Etzebeth banned, Botha to join Boks
10 Sep 2012
Springbok lock Eben Etzebeth has received a two-week suspension for his headbutt on Wallabies No 5 Nathan Sharpe.
The transgression was not punished by the referee in last Saturday’s Test, but Etzebeth has been subsequently suspended following a disciplinary hearing on Monday. Etzebeth will miss the Boks’ match against the All Blacks in Dunedin.
Nigel Hampton QC stated that this was not an attempt just to push the opposing player away by using his head without contact being made. ‘The player brought his forehead forward and downward with a degree of speed and force into the nose area of the opposing player making contact with that player,’ he said. ‘This was a deliberate act done as a part of an episode of escalating “tit for tat” pushing and shoving between the two players. As to sanction, intentional striking with the head into the face of another is not to be countenanced under any circumstances.’
Bok coach Heyneke Meyer has confirmed that veteran lock Bakkies Botha, who is currently playing for Toulon in France, will join the squad. Meyer clarified that Botha will not be considered to start against the All Blacks. Flip van der Merwe and Andries Bekker are existing locking options that didn’t start in Perth.
The Boks picked up three injuries in last Saturday’s match. Jannie du Plessis tweaked his hamstring, Pat Cilliers strained a ligament in his elbow and Bryan Habana sustained an ankle injury.
Team doctor Craig Roberts said that Habana should be fit for the Test against the All Blacks in Dunedin, but Du Plessis and Cilliers are in doubt and front-row replacements are likely to be summoned from South Africa.

550 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All
10 Sep 2012, 10:03 am
bakkies jou doring!
yesssssssssssssssssss!
yeaahhhhhhhhhhhhh!
the original dragon is back
fark you kiwis
fark you ozzzies
yessssssss!
10 Sep 2012, 10:04 am
hoooohaaaaaaaaahhhhhh!!!!!1
10 Sep 2012, 10:06 am
Good move. Bakkie sis not that old. I still believe HM has the best 22 available he just needs to have the guts to use the correct players aka Goosen!!!
I just watched the game quickly on youtube, the ozzies were very good at shutting us down and playing their game that suits them!! Genia is brilliant!!
From what i saw the Boks were rather good in phases, however if a flyhalf is going to kick possesion away then it makes for a long day at the office!!
By the end of the game though i did notice our scrum was getting bullied!!
10 Sep 2012, 10:21 am
man this has really made my day
this is gonna be a great week
i can feel it
boks to win on saturday
10 Sep 2012, 10:22 am
Excellent.
A has been that will find his way back in the sin bin after giving us 9 points.
I thought the boks had a show, they dont now.
10 Sep 2012, 10:23 am
@Hurricane-5:
That was for you bakkies
10 Sep 2012, 10:24 am
Jeez !! WE really are scraping the bottom of the barrel…. Why not Victor as well (now THAT would please HM !).
Play the next match with the form players you have and BACK them to perform.
15. Lambie
14 Habana
13 JdV (although he is playing s….t rugby)
12 Francois Steyn
11 Mvovo
10 Goosen
9 Pienaar (not inspiring but give him a chance with a flyhal/FB who run onto the ball
8 Vermuelen (Oh to have Kankowski available…..)
7 Frans Louw
6 Coetzee
5 Alberts
4 Etzebeth (or if suspended, Bekker)
3 Jannie Dup (not the best, we really need Coenie fit)
2 Liebenberg
1 Beast (he needs a slap to wake him up)
Bench. Hougaard, Steyn, Bekker/Kruger, Louw, Burden, vd Merwe, Cilliers
And give them a licience to RUN and PASS. Frankly I think Lambie is the complete footballer and should be given a run at #10
10 Sep 2012, 10:28 am
@yank-7:
There is a chance for Naas yet.
10 Sep 2012, 10:34 am
@Hurricane-6:
you’re gonna feel the pain if eztebeth is suspended.
love the way you sneaky kiwi’s deceit has come back to bite you guys.
how you like them eggs now
hooooohaaaaaaa!!!!
bakkies will ‘has been’ hurting come saturday evening.
10 Sep 2012, 10:34 am
meyer could go one better and call up gurthro too.
10 Sep 2012, 10:38 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-9:
Eztebeth probably will be banned for atleast a week. If not,does not matter.
Thing is you guys are replacing a young good lock with an old fella that wont last to next RWC.
I can see Bakkies staying in the Bok lineup at the expense of a good young lock.
Another thing, the locks were not the problem last game.
10 Sep 2012, 10:46 am
@Hurricane-11:
no, he’ll be there to provide a calming influence and mentoring role.
and most miportantly bring the pain for 50 or so minutes, that way he will ease workload burden on eztebeth.
10 Sep 2012, 10:50 am
Other posts certainly make the point that we have lost some real X-factor players in the past year/currently…..Fourie, Victor, Schalk, Jacques, JP, and even Kankowski to name a few……And the so called ” nursery” – or at least the selectors/coach – have replaced them with only journeymen…… an over-the-hill JdV as capt, Kruger and vdMerwe as locks, Jannie (surely not the best we can produce?), Kirchner et al. And what message do we send to the emerging players when we pick someone out of position to replace them – Hougaard is an example, although he certainly has an X-factor about him.
Frankly, I am resigned to a loss on Sat – not a lopsided thrashing but one of those games/scores that flatter to deceive a bad team/attitude/coach.
10 Sep 2012, 10:57 am
The irony of Bakkies replacing a lock suspended for foul play is not missed !!
10 Sep 2012, 11:06 am
Bakkie might contribute at the home Tests, I prefer Anton Bressler and Albert though, however, with the referees’ ‘help’ all not lost yet
Even with Mvovo, Kirchner and the Beast in the line up;)
10 Sep 2012, 11:10 am
When will the results of the hearing be known?
10 Sep 2012, 11:10 am
1-guthro 2-strauss 3-cilliers 4-bakkies 5-bekker
Makes sense now
10 Sep 2012, 11:56 am
@xtremebull-17:
1-guthro 2-strauss 3-cilliers 4-bakkies 5-bekker/kruger
agreed.
10 Sep 2012, 12:04 pm
yank – Agree. Not a bad team either. Panic stations is not what is needed right now but calm and intro spection!!
10 Sep 2012, 12:07 pm
Two weeks ban for a little kiss on the forehead. Now I’ve heard it all.
Poor guy must have been knocked unconscious..
10 Sep 2012, 12:13 pm
If that was a headbutt, then I must report my four year old boy to the authorities. What he did to me yesterday makes Etzebeth’s look like a complete pansy.
Zidane headbutted a guy. Eben just pushed forward against someone who was giving him the old forehead challenge.
Next we’re going to outlaw touching in the scrum.
10 Sep 2012, 12:27 pm
@Hondo-15: Bresler the mullet wearing doos? Are you that high on the dwarf mans white powder? What a sick and nasty thing to say. Hell man why not just recall the coward Hargreaves.
10 Sep 2012, 12:34 pm
Bresler, Franco VDM, Elstadt, Sykes, Skeate, Quinn Roux… They are all young and able why not give them the oppertunity like Etzebeth was given…Meyer has no belief in the new breed. Saying that I would rather Bakkies than Flip anyday.
10 Sep 2012, 12:39 pm
@yank-7: THe Rugb yWorld magazine had only two SAffas in their Wworld XV, and that was JP and Bakkies, he is killing the Frenchies for Toulan!
Bakkies kan teach Etsebeth some trick of the trade, like how to be a tall #4 and still clear the ruck!
10 Sep 2012, 12:40 pm
@katman-21: Was a headbutt, called a ban as soon as I saw it. Curse of the bok #4 jersey I say.
10 Sep 2012, 12:41 pm
faking kiwi dooses
total classless scum
fark i hope bakkies breaks them
10 Sep 2012, 12:42 pm
15 Lambie
14 De Villiers
13 De Jongh
12 F Steyn
11 Habana
10 Goosen
9 Hougaard
8 Vermeulen
7 Coetzee
6 Louw
5 Bekker
4 Alberts
3 Cilliers
2 Liebenberg
1 Mtawarira
16 Strauss
17 Du Plessis
18 Kruger
19 Botha
20 Pienaar
21 Morne / Kirchner
22 Lwazi Mvovo
Thats my squad out of the touring squad: Would like to see Aplon at 14, Taute at 15 & Dewald Potgieter or Brussouw instead of Jaques Potgieter and Flip
10 Sep 2012, 12:43 pm
fareking kiwi dooses
10 Sep 2012, 12:43 pm
farking
farking
farking
10 Sep 2012, 12:44 pm
Eben made contact with his head, it was a slight contact but it got what it deserved. Maybe in the big picture we will learn from this. Sharpe and A-Cooper were causing cr*p the whole game and escaped censure … I am not complaining but i hope Boks learn from this.
I doubt Eben playing this saturday would swing it in our favour frankly, he is a great prospect but has some way to go.
JdP is a shirker for me though, he has how many caps and yet slops around and doesnt lead by example. Biz is so sorely missed …
10 Sep 2012, 12:44 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-28: Oh, what good news!!!
The return of the walking yellow/red card.
10 Sep 2012, 12:45 pm
Bakkies Botha back in – FINALLY! With the shock of so much experience lost he should have been there from the beginning. We have to look at this in the context of a complete lack of leadership among the forwards, now that Bismarck has gone. The pack lacks any long-term experience backed up by the appropriate level of skill; apart from that Botha is playing as well as ever by all accounts and was included in a recent World XV by a panel of rugby writers. He is desperately needed to give confidence and leadership example, not to mention mongrel and brilliant tight forward expertise.
With Antipodean officials judging the matter we all knew Etsebeth was going to get cited and collect a ban for his ineffectual gesture. On that point Nathan Sharpe illustrates my point for the extra dimension experience brings to the game, with his goading and big play act: in its own way it was good test rugby skills.
Bring back Bakkies and we’ll dust the Aussies and Kiwis when they come to SA – (so long as we can find neutral N/Hemisphere refs not in Paddy’s pcoket).
10 Sep 2012, 12:46 pm
@Rhys7-27: That backline will be eaten if the forwards dont secure clean ball from primary or secondary phase. We all know Morne is cr*p and stands way too deep … but ball is not clean.
10 Sep 2012, 12:48 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-31:
bakkies was always unfairly targeted by the anzacs plotters and was nowhere near as bad as these dooses make out.
he will bring controlled agression without losing his head.
10 Sep 2012, 12:49 pm
Well, I guess when you’re 185 and bigoted you might be quite terrified of the idea of a big, nasty Boar moving his head in the general direction of one of your precious ABs.
Check out a profile and pic of this Nigel Hampton geezer here:
http://www.kidscan.org.nz/about-us/meet-the-team/nigel-hampton-qc
10 Sep 2012, 12:49 pm
That didn’t take long to cite and punish a South African player. The IRB is full of **** if that offence warrants a two week ban. What about that filthy Aussie Adam Ashley-Cooper who almost took Mvovo’s head off when tackling JdV into touch (to name only one of the many high tackles). It was blatant and yet he didn’t get penalised nor was he cited. Justice my ***.
10 Sep 2012, 12:50 pm
@J.B. Cowper-32:
exactly, couldn’t have said it better.
now if meyer will just reach out to gurthro.
10 Sep 2012, 12:50 pm
I think the real point is being missed; HOW THE F*&K can that be worthy of a ban ???
Rugby has become a joke – I will not watch the game this weekend and tons of my mates (who never used to miss the Boks play) didn’t even bother watching the past Aussie-Bok game.
I hope the fans stay away when the Boks play @ home – HM is killing the BOKS and SARU need to take the blame for appointing him.
In Super Rugby we (SA) had the overall log leader (Stormers) + the most teams in the play offs (3) + a team in the final (Sharks) – yet we can’t even beat the Wallabies who have the weakest teams to select from in Super Rugby.
If HM has not turned this team around by the EOYT then he must be given the sak.
10 Sep 2012, 12:51 pm
@J.B. Cowper-32: Good point on Sharpe, he did his homework and played it well. Had he had the clean out from Biz he would not have been back to soon.
Oz are smarter than Boks, they knew Nigel Owen is slow and support players interefeared with tackle and placement of the ball. The occasion when Habs got injured in the red zone a-cooper jumped on the the guys back and swept the ball away off his feet .. smart and illegal play.
Also the Oz cameras always avoid their own transgressions and replay ad infinitum the Boks. Does this happen in SA ???
10 Sep 2012, 12:53 pm
Adam Ashley-Cooper prevented a probable try by tackling two players around the neck in succession, and received nothing but praise, including this gushing hyperbole from Greg Growden:
“That’s why the vogue word in the Wallabies camp yesterday was ”character”, with players and coaches crediting the ”spirit of the group” to ignore the scoreboard, overcome the numerous South African recoveries and hold tight in the final minutes.
There was no better example of that than centre Adam Ashley-Cooper, who somehow stopped two Springbok attackers, Lwazi Mvovo and Jean de Villiers, with the same tackle, grabbing both of them as if he was imitating Spiderman.”
Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-union/australia-rugby/no-guts-no-glory-wallabies-pass-important-test-of-character-20120909-25m4o.html#ixzz263xwOAvr
But we expect nothing less.
10 Sep 2012, 12:54 pm
@Hurricane-11: Can’t believe it… Jeez this guy hasn’t had an original thought since he took over as coach.
But I guess after Juandre’s all-round-soft-cockedness he might want a bit of grit in the forwards.
As for Etsebeth, i thought a week. 2 a bit strong, I actually thought it was around the same level as AAC and his handy double high-tackle. But not a peep from that rancid quim Hampton of course, Adam must be a ‘top bloke’ lol
10 Sep 2012, 12:54 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-37: I heard Mark Andrews is still playing too….
10 Sep 2012, 12:55 pm
@kaksioek-35:
fark me sideways!
it presided over the dh?
haha typical.
dont forget the other scumprick citing officer heron
10 Sep 2012, 12:56 pm
Meyer will not be able to resist playing Bakkies on Saturday.
10 Sep 2012, 12:57 pm
can’t wait for bakkies to be walk-about in the 35th minute!
10 Sep 2012, 12:58 pm
@Doughnut-39:
the kiwis mastered the art long before the ozzies.
it learns from one another.
10 Sep 2012, 12:58 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-43: Ja, if Graham Henry was Father Ted then this old codger is Great Grandfather Nige.
10 Sep 2012, 13:00 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-46:
dishonest camera techniques
10 Sep 2012, 13:01 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-34: “Controlled aggression?” Wasn’t one of his previous citings/bannings for headbutting a NZ franchise/AB scrumhalf?
Sies man, such a cowardly act by such a big oke against a poor “little” scrummy.
Real men don’t headbutt…shame on you Bakkies, you should stay away from SA Rugby.
10 Sep 2012, 13:03 pm
@Hurricane-5:
They don’t have a show as the “get the jaapies” campaign is clearly in full swing.
2 weeks ban for what? An ‘air butt’?
Typical and just ridiculous.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All