Etzebeth banned, Botha to join Boks
10 Sep 2012
Springbok lock Eben Etzebeth has received a two-week suspension for his headbutt on Wallabies No 5 Nathan Sharpe.
The transgression was not punished by the referee in last Saturday’s Test, but Etzebeth has been subsequently suspended following a disciplinary hearing on Monday. Etzebeth will miss the Boks’ match against the All Blacks in Dunedin.
Nigel Hampton QC stated that this was not an attempt just to push the opposing player away by using his head without contact being made. ‘The player brought his forehead forward and downward with a degree of speed and force into the nose area of the opposing player making contact with that player,’ he said. ‘This was a deliberate act done as a part of an episode of escalating “tit for tat” pushing and shoving between the two players. As to sanction, intentional striking with the head into the face of another is not to be countenanced under any circumstances.’
Bok coach Heyneke Meyer has confirmed that veteran lock Bakkies Botha, who is currently playing for Toulon in France, will join the squad. Meyer clarified that Botha will not be considered to start against the All Blacks. Flip van der Merwe and Andries Bekker are existing locking options that didn’t start in Perth.
The Boks picked up three injuries in last Saturday’s match. Jannie du Plessis tweaked his hamstring, Pat Cilliers strained a ligament in his elbow and Bryan Habana sustained an ankle injury.
Team doctor Craig Roberts said that Habana should be fit for the Test against the All Blacks in Dunedin, but Du Plessis and Cilliers are in doubt and front-row replacements are likely to be summoned from South Africa.

550 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 » Show All
10 Sep 2012, 22:22 pm
@Heavens Game-400: Ja ask her… My Chubby Ringhals struck her like lightning straight up her KeurboomPark and the result was a Pielneus, thru and thru…
Ask her…
Farken dangerous.
10 Sep 2012, 22:23 pm
@Big Hit-351: I am not serious at all. But predicted it. Kevin got on week for nearly decapitating someone. Eben gets 2 weeks for absolutely nothing. And somehow all our NZ friends here are silent on that issue.COaching staff should appeal and get this ban off his back. But they will be to “slapgat” to do that.
10 Sep 2012, 23:44 pm
@Heavens Game-398: So you are back home (I remember you are from Rhodesia but anyway that’s Africa) for good or just visiting, I thought you have been relocated to France for a long time.
Yes, sire, I understand, it’s about maids.
10 Sep 2012, 23:54 pm
@optiplay-402: Alright I am not a Kiwi, anyway I am on the record here many times saying that Keven or both with Tana should have been banned for long time for what they did to BOD back then. It was dreadful thing and could not believe they escaped punishment (strange that judiciar was a Saffa as far as I recall). If you mean ‘near decapitating’ an incident vs Moody, IMHO, Keven was lucky second time and yes – it looked much more serious than Eben’s antics.
11 Sep 2012, 01:52 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-376:
You really need to get over it.
I mean seriously i hate being called scum, filthy, cheats, cowards and a low life.
All that from one of your posts.You even said you wanted to spit on Kiwis.
You have anger issues and your temperament shows in the Boks as well and how they combat a team that’s better than them……with anger.
Are all South Africans as angry as you when things don’t go your way?
Eztebeth was going to get banned. We all knew this. I was hoping just for a warning not to be. Citing officer said it should have been red card therefore the penalty that SA got from that play also should have been rewarded the other way.
Not once have you said that Etzebeth was wrong in doing anything like that. He went for Sharpe and got involved, not the other way around. Look again, Etzebeth went for Sharpe.
Now the funny part of everything is you are still saying that the ref blew in Ozzies favour and that;s the reasons again why you lost. lol.
You have a huge problem with losing, in fact one of the worst on here. You get into a huge name fight against all, you hate Kiwis and Ozzies.
11 Sep 2012, 02:00 am
@optiplay-402:
You seem to be mislead somewhere.
Kevin was banned for 4 weeks.
NZ appealed as you are allowed to do and it was reduced to 2 weeks.
I am Kiwi and have never been quiet about this.
I was hoping he would have been let off with warning, but when citing officer said he should have had red card, you knew he was going to get banned.
1 week should have been it but 2 weeks was the call. SA needs to appeal its as easy as that.
11 Sep 2012, 03:16 am
@Hurricane-406: Agree. But the SA management will not appeal. Slapgatte. (that means “no backbone”). Imo Sharpe should have been cited as well..not sure what for, but what the heck. Cite him as well.
11 Sep 2012, 03:53 am
If you want to behave like an idiot on the field, then shut up and face the music off the field. Simple as that.
11 Sep 2012, 03:58 am
Another eg of BS citing comittee outcomes…………both were parading around like peacocks, no visible connection and a 2 week ban………….pathetic, absolutely pathetic.
Yet we see punch ups in S15 and diddly squat done.
mmmmmmmmmm……..
11 Sep 2012, 04:17 am
As a Kiwi I find this moron Etzebeth hilarious.
You have only just managed to get rid of that neanderthal Bakkies Botha &
now you have another !!
You can complain all you like some of you but the intention to head butt was
there & only a split second decision to pull out saved him from 6-8 weeks.
This sort of behaviour cannot be acceptable in such a high profile sport &
this d*ckhead is lucky he’s at least going to play again in this competition.
On a serious note it must surely be worrying for all of you Bok supporters
knowing that this clown has the propensity to even consider these threatening
postures considering he’s the new boy on the block.
11 Sep 2012, 04:29 am
@Nils-404: My view, after watching the game many times on video, is that tana was too fired up throughout the game and the BOD incident was extremely reckless on his part. Sadly, it remains something of a blot on his AB career.
11 Sep 2012, 04:36 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha
Ha Ha Ha. Have been reading some of this guys posts.
Is he as uneducated as I suspect he is ? The shame is most Bok posters are fair & reasonable in their thinking & in their summations of where South African rugby is right now.
Not this guy !! He obviously has anger management issues, incorrect in many of his statements, libelous in others. Oh dear how embarrassing.
11 Sep 2012, 04:44 am
@optiplay-407:
Classic, yeah site Sharpe as well for wearing the wrong coloured head gear. Cant have that in rugby
11 Sep 2012, 05:15 am
@whatever-409:
What punch up in super 15?
11 Sep 2012, 05:53 am
Eben should have resisted. That it was a SB doing it to a ***** Wobblie meant it’s an instant ban. If Eben was an AB he woulda got off with a warning. Fark what any of our guests think.
11 Sep 2012, 05:57 am
Hmm, Guess Etzbeth’s defense of “But I play for Stormers/WP, how can I get cited” didn’t cut it.
Might work at CC and S15 but not at international level.
2 weeks is about right – 1 week for each attempt at a head butt. Thought it would be more though. Thuggish behaviour.
11 Sep 2012, 06:08 am
This is quite a funny little summary of SA rugby. How cleverly was the whole thing orchestrated from Sharpe goading then appealing to the ref or linesman, multiple tv replays and Asstralian commentators drawing attention to it, an NZ (***** Cuntsel) oaficial and hey presto, a 2 week ban for nothing. But SA will not learn. This is how Oz and NZ play their rugby.
NZ oaficials know if they start citing like AA-C’s two head high tackles that were completely missed, Oz will respond by citing the ever present coconut tackles from NZ’s PI imports that make up most of their teams. So its a stalemate.
SA needs to learn the game. SA citing officers cite NZ and Oz players full up and SARU make sure that there is a Kemp J Kemp advocate who gets them convicted. By the way that same Kemp J Kemp (or some NZ ***** Cuntsel) should have defended Etzebeth. He’d probably have shown that he had a nervous tic and should be allowed two free head butts per game.
Until SA learn how our “friends” in Oz and NZ play the game, and respond in kind, we’ll be exposed to this “get the japies” kak. Respect is earned.
11 Sep 2012, 06:17 am
@W.P-415:
Dont know about that. Ask Burger, he got off with an eye gouge.
11 Sep 2012, 06:50 am
You can stop whining about ACC not being cited
Remember that nasty little excuse for a fly-half Butch James. He spent his career hitting AllBlacks
high and late preferring to lead with elbows and forearms
and was cited a grand total of never
so suck it up
11 Sep 2012, 06:52 am
@spartan-419:
Didnt he throw in a foot trip at Christian Cullen once, when Cullen blitz him and was about to dot down butch threw out both legs for a foot trip.
lol….oh no according to Bakkies boks dont cheat or play unfair.
11 Sep 2012, 06:55 am
@Hurricane-420:
that was another cheat James Small
11 Sep 2012, 07:04 am
@Hurricane-406:
A flying headbutt to the back of the head on a man prone on the ground = 1 week?
You’re thicker than I thought you were fella.
11 Sep 2012, 07:05 am
After seeing the TV footage,this charge is a crock,WHAT IS RUGBY BEEN REDUCED TO,goaed by a more experianced player, this young guy has made nothing more than a threatning movement,a warning.Shrp played an Oscar winning performance and bang 2 week suspenion.this is ****.By the way im am an All Black not Bok supporter.
11 Sep 2012, 07:06 am
@Hurricane-420:
Ritchie threw in a couple of those last year.
It’s a favorite tactic of his when players are chasing up kicks.
He’s made it part of the game.
A great innovator.
11 Sep 2012, 07:14 am
@husky-417:
filthy scum will happily see a young mans career in to further their low classless aims.
cowardly filth.
11 Sep 2012, 07:19 am
@Hurricane-405:
your people are disgusting, hurri.
cowardly classless way to get ahead, how can you feel good about yourselves?
empty victory after empty victory.
its pathetic.
11 Sep 2012, 07:23 am
@Ricardo10-412:
boet, i’m not angry… honestly… but go phukk yourself all the same.
11 Sep 2012, 07:24 am
@gunther-422:
Well at least i have facts.
If you have problems reading find someone that can help.
Mealamu banned for 4 weeks and reduced to 2 weeks as NZ appealed like all good coaches and admin would do.
Now if you still read 1 week, i cant help you.
Calling someone thick yet your reading seems below par is very funny…..thicko
11 Sep 2012, 07:25 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-426:
Us people??
Now it all comes out.
Showing your ture colours now.
11 Sep 2012, 07:25 am
@gunther-424:
Is that right,please show.
11 Sep 2012, 07:27 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-426:
I really cant help it if you are the worse loser on this site.
Even others on here ( non Kiwis ) even sick of your blame on everyone else but your own.
You only have one fan and thats gunther, and going by his reading skills, he really does not know what you are saying.
11 Sep 2012, 07:28 am
I dont know why pooper even told the people on here that his mom had cancer.
It had/has no business here,he must have used it for some emotional blackmail/pity.
Is it true he posted a pic of his mom or a link to a pic here aswell?
Obese Maori carguard working out of King’s Cross with no social life,pleanty of time
on his hands and a smartphone is not a good situation.
As for HG bringing his mom into their cyber fight,well he was merely returning serve after
pooper previously joked about hiv/aids and rape.
11 Sep 2012, 07:28 am
@LITELOCK-423:
anything to handicap us sure but to screw a 20 year old kids future..?
farking low
farking low
just makes me hate kiwi’s all the more and ozzie to a lesser extent too.
11 Sep 2012, 07:29 am
Hurricane “you people” refers to any person and people like him.
No need to get offensive please.
11 Sep 2012, 07:31 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-433:
Stop being a real dhoos and stay in the pond.
The only reason why you hate is because you can only give what you got.
You are turning into who you despise,you are our version of pooper.
11 Sep 2012, 07:37 am
@Hurricane-431:
and i cant help you people either, hurri.
11 Sep 2012, 07:40 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-433: I dont think its anything to with Eban or SA rugby for that matter.Its the softly touchy feely politicly correct brigade that runs Aussie and NZ in general.Rugby is just a side show to them.
11 Sep 2012, 07:41 am
@Hurricane-428:
It’s ok buddy.
It wasn’t in his character.
You said you felt it merited 1 week.
And I told you if you felt that was appropriate you are thicker than I thought.
And you’re talking about comprehension?
Good thing you inherited all those trailer homes or you’d be on the street.
@Hurricane-430:
Go and look at the New Zealand vs Boks game in New Zealand in last years trinations.
Ritchie lazy foot Mccaw.
Sounds like a country and western singer.
11 Sep 2012, 07:43 am
@Fern-435:
thanks fern, you telling me i’m being a doos really puts it into perspective.
11 Sep 2012, 07:45 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-439:
You are what the result of a lovechild between pooper and china would be.
11 Sep 2012, 07:45 am
@LITELOCK-437:
no, its part of a long running conspiracy on the part of nz mostly and oz to a lesser extent. makes me sick. pathetic way to get ahead.
11 Sep 2012, 07:48 am
This like watching a one-legged asskicking contest.
11 Sep 2012, 07:49 am
@Fern-440:
it doesn’t come out of nowhere, fern.
they’re baiting but they are also general dooses too.
11 Sep 2012, 07:52 am
@gunther-442:
fokkoff
11 Sep 2012, 07:54 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-441: I Have lived here all my life,and never has anyone here been organised enough to run a complex,long running and sustained conspiracy(or anything else for that matter)
11 Sep 2012, 07:58 am
@LITELOCK-445:
no, litelock it is.
believe me ‘get the japies’ has been an action item in the minutes of many a meeting over ther years in nz/oz.
11 Sep 2012, 08:34 am
433.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha said:
I’m interested to know where you believe the Boks should be in the World Rankings right now.
As an International side currently involved in the Provincial Championship where do you think they rate ?
11 Sep 2012, 08:55 am
i bet he wishes he’d acrtually connected and done some damage to sharpe to go with the sanction. so funny. i hope the young man learns from this silliness and cuts it out in future.
11 Sep 2012, 09:02 am
@munkiboi-448:
Exactly.
When you read the comment by Nigel Hampton he basically agrees that it was a more or less innocuous effort by Etzebeth, but because it was deliberate, to do nothing would be an effective sanctioning of the act.
Hopefully it will be lesson learnt.
11 Sep 2012, 09:11 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-446:
Give it a rest.
An idiot ref copied an email with a personal comment that ended up in the public half a generation ago and you have spawned a conspiracy from it.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 » Show All