Wallabies 26 Springboks 19
8 Sep 2012
GARETH DUNCAN brought you live commentary from the Rugby Championship Test in Perth.
FULL TIME: WALLABIES 26 SPRINGBOKS 19
80 mins: The Wallabies hold on to possession. And as the hooter sounds, Cooper sits in the pocket and boots the ball into touch. THE WALLABIES WIN 26-19!
79 mins: After a couple of phases, Goosen loses the ball in contact. Wallabies defence stands strong at the death. That’s that.
78 mins: Boks have a lineout in the Aussie 22m area. Last chance to avoid defeat.
76 mins: Sprinboks run some good ball carries, but eventually lose the ball forward in contact. Wallabies escape. South Africa should’ve gone for the points, with minutes still on the clock.
75 mins: With fullback Pat Lambie and flyhalf Johan Goosen pulled off the bench, the Boks are finding momentum on attack. They are awarded a penalty in a kickable area, but turn it down to search for the try. Brave decision.
72 mins: WALLABIES TRY! Australia find space down Mvovo’s wing, and tighthead prop Ben Alexander rushes towards the tryline and dives over. Barnes converts the difficult kick. That could be the match-winning points. WALLABIES LEAD 26-19!
68 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! From the resulting touch finder, the Wallabies concede another penalty during a rolling maul. Morne Steyn steps up and slots the three-pointer. SCORES ARE LEVEL AT 19-19!
65 mins: MONUMENTAL TURNOVER! Wallabies were building great attacking momentum in the Boks’ half, but No 8 Duane Vermeulen puts in a hard tackle and steals the pill. Wins the penalty for holding on.
61 mins: WALLABIES PENALTY! Springboks are guilty of a breakdown transgression in front of the posts, and Barnes boots Australia back into the lead. WALLABIES LEAD 19-16!
60 mins: From the resulting kick-off, Mvovo makes another mistake. The ball crosses the chalk off his boot as he fails to catch it, and the Wallabies are awarded a 5m scrum as Morne Steyn is forced to dot it down.
59 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Great long-range effort from Frans Steyn! Completes his second penalty. SCORES ARE LEVEL AT 16-16!
58 mins: WASTED OPPORTUNITY! The Springboks win a turnover in a promising position, and Pienaar finds replacement wing Lwazi Mvovo in space. But the flyer doesn’t straighten the line, and takes up space. His offload to captain Jean de Villiers sees the outside centre forced into touch.
56 mins: WALLABIES TRY! Instant impact from reserve No 8 Scott Higginbotham. Minutes after running on to the park, he finds a gap in the Springbok guard to power over for the hosts’ first try. Barnes adds the extras. WALLABIES LEAD 16-13!
53 mins: Springboks concede their second scrum penalty, again on their own feed. Wallabies kick play into the visitors’ territory.
49 mins: Springboks are awarded a penalty from the resulting kick-off. However, Morne Steyn fails to find the target.
47 mins: WALLBIES PENALTY! Australia run 12 phases into the Boks’ red zone. They struggle to edge nearer to the try-line and are relieved when scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar is penalised for offside. Barnes finds some rewards as he splits the posts. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 13-9!
44 mins: Beast is back on. Boks are back to 15 players.
43 mins: Morne Steyn tries his second drop goal attempt, but again, it fades wide. Not a bad option as it gives time for Beast to get back on to the field.
41 mins: Barnes gets the game going again, kicks deep to Morne Steyn. The Springbok flyhalf finds good distance in his clearance.
HALF-TIME: WALLABIES 6 SPRINGBOKS 13
39 mins: Despite being a man down, the Boks have the upper hand. Good kicks and chips into the Aussie 22m area creating some problems.
35 mins: Barnes puts the Boks under pressure with a charge down. Good cover work from Kirchner, but the hosts still win possession. Boks let off the hook as Australia spill the pill. And at the scrum, the Wallabies concede a penalty.
33 mins: BIG BLOW FOR BOKS! Mtawarira blocks fullback Kurtley Beale as the Wallabies fullback gives a hoof ahead. And referee Nigel Owens pulls out the yellow. Poor play from the prop.
28 mins: WALLABIES PENALTY! The Springboks concede a penalty at the scrum, on their own feed. Big boost for the Wallabies front row. Barnes kicks his second penalty to cut the deficit to seven points. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 13-6!
26 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Frans Steyn kicks his first long-range penalty. Vital to get his first one over, after missing two at Newlands. Great start for the Springboks. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 13-3!
24 mins: Some off-the-ball stuff between the two teams as the Wallabies concede a penalty, which is in inside centre Frans Steyn’s range. Locks Sharpe and Eben Etzebeth have a bust up, and the young second-rower nearly lands a head-butt on the veteran. It goes unpunished.
22 mins: Wallabies trying to match the Springboks’ tactical kicking game, but are being dominated in this facet of play.
21 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! After persistent pressure, the Boks finally cross the chalk. After messing up three other opportunities, Habana snipes the fringes low and quick, and crosses to score the first try of the game. Morne Steyn adds the extras. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 10-3!
20 mins: Great chase by Kirchner and he wins possession in the Wallabies’ red zone. The Boks make good metres and are edging closer to the chalk.
17 mins: WALLABIES PENALTY! First points for the hosts as Barnes slots the easy kick. SCORES ARE LEVEL AT 3-3!
16 mins: Loosehead prop Beast Matwarira is pinned for not rolling away in a kickable area. Wallabies should open their score tally via inside centre Berrick Barnes.
15 mins: STRONG COUNTER RUCK! The Wallabies show they have the grunt up front, forcing a penalty with a powerful counter drive. The Springbok pack needs to step up.
13 mins: The early momentum is with the Wallabies. Australia run 10 phases into Springbok territory, but a poor decision to kick into space sees wing Francois Hougaard call for a mark. He clears the ball and relieves pressure.
8 mins: Springbok wing Bryan Habana gives fullback Zane Kirchner a poor pass after chasing Wallabies flyhalf Quade Cooper’s chip through into the South African red zone. Kirchner does well to clear play under pressure. The Wallabies take a quick throw, creating a promising attacking opportunity, but the hosts spill the ball moments later.
4 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Yes, Morne can. It wasn’t an easy kick, but the Bok No 10 enjoys a clean strike to hit the target. Impressive penalty shot. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 3-0!
3 mins: The Wallabies concede a penalty moments later, after being pinned for holding on at a breakdown in a kickable area. Can Morne Steyn kick the Boks into the lead?
2 mins: The Boks get an early attacking position, and Morne Steyn shifts into the pocket for a shot at goal. However, his drop goal attempt goes wide.
KICK-OFF: Springbok flyhalf Morne Steyn starts the game with a high kick-off, and it’s taken cleanly by Wallabies Nathan Sharpe.
Wallabies – 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Dominic Shipperley, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Berrick Barnes, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia (c), 8 Radike Samo, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Dave Dennis, 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Sitaleki Timani, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson
Subs: 16 Saia Faingaa, 17 James Slipper, 18 Scott Higginbotham, 19 Liam Gill, 20 Nick Phipps, 21 Mike Harris
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Pat Cilliers, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Francois Louw, 20 Johan Goosen, 21 Pat Lambie, 22 Lwazi Mvovo.

838 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 » Show All
8 Sep 2012, 14:23 pm
The sad thing is it’s clear as daylight that there’s some serious footballers ready to take Bok rugby in a new direction yet Heyneke won’t set his sails accordingly.
thats it. well done Wallabies. Diserved win. Predicted. I have lost total respect for your coaching ability and more important, you ability to see the obvious. You will stick with this game plan. This is your way I suppose. Boks will continue losing both games and supporters for months to come until you take a large cheque and retire back to the Bulls. May it be sooner rather than later.
@Hurricane-539: did you expect anything else from Bakkies? I see he hasnt answered any of my posts pointing out Bokke cheating..
strange? nah, thats our bakkies..
@Hurricane-539:
oh come on hurri
you watched the same game i did
poor refereeing
Jeez we are in the ***** guys… This was a very ordinary Ozzie side… We can’t beat them then you must really be K A K
@poppa69-514: I tried to warn those who blindly believe in the King Heyneke that the Aussies own us….and will continue to own us until a few changes are made where it counts.
8 Sep 2012, 14:24 pm
If goosen and lambie had come on at half time we might have won this
Take the Prehistorians off at 10&15 and we look miles better
@Big Hit-548:
Not at all.
8 Sep 2012, 14:25 pm
We are useless without Spies in the team!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
@poppa69-553:
we should rather have taken the 3 points towards the end and build for a try
but it still was poor refereeing
complete joke this competition
i have faith, we’ll bounce back
I feel for De Villiers. A soldier of a rugby man and great ambassador for the game ended up being captain under Meyer. I also feel for the youngsters, Lambie, Coetzee, Goosen, Vermeulen for the damage this will do to their very new careers. Its a shame.
Earlier in the week I said we would lose by 12 points and only score 1 try.
Ok, so I was 5 points off. But we did only cross the chalk once.
@RugbyStudent-545: Habana is the only real McCoy in the boks backline… none of the others would make a World XV team…
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-554: Of course it was poor reffing, the scoreboard is the proof.
Stuck record, mate.
8 Sep 2012, 14:26 pm
How things change:
Proteas #1 in all 3 formats
Rhinos, well, there is that…
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-554:
lol what?
You honestly think the ref blew the game against the Boks?
@RugbyStudent-517: It’s an awful Australian side. One of the worst ever.
looks like Madiba has taken up permanent residence in Australia
@poppa69-536: you are the master of the understatement. 1500 to 2000 mark is more likely.
@spartan-522:
It was a rubbish Wallabies team
Until Timani, Samo and Paulu Malu were replaced, Genia killed their possession just like M Styen did to us so they evened each other out.
8 Sep 2012, 14:27 pm
@Atreides-557:
Ja but the coach is protecting his two blue eyed boys… Steyn go play for the Bulls… PLEASE…
It’s so funny we all said Steyn and Niknaks man are K a k, yet the coach can’t see it…
Well he deserves what he gets if he is so frikken dumb.
@Hurricane-567: The word “think” is not the appropriate one here.
Yep as I’ve been saying since the 1/4 final exit…
Boks have no idea on how to, with ball-in-hand, have support players there to either take the off-load and more importantly hit and clean-out opposition players at pace… getting the quick-ball they need for the backs or pick-n-going at pace up the middle… nor can they counter-ruck on opposition ball…
Wallabies kept ball-in-hand and performed all of the above and took the game… splitting the Boks onto the back-foot…
Quite simple really… yet some will blame the kickers for the multiple turnovers, terribly slow ball and zero counter-rucking…
Well played Australia, deserved win.
I don’t mind losing but the way the Boks are playing right now is nothing short of shambolic. I didn’t think it was possible to get any worse than the RWC loss, but I was wrong. The fact is that the conservative Afrikaner mentality of our coach counts against us, and always has. It is no coincidence that the only SA coaches of recent times who have had any success, Christie, Mallet and White, have all been english-speaking coaches. Afrikaners have many great qualities, but creativity and forward-thinking simply aren’t one of them. This is not an anti-Afrikaner rant, it’s a simple fact.
The ONLY way forward is to get rid of Meyer as soon as possible and appoint Mallet as coach. The ONLY way forward.
@Dusky-562:
So true…
8 Sep 2012, 14:28 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-568:
No its not.
This is the problem with South African rugby.
You guys honestly think Ozzie are poor or rubbish. They have 7 out of 8 times against you guys.
When will they get a bit of respect from you lot?
Dear Hondo aka bang peos!
87% of the bok team is white. The Aussies have more blacks in their team.
Get rid of Juandre Kruger and Morne Steyn. The Bulls might have dominated the SB team previously but farking hell they’re useless!
@Hurricane-567: no. Thats rubbish. I watched the all 80 and the ref was fine.
@Nils-565:
doesn’t make it less true
@Hurricane-567:
****** decisions swing matches hurricane
Well played Australia, well deserved.
What now for SA ?
Much of the same I suppose….
@Gumboots-555: We are in 7 worlds of trouble and pain. And I won’t buy any excuses about injuries etc.
We have the players available right now to play some good rugby, and some winning rugby.
One thing standing in our way: our coach and his limited vision.
@Nils-573:
8 Sep 2012, 14:29 pm
@niknaks-575:
Mallet needs to do damage control for sure… This guy has no idea…
50% record… and we haven’t even played the Blacks yet…
And please don’t anyone moan about the ref. That’s just pathetic. We lost against a very poor Wallaby team. End of.
I am very disappointed with that game.
HG – hope you enjoy France, I hear its lovely this time of year
8 Sep 2012, 14:30 pm
@TASSIES-580:
Check post #181. Bakkies begs to differ. The ref cheated the Boks lol
I’m ashamed to wear my Springbok jersey. To lose a test match with honour and class is one thing…WTF was THAT? We cannot tackle, have no ‘go forward’ plan. We are LOST and HM I have a question. Why do you FEEL the NEED to play these guys out of position? HOPELESS, PATHETIC and I NEVER thought I would say this about my beloved team….I AM EMBARRASSED.
@niknaks-586:
Yes. Aussies very poor. That is what is so disappointing. Damn I feel kak.
@Hurricane-577: They are very mediocre, Hurricane. They also played without Horwill and Pocock.
It shows you how poor the Boks actually are.
mvovo must not play for the boks again.
at least unitil his coaches can sort his contact fear out
was very overwhelmed tonight
8 Sep 2012, 14:31 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-561: No problem with the ref. First order of business – get rid of Meyer and Morne Steyn. My guess is the only way we will ever see the back of the useless Morne Steyn is when we see the back of Heyneke Meyer.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-583:
Can’t believe how our rugby has gone from bad to worse…
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-581:
Bakkies, look i like you, your passion is what i expect from a pure South African fan….. But there are times you have to bite the bullet and accept, the Boks were not good enough today.
8 Sep 2012, 14:32 pm
Morne Steyn must go now useless beyond belief. He must tale that Mvovo pooftah with him, he cost the Boks 10 points and that aint an exageration.
Pathetic fron Heineken.
8 Sep 2012, 14:33 pm
Thirteen days ago I spelt out the immense dread you mad dalmations chasing your tails had for this Sept. 8th day; it called for a AB victory followed by an Aussie victory and the gods delivered manfully.
But wake up as Sept. 15th lies 7 days ahead yet and the final wrapping-up of this first Rugby Championship will be emphatically confirmed.
September morns, who needs October or November. or December?
An astounding heroic victory you Aussies. I salute your performance.
The Meyer assistant coach clan from the Bulls haven’t done ****. Who is the defensive coach?
Mallet says this is a weak Ozzie team
Pages: « 1 … 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 » Show All