Carter to miss Bok clash
9 Sep 2012
All Blacks flyhalf Dan Carter won’t be fit for next week’s Test against the Springboks.
Carter missed Saturday’s game against Argentina due to a calf injury. All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has since confirmed that Carter has failed to make much progress with the injury and that Aaron Cruden is likely to continue at No 10 when New Zealand hosts South Africa in Dunedin.
According to Fairfax News, Hansen said the decision had been made early to take the pressure off Carter. He will now focus on a full recovery and won’t be rushed back until he’s ready.
Hansen confirmed that Carter would feature in New Zealand’s next Test against Argentina in two weeks time.

77 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
9 Sep 2012, 13:23 pm
Carter being out won’t make a jot of difference next Saturday.
9 Sep 2012, 13:28 pm
Boks need to fly three players out to NXZ today – they are Brussow, Le Roux and Coetzee.
Kill that Kirchner and bring in Coetzee at 15, then drop that Mvovo into a rubbish bin and play Le Roux on the wing finally Heineken has to start with Brussow.
Morne Steyn is finished for good now – the Goose has to start end of debate.
9 Sep 2012, 13:38 pm
@RL-52:
> “Morne Steyn is finished for good now – the Goose has to start end of debate.”
Whilst this seems tempting, it just reminds me how useless SA is at blooding new players. So now we are going to throw Goosen into the deep end, away, against the best team in the world, in a game we are sure to lose, a la Gaffie Du Toit, just because we now panic and realise M Steyn is kak? Look how carefully NZ introduced Cruden? Typical SA mentality, we kill ourselves, not the opposition.
9 Sep 2012, 13:54 pm
@Honesty Box Seymour-53: sorry you cannot compare Cruden to the Goose and Cruden’s situation to the Goose. Cruden is second to a legend in Carter, he simply has to wait his turn – the Goose is second to a plonker and there is no reason to wait until that plonker retires, none at all. I question keepoing the plonker more than the age mentalty – if you good enough you are old enough.
9 Sep 2012, 14:10 pm
Brussow is a thorn in the opposition’s side every single minute he plays. He steals opposition balls, and if he can’t steal the ball, he slows it down. He tackles everything that moves, he breaks the line (or threatens to) if he gets the ball, and he can pass and offload in the tackle. In short, he makes such a bloomin’ nuisance of himself when he plays, that it takes more than one opposition player to look after him. And all HM can see is his lack of height and weight!
Nothing wrong with playing crash ball, using behemoths like Vermeulen and Alberts, but it will only work if they do it at speed and go for weak spots in the opposition line. No wonder the two were reduced to bit players – if you walk into a tackle, you won’t break through it! They’re totally predictable. And brains are needed as well – if you try to crash through a line 30 times, and don’t succeed, you should get the message before attempting No 31!
What about chips, grubbers, kicking for position? Maybe HM should watch what Brache and Catrakilis did yesterday, or what Aplon did the whole match long. Oh. Sorry. They’re not big enough for his game plan. Neither is Brussouw and Jantjes. Or Lambie. Pity.
Eish. Brawn will only win if SOME brains and just a dollop of skills are employed with it.
9 Sep 2012, 14:18 pm
@RL-50:
no backbone these sharkies. it is not lost on me how they flip and flop in the water depending on whether the coach’s team is winning, the number of sharkies there is in the match day 22 or the colour of the sky on a given day.
9 Sep 2012, 14:26 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-56: did Alberts actually play yesterday. Did not notice him at all.
9 Sep 2012, 15:29 pm
Alberts in for eben, brussow in for alberts . Simple
9 Sep 2012, 15:45 pm
@RL-57:
ja, he was on the field… but spent most of the time swapping rock songs on his ipod with duane. they share the same music tastes and like to get in the mood during play by jamming to a bit of coldplay.
brekers hey… they dont make them like they used too…
9 Sep 2012, 18:07 pm
Not that impressed with Cruden, while he has the same half-break Carter had in his prime he doesn’t have the kicking game Carter possesses.
In saying that, it won’t make any difference as SA aren’t going to be able to 3-point their way to victory in NZ and that’s assuming Morne Steyn’s radar is on.
9 Sep 2012, 18:22 pm
Team SA rules:
sport24.co.za/OtherSport/Paralympics2012/Team-SA-the-best-volunteers-20120909
9 Sep 2012, 18:59 pm
Honesty Box Seymour????
9 Sep 2012, 19:51 pm
@Dawn-62: Hello! How may I help you?
9 Sep 2012, 20:09 pm
1-steenkamp 2-smit 3-bj botha 4-b botha 5-matfield 6-burger 7-smith 8-spies 9-du preez 10-james 11-basson 12-olivier 13-fourie 14-pietersen
15-jantes(barneys army-retired/injured)
1-mtawarira 2-strauss 3-jannie 4-etzebeth 5-kruger 6-coetzee 7-alberts 8-vermeulen 9-pienaar 10-steyn 11-hougaard 12-steyn 13-de vills 14-habana
15-kirchner(heinekes troops)
With this core of players do you think that we wouldve played this k@k? Guess not… Let the coach to the coaching and let us stay with our bashing
9 Sep 2012, 20:12 pm
The Argies complained about the way the French referee handled the Test.
To me he looked extremely sympathetic to the ABs cause at the 2nd half
If that ‘trend’ continues next week, the ABs will not miss Carter to badly
9 Sep 2012, 20:37 pm
@Hondo-65:
I have to agree too and the assistant refs too
Crooked throws forward passes bridging at rucks etc etc
They have to learn to play the refs and not battle against them
9 Sep 2012, 21:00 pm
@CoachPete-66:
Coach,
A good test team needs first of all an astute, respectable captain who can deal with the referee on the field and in real time
Crying afterword would not help.
I remember Smit crying to Paul Honis: “tell him too” (i.e to the opposition captain), that was pathetic!
Eals’ threat to leave the field during the 1999 Final IS the right action but you have to notify the referee before the Test of your intentions IF you have reasons to believe you smelled a rat.
That will prevent 80% of the cheating, easily
9 Sep 2012, 23:06 pm
@Big Hit-60:
I haven’t made me mind up about him. He looks great when the games flowing and loose, but awkward and out of place in tight encounters. He’s young yet so he should still improve, but at this stage I don’t think he’s going to come near the heights Carter reached. (Not that this is surprising, neither has any other fh.)
9 Sep 2012, 23:07 pm
Coldplay what a depressing band, and a total bore to what live. How is that going to fire you up before a match…lol Its funeral music…lol
We can happily point our fingers, all 5 on a hand at our great SA Rugby organisation.
I had to laugh when coach PDV said he had blooded a couple players and was leaving the Springboks with “new finds” and in good health. Looking at us now where are these new finds nd how healthy do we look…
We can happily say to SA Rugby how great they are by racially selecting coaches (PDV) and pat them on their backs for a job well done. How great they are oozes out beautifully and exposes the state SA Rugby is in at the moment. This phase we are going through, and its going to be long is all their fault.
Racism does not succeed in this world, it only holds, what ever back. These short comings they can only blame themselves for.
SA Rugby it is time to stick those boer maak a plan thoughts back where they came from, and leave them on those red neck farms, look to the future and develop a strategy that is not based on capitalism, the 4/5 yr plan like governments and world cups, and focus on a sustainable strategy that will tap into the heart of the talent in the country and coaches alike. The “TRUE ” transformation, the “REAL” transformation will take a generation or two. And when this vein has been tapped into, it might produce a never ending blood line of talent. But until then…
I am not knocking Hyena yet, as the poor chap hardly has 1/2 of the 1st choice players he deserves/ should have, but in fairness, should we believe that until plan A can be executed ,there is no need for a plan B…mmm? Hyena, should we perhaps be playing to our strengths which is “probably” where our backline is and forget that the forwards who in fairness, arent up to the challenge as they are newbies and struggling with the intensity, fitness,pride, experience and………………., should we not remove that stubborn shell, accept logic or reality and act accordingly?
See Carter is not rushed back, may he be injured or not, but he gets valuable time off which is needed and against a poor team like the bokke ( whoes a B-Team in my opinion) and brings on the new blood. Hell why not, he gets to play the boks to see for himself what they are like, and does so when they are weak- perfect strategy if you ask me. Very logical too. But the SA Rugby dont have these words in their vocabulary.They dont get paid enough for this, is that not right….lol
Who gets to suffer and who gets to laugh….. and who is the joke on….
Think….. use your Brains SA Rugby or give somebody the position to do so.
10 Sep 2012, 02:33 am
Please get rid of Meyer and his blue bull Plonkers.
Morne Steyn is kak beyond belief
10 Sep 2012, 03:25 am
It does not matter who they leave out . They might as well rest half of the team for the away leg to keep them fresh . Kick the ball to some of the best running players. Dagg will have a field day. The All Blacks will win by 30 plus. 4 try bonus point by half time
10 Sep 2012, 04:33 am
Brussouw
Flo
Vermeulen (and Coetzee)
Alberts at 4
This is not a time for us to stop believing.
The AB’s looked boring on Saturday.
10 Sep 2012, 04:59 am
@Jinx2-72:
Yeah thats fine for 6,7 and 8
Maybe Alberts on bench to cover lock and loose forward
Add Coetzee on bench and rather Bekker than Flip
Bekker can give you a good 15 -20 min but not a full game
And have a 5-2 bench
10 Sep 2012, 08:14 am
Give me a break for gods sake.
All Blacks boring ???. At present they are the ONLY team trying to play expansive rugby. The conditions in Wellington were horrific & yet the AB’s (unwisely) still tried to play with width.
Now fast forward 2 hours to Perth & that JOKE of an international played in superb conditions. Australia won because they had no opposition. That BOK side is horrible & quite frankly your coach has an even more negative attitude to the game than the Argentinian coaching staff.
If you guys want to be taken seriously in this competition or in 3 yeatrs time in London you had better learn to throw the ball around.
10 Sep 2012, 08:51 am
@Ricardo10-74: Is that a silver fern I see hanging from your loin cloth ?
10 Sep 2012, 09:10 am
I’m a kiwi and I still found the NZ game boring. Too many errors, made for no flow. I found the oz vs bok game far more watchable.
10 Sep 2012, 11:38 am
It will be a better game than most think
Problem is, both teams are not playing to their either their strengths or to a plan to beat their opposition.
Do not underestimate the current NZ defense and discipline record – its a very compelling stat – its becoming very hard for teams to score against the AB’s
Cruden will get stronger and the combo between Smith and Nonu will be back to its best very soon.
Dagg , Jane and Gear are big threats
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All