Etzebeth banned, Botha to join Boks
10 Sep 2012
Springbok lock Eben Etzebeth has received a two-week suspension for his headbutt on Wallabies No 5 Nathan Sharpe.
The transgression was not punished by the referee in last Saturday’s Test, but Etzebeth has been subsequently suspended following a disciplinary hearing on Monday. Etzebeth will miss the Boks’ match against the All Blacks in Dunedin.
Nigel Hampton QC stated that this was not an attempt just to push the opposing player away by using his head without contact being made. ‘The player brought his forehead forward and downward with a degree of speed and force into the nose area of the opposing player making contact with that player,’ he said. ‘This was a deliberate act done as a part of an episode of escalating “tit for tat” pushing and shoving between the two players. As to sanction, intentional striking with the head into the face of another is not to be countenanced under any circumstances.’
Bok coach Heyneke Meyer has confirmed that veteran lock Bakkies Botha, who is currently playing for Toulon in France, will join the squad. Meyer clarified that Botha will not be considered to start against the All Blacks. Flip van der Merwe and Andries Bekker are existing locking options that didn’t start in Perth.
The Boks picked up three injuries in last Saturday’s match. Jannie du Plessis tweaked his hamstring, Pat Cilliers strained a ligament in his elbow and Bryan Habana sustained an ankle injury.
Team doctor Craig Roberts said that Habana should be fit for the Test against the All Blacks in Dunedin, but Du Plessis and Cilliers are in doubt and front-row replacements are likely to be summoned from South Africa.

550 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All
10 Sep 2012, 13:03 pm
@kaksioek-40:
nothing surprising here at all.
they learn well from the kiwis.
play like the filth they are and set up the one opposition that will physically sort that filth out with coawardly legal/law ruling/judicial traps.
never had the guts these crunts.
10 Sep 2012, 13:05 pm
@Doughnut-30: You are correct….sadly, the act itself didn’t deserve a two match ban but it was stupidity and hopefully Etzebeth learns from this
Bakkies is not being considered as a starter. He may be on the bench though.
@The Analyst-50:
and the kiwi prop gets 1 wek for the coconut tackle on kankowski (well after the fact).
typical cowardly scum.
10 Sep 2012, 13:06 pm
@mikeybrass-53:
yes, but he’ll get a cameo.
10 Sep 2012, 13:11 pm
Welcome back Bakkies. Hahahahahaha. Regardless of what happened to Eben. I recon Meyer is secretly a little delighted to have Bakkies back.
Just like our own “i love u bakkiesbotha” here on Keo.
10 Sep 2012, 13:11 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-54:
Ag, we can go on and on here …. but will be accused of whinging etc. but it is always the same pattern. Almost as if the Aus and Kiwi administrators know that to survive they have to ‘stop the jaapies at all costs’ and that starts by focusing on the way they play the game e.g. the LEGITIMATE physical stuff, so they go for the zero tolerance approach and anything REMOTELY illegal by the Boks gets the book thrown at it … so it sets up the whole spin about the boks being dirty etc.
Meanwhile – they get away with everythin …..
Really sucks.
10 Sep 2012, 13:14 pm
@soulfusion-36:
i said the ref was poor and that the ozzies were getting away with clear indiscretions during the game already.
basically they’ve copied the kiwis playbook for when things dont go well… play it filthy, play it dirty. anyting and everything is on tthe table in such situations and are lauded as character and nous post game.
cowardly scum who pull cheap shot late hits, head highs, shoulder charges, stomping, holding on, pulling back…. you name it…
let the boks return with sincererity and they run to the ref, commisioner and irb panel.
10 Sep 2012, 13:15 pm
We dont we get decent tight heads sent over from Overseas as well???
Compare Ben Franks HEADBUTT to Etzabeths and it is LEGITIMATE for the kiwis!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Plxf0Y9gj-8
O bloed…
10 Sep 2012, 13:17 pm
@Bok fan-59: Sorry Why
10 Sep 2012, 13:18 pm
A Bok “Air Butt” gets a 2 week ban, maybe the IRB ( & SANZAR) can think of some more ways to sanction the Boks, maybe if they start looking at body language they could ping the Boks for negative BL ?
10 Sep 2012, 13:18 pm
And I am TRYING to find where the headbutt is? Is it actually SHARP? When it is slowed down to nice angle it look like Etzabeth, but normal it is SHARP!!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3xU2qXMJXIk
10 Sep 2012, 13:20 pm
@The Analyst-64:
And Sharp LEKKER plays it up, with the Aussies playing it over and over on the big screen like it WAS a headbutt.
Seriously pathetic.
10 Sep 2012, 13:22 pm
@The Analyst-60: That’s not fair, they clashed heads in a tackle, Franks was not trying to head but Flip..
10 Sep 2012, 13:24 pm
@Bok fan-59: If Jannie is in doubt Mujati would be a great call, he has been dominating in the premiership and it doesn’t get any tougher for TH props than in the English premiership!
10 Sep 2012, 13:24 pm
Lets put it together in one nice package:
Franks headbutt:
VS
Etzabeth headbutt:
And the winner is???
Watch all the Kiwis say that Franks one was legitimate!! By the way it was not a ‘once off’ …. here he is against the Aussies:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eiREDuhvc5c&feature=related
10 Sep 2012, 13:26 pm
@Skeppie-66:
Does it make any difference HOW and WHEN you headbutt? What is ‘not fair’?
So when Bakkies ‘tackled the kiwi scrum half with his head’ ?
Come on man ….
10 Sep 2012, 13:27 pm
@rossoneri-56:
secretly, i think meyer is delighted to have bakkies back indeed. and i too am beside myself, i am ecstatically happy. fark, this has made my week and it can only get better from here. i really, really am very, very excited to bakkies in action again.
i would give my wife to bakkies so she could have his kid and i would love that boy like he was my own, that is how much i love bakkies
@The Analyst-57:
cowardly scum boet, cowardly scum.
the sad thing for all of us though is that we are all the poorer of great rugby spectacles. no thinks to their desperation to win at all fithy costs.
10 Sep 2012, 13:30 pm
@The Analyst-60:
they’ll say nothing about the arms of course.
10 Sep 2012, 13:30 pm
@The Analyst-69: Of course it does. A head clash in the tackle is not a headbut! You are being seriously one eyed, Frank’s tackle was possibly high and dangerous but calling that a head but is crazy.
10 Sep 2012, 13:31 pm
I love this thread..
and now Bakkies is back?
excellent..
doot doot oodle doodle oot doot do do
10 Sep 2012, 13:32 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-70: Would love to see Bakkies and Etzebeth in the same team. Between them and Juan Smith we can control lineouts while dominating te physical aspects of the game.
10 Sep 2012, 13:32 pm
@brains_trust-63: Beast got peanalised at a scrum by BL before the scrum was set in the S15. I think that was for bad body lanuage.
10 Sep 2012, 13:34 pm
@poppa69-73: Pop’s Bakkies is not nearly as dirty as you kiwi’s love to make out, he had a few moments of indiscretion and was punished for them but he is certainly not as bad as you guys make out.
10 Sep 2012, 13:35 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-70: we’re poorer of “rugby spectacles” because your team is uber k@K..no other reason, but keep gnashing and wailing, its great seeing so many arrogant Saffas who thought theyd steamroll the Aussies get a fine, large serving of STFU
5 straight, 7 from 8 now is it,,
can anyone say “We’re Aussies Biyatches”
10 Sep 2012, 13:35 pm
And in more breaking news:
Heyneke Meyer has sent a letter to Danie Gerber to play in the No 13 jersey. It will be better for his heart to be on the field than to watch the game from the sidelines.
Meyer also sent a messenger with a cleft stick to get an urgent message to Danie Craven, and his dog Bliksem, who was (allegedly) named after Bakkies Botha.
Cliffie Etsebeth had to be revived when he heard the news about Eben’s suspension. In his days a headbutt was still a headbutt, and required the drawing of at least SOME blood. Concussions were for sissies.
Heyneken Meyer has decided to use reverse psychology in Tests. Unfortunately the team has only grasped the reverse part so far, and have succeeded to stay in reverse for at least 70 minutes of each game.
Morné Steyn will keep his place until the ANC is voted out of power, which, according to Jacob Zuma, will be at about the same time as the Second Coming. By that time, Steyn will be the best player in the team. As well as the oldest and the slowest. He will stand so far back that his scrumhalf will require a cannon to pass the ball. (Maybe that’s why Danie Craven has been summoned?)
10 Sep 2012, 13:36 pm
@Skeppie-72:
So their heads did not butt? or did they?
10 Sep 2012, 13:37 pm
@Horings-74:
yip, play eztebeth at 5 i say and give bakkies 60 min or 80 if fit enough.
juan would be a bonus. plus gurthro.
10 Sep 2012, 13:38 pm
@The Analyst-79: Yes their heads clashed but it was clearly not intentional. “Head clash” in the tackle and a “Headbut” are very different things.
10 Sep 2012, 13:38 pm
@The Analyst-69: Look make no mistake, Sharpe lined Etsebeth up from the get-go, and unfortunately the youngster took the bait.
He shouldn’t have done it, hoping he’ll learn from the experience, and I’m sure he will, he’s usually fine. Sharpe is superb at getting under the skin. I’m surprised at 2 weeks, though 1 week was sufficient. Also a bit miffed that AAC and his double-high-tackle was not only NOT pinged, but actually praised. I guess if you;re a Bok lock you have to tread more carefully than most
10 Sep 2012, 13:39 pm
@poppa69-77:
you people are trash poppa, thems the facts.
you go away feeling empty which is why you come here to defend the lie you live, as you always will until you start earning your wins fair and square.
i cant help you… only pity you…
10 Sep 2012, 13:41 pm
@poppa69-77:
Easy to have a rugby spectacle when you can make up the rules and manipulate the administrators as you go along.
Come on you you ….. gi e us you UNBIASED opinion which is worse below?
Franks headbutt:
VS Etzabeth headbutt:
And the winner is???
10 Sep 2012, 13:42 pm
@The Analyst-84: Bud, seriously….that was a clash of heads, not a headbutt.
If anything there might be a case for no arms but that’s not a headbutt
10 Sep 2012, 13:43 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-83:
Here here!!
Lets see what he comes up with on the Owen “headbutt” Franks front … I will put money on ‘it was a legal legitimate tackle’!
Go the one eyed kiwis! LOL!
10 Sep 2012, 13:43 pm
hahahahaahahahahahahahah
I dont feel empty at all.. my team plays poorly and still wins, does yours even play? because it certainly appears that they dont know how to..
the goose, 7 points down with two minutes left and he kicks away possession hahaha I can see Meyers effect on him already..
lmfao what a waste of talent, something SA has in droves, apparently
hahahahahahah
10 Sep 2012, 13:45 pm
@Atreides-85:
Clash of heads …. not a headbutt. Give me a break mate. Looked like a premeditated ‘clash of heads’.
How does a 1.85 meter prop clash heads with a 2m tall lock in a front on tackle.
Going low was he?
10 Sep 2012, 13:45 pm
@The Analyst-86: as your own countrymn have pointed out, you are too doff to realise..
are you seriously this dumb?
10 Sep 2012, 13:47 pm
@poppa69-87:
HHAHAHAHHHAHAHAHAH we are waiting for your comments on Franks.
Sport is funny thing mate. Wheel will turn. Enjoy your pathetic gloating. Really small minded of you.
10 Sep 2012, 13:48 pm
Rubbish decision. There wasn’t even contact. Mealumu kisses his wife with greater ferocity.
10 Sep 2012, 13:48 pm
@poppa69-89:
To realise what? That in your small mind Franks tackle was ‘legitimate’?
Yes I must be REALLY dumb!!
LIKE YOU!
10 Sep 2012, 13:50 pm
@The Analyst-90: I am not going to comment on two completely unrelated incidents..
your emotion is over riding your logic, and it is making you look like a complete fool
keep going, because I think its farken hilarious,,
do you see dead people? have another conspiracy cracker mate…
hahahahaha dumb, deluded and SA, youre really adding weight to the stereotype..
10 Sep 2012, 13:51 pm
@The Analyst-86:
nah, he’ll just convince himself the nagging feeling he has somewhere deep inside is due to some other reason. he can go right through life and either own up to it or not. when you consider how culturally endemic it is it explains why its hard for an indiviual to see his shortcomings.
if the whole group behaves that way then its reasonabe for the individual to assume he/its normal.
@poppa69-87: @poppa69-87:
keep telling yourself that poppa, keep telling yourself that.
you’re still the one coming back empty, day after day, month after month, year after year…. looking for validation from the people who own you mentally.
10 Sep 2012, 13:52 pm
so Cilliers and Jannie Dup also out by the sounds of it…
Oh hell….we not exactly overflowing with tightheads….
Marcelle VD Merwe?
@The Analyst-88: Dude you are making no sense, Flip dipped his shoulder to take contact…so yes, Flip did lower himself.
@The Analyst-90: yep and in 2009 when the wheel did turn, you and many like you sang at the top of your very arrogant voices,
face it, SA rugby is super k@K, and the fact you guys continue to chase shadows rather than deal with the real issues will ensure you stay near the bottom…
hahahahahahahaahahahahahaha
10 Sep 2012, 13:54 pm
Bakkies dril your nought nag after nag of hoe?
Al die Afrikaaners is dom kont. Ook die kleurling Afrikaaners. Ek is nie a rassis nie weet jy? It is the vooken afrikaans speakers that are dom.
Take Doc 2+3. A dommer and dommerer kont jyt nog seen, yes chef? But he has medical degree. My punt is die Afrokaaner is a ****** dum stick, one that is dumb by virtue of his quick thinning… As jou an essay on rugby wil write, fine then Afrikaans ouens will make Ted and Lord Whatsit seem like doses, right?
Maar an Afrikaan CANNOT on his feet think. CANNOY. Not possible.
Vokkof konts
@grant10-95: Mujati would be the best bet….even BJ as an option. I wouldn’t try out a new youngster in these circumstances against the Franks brothers.
@poppa69-97: That Keo statement of “NZ Rugby is kak” really made you angry…
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All