Meyer’s selections have restricted Boks
10 Sep 2012
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day newspaper column, says Heyneke Meyer’s dream of coaching the Springboks has become a nightmare.
The Springboks will lose in New Zealand against the All Blacks. They won’t be smashed but they will be beaten.
Johan Goosen will provide greater variety on attack at flyhalf; Francois Louw, selected primarily to slow the pace at which the All Blacks recycle the ball, will ensure there isn’t guaranteed flow and rhythm to the New Zealanders; and the Boks, fronted by the black jersey, the haka and the belief that this match represents the game’s fiercest rivalry, will produce 60 very passionate minutes that will again give South Africans belief, hope and very little perspective.
The Boks will then beat the Wallabies in Pretoria and possibly sneak a win against the All Blacks in Soweto and the Currie Cup play-offs will be wonderful occasions, in which the rugby will seem new age and the sold-out attendance will seem indicative of what makes rugby such a priority to South Africans, if only a minority.
The Boks will head for the UK with renewed hope in November, our media and public will continue to question just how good the All Blacks really are — because they may have lost or come close to losing one match — and present arguments about just how good the Boks could be because they beat or came close to beating the All Blacks in one match.
And then we’ll be in 2013.
You don’t need a crystal ball to know this; just an hour to go through the Boks’ history will show that since professionalism in 1996, every Bok coach would take a team to New Zealand and Australia every year and host New Zealand and Australia every year.
Bok rugby is not in crisis but in a familiar cycle and I think the vitriol being aimed at Heyneke Meyer is because of a belief that he would be the one to break the cycle and be a leader of change.
Instead he, like every Bok coach who has arrived with pomp and ceremony, has been forced to change because of defeat and selections that were stereotypical in design.
Meyer, in discussing his philosophy on rugby, simplified it to there being only two types of rugby — winning and losing. He’s won three from six and it will be three from seven after the weekend. His way currently, based on his philosophy, is a losing one.
The Bok coach has also said that if his players can’t apply the basics to Plan A then why the need to look for a Plan B? Again, by what he has said, he is currently losing.
That is what I have found dispiriting about the draw in Mendoza in Argentina and the defeat against Australia in Perth. Both could have been avoided with more applicable selections to a more applicable way of playing, which is not a South African or a New Zealand way, but — to quote Meyer — a winning way.
We have players in South Africa who can offload in the tackle. We have 10s who can play close to the gain line, ask questions of the defence and make tackles. We have skilled players. We have mongrel in defence. We have players with an appreciation of how the offload in the tackle takes structured defence out of the game and adds pace to the game because it avoids collisions, which can bring the pace to a standstill.
The All Blacks, in picking a scrumhalf whose strength is the speed at which he can move the ball from breakdown to first receiver, have added a dimension to their play but that does not mean they believe this is the only way to be successful.
The talk is that the more physical Piri Weepu could be a better counter to the physicality of the Boks.
The point here is that there is no right or wrong way, but there is a restricted way — and that’s where Meyer has let himself down and made the South African rugby public feel particularly let down.
The view — and I am among the man’s biggest cheerleaders — was that he had the rugby acumen to identify the right mix of players to produce winning rugby, be it playing percentages or blowing opposition away with dominance at the breakdown and with backs running at pace and into space.
For the first 20 minutes of the second half against England in Durban and the first 30 minutes against England in Johannesburg all the signs were there that this could be a very special era of Bok rugby, in which it was accepted that to attack from your own goal line is not necessarily to risk, and to put boot to ball is not necessarily a no-risk option.
I don’t understand the refusal to try out different things, to select a squad that allows for different approaches and to live the dream of coaching a national team.
Instead Meyer is turning it into a nightmare, for himself and supporters.
It doesn’t have to be this way.
It was never supposed to be this way, even if the history of the cycle told us that it would be this way.

396 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All
10 Sep 2012, 12:44 pm
@Atreides-99: Eish. We will never know. Beast might have gotten his ear chewed off for the yellow card. Did you see Meyer scream into that walkie talkie!
10 Sep 2012, 12:45 pm
@rangerman-94: come on, with 10 metres to the TRYLINE our team in full flight with only Ioane to beat?
morne fecked up, no other way to look at it
whatever your opinion of jdv and my point was not to suggest that he is playing well but that morne’s kak decision-making BUTCHERED a sure try, we would’ve gone to half 27 – 3 if it wasn’t for the most experienced players in the team FAILING to play what was in front of them!
10 Sep 2012, 12:46 pm
@RL-97: Chill dude, did you read the part where i said i am open to be proven wrong. Besides, Lambie has got the experience and has been in that position before. Not just that , Lambie is 22 going on 23 and Goosen is 20. 3 years in rugby is a big difference in maturity.
I never implied that Goosen is not good enough, he is a great talent, and i also did pick him in my match 22. So i think your wetting your panties for no reason.
10 Sep 2012, 12:47 pm
What would a potential future centre pairing for the Boks look like? Serfontein/Jordaan?
10 Sep 2012, 12:49 pm
I would have been playing Janjes this season at 10, playing behind a losing pack like the Lions could only have done him good – f ing hard to do and still look decent. Lambie and Goosen whould then have to force there way into the side with all there injuries
10 Sep 2012, 12:49 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell-104: Hollenbach/Jordaan
10 Sep 2012, 12:52 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell-104: depending on who actually steps up…serforntein/jordaan….venter/small-smith…serfontein/rhule….whitehead/jordaan….serfontein/duplessis
loads of talent, just needs to be nurtured…
10 Sep 2012, 12:53 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell-104: Serfontein/Jordaan or De Jongh/Mapoe or a combination of the above.
10 Sep 2012, 12:54 pm
@Sharkie10-103: when are going to accept that Lambie has no future at 10 for the Boks – Meyer said in plain english that he sees Lambie as a fullback. The problem is that Lambies kicking game is inferior to the average Kirchner and it is all Plum’s fault. He simply has to play the Lambster more at 15 so that he can develop what he lacks in kicking – it won’t hurt to sing up a good speed coach for the old head cause his slowness is a big liabilty too.
10 Sep 2012, 13:01 pm
@Transformation-107: I don’t think JDV will be good enough to lift Marcell Brache from the WP starting line up, Brache is far too intelligent and can OFF-Load !!!!!! in a tackle, let alone step. the WP centre stock is looking good, Du Plessis isn’t bad either, it will be interesting to see what AC does when the CC knock-outs begin with JDV/JDJ available.
JDV should be “rested”.
10 Sep 2012, 13:02 pm
An effective backline for the game against the ABs could well be:
9: Pienaar
10: Lambie
11: Hougaard
12. JDV
13: JDJ
14: Habana
15: Frans Steyn
with Goosen and Mvovo on the bench.
10 Sep 2012, 13:03 pm
I don’t believe HM has a good support staff he can turn to in a crisis. He selected the entire Bulls coaching staff. All of them have reported to HM through their coaching careers and hang off every word that passes Meyer’s lips. One would have thought he would look too at least one assistant with test experience. In short there is nobody who can give him another perspective on different tactics etc. Anyone who thinks that Meyer is not bias in his selction criteria is deluded.
10 Sep 2012, 13:06 pm
@grant10-19:
Rubbish. Only 1-2 selection need be changed. The rest of the players are fine.
10 Sep 2012, 13:07 pm
@STBUR-113: So what changes would you make?
10 Sep 2012, 13:09 pm
@XhosaKid-110: that Brakkie is playing well for the WP – always looking to step and offload. Nice.
10 Sep 2012, 13:11 pm
The Boks were not expected to win the away Tests, let’s be honest about it
The two home tests will be different, the negative mood here will make an about turn.
Simple
10 Sep 2012, 13:11 pm
@Stormtrooper-112: You probably spot on. He needs someone that can challenge him in an amicable way. Not sure what Rassie is up to?
10 Sep 2012, 13:15 pm
Not enjoying F Steyn at 12.
Not until he loses a few Kgs.
I wonder if HM will stick him at 15 this weekend. With JDV back at 12 and JdJ at 13?
I suppose those changes will come to nought if M Steyn is picked ahead of Goosen or Lambie this weekend.
From being inconsistent, M Steyn has now absolutely lost it. There were times when he didnt know whether to pass, kick or run with it. There were times when he looked under so much pressure to run with it that he forgot to pass it. Butchered 2 tries by trying to go himself, once running left and the other, running right, when all he had to do was pass to blokes on his outside.
10 Sep 2012, 13:15 pm
@Tacitus-16:
So Mvovo now a rookie?
10 Sep 2012, 13:17 pm
@John Galt-118: I wonder if any of Heyneke’s schoolgirl histrionics into his walkie-talkie are directed at his beloved Morne? Somehow doubt it….
10 Sep 2012, 13:17 pm
Hooker Gary Botha and loosehead prop Gurthro Steenkamp came off the bench to help defending champions Toulouse crush Agen 62-13. Botha scored a try at the death.
10 Sep 2012, 13:18 pm
@willievz-114: if I may – would bring in Le Roux pronto to sit on the bench – he can cover position 10-15. Then I would drop Morne with the Goose to replace him, with Elton as flyhalf cover. Mopoe to replace divvy and maybe Lambie at 15.
Then Brussow, Coetzee and Vermeulen as the starting backrow. Bakkies and Guthro back into the 5 and Heineken will be on the right track.
10 Sep 2012, 13:19 pm
@phil72-121: helped?..
they were already a gazzzzzzillllllion mile in front!
10 Sep 2012, 13:20 pm
Only problem is, by starting Goosen at 10 this weekend we are asking for a Gaffie repeat.
Reckon Lambie should start with the Goose coming on after 60 and Lambie to 15.
10 Sep 2012, 13:21 pm
@Staal-123:
We a short a few props and hookers…. Also BJ Botha and Schalk Brits running around playing decent rugby up in the north?
10 Sep 2012, 13:22 pm
@PiXel_NiNja-86: Because they are far more patient and calculated than us. They will stick with a player they have belief in. Exactly what HM is being criticised for now. They do things gradually in a careful and planned manner. We throw a talented youngster in at the deep end and drop him when he doesn’t perform miracles in 2 or 3 games. Look at the impending pressure on Goosen’s shoulders now to pull us out the dwang – classic example!
10 Sep 2012, 13:23 pm
how fate plays its hand
2006 – Jakey is as lost as a **** in the cape south easter. the masses (past boks, media, administratoros, supporters, etc) all calling for snakey’s head. The bulls head up the call for snakey to be pulled back to SA handfull of days before England end of year test for a good old spanking and ultimatum: Lose the england match – Snakey’s out and Messiah Meyer is in. AC coaches Boks to win over england and Snakey keeps the job
2007 – Snakey is already fired before the world cup airplane even leaves OR Tambo. All have had enough the of the snake. Eddie wins the world cup for snakey, snake sells his story of martydom, becomes the hero of the kenners and all is well. Hail the Snakey, Hail!
2008 – Technical committee chooses PDV over Messiah Meyer as their coach of choice – making Divvy the Merit Appointment. Policitical committee does not endorse appointment and mattter is put to political vote. Divvy wins (again). The puppet masters, Morne Du Plessis & Co, pull the Oregan The Puppet’s strings and Oregan the Puppet puts the knife into Divvy on the very first day on the job. The devotees & kenners cry the beloved sport: We are doomed, we are cursed by the darkness, the Messiah has been overlooked by the Court Jester
2008 – few months later: Divvie tries to introduce concept of empowered players thinking on their feet. Lamblasted for being a forward thinking fool. The devotees & kenners cry: “We are a rugby nation of traditionalists, skop net die bleddy ball jou Court Jester”.
2009 – 2011: We start to skop the bleddy wall, some is won, some is lost however never a dull moment. The nation is entertained, horified and amused by the visionary Court Jester and His Merry Maturing Men
2012: Meyer Messiah gets the job. Hail, Hail, throw down Jacaranda Petals at his feet. Order has been restored and light shall prevail. Down a Castle in happiness.
Some have the audacity to hypothesise that the Messiah may not have the make up for the dynamics of a national coaching role. Lynch them, them bleddy reverse racists. Just like the technical committee back in 2008 – hulle weet niks. How dare they be so indignant and question the Messiah’s abilities. Cast them from Keo
2012 and few months later: The Boks are dour, predictable, traditional and shite, the Messiah is clueless, the disciples are restless and the media are pulling out the sjamboks. “We are to structured and to traditional” the former devotees cry. Hiding’s away, hidings at home all on there way.
2013 …. me glassball see’s a meeting between the masters weighing the cost of ending the messiah’s contract, for a new saviour named AC to called for the world cup
10 Sep 2012, 13:25 pm
@John Galt-124:
M. Styen could be used at 15 but that not going to happened
Expect more of the same on Saturday
10 Sep 2012, 13:27 pm
@capetown-127:
Great post.
10 Sep 2012, 13:28 pm
@capetown-127:
PdV win/loss ratio for 2010-2011 is 26% Vs. the Top Five Rugby Nations.
Sound right!
10 Sep 2012, 13:28 pm
@John Galt-124: I agree, Goosen needs to be handled very carefully. I would play Lambie at 10 for the next year or so and then move Goosen into 10 and move Lambie back into 15 with Taute being the 2nd option at 15 and Jantjie the 2nd option at 10.
10 Sep 2012, 13:31 pm
@John Galt-124: bullshitt. Did you see how the Goose unlocked and confused the convict defense with his first run – they were kaking their pants.
This Gaffie thing is an invention of varkies who are such pricks that they cannot admit that the Goose is better than their lamb toy. If ever there is a new Gaffie it is the Lambster who thinks he is a good 10 but will end up an average bitter 15 just like Gaffie.
10 Sep 2012, 13:35 pm
@capetown-127: Problem is, AC plays dour defense-based rugby too….or at least, has in the past
I’m hoping the exciting stuff the CC team are showing will carry through to Super Rugby next year…
10 Sep 2012, 13:36 pm
@RL-132: That is the most ignorant post I have ever read, congrats you are about as knowledgeable as those spectators in the stands who’s main contribution is to scream out “pass it do the wings” “Swing it”, well done!
10 Sep 2012, 13:36 pm
I am absolutely sick and tired of those Gaffie fears.
It is ridiculous.
Gaffie is an exceptional case – never played ANY Super rugby or even CC.
The Goose was the best flyhalf in the S15 before his injury.
There is a massive difference. You guys are comparing apples with pears.
10 Sep 2012, 13:41 pm
@willievz-135:
Jou span het mooi gespeel hierdie naweek!
10 Sep 2012, 13:42 pm
@Skeppie-134: if a 19 year old Steyn can play in a RWC final then the Goose can start in a RC match without varkies quoting Gaffie. Get it.
10 Sep 2012, 13:46 pm
@WP-Forever-136: Dankie, man!
Die manne geniet hul rugby. En Pote se aanslag is verfrissend!
10 Sep 2012, 13:47 pm
@willievz-135: educate those Goose haters Willie.
10 Sep 2012, 13:49 pm
@RL-137: I never quoted Gaffie at all but there are a lot more references, Chilliboy is a classic case in point, he was a supposed world beater and we rushed him into the system too soon. I am not saying Goosen is definitely not ready but for me I would play him off the bench for a while and give Lambie a run at 10.
10 Sep 2012, 13:50 pm
@Skeppie-131: That sounds far too logical
10 Sep 2012, 13:52 pm
@Skeppie-140: Chilliboy was never rushed.
In fact, he is a classic example of someone who warmed the bench his whole career.
10 Sep 2012, 13:57 pm
@willievz-142: He was rushed onto the bench when he was 19 or something, we handled him badly either way. Goosen should be seen as a national treasure and we should ensure we get 10 good years from him rather than expect this 19 year old to go to NZ playing in a team that is still trying to gel and expect him to turn a game, it is not fair on the youngster.
10 Sep 2012, 13:59 pm
@Skeppie-140: weak very weak, Chili was not even the best hooker for his province. The Goose is head and shoulders the best flyhalf we have – no debate.
You agreed with that idiot on the Gaffie angle when you lashed out at my response and now you creep up with the Chili excuse to bottle the Goose. Pathetic man.
10 Sep 2012, 14:01 pm
Even with such a game plan it is even more evident that you cant have a predictable and one dimensional fullback.
Kirchner didnt do much wrong, but he did what he normally does and everybody knows what that is: Runs 5m and then kicks. Every time as reliable as a Swiss clock.
Would a better attacking fullback not sum up the situations better and be more threatening when countering after receiving the ball after the opposition’s kick?
They probably would.
10 Sep 2012, 14:02 pm
@RL-144: Huh? Chilliboy was a junior world cup winning hooker with huge potential and we badly managed him. All I am saying is we need to carefully manage Goosen and not make silly knee jerk decisions. I am a huge Goosen supporter but rushing him in and expecting him to be a superstar from day one is irresponsible and stupid.
10 Sep 2012, 14:04 pm
@Jeez-145: That’s true, even with a whole lot of space he still kicks from really deep, at the worst he could carry the pill up deeper and see what opens up, if it’s not on he cans till kick. It’s like an ingrainsed mindset to not attack and rather surrender possesion.
10 Sep 2012, 14:09 pm
@Skeppie-143: He was rushed onto the bench.
But was he ever rushed into a starting team of any nature?
He was the third choice 2 at the Bulls for how many seasons?
10 Sep 2012, 14:11 pm
@Skeppie-146: varkies had no problem 2 years ago calling for their 20 year old lamb toy to replace Steyn – why the sudden let’s ease Goosen in. Hypocracy.
Go on.
10 Sep 2012, 14:12 pm
@Skeppie-147:
And you can hardly blame that on a game plan. Kicking wins you territory if it is on and you read the situation correctly. You rightly say it seems to be ingrained and cant benefit the team. Why have such a idiot in the squad?
He mostly just kicks away possession. Yeah and he doesnt even come close to the opposition before he kicks.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All