Etzebeth banned, Botha to join Boks

Springbok lock Eben Etzebeth has received a two-week suspension for his headbutt on Wallabies No 5 Nathan Sharpe.

The transgression was not punished by the referee in last Saturday’s Test, but Etzebeth has been subsequently suspended following a disciplinary hearing on Monday. Etzebeth will miss the Boks’ match against the All Blacks in Dunedin.

Nigel Hampton QC stated that this was not an attempt just to push the opposing player away by using his head without contact being made. ‘The player brought his forehead forward and downward with a degree of speed and force into the nose area of the opposing player making contact with that player,’ he said. ‘This was a deliberate act done as a part of an episode of escalating “tit for tat” pushing and shoving between the two players. As to sanction, intentional striking with the head into the face of another is not to be countenanced under any circumstances.’

Bok coach Heyneke Meyer has confirmed that veteran lock Bakkies Botha, who is currently playing for Toulon in France, will join the squad. Meyer clarified that Botha will not be considered to start against the All Blacks. Flip van der Merwe and Andries Bekker are existing locking options that didn’t start in Perth.

The Boks picked up three injuries in last Saturday’s match. Jannie du Plessis tweaked his hamstring, Pat Cilliers strained a ligament in his elbow and Bryan Habana sustained an ankle injury.

Team doctor Craig Roberts said that Habana should be fit for the Test against the All Blacks in Dunedin, but Du Plessis and Cilliers are in doubt and front-row replacements are likely to be summoned from South Africa.

550 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All

• 151.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Wait until after Saturday you”ll get far better odds.

• 152.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-149:
    silly kiwis,
    dont they know… the smells a dead giveaway… :lol:

• 153.gunther: Reply to this comment

@willievz-146:

He’s a curioshop Maori.

Can’t speak the language and has no guts, other than the ones that hang out of his billabong tshirt.

Strictly for display purposes.

• 154.poppa69: Reply to this comment

love it, their rugby team is playing like a bunch of cupid stunts and so they are all trying to appease themselves the only way they know how..

such beautiful irony

• 155.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@katman-129: Nah he is pretty tall and seems like and out and out loosehead.

• 156.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

i’ll do both, thank you very much.

you kiwis need to get a handle on yourselves

• 157.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@gunther-153: hilarious stuff, you really are very funny gunther..

• 158.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-138: Come on China, do you really think that was a headbut?

• 159.Transformation: Reply to this comment

aaron smith should watch his step, with bakkies on the field he is bound to get his neck broken

• 160.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-153:
    ok, they come in three flavours then?
    did not know that.

• 161.The Analyst: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-135:

Poppa … you’ve got me there with that comment. I cannot take it anymore. Your blogging game plan is just too much! The intelligence and planning of your posts is just too much! And the last comment ….. just like a Sonny Bill pop pass!

You win. You are the best. You are the number one blogger in the world.

All us dumb, arrogant South Africans can only watch you in your blogging world number one intelligent blogging glory.

I won’t try to hold you back any longer. Go forth now and conquer the universe.

• 162.poppa69: Reply to this comment

africas not for sissies apparently, shame no ones told their rugby team

• 163.Oranjebliksemblou: Reply to this comment

Here comes the PAIN!

• 164.charo: Reply to this comment

seems like the olympic medal dik measuring from the kiwis has quietened down?

• 165.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

the kiwi advocate looks like the type of pakeha perv who likes the fine leg of the maori lass.
    he’s got dirty old man / sugar daddy written all over him.
    how old is the doos.

• 166.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst-161: awww cheer up, TRC will be over in a couple of weeks and then youll have the NH teams to look forward to losing to..

• 167.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Skeppie if you think there was nothing in it fair enough.

• 168.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Its rugby now Silverback and our dicks are longer there as well.

• 169.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-167: There really wasn’t, it was clearly a little fakie that accidentally made contact, if he was looking to actually headbut Sharpe I am sure he would have done a better job, as it was he must have just touched him by a millimetre. Look the decision to ban him is probably correct technically and what he did was stupid and he has only himself to blame but it’s a tough pill to swallow.

• 170.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-168: isnt it funny how their base attitudes come out when you give em a bit of stick?

guess they havent really moved on from the past huh?

classic to see though, they spout all this moral superiority then disprove it very quickly..

gots to laugh..

like watching their rugby team, I laugh and laugh and laugh :D

• 171.katman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-170: That doesn’t say much, though. You laugh and laugh and laugh when people contract AIDS too.

• 172.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst-161:
    never gonna happen.
    its the price you pay for owning someone mentally.
    they’ll never leave until they feel they’ve overcome and are better.

problem is, we dont really own them so much no more. we’ve tried to let them go a long time ago but all they’ve done is sell themselves to their empty invalidatory efforts at getting back at us for owning them.

they cant do it fairly though and they know it, to their souls.

shame

• 173.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Very tough pill to swallow he’ll learn from it hopefully, drafting in Bakkies seems like a dumb Meyer move though his coaching box antics suggest hes not going to make it on the big stage.

• 174.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

you see this sort of thing in abusive relationships all the time.
    the abused become dependant on the abuser.
    will stick around no matter what.

• 175.Nils: Reply to this comment

Glad to see Bakkies back. Sin-bin is fresh painted and ready for him.

• 176.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@katman-171: Ive never laughed at anyone with Aids katman, thats just your embellishment…

I find it rather sad that a truly preventable disease isnt being prevented…

thats really sad, and a poor indictment on your country..

but yeah, your rugby team, now that I laugh at, often, consistently and with full hearty voice.

• 177.charo: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-168:

ooooh pandapoo, such tough talk from our resident chink exile?

• 178.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Pops it would appear that quite a few are keen to racially abuse you.

• 179.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

not tough Silverback just the truth my friend

• 180.gunther: Reply to this comment

In the land of the China the man with a three inch **** is king.

• 181.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-178: yeah, what to expect, quite the norm from the masters of their craft..

even charo is getting in on the act now..

• 182.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-176: “Ive never laughed at anyone with Aids katman”….? Sure Pooper?

Look, most purveyors of this site know you got more than a few screws loose and a couple of problems, but lying/fibbing wasn’t one of them… Either that or you seem to forget:

122.poppa69:
    1 May 2012, 10:45 am all the little ******** lined up in a row, eager to get the first hit in… what a laugh.. HG – I heard your banshee is now shacked up with GBS, and after seeing photos of him, you must be one hell of an ugly runt.. was it the full blown aids you have that made her leave? or are you just an HIV carrier? didnt your boyfriend tell you beforehand that he had it? Im guessing you probably dont know, but that might be the effects of the syphillis.. oh dear, how sad.. LMFAO

Either that or “LMFAO” has nothing to do with laughing…

You pitiful idiot.

• 183.katman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-176: I forget, you reboot your cranial hard drive every 30 days. So let me assure you, AIDS, rape and various other terrible events have, on more than a few occasions, been a great source of hilarious mirth and glorious victory to you. I know this must be like finding out you sleepwalk, but it’s better that you know these things.

• 184.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-182: oh looky, caught another one

that LMFAO is at the fact your banshee had done the runner, I find that hilarious, but completely understandable..

shouldnt you be in France?

• 185.katman: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-182: I think, in Kiwiland, it means “Look My Feet Are Oral”.

• 186.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

I wonder what happened to that Kiwi accused of rape after the U/20 final in Cape Town.

Poops comment after that incident was “Well, when in Rome”

Then says it was a “tongue in cheek” comment and should not have been taken seriously.

• 187.Doughnut: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-170: You really are a strange little man, trawling along sa rugby web sites is a pathetic attempt at boosting your own ordinary little life..
    Most bloggers here are respectful of NZ teams, there are a few one eyed characters but this is a SA site . Lets leave it at that eh .. now run along and lick Reeches a*ss.

• 188.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-186:

He meantto say foot in mouth but the electric shock treatment means it doesn’t always come out right.

Filth really.

• 189.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@katman-183: haha oh look, he of the moral superiority has arrived to give us his version of events, again.. and not one reference to my culture this time? did you forget bigot?

• 190.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Funny guy your obsession with all things regarding the p enis etc is a little worrying are you sure KEO is the right forum?

• 191.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Pops Charo is a good ole boy from way back

• 192.charo: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-178:

racially abusing pops?

naah, it’s called “returning serve” my little china

• 193.thesaint: Reply to this comment

I wonder why no-one is discussing rugby at the moment?

• 194.Nils: Reply to this comment

@J.B. Cowper-32: “(so long as we can find neutral N/Hemisphere refs not in Paddy’s pcoket).”

As far as I can recall, every single NH ref has been lambasted in direct corellation with the scoreline.

• 195.Doughnut: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-182: That is disgraceful, cant we get him banned for such a disgusting post. ? There is banter but this is almost hate speech material boyo .. You really are scum poppa.

• 196.gunther: Reply to this comment

Erm actually you brought it up my china.

Another busy night for you on keo I see.

• 197.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-186: yet many continue to laugh at NZs domestic violence issues, but that seems to have stopped once I pointed out that SA led the way… plenty seemed to delight in making jokes of that..

dont tell me all the tough Saffas cant handle the sane type rubbish they dish up???

at least you guys have plenty of wooden spoons to do the serving..

• 198.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

This is great news. Bakkies still has legs at 32 and would have been my first choice anyway. imagine Botha at 4 and Etsebeth at 5, that would have been awesome. Anyhow, none of this really matters coz Meyer’s and his team are a noose around the Springbok neck. NZ by 15.

• 199.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@katman-185: Another prize “humourous” Pooper Aids comment:

“32.poppa69:
    28 Jan 2010, 20:10 pm @Dusky: the way you assault monkies Dusky? so we have you to blame for the outbreak of Aids, your claim to fame huh?”

There are many more… Poops and his Aids humour go a long way back on Keo…

Rape is also a Pooper stock favourite…

• 200.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Doughnut-195: yeah like HG is an angel.. fark me, I knew Saffas were dumb but you seem to like the biscuit…

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.