Etzebeth banned, Botha to join Boks
10 Sep 2012
Springbok lock Eben Etzebeth has received a two-week suspension for his headbutt on Wallabies No 5 Nathan Sharpe.
The transgression was not punished by the referee in last Saturday’s Test, but Etzebeth has been subsequently suspended following a disciplinary hearing on Monday. Etzebeth will miss the Boks’ match against the All Blacks in Dunedin.
Nigel Hampton QC stated that this was not an attempt just to push the opposing player away by using his head without contact being made. ‘The player brought his forehead forward and downward with a degree of speed and force into the nose area of the opposing player making contact with that player,’ he said. ‘This was a deliberate act done as a part of an episode of escalating “tit for tat” pushing and shoving between the two players. As to sanction, intentional striking with the head into the face of another is not to be countenanced under any circumstances.’
Bok coach Heyneke Meyer has confirmed that veteran lock Bakkies Botha, who is currently playing for Toulon in France, will join the squad. Meyer clarified that Botha will not be considered to start against the All Blacks. Flip van der Merwe and Andries Bekker are existing locking options that didn’t start in Perth.
The Boks picked up three injuries in last Saturday’s match. Jannie du Plessis tweaked his hamstring, Pat Cilliers strained a ligament in his elbow and Bryan Habana sustained an ankle injury.
Team doctor Craig Roberts said that Habana should be fit for the Test against the All Blacks in Dunedin, but Du Plessis and Cilliers are in doubt and front-row replacements are likely to be summoned from South Africa.

550 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 » Show All
11 Sep 2012, 09:16 am
Why are we not appealing this?
11 Sep 2012, 09:29 am
@gunther-451:
Appealing the decision would not change a thing, even if the penalty was dropped to 1 week.
The judiciary has decided the head butt was deliberate but because it was not carried through with and caused injury, the lightest sentence available to them was imposed.
A 2 week ban was imposed rather than a 1 game ban, but the net result is the same..
11 Sep 2012, 09:37 am
This is faaking pathetic, plain and simple! So by the same token cocking a fist is the same as actually punching and connecting. It is busllshite of the highest order, but understandable as it is an Anzac decision……
11 Sep 2012, 09:39 am
@412 ricardodoos……..go play in the traffic you tw at!
11 Sep 2012, 09:45 am
@whatever-453:
Not at all.
But a decision was made a couple of years ago by the IRB to slam down hard on all foul play that involved the head.
Call it PC if you like, in which case piss and moan about it to the Law makers, not the sheriff.
11 Sep 2012, 09:47 am
It’s kak.
11 Sep 2012, 09:50 am
@Ricardo10-447:
they should be 2nd
which they are the log aren’t they
@Brads-450:
no one believes you brad
and rightly so
11 Sep 2012, 09:52 am
@gunther-438:
Why you so interested in my life?
You looking for an upgrade from your shack?
I might have something for you if you like.
11 Sep 2012, 09:55 am
@Hurricane-458: Does it come with a TV?
11 Sep 2012, 09:56 am
@Brads-455:
I have no problem with the decision the one issue I continue to have is that the instigator gets off scot-free again.
think back to bakkies head butting cowan in 2010. Rewind the tape 5 seconds and see cowan holding back botha illegally on the charge.
foul play that leads to further foul play should be equally penalized on the pitch or after the game.
basically my line of thought is if you asked for trouble and got it….both of you are in trouble.
that would make rugby a much cleaner game very quickly.
11 Sep 2012, 09:57 am
@whatever-453:
Look again. He did connect…… like a school girl.
I know why you guys are so angry,its because he didnt mess up Sharpes face.
There are a few of you guys saying he should have knock Sharpes head off.
Now it makes you wonder why SA is known for thugs and bad sportsmen.
All anyone need to do is look on here.
And i noticed none of you even said or mentioned that Etlizebeth actually started on Sharpe.
Not the other way round. Now he got punished. Move on angry South Africans.
11 Sep 2012, 09:57 am
@Hurricane-458:
You were the big boy who wanted to tell everybody how many trailers and Tv’s you had.
Don’t play the victim here.
Like I said considering your comprehension skills you’ve been quite a lucky boy that’s all.
11 Sep 2012, 09:58 am
@katman-459:

Sports and rugby channel Kat. Have to look after my peeps
11 Sep 2012, 09:59 am
@katman-459:
All hurries trailers come with Tv’s.
He was born with a silver remote control in his mouth.
11 Sep 2012, 10:00 am
@gunther-462:
Yet you bring up my life more than anyone, even more than me…. do you need a place to live?
NZ is a lovely place. You wont get a job here though, we need skilled workers.
11 Sep 2012, 10:02 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-460:
Sorry, but you can’t have people cited ad nauseam for every offense missed by the ref.
The judiciary is rightly limited to the scope of its reviews. Otherwise next thing people will demand is to have the judiciary overturning the game day result.
What a mess that would be.
11 Sep 2012, 10:02 am
@gunther-464:
Hey i remember when we bought our first video recorder. It came with a remote that you had to plug in with a 20 foot cord,yep those were the days.
When we first recorded the rugby,first time we recorded anything we tried to fit a whole game on a 30 min tape and we were so clueless we thought we needed to be quiet during the game so it didnt record our voices……. true story.
11 Sep 2012, 10:07 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-457:
Of course they do, they just don’t like admitting it.
11 Sep 2012, 10:07 am
@Hurricane-465:
Indeed hurry.
But remember you were the one who was so desperate to tell us about your housing empire.
Nobody asked.
But you are right I won’t be going to Pongoland any time soon.
Been there when I was younger.
So that box is ticked.
11 Sep 2012, 10:11 am
@Hurricane-467:
Was that one of those machines from the late 70′s that required almost as much space as the TV.
I remember those as well. I complained to the retailer that there was something wrong with the sound.
When playing back fast or slow it didn’t make any noise. I was expecting the chipmunks and Darth Vader
11 Sep 2012, 10:16 am
@gunther-469:
Hmmm correct no one asked but no one has asked you to go on about it either, but you do.
Good to see you have crossed the ocean and visited NZ, you probably went to Ozzie as well or did you skip that?
11 Sep 2012, 10:19 am
@Brads-470:
Yep, it was about a foot thick and 2 feet in length.
The first game we recorded was in 1980 or 81, one of the games against the Ozzies in that year.
So many times did i trip over the remote control cord.
11 Sep 2012, 10:24 am
@Brads-468:
no brads, they dont.
you people are low and dirty always have been, and it seems always will.
11 Sep 2012, 10:30 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-473:
Yet once again a Bok has been banned for foul/dirty play and you say we are dirty?
You really need to look at your own team.
You blamed refs for the loss against the Pumas. You blamed the ref against the Ozzie loss. Now you have blamed the Kiwis for banning the girly blouse headbutt poof.
Do you see a pattern here?
11 Sep 2012, 10:30 am
KatVrou, Goonther, Porn, Bakkies ek Sukkie jou Kukkie, Twhatever – jou vokken dom doosies speel lekker with the Kiwi ADULTS, ne? You are just children… we can feel sorry for you but its hard.
Daar is net 1 kommmmmmmmmmon kommmon kommon denominator, jou vokkers is Afrokaaners. Jaaaa.
Is julle net a bietjie embarrassed daaroor, net a klein bit of self reflection?
Eish julle naaairs maak a sagtige oorlosie **** skitterend.
11 Sep 2012, 10:38 am
we did once manage to build an a-bomb. wonder what for.
11 Sep 2012, 10:39 am
Your opinion on the issue is like rain falling on an oilskin.
11 Sep 2012, 10:41 am
O god, die tikkoppe is op die internet. Keo, sluit jou banner ads toe – hierdie ouens verkoop enige iets.
11 Sep 2012, 10:41 am
@Hurricane-471:
I actually went to school in Sydney for three years.
So popped over the ditch.
Lovely part of the world.
11 Sep 2012, 10:42 am
@PielNeus-475:
Jomasepoes.
11 Sep 2012, 10:42 am
no bakkies, they dont.
you people are rapists and murderers, always have been, and it seems always will.
11 Sep 2012, 10:43 am
@gunther-479:
Fair dinkum mate?
11 Sep 2012, 10:45 am
@katman-478:
He has to make his money somehow. Replace the Keo dollars he spent.
11 Sep 2012, 10:45 am
@katman-478:
Are you accusing me of being a meth head?
11 Sep 2012, 10:53 am
Allrighty then……same battle, different day. I love consistency in an inconsistent world.
11 Sep 2012, 10:55 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-485:
11 Sep 2012, 10:57 am
@Brads-484: No, I’m warning keo about leaving stuff lying around on the site while PielNeus is lurking. His kind will nick and pawn just about anything for a white pipe, including their grandparents’ jewellery and organs.
Are you a meth head though?
11 Sep 2012, 10:59 am
Jy probleme het. Daar is mense wat jou kan help.
vind hulle
11 Sep 2012, 11:02 am
@katman-487:
Not yet.
Perhaps if I try the stuff I might become one.
I like wine after trying it 10,000 odd times.
11 Sep 2012, 11:05 am
@Hurricane-482:
Funny enough nobody really seemed to say that at school.
Great city though.
Loved Pongoland too gods country that.
11 Sep 2012, 11:10 am
@gunther-490:
Well mate, if you ever visit NZ again, i will give you the first class trailor. I will even throw in types that are inflated.
11 Sep 2012, 11:27 am
@Hurricane-474:
yes, a pattern of kiwi and ozzie deceit.
but what would you know, huricane qc (sniggers)
11 Sep 2012, 11:30 am
@Brads-477:
true, you lot are the thickest oily skins around.
11 Sep 2012, 11:33 am
@poppa69-481:
howzit buddy…?..
11 Sep 2012, 11:37 am
@Brads-466: So if the boks were constantly niggling, pulling jerseys, holding players back, tripping it wouldn’t bother you…only the reaction to it?
Just for the record, I think he deserves a week, as he did it and got caught clean, so gotta take his medicine. He’ll learn and gain experience from it, hopefully. But how niggly and annoying the game has become, because it’s only the reaction which is punished, never the constant provocation…while I in no way share Bakkies’ views, I do think there is a constant level of needle and low level cheating and obctruction these days, which is very contrary to the spirit of fair play and hard but clean competition. And not singling out any 1 side, all professional teams engage in it these days….the Boks just need to get street smart and play the ‘game’ as well as guys like Richie and Sharpe do, they too often are on the receiving end of it and don’t dish it out enough. Because it’s clear that no action is going to be taking to rid rugby of it any time soon.
11 Sep 2012, 11:38 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-493:
So Bakkies, your hero returns.
Have you got a hard on yet?
11 Sep 2012, 11:38 am
@Brads-488:
ja brads, ek het probleme
en dit is julle ****** kiwis
miskien as julle almal phokkoff sal die probleme weg gaan
wie weet…
julle’s vuilgoed op die veld en af
nigel hampton qc (sniggers)
11 Sep 2012, 11:42 am
@PielNeus-475: And with that name – what are you ?? If you can’t behave in a civilised manner why don’t you get off this SA site! How did you get your name ?
11 Sep 2012, 11:43 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-497:
I got a feeling Brads will have some difficulty understanding that Bakkies.
11 Sep 2012, 11:44 am
@CharlesM-498: Don’t feed the trolls
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 » Show All