Etzebeth banned, Botha to join Boks

Springbok lock Eben Etzebeth has received a two-week suspension for his headbutt on Wallabies No 5 Nathan Sharpe.

The transgression was not punished by the referee in last Saturday’s Test, but Etzebeth has been subsequently suspended following a disciplinary hearing on Monday. Etzebeth will miss the Boks’ match against the All Blacks in Dunedin.

Nigel Hampton QC stated that this was not an attempt just to push the opposing player away by using his head without contact being made. ‘The player brought his forehead forward and downward with a degree of speed and force into the nose area of the opposing player making contact with that player,’ he said. ‘This was a deliberate act done as a part of an episode of escalating “tit for tat” pushing and shoving between the two players. As to sanction, intentional striking with the head into the face of another is not to be countenanced under any circumstances.’

Bok coach Heyneke Meyer has confirmed that veteran lock Bakkies Botha, who is currently playing for Toulon in France, will join the squad. Meyer clarified that Botha will not be considered to start against the All Blacks. Flip van der Merwe and Andries Bekker are existing locking options that didn’t start in Perth.

The Boks picked up three injuries in last Saturday’s match. Jannie du Plessis tweaked his hamstring, Pat Cilliers strained a ligament in his elbow and Bryan Habana sustained an ankle injury.

Team doctor Craig Roberts said that Habana should be fit for the Test against the All Blacks in Dunedin, but Du Plessis and Cilliers are in doubt and front-row replacements are likely to be summoned from South Africa.

550 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] Show All

• 501.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-496:
    cane, i am beside myself :grin:
    this news made my week.
    nothing can go wrong from here on in.

boks to win the championship
    :cool:

• 502.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-495:
    its there boet, we all know it
    just like we know who only plays by it.

@cane-499:

• 503.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-500: I’m usually quite calm but people like that really annoy me !! I’ll try not to feed him

• 504.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-502: We just suck at doing it subtly. It’s always like Bismarck cocking his fist at someone or Beast getting binned for that ridiculous shoulder charge – kiwis are masters at it, if beast had been richie he would have made it look accidental

• 505.Atreides: Reply to this comment

There’s always some angst-ridden schoolgirl type on here trying to work through their mommy issues, or their inability to get laid or make friends

• 506.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-501:

Your enthusiasm is infectious Bakkies.

I’m almost pleased to see your hero back as well.

• 507.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-504:
    blegh!
    i’d hate to see the day we play dirtyy like the kiwis.
    i would prefer we up our skill levels and play harder and smarter but not dirty.

• 508.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-506:

you wont be too pleased come saturday, caner

• 509.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-507:

“dirty like the kiwi’s”.

Come on Bakkies,

SA just swaped one convicted headbutter, for The King of Headbutters.

• 510.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@cane-509: Convicted headbutter lol…you’d swear he destroyed Sharpe’s face

Calm down and have a glass of water. Even that quim Hampton admitted there was pretty much nothing in it, but they had to act to save face.

• 511.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-509:
    convicted by who, caner?

the defense rests…

nigel hampton ‘qc’ (sniggers)

• 512.PielNeus: Reply to this comment

Jirrre maar julle okies is vokken wind blaas japies. Ken die bal maar daar is niks up die troeteldeure bo level plekkies. 7 beers short of a 6 pack

• 513.PielNeus: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-505: moenie so tough wees boooooooitjie, booohooooboytjietjietjieTJIE

• 514.PielNeus: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-504: ‘We just suck at doing it’
    full stop, playing ruggerbie, nou koek jy met gas, baas. Kyk binne, wereld kampione of gereformeerde piesang klap dom vokker ruggerdebby

• 515.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-507: again Bakkies, go back to the SA/Aus thread, you’ll see my posts pointing out the filthy Bok cheating the moments they happened..

why have you not countered any of these? why arent you up in arms at the filthy cheating scum boks who did everything you think is only done by us kiwis?

Danie Craven must be turning in his grave at the way SA has become the wimps of rugby, even their supporters are running scared and seeing ghosts everywhere…

• 516.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-515: Whooaa Pop’s…..having a late night that side? Why all the anger?

• 517.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-516: what anger? just addressing Bakkie s how he continually addresses us…

• 518.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Let all Kiwis at least be truthful on the Bakkies head butt.
    BB running in to join a ruck.Cowan pulls jersey from behind.preventing him from reaching ruck.Bakkies gives Cowan head butt
    NZ tv shows this full incident exactly once
    Show BB reaction countless times.BB may be a thug but at
    least attempt to be fair..Convenient editing of the truth makes you complicit
    in the lie.

• 519.Nils: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-515: Look, he is agitated enough by the opposition players cheating, ref cheating, officials cheating and recently NZ stadium lighting system and camera work cheating.

You wouldn’t wish him a definite seasure with potentially lethal consequences if he had to deal with own boy cheating, too, would you?

• 520.Nils: Reply to this comment

Damn spelling. Seizure.

• 521.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-516: he is returning serve

• 522.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-517: Ok Pops just worried about your generalising.

• 523.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-522:

I do wonder if the Bokke his weekend will be wearing the now famous (or should it be infamous)

“justice 4″ armbands?

• 524.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-523: I doubt it unless the powers that be are planning to ban a player for hitting a ruck legally.

• 525.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

If that incident makes BB a thug,what kind of vermin does it make
    Cowan?Oftten guilty of off the ball stuff.

• 526.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-523: Ag, wind your neck in and go take your pills, Fatty.

• 527.Nils: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-525: imho, bakkies has PLENTY of incidents. once a bakkies, always a bakkies.

• 528.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-526: aww whats the matter, is the fact your team is rubbish, has no coach and cant play rugby upsetting you?

ag shampies

vatso coward..

• 529.poppa69: Reply to this comment

I do wonder why all these tough SA specimens are all getting injured?

why is this? surely if they have that physicality then they should be injuring rather than being injured..

another wonderful myth exposed..

• 530.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Nils-527: It’s a bit of a fallacy, sure Bakkies is not the cleanest player ever but he is also not the dirtiest, certainly not as dirty as he is made out to be.

• 531.PielNeus: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-529: ja waar swaar. dumb ruggerd. And after – dementia by 40, vok punch dronk ouens all over. National disaster

• 532.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-528: Hehehe… Like that coward yesterday?

You know, the one caught out lying through his teeth.

The one who ran away from Keo with the “Poor me, I am a helpless victim”…

No doubt spending the night crying in his pillow…

That coward? :lol:

• 533.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@PielNeus-531: Hey, Doggy… Did you check out my Chubby Ringhals being dangerous to your Ou Blespoes? Straight up the Keurboom and “volgens deur die neus”?

You could actually be the very progeny of that unfortunate incident.

• 534.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-532: man, for an old tjoppie you sure have a high opinion of yourself..

actually I hung around, it was you who went away.. but thats not surprising, we know you go to France often… like when your sharks got man shamed by the Chiefs, you disappeared real quick..

good to see coward..

• 535.PielNeus: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-532: vokkof seun, jy ry phinda soos a vokken naaier maar die dik ding kan jy wys piepspeler, jou klein spektrekker kan a long time onder grond survive, sluik die armpit slimytit

• 536.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-530: gouging, biting, attacking the head of the smallest players on the field..

ja, I real rugby player that one..

hes a thug, plain and simple, and continues the fine SA tradition of thugs..

• 537.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@PielNeus-535: Been there done that… Long time met jou ou Blespoes already, unfortunately.

• 538.pokkel: Reply to this comment

Toulon will not release Bakkies.

• 539.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-530: True. His already bad reputation has added punishments for him.

• 540.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-534: Sniff… sniff snort… Yes, they were manshamed by the Chiefs admittedly… But a pity they couldn’t Manshame the Blues… like most other teams did all season long… At the end of it all Fatfuck Weepu’s rump was looking as big and swollen as yours after your average night out in Kings Cross…

Brave to the Bone, our Poops and Piri Piri… And my, my do the two of you takatapui like that bone… obviously :lol:

Especially when there are a couple of Big Chiefs to hide behind and reflect in their glory…

• 541.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-518: complicit in the lie? so a shirt pull should always be met with a head butt from behind?

classic :lol:

your answer explains so much though, really highlights why your rugby is op die vlak van die tien jarige skoolseuns

• 542.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-540: hehee those same Blues who have 3 super titles, and have not lost five, count them, one, two , three, four , five finals..

cough cough choke choke

the sharks, undisputed chokers..

• 543.PielNeus: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-540: boytjie shame jy het net a good working poephole ja. Werk so goed spuit soos perd bene oppie prary

• 544.poppa69: Reply to this comment

HG – I got to go now coward..

didnt the Blues also manshame the Sharks in a final?

havent they got a kiwi coach now?

hahahahaha gees that must hurt..

bye mamparra

• 545.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-542: Super rugby titles… When? Super 10… Come now Fatty, you reaching now… The right thing for Super Rugby now is maybe replace the Blues with Manawatu or something more respectable…

They as much a farken embarrassment as having Piri Piri Weepu, the Fine Young Cannibal being a Rigged World Cup winning scrummie, or god forbid, first five eighth… Which he was in that farce called a final when the better, braver team on the day actually didnt win thanks to Saffa Craigie…

• 546.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Poppa.Did not say that.Read again.Merely being contemptuous
    of one eyed Kiwi reaction.Cowan is a scumbag.Sorry.

• 547.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-544: Run, Fatty Run… Never look back…

Never let them say you were scared…

You are just being discrete… a better part of valour.

Farkenpussy

• 548.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@PielNeus-543: Nee, ek kan nie… Geen Poffader oppie jou prary nie… Nooit… Never.

Now, Doggy, go dry them wobbly thighs before you embarrass yourself even more.

• 549.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Poppa.As does your reaction minimising the impact on a player
    being prevented from doing so.
    As does your baby black captain applauding a card given to an opponent.
    As does Kieran Reads provocative grand standing to spectators
    Explains so much indeed..
    Strange how I enjoy other Kiwi bloggers comments.Explains so
    much about you.

• 550.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Ryecatcher

as does your coaches defense of Schalk Burgers shameful eye gouge

as does your coaches insinuation after a loss in 2010

as does your union presidents offer of a gold watch to a referee

complicit indeed, and you all lap it up as it hides the real reasons your team loses. i.e because they ate kak.

HG. 2003 was our last one, when have you guys won one? oh that’s right, you haven’t. obviously you don’t know your rugby, not unusual for a Neanderthal zimbo trying to be a saffa

hahahahahaha.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.