Wallabies 26 Springboks 19

GARETH DUNCAN brought you live commentary from the Rugby Championship Test in Perth.

FULL TIME: WALLABIES 26 SPRINGBOKS 19

80 mins: The Wallabies hold on to possession. And as the hooter sounds, Cooper sits in the pocket and boots the ball into touch. THE WALLABIES WIN 26-19!

79 mins: After a couple of phases, Goosen loses the ball in contact. Wallabies defence stands strong at the death. That’s that.

78 mins: Boks have a lineout in the Aussie 22m area. Last chance to avoid defeat.

76 mins: Sprinboks run some good ball carries, but eventually lose the ball forward in contact. Wallabies escape. South Africa should’ve gone for the points, with minutes still on the clock.

75 mins: With fullback Pat Lambie and flyhalf Johan Goosen pulled off the bench, the Boks are finding momentum on attack. They are awarded a penalty in a kickable area, but turn it down to search for the try. Brave decision.

72 mins: WALLABIES TRY! Australia find space down Mvovo’s wing, and tighthead prop Ben Alexander rushes towards the tryline and dives over. Barnes converts the difficult kick. That could be the match-winning points. WALLABIES LEAD 26-19!

68 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! From the resulting touch finder, the Wallabies concede another penalty during a rolling maul. Morne Steyn steps up and slots the three-pointer. SCORES ARE LEVEL AT 19-19!

65 mins: MONUMENTAL TURNOVER! Wallabies were building great attacking momentum in the Boks’ half, but No 8 Duane Vermeulen puts in a hard tackle and steals the pill. Wins the penalty for holding on.

61 mins: WALLABIES PENALTY! Springboks are guilty of a breakdown transgression in front of the posts, and Barnes boots Australia back into the lead. WALLABIES LEAD 19-16!

60 mins: From the resulting kick-off, Mvovo makes another mistake. The ball crosses the chalk off his boot as he fails to catch it, and the Wallabies are awarded a 5m scrum as Morne Steyn is forced to dot it down.

59 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Great long-range effort from Frans Steyn! Completes his second penalty. SCORES ARE LEVEL AT 16-16!

58 mins: WASTED OPPORTUNITY! The Springboks win a turnover in a promising position, and Pienaar finds replacement wing Lwazi Mvovo in space. But the flyer doesn’t straighten the line, and takes up space. His offload to captain Jean de Villiers sees the outside centre forced into touch.

56 mins: WALLABIES TRY! Instant impact from reserve No 8 Scott Higginbotham. Minutes after running on to the park, he finds a gap in the Springbok guard to power over for the hosts’ first try. Barnes adds the extras. WALLABIES LEAD 16-13!

53 mins: Springboks concede their second scrum penalty, again on their own feed. Wallabies kick play into the visitors’ territory.

49 mins: Springboks are awarded a penalty from the resulting kick-off. However, Morne Steyn fails to find the target.

47 mins: WALLBIES PENALTY! Australia run 12 phases into the Boks’ red zone. They struggle to edge nearer to the try-line and are relieved when scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar is penalised for offside. Barnes finds some rewards as he splits the posts. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 13-9!

44 mins: Beast is back on. Boks are back to 15 players.

43 mins: Morne Steyn tries his second drop goal attempt, but again, it fades wide. Not a bad option as it gives time for Beast to get back on to the field.

41 mins: Barnes gets the game going again, kicks deep to Morne Steyn. The Springbok flyhalf finds good distance in his clearance.

HALF-TIME: WALLABIES 6 SPRINGBOKS 13

39 mins: Despite being a man down, the Boks have the upper hand. Good kicks and chips into the Aussie 22m area creating some problems.

35 mins: Barnes puts the Boks under pressure with a charge down. Good cover work from Kirchner, but the hosts still win possession. Boks let off the hook as Australia spill the pill. And at the scrum, the Wallabies concede a penalty.

33 mins: BIG BLOW FOR BOKS! Mtawarira blocks fullback Kurtley Beale as the Wallabies fullback gives a hoof ahead. And referee Nigel Owens pulls out the yellow. Poor play from the prop.

28 mins: WALLABIES PENALTY! The Springboks concede a penalty at the scrum, on their own feed. Big boost for the Wallabies front row. Barnes kicks his second penalty to cut the deficit to seven points. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 13-6!

26 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Frans Steyn kicks his first long-range penalty. Vital to get his first one over, after missing two at Newlands. Great start for the Springboks. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 13-3!

24 mins: Some off-the-ball stuff between the two teams as the Wallabies concede a penalty, which is in inside centre Frans Steyn’s range. Locks Sharpe and Eben Etzebeth have a bust up, and the young second-rower nearly lands a head-butt on the veteran. It goes unpunished.

22 mins: Wallabies trying to match the Springboks’ tactical kicking game, but are being dominated in this facet of play.

21 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! After persistent pressure, the Boks finally cross the chalk. After messing up three other opportunities, Habana snipes the fringes low and quick, and crosses to score the first try of the game. Morne Steyn adds the extras. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 10-3!

20 mins: Great chase by Kirchner and he wins possession in the Wallabies’ red zone. The Boks make good metres and are edging closer to the chalk.

17 mins: WALLABIES PENALTY! First points for the hosts as Barnes slots the easy kick. SCORES ARE LEVEL AT 3-3!

16 mins: Loosehead prop Beast Matwarira is pinned for not rolling away in a kickable area. Wallabies should open their score tally via inside centre Berrick Barnes.

15 mins: STRONG COUNTER RUCK! The Wallabies show they have the grunt up front, forcing a penalty with a powerful counter drive. The Springbok pack needs to step up.

13 mins: The early momentum is with the Wallabies. Australia run 10 phases into Springbok territory, but a poor decision to kick into space sees wing Francois Hougaard call for a mark. He clears the ball and relieves pressure.

8 mins: Springbok wing Bryan Habana gives fullback Zane Kirchner a poor pass after chasing Wallabies flyhalf Quade Cooper’s chip through into the South African red zone. Kirchner does well to clear play under pressure. The Wallabies take a quick throw, creating a promising attacking opportunity, but the hosts spill the ball moments later.

4 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Yes, Morne can. It wasn’t an easy kick, but the Bok No 10 enjoys a clean strike to hit the target. Impressive penalty shot. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 3-0!

3 mins: The Wallabies concede a penalty moments later, after being pinned for holding on at a breakdown in a kickable area. Can Morne Steyn kick the Boks into the lead?

2 mins: The Boks get an early attacking position, and Morne Steyn shifts into the pocket for a shot at goal. However, his drop goal attempt goes wide.

KICK-OFF: Springbok flyhalf Morne Steyn starts the game with a high kick-off, and it’s taken cleanly by Wallabies Nathan Sharpe.

Wallabies – 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Dominic Shipperley, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Berrick Barnes, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia (c), 8 Radike Samo, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Dave Dennis, 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Sitaleki Timani, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson
Subs: 16 Saia Faingaa, 17 James Slipper, 18 Scott Higginbotham, 19 Liam Gill, 20 Nick Phipps, 21 Mike Harris

Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Pat Cilliers, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Francois Louw, 20 Johan Goosen, 21 Pat Lambie, 22 Lwazi Mvovo.

838 Comments

Pages: « 17 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 » Show All

• 751.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-744:
    chop :lol:

• 752.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@Peter Mkata-743:

But Pete we have shown that strategy since ’76 already. Stand up to their bullying, make things ungovernable and you find they have an inadequate or just NO response. World capitalism baled them out but at least everyone has a vote.

Great rugby day though.

• 753.grant10: Reply to this comment

the best coaches were sitting in the Supersport Commentary box in Jo burg

• 754.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-745:
    We both know that forward play will never be an issue. We got that covered and are on par with anyone and will always be.

The issue is attacking options when the ball leaves the scrum halves hands.

Morne should not be in the team. He knows it, we know, even Pretoria knows it and believe me after today HM knows it.

Goosen will change the dynamic completely. HM’s coaching will evolve and will be dictated by Goosen more than the other way around.

Jean won’t last till 2015 so might aswell chuck JDJ into the mix.

• 755.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-749: I have to admit to not having your foresight. I did think Meyer was a good selection as national coach. when he started making his first utterances in public post his appointment I became a tad concerned. His choice of assistant coaches(ex Bulls management) I grew more concerned still. After the first Test against Pom I thought “this style sucks” but we won and I put it down to new boys on the block. Now I’ve given up. This guy’s conservative, determined, unwavering and will not change. Creativity will be the enemy. And that’s the death of Springbok rugby in the short term under this management. I’m very depressed. We have another John Williams.

• 756.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-741:
    absoutely right that pdivvy was repsosble for succession failure but also right that meyer is responsible for the blame now, yes.

@youknowwho-742:
    no nothing racial. it the team loses then the boks lose, we all lose.
    but mvovo was pants today and should not play for the boks until his fear of contact is resolved.

@Hurricane-744:
    the funny thing is, going by heyneke’s post match interview it would seem we are on the same page :lol:

• 757.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Bakkies Meyer is now at 50% below Deans who you said was atrocious and should lose his job, makes you wonder doesn’t it.

• 758.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-753:
    mallet and naas?

• 759.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-745: the starting backline has the MOST experience out of all the players but their option taking is appauling especially with ball in hand on attack.

meyer harps on about inexperience but those okes have 2 world cups amongst them.

• 760.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-754: Hell I hope you’re predicting the truth. But help me on this: If Goosen is going to be the tail wagging the dog like you say, how come he played his master’s way by kicking away good ball five minutes from time, in the middle of the paddock and we were seven points adrift. It didn’t even go out and he turned over ball to the Oz. Pretty daft I’d say(under the circumstances). The question is; has he been indoctrinated into HM’s game plan already. That kick effectively ensured we lost the game.

• 761.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-757:
    huh?
    no he is not..?
    you maths is atrocious china

• 762.FINERG: Reply to this comment

wow, you do like making up excuses guys, i thought it was a one time thing against us in Buenos Aires, but you are natural whiners!
    haha, just kidding, cheers from Los Pumas, we can´t wait to play you again in a year.

• 763.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-755: It’s really depressing. Three years now of pain and misery for Springbok fans since the highs of 2009. It’s highly unlikely Meyer will abandon his rugby philosophies and with no-one to challenge them it looks like the dry spell will continue for a while.

• 764.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Todays game was a clear statement that Meyer, Loubscher, and Van Graan are strictly super rugby coaches. The players are confused, Meyer doesn’t have answers, and the worst part, Meyer as a general has brought two GI’s to advise him. Meyer must ask Mallett and Mitchell to come on as technical advisers, Erasmus has a full time job, Meyer needs experienced test coaches to marshal him and upskill him.

• 765.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-759: its exactly as you say. But if the gameplan dictates they play this way, how can one blame the players both experienced and newbe’s alike?

• 766.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

whats his winning ratio after tonight then?

• 767.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-756: Yep it was Mvovo who lost it for the boks… nothing racial.. may its pigmentation.. race is a lazy category :-)

• 768.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-763: afraid you share my potential depression. It a long time to wait for a change. Worse still, nothing’s guaranteed to change, given the quality of South African rugby management. We have the players. We lack good management.

• 769.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-760:
    As bad a coach as you think HM is he definitely would NOT have instructed Goosen to kick that ball. That instinct came from a player that has played 10 mins of test match rugby.

Have faith, its going to get worse and probably unbearable but if we believe in the players we have available and back the coach till the end of this year then we have hope.

• 770.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu-764: Agreed 100 %. But instead he’s got his two lackeys from the Bulls camp including the CEO’s son marching to his monosyllabic tune. The guys well in his comfort zone, with his solitary game-plan, his Blue buddies and everything that he knows to be true in the rugby world. The players just need to execute.

• 771.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-763: and then there’s the return of P Spies to look forward to. He’s injured. But he’s also one of Meyer’s favourite sons. Keeps getting better. Where’s my bottle? :(

• 772.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-748:

Could not agree more.

It’s the coach’s responsibility to create an environment of freedom, opportunity and excellence.

The leader casts a vision, a promised land which the players aspire to and they enjoy themselves as they work to get closer to this land of ‘milk and honey’

Meyer brings a desire for control (walkie talkie) and rigidity that I personally associate with religion. And if I listen to Jean he sounds like someone who is judging himself, a man shackled and not free to voice his ideas and opinions.

I’m tempted to write 100 paragraphs about Afrikaners and religion here but let’s just say that he is not a culture fit.

• 773.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

My abacus reads played 6 won 3 is that not correct Bakkies?

• 774.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-771: And I think Meyer approves very much of Kirtchners performance today. Gee Whiz the distance of some of those kicks! An he didn’t make one mistake. Think he’s secured another 20 Bok caps for himself. Happy days ahead.

• 775.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-769: I’d like to share your confidence boet. But in the mood I’m in, it is going to take a thorough thrashing of the Poms this afternoon to raise the gloom. I can take defeat. No problem. Its just the future I’m visualising without valium to help.

• 776.Nils: Reply to this comment

The most amazing thing (apart from isolated Argentina doing so well) is that Australia have so meagre player pool comparing to other major nations that they can hardly equip 2 good club teams in whole country, yet consistently are near the very top and currently own such a rich rugby country like South Africa. Nothing but a small wonder.

• 777.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-774: Yes. He was good wasn’t he. Incredibly well diciplined too. Not a single line break to piss off the coach. Stuck to the game plan like **** to a fur blanket he did. Lambie might as well develop a skill tugging splinters from him bum.

• 778.Nils: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-773: Your abacus cheats, too. 8)

• 779.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-772: interesting. I can get your drift. Its pretty much how this country’s run today. Tow the ‘party’ line or else.

• 780.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-775:
    Thats 5 in a row against Australia boet, you have a right to be pissed off.

We just have to take emotion out the equation and look at the reality of the situation:
    (1).Bissy’s not playing
    (2).JPP’s not playing
    (3).Without Morne we will be a stronger force on attacked. We don’t even need him kicking for poles.

• 781.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-770: meyer has a divine belief that his game plan is right to the extent to which he believes he can impose his game plan on other teams. He doesn’t realise that test rugby is about new ideas every week, you have to be cerebrally flexible, and have a support team that challenges the head coach ala henry, wayne smith, steve hansen, mike cron, mick byrne. Without a strong support infrastructure you become isolated, frustrated, and fired.

• 782.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Nils old Bakkies is losing his marbles

• 783.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Nils-776: we’re quite aware of that Nils. I think they make up for their player resource limitations with a large injection of skill and creativity. something which SA rugby lacks comparatively speaking. I put it down to culture and sub-standard coaching. We are a PHYSICAL bunch. That is the priority. We play Olivia Newton John in the changerooms to reinforce that theme. The fact that she hails from enemy territory is countered by the effective influence. Gotta get PHYSICAL. ;)

• 784.phil72: Reply to this comment

1 Beast cant scrum!
    2 Tiger Pienaar is the worst scrum halve in Springbok rugby history
    3 Teddy Dupp and Juandre Kruger to soft for international rugby
    4 Morne has lost all his magic
    5 Vermeulen average super rugby player but useless international player
    6 Mvovo must go and play Vodacom cup
    7 Donkey Devilliers way past retirement
    8 Francois Steyn a fullback
    9 Coetzee and Alberts to dumb for international rugby
    10 We have serious problems!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 785.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu-781: thats exactly what worries me about this guy.

• 786.Nils: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-783: :)

And the other trait is heavy relying on kickers to ship 3-pointers and when refs doesn’t provide enough penalties (thus being cheats) then “Houston, we have problems”.

• 787.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@phil72-784: bit harsh fella.

• 788.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Nils-786: :lol:

• 789.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

This is a kak topic which I always hate to bring up but…

How many farken forward passes did the Wallabies get away with…

And alot in their own 22…..

Is it just me………

• 790.phil72: Reply to this comment

How you going to interlink forwards with backs if not 1 of the loosies can pass a ball…. last time a saw Vermeulen, Alberts or coetzee pass a ball was early season super 15 rugby!

• 791.phil72: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-789:

At least the forwards can pass a ball?

• 792.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Nils-786: is this not long past your bedtime? My, what sacrifices you make on our behalf. :)

• 793.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-789: I wouldn’t even mention it. Happened in the AB/Arg game too. One was about a meter and a half forward, assisted slightly by the howling gale in Wellington, but forward nevertheless.

• 794.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Next week it’s Dunedin, the boks will be up against an AB outfit that will not be happy with their performance against the argies, they’ll want to exact that with the boks. I think that the AB quick ball and perpectual motion game plan will have the boks defense in 6′s and 7′s, and the All Black defense will be effective against a blunt attack.

• 795.Nils: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-792: Excuse me? Long past bedtime at 5 P.M.?

Mate, I might be old but not old enough.

• 796.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

okay girls I’m outta here. Got a braai to lite and a sauvignon to sip away my depression. Poms getting smashed so cheer is improving. Cheers guys.

• 797.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Nils-795: sorry. Shows what happens when you assume. Figured you were in Oz for some strange reason.

• 798.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-789: Saffas have to convince themselves to move away from blaming the ref, it provides for a defensive veil that covers the fundamental issues in consideration of the game plan, player and coaching personnel.

• 799.Nils: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-797: No, I am in Europe. Just having more interest in SH rugby at the moment until AI start.

• 800.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-766:
    won 3 lost 1

@youknowwho-767:
    that’s not what i said.
    he was particulary poor and its technique (mindset) which can be fixed.

Pages: « 17 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.