Wallabies 26 Springboks 19

GARETH DUNCAN brought you live commentary from the Rugby Championship Test in Perth.

FULL TIME: WALLABIES 26 SPRINGBOKS 19

80 mins: The Wallabies hold on to possession. And as the hooter sounds, Cooper sits in the pocket and boots the ball into touch. THE WALLABIES WIN 26-19!

79 mins: After a couple of phases, Goosen loses the ball in contact. Wallabies defence stands strong at the death. That’s that.

78 mins: Boks have a lineout in the Aussie 22m area. Last chance to avoid defeat.

76 mins: Sprinboks run some good ball carries, but eventually lose the ball forward in contact. Wallabies escape. South Africa should’ve gone for the points, with minutes still on the clock.

75 mins: With fullback Pat Lambie and flyhalf Johan Goosen pulled off the bench, the Boks are finding momentum on attack. They are awarded a penalty in a kickable area, but turn it down to search for the try. Brave decision.

72 mins: WALLABIES TRY! Australia find space down Mvovo’s wing, and tighthead prop Ben Alexander rushes towards the tryline and dives over. Barnes converts the difficult kick. That could be the match-winning points. WALLABIES LEAD 26-19!

68 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! From the resulting touch finder, the Wallabies concede another penalty during a rolling maul. Morne Steyn steps up and slots the three-pointer. SCORES ARE LEVEL AT 19-19!

65 mins: MONUMENTAL TURNOVER! Wallabies were building great attacking momentum in the Boks’ half, but No 8 Duane Vermeulen puts in a hard tackle and steals the pill. Wins the penalty for holding on.

61 mins: WALLABIES PENALTY! Springboks are guilty of a breakdown transgression in front of the posts, and Barnes boots Australia back into the lead. WALLABIES LEAD 19-16!

60 mins: From the resulting kick-off, Mvovo makes another mistake. The ball crosses the chalk off his boot as he fails to catch it, and the Wallabies are awarded a 5m scrum as Morne Steyn is forced to dot it down.

59 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Great long-range effort from Frans Steyn! Completes his second penalty. SCORES ARE LEVEL AT 16-16!

58 mins: WASTED OPPORTUNITY! The Springboks win a turnover in a promising position, and Pienaar finds replacement wing Lwazi Mvovo in space. But the flyer doesn’t straighten the line, and takes up space. His offload to captain Jean de Villiers sees the outside centre forced into touch.

56 mins: WALLABIES TRY! Instant impact from reserve No 8 Scott Higginbotham. Minutes after running on to the park, he finds a gap in the Springbok guard to power over for the hosts’ first try. Barnes adds the extras. WALLABIES LEAD 16-13!

53 mins: Springboks concede their second scrum penalty, again on their own feed. Wallabies kick play into the visitors’ territory.

49 mins: Springboks are awarded a penalty from the resulting kick-off. However, Morne Steyn fails to find the target.

47 mins: WALLBIES PENALTY! Australia run 12 phases into the Boks’ red zone. They struggle to edge nearer to the try-line and are relieved when scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar is penalised for offside. Barnes finds some rewards as he splits the posts. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 13-9!

44 mins: Beast is back on. Boks are back to 15 players.

43 mins: Morne Steyn tries his second drop goal attempt, but again, it fades wide. Not a bad option as it gives time for Beast to get back on to the field.

41 mins: Barnes gets the game going again, kicks deep to Morne Steyn. The Springbok flyhalf finds good distance in his clearance.

HALF-TIME: WALLABIES 6 SPRINGBOKS 13

39 mins: Despite being a man down, the Boks have the upper hand. Good kicks and chips into the Aussie 22m area creating some problems.

35 mins: Barnes puts the Boks under pressure with a charge down. Good cover work from Kirchner, but the hosts still win possession. Boks let off the hook as Australia spill the pill. And at the scrum, the Wallabies concede a penalty.

33 mins: BIG BLOW FOR BOKS! Mtawarira blocks fullback Kurtley Beale as the Wallabies fullback gives a hoof ahead. And referee Nigel Owens pulls out the yellow. Poor play from the prop.

28 mins: WALLABIES PENALTY! The Springboks concede a penalty at the scrum, on their own feed. Big boost for the Wallabies front row. Barnes kicks his second penalty to cut the deficit to seven points. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 13-6!

26 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Frans Steyn kicks his first long-range penalty. Vital to get his first one over, after missing two at Newlands. Great start for the Springboks. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 13-3!

24 mins: Some off-the-ball stuff between the two teams as the Wallabies concede a penalty, which is in inside centre Frans Steyn’s range. Locks Sharpe and Eben Etzebeth have a bust up, and the young second-rower nearly lands a head-butt on the veteran. It goes unpunished.

22 mins: Wallabies trying to match the Springboks’ tactical kicking game, but are being dominated in this facet of play.

21 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! After persistent pressure, the Boks finally cross the chalk. After messing up three other opportunities, Habana snipes the fringes low and quick, and crosses to score the first try of the game. Morne Steyn adds the extras. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 10-3!

20 mins: Great chase by Kirchner and he wins possession in the Wallabies’ red zone. The Boks make good metres and are edging closer to the chalk.

17 mins: WALLABIES PENALTY! First points for the hosts as Barnes slots the easy kick. SCORES ARE LEVEL AT 3-3!

16 mins: Loosehead prop Beast Matwarira is pinned for not rolling away in a kickable area. Wallabies should open their score tally via inside centre Berrick Barnes.

15 mins: STRONG COUNTER RUCK! The Wallabies show they have the grunt up front, forcing a penalty with a powerful counter drive. The Springbok pack needs to step up.

13 mins: The early momentum is with the Wallabies. Australia run 10 phases into Springbok territory, but a poor decision to kick into space sees wing Francois Hougaard call for a mark. He clears the ball and relieves pressure.

8 mins: Springbok wing Bryan Habana gives fullback Zane Kirchner a poor pass after chasing Wallabies flyhalf Quade Cooper’s chip through into the South African red zone. Kirchner does well to clear play under pressure. The Wallabies take a quick throw, creating a promising attacking opportunity, but the hosts spill the ball moments later.

4 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Yes, Morne can. It wasn’t an easy kick, but the Bok No 10 enjoys a clean strike to hit the target. Impressive penalty shot. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 3-0!

3 mins: The Wallabies concede a penalty moments later, after being pinned for holding on at a breakdown in a kickable area. Can Morne Steyn kick the Boks into the lead?

2 mins: The Boks get an early attacking position, and Morne Steyn shifts into the pocket for a shot at goal. However, his drop goal attempt goes wide.

KICK-OFF: Springbok flyhalf Morne Steyn starts the game with a high kick-off, and it’s taken cleanly by Wallabies Nathan Sharpe.

Wallabies – 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Dominic Shipperley, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Berrick Barnes, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia (c), 8 Radike Samo, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Dave Dennis, 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Sitaleki Timani, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson
Subs: 16 Saia Faingaa, 17 James Slipper, 18 Scott Higginbotham, 19 Liam Gill, 20 Nick Phipps, 21 Mike Harris

Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Pat Cilliers, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Francois Louw, 20 Johan Goosen, 21 Pat Lambie, 22 Lwazi Mvovo.

838 Comments

Pages: « 17 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 » Show All

• 601.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Mallett on Goosen and Lambie….will the Meyer of Pretoria listen?

• 602.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Mallet agrees that HM is K A K :lol:

• 603.niknaks: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-596:

Not good enough? That’s the understatement of the century. They were clueless…

• 604.maximus1: Reply to this comment

Goosen should start every game, Lambie should start every game.
    Going to be another 4 years of not learning anything.

• 605.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Robbie Deans looks happy, good for him… might take a bit of pressure off for a little while..

• 606.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

The instant Meyer selected his Bulls coaching assistant team the writing was on the wall. When he said he favors execution over innovation I gave up hope.

He’s got no real rugby coaches to steer him in a different direction and question his approach- he wants guys that think like him to assist him, including the son of the Blue Bulls CEO and Ricardo Loubscher and Meyer’s thinking is about as limited and blunt as it gets. No rugby team is as conservative as Meyer’s Boks, so cynically negative and uncreative.

• 607.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Is Mallett popping another vein? :)

• 608.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Who is the defensive coach?

• 609.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-601:

Ja jong… Ek weet nie. It is laughable…

• 610.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-594:
    not true, he does not get a clean sheet. some poor calls especially towards the end of the game. i see the ozzies are also honoured with final, final warnings for a card only for said card never to arrive.

this kak swings games.

@Hurricane-596:
    no

• 611.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-577: you make a good point. But lets face it, this was not a good game from two so called world class teams and one team(Springboks) with a massive winning pedigree. Most of us are simply pissed off because this was one of the worst Springbok performances given the players at the coach’s disposal. Bottom line: lousy coach.

• 612.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

HM record 3 wins 2 draws and 1 defeat (next week it will be 2 defeats)

boks need
    1) the coach to swollow his pride
    2) any game plan which has goosen and lambie as starters i dont care even if they are picked as locks (…excuse the pun)
    3) bismark, brussow, burger, juan

• 613.darkwing_m: Reply to this comment

Only grievance is that the Aus try came off a lineout from a srum penalty that shouldn’t have been….otherwise we were ****.

• 614.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

FFS eina loss this. Piss poor second half.

• 615.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Maybe Samoa should take the Boks place in the championship? they can beat the criminals :lol:

• 616.AssassinWP: Reply to this comment

Clueless Up an Under in our 22 leads to last try can they please ban up an unders or ration it to only 2 per half like they do with bouncers in cricket SA will take forever to learn that you can’t win if you kick away the ball aimlessly

• 617.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-610:
    no,nice answer.

• 618.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-596:
    boks were the better team save for one or two lapses

mvovo especially was costly.

reffing was substandard and one way

• 619.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-610: bakkies lets just be honest about what we’ve just seen. This result had squat to do with the match officials. You can keep bleating but its simply not going to wash fella. This oke Meyer is simply useless. Period. After six Tests its obvious.

• 620.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Bliksem Mallet realy did’nt like Gaffie…

• 621.pattyfries: Reply to this comment

Once Meyer drops those useless Tories-M. Steyn and Kirchner- there might be a chance at winning the home games with Goosen and Lambie taking their places. I’m supporting the Boks til death but the chances of coming away with a victory next week are very small. The game plan just isn’t good enough to come away with four points. A new game plan is needed. It is becoming tiring and tedious watching a wet weather rugby game plan being deployed on a fast pitch in good conditions. That’s why the Springboks lost. So many chances but what do those useless Tories do? Kick the ball away.

• 622.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-618: lol oh my god, you are sad..

• 623.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-618:

You’ve lost it… :lol:

• 624.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-611:
    Yep, feel for ya Tassies.

• 625.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-577: This current 2012 Deans Aussie side is one of the worst ever. Unsettled combinations, missing key players, poor incoming player depth, arbirtrary gameplan and hopelessly out of form players who played themselves into form against this Springbok rabble.

• 626.hanneslom: Reply to this comment

Remind me why is Ricardo Launscher backline coach? Based on what resume?

• 627.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-618: cmon mate, you guys blew a couple of tries as well in that first half..

• 628.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-577: They have my respect mate, always have and always will. Fuckme, if our record against them doesn’t convince people they are a class outfit (regardless of which team runs out for them), then I don’t know.

Even Naas questioning the ‘plan’. :)

• 629.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Gaan nou n moerse vuur maak en n kakhuis vol bier drink. Cheers everybody…..and Zinto………go fark yourself!!!!!!!

• 630.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

HM the Ozzies are a quality time. Bwhahaaaaa

• 631.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-596:

“a pure South African fan” this historically and by definition is a committed racist, so do you truly “like” this?

• 632.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

side…

• 633.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-619:
    a blatantly wrong scrum penalty and they score?
    head high tackles not blown?
    the offsides at the end there was larfable?
    ozzies infected with kiwi forward pass syndrome? nicely unoticed?
    breakdown was a larf?

• 634.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-618:
    Boks looked the part, i agree. But Ozzies were finding it easy at times making and crossing the adv line, not the refs doing there.
    I think you should look at the other problems in the team, i can see a couple of players and tactics that lost the game instead of the ref. I thought the ref played ok.

• 635.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-618: no you are wrong. Perhaps you should listen to Naas Botha, Nick Mallett, John Mitchell and David Campese. Don’t take my word for it. they just happen to share my opinion co-incidently.

• 636.poppa69: Reply to this comment

wonder if Morne will be able to hit the roof next week?

• 637.niknaks: Reply to this comment

@boktillzero-612:

It’s not a case of Meyer’s pride getting in the way. It’s his conservative, boring, unimaginative gameplan, and his plain stupid approach to selection. He talks about temperament but look at how he acts in the coaching box. It’s pathetic and I’d love nothing more than to stick that farkin walkie-talkie up his ****

• 638.hanneslom: Reply to this comment

Luv u bakkies – you are embarrasing your country. STFU.

• 639.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-620: Nope, he is saying he really doesn’t like Morne Steyn. (if you read between the lines…)

• 640.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-619:
    @poppa69-622:
    @Gumboots-623:

watch the game again

open your eyes

• 641.zambok: Reply to this comment

Heineke thinks it was soft moments I mean there whole game was a soft game

• 642.hanneslom: Reply to this comment

Luv u bakkies – you are embarrasing your country.

• 643.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-631:
    huh?
    Sorry i am Kiwi, i dont understand your problems in south africa and would rather not get involved.

• 644.maximus1: Reply to this comment

Blue Bulls forward coach, van Graan ****
    Blue Bulls defence coach, McFarland utterly ****.
    Blue Bulls backs coach/ tukkies Ricardo Loubscher absolutely ****.
    Mediocrity leads to mediocrity, as for Meyer, like de Villiers, useless.

• 645.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-600: I feel stupid that I backed Meyer.

• 646.willievz: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-636: He will not start.

• 647.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Naas says you must pick Lambie and Goosen but let them play their style of rugby. Don’t dictate to them. Well the coach does just that…

• 648.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

Meyer behind that mike and in the coaches’ box looks like he is at a Boeremag gathering whipping up his ‘stormmagte’ angrily. He is a maniac behind that mike

• 649.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-607: neh… he says he is more dissappointed than upset this week..

• 650.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-629:
    tjeers ou vriend en geniet.

Pages: « 17 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.