Demetri steers Province to victory

JON CARDINELLI reports on WP’s 29-22 win against Free State in Bloemfontein.

Two instances of brilliance and a flawless goal-kicking performance earned Western Province what could be a crucial win in the context of their season.

The match was framed by moments of vision and sublime finishing, Gio Aplon supplying the opening salvo and Marcel Brache contributing the score that would put the result beyond doubt.

Aplon’s try took the visitors to a 7-0 lead in just the second minute. Brache did exceptionally well to get his hands through the tackle and find Aplon, who subsequently chipped the ball over the advancing defenders. The WP fullback was always going to win the race and with a favourable bounce, the Cape side were off to the best possible start.

But Free State stayed in touch via the impressive goal-kicking of wing Nico Scheepers. The youngster kicked five goals in the first half, and this allowed the hosts to go to the break with a 19-13 advantage.

But just as Scheepers showed considerable mettle in front of goal, so too did Catrakilis. The WP flyhalf converted every opportunity in the first half, when it seemed the Cheetahs had the initiative, and three quick penalties in succession after the break saw the momentum shifting back in the visitors’ favour.

Scheepers managed to bisect the uprights to bring the scores level at 22-22, but that’s when Catrakilis showed why he is more than just a goal-kicker.

The WP flyhalf spotted the space behind the Cheetahs defence, and chipped for Brache to chase. The timing of Catrakilis’s kick, as well as that of Brache’s run, allowed Province to score a seven-pointer. It was a timely strike, as the Cheetahs had already begun to flag at that point in contest.

This score also seemed to have an adverse effect on the Cheetahs goal-kicker. Scheepers missed his first shot on goal in the 73rd minute. It meant that all that Free State could play for in those final minutes was a draw.

WP looked to have secured territory during this decisive period, that is until a set-piece turnover sparked a dangerous Cheetahs counter-attack.

Some desperate WP defence would deny the Cheetahs in the final move, and ensure the Cape side walked away from this encounter with four valuable log points.

72 Comments

• 1.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Can WP play 2 good matches in a row?

• 2.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-1:
    no

• 3.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-2:

With this team I just take it as it comes.
    Easier on the nerves.

• 4.grant10: Reply to this comment

May Brussow do a Jantjes and show HM a middle finger….

But just for 40 min

go wp

• 5.Dusky: Reply to this comment

VrySTAAAAAAAT !

• 6.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-3:
    well good start for the nerves then.

• 7.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-6: Die Cheetah eet nie van die vloer af nie…

• 8.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Ch…ch…ch…ch…cheetah…cheetah….cheetah !!!!! Kom aan julle vetgat beenkop gomgatte…..bliksem daai WP ! Tjietas !!!!!

• 9.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Watsup Duskeeee

You feeling OK?

• 10.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Sharks het die sand en stof gevreet in Kimberley!

• 11.carol: Reply to this comment

Evening Boys and Dawn

You have rugby, tonight I have blind football …… Brazil v France!

• 12.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-9: I am feeling extraordinarily most excellent. And you ?

Kom aan mieliekoppe…..stuur daai moffies terug Kaap toe met ‘n extra groot mielie stronk in hulle holle in in geskop ! Tjietas ! Lekker….

• 13.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-10: Ag same as 2010, the year we bliksem’d WP in the final by a record score.

• 14.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@carol-11: Blind football ? LOL !

• 15.carol: Reply to this comment

Oh WP are playing in Boring Bloem….

There will not be much of an after match knees up there!

• 16.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@carol-11: Is there a bell in the ball like one of those toys for cats ?

• 17.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@carol-15: What !? If the mieliekoppe win – the after party will be at the Windmill Casino Spur…..the biggest night spot in Bloemfontein !

• 18.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Kom aan trekker ryers !!!!! Ploeg daai WP…..

• 19.carol: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-14:
    It is facinating, some skillful ball handling, they have a bell in the ball.

The goalies are sighted…Some nasty tackles!

Oh Brazil have won the blind 5 a side football

• 20.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Duskeeee! How rude!!!

My sensibilities are offended

• 21.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@carol-19: They need goal keepers ? PML !

• 22.David: Reply to this comment

@carol-15:
    I can see you’ve never been to Bloem.

@carol-11:
    I thought the blind soccer was last night. :lol:

• 23.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-20: Kom aan bril cream en safari pak draers…..moer daai poefters !

• 24.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@ Carol

I watched the 100m heats for blind ladies

I wouldn’t mind one of those guides strapping himself to me!

They are hot. Sizzle!

• 25.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@David-22: Clearly not or she would know what a rocking party the Windmill Spur becomes……all the ‘manne’ go to hang out there with their suped up 1990′s Toyota Conquests.

• 26.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-25: Hang on – I was thinking about Durban…..sorry…..

• 27.papaown: Reply to this comment

Game hasn’t come alive yet IMO

• 28.carol: Reply to this comment

@David-22:

Robzim told me it was very boring!! ;-) Especially on a Sunday!

It must have been a replay I was watching then…..!

The Brazilians win every time they say!

• 29.carol: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-24:
    If you want hot you should see the cyclist Mark Colbourne, broke his back in a paragliding accident.
    Phewwwwwwwwww ! :-)

• 30.carol: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-26:

I had some fun in Durban!! Joe Cools…. Spent a great night with Lions Legends on the Lions Tour!

• 31.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@carol-28: Noooit !!!! Bloem rocks…..just make sure you stay close to one of the Spurs….thats where everything happens in Bloemfontein.

Sundays are for Church, followed by Tannie Sarie’s se plaas kos with a 5 liter bottle of sweet muscadel (sometimes a family feud), an afternoon sleep followed by the polishing of shoes to wear to school/work on Monday and then Carte Blanche and the news before bed…..

How can you say that is boring ?

• 32.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Come of Cheetahs !!!!!!

• 33.Dawn: Reply to this comment

How does it compare to Norway?

• 34.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@carol-30: Joe Kools is cool ;-)

• 35.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-33: Pretty much the same, except in Norway quite a few people spend their weekends in an alcohol soaked stupor. If you have the money that is because alcohol is quite heavily taxed here from what I understand. Not quite as bad as Sweden, but still quite hectic.

• 36.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-32: O dammit how is that spelling……guess this Norwegian moonshine and an internet blog dont really mix…

• 37.gunther: Reply to this comment

Blind football?

We may have found work for Bryce Lawrence after all.

• 38.papaown: Reply to this comment

Any1 still watching the rugby?

• 39.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@gunther-37: I dont think so. Bryce Lawrence could break an AK47 or a ball bearing, the most indestructible objects in the world with ease. I dont think blindness would hold him back.

• 40.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Ok…over and out. Salutations to you all !

• 41.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-7:
    nee, net die bulle :lol:

• 42.carol: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-31:
    A few cultural references too far for me there…..
    Spur, is that a steak eaterie?
    See plaat clos ?
    Carte Blanche?
    Help please… :-)

• 43.carol: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-33:
    I have been to Norway, lots of snow and a mortgage needed to obtain a hangover!

• 44.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

This Rhule kid is the biz.

• 45.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

patiently waiting for skop to blow the gaskets (again) and break the ‘real’ truth down.

fark

heyneke never should have taken the job :lol:

• 46.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

he’s in soooooo much trouble now :lol:

• 47.carol: Reply to this comment

WP down to the Cheetahs at half time!!

Wassup?

• 48.carol: Reply to this comment

Bit quiet here!

• 49.carol: Reply to this comment

Oscar Pistorious will be my sporting highlight this evening!

Good luck to your boy. We have forgiven his mild outburst, he deserves to leave London with a medal.

• 50.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I think everyone is out rugby-ed

Rugby fatigue!

• 51.W.P: Reply to this comment

How is that no a try. Touch judge blind as a bat!

• 52.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@W.P-51: the rules for weer probeer are the same as for any other team.

• 53.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Rugby overload

• 54.W.P: Reply to this comment

Please dude if that’s crawling you need to bend your knees.

• 55.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

really is a day for tied scores

come on cheetahs

• 56.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Respek Brache

• 57.W.P: Reply to this comment

C’mon Province!

• 58.carol: Reply to this comment

Rob and Grant, where did you vanish too?

Looks like your boys may have ground out a win in the end! ;-)

• 59.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

I have been impressed with brache, physical and always looking to make space for those outside him!

• 60.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-59: You mean he is acting like a proper distributing no12 should be ? :)

• 61.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

a bridge too far

well done for trying cheetahs

• 62.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

i too like his little touches
    def one to watch

• 63.sparticus: Reply to this comment

Always rated brache. Never understood howcome peopel where against him. Sad to think that he and Catrilkillis never played for the stormers

• 64.Fleckie: Reply to this comment

GOOD WIN PROVINCE

This was a good win for province, we have to remember that it is an extremely young side, for almost the entire 2nd half the front row was an U21 front row.

So much for resting Kitsie coz he’s had a long season. Could Deon seriously not make it until half time?? Need to watch the young guys workload coz if he gets injured during super 15 we seriously stuffed.

Scarra is gonna be feeling it tomorrow, seriously tough lil guy. Throws in really well to. Need some hooker backup tho.

Greek played a good game, pitty he’s leaving. Gary needs to be in the mix from next week, cant rely on a guy like Peter Grant to play every match during the super 15.

Thought Marcel was good, been around for a little while now and his experience is showing, De Allende is also a good prospect, looks more at home playing centre. JP good game last week but not to effective today, maybe he should move to the wing and de Allende play 13.

Elstadt is seriously powerful but his hands and skill need to improve if he’s gonna play on the flank, also think he lacks pace at 7. He’s gonna be like a Dannie who can cover lock and flank from the bench.

How good was Schreuder at the end, great lil run but then made everything into slow ball, Groom is also quality but needs to work on his kicking game.

WELL DONE PROVINCE

• 65.Fleckie: Reply to this comment

Gio also had a great game at 15, def more of a threat playing in the 15 jersey. Joe should b back soon, they should keep the young wings playing and give Gio a rest, he’s played heaps of rugby this year.

• 66.nama1: Reply to this comment

Well done PROVINCE.

At least you win at least. You and the Proteas.

• 67.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@nama1-66: And the Lions and Griquas.

• 68.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Gio should have been wearing a green shirt with no.15 on it yesterday

• 69.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-68: Mvovo never had a great game yesterday have to be honest. If Gio was there he would have offered more coming on for Habs. Now if Habs is out it will be a worry.

• 70.Puma: Reply to this comment

We miss JPP on the wing. Hope he is back for the home series. Also Bissies injury is the biggest loss of all for us. Strauss just not in the same class.

• 71.Puma: Reply to this comment

Sorry on the wrong thread.

• 72.Superbru: Reply to this comment

Demetri will be a big loss to Province imo

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.