Etzebeth cited

Eben Etzebeth has been cited for foul play during the match between Australia and South Africa.

The Bok lock is alleged to have contravened Law 10.4 (a) Punching or Striking, when he made contact with Australian player Nathan Sharpe with his head. The incident occurred in the 25th minute of Saturday’s match in Perth.

Upon further review of the match footage the citing commissioner deemed in his opinion the incident had met the red card threshold for foul play. The citing is to be considered in the first instance by Sanzar duty Judicial Officer Mike Heron.

154 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All

• 101.willievz: Reply to this comment

@cane-84: Dunno about that bud, it will be even stevens until 40 min, then the floodgates will open.

NZ by 15 at least

• 102.cane: Reply to this comment

@Nils-100:

I had another look Nils.

It was Franz.

But Morne would have done the same thing, it’s in their genes.

• 103.Nils: Reply to this comment

@cane-102: No, Cane. Morne placed the ball, get caught, so he had to go back a few meters and outside his range, so Frans had to kick. Just watch 1:09 – 1:16.

The most funny moment was refs reaction “good try, yeah, good try”, laughing while taking Moren with ball back. Priceless.

• 104.cane: Reply to this comment

@willievz-101:

Come on Willy, show some faith.

These Boks are all professional athletes. This is their time to shine.

I don’t like it when you Okes get all negative. It’s like sparring with a mannequin. (you don’t feel any pain, but hey, there is not much satisfaction either).

• 105.cane: Reply to this comment

@Nils-103:

My apologies Nils.

(nice try cane, but no smilie).

• 106.willievz: Reply to this comment

@cane-104: Not negative mate, just realistic.

I have no confidence whatsoever in the coaching staff. And its not about the gameplan. It is about their attitude to change and to considering alternatives.

We can be a world class rugby nation but we pick M.Steyn and Kirchner. That just about sums it up for me.

• 107.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@husky-93:
    too right, the kiwis are low rats and the behaviour to be expected but our execs are dooses for not being wakey to this kak.

• 108.Nils: Reply to this comment

Tell us Bakkies something new what we haven’t heard from you 24/7/365.

• 109.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Nils that can’t be right Bakkies assures us all SA players play hard but fair, you must imagining things like the headbutt it was a claytons…

• 110.Nils: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-109: Well then we can fairly assume Eben is a Kiwi. :D

• 111.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@Nils-110: @NZINCHINA-109: @cane-105:

Guys where are your normally so noisy and hugely arrogant adversaries now? How many times have they told you of the ‘ginormous’ talent pool waiting to drive the ABs to oblivion?

What you observe here today with the damning silence of their absence is the undenying hallmark of cowardice. It is trait of the Afrikaner culture unfortunately(as some of you have already recognised and stated).

• 112.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Clearly but to be fair after years of watching Botha butting,stomping and biting his away around world stadiums some of that was always going to rub off on the young man.

• 113.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-111: Do not worry, they’ll appear en masse as soon as ABs taste first loss. Bet your house on that.

• 114.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

Ebenezer Elizabeth has his Afrikaner culture to thank for saving him. As he lurched to launch his forehead, he looked up for the landmark and noted(as his culture demmands) the 15 yr. older ‘oom’(uncle) and hit the brakes on his launch.

A second saving grace has to be that he is not as religious as his hero Bakkies Botha.
    You need lots of that(prayers galore) to be outrageously violent on a rugby field.

• 115.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Correct a loss for the AB’s is celebrated like a Bokke win in the republic, I see 90% of them have thrown in the towel and surrendered and are now picking a thrashing in Dunedin how sad, from total arrogance upon Meyers appointment to meekly waving the white flag before we’ve even played

• 116.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@Nils-113:

NO, their arrogance is so huge they will come back slowly by tomorrow and will once again be the mad dalmations by Wed. to Sat. only to be smacked into oblivion by the ABs after the first 20 mins. open unknown, violent warfare by them on the field. They will target specific players like Cruden and both Smiths etc.

The black spots(quotas to them) on the PURE bred, but sickly, white dog irritates and frustrates them no end to the point of them scratching themselves to bleeding point. Hence a black spot, Mvovo, gets blamed for the loss and never the horrendous,woeful rugby played by a ‘verkrampte’ team.

Oh how I love September morns for the rugby results are like those of the 1974 Br. Lions in the townships.
    Next Sat. will surpass even the ’74 Br. Lions.

• 117.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

you chops are a larf

• 118.The Analyst: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-116:

Hey mate. Suggest you get lost with this kak you are writing here. You obviously have a problem.

• 119.charo: Reply to this comment

love the way our kiwi mates are talking about an “attempted” headbutt.

it was a “threatened” headbutt you bunch of emo girls.

nothing like the “real” headbutt from innocent kevvie.

• 120.Nils: Reply to this comment

@charo-119: did Kevvie headbutt someone last Sat?

• 121.STBUR: Reply to this comment

Uhh… he barely brushed him? If anything I think he was trying to threaten to do it. But as always the retards will go on their tangent.

• 122.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-36:

You are a right c.u.n.t.

• 123.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-122:

But then again so is half the Saffers that post on here.

• 124.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-107:
    Strange, i took Huskys posts as meaning NZ and OZ protect there players. SA dont and are useless.
    Really all your dumba$$ posts over kiwis cheating etc have just been proven that you have no clue on the game and seem to have the worst one eye in the business. All the cheating that was happening on field that the boks were caught for and in fact a few were missed shows you have a huge problem.
    Actually even in this game you blamed the refs for SA loss.
    Joker of Keo.

• 125.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-122:
    hmmm be called worse.
    Someone thought i was South African once. :-)

• 126.Greenies: Reply to this comment

Hey know one can cheat like the kiwis and know ref licks players balls like Macaws… Let reality be known.
    But to say Springobks vs AlBlacks this year is going to be a highlight or spectical, perhaps Alblacks verse Russia would be more intersting. I would sell my ticket if I had one for that match. One sided all the way…

• 127.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-116:

You dude, are a racist dog with a massive chip on your shoulder. You should go see someone, seriously!

• 128.whatever: Reply to this comment

Perhaps the lack of Saffa arrogance leading up to the AB’s test match is surpassed by the overwelming arrogance from our doos keewee friends?

Hope there is no egg on your faces this week-end, for your sakes anyway!

• 129.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Nils-103:

I’ve seen you AB doos’s do this on numerous occasions………………gotta laught at two internet twits having a team wa nk hey?

• 130.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Whats young Estebeth doing trying to be the designated hitman/enforcer, looks totally out of his depth for that role. Firstly you have to be accustomed to a razor for that job and you have to build a rep on and off the field to the point where your mere presence instills fear.Anyways I think the lad should be let off with a warning and told to pull his head in or a real enforcer may take it off.

• 131.Nils: Reply to this comment

@whatever-129: Indeed, Dale, “takes a doos to notice a doos”. :D

• 132.Nils: Reply to this comment

@whatever-128: I have to agree, anything less than 15 point win should be considered as a failure. Can’t hide from that.

• 133.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@whatever-128:
    We remember 2010.
    It was when most of you guys and Media were calling NZ rugby rubbish. And should not even go to NZ until the ABs up their game.
    Wham…Bam they dont make eggs that big for some of you clowns, now that cr@p was funny.
    Anyway if you decided to look through, you would see majority of us kiwis ( 4-5 of us ) think its going to be close. Actually telling a couple of locals not to give up.
    *** man its the Boks, we will never take these guys lightly.

• 134.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-130:
    Yep, no ban just a caution.
    He is young. Last thing he wants to do is follow Bakkies role.
    Better to knock it out of him early than before its too late.

• 135.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Greenies-126:
    I think you guys dont give yourself enough credit when it comes to dirty play and cheating.
    The last game was full of it. Only the blind could not see the cheating that the Boks were doing.
    But if you think we do more cos you count every game then i cant compete with that.

• 136.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

The citing is petty to say the least, but I can understand where it is coming from. Dirty play, or in this case, attempted dirty play has no place in a so called professional sport. And all these morons calling for an ‘enforcer’ whatever the hell that means in a professional age are just a bit slow on the uptake. The best way to be an ‘enforcer’ is to let your rugby do the talking and to point to the scorebored during the game. Look at Juan Smit…to me he was the real enforcer of SA rugby while Bakkies was nothing more than a thug. JS cammanded respect by his uncompromisisng playing style and no one out there would dare confront him because they knew they would feel it at the next ruck clean out.

The professional game should be hard but fair, end of. All this macho chest pumping bs belongs in the amateur leagues where failed athletes with boepies can relive their glory days. A true professional never gets rattled and in fact will try and rile his opponent in order for him to lose focus on the game. In this case Sharpe proved that you can’t buy experience and deep down Etsebeth knows that he was outwitted by Sharpe.

• 137.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Golden Boy-136:

Stupid thing to do and he deserves whatever comes his way, lets hope he learned a lesson.

• 138.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Golden Boy-136:
    Spot on Golden.

@Slartibartfast-137:
    Yeah mate, but i hope its not a ban and just a warning.
    He is young, although knows he cant do what he did, i think warning is warranted.
    Any more than that and i think he would feel a wee bit unlucky but will remember this next time cos there will be a next time with players trying to put you off your game.

• 139.poppa69: Reply to this comment

I think the whole bok team should be cited..

they were cheating throughout that whole game

it is obviously coached into them, filthy cheating scum…

good to see another SA player who likes to play dirty, at least this one picked on someone his own size

Ban SA from international rugby until they clean up their game, there is no room for the disgusting cheating they tried all night..

• 140.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-139: Coached into them? You are so wrong. At the moment there is no coaching of any sort taking place what so ever.
    As I said yesterday, and I will repeat it again: Eben survived an entire S15 being taunted, baited and worked up without losing his cool once. At one stage I know he attributed his calmness to Bekker’s presence on the field, and the rest of the Stormer forwards.

Now he is expected to fill Bakkies’s shoes at international level….(look at how the kid was slapped round here for being too ‘weak’ in Mendoza) and this in an already unhappy team.

Nah, this was out of character for Eben based on what we have seen til now: and that tells me ONE thing: players are confused, not that happy and discipline as usual is 1st to go when that happens.
    Jean Div as captain, is not happy either and he is quite simply the wrong person to lead under Meyer.

Ill discipline takes root out of frustration, and of Bok fans are frustrated and unhappy at the moment, imagine how the players are feeling. (Well, just look at Habana’s face on the field, and Lambie’s on the bench for that answer..)

• 141.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-138:

I think he has a fairly clean record so he may just get a warning. Having said that the Comm recons a red card offence and as there was no penalty in the match (not even a penalty) he may get at least 1 week, I can live with that.

• 142.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-141:
    Yeah true. Boks got a penalty and kicked the points on the play the head butt happened. They were lucky. So yeah, red card offence, no penalty or disciplined at all during the game, he could find a week off.
    Any longer i think is not fair.

• 143.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-140:
    Poppas having a crack at a few people on here. I don’t think you are one of them.
    We were told by a few in here that all our cheating is coached into NZ rugby at an early age. Strange, my Dad coached rugby as well as my brother and two uncles, they do not promote cheating of any kind.

• 144.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-143: I gathered that :) But must be honest, I found Eben’s reaction way out of what we have seen from him thus far. Hopefully he learns from this.

I honestly don’t think any team sets out to ‘cheat’. Clever coaches however will work on ways to push the laws and hit the refs weaknesses. This is not cheating, but boxing clever. :)

• 145.poppa69: Reply to this comment

when Saint Kev was accused of headbutting I was appalled, he had obviously tripped on an extra long blade of grass that wasnt clipped properly by the groundsmen and fell forward head first.. how the citing officer missed this reeks of a SARU payoff..

Ebens was totally premeditated, and one can only assume he was upset because Sharpe said, and I quote, “where is all this depth Ive heard so much about”?

• 146.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-145: That headbutt was way out of character for Kevin M as well.

• 147.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-140: :D

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-146: only two incidences of dirty play really spring to mind in regards to Kev and his career…

• 148.Guns: Reply to this comment

That was not a head but it was a “bork”..

Not even the Auz commentators called it a hesd biut more like a warm challenge braught on by sharps constant antics. Yet o surprise on KEO you have the SA writers calling it a head but.. Etzebeth needs to be carefull though to keep composure Kiwis will target to get him reacting and riled up for sure..

• 149.Guns: Reply to this comment

Not even the Auz commentators called it a hesd biut more like a warm challenge braught on by sharps constant antics. Yet no surprise on KEO you have the SA writers calling it a head but.. Etzebeth needs to be carefull though to keep composure Kiwis will target to get him reacting and riled up for sure..

• 150.Guns: Reply to this comment

Not even the Auz commentators called it a hesd biut more like a warm challenge braught on by sharps constant antics. Yet no surprise on K.E.O you have the SA writers calling it a head but.. Etzebeth needs to be carefull though to keep composure Kiwis will target to get him reacting and riled up for sure..

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.