Demetri steers Province to victory
8 Sep 2012
JON CARDINELLI reports on WP’s 29-22 win against Free State in Bloemfontein.
Two instances of brilliance and a flawless goal-kicking performance earned Western Province what could be a crucial win in the context of their season.
The match was framed by moments of vision and sublime finishing, Gio Aplon supplying the opening salvo and Marcel Brache contributing the score that would put the result beyond doubt.
Aplon’s try took the visitors to a 7-0 lead in just the second minute. Brache did exceptionally well to get his hands through the tackle and find Aplon, who subsequently chipped the ball over the advancing defenders. The WP fullback was always going to win the race and with a favourable bounce, the Cape side were off to the best possible start.
But Free State stayed in touch via the impressive goal-kicking of wing Nico Scheepers. The youngster kicked five goals in the first half, and this allowed the hosts to go to the break with a 19-13 advantage.
But just as Scheepers showed considerable mettle in front of goal, so too did Catrakilis. The WP flyhalf converted every opportunity in the first half, when it seemed the Cheetahs had the initiative, and three quick penalties in succession after the break saw the momentum shifting back in the visitors’ favour.
Scheepers managed to bisect the uprights to bring the scores level at 22-22, but that’s when Catrakilis showed why he is more than just a goal-kicker.
The WP flyhalf spotted the space behind the Cheetahs defence, and chipped for Brache to chase. The timing of Catrakilis’s kick, as well as that of Brache’s run, allowed Province to score a seven-pointer. It was a timely strike, as the Cheetahs had already begun to flag at that point in contest.
This score also seemed to have an adverse effect on the Cheetahs goal-kicker. Scheepers missed his first shot on goal in the 73rd minute. It meant that all that Free State could play for in those final minutes was a draw.
WP looked to have secured territory during this decisive period, that is until a set-piece turnover sparked a dangerous Cheetahs counter-attack.
Some desperate WP defence would deny the Cheetahs in the final move, and ensure the Cape side walked away from this encounter with four valuable log points.

72 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
8 Sep 2012, 18:59 pm
Can WP play 2 good matches in a row?
8 Sep 2012, 19:00 pm
@Robzim-1:
no
8 Sep 2012, 19:02 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-2:
With this team I just take it as it comes.
Easier on the nerves.
8 Sep 2012, 19:04 pm
May Brussow do a Jantjes and show HM a middle finger….
But just for 40 min
go wp
8 Sep 2012, 19:15 pm
VrySTAAAAAAAT !
8 Sep 2012, 19:17 pm
@Robzim-3:
well good start for the nerves then.
8 Sep 2012, 19:18 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-6: Die Cheetah eet nie van die vloer af nie…
8 Sep 2012, 19:20 pm
Ch…ch…ch…ch…cheetah…cheetah….cheetah !!!!! Kom aan julle vetgat beenkop gomgatte…..bliksem daai WP ! Tjietas !!!!!
8 Sep 2012, 19:22 pm
Watsup Duskeeee
You feeling OK?
8 Sep 2012, 19:24 pm
Sharks het die sand en stof gevreet in Kimberley!
Evening Boys and Dawn
You have rugby, tonight I have blind football …… Brazil v France!
@Dawn-9: I am feeling extraordinarily most excellent. And you ?
Kom aan mieliekoppe…..stuur daai moffies terug Kaap toe met ‘n extra groot mielie stronk in hulle holle in in geskop ! Tjietas ! Lekker….
8 Sep 2012, 19:25 pm
@Dawn-10: Ag same as 2010, the year we bliksem’d WP in the final by a record score.
8 Sep 2012, 19:25 pm
@carol-11: Blind football ? LOL !
8 Sep 2012, 19:26 pm
Oh WP are playing in Boring Bloem….
There will not be much of an after match knees up there!
8 Sep 2012, 19:26 pm
@carol-11: Is there a bell in the ball like one of those toys for cats ?
8 Sep 2012, 19:27 pm
@carol-15: What !? If the mieliekoppe win – the after party will be at the Windmill Casino Spur…..the biggest night spot in Bloemfontein !
8 Sep 2012, 19:28 pm
Kom aan trekker ryers !!!!! Ploeg daai WP…..
8 Sep 2012, 19:28 pm
@Dusky-14:
It is facinating, some skillful ball handling, they have a bell in the ball.
The goalies are sighted…Some nasty tackles!
Oh Brazil have won the blind 5 a side football
8 Sep 2012, 19:29 pm
Duskeeee! How rude!!!
My sensibilities are offended
8 Sep 2012, 19:30 pm
@carol-19: They need goal keepers ? PML !
8 Sep 2012, 19:31 pm
@carol-15:
I can see you’ve never been to Bloem.
@carol-11:
I thought the blind soccer was last night.
@Dawn-20: Kom aan bril cream en safari pak draers…..moer daai poefters !
@ Carol
I watched the 100m heats for blind ladies
I wouldn’t mind one of those guides strapping himself to me!
They are hot. Sizzle!
8 Sep 2012, 19:32 pm
@David-22: Clearly not or she would know what a rocking party the Windmill Spur becomes……all the ‘manne’ go to hang out there with their suped up 1990′s Toyota Conquests.
8 Sep 2012, 19:33 pm
@Dusky-25: Hang on – I was thinking about Durban…..sorry…..
8 Sep 2012, 19:33 pm
Game hasn’t come alive yet IMO
8 Sep 2012, 19:34 pm
@David-22:
Robzim told me it was very boring!!
Especially on a Sunday!
It must have been a replay I was watching then…..!
The Brazilians win every time they say!
8 Sep 2012, 19:35 pm
@Dawn-24:
If you want hot you should see the cyclist Mark Colbourne, broke his back in a paragliding accident.
Phewwwwwwwwww !
8 Sep 2012, 19:37 pm
@Dusky-26:
I had some fun in Durban!! Joe Cools…. Spent a great night with Lions Legends on the Lions Tour!
8 Sep 2012, 19:39 pm
@carol-28: Noooit !!!! Bloem rocks…..just make sure you stay close to one of the Spurs….thats where everything happens in Bloemfontein.
Sundays are for Church, followed by Tannie Sarie’s se plaas kos with a 5 liter bottle of sweet muscadel (sometimes a family feud), an afternoon sleep followed by the polishing of shoes to wear to school/work on Monday and then Carte Blanche and the news before bed…..
How can you say that is boring ?
8 Sep 2012, 19:41 pm
Come of Cheetahs !!!!!!
How does it compare to Norway?
@carol-30: Joe Kools is cool
8 Sep 2012, 19:43 pm
@Dawn-33: Pretty much the same, except in Norway quite a few people spend their weekends in an alcohol soaked stupor. If you have the money that is because alcohol is quite heavily taxed here from what I understand. Not quite as bad as Sweden, but still quite hectic.
8 Sep 2012, 19:44 pm
@Dusky-32: O dammit how is that spelling……guess this Norwegian moonshine and an internet blog dont really mix…
8 Sep 2012, 19:44 pm
Blind football?
We may have found work for Bryce Lawrence after all.
8 Sep 2012, 19:45 pm
Any1 still watching the rugby?
8 Sep 2012, 19:46 pm
@gunther-37: I dont think so. Bryce Lawrence could break an AK47 or a ball bearing, the most indestructible objects in the world with ease. I dont think blindness would hold him back.
8 Sep 2012, 19:47 pm
Ok…over and out. Salutations to you all !
8 Sep 2012, 19:48 pm
@Dusky-7:
nee, net die bulle
8 Sep 2012, 19:50 pm
@Dusky-31:
A few cultural references too far for me there…..
Spur, is that a steak eaterie?
See plaat clos ?
Carte Blanche?
Help please…
8 Sep 2012, 19:51 pm
@Dawn-33:
I have been to Norway, lots of snow and a mortgage needed to obtain a hangover!
8 Sep 2012, 19:52 pm
This Rhule kid is the biz.
8 Sep 2012, 19:53 pm
patiently waiting for skop to blow the gaskets (again) and break the ‘real’ truth down.
fark
heyneke never should have taken the job
8 Sep 2012, 19:54 pm
he’s in soooooo much trouble now
8 Sep 2012, 19:58 pm
WP down to the Cheetahs at half time!!
Wassup?
8 Sep 2012, 20:01 pm
Bit quiet here!
8 Sep 2012, 20:03 pm
Oscar Pistorious will be my sporting highlight this evening!
Good luck to your boy. We have forgiven his mild outburst, he deserves to leave London with a medal.
8 Sep 2012, 20:09 pm
I think everyone is out rugby-ed
Rugby fatigue!
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All