Etzebeth banned, Botha to join Boks

Springbok lock Eben Etzebeth has received a two-week suspension for his headbutt on Wallabies No 5 Nathan Sharpe.

The transgression was not punished by the referee in last Saturday’s Test, but Etzebeth has been subsequently suspended following a disciplinary hearing on Monday. Etzebeth will miss the Boks’ match against the All Blacks in Dunedin.

Nigel Hampton QC stated that this was not an attempt just to push the opposing player away by using his head without contact being made. ‘The player brought his forehead forward and downward with a degree of speed and force into the nose area of the opposing player making contact with that player,’ he said. ‘This was a deliberate act done as a part of an episode of escalating “tit for tat” pushing and shoving between the two players. As to sanction, intentional striking with the head into the face of another is not to be countenanced under any circumstances.’

Bok coach Heyneke Meyer has confirmed that veteran lock Bakkies Botha, who is currently playing for Toulon in France, will join the squad. Meyer clarified that Botha will not be considered to start against the All Blacks. Flip van der Merwe and Andries Bekker are existing locking options that didn’t start in Perth.

The Boks picked up three injuries in last Saturday’s match. Jannie du Plessis tweaked his hamstring, Pat Cilliers strained a ligament in his elbow and Bryan Habana sustained an ankle injury.

Team doctor Craig Roberts said that Habana should be fit for the Test against the All Blacks in Dunedin, but Du Plessis and Cilliers are in doubt and front-row replacements are likely to be summoned from South Africa.

550 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All

• 101.The Analyst: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-93:

Glad you find Franks headbutt funny. You would.

Just like you add weight to the dumb, one eyed, kiwi stereo type you are. Point proven.

F… off back to a kiwi blog where you can mouth off in peace with the other stereo types.

Oh ya, I forgot. You don’t feel ‘smart enough’ there ….

DOOS.

• 102.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@PielNeus-98:

Your online translator needs work.

• 103.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-102: lol

• 104.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-94: my team is world champions, have won 13 matches straight, have blanked the number two team in the world (the ones who own you guys currently) and in all likelihood should make it 14 wins this weekend..

whats not to be happy about? I come here to see the delusion people like yourself and the un analyst come up with.. thems the ones being mentally owned at the moment chop..

seriously, it is comedy gold.

cant wait for the next Hollywood movie

“Manshamed Aussie style”

hahahahah

• 105.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-95:
    injuries?

@PielNeus-98:
    gaan speel met poppa.

• 106.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst-101: true that

I do seem to raise the IQ of both blogs by posting here :D

(let me know if you need me to explain that one to you, ok dummy?)

• 107.gunther: Reply to this comment

Farcical.

If we are looking for a new tighthead that Ginger from the stormers will do nicely.

• 108.The Analyst: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-96:

Flip did not dip his shoulder.

• 109.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@gunther-107: How did Pat do? Wasn’t watching him, but they seemed to bugger us in the scrums

• 110.willievz: Reply to this comment

@gunther-107: Or Coenie doodp@es, when fit.

• 111.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Who will Bakkies bite/stomp/flying head butt this weekend, our little scrummie better watch his back.

• 112.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@willievz-110: When’s he expected back from injury?

• 113.gunther: Reply to this comment

@willievz-110:

Ja preferably.

• 114.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst-101: dude chill, no need to get in this nonsensical t*t-for-tat…

• 115.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@gunther-107: problem is, kitshoff is a loosehead…

• 116.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@gunther-107: That Giner is a loosehead and only a loosehead….

• 117.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst-101:

He’s a waste of time,

He’s here because the kiwis don’t want him either.

• 118.The Analyst: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-106:

Don’t bother explaining mate, you already have.

Clearly you just want to hang around playing with yourself basking in the success and failure of others.

• 119.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-104:
    you wasting your time poppa, i will never give you the validation you seek.
    you are simply not deserving.

i understand your emotional discomfort though. i too have at times in my life done things cheap and been dishonest to myself and which left me with that nagging sense of guilt. it eats you slowly over time and never lets you go until you own up to it and admit it to yourself, so much better when you are finally free of the lie.

• 120.The Donkeys Egg: Reply to this comment

So the Boks replace a young intentional headbutter with a veteran serial headbutting gouging maiming thug with, by far, the worst judicial record in the history of the professional era.

what next – Hannibal the Cannibal babysitting services ?

• 121.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-115: Dammit Transie beat me to it!

• 122.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-107:
    he’s a tighthead?

• 123.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-112: During the England series in June, it was reported that he will be out of action for 2-3 months.

Should be tying his bootlaces soon.

• 124.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@The Donkeys Egg-120: Oh not, first Pop’s has his panties in a twist and now this horrible excuse for a human. *sigh*

• 125.poppa69: Reply to this comment

nope, its just great to see Saffas getting their come uppance.. especially the arrogant ones who after 2009 thought there wasd a new world order hahahah deluded dumfckx

it really is farken funny, like your rugby team.

• 126.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-114:

He will be better than Brok.

And that’s where we are at right now.

In fact I’d be surprised if Brok isn’t packing his flightsocks as we speak.

• 127.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-121: gunther, is thinking about Brok-en Harris :D

• 128.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

Bakkies is a dirty bully who wilts like a daisy whenever somebody stands up to him.
    And then claims Liewe Hiesus told him too.
    HM sure did not miss an opportunity to get another Blou gatgabba on the gray train.

• 129.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-107: Don’t they use the ginger at loosehead? For me he looks like a tighhead though – short, compact and can bench Tobie Titus.

Plus he’s about the colour of a postbox that’s seen some sun. That’s enough to put the opposing loosehead and hooker off a little.

• 130.gunther: Reply to this comment

Black onnerpant in the house.

Bellywobble.

• 131.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Houston has already written his losing speech, injuries, travel, cheating Kiwis , the grass was too long you’ve already waved the white flag

• 132.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby-128:
    Must be “gravy train”

• 133.The Analyst: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-114:

It is hard to chill. Seems like Etzabeth is being targeted. Really tough on the young guy and imagine how shite he must feel?

I just find it very unfair from a lot of the other stuff I have seen, to see a young and really talented player now tarnished with this when it was not an intentional ‘headbutt’, but some simple argy bargy with Sharp playing the lead role.

• 134.katman: Reply to this comment

@katman-129: Meant Thelo Wakefield, of course.

• 135.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst-133: sniff sniff

• 136.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-124:
    problem is kiwis will keep coming here tio find the validation they seek but is missing in what they do. they know it deep down inside and so do we, but they wont admit it because its too sensitve and without some sense of purpose and ability they are nothing.

this is all they have and if we take that then their insignificanse is revealed.

in a way i understand the scum perfectly well and can see why they would behave in the way they do.

• 137.gunther: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby-132:

Sounds like you have been reading 50 Shades of ***.

@katman-129:

Precisely.

• 138.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

it was an unintentional headbutt he didnt really mean to

• 139.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@PielNeus-98: Are you sure you want to blog under that nick?

• 140.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-136:

:lol: :lol: :lol:

• 141.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

can we please get the bakkies from before the 9 week suspension. after that suspension he came back a soft man.
    i don’t care if he gets red carded in first half right now the boks need someone to do some enforcing and who better than the original enforcer himself

imagine having Etzebeth and Bakkies as the locking duo throw in Bismark, Alberts Juan and Brussow ,Burger and Dannie into that forward pack and you have some serious man power

• 142.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-130:
    either him or china is bp in my estimation.

we really do pack them in :lol:

• 143.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst-133: eben shoud’ve known better than to lead with the head!

he got a lot more niggle from the highlanders bullies earlier in the year and his reaction then was to smash them harder at the rucks…not headbutts

• 144.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Houston why have you waved the white flag so early, Meyer not the coach you thought he was?

• 145.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-137:

• 146.willievz: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-140: By the way:

How come you blog throughout the day and night?

Are you one of those Sydney Maori bouncers playing with your smartphone on duty? ;)

• 147.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@willievz-146: how come you blog just as much as me, you a tenderpreneur lining your pockets on the hardships of the majority :wink:

• 148.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

oh china my scum.. sorry.. chum,
    i aint conced’in nuthin. will place some money on boks to win the championship.

stop changing the subject… very rude…

you’re a guest… remember…

• 149.gunther: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-142:

The only thing they have in common is that they tried to retire theatrically and then slunk back here pretending to be someone else.

• 150.katman: Reply to this comment

@willievz-146: Easy willie. That sht will get Poeps crying racism to the UN Commission for the Indigenously Offended.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.