Wallabies compound Bok woes
8 Sep 2012
JON CARDINELLI watched the Wallabies record their fifth consecutive win against the Springboks with a 26-19 victory on Saturday.
It was bound to happen, it was only a matter of when.
The Boks have suffered their first defeat of the 2012 season, their first under coach Heyneke Meyer. To make matters worse, this inevitable result has been inflicted by one of the worst Wallabies teams in recent history.
There were times during this Test where the Boks were as many as 10 points ahead. The Wallabies were desperately poor in the first half, a series of mindless grubbers and chip kicks contributing to an unforgivable loss of both territory and possession. It was during the first half where the tactical kicking excellence of Ruan Pienaar and Zane Kirchner came to the fore.
There was even an instance were the Boks rounded off a good build up with a try. Granted, they had done their best to butcher this opportunity with flyhalf Morné Steyn neglecting to use an overlap out to the right. They were extremely fortunate that they were able to recycle the ball and score from a subsequent phase.
Indeed, it was a first half where all the luck seemed to go the Boks way. The Wallabies played their part with a shocking performance, but there were many examples of Bok incompetence and indiscipline that went unpunished.
Lock Eben Etzebeth was fortunate to escape censure. At a break in play, experienced No 5 Nathan Sharpe goaded the South African youngster, and Etzebeth responded by headbutting Sharpe. It was an incident that was missed by the officials, and for that the Boks can thank their lucky stars.
But they didn’t learn from that incident, as moments later Beast Mtawarira ran into Kurtley Beale off the ball. The Bok prop was shown a yellow card and the visitors spent the final seven minutes of the first half with 14 men.
The Boks survived the period of sanction without conceding a point, but the Wallabies were far more structured and accurate in the second stanza. They attacked the Boks at the breakdown, with Michael Hooper winning several important turnovers, and also began to enjoy more continuity with ball in hand.
Just as the Wallabies began to lift their game, the Bok effort started to flag.
The Boks conceded a soft try in the 56th minute, their defence battling to repress the Wallabies at source and their first-time tackling letting them down in the wider channels.
It was another instant of poor defence that cost the Boks in the 68th minute where Ben Alexander cruised down the left hand touchline. The cover tackle attempt by lock Juandre Kruger was nothing short of pathetic.
Steyn had another forgettable night with boot, missing two drop-goal attempts as well as a penalty. For the umpteenth time, Steyn battled to get the backline going and blew a couple of try-scoring opportunities through poor option taking.
Johan Goosen provided the backline with more direction and posed more of a threat when he was introduced in the final minutes. With Steyn struggling to perform in his primary capacity as a goal kicker, Meyer may finally be forced to consider another option at flyhalf next week.
Saturday marked Meyer’s first loss as Bok coach, and defeat will force a rethink to the current formula. With Goosen or even Pat Lambie at 10, the Boks should be able to ask more questions of the opposition defence.
The Boks were excellent in terms of their tactical kicking in the first half, but overall they failed to dominate the collisions and their lack of variation on attack was a major problem.
That they battled to kick all of their goals, not for the first time this year, is another reason why Meyer should revise his selections ahead of the clash against the All Blacks. That their forwards weren’t able to overcome a feeble Wallabies eight is also great cause for concern.

490 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All
8 Sep 2012, 20:37 pm
I thought meyer would make the poppa dans – only thing dancing right now is tge stinky gdam Irish ***** next to me – good okes the Irish but fk they gotta learn sine manners – actually they the only ones i don’t mind losing too cos they got half the thinking brain missing
explains grant1o.
8 Sep 2012, 20:38 pm
Well done Wallabies. Time for HM to play lambie, goosen, brussow, aplon etc. Clear out m Steyn, de villiers, zane et al. Pity we didn’t come out for the second half…
8 Sep 2012, 20:39 pm
Fkn useless – not u ducky.
8 Sep 2012, 20:41 pm
Check Deon Fourie showing Brussow whose boss at the break down in Bloemfontein and showing up Meyer who CANNOT see he has a SERIOUS problem at hooker and a SERIOUS problem at open side, but Deon Fourie and Heinrich Brussow slug it out in the CC while Meyer plays the WRONG players in the Bok squad.
8 Sep 2012, 20:43 pm
Post from Ryan Vrede’s article. Appropriate here too:
The concerns many of us have had surrounding Heyneke Meyer’s one dimensional game plan have finally become a reality. We have lost a game we should have won and the Wallabies recent record over us continues. This is unacceptable. Meyer’s record currently stands at Played 6, won 3.
The discerning fans on this site have been saying for months now that a one dimensional game plan can not possibly be the answer for a team striving to be the best in the world. Still, there have been many saying the Meyer needs to be given a chance. Well he’s had his chance now and I am afraid this level of permance simply isn’t good enough.
Here are the following areas we need to improve drastically if we want to have a chance of playing winning rugby:
- Urgency and aggression at the breakdown – We need more menace at the breakdown on opposition ball and we need more aggression at the breakdown on our ball. Much, much more aggression.
- Aggressive defense – This is the first aspect of our game that needs to be addressed and if we do so, we will look like a new team. When the opposition has the ball, we need to put the pressure right back on them. I want to see our players all over the opposition, making life difficult and forcing them into mistakes. I want our players to look like rabid animals, frothing from the mouth on defense. More urgency, more aggression. We need to use the rush defense more often (not all the time – only when its on)… Drift defense. Huge tackles. Keep the opposition honest and timid. You can turn defense into attack if you do it with the right attitude. We need to get the right attitude.
- Competing at the lineouts more – why not?
- More variety in our game plan – we are the most predictable team in world rugby and it makes us easy to prepare for. If we use additional tactics apart from just the kick and chase, we will keep the opposition guessing and make ourselves more difficult to prepare for. Bloody simple stuff I would have expected the coach to know about.
- More variety from our flyhalf – As above, we need to keep the opposition guessing. Goosen looks better than Morné Steyn. Lambie is also an option.
- Offloading in the tackle – As a world class team, we should be good enough to do this. I want our team to do this in training week in and week out until we can offload with confidence and then we will know when to offload and when to hold onto the ball. It just takes practice.
- Knowing your opposition – It is mind-numingly frustrating to watch your team play a “one-size-fits-all” approach against every team. Different teams have different weaknesses you can exploit. We need to be smart enough to use tactics that work.
- Opposition offloaders – following on from above, we know that guys like Sonny Bill Williams and Quade Cooper are going to throw offloads in the tackle. How about we have a player waiting nearby when the tackle on them is made, ready to look for the intercept??…. If they don’t throw the offload, then Bingo, we have found a way to stop them offloading.
- Tactical kicking – Meyer keeps talking about a kicking game plan, but we are actually putting more pressure on ourselves sometimes when we kick down the oppositions throat. How about we find touch once in a while?
- Leadership – we need more leadership in our team. Part of this is not Meyer’s fault, as we have lost some exoerienced players to injury, but we still need to be diong better. There are some experienced players who have been ignored but who would have brought leadership and direction to the team. In addition to that, a world class coach would have been able to get on the phone to experienced players who are overseas to bring them back temporarily.
- A better coach – Overall, Heyneke Meyer has taken the Boks backwards. Even when we get our injured players back, we are still going to play impotent rugby because we only have one game plan. It’s the way we are playing at the moment which is most concerning and I’m afraid unless Heineke drasticall changes his approach to rugby, we will continue to be left behind by the other teams in world rugby.
8 Sep 2012, 20:45 pm
Cab are you dronk
8 Sep 2012, 20:50 pm
@fitz1ella-104: I almost hope you get your wish so that you can see Fourie get bullied and shut the **** up about him already.
8 Sep 2012, 20:50 pm
Meyer is just too THICK to realize wtf is actually cutting before his bloubul befokte eyes.
I reckon Meyer is gonna walk before he’s pushed, I reckon soon as the pressure cooker gets too intense for his fragile soul he gonna chuck this game up and try console himself in the sanity of some home baked melktert instead.
Can’t see Meyer turn this thing around he is WAY to fixed in his incapacitated one dimensional head
The only pity is he possibly damages some promising careers by playing them all wrong in his fckd up one dimensional game plan.
8 Sep 2012, 20:51 pm
Actually White and meyer and whoever are the biggest twatscon the planet – no bullshit put dime attititude into the Springboks ffs – put fourie in, pit elstadt in put gdam gaga knoetze in but show some gdam attitude – i tell u the highhlight of tonight was beast, and u know theceorst of it all, these fkn idiots ate going to blame the one fkn boesmsn who showed some vuur. They shot, they should worship at beass gdam individuality a gdam champion and they gonna criticize him – fkn useless twats
8 Sep 2012, 20:56 pm
Beast u had a fkn crackin game tonight – make no mistake if half your brethren showed half your self- deprecating balls we woulda walked that
8 Sep 2012, 20:58 pm
@kaksioek-107:
If I get my wish and Fourie gets Bok call up either at 2 or open side you gonna be the moron who shuts the fck up because then you gonna SEE what a proper international class fire eater hooker / fetching mongrel with GAS is compared to the garbage on display currently.
Same with Brussow over your fancy boy Coetsee.
8 Sep 2012, 21:00 pm
I am ightly emebriated – give me 17 more and I tell you how to win the world cup
nah bulkshit – I can’t stand this **** him fkn james that is my ladtvpost – I even invited a twarse friend actoos cos I knew they were fkd and there no point watching / crud!
8 Sep 2012, 21:03 pm
Jan de Koning rates the Springbok players!
15 Zane Kirchner:
He produced some great clearance kicks in the first half and kept driving the Aussies back into their 22. However, he gave a great impression of a revolving door for Scott Higginbotham’s try.
5/10
14 Bryan Habana:
He had two good runs and a really good line-break. His workrate has also improved, but he is simply not seeing enough of the ball.
6/10
13 Jean de Villiers (captain):
The Bok captain appears unable to pull his team together when things don’t go their way. He missed a few tackles, including a crucial one on Shipperley that resulted in Australia’s first try.
4/10
12 Francois Steyn:
Plenty of strong carries and made good metres. He produced two awesome long range penalties, but also had one of his clearance charged down. One of the few Bok backs who did not let himself down.
6/10
11 Francois Hougaard:
Great charge down of Genia’s clearance, when he popped up at scrumhalf, and chasing to collect the loose ball. There was also a great grubber and chase down left touchline. He was simply he is all over the place and one wonders why all the Boks can’t show this commitment.
7/10
10 Morné Steyn:
He missed couple of drop-goal attempts and some crucial tackles. He took the ball to the line well in lead-up to Bryan Habana’s try, but his game deteriorated – especially in the second half. Maybe it is time for a change.
5/10
9 Ruan Pienaar:
He was meant to bring more variety and a better kicking game. Neither ensued. His out-of-hand kicking was sound early on and he was great on the cover in the first half. However, like most of the Boks he deteriorated and conceded a penalty for offside.
5/10
8 Duane Vermeulen:
He missed tackles, failed to control restarts and coughed the ball up in the tackle. He also did not produce the physical dominance he was expected to bring to the game. He did win a crucial turnover penalty with 15 minutes to go, but it was a case of too little, too late.
5/10
7 Willem Alberts:
Was very ineffective – his seven carries produce a mere 19 metres. He also slipped a few tackled and failed to provide the muscle the Boks needed.
5/10
6 Marcell Coetzee:
Made more metres with ball in hand than any of his fellow forwards and had the highest tackle count in the game – 13, without slipping any.
7/10
5 Juandré Kruger:
Took all his line-outs, seven in all, made plenty of tackles (without slipping any) and worked hard at the breakdown.
6/10
4 Eben Etzebeth:
It is not a surprise he was cited for shoving his head in the direction of Nathan Sharpe, even though it appears no contact was made – it was very silly. He took four line-outs and made six tackles, but was ineffective with ball in hand.
5/10
3 Jannie du Plessis:
Worked hard on defence, but struggled in his primary job – the scrums. Conceded two penalties and made just one carry.
5/10
2 Adriaan Strauss:
Some strong carries in the first half, but his workrate really dropped after the break.Also struggled in the scrums.
4/10
Tendai Mtawarira:
He gave away a ruck penalty in front of his posts, which became three points, then got yellow carded for a professional foul. Also struggled in the scrums.
3/10
Replacements:
16 Tiaan Liebenberg (on for Adriaan Strauss, 75th min):
His first line-out throw went straight to the Wallaby jumper, but he wasn’t on the field long enough to be rated.
17 Patric Cilliers (on in the 35th min when Mtawarira was yellow carded and then on for Jannie du Plessis, 53rd min):
He conceded two penalties, slipped a crucial tackle and contributed little else.
4/10
18 Flip van der Merwe (on for Eben Etzebeth, 60th min):
Brought nothing new to the game – a couple of ineffective carries and made a couple of tackles.
5/10
19 Francois Louw (on for Marcell Coetzee, 72nd min):
Made one tackle and took one line-out. Not enough time to be rated.
20 Johan Goosen (on for Morné Steyn, 72nd min):
Made an immediate impact with a great break and a good touchfinder. He needed more time on the field to be rated.
21 Patrick Lambie (on for Zane Kirchner, 71st min):
Showed his enthusiasm and willingness to get stuck in immediately, but also did not have enough time to be rated.
22 Lwazi Mvovo (on for Bryan Habana, 53rd min):
What a shocker to let the ball bounce from the restart and then conceding a five-metre scrum. There was another poor restart.
2/10
8 Sep 2012, 21:04 pm
How long before Heineken uses that infamous phrase: “Judge me at the World Cup”? (In another 4 years…)
8 Sep 2012, 21:06 pm
Idiot should not get to a world cup.
8 Sep 2012, 21:10 pm
Old Tacler
Boks could beat All Blacks hands down and u know it.
8 Sep 2012, 21:14 pm
@fitz1ella-111: 6 Marcell Coetzee:
Made more metres with ball in hand than any of his fellow forwards and had the highest tackle count in the game – 13, without slipping any.
7/10
Kenner.
8 Sep 2012, 21:16 pm
Coetzee **** – bring beast on.
8 Sep 2012, 21:17 pm
Ag jinne tog,
Rugby can’t be this hard! We have the players to be the best in the world, sooner rather than later! Get our man mountains to run at space, offload in the tackle and use force and bulldozing as the cherry on the cake and not the cake mix and preparation itself.
Granted, some BIG names are injured and we’re more vulnerable without them, but with the quality at our disposal only the AB’s should REALLY be the ones to realistically exploit those absences-not this motley crew of Wobblies, to borrow a Keo’ism.
Frustrating is not the word!
8 Sep 2012, 21:19 pm
Beast Bismarck/fouie alberts – the rest get fkn serious samo/higinbotham pick Coetzee up between their choppers and crush hm
8 Sep 2012, 21:23 pm
Bakkies gurthro elsdatdt (only cos he’d end the bugger in reverse) and hand-iff juan who is now past it
8 Sep 2012, 21:25 pm
**** man ****
80% my fooken hol
8 Sep 2012, 21:26 pm
So glad I stopped watching this kak at half time.
If Frans Steyn let the ball go hand to hand instead of throwing a long , skip pass to Habana when we were 4 against 2, we would scored and lead by 14 or 16 at half time and most probably went on to win this game.
I blame him for the loss.
Stupid, egoistic fool.
8 Sep 2012, 21:29 pm
Oh yes, congratulation to the Aussies. I said they would win by about 7 just before the match started and they did.
Back to the drawing board for Meyer and van Graan.
8 Sep 2012, 21:32 pm
People need to get it in their heads that Alberts is not a 80 minute test player. Use him for 25-30 minutes in the 2nd half as sub and he is devastating.
6. Bryussow
7. Schalk (when he is available.
8 Sep 2012, 21:40 pm
Morne finally, finally proves that he is just a two season wonder. You get those.
Anyone remembers Ron Cribb?
8 Sep 2012, 21:41 pm
@kaksioek-117: yeah I’m a kenner and you a doos
Coetsee should have started at 8 today with Vermeulen on the bench and Louw at 6
Coetsee is an 8 not an open side OR a blind side flank
Fourie will make the bok breakdown game come to life.and put some goddamn MONGREL onto the ground game war… same as Brussow would do the same..
Coetsee is a ball carrying 8 and not a 6 or a 7.. he is absolutely ABSENT in the collision or the breakdown possession battle, I don’t care how many tackles or mts he made.. a ball carrying cover tackling role is for a No. EIGHT and NOT for an open side flank … his primary job at open side flank was ineffective and Hooper basically made him his biyatch…
8 Sep 2012, 21:50 pm
where all those loud baying praying HM singalong disciples disappear to ?
I don’t see ONE of them sticking up their hail Heyneke hand .. not a SINGLE sausage of a measly itsy bitsy ONE HM glory hallelujah the messiah has arrived worshiping disciple .. not a goddamn ONE of them..
why they so damn QUIET when the Sh’t ACTUALLY comes and HITS the fan ???
if this was a PdV cacophony of disaster you would have heard the shrieks of disgust all the way from within the heilige heyneke laager.. but NOW the blue eyed impostor has been FOUND OUT.. there is absolute SILENCE in the land of the great white godly nod of disdain…
8 Sep 2012, 21:51 pm
Kirchner actually played very well in the 1st half that I watched.
Habana his industrious self. Wonder what the SA try scoring record holder thinks when he is subbed in every game for someone of lesser quality…even when he is having a good game. Then Meyer has the audacity to complain about inexperience. How come he takes off his 2nd most experience player then?
8 Sep 2012, 21:59 pm
Will the senior players in the team, Jean, Habana, Frans, Beast, Jannie stand up to Meyer and tell him that his game plan sucks or are they too scared to go against him?
The previous seniors had no qualms standing together against PdV when they were uncomfortable with his game plan.
8 Sep 2012, 22:01 pm
@nama1-129: Habana was injured.
8 Sep 2012, 22:01 pm
@nama1-129: Meyer is just plain THICK.. he don’t have half a foggy faint idea about wtf is ACTUALLY cutting around his brain dead delinquency of an archaic rugby strategy…
Hougaard had a good game at 11 but he would have had a FAR better game at 9
Pienaar and M. Steyn destroyed the boks in tandem..
Vermeulen wasn’t ready for this clash he just got back from a 5 month lay off and takes time to mettle up the cracks.
Pienaar’s service is WOEFUL and his clearance from a ruck is actually slower than a yeti on a sand dune in quick sand
Meyer needs another prop preferably a tough nut No.3
He needs another hooker.. Deon Fourie is his name
He needs another enforcer in 2nd row.. and its not Etzebeth or Kruger or Van der Merwe.. Elstadt should share the role with Alberts or Deysel to cover 4 / 7
He needs another full back.. Kirchner had a reasonably good first half but a dismally abysmal 2nd half , Lambie was streaks ahead better when he came on.. same as Goosen turned the game on an immediate injection with the very first touch of the ball…showing EXACTLY what we been missing for 3 whole years with this one dimensional metronome robot in the saddle.
And we need a far better co-ordinated midfield.. neither Steyn at 12 nor JdV are cutting the mustard in their primary roles as incisive pace injecting centers under this garbage but the rot starts at 9 and filters through 10 and by the time it reaches 12 its already STONE DEAD..!!!
8 Sep 2012, 22:02 pm
Finally getting to watch the game now on SS4, FAR too much kicking and Steyn butchered 2 scoring opportunties before Beast was sin binned.
Isn’t the flyhalf supposed to be the best decision maker in the team?
8 Sep 2012, 22:09 pm
Hougaard did well but should not be at wing. Play him at SH and let him follow his instinct. If he mess up sometimes, it will at least be because he is trying something and not because of a stupid game plan that restricts his natural flair.
8 Sep 2012, 22:12 pm
@nama1-130: They are not proven WC winners
so their input is not noteworthy
8 Sep 2012, 22:13 pm
@kaksioek-131:
OK, didn’t know that.
Is it serious?
8 Sep 2012, 22:16 pm
The thing about Meyer’s stubborness with the game plan and not using other views is that he believes we’re all wrong and he’s right…
But let me tell you, a broken clock is right twice a day! He needs to listen or shove off!
8 Sep 2012, 22:16 pm
@papaown-135:
Ook weer waar.
8 Sep 2012, 22:17 pm
Hougaard is one of the FEW Boks who play 100% flat out rugby for 80 minutes SOLID and these dumb fck moronic TWATS want to stick him out in limbo on the f’ng WING of all godforsaken places..
Hougaard has to be FIRST one at the coal face to make hay with whatever sunshine come a calling because he is one of the FEW that will give it EVERYTHING he’s goddamn GOT.. unlike slow coach pick my nose and hope to catch a fairy by the tail in the meadows as the ball is trapped between my dainty toes before I eventually decide to stoop to take it out the ruck prince pansy Pienaar.. unless of course the opposition has already LONG ago taken it out my side of the ruck while I pick my hairball from out my nose…
Hougaard must play NINE and NOT 11 … and Pienaar must either be a last ditch utility man for all seasons bench option or f’off back to Munster where he belongs…
GODFOKKENVERDOMPT !!!!!!
8 Sep 2012, 22:20 pm
@Phantom-119: I HONESTLY don’t buy into this notion that we should accept mediocrity cos of injuries!
When the Bulls and Stormers made it to finals I was in agony and shock at the poor and lackluster performance delivered by Boks in 2010!
Same thing now where 3 SA teams finished in top 5 of S15 and Oz@6th place. We should NOT be losing to this Oz side. We DOMINATED them in Super Rugby…I repeat we should NOT be losing to this Oz side #endofstory
8 Sep 2012, 22:22 pm
@papaown-140: ABSOFUCKINGLUTELY
This was a DISASTER of EPIC proportions.. I reckon as pathetic as that 49-0 whitewash by that other DUMB f’ng MORON who went up against this team 6 years ago…
8 Sep 2012, 22:23 pm
The midfield combo is a disaster.
Frans can go to the Sharks until he learns that the game is bigger than him. He botched a certain try with a stupid long pass.
Jean was too stupid to read Habana’s pop up pass when he cut in at one stage. All he needed to do was to collect the ball and ran behind Habana’s back, who drew the centre and the wing into tackling him, and ran for the corner.
No thinking going on in the midfield at all.
8 Sep 2012, 22:28 pm
@papaown-133: FAR to much kicking sounds about right in terms of what I saw this afternoon. WAY too much kicking. In fact, if Morne had been within striking distance I’m sure some of us would have bliksem’d him and forced him to change his plan.
8 Sep 2012, 22:29 pm
Check the Lions CC team back line play today
Bondisio, Jantjies, Combrink, Hollenbach, Mapoe, Taute, Coetsee
They would CARVE this Bok back line up to shreds same as they CARVED the Baby Bulls up tonight…Pienaar, Steyn, Mvovo, Steyn, JdV, and Kirchner are NOT a formidable coordinated back line by ANY stretch of ANY imagination.. not by a LONG bloody shot..!!!
AB’s gonna be licking their chops at the prospect of playing this bunch of shot in the pot rot kick chase MOEGOES next week in the arse end of Hades.
8 Sep 2012, 22:30 pm
That ruck where Pienaar manipulated the ball with his foot back under the legs of the forwards and then call out some of the forwards to form a pod to his right, only for the Wallabies to push the remaining forwards right off the ball and win it, must be one of the stupidest things I’ve ever seen on a rugby field.
Why do you want to slow down your ruck ball in the middle of the field?
8 Sep 2012, 22:30 pm
@nama1-136: Not sure – it didn’t look too serious, maybe just a muscle strain.
8 Sep 2012, 22:33 pm
@kaksioek-146:
OK, thanks.
Hope it is not too serious and that he will be ready for next week.
Vookit, next week this nightmare will continue.
Demmit!!! Why do I put myself through this kak.
8 Sep 2012, 22:35 pm
@fitz1ella-139: don’t agree Skop. He’s dead right on the wing in my opinion. A scrumhalf he definitely is not. Way too slow and the less said about his box kicks the better. Not sure which games you were watching. You are never going to convince me is an international class 9. Never.
8 Sep 2012, 22:35 pm
@nama1-145: he learned that garbage trash in Ireland.. Pienaar was NEVER a scrum half… he should have stuck to his real forte which is a silky running distributing fly half and PdV and Smit and Matfield are to blame for chucking him out and instating Morne Steyn in 2009 because back then it was incumbent for a fly half to KICK the ball in the air and for the rest of the team to chase it down in order to win a rugby game under JW entrenched ‘play to our traditional strengths’ play without the ball garbage we learned at the 2007 WC
8 Sep 2012, 22:36 pm
When PDV started as a Bok coach he spoke a lot of sense. Then the pressure was exerted on him from all fronts not to tamper with SA way of playing rugby.
If only he was thick skinned and never relented.
As I said earlier on it is insanity as defined by that great scientist. Misery is going to be with us for a long time.
At least the All Blacks are mostly playing great game of rugby.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All