Lions roar loudest at Loftus
8 Sep 2012
JON CARDINELLI writes the Golden Lions scored four tries in their 32-23 win against the Blue Bulls on Saturday.
It was a match where the Lions’ adventurous attitude was rewarded, and where the Bulls’ poor defence and abysmal goal-kicking was punished.
The Bulls led 8-3 for much of the first half, but some wayward goal-kicking by Louis Fouche prevented the hosts from building on that lead. Fouche missed two kicks at goal and also sent a drop attempt wide. If one is to consider the final scoreline, you would have to say that these misses were incredibly costly.
So too were the lapses in concentration during periods before and after half-time. Lions wing Deon Helberg rounded off some enterprising play in the dying minutes of the first half, and centre Alwyn Hollenbach crossed the line early in the second. They were scores that changed the complexion of the game, as the Lions went to a 15-8 lead.
While Fouche had struggled with his goal-kicking, Lions flyhalf Elton Jantjies also battled at times with his accuracy. The Lions were clearly on top in the second half, but Jantjies failed to convert kickable penalties into points. Replacement Jaco Taute also had a long-range shot that fell short of the crossbar.
A mistake by Lionel Mapoe allowed the Bulls a turnover, and this culminated in a try for Bulls centre Francois Venter. The ensuing conversion brought the scores level at 15-15.
But some brilliance by Mapoe and Jantjies would see the Lions hitting back immediately. Mapoe made the initial break, and from the subsequent phase, Jantjies produced a deft chip over the defence. The Lions flyhalf regathered before delivering a great inside ball to Taute, who then ran 30m to score.
On the 60-minute mark, Jantjies added another penalty that took the Lions out to a 10-point lead. The Bulls stayed in touch with a penalty and try of their own, but a missed conversion by Fouche meant the Lions held a slender two-point advantage as the match approached its climax.
The Bulls’ desperation began to tell, as they made some elementary errors that effectively killed off any chance of a fightback. The Lions continued to come at the hosts, and after having one try disallowed, it was Mapoe who finished in the right-hand corner to bank the bonus point.
The result sees the Lions moving up the Currie Cup table, while the Bulls remain in last place.

120 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All
8 Sep 2012, 17:06 pm
Anyone have a streaming link (vipbox not working)?
8 Sep 2012, 17:07 pm
do it bullish dragons
8 Sep 2012, 17:18 pm
i hate to say this but i so badly want to see elton cut his hair.
nice try bulls
8 Sep 2012, 17:22 pm
nice work blommetjies
8 Sep 2012, 17:30 pm
Girlie alert!
Helberg gets a start.
8 Sep 2012, 17:32 pm
bulls attitude greatlyimproved from last week.
8 Sep 2012, 17:32 pm
@gecko-1:
no, i do not.
8 Sep 2012, 17:34 pm
@Dawn-5:
why? are you a cougar?
8 Sep 2012, 17:34 pm
skop en jag all over again
Fouche is a M Steyn clone
8 Sep 2012, 17:42 pm
@grant10-9:
are you even watching the game, grant?
how ridiculous.
did you see the first phase try the bulls scored?
8 Sep 2012, 17:49 pm
radar not working on both sides
8 Sep 2012, 17:51 pm
dammit bulls
8 Sep 2012, 17:51 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-10: watching…missing penalties….dropped goals….reminds me of M Steyn….1 st instinct to skop
8 Sep 2012, 17:52 pm
And Helberg scores!
8 Sep 2012, 17:53 pm
noew how is that for a 10….
Jantjes far far better
8 Sep 2012, 17:55 pm
Can’t wait to see what Jean Cook and Bongi Mbonambi can do when they come on!
8 Sep 2012, 17:55 pm
so Bakkies
praat my moed in boet….
I am getting worried…
Is HM the right guy for us…..? I am worried now….
And are you still saying M Steyn the best for us at 10?
8 Sep 2012, 18:02 pm
@grant10-13:
so he missed a few, its an off day
@grant10-17:
honeslty grant, its not the best of starts but its not the worst of starts either.
a bigger test for these boks and heyneke would be for them to win both their home games against anzacs.
i believe he will sweat bricks to get it right, in a very challenging environment, and if the hard work pays off then the boks will click and lift from there.
8 Sep 2012, 18:05 pm
@grant10-17:
i did like the look of goosen for the short time he was on but at this stage the best thing for goosen and the boks is to persevere with morne.
morne general play was actually quite good but as we saw his kicking to posts was short when needed most. and thats really why he’s in the team.
maybe he needs to be dropped to give hime a wakeup.
8 Sep 2012, 18:07 pm
mapoe jou bliksem
dammit bulls
8 Sep 2012, 18:08 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-19:
Ok Bakkies….
if you say so…..
But I remain farken worried bort….
Te veel skop….
Kyk wat gebeur as jy n bietjie die shackles losmaak…..
sood die leeus met n aanvallende 10…
8 Sep 2012, 18:09 pm
undeserved lucky try bulls
8 Sep 2012, 18:10 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-19: I didn’t think his general play was good bakkies, he nearly butchered the try twice, his tackling was poor, he missed two drop-goals in front of posts and a straightforward shot and made virtually no breaks.
Was his tactical and line-kicking that good? not that I saw.
8 Sep 2012, 18:10 pm
vokkit
daar skop die laatie alweer mis
8 Sep 2012, 18:12 pm
Mapoe you biscuit
8 Sep 2012, 18:13 pm
well lets put it this way…..
I would not have M Steyn in my team….
or squad
or franchise
or province…
8 Sep 2012, 18:15 pm
looking forward to seeing Brussow a bit later
pity it is against my team
8 Sep 2012, 18:16 pm
@grant10-26:
Neither would I
I swear I rather play Peter Grant before i play Morne and as you know that says a lot.
Jantjes is true class.
8 Sep 2012, 18:17 pm
@grant10-21:
vasbyt grantie, vasbyt…
en onthou, dis altyd donkerste voor die dagbreek. die son sal weer skyn ou maat.
fark
i feel like listening to bob marley now
8 Sep 2012, 18:18 pm
and singing it
8 Sep 2012, 18:18 pm
Bok management are mad not to use Jantjes….showing class here….this is what we need …not a M Steyn clone….what class man…e to see taute back
8 Sep 2012, 18:19 pm
@Dawn-14: Helberg likes old aunties. He dropped his super hot girlfriend for her wrinkled, turkey necked mom.
8 Sep 2012, 18:20 pm
Poor Bakkies, looks like he will be owned in both holes.
Go Lions.
Nice try by Taute. Lions playing some good running rugby
Thank you Elton for Taute’s try!
Way to spark backline
@Robzim-28:
Fark Rob….will we ever learn??
8 Sep 2012, 18:21 pm
@Big Hit-23:
you overlook his positive contributions. he was a part of the first try.
did kick well mostly, attacked the line a number of times, was prepared to run with the ball.
i agreed on his kicking though, because that’s most importanlty why he’s there.
8 Sep 2012, 18:22 pm
Watsup Duskeeee
You back with more vinegary comments?
8 Sep 2012, 18:23 pm
@gecko-1: No external stream of this game. Only supersport, so if you are not in SA – you cant watch.
Because of DSTV needing to line the pockets of the corrupt politicians helping them to retain the monopoly on TV in South Africa they have to sell the rights to third party service providers internationally to cover some games which means that they block IP addresses outside of South Africa from logging in at their website.
Typical, small minded & limited African thinking. Can’t see the bigger prize.
8 Sep 2012, 18:24 pm
jantjes toying with bulls…
this what you call RUGBY
Not that pathetic Heyneke Meyer GARBAGE you saw this morning
Check what a ball in hand RUNNING team with CONFIDENCE can do
This Lions outfit out of the S15 and showing the REST of Sa rugby what proper springbok rugby SHOULD be aiming for
Bondisio, Jantjies, Hollenbach, Mapoe, Taute, Combrink and Coetsee
SO much better than the garbage we saw from
Pienaar, Steyn, Steyn, JdV, Mvovo, Kirchner today
Mapoe has made 2 tries skinning fancied Bulls midfield more than once, Jantjies running the game like an old hand maestro, Coetsee at back is an Israel Dagg, Christian Cullen lookalike..
Janse Van Rensburg and Adriaanse would offer better service up front than JdP and Beast too.
@Nils-33:
stick around nils, its a good game and anybodies yet.
you like holes?
8 Sep 2012, 18:25 pm
msteyn is a Warrior
8 Sep 2012, 18:25 pm
@Dawn-38: I never make ‘vingerary’ comments. I just dont allow myself to be limited by ‘political correctness’ aka ‘lying’
8 Sep 2012, 18:26 pm
Woohaa.
Cider vinegar
8 Sep 2012, 18:27 pm
@fitz1ella-41: Yes…yay….you have figured it out. We need to find a Bok team that has the same gulf in quality between itself and the All Blacks and Australia as a Super 15 vs. Vodacom Cup team.
Geez….revolutionary – you found the answer !
8 Sep 2012, 18:27 pm
@Robzim-28:
ja, he is good but super rugby has shown him up.
if the pressure of super rugby is high how much higher bok rugby.
i am not saying he should not be an option though.
but it would still pick goosen or morne ahead of him or patrick.
8 Sep 2012, 18:28 pm
stander is class
8 Sep 2012, 18:28 pm
I want instant food
There is nothing in this flat that doesn’t involve cooking
8 Sep 2012, 18:29 pm
@Dawn-49: Mr Delivery….
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All