Etzebeth banned, Botha to join Boks

Springbok lock Eben Etzebeth has received a two-week suspension for his headbutt on Wallabies No 5 Nathan Sharpe.

The transgression was not punished by the referee in last Saturday’s Test, but Etzebeth has been subsequently suspended following a disciplinary hearing on Monday. Etzebeth will miss the Boks’ match against the All Blacks in Dunedin.

Nigel Hampton QC stated that this was not an attempt just to push the opposing player away by using his head without contact being made. ‘The player brought his forehead forward and downward with a degree of speed and force into the nose area of the opposing player making contact with that player,’ he said. ‘This was a deliberate act done as a part of an episode of escalating “tit for tat” pushing and shoving between the two players. As to sanction, intentional striking with the head into the face of another is not to be countenanced under any circumstances.’

Bok coach Heyneke Meyer has confirmed that veteran lock Bakkies Botha, who is currently playing for Toulon in France, will join the squad. Meyer clarified that Botha will not be considered to start against the All Blacks. Flip van der Merwe and Andries Bekker are existing locking options that didn’t start in Perth.

The Boks picked up three injuries in last Saturday’s match. Jannie du Plessis tweaked his hamstring, Pat Cilliers strained a ligament in his elbow and Bryan Habana sustained an ankle injury.

Team doctor Craig Roberts said that Habana should be fit for the Test against the All Blacks in Dunedin, but Du Plessis and Cilliers are in doubt and front-row replacements are likely to be summoned from South Africa.

550 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All

• 251.gunther: Reply to this comment

@thesaint-240:

Du Preez and Fourie have made themselves unavailable.

• 252.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Paddy got to the cameraman as well.

• 253.grant10: Reply to this comment

Home

Bulls to get new black partner?

——————————————————————————–

by Brenden Nel 10 September 2012, 15:21

The Blue Bulls Rugby Union could well become the first South African Rugby province to have a 100% black partner, after Kagiso Holdings made a massive offer to buy out the shares of Blue Bulls Holdings – currently owned by the Marc Group.

The Blue Bulls Company – which is 50% owned by the BBRU and 50% by Blue Bulls Holdings, runs the professional structures at Loftus Versfeld, including the Vodacom Bulls Super Rugby team and Vodacom Blue Bulls Currie Cup team.

Kagiso Group have made a R335-million offer to acquire the shares of Trinergy Brand Connectors Proprietary Limited, the shares of Experiential Marketing Proprietary and EXP Momentum.

Through the deal it would also indirectly acquire 100% of the shares in Blue Bulls Rugby Holdings, and thus 50% stakeholding in the Blue Bulls Company. The Shares, originally sold by the Blue Bulls Rugby Union to the SAIL Group (now Marc Group), for R40-million, have been a lucrative investment and it is clear Kagiso Media are looking to reap a good return on investment from the deal.

With Kagiso Media setting the completion date for the transaction to be January 31 next year, it is understood that the deal has been accepted by the Marc Group and now needs the approval of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union to become a formality.

However, the offer is conditional on the Takeover Regulation Panel granting an exemption certificate and according to Kagiso “and the transaction is subject to, inter alia, the completion of a sale agreement, regulatory approvals, the necessary approvals by the shareholders and the approval by the Bulls Rugby.

While officials from the Marc Group that serve on the Bulls Board of Directors have had to sign confidentiality clauses because Kagiso is a listed entity, Blue Bulls Rugby Union president Louis Nel did tell supersport.com the deal was in its early stages.

“We’ve had informal discussions with our partners at the Marc Group where we were informed of the offer,” Nel told supersport.com, “But we have little information at the moment. We were surprised at it and have requested more information. Any such information will be handed over to our legal department before we respond to it.”

Kagiso is a level two BBEEE company and has a strong employment equity record. It also has a 50% ownership in Mobile Alliance, which has the management contract for the Sharks digital advertising within the Kings Park stadium. Additional brands within its stable include East Coast Radio, Jacaranda FM 94.2, Heart 104.9, Kaya fm, and on the new media side it includes Howzit MSN, Gloo Design Agency, and Acceleration Media. Jacaranda FM are currently one of the Bulls media partners

• 254.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Can you blame them.

• 255.grant10: Reply to this comment

Hondo will be wetting his man panty…..

Not sure how Tacitus will react

• 256.thesaint: Reply to this comment

@capebull-249: As if Kanko has made any statement in a Green and Gold jersey up to now…

Vermeulen will rock 8, it was only his first game…rather change Coetzee to 7, Alberts to the bench and Flo to six…then sit back and watch…

• 257.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-245: anyone with a semblance of education knows it stands for Queens Counsel..

• 258.thesaint: Reply to this comment

@gunther-251: Sorry forgot about that…by the way, I never mentioned Du Preez…don’t care much for him swinging his arms at a ref…

• 259.capebull: Reply to this comment

@thesaint-247: Move onn you sound like someone stuck in the past. We have no better option, maybe at 3 HM can bring Mujati in.

• 260.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-248: In my humble little opinion a coward tells little fibs here, little white lies there, right through to a full blown untruths… In essence an enemy of truth and no honour with ballas.

Poops, so in light of the above evidence on your “little” Aids fibbing foibles, you quite clearly have no ballas…

Whoosa coward now?

• 261.Puma: Reply to this comment

@boktillzero-141: Etzebeth and Bakkies as a locking duo would be awesome. Shift Etzebeth over to 5 and Bakkies at 4 lock. Bakkies is still young if you think of Thorn for NZ he went until he was 36. Bakkies is only 32.

• 262.capebull: Reply to this comment

@thesaint-256: Flo was no where he had 1 turnover.

Vermeulen was useless no excuses , 2 knocks, 1 penalty , 6m with ball 2 tackles, I will do more if given a chance.

• 263.gunther: Reply to this comment

@thesaint-258:

And there is no Japan excuse for Grant.

He is just kak.

• 264.thesaint: Reply to this comment

@capebull-259: I’d give Daan Human another run at 3, he’s solid enough in his old age, also Pat Barnard is still there, if we have to go overseas, I wouldn’t look past these two.

I’m not stuck in the past mate, just like to get stuck into people with selective memories…

• 265.gunther: Reply to this comment

@capebull-262:

That bad?

• 266.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-260: nah, a coward is someone who mocks someone else about their mothers death not more than a few weeks after the event..

thats a coward, a gutless coward..

but continue, you sure do hold the high ground here..

• 267.Puma: Reply to this comment

@thesaint-256: Vermuelen was not great at all on Saturday. Not fair on him though coming straight into a test from a long lay off with a knee injury. Vermeulen should have been on the bench. Or better playing CC until we got back from this tour and then came in to play for Boks at Loftus. Coetzee would be a great 8 and I would play him there.

8 Coetzee
    7 Alberts
    6 Flouw

That would be my starting loosies for this test. Bring Vermeulen in at 7 to replace Alberts later in the game.

• 268.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-246:
    nothing paranoid in what i’m saying pops.
    you are a filthy scum type and there’s an abundance of you in nz it seems judging by these two doos ‘***** carnts’.

• 269.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

qu e e r

• 270.David: Reply to this comment

How can a private company own a provincial union (VC and CC), as opposed to a franchise?

• 271.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-268: wonderful\. showing that true SA hospitality huh? youre a coward just like HG is…

• 272.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-257:
    *****’s cuntsel..?..

• 273.thesaint: Reply to this comment

@gunther-263: Might be, but with only 10 minutes in the Green and Gold, who will ever know? There is no way he is worse than Morne Steyn, he also kicks much better than him, doesn’t get rattled so easily… @capebull-262: Vermeulen had a huge defensive turnover late in the game, what do you expect from a man, run the whole show himself when Alberts, Strauss and Beast run around in the backline? You can’t be serious…

• 274.capebull: Reply to this comment

@gunther-265: I expected a lot more from Vermeulen at least for 40 min, he was bad

• 275.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Wheres “brave”, Poops now…

Run away like the “brave”, “Once was Warrior” he might truly be…. :lol:

• 276.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Nils-250:
    i would spit on a guy like you, nils.
    you are a filthy lot you kiwis

shame

• 277.gunther: Reply to this comment

@David-270:

They run the franchise.

The same way that Western Province rugby pty runs the Stormers.

• 278.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

qu e e r’s cuntsel

• 279.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-271:
    coward?
    i’ve never hit a woman in my life :lol:

• 280.thesaint: Reply to this comment

@gunther-263: Strange though that Mallet, Naas Botha and basically the whole country asked the question, and Japan was what Meyer said on Boots and All, and that he was unlucky and something about the game plan, which game plan that is, i don’t know…

• 281.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Keep up the good fight Pops, Black by more than a few.

• 282.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-272: yawn

fact is, your team is utter *****, your players and your coaches cannot think there way out of a paper bag, and it shows..

5 straight losses to what many say here is an ordinary Aussie team, well, if Aussie are ordinary, what does that make the teams they beat?

• 283.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Have you been with one?

• 284.capebull: Reply to this comment

@thesaint-273: 2Kocks , at that level is not acceptable, he had little impack , I doubt wether that will change. Yes he had one turnover , if you listened to commentators he was lucky not to concede a second penalty. The commenators aslo mentioned his lack of influence.

I expect the same from him than what we expect from all the Bokke , 100%

• 285.thesaint: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-279: Probably not helping but:

What do you say to a Brakpan woman with two blue eyes…nothing you mos already told her twice…

• 286.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-279: really, because stats say otherwise, seeing as you are in the land that leads the world in that department

• 287.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@capebull-284: None of the other Boks gave 100%? Why single out a man who isn’t close to being match fit for a forward?

Share your scorn on Beast, Morne Steyn, Mvovo, Jannie dup, JDV, Alberts etc….c’mon. Stop throwing your panties onto the stage for Spies, and give us some objective commentary why don’t you?

• 288.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

I remember once playing against this Maori fullah… Had a couple of Tattoos, bit of mascara warpaint…

Big talker… kept talking about pakeha cowards… until the first headbutt…

Thought the poor fullah was going to cry… the sniffling, snorting wailing “REEEEFFF”, I had never seen before, from any Pale Pom or Wiry Welshman anywhere…

Wonder if this was Poops in his youth… Podgy little Mofo… Actually quite a pleasant chap having a beer afterwards, but very apologetic and quite squeaky for a “Big Warrior” type… :lol:

• 289.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-282:
    focus pops

this is about filthy kiwi dirty tricks

farken cowards

cheap shots as usual

• 290.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-286:
    we’ve got nothing on you pops, you warrior you

• 291.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-288: strange the way youve detailed that he was of a certain ethnicity?

couldnt help yourself huh? just had to revert to what youve always known

a fine example of how little SA has grown in the last 20 years or so

just a coward..

• 292.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@thesaint-285:
    no, its not :lol:

• 293.capebull: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-287: I am oblective , Vermeulen had no impact full stop, lacst week I commended on the T5 not doing theirr work and you all blamed the scrummie, loosies ect, I still say the T5 did not do their work , and that includes Eben, and compared to Marcell, Vermeulen was no where.

But compred to 104m running with Ball 10-12 tackles, Vermeulen was way below par

• 294.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

anyway this whole scummy kiwi judicial officer bit has just further highlited to me the pointlessness of this pathetic competition. sick of the boks playing these cowards.

scum

• 295.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-289: I see you didnt answer my many questions directed at you on the Bok?aus game thread? where I pointed out the Bokke cheating as it occurred?, you remained awfully silent..

I understand Bakkies, you dont really know anything about rugby and show it with your continual rants..

nice one

• 296.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Bakkies is that how you’d talk in a room full of Nzer’s?

• 297.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-291:
    why do you gatkruip the ozzies the way you do?
    makes no sense. what’s in it for you?

you can do it without them.

you are filthy enough.

• 298.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

No so stop being silly the Bokke will start winning again at some stage in the future.

• 299.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-296: of course not, hes all mouth like HG

and Bakkies, Im no warrior mate, but I will stand my ground, if I get beat so be it..

• 300.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-297: how about an answer to post 205?

why have you not mentioned the filthy cheating SA scum? they were just as guilty, even Houghard got away with taking a player in the air, but youve remained
    very silent

surely you watch both teams indiscretions, you know, so that your repetition would actually carry some weight

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.