….Winning for us is non-negotiable now (puts us back in the game if AB’s don’t get a bonus point here)

• 180.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

hmmm wonder how this extended half time break will affect the game .
    might work in the ABs favour

• 181.Puma: Reply to this comment

If the lights don’t come back on it will be a draw… :)

• 182.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@cab-171: we havent lost 19-0 at home yet Cab, remember that one? :wink:

• 183.grant10: Reply to this comment

farken Kiwi Eskom??

• 184.Puma: Reply to this comment

@boktillzero-180: I feel the same. The long break will allow the ABs to regroup. Then again it could give the Argies some time to recover. They have put in a lot in that first half.

• 185.grant10: Reply to this comment

jeepers…..what a tragedy….

• 186.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-175: an argie wim will really set this competition on fire :twisted:

• 187.grant10: Reply to this comment

no man….this is a kak one

• 188.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Territorial game would be the go this half for all blacks

• 189.Puma: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-179: For sure. If the Abs don’t pick up the bonus point and we win our game today. We are back in the hunt.

• 190.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-167: I’m an impostor because I find fault with Heyneke Meyer and some of his selections and decisions?
    No mate – the impostors are the so called fans who try and justify every sh y tty Bok performance with a flurry of excuses.

But, like you, I’m hoping like hell the Boks manage to pull off a win today….

• 191.Dawn: Reply to this comment

They did it on purpose

Now I’m sommer gatvol bevok

• 192.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-186: can you imagine this place? farken hell lol

• 193.spartan: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-175:
    Got to hand to the Argies
    They got some real mongrel

• 194.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

do you think an All Black sparkie supporter got gatvol and flicked a switch in disgust? :)

• 195.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-191: surely, if it was on purpose Hansen wouldnt have gone back to the coaches box? he would have stayed in the changerooms?

• 196.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-175: i bet the NZRU will pull the plug on Ted coaching the argies hehehe…he’s really upped their game

• 197.onerb: Reply to this comment

Either way this game is now a farce due to the light situation.

• 198.cab: Reply to this comment

Popps – u must be poeping a bit – this is at home too -maybe the bokke are actually the best, even this rebuilding side..

• 199.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@spartan-193: yep, fighting tough, its great… they will only improve the more they play in this comp too

• 200.Puma: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-194: hahahahahaha. Good one… :)

• 201.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Horings-163: Out of those 3, the most important: Ruan Pienaar IMHO. Depending on which version of Ruan Pienaar runs out today of course….

• 202.Pencil: Reply to this comment

Hopefully new Zealand re-learned how to catch at half time.

• 203.spartan: Reply to this comment

This perfomance by Argentina could inspire Aus to a 4 try bonus point win

• 204.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Howveryfuckingconvenient

• 205.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

wonder who this break will benefit, maybe the Argies won’t tire so quick with the extra rest? not sure, very amateur for the lights to go out though

• 206.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@cab-198: counted all them chickens Cab? lots of time to go, if the Argies do pull it off I will be one of the first to congratulate them..

• 207.grant10: Reply to this comment

cool….sorted….now go moer them argies

• 208.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

An enthralling contest, a change in tactics needed with Abs using the pick and go more…..and perhaps abit of glue to eliminate handling mistakes.

• 209.Narutokun: Reply to this comment

Duck worth Lewis going to play a part!!! Lol

• 210.onerb: Reply to this comment

Ref taking no kak from ab, love it

• 211.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-205: Reminds me of a certain game in the 1995 RWC here in SA (same sort of weather as well…)

• 212.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Bloody farce

• 213.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Kiwi scrum really battling.

• 214.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

All Blacks have left more points on the field in the last 3 tests than they have scored all season. Romain Poite is A Typical French ref during scrum time.

• 215.onerb: Reply to this comment

Mccaw throwing a tantrum

• 216.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Puma-164: can’t bemoan my spot in life Pumes. All good. Heading up to Knysna tomorrow. After a morning ride in the vineyards here. Be a fools to complain.

• 217.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-208: kia ora te ranga…

argies putting big hits on ya boys ;)

• 218.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Ref is keeping the blacks accountable, must be a first for them.

• 219.cab: Reply to this comment

Popps
    fingers McCaw almost certainly behind the power outage – seems like barnesey will have to watch him on and off the pitch – this is v poor form by the ABs to try win in this way.

• 220.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Poor decision by Argies, poor all round attack by abs.

• 221.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Messam should never have been dropped. Far more stones than Vito.

• 222.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Tonight of all nights kiwis decide to remind everyone that they third world

• 223.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

AB’s certainly playing closer to the forwards now. Patience game in the 2nd it seems.

• 224.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@cab-219: haha ok Cab, have another sip of the conspiracy muti mate..

• 225.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

who was that bearded samoan?

• 226.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-222: you mean like the two years of power cuts Capetown had Dawn?

• 227.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

In from the side? Wait he’s not kiwi, do play on.

• 228.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

Messam’s daytime job – Boswell Wilkie.

• 229.Transformation: Reply to this comment

the argie was miles offside :-)

• 230.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Geezer McCaw looks out of it.

• 231.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-217:
    Howzit Trans……fricken Argies playing it hard….causing Abs massive problems

• 232.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-225: Charlie Faumuina

• 233.Pencil: Reply to this comment

Slightly better by the allblacks, but still bad handing creeping in.

• 234.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

still plenty mistakes by the men in black. Pressure from gringos in blue.

• 235.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@CSI:Rugby-227: ruck’s over when the 9 picks up the ball

• 236.willievz: Reply to this comment

Just woke up…

To this scoreline on such a beautiful morning !!!!!!!!!!

:lol: :lol:

VAMOS PUMAS!!!!

• 237.grant10: Reply to this comment

bloody hell this is a cool match ….

Come on Argies….this may be the biggest upset since Clay vs Liston…

• 238.rangerman: Reply to this comment

these argies are awesome!

what a team.

go ARGENTINA!!!!

• 239.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

ABs too passive in contact, they need to roll up the sleeves and get physical. Only way to mute a stout defensive line is to play this pick and go game.

• 240.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Indeed pops

Now maybe you quit slagging us off

You not immune

• 241.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-226: No. We’ve been well lit Pops. 3 or 4 back certainly.

• 242.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

lmao Smith got emptied

• 243.Transformation: Reply to this comment

what defence by JMH…

• 244.rangerman: Reply to this comment

what a tackle argies!

after a clear obstruction for nonus break.

• 245.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Conrad Smith gets sold.

• 246.Pencil: Reply to this comment

NZ setting themselves up again before spilling it.

• 247.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-229: Bakkies (bless his little heart) will be knitting Mr Pointe a matching scarf and beanie as thanks.
    If Bakkies praises the Argies, he will indirectly be praising Graham Henry….that should be interesting :)

• 248.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

That was a BOOM!

• 249.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-240: im just slagging off the conspiracy fools…seems anything that happens is set up for NZ? its laughable :D

• 250.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

what a hit on Smith. Bam. End of.

• 251.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

In from the side big hit, Smith had not touched the ball

• 252.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Puma tackling is awesome. How about that from a flyhalf?

• 253.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Sod the rugby

Some of these argies are HOT

Sizzle

• 254.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Poor call.

• 255.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-247: :lol:

• 256.rangerman: Reply to this comment

BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

mccaw is looking pretty pedestrian so far.

will he hang on too long?

• 257.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Argentina lineout is shocking, NZ should be kicking to touch as often as they can.

Thought that turnover was good to be honest, 3 points NZ they’ve started the half well.

9-5

• 258.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

and if the Arg were to score from this position. Now would’nt that make life interesting?

• 259.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

The ABs will come through. Shows though that the Argies are not a terrible side. They will keep getting better over the years and be a real threat.

• 260.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-247: now imagine what WS would’ve done for the bokke.

• 261.rangerman: Reply to this comment

how can you feel anything but love for these argies?

• 262.poppa69: Reply to this comment

silly stuff by Hore.. Argies should convert this penalty

the booing is pathetic, hate it!

• 263.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Nanu, Cruden, C Smith, McCaw and Savea looking poor at this stage.

• 264.onerb: Reply to this comment

Classy wellington, booos all round before the kick.

• 265.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Is that some booing I hear?

• 266.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Rodriguez :( not having a good one

• 267.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

That should have been a yellow against Hore.

• 268.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

lineout and goalkicking Arg achillies heel

• 269.nama1: Reply to this comment

Argies showing again: Get numbers to the break down and push the opposition off the ball.

Hope the Bok forwards see that, especially our loosies.

All Blacks to win by 12-15.

• 270.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Poppa I’m with you on the booing, and the howling whistles, wish all rugby fans were like the Irish fans

• 271.Transformation: Reply to this comment

this rodriguez fool missed 3 sitters at Newlands!

phelan get hernandez to kick ffs!

• 272.cab: Reply to this comment

This is poor sportsmanship – booing the brave underdogs like this – terrible.

• 273.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-262: agree. We have similiar in CT. Disgusting. No place in the game for that ****.

• 274.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Argies proving their ability at highest level, great for world rugby.

• 275.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Booing by locals and howling whistles by argie fans = Pathetic

• 276.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Hernandez offered? Why’d they turn him down?

• 277.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-273: agree mate, why not enjoy the way the Argies have shown up

• 278.rangerman: Reply to this comment

and then mccaw makes me eat my words lol

• 279.Transformation: Reply to this comment

romano MONSTERED!!!

• 280.rangerman: Reply to this comment

a yellow is bs for that ref.

home crowd booing disgusting.

• 281.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

And Bakkies stops knitting that little scarf and beanie :(

• 282.poppa69: Reply to this comment

fair call I guess…after seeing the replay..

• 283.willievz: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-277: We are not enjoying it, we are loving it

• 284.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

awesome hit on Romano, shame about the yellow

• 285.onerb: Reply to this comment

Shutup mccaw.

• 286.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Different rules against the All Blacks, hey? Yellow card?

• 287.rangerman: Reply to this comment

no man, game over.

• 288.Pencil: Reply to this comment

Professional foul which saved a try.

• 289.Transformation: Reply to this comment

same as in the 1/4 final argies got a yellow & ABs capitalised…

• 290.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

that was a shame. Game might have swung on this one.

• 291.nama1: Reply to this comment

Yellow card going to spoil a great match

Was a legitimate card though.

• 292.onerb: Reply to this comment

Wow

• 293.grant10: Reply to this comment

CHAOS!!!

• 294.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Amazing, really amazing.

• 295.W.P: Reply to this comment

The player who was carded knocked that ball back – can that be regarded as an infringement?

• 296.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

NZ have targeted the Argentinian set-piece really well. They’ve had no lineout or scrum platform.

• 297.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Conrad Smith is getting a hard game tonight!

• 298.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Rangerman,

Listen to the argies as well it’s ugly by all fans involved.

• 299.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@willievz-283: :D understandable mate.. Im loving it myself, albeit very nervous..

• 300.rangerman: Reply to this comment

argies still in the hunt but this yellow was sickening.

• 301.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Would that have been a yellow against any team other than the ABs?

• 302.onerb: Reply to this comment

Banana kick

• 303.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

that banana kick :lol:

• 304.Horings: Reply to this comment

Messam offside from Cruden kick!

• 305.willievz: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-299: You should pull this one through mate

• 306.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

Maradonna would have been proud of that one. what a beaut

• 307.Nils: Reply to this comment

Go Pumas, hold on.

I have no doubts, NZ will win, would be brilliant for Pumas to get a bonus point though.

• 308.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Amazing skills by JMH!

• 309.rangerman: Reply to this comment

what a kick!

very very skillful.

@CSI:Rugby-298: agreed, i hate it.

• 310.nama1: Reply to this comment

Ricky’s twin brother on.

• 311.onerb: Reply to this comment

Tackled in the air. Not blown

• 312.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

What a kick!

• 313.Pencil: Reply to this comment

@301 yes. What punishment would you give for a a professional foul to stop a try scoring move?

• 314.rangerman: Reply to this comment

no one running off hernandez.

wake up argies.

• 315.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

They couldn’t catch a cold if they tried, the all black backs

• 316.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@willievz-305: not over yet mate, we have had the better of the half so far. Foster is farking up our backs though

• 317.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

yup thats what we used to call it. The banana.

• 318.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Pencil-313: it was very debatable mate.

looked like he went for the ball which is fair play.

bs yellow.

• 319.Pencil: Reply to this comment

Hmm, dunno about that. He certainly went for the ball, but it looked like he was trying to prevent the pass by slapping it down rather than intercept it. Maybe I’ll have to watch it again.

• 320.rangerman: Reply to this comment

the boks scored 3 tries in capetown.

puts things in perspective imo.

cant wait to see the aussies and abs travel to argiebargie land.

• 321.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-317: and not very easy to execute. Bloody brilliant by that Arg.

• 322.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-318: learn the rules mate..

• 323.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Kookwater

• 324.onerb: Reply to this comment

Yellow and light failure marred this game.

• 325.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Fantastic defence by the Pumas.

• 326.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Pencil-319: nah mate, no slap down at all imo.

too much emotion by the ref.

weepu adding some urgency.

• 327.rangerman: Reply to this comment

too good abs.

well done.

• 328.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Conrad Smith – best 13 in the game today..

• 329.grant10: Reply to this comment

GREAT TRY

KIWIS WILL NOT BE LOOKING FORWARD TO TRIP TO aRGIES THOUGH…

• 330.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

good try. Was kinda expecting that with 14 defending. Arg is tiring methinks.

• 331.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-322: open both eyes mate.

• 332.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

good try, has to be said, Argentina need to hold on now and not capitulate like they did at the World Cup

• 333.Pencil: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-326:

It certainly came off his outstretched hand and went down. The only question is; was he going for an intercept, or was he trying to spoil? My first impression was that he was just trying to get in the way, but I’d have to see it again.

• 334.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-325:
    Yep, excellent defense from the Pumas.

@rangerman-326:
    Slap down, close to penalty try imo

• 335.Nils: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-320: True, just do not forget, that was first Argie game in the comp, they looked very nervous. I do not think life for the Boks would have been that easy had they met in CT next week with Argie confidence skyrocketing after following 2 performances.

• 336.grant10: Reply to this comment

Smith a national kiwi treasure…

• 337.Micky Wicky: Reply to this comment

That was the knockout blow… but very impressed by the Pumas – they’re in it for the business, I’d even back them to avoid the wooden spoon this year.
    Today they’ve played better than I expect our Bokke to.

• 338.rangerman: Reply to this comment

argies need to get down the abs half.

hard when you are a man down though.

• 339.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Well, that extra 10 minute break and sending a man off paid off. Congrats.

• 340.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Good try, a final pass that final stuck, first in a long while. Buenos Aires well be epic. Argentina well take away massive belief from here regardless of result.

• 341.nama1: Reply to this comment

All Blacks usually score between 10 and 15 points when they play against 14 men.

Today they score in the last minute of the 10 that the Argie is in the sin bin. Pity the Argies could not hold out one more minute.

Good try.

• 342.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-332:
    Yep, we only won by slotting penalties in that game.
    Argies are really a handful

• 343.Pencil: Reply to this comment

The Allblacks precision is a lot better in the second half and they’re looking a lot better because of this. It has to be said though, the Argies defence has made the AB’s attack look rather impotent.

• 344.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

And therein lies the difference between the Boks and AB’s thus far. When Plan A doesn’t work (the offload game), go to plan B and be patient….
    Or what say you John Galt?

• 345.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

Arg back to 15. But I think the game has already stepped out of their reach. good performance in spite of though.

• 346.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Normality resumed, yet all credit to those Latin warriors…….nice wakeup call for Abs……massive backlash next week

• 347.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Messam has added some starch since coming on, think he now oversteps Vito for the 6 spot..

• 348.willievz: Reply to this comment

Where’s Transie, waiting for him to give me an update on “the best nr8 in the game”

• 349.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Aaaah feckit

• 350.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-334: ag there was no slap down bud, that just nonsense.

watch it again.

and again.

• 351.onerb: Reply to this comment

Ref decided not to blow nz at rucks anymore. More of the same

• 352.grant10: Reply to this comment

just no Bonus point….asseblieftog

• 353.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@willievz-348:
    Every player can have an off day dont you think?

• 354.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Could have been a red card for second professional foul

• 355.Pencil: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-350:

Do you agree that it came off his outstretched hand and went down?

• 356.onerb: Reply to this comment

Forward pass

• 357.Soda: Reply to this comment

Anyone else notice back in the first half (forward pass to Savea) that the tackling Argie intentionally bent Savea’s leg back? I’m predicting a citing.

• 358.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Nils-335: well the boks are done with them so they are your problem now :lol:

another try abs.

well done.

i back the argies to take the abs a lot closer at home.

• 359.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

now that was a brilliant try. Absolutely sublime.

• 360.grant10: Reply to this comment

farkit….please Argies….fight boys…

• 361.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

pass looked forward

• 362.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Carter, rest up well, we will need you in a fortnight.

• 363.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Feckin Corey from the Hutts

• 364.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-350:
    I have, he went to tackle the player, got the player and put the hand out to stop the next pass, simple. He stopped a try.

• 365.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-353: Day off?

He is a journeyman when things get slightly physical.

• 366.nama1: Reply to this comment

The fat lady starting to warm up.

Great try.

Weepu making the BIG difference. Who said he was finished?

• 367.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Fatties ran out of steam as expected.

• 368.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Was always going to be about the last 15min when the game opens up.

• 369.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Great conversion

• 370.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-353: Some Bok players have the luxury of being afforded 50 off games……

Sidenote: Piri always looks a better player in an AB jersey.

• 371.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-361:
    Can you see forward passes now?

• 372.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Messam is a hell of a player to have coming off the bench.

• 373.grant10: Reply to this comment

Argies are brave okes….fearless…

• 374.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-370:
    Yep.
    Piri coming on has looked better than Smith.

• 375.Nils: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-358: Agree on all counts here.

• 376.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Fatties???????

• 377.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Pencil-355: yes.

thats called a knock on.

@Hurricane-364: and stopping a try or going for asn intercept is a yellow card?

cmon man pull the other one.

• 378.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Shoulder charge on Richie….what do you all think?

• 379.rangerman: Reply to this comment

haha, reechee dived like a soccer ponce.

• 380.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Agulla on McCaw :)

• 381.onerb: Reply to this comment

Richie soccer dive mccaw

• 382.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-376:

Yes, check the forwards…. lots of spare tubes… bad conditioning if you ask me.

• 383.grant10: Reply to this comment

heat on Heyneke….

what a thriller in prospect in Perth…

• 384.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Love the Kiwi commentators laughing at Ritchie :lol:

• 385.Pencil: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-377:

and do you think he had a legitimate chance of catching it? Did it look to you like he was trying to? if not, then that’s a yellow card offence.

• 386.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-378: dont waste your time Hurri, theyve all been deflated because the Argies arent going to win now… very brave effort and they should be proud,,

• 387.rangerman: Reply to this comment

and then got up in a huff.

even the kiwi commetators had a laugh :lol:

• 388.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-377:
    Does not matter. Knocked it down in the process…..yellow card. It has been called.
    The rule is a line call anyway.

• 389.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

It was a legit yellow card, look at the replay, his hand slapped the ball down, interception effort our attempt, hand slaps ball in upward motion.

• 390.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

So the ABs are allowed to throw forward passes and skew line out feeds are also ok if you’re an AB.

• 391.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-382:

They make even the AB scrumhalf to look like a balerina on diet.

• 392.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Pencil-385: seriously bud, that was bs.

ruined the game imo.

haha, reechee giving away penalties now, a little gwumpy after seeing his backside :lol:

• 393.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@CSI:Rugby-389: how can you slap a ball down in an upward motion?

no man, thats hilarious.

• 394.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

When does the Aussie game start?

• 395.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

so seems Mallett and Mitch got their predictions spot on pre-game. Know their stuff suppose.

• 396.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-392:
    That call ruined the game???
    lol,maybe for someone thats preying for an Argie win.

• 397.rangerman: Reply to this comment

anyways, the yellow aside i have enjoyed the game.

well done abs.

must get ready for the real event.

have a good one and well done abs again.

• 398.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

So, with all the AN discrepancies pointed out by our massive fan base in the republic, do we remain silent on the argie play because they played a mighty game of rugby away from home? Give yourselves a wrap lads.

• 399.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

The game absolutely hinged on that dubious yellow card, and that leaves a sour taste in the mouth. The game in Argentina will be very interesting indeed. Any ref will think twice about carding Pumas there.

• 400.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Piri pictured the ball as a mince pie and ripped it away from Argies

• 401.Pencil: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-392:

But what part of it was bs? If he wasn’t legitimately trying to intercept that it was a yellow card. if he didn’t stick his hand out it was close to a certain try(although maybe not with the poor handling of NZ tonight).

It didn’t look to me like he made any effort to catch the ball, but I’d like to see it again, I could be wrong.

• 402.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

AB

• 403.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-400:
    Piri looked better than Smith, no matter what i think. Smith threw some shoddy passes and he is weak around the fringes and his box kick was lacking

• 404.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Nothing against Cruden, he is phenomenal playmaker BUT: I don’t think that 1st half would have been quite as tight if Mr Carter was controlling things in those frenetic 40 minutes. Just feel he would have slowed the game down and put a stop to tactics that weren’t working.

Well done Argies – long may you fight!

Congrats AB’s.

• 405.Nils: Reply to this comment

2 conclusions from the game

1st The ABs turn the heat on when it matters
    2nd I just love those Argies, well played – again!

• 406.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

well done both teams. AB’s for their comeback. Two great tries against great defence.

• 407.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-399:
    Ridiculous……yellow card was warranted…..deliberate knock down

• 408.poppa69: Reply to this comment

good hard game of rugby, was a joy to watch… good warm up for the Saffas next week too..

Well done Argies.

• 409.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-400:

Lol, to be fair to piri he seems to be only overweight now and no longer obese.

• 410.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-399:
    Your kidding?
    Dont tell me the yellow card that stopped a try was the turning point.

• 411.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-403:
    Yep….Piri brought a calmness behind the Ab pack…a Legend

• 412.whatever: Reply to this comment

Mmmmm, not the smashing all were predicting!

• 413.Puma: Reply to this comment

Well done Abs.

Very well done to Pumas for not allowing the 4 tries.

And here we we so bliksem mad that we never got the 4 tries at home against them. So for equal unless Abs beat them on their turf which they probably will or who knows may not.

Come on Boks get the damn win today and try play with some style to get the 4 tries. We do that we most definitely back in the hunt.

• 414.nama1: Reply to this comment

CONGRATULATIONS to the ALL BLACKS and their supporters.

That’s how you absorb pressure.

Well played in the end.

Well done Argies. Your supporters can be proud. No team is going to find it easy against them.

Hope they are not buggered by injuries as the tournament progresses.

• 415.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma-413: double we…. one should have been – were :roll:

• 416.poppa69: Reply to this comment

now we kiwis can relax and cheer on the Aussies…

always love having the early game :D

• 417.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Argentina, Argentina, Argentina, well done lads, see you in Buenos Aires.

• 418.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Well done agies. You guys have heart.
    Oh and some mean forwards.

• 419.Robzim: Reply to this comment

The AB’s missed SBW a lot today and will most likely miss him even more next week.

• 420.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@whatever-412:
    All?
    Not i.

• 421.Puma: Reply to this comment

Honestly thought ABs would come out and smash the Argies. They never and also never got the 4 tries. A bit of a surprise for me today. Still think we should have got the 4 tries at home. Anyhow gone and dusted.

Now we need to play smart against those Aussies and pick up the win. We lose well that will be it all over for us this season.

• 422.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-407: @Hurricane-410: That would not have been a yellow card if the Pumas were playing against SA. And yes, it was absolutely the turning point.

• 423.Pencil: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-419:

True, although I think Nonu played okay. He wasn’t as influential as SBW, but I think he did a lot of good, without doing a lot wrong. Solid.

• 424.Nils: Reply to this comment

@whatever-412: Tell us who were those “all”.

• 425.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Puma-421: weather wasnt the greatest Puma

• 426.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Argentina v Wallabies in Mendoza, I think I’ll put the house on the Argies, also Poppas, and Cannes house, trust lads it’s foregone conclusion ;-)

• 427.nama1: Reply to this comment

Winning a test match by 16 points is quite a beating imo.

Yes, they may have scored the majority of their points in the last 15 minutes but a game lasts 80 minutes, remember?

• 428.Pencil: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-422:

I think the point was that if he didn’t slap the ball down New Zealand would of scored anyway, which possibly still could of turned the game? But it’s impossible to know how that would of changed the game!

• 429.spartan: Reply to this comment

Argentina got away with murder
    specially with releasing tackled player ,supporting own body weight and entering through the gate

• 430.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nama1-427:
    …also keeping in mind that the weather was not great.

• 431.poppa69: Reply to this comment

thank fark Bakkies is no longer watching these games..

the bloke would have had a heart attack with the light situation

• 432.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-422:
    Dude you know how silly that sounds??
    How can you say that would not be a yellow card if SA was playing?
    We started the 2nd half better and gain momentum. If the guy didnt slap the ball down we had 2 players unmarked, he stopped a try. That would have been the turning point anyway.

• 433.Pencil: Reply to this comment

@spartan-429: @spartan-429:

Maybe they did, but can you really put the AB’s performance down to that? Argies still smashed them on defence, and the ab’s couldn’t catch/retain possession. Nothing stuck, in the first half especially.

• 434.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Pencil-428: If that was an attempted intercept then at most it would have been a scrum for a knock-on.

• 435.Esoteric: Reply to this comment

Hate to say it but the All Blacks are going to miss SBW.

• 436.grant10: Reply to this comment

Kiwis done well….hung in and counterpunched….

Just glad no bonus point….

Now for the Perth Dance of the Desperate Dans Deans and Herr Himmler Meyer

• 437.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@nama1-427: well SA won by 21 points.

Today was only 2 tries to 1 and Argentina missed quite a few points with the boot. I think Argentina can be proud of themselves and look forward to the return leg.

They’ve done you boys a favour denying NZ the bonus, it’s up to your Boks to take advantage of it.

• 438.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@spartan-429:
    These guys here missed all that. All threy saw was Kwiw forward passes and the slap down that stopped a try that to a few of them should not have been.
    But Argies did well to get away with what they did. They got caught a few times as well but really slowed us down alot. Around the fringes they took us apart

• 439.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-432: Depends on where you’re sitting, I guess. Well done. Enjoy it.

• 440.Pencil: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-434:

Aye, I’d like to see it again. I only saw the replay once and it looked like a thinly veiled attempt to spoil to me, but I’m open to be proven wrong once a replay is out.

• 441.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-431:
    He watched,he is at the moment looking at his keyboard and shaking

• 442.goforthegap00: Reply to this comment

Live feed for the Bok game ? anyone got a good site ? Tv down and can’t go out.

• 443.Pencil: Reply to this comment

Live feed: http://www.vipboxsports.eu/watch/66792/8/the-rugby-championship—new-zealandvsargentina-live-stream-online.html

Enjoy.

• 444.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@goforthegap00-442: coolsport.tv/stream4.php

• 445.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Argies defence was unreal today but unless they improve their attacking game and bring some variety into their game they will not win a match in this competition.

• 446.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-432: It totally depends on who is playing.

If instead of ABs there would have been Boks playing Pumas you can bet hour house that you would not hear a single complaint about the card, every local would be screaming blue for it.

• 447.gunther: Reply to this comment

@grant10-436:

What he’s a nazi now?

Any other playground insults.

You sound sillier than just buggery with his Broederbond nonsense.

• 448.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

The Pumas will clean up the dingoes next week and then beat them at home. The Dingoes will beat the Bokke at least once. So wooden spoon is a fight between the Dingoes and the Bokke.
    Next week the Kiwis on a dry track will be asked to take it easy after putting half a ton in the first half.
    1. NZL
    2. ARG
    3. AUS
    4. RSA
    If you’re a blow-hard, man life sucks, and then you’re dead!

• 449.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

At any rate, the Pumas are going to shake things up enormously. I don’t think the Wallabies will be able to live with their physicality.

• 450.The Analyst: Reply to this comment

@nama1-291:

AB’s always need a leg up from the ref in NZ…. just like quarter finals … nail the Boks with Bryce and card the Argies to help them over the line.

• 451.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Well done to the Pumas. Can see how this competition will make them stronger and stronger.

• 452.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-445: bit questionable rob after they were so close to turning over the Boks.

I think they stand a more than good chance of beating Australia in Argentina and NZ could come a cropper over there too if not careful.

• 453.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst-450:
    Change your user name if thats what you think.

• 454.The Analyst: Reply to this comment

@AiDoc-448:

Willing to put money on that?

• 455.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

@goforthegap00
    vipboxsport dot.eu

• 456.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst-450:

do you see dead people?

• 457.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@AiDoc-448: This is the table at the moment, sunshine:

1 New Zealand 2 2 0 0 49 19 +46 0 0 12
    2 South Africa 2 1 1 0 43 22 +21 0 0 6
    3 Argentina 2 0 1 1 22 43 -37 0 0 2
    4 Australia 2 0 0 2 19 49 -30 0 0 0

• 458.goforthegap00: Reply to this comment

@pencil-443
    @bighit-444

• 459.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-452:
    Yep.
    We now know how hard it is going to be in Argentina.
    Boks should have lost, they got away with a draw. We cannot let Argies get
    confidence up and hit them with all we got in first 20 mins.

• 460.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-452:

Its just that they are so predictable- they have been playing like this for years- if they can add a bit more flair to their attack they will start winning more games- they are never easy to beat but hardly ever win a game against a top team (except occasionally against France).

• 461.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-453:

Why?

It’s not like you’re really a hurricane.

More like a stale guff.

• 462.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@gunther-461:
    I support Hurricanes. Seems logical….. Gunther phhhtt

• 463.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Now for the Deans/Meyer showdown.
    Pleaseohfuckingplease may this vamped up Bok outfit pitch up and play today.

• 464.spartan: Reply to this comment

@Pencil-433:
    That was part of the reason as it stalled the ABs momentum
    Going too lateral was a problem too
    I believe the main reason for the ‘droppsies is they are looking to play this high speed high risk game when simple basic rugby gets the job done
    They are starting to remind me of the Waikato Chiefs of old
    Trust me ,as soon as they dump Foster the sharpness and accuracy will return

• 465.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

In three year of our Lord 2019, the four semi finalists week be from three rugby championship, with all blacks winning it all of course :-) against Argentina in the final, heard it here first.

• 466.Nils: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst-450: Of course, they desparately needed a ref to get a semi with the 3N champs, consisting of many Super champs instead of out-of-sorts Boks.

Every ABs fan I know would welcome Boks with open arms in the semis instead of those wily Aussies as Boks certainly were the weakest of the 2. You do not lose 6 from 7 for nothing.

That cheating bleat should be written in your anthem at last.

• 467.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

The Kiwis are so predictable. No matter what you do or how well, they crush you! Anything we can do they can do better. Yes they can.

• 468.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Just showed the knock down again…… Plain as can be.
    Sorry Ranger and so called Analyst, yellow card was needed.

• 469.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@spartan-464: Daniel Carter would have put a stop to that had he been there….Early in the 1st half already I reckon.

• 470.poppa69: Reply to this comment

time to migrate to the SAf/Aus thread and be like our “hosts”

Cmon Aussies !

• 471.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@AiDoc-467:

• 472.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-459: They will almost certainly be the ones doing the hitting in the first 20 over there. South African Jaco Peyper will be reffing the game in Rosario so could be interesting…

@Robzim-460: I hear you, they lost their two best centres to injury and unavailability (Contepomi & Tiesi) so their attack is impaired. Fernandez and Bosch are good defenders but very average on attack.

More immediately concerning for them is their inability to kick their points, their forwards do all the hard work just for their goal-kickers to waste it.

• 473.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-437: @Big Hit-437:
    Yes. Boks need to win with a bonus point. Will be only one point behind NZ if they do and then the competition is still there for the taking.

Not too confident that they have it in them to do it. That loose trio is our weakness, I think.

@The Analyst-450:
    ‘Twas a legitimate yellow card.

Ask you this questio: If that was the Boks on the attack so close to the goalline with an overlap on the outside and Nonu made that tackle/slap the ball down, would you have called for the ref to give him a yellow card or not?

• 474.grant100: Reply to this comment

Nz is kak… What a pathetic performance….. Boks will take them

• 475.poppa69: Reply to this comment

where did Cab disappear too, did he see how the WCs kicked on?

• 476.grant100: Reply to this comment

If quota zane gets injured and is out for a year or so… We will kill the all blacks

• 477.spartan: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-469:
    Totally agree

• 478.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@grant100-474:
    They need to beat Ozzie first little peka fella

• 479.Nils: Reply to this comment

@nama1-473: You know the answer well. It all depends on team one supports. Swap ABs with Boks in identical situation and every oke would be screaming blue for a card. Swap Pumas with Boks here and any card would be greeted with derision.

• 480.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@grant100-476:
    Yep, dgood luck with that. One player is your problem you think?

• 481.grant100: Reply to this comment

Nz looked very poor… In king heyneke we trust… Wonderkind hougaard will run circles around nz back 3

• 482.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

Go Dingoes. In a few hours this site will be dedicated to ropeable Bokke fans grizzling about the referee in Perth.

• 483.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Nils-479:
    True.

• 484.Pencil: Reply to this comment

Okay I just saw the replay. That was certainly a professional foul and a deserved yellow.

• 485.Manona: Reply to this comment

Good game. I hope the Wobblies & Saffas can bring that kind of intensity.

Its getting a little stale smashing the wobblies all the time.

ABs shouldn’t have too much difficulty with that boks gameplan on saturday, but if they decide to use Biz & Alberts running angles of Steyn & JdV they will be a handful.

Basson is class but underutilized.

Bomb & pray is for staehouse rugby or real rugby circa 2005

• 486.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@grant100-474:
    So who is an idiot now?

• 487.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-478:
    Yep, little peka failed, grant 100

• 488.TheTorcuatense: Reply to this comment

Anyone can help?
    For our plan game the wind is not a help, in the first 40´ it help the Cruden´s kicks.
    If I understand what Mr. Simon means is:
    Puma dominance (or not the AB dominance) was an external factor: the weather.
    Right?
    If he is rigth, at the final of the match the wind comes again and the rain too?
    The pumas dominates the wather or have the phone number of god?

In other hand I can´t understand:
    Farías Cabello was right in his yellow card (I guess when the ball go back means undeliberable knock-on).
    I guess when Manonu charged to Carriza with out ball, that means no yellow card, that was a demostration of the Kiwi Welcome Ceremony Army? But NEVER yellow card?
    Conrad Smith committed three Pumas’ defenders or Rodriguez Gurruchaga didn´t follow the iron plan?
    The second try is 100% our fault, We never read the regultaions of NFL, in these sport is possible do something invalid for the rugby union, AKA forward pass.

But now, leave the ironic words,
    what happened?
    The pumas now is in the 8° position.
    Our pro players play outside.
    Our clubs still amateurs like in the past century.
    The Ab was a forgettable day, pumas was a day where show that they are learning or 50-50?

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.