Blacks battle past Pumas

SIMON BORCHARDT saw the All Blacks score two tries in the final quarter to beat Argentina 21-5 in Wellington.

Wet weather is a great leveller and that proved to be the case here as the Pumas went into half-time just one point behind the world champions. But the rain stopped, the wind died down, and the visitors’ resistance predictably crumbled at the 60-minute mark after flanker Julio Farias Cabello was yellow carded for a deliberate knock down.

Soon after, Conrad Smith committed three Pumas’ defenders before sending Julian Savea away for a try that made it 14-5. And with five minutes to go, and the Pumas back to 15 men, a long pass from Aaron Cruden saw Cory Jane dive over in the right-hand corner.

The match had begun in driving rain and swirling wind, with the latter pushing Cruden’s first penalty attempt wide. The All Blacks flyhalf, who was a late replacement for the injured Dan Carter, then knocked on (a sign of things to come for his side) before succeeding with his second attempt at goal.

The Pumas had effectively slowed the Boks’ ball down at the breakdown in Mendoza but French referee Romain Poite was not so charitable in Wellington and they were pinned a couple times early on. However, that didn’t deter the visitors from flooding the breakdown.

The committed Pumas’ defence forced the All Blacks into making mistakes that could not be blamed on the weather. In the 13th minute, Ma’a Nonu lost possession in the tackle and Argentina sent the ball wide. Their forwards then bashed away at the line, with loosehead prop Rodrigo Roncero finding a gap around the fringes to score the first try of the game.

Cruden’s boot edged the All Blacks back in front 6-5 soon after, but the handling errors continued with Kieran Read knocking on with the tryline in sight and Richie McCaw spilling the ball just before the break.

All Blacks coach Steve Hansen must have given his side a helluva tongue-lashing at half-time and a city-wide power failure gave him an extra 10 minutes to do so.

His side produced a better performance in the second half, with better conditions allowing them to sent the ball wide on two occassions that resulted in two tries.

But Hansen will be the first to admit that there is massive room for improvement, and Heyneke Meyer will be hoping the world champions don’t hit their straps in Dunedin next weekend.

488 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All

• 151.Puma: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-120: Yes but what you have to remember that Walsh too let them get away with a lot at the breakdowns. Here is a French ref who is reffing a lot better.

Let us see how the Blacks go after the break like you say to judge our bad we were last wee. And I thought we were terrible. Now Abs are looking much the same on their HOME turf….hehe. Loving it though. Just think ABs could pull away in the 2nd half. If they don’t score the 4 tries we win today we still could be in it. That is if we beat Oz.

• 152.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Puma-130: Howzit Pumes. Durbs treating you well mate? This game – I’m enthralled.

• 153.onerb: Reply to this comment

Wouldnt put it past them.

• 154.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Horings-136: The Pumas will be ranked fourth in no time at all. They could very well win this game, and they will beat the Wallabies twice – unless the Aussies can somehow find a way to play the whole game with their backs. The Wallabies forwards are far too soft to beat the Pumas.

• 155.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Lights out in windy Wellington

• 156.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma-151: our = how

• 157.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Kiwis giving themselves more time to regroup!

• 158.John Galt: Reply to this comment

I luv u bakeries is going to have a field day with this.

Conspiracy theorist that he is.

• 159.Nils: Reply to this comment

Oh, I see last Argies game was no fluke, they aren’t tournament whipping boys at all. Very glad to see that.

• 160.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-138: where?

howdy btw!

• 161.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-135: yep i kept reminding everyone that the score was 18 -10 in the 65th min all the pts from weepu’s boot…ABs only scored after argies were down to 10 men…

• 162.onerb: Reply to this comment

Just kidding fellow nz bloggers. This might suit argies as they can rest longer.

• 163.Horings: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-142: Do you think Kruger for Bekker, Pienaar for Hougaard, Vermeulen for Potgieter and Louw for Daniel will improve our execution today?

• 164.Puma: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-152: Yeah always great here. Had plenty rain here this week. Today awesome, what can I say? Life is great here..lol.

How you doing Tassies? Hope well.

• 165.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-143: You think the Boks are without problems. Glad to hear it farking fool.

• 166.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Horings-146: full credit to the Argies, have come to play and are not taking a backward step.

• 167.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Fk can’t watch the second half.

The Argis are playing a cracker here and have proven the likes of pedigree and his ilk as impostors.
    I suspect the ABs will be too strong in the end though.

Good luck all.

• 168.grant10: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-139: Brussow…Flo

Bobs your aunt

• 169.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Fitzpatrick reckons they’ve turned off the lights to hide Graham Henry :)

• 170.rangerman: Reply to this comment

haha, ab’s out of puff so they kept the lights off.we all know that

they are having 7 kinds of k u k smashed out of them by the argies and HATING it.

it seems that the argies play a very similar confrontational physical game as s africa and we all now that the ab’s have historically been troubled most by the boks.

go argies!

• 171.cab: Reply to this comment

Cracking stuff – come Argies to really set the bird amongst the pigeons.

World champs?

• 172.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Wonder if we can sub commentators

• 173.Horings: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-154: The weather is a big factor and I think in dry conditions the Wallabies will be favourites against Argentina in Aus. Whether the argies pitch up for the game will also be a big factor. They are the France of Southern Hemisphere rugby.

• 174.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

So the light is back?

• 175.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-161: guess we’ll see how good a coach Shag is now… Fosters influence on the AB backs already showing, look how poor he was with that chiefs backline… :D

• 176.grant10: Reply to this comment

Go Argies….go boys!!!!

• 177.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Wow, good to see Argies giving the ABs a bit of a problem. ABs have ruined a few opportunities again which needs to be fixed. They cant keep playing like that.

• 178.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ranger that debate last night!

Oh btw filthy kiwis turning the lights out? Pfft!

• 179.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Puma-151: I can’t see NZ scoring 4 tries….Winning for us is non-negotiable now (puts us back in the game if AB’s don’t get a bonus point here)

• 180.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

hmmm wonder how this extended half time break will affect the game .
    might work in the ABs favour

• 181.Puma: Reply to this comment

If the lights don’t come back on it will be a draw… :)

• 182.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@cab-171: we havent lost 19-0 at home yet Cab, remember that one? :wink:

• 183.grant10: Reply to this comment

farken Kiwi Eskom??

• 184.Puma: Reply to this comment

@boktillzero-180: I feel the same. The long break will allow the ABs to regroup. Then again it could give the Argies some time to recover. They have put in a lot in that first half.

• 185.grant10: Reply to this comment

jeepers…..what a tragedy….

• 186.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-175: an argie wim will really set this competition on fire :twisted:

• 187.grant10: Reply to this comment

no man….this is a kak one

• 188.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Territorial game would be the go this half for all blacks

• 189.Puma: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-179: For sure. If the Abs don’t pick up the bonus point and we win our game today. We are back in the hunt.

• 190.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-167: I’m an impostor because I find fault with Heyneke Meyer and some of his selections and decisions?
    No mate – the impostors are the so called fans who try and justify every sh y tty Bok performance with a flurry of excuses.

But, like you, I’m hoping like hell the Boks manage to pull off a win today….

• 191.Dawn: Reply to this comment

They did it on purpose

Now I’m sommer gatvol bevok

• 192.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-186: can you imagine this place? farken hell lol

• 193.spartan: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-175:
    Got to hand to the Argies
    They got some real mongrel

• 194.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

do you think an All Black sparkie supporter got gatvol and flicked a switch in disgust? :)

• 195.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-191: surely, if it was on purpose Hansen wouldnt have gone back to the coaches box? he would have stayed in the changerooms?

• 196.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-175: i bet the NZRU will pull the plug on Ted coaching the argies hehehe…he’s really upped their game

• 197.onerb: Reply to this comment

Either way this game is now a farce due to the light situation.

• 198.cab: Reply to this comment

Popps – u must be poeping a bit – this is at home too -maybe the bokke are actually the best, even this rebuilding side..

• 199.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@spartan-193: yep, fighting tough, its great… they will only improve the more they play in this comp too

• 200.Puma: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-194: hahahahahaha. Good one… :)

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.