Morné must go

JON CARDINELLI writes that Heyneke Meyer is doing the Springboks, and Morné Steyn himself, a disservice by persisting with the out-of-form flyhalf.

One more point would have given the Boks victory in Port Elizabeth. One more would have made the journey to Mendoza a success in the strictest sense.

Had the Boks converted more drop-goal and penalty opportunities in Perth, they may have built a lead so imposing that the Aussies may have failed to come back.

These are the small margins that have meant the difference between success and failure. It may seem a simplistic view, as the Boks are guilty of inadequacies across the board, but there’s no denying that had they converted more of these shots on goal, they would now be sporting a solid six from six record instead of a mess of statistics that read won three, drawn two, and lost one.

Six from six wouldn’t confirm that all is well with the Bok game plan, but it would indicate that they still have the means to win close games. That they didn’t get the desired and very necessary results in Port Elizabeth and Mendoza confirmed that they no longer had that game-winning edge.

Morné Steyn, South Africa’s Mr Reliable of the past three seasons, has battled with his consistency and confidence. Those erratic showings in South Africa and Argentina boded badly for the all important Tests in Australasia.

Steyn’s problem is a fundamental one. I was in England recently and bumped into a former Bok flyhalf, one of the great goal-kickers of the modern era. Having watched Steyn closely over the last year, he has made some interesting and worrying observations about Steyn’s goal-kicking technique.

Significantly, these flaws were highlighted after the Boks beat Argentina in Cape Town. It was a time when everybody, including Meyer, claimed that Steyn was back to his best. My source shook his head at this assertion. Steyn, he argued, would continue to struggle.

The following Saturday, Steyn missed two goal attempts in Mendoza. Two weeks later, he missed one penalty and two drop-goal attempts.

It wasn’t unexpected, at least not from the former Bok flyhalf, and it once again raised the question that everybody has asked at one time or another: What does Steyn offer the Boks if not a reliable goal-kicking option?

His tactical-kicking game has always been a strength, and to be fair, the Boks were good in this department during the first half of the Test in Perth. But too often his tactical- and goal-kicking strengths have been put forward as the argument for his inclusion, and are the reasons why his limp attacking game and frail defence are so often overlooked.

Teams need a reliable goal-kicker to win tight matches, but the modern game also demands a balance between attack and defence. Steyn cannot offer that balance. He possesses neither the skill set nor the vision to be a force on attack, and is a traditional flyhalf in the sense that he is loathe to put his body on the line in the tackle.

The Bok game plan has been lambasted in recent months. Most have called for a complete overhaul and pointed to the All Blacks as an example of how the Boks should play. I agree that the Boks can learn from the All Blacks, but I don’t think a complete rethink is required.

The All Blacks are the best team on the planet because they boast the best balance between attack and defence. The Chiefs won this year’s Super Rugby tournament because they enjoyed such a balance, and the Sharks were South Africa’s best team because they too embraced a more rounded approach.

This doesn’t mean the Boks should stop kicking for territory; it simply means that they should vary their approach and become a less predictable force. And to do that, they will need to employ a flyhalf who is capable of asking questions of the opposition defence.

Steyn is not that flyhalf, and given his loss of goal-kicking form, he can no longer make a contribution to the Boks.

Persisting with Steyn will do the Boks more harm than good. It would be more prudent to send him back to Pretoria where he can address the problems with his kicking technique.

Let him get to the root of his troubles, let him build some confidence in the Currie Cup. Let him rediscover that trademark accuracy and amass so many points that, as was the case in 2009, he cannot be denied a place in the Bok set-up.

Meyer claims that Steyn is a warrior. They’re cheap words. Let Steyn prove it; let him fight his way back into contention. Don’t reward his mediocrity by picking him week after week. Let him earn his place.

Dropping Steyn will allow the Boks to develop a more balanced approach. It will also force Steyn to address his flagging strengths.

I doubt that installing Pat Lambie or Johan Goosen at flyhalf will bring the Boks immediate success, but it will ensure that they start to move in the right direction.

Goosen earned his first cap in Perth, and in those 10 minutes he offered more on attack than Steyn has in three years. When Lambie has started at 10, he has also posed more of an attacking threat. The Australasian tour in 2011 was a prime example, as Lambie stood out despite the poor effort of his forwards.

There is some value in the current game plan, and it would be foolish to dispense with it completely. What’s needed is variation, an allowance and understanding that attack is an integral part of the modern game, and that no team can defend for 80 minutes.

It’s wrong that Steyn’s loss of goal-kicking form should be the catalyst for change. But change is desperately needed.

Steyn’s inaccuracies have already cost South Africa in three matches. They cannot be ignored whether your game plan is ultra conservative or perfectly balanced. Whichever way you want to look at it, persisting with Steyn would be counterproductive.

That being said, Meyer must avoid the temptation to turn Lambie and Goosen into Steyn clones. Both these players have the potential to become complete flyhalves in the mould of Dan Carter. They must be backed and allowed the necessary room to realise that potential.

Embrace their full skill set and you will embrace a more balanced approach. Only then will the results against New Zealand and Australia come with any great consistency.

Follow JC on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

215 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All

• 51.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

Morne should now be a super sub coming on only in the last 10 minutes to close of games with drop goals. But knowing HM the only way Morne won’t start is if he is injured…I remember how so many rejoiced when Smit was ruled out by injury a year ago.

theres two ways the boks can win this weekend
    1) the abs have a seriously bad game and I’m talking seriously bad
    2) Brussow plays – for whatever reason the books haven’t lost to the abs with him playing
    in short the boks will lose

• 52.Hoops: Reply to this comment

Ok here is my 2cents

1. HM needs to wake up. Screaming and shouting will not work like at the Bulls camp where they are used to their mommies shouting them on at bulletjie rugby weekends. That sort of thing only works once or twice and always telling them to play for the jersey is not the answer!
    2. Morne and Pienaar must go. And then ask JDV to help them carry their bags home all the way. I am sick of these self proclaimed players who gets chance after chance.
    3. Please stop telling me that it is a new team and that we need to be patient. The all blacks never use that excuse WHY SHOULD WE? We have enough S15 caps from these youngsters to make their names in test matches. Always falling back on that excuse is the sam thing the players start to believe.

I watched Toks and tjops and Breyton said don’t feed Goosen for the wolves, ease him in…….NONSENSE! If Bieber from the aussies could step up to the plate why can’t our young talent stand up to the occasion. We over analyse everything where in the end it is just rugby and we need to start playing the game!

• 53.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-46:
    Respect……Houston.

• 54.Rixmaadi: Reply to this comment

Krusty the clown must also please pack his f*cking bags and bugger off back to Pretoria, get in his sponsored Tata bakkie with the spinners and CD dangling from the rearview mirror, do us all a favor and stop playing rugby, cause he is KAK. Two good up and unders does not constitute talent.

@Heyneke ‘thick as 2 planks’ Meyer, please stop wasting the time of some of South Africa’s most talented players on the mother f”ing bench you halfwit. If you are going to persist with that useless Kirschner at fullback, please wont you at least send Pat Lambie back home so that he can play some rugby in the Currie Cup.

Morne, sorry my boy, but the time has come to admit that you just dont have what it takes anymore. Phone your mother and tell her you are on your way back. Liesbet can get your Superman bedspread ready so long.

• 55.Rixmaadi: Reply to this comment

@Hoops-52: Dude I could not agree more. Toks and Tjops, with ‘Tokka and Breytie’ (just threw up in my own mouth) is probably the worst thing ever captured on film. please get that sh*t off TV.

• 56.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-48:
    no, pienaar was far costlier for the loss than morne was.
    i would bench pienaar.

@Slartibartfast-50:
    the way he ran away from alexander was the pits.
    he’s right out of the squad as far as i’m concerned, back to cc.

• 57.BrisbaneBok: Reply to this comment

Why is it only now that people are saying Morné Steyn should go? Apart form his goal kicking what strengths did he ever offer? We already have an abundance of goal kickers.

The Springboks must be the most predictable team in world rugby. Everyone knows when a box kick will happen, when an up and under will be kicked etc. The only time they seem to ever keep the ball in hand is when they are within the oppositions 20. The Boks could be on their own goal line, with a 4 man overlap and every time you can bet they would kick regardless of what the current situation is.

While kicking for territory is not such a bad idea, the box kicks and up and unders show just how afraid they are to run with ball in hand. It is like saying to the opposition we have no confidence so we will just kick the ball and hope we get a lucky bounce. Games won’t be won consistently against top opposition with that approach.

• 58.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-53:
    cheers to that tr, and good morning to you.

its just gees, and gees is all i have :lol:

• 59.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

So too J. de Villiers…
    Adds no attacking impetus from 13, stemming for at least the past two Stormers seasons. And slips tackles continuously.
    And is Jannie really the best SA tighthead going around?

• 60.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-49:
    Kia ora Pops…..I want to see a tough…hard fought game this weekend, hopefully ending in an Ab victory in the last minute, the Bok aren’t right in the head dept at the moment, yet I still believe they will click into gear and heres hoping its this weekend.

• 61.Sir Watson: Reply to this comment

The Bok gameplan with forwards bashing is very intimidating but only in Heyneke’s mind smart opponents lick their fingers with excitement.

The Chief mastered the mordern game while the Sharks had it but the travel undermined their abilities, the Cheetahs had it too but if the tighten their defense, the Lions had a sprinkle of it though they r extremely limited. Stormers and Bulls lost their plots as they have ultra defensive gameplans like Heyneke. In Sharks, Cheetahs and Lions combined, we do have the morden game.

Can’t wait for Naka Droske to be Bok coach with Durandt and Nienaber as his assistance.

• 62.Delki: Reply to this comment

@TajBar 44 you are SO RIGHT The rule changes back in 1992 where mauling forwards lost the ball if it was brought to a halt have STILL not been fully appreciated by the brainstrust of SA rugby.

Worse, you will be amazed because this AIN’T GOING TO CHANGE. SA rugby brainstrust and even most of the fans (but not all) remain absolutely obsessed with having big tall heavy domineering forwards and a no.10 who is mainly focused on kicking. Mallet tried to change this but was regarded with enormous suspicion for doing so.

Little faith is put in smaller but more skillful players and for this reason Bok coaches often scoff at the idea of the smaller and mobile opensider, often not even selecting an opensider.

This is a cultural thing and ain’t going to change. Conservative and dull, call it perhaps “Afrikaans rugby’ it is the way SA rugby will always be. It will win big games and ocassionally maybe even a world cup but the win-loss ratio will be dire.

• 63.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

I don’t think Morne had such a bad game. Pienaar is a good player but seemed to be struggling with the current Bok tactics. The up and under which resulted in the second Wallabies try was utter nonsense, why not pass to Morne?

Too many passes were made to too many forwards who were at a standing start. You never see New Zealand do this.

Frans Steyn used the skip pass when he shouldn’t have on a number of occasions.

Thank goodness Bryan was there to score the try because if he didn’t intervene it looked like someone would have fluffed it.

The breakdown rules are too inconsistently applied. A team like the Wallabies rarely gives you time to place to ball.

• 64.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

Can Van Graan also start to earn his keep as Forwards coach? The breakdown is a shambles, and the intro of Louw happened far too late in the piece.
    Drop Alberts to the bench, and let Vermeulen run the first 50mins.
    It is one thing not to commit too many numbers to the breakdown, but those players attending ruck-&-mall time – put your heads in there, and contest or slow down FFS! Van Graan, please do read this memo and execute…

• 65.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Pot Blou Gevaar-59: Jannie is just there because of the Sharks front combination.

• 66.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-60:kia ora .. theyve never been right in the head department mate..

hope you are well, I am off to what these blokes call a “braai”, we are cooking springbokke on it tonight, apparently the meat is no longer tough and it has a seemingly very soft underbelly :lol:

should be a good game this weekend, always hard to call, but the good guys should do enough to win it…

catch ya..

• 67.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

stupid moron idiots wanna blame Morne when the decision to play Hougaard on the wing and the SLOWEST most pathetic excuse of a scrum half to play at No.9 is what ACTUALLY did the damage.

Open your goddamn eyes and brains and WAKE the fck UP!!

• 68.Hoops: Reply to this comment

@Rixmaadi-55:

Being afrikaans I love the show….a change to the old lets lick victor or naas’s balls approach.

It is funny and upbeat….better than the same ***** over and over from supersport…….no they did not use their chances…it is going to be a war of attrition……we need to win the contact battle…..it starts upfront…….so sick of this…

• 69.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-65:
    That I can understand. It is however a mute point at the moment with Bismark not there, and Burden not considered for the away Australasian leg.
    Seriously though – is Jannie really Saffa’s best tighthead?

• 70.Hoops: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-67:

Ok….you are the all black 10…..the boks pick Morne……or they pick Goosen/Lambie…which one would you prefer to play against…..I know I would sleep as snug as a bug when morne is playing……predictable dragon!

• 71.grant10: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-67: Skop….you can have Genia or Hougaarsd or willie witblits wikkelspies playing at 9 for boks….it wont help with Handbrake M Steyn at 10…..

M Steyn has been the boks biggest backline issue since 2010…..with Plod and Spies the forward problems….

Play D Fourie at 2 and Brussow at 6…..that will assist the breakdown woes….

Play anyone but M Steyn at 10

Another 13 required….

A 15 with more than an up n under ….How Aplon is constantly ignored is a tragedy…..

Make those changes and we at the least back in the game….

• 72.Hoops: Reply to this comment

@Pot Blou Gevaar-69:
    I have never rated Jannie kannie scrum nie…….why we are so in love with this guy is beyond me. He brings nothing to the team really besides some test experience?

Time to blood some props that is the future while we are not performing anyway!

• 73.The Analyst: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-39:

Classic! A Bottle of Sunny Bill would have done the trick! But you can only buy it in Japan at the moment! LOL.

• 74.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Pot Blou Gevaar-69: Nope dont think so. We really lack quality tightheads so i dont know who is the best. Pat Cilliers perhaps?

@grant10-71: Yes he stands way to deep in the pocket. We gain no momentum with Morne at 10.

How about moving F.Steyn to 15?

With Goosen at 10.

Goosen will attack the gainline and look for gaps. When Goosen is at the bottom of a ruck F.Steyn can be first receiver up from fullback.

• 75.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

It’s as if Morne is afraid of the ball. He touches it and wants to kick it away immediately or crash it to ground. One just can’t understand how he didn’t pass when he had an overlap. Boks make the worst decisions on the field, not just Morne. The worst.

• 76.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

The boks have an even lower chance of winning this coming Saturday then before, why? They will loose Etsebeth to a ban for that stupid headbutt, and with him being the only big boy that played this weekend we have some big problems.

The negatives:

1. Our forwards were bossed by the powderpuff ozzies! Even though we were solid at lineout, we did loose one (Tiaan’s 1st throw.)

2. Our ball carriers are being thrown into brick walls with the predictable attack patterns, they are worn our by the 65th min, then aren’t even effective anymore.

3. There is no leadership either at 9 or 10, De Villiers is not half the leader that Smit was or even Victor. He is truggling to rally the troops.

4. Habana, Hougard, Goosen and Etsebeth are the only players showing passion for the jersey. The rest looked dazed and confused, no energy no commitment, something very wrong in the dressing room at the moment.

5. Our first half runner support is ammature level, the last 10 min we practicaly invited Gill to take our ball every ruck!

6. Probably most important, we are not crossing the gainline with our strike runnersm leaving us with no momentum and eventually leading to a turnover.

7. Defence was pathetic.

Positives:

1. Tactical kicking was great, we dominated this part of the game. Kudos to Kirchner who kicked some great monster kicks.

2. F Steyn has his long boots back, kicked some great long distance kicks!

3. Krugar added more to the lineout but it did seem like our scrum was weaker wit hhim added.

4. Goosen was amazing, in only 10min he made the biggest linebreak of the game (I think) and looked more dangerous than Steyn has in all the bok tests this year.

What you guys think?

• 77.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-74: We need someone who can control the whole game. A 10 that will be able to tell the scrum half when to play the forwards and when it is on for the backline to have a run. We must stop with this nonsense that the boks play off 9. Jantjies is very good at controlling a backline. He deserves a shot. It seems like Goosen and Lambie is ahead of him though.

With Lambie covering fullback, Jantjies can cover 10 on the bench.

• 78.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri-75: We need the vision coach back. Dr Sheryl Calder

• 79.Tiptackle: Reply to this comment

Regrettably, as predicted, RP was useless – running across the field before passing – zero defence (running away from attacking runners) sorry but he’s got to go. Apart fromn fluffing a number of drop attempts and one or two goal kicks, Morne was Morne – he will never be anything else and we shouldn’t be surprised when he plays the way he does and always has…..
    Speaking of players that have to go now – JDV just isn’t cutting it as Capt or midfielder – he’s got 70-odd caps and I dont think he should be getting any more. Niknaks also has to go, he can’t see the ball ‘cos his hair gets in his eyes. The “Up and under King” can go play CC for da Bullies – never good enough for the Boks… Replacements (from the limited resources that are there : Lambie for Niknaks, Vermaak for RP, Goosen for Morne, Habs to 13 for JDV with Hougard and Mvovo on the wings).

• 80.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri-75:

MINDSET Rosi mindset. It is because they are not allowed to express themselves as Nasty Booter always says. They are playing strictly to instruction. Skop en jag or bash it up. Predictable RHINOS!!!

Watch the Blacks this weekend against our BIG AND SLOW lose trio, it’s gonna be like hot knife through butter.

• 81.Moerig: Reply to this comment

It is quite obvious why HM must go. It was plain as day that he told the players:

* Don’t commit too many bodies at the breakdown, always make sure the
    Aussies have more.

* We need plenty of up-and-unders, but make sure you don’t follow up as I
    taught the Bulls a few seasons back. Have a nice draffie up, there is no rush.

* When the Aussies kick far upfield, sommer field the ball with your feet –
    we all love to see your mad soccer skillz.

* Defend like a bunch of sissies around the fringes.

* When there is a ruck and the ball is on the Oz side, just wait patiently
    for it to come out. Under no circumstances, try to push over the ball – you
    may do yourself a mischief.

* Etsebeth, remember you are the next Bakkies. Sommer moer the oke with the head if he pisses you off.

* Frans, here, have some pasta and chocolate cake. We need you big and strong there in the backline.

It is time to go Meyer! Mallet is able to take the u21 boks to the crown
    of the rugby championship. We never lost a match under him and he would NEVER need a period of adjustment when taking charge of a new team.
    The moment he starts to coach a team, then you know they are the next
    world champions! He is truly the bestest there ever was…

• 82.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-74: A very god mate of mine, who has played at a high level and is very astute, also says F Steyn at 15 is part of the solution….

I think HM already committed F Steyn to the 12 jersey…..

For me the backline would be far more balanced with it looking something like this

15 Aplon
    11 habana
    14 jpp
    13 JDJ
    12 F Steyn
    10 Goosen / Jantjes or Lambie
    9 Hougaard

With a licence to play…..not a directive to skop

• 83.Horings: Reply to this comment

I think we did very well against Aus, taking into account the number of caps from lock to eigthman. Secondly Beast and Mvovu and a couple of others had amateur moments and you cannot win in Aus against Aus if you make mistakes like these. Beast’s yellow did not cost us points, but it did have an influence in the momentum of the game. How many games did we win in Aus in the last 20 years? Now we expect this very young team to go and win there.

And this talk of Lambie becoming the “complete flyhalf in the mould of Carter”. South Africa need a flyhalf with a big boot to win us test matches. This is why Lambie is a better fullback in my opinion. He has the tactical intinct at fullback to make the right decisions, which will be instrumental in changing to an attacking gameplan. Leon McDonald of the Crusaders was a very similar player in my opinion and one thing that stood out for me from that Crusaders team was their attacking from a poor kick which McDonald orchestrated from the back.

• 84.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-78: sheryl calder will be wasteed on morne! the dude a 3 on 2 overlap with jdv and habana on ioane, msteyn sees them, decides to TURN BACK towards the inside where THREE aussie players tackle him and smother the ball…jdv and habana now have to rush there to farken clean rucks instead of waltzing over the goal line…

with ball in hand, the guy is s.hit scared, you can see it.

MORNE IS KAK!

• 85.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-60: Man you are so correct, the horrible truth for Bok supporters is that the AB’s and NZ players in general seem to be much stronger mentally than us saffa’s….dunno why but it seems to be the case

• 86.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

Guys, Transformation and I watched this game again on Sunday on PVR. We actually paused areas at the phases to see player positioning and what the Boks ended up doing. Do you realize that Piennaar actually taps players out of the last ruck, tells them to stand and get ready for the next phase with another player behind them, points at them, and then slowing very slowing passes the ball to them just for them to crash down. Polo te Nau,and Hooper were actually looking at Coetzee knowing full well that Coetzee will carry and Jannie is going to come behind him. At one time Coetzee was looking for a forward to warm his bum and stand behind him to be a carrier. They then make three phases max, then Morne or Ruan gets tired and kicks. There is clearly no element of surprize and the carriage of the ball tells the opposition NO OFFLOAD WILL BE FORTHCOMMING, as they tuck it under the arm. It is too predictable and easy to defend againt them. They might as well stand there and tell the Wallabies exactly what they intend doing next with a freaking microphone.

• 87.grant10: Reply to this comment

Best part of the weekend , apart from the Proteas, was watching Jantjes perform a masterclass in the Loftus Cathedral, popping a middle finger to HM in the process….

what a pleasure seeing that young man pull the magician strings….

and Taute looked damn good as well….

• 88.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-84: And even if he did miraculously get some vision the fact is he rides every tackle he makes, opposition forwards know that if they can get into his channel they have at least 5 metres of gain line sorted and with a quick clean that means immediate momentum.

• 89.Superbru: Reply to this comment

@Horings-83: Yeah,Lambie at 15 makes a great deal of sense to me,and a start at 10 from Goosen may be on the cards.Don’t think we’ll win in Dunedin but there is hope for the home games if coaching staff sorts out these selections.

• 90.Superbru: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri-86: All too predictable this brand of HM Bok rugby is,I totally agree.

• 91.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Superbru-89: JPP might also be back for the home games as well as Brussouw.

• 92.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri-86:

Hi Lil.

I said about two weeks ago that every opposition know exactly what we are doing. There is nothing they don’t know. We don’t ever try something new. You may be able to get away with it in Super Rugby but not in Internationals. We are so predictable that even Affies First team are able to read our game…

• 93.Superbru: Reply to this comment

@grant10-87: Taute long overdue for a call up to the green and gold imo,no coach has had the balls to do it tho’,instead they stick with the tried(read tired)and trusted Kirschner,probably ’cause he’s a bull :wink: Would very much like to see Jantjies in the mix too.

• 94.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

It has been very lean years and unfortunately we are going to have to endure a few more, unless true leadership is shown by SA Rugby and the get Mallet in now. It may be too late already…

• 95.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Superbru-90: Is it a poorer brand than the one the 2011 Boks employed. The situation @rossoneri-86: spelled out is a standard play in SA rugby from all teams. The Cheetahs do it constantly.

• 96.RL: Reply to this comment

Goose Goose Goose Goose Goose Goose Goose Goose Goose

• 97.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Superbru-93:

Taute at 15 will bring some variation to our play but he doesn’t play the game the coach is trying to perfect NOT

• 98.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Horings-83: we only did well because Australia – who by the way also have a string of injuries – were putrid in the 1st half, they were more disorganised on attack than we were! their attacking moves fizzled out to aimless kicks that went nowhere!

deans’ after half-time mini-interview where he was clearly irritated by what he termed “useless dribbling kicks” was indicative of the change in the 2nd half for the aussie!

that’s what meyer doesn’t seem to have, the all blacks were frustrated by the argies as the wanted to push passes in those conditions and they played straight into the hands of the feiry argies, 2nd half they SWITCHED their game up to a more tighter game, taking on the argies around the fringes and building momentum…

our coach is too stubborn or DOM to make such tactical changes, he went in with one plan and that’s what he told the players to stick too!

can you explain why johan goosen kicked our ball away with less than 3 minutes left on the clock? i can venture a guess…someone screamed on a walkie talkie that if side steps and breaks one more time he’ll be dropped!

• 99.Superbru: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-91: Those two are sorely missing at the moment,yes…I have hope for the home games,but as others are saying on the board the Bok’s predictability is costing them.

• 100.Honesty Box Seymour: Reply to this comment

Morne must go.

But he is not the only problem. There are a few.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.